328 responses to “Ambassador Rihanna Goes Topless For GQ Magazine”

1. turkey gizzards …? Pat put some in a barrel an’ sen’ some fah mah do..!

Bonny yah had mah hand trembling…

2. @BAFBFP

Man, I will do better than t hat. I will cook them and then have them air freighted!

3. Hardhead-(which head) Balgobin Avatar
    Hardhead-(which head) Balgobin

Rihanna has done so much for y/our country and you people just plain hating the young lady. Amazing !!!!

If she walks too hard it is a problem.
    Very early in the proceedings )about three years ago) I heard a woman in Bridgetown saying these words-in reference to Rihanna”she good looking she good looking ????-she ugly as ………………

Rihanna is an inspiration .To have dominated the way she has should be a lesson to all Bajans to be built on. Rather than talking nonsense please take the positive from the whole exercise and build on it. Only a stupid uncreative person would not see that point.

The comments here against Rihanna are coming from people who are just plain empty. I