328 responses to “Ambassador Rihanna Goes Topless For GQ Magazine”

1. grammy, oscars, or a noble prizes has lost meaning and significance.

Past prominence of these awards are use to day to market/sell poor talent, socially reconstruct normalcy, and to make political statements, and to influence geopolitics.
    Such was to my mind evident in the respective awards to Rihanna, “Broke back mountain’ and Obama.

2. madonna posed nude for hustler magazine.you people were critical of Rihanna from the get go

thats – sad very sad !

3. @ sad very sad

Who gives a fart about Madonna? She from Barbados? I dont even think she even bin bout dey.

4. the hood aka robin hood Avatar
    the hood aka robin hood

@ Bonny Peppa
    How yuh doin’ my sweetie?
    Why u doan leff my Rhi Rhi ‘lone nuh??

She 2 sweet!!

5. sad very sad
    that is like saying my neighbour’s son is a ‘Dodds-boy’ so nothing wrong if mine is one too. It’s a different story when it reaches your own doorstep my friend.
    Who cares if Madonna, Britney Spears, Dolly Parton all posed nude for ‘billboards’? We don’t want it for our ‘own’. Nothing to do with no liking her from the get-go.
    While Americans are an unscrupulous lot, we are still a bit more conservative. We have a few common-breeds amongst us, but on the whole,we are still fairly conservative hence the criticism.

true very true.

6. robin aka hood
    Wait, you still livin?
    I in troublin Rhi Rhi, I just want she ta put on some clothes.
    I know how you n BAFBFP like the ‘naked-truth’ but cud christ man.
    Wah mek me laff is dat she got all she bubbies expose but hidin de nipples. She should hide she face instead.
    Anyway,enjoy ya Christmas and don’t over do. Do over anyting.
    Merry Christmas to you n yours from me n mine.

7. Bonny Peppa // December 16, 2009 at 9:45 PM

… She should hide she face instead.

Me, uh laughing suh hard muh stomach hurt. You true at dat. Wuh losssssssss.

I think I found Bimbro on a British blog today using the moniker “Mr. Reason”. Telling Rhianna to put back on the clothes and continue singing. He used a multitude of !!!!!!! And paid unjustified compliments, lol.

8. The fact that she represents the country as ambassdor to the youthis very problematic in the way in which she conducts herself.
    The above named entertainers only represented themselves, therefore they had no one but themselves and their fans to please.
    She needs to relinquish the title of Ambassdor.The type of image she is presenting to the youth would do more harm than good.

9. What is a “Youth & Cultural Ambassador” and what do they do? Are there any “official duties” attached to the title? Does a stipend come with it? Individuals make individual decisions and last time I looked the woman was past the age of majority and free to make any decision within the law as she saw fit. To paraphrase Andy Warhol everyone is entitled to their 15 minutes of fame. In five years time very few people will remember and even fewer will care about this event.

Don’t sweat the small stuff.

10. And now she got more money than most bajans except COW, Seale, Edghill and a few others.
    ………………..
    She deserve to have more than COW, Edgehill and the white plantation boys.
    I am over the moon.
    A little black girl from Lands End raking in bigger bucks than the racists. The trick is for more young blacks to follow her.
    I loving it.
    I love you dearly Rihanna. The haters dying with jealousy. Kill them slowly.

11. What is a “Youth & Cultural Ambassador” and what do they do? Are there any “official duties” attached to the title? Does a stipend come with it? Individuals make individual decisions and last time I looked the woman was past the age of majority and free to make any decision within the law as she saw fit. To paraphrase Andy Warhol everyone is entitled to their 15 minutes of fame. In five years time very few people will remember and even fewer will care about this event.

Don’t sweat the small stuff.

@Sargeant

Wonder if it that simple. How does a society feedback and or shape the kind of society it wants? How do we build a value-based society?

12. @Landless
    You couldnt careless about the girl .All you care about is seeing her xrated pictures .You MINDLESS PERVERT.

13. rihanna is a big international star she from bout here means nuttin janet jackson exposed she bress

wunna hated rihanna from the start

thats- sad very sad !

14. Rihanna house done pay fah…!

15. @BAFBFP
    Dec/17/2.19A.M
    wha happen cant sleep too much de girl on yuh mind?
    Is yuh house dun pay fuh too?

16. Landless
    Brainless, stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

sad very sad
    cud crois, talk wid sense nah. um too near ta Christmas to be talking summuch shoiyte. Janet’s incident was a ‘mishap’, whether intentional or accidental. Dis girl come out topless for de magazine. A completely different scenario. talk wid sense man, um too near ta Christmas.
    Anyway, have a Merry Christmas to you n yours from me n mine. dat is de best i kin hope fa you.
    Anudda ting, you keep repeating dat ‘wunna hated Rihanna from the start’. Lemme explain sumting ta ya, ‘NOBODY in got ta like she’. case closed.

Sargeant,
    She 15minutes a fame gone a LONggggggggg time ago man. She into hours now.
    Anyway, have a blessed Yuletide.

Pat
    They say dat laughter is the best medicine, so lafffffff on.

BAFBFP
    How de wrist feeling dis mornin? Carpal-tunnel syndrome is caused by repeated flex action, hear? Chan say I din warn ya. and it real painful too.

17. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

The human body is most beautiful but some people are uncomfortable with their own bodies and expect everybody to be so uncomfortable.They are uncomfortable and see things through their own eyes. Some of the female commenters perhaps when they see their own bodies when they see the effects of the abuse of eating large quantities of the wrong foods for many years they see it as something to cover up.

Some people have not gone to the beach for years.

You have people who are proud of their bodies and want to show off. We came from a clothes-less past anyhow.

18. I have “never” previously made any comment on the blog about this young lady-Rihanna; as a fellow Barbadian I wish her continued success in the profession she is no doubt talented enough in, to have gained international acclaim.

The discussion can be broken into many parts, should she expose herself as she has done? What is acceptable to the international media – some sections – and their populace is often not acceptable in Barbados…that does not make us better. One regularly can see naked female breast in provocative poses on Page 3 in some daily papers in the UK and other places in the North. Most people do not take them seriously – of course a few do.

The young lady is operating in a different world and she has chosen a certain direction for her career, as a “private individual” she has that right.

The title of Youth Ambassador I do not think she sought and serious minded people would not take a negative view of Barbados because of the actions of a celebrity singer.

What is perhaps disturbing is reference to how much money she has as if money in itself absolves people from everything; that is the real worry in Barbadian society and it is most regrettable.

19. Yardbroom
    What I think is more disappointing rather than disturbing is the fact that she left here as a ‘singing artist’ and overnight seems to have propelled headfirst into a ‘porn artist’. What occurs in the UK and in the North is probably acceptable behaviour in that hemisphere. For us here, it is still unacceptable to be displaying your assets so publicly. Do you realise that she is wearing No top at all?Cud Christ man. Would you be proud were this your daughter or grand daughter?I personally would die of heart failure. Why does she have to go to the extreme of being naked for all to see? It can’t be for money cause she has all that money can buy. Is it for attention then?
    It’s a human cry.
    Being IN the system doesn’t mean you have to be Of the system. Entertainment or otherwise.

Anyway, Season’s Greetings to you n yours from me n mine.

20. the reason why rhianna took her clothes off, because def jam spent thousands of dollars on her album; and it flopped, it was recently selling for 89 cents. If artists dont make a big profit on album, those artists dont get to see one red cent of the proceeds. The record company is the one who pressure artists to do something else to attract attention.

21. ac and Bonny

Carpal-tunnel what. Lemmatellya de wif gotta smile pun she face taday, she wondering wah happen, wha it is dah I eating… Ah boy…!

BTW more people (orders ah magnitude times more) know ’bout Rihanna and prepare tah pay tah see she dan Ba’bados pun a whole…!

22. Rhianna sought fame, found fortune, and should be commended. No matter what is said or done, none of the criticism she’s been told or read about, I doubt is going to make her rethink what she is about.

She is not in Barbados where she would frequently face her objectors, and to be constantly ridiculed by many of the citizens. In a few months, she would have moved on and her name would be connected to something else. We just have to wait and see what that something is.

I don’t think the young lady gives 2 hoots what her fellow Barbadians furthermore anyone else is saying about her, positive or negative. And to think of it, why should she.

At one time or the other, weren’t we told don’t mind what people say, do what we think is in our best interest?

When Rhianna’s name appear wherever or in whatever, just see the name as another entertainer and don’t think of her being connected to Barbados if you think that her actions are embarrassing or could be disturbing. With that, I say, erase Rhianna from your thoughts. Maybe she is not worth talking about.

23. @ nanci // December 17, 2009 at 12:51 PM

Behind every purpose there is a reason. Your comment seems to have put things in perspective for me. It makes a lot is sense/cents in more ways than one.

24. @Yardbroom

What is perhaps disturbing is reference to how much money she has as if money in itself absolves people from everything; that is the real worry in Barbadian society and it is most regrettable.

You have struck the nail on the head here. I also think that those who bring up money has none, or they think money makes one happy. Some of the most miserable and unhappy people I have known have been filthy rich.

Some of the most rich, could not do anything with the money to save their lives when illness took them and had to die and leave it.

Still and all, she shunt be flaunting she assets like that. Just imagine how many old men gun be buying that mag to jerk off on.

25. @ Bonny Peppa
    You have got so many admirers I feel like the little boy admiring the “princess” as she glides past in her golden carriage and although I might not be fortunate enough to be near you my affection is no less because of it.

A pleasant Christmas to you and your family…hide this letter behind the Christmas tree out of ROK’s sight.

@ Pat,
    Having read of your culinary skills no doubt you are busy this time of year, the auroma from a nice kitchen can be full of intoxicating expectancy.
    Seasons greetings to you.

[I will rest my remarks on Rhianna]

26. @ Yardbroom

I understand.

I am going upstairs now (came down to get my pail of flour) to make a batch or coconut breads and some pone. I want to take in some treats for my physiotherapist tomorrow. The black cake done over a week now.

Been suffering with some tendonitis and inflamed muscles. Too much potato digging last month.

27. Barnabas Collins Avatar

I got a comment before I get into this submission. Why is it that every submission on BU ends up in name calling and bad language. I mean EVERY topic without fail. I was reading the submission about Graeme Hall and the BWA. That got nasty with people making all sorts of racial and other comments. I am not a saint but I think we should be able to disagree with someone without the conversation going into the gutter. Come on BU, we can do better than that.

As for the topic at hand, Rihanna is in an industry that offers no security of tenure and one makes ones money fast and then collect royalties for years to come. I don’t agree with her taking off her clothes in public but her handlers think that is the way to go and she is going to go that way. Some of the conclusions here are unsound. Which school one goes to have nothing to do with taking off ones clothes in public……And it doesn’t have anything to do with intellect either. The government gave her an ambassadorship which don’t have much weight in the grand scheme of things. It was a risk that isn’t looking pretty right now.

I wish she would not have gone that way but as someone rightly said this was coming for a long time and it is finally here.

BC

28. @BC

We love to make excuses don’t we?

BTW next time you think the debate is slipping in your opinion jump in and help to guide the conversation.

29. The handlers are the same ones who got up hooked up to Chris Brown and that too was for publicity,and you see he almost killed her.Now they got her to be half naked for all the sickoes to drool over her. With friends like them who need enemies.
    You grown men out there who is condoning this kind of behave ought to be ashamed of yourself.

30. @BAFBFP
    Wifeee smiling !
    Wait yuh boasting or want?

DR. POOPERTALLIAN
    How many of your girlfriends , wife etc.exposed their bodies in the nude for the whole world to see.
    Now it is time for you to exposed the naked truth.I’ll bet you can’t do that.

31. nanci
    If the producers tell her to jump in front of a train in Penn Station will she do it too? Come on man, she is not the first artist to lose out on a cd and she isn’t ‘hand ta mout’. Every day is fishing day, every day isn’t catching day. Win some,lose some. That’s no excuse for her behaviour. But I guess ‘a pig in pyjamas will still behave like a pig’.

Plain talk
    She didn’t seek fortune. She was in the right place at the right time and she had the looks to boot and the rest is history.You have to ask if she has the ability to think or rethink what she is about first.Whether she is in B/dos, Italy or France, she is still B/dian and what she does will affect us. Some more than others. When ever a B/dian is imprisoned overseas be it for drug-trafficing, fraud, murder etc. I don’t know ’bout you, but it tugs at my heart man. As long as it is something negative. She can do better than that. Her good looks like everything else will fade someday and if she isn’t careful, she will be broke before she knows it.

Yardbroom
    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, you made my Yuletide more meaningful. You’re so swoiteeeeeeeeeee. You sure know how to make a gal feel warmmmm inside. Awwwwwwwwww.
    You have a real gift for the gab. You make Shakespeare look like a dwarf man. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    I’ll make sure that ROK doesn’t see the letter while he’s under the tree with me. He’ll be too busy anyway.

Ya in lie. Next ting ya kno, they will be introducing her ta a lil ‘sumting’ ta enhance she performance. Poor soul.

32. ac

Don’t come down too hard on practitioners of hand to bishop resuscitation activity, Georgie Porgie will attest to the fact that it helps tremendously in the avoidance of prostate anomalies…!

33. Bonny

Thick and Hard, thick and hard….!

34. @BAFBFP….You gonna love this! Word is that Tiger Wood is MKULTRA big-time. He has now out-grown his programming and that accident was to end in death. And yes sex is always one of that programs greatest tool of control. So go figure! His father was major Green Beret! Ever wonder why he always seemed so robotic, so programmed?

@Bonny Peppa..How you doing?

35. @BAFBFP

The GPhas multiple personalities I wonder which of dem told you so. It must have been Zoe.Be careful of yuh advicers.
    Hint!hint! toomuch advicersRihanna.

36. Hopi

Tiger’s father being military would have brought that special type of discipline into the raising of his child, but to suggest MK Ultra program is something that I would be weary of. A lot of White people would love to see him disgraced. I, irrespective of what ever plausible facts are made public, will not be part of that campaign. Sorry Hopi, you on your own wid dis one…!

37. ac

Seriously man, what it is dat RiRi got day you don’ have…? If she raising de dead all roun’ de worl’ you don’ t’ink dat she walkin’ in de paf ah de Savior…?

38. @ BAFBFP

You bad, bad, baaaaaad!!

39. Pat wrote “Allegedly: she likes big dick men ( she called it well endowed)”

J replies: Who doesn’t?

And “it is common in Barbados to walk about naked.”

J replies: Isn’t this the truth though? It is so hot most of the time, that naked makes sense.

“all she wants for Xmas are sex and food.”

J replies:m this sounds pretty Bajan to me.

40. @BAFBFP
    The question you asked should have been
    What does ac have that Riri don’t have.
    Answer:class.

41. Many Barbadians may NOT have a problem with Rihanna doing as she likes, most have a problem with her doing so under the Ambassadorship conferred by the government of Barbados. Yes she did not ask for it BUT her sense of what is right should make her want to surrender it given the embarrassment the situation continues to cause for HER country. Of interest maybe other plans in the pipeline which may continue to embarrass HER country. Obviously for political reasons Prime Thompson has painted his government in a corner on this matter.

On a another note, given all that has happened with the pop diva it makes us wonder a little if those naked pics were not leaked to the media by …

42. Rihanna should be advised to give up her Ambassadorship.

It is useless to her.

She is an INTERNATIONAL star who has been successful as a Branded American “product”.

Barbados gets recognition as her “Tropical Island birthplace”.

She is performing well in her environment and it has nothing to do with her birthplace.

Let us hope she continues to be successful.

43. Bonny Peppa guh long suck a rotten egg, on second thought suck yuh m*&*% c*&%#

44. @ J

Really? And if so, would you broadcast it internationally?

Chris Brown and his people were adamant that they DID NOT leak the pictures. It has been reported up here that Rhianna did it herself. Allegations are that these pics were taken on a cell phone and no hacking was observed. That is if you can hack a cell. I would not know, I dont use them.

45. @BAFBFP

I went over to the Mail on Line. The comments from the bloggers are not nice. Not nice at all.

She was panned after performing Russian Roulette on the X-factor there. Does not look good for her new album in that country.

She released the same time as Susan Boyle who has topped the charts in almost every country where her CD is sold including Canada. Imagine being shafted by a 48 year old single woman who has never been kissed. Is was reported that Subo’s first cheque from sales was $9m. That is her portion and I am sure Simon Cowell got at least $18m.

46. @ Pat // December 16, 2009 at 10:06 PM , “I think I found Bimbro on a British blog today using the moniker “Mr. Reason”.”

Pat, I saw “Mr. Reason” spouting off about Rhianna. There is something about his writing that makes me think it is non other than Bimbro, aka Mr. Irresistible. As said, “there is no hiding place down here.” Hahaha; it’s a small world.

47. @Pat
    You Bajan or simply a jackass!?!

48. @ Landless

You only landless or brainless too?

Go get a long glass of rum and chill out.

Tomorrow Rhianna will be still there with her milllions and I will be here with my thousands. Where will you be? In a hospital? Man/woman just relax, stress is a killer.

49. Pat

And I was doing so well wid de wifey, now you gone a put a image ah Susan Boyle in me mind.. Oh God woman…!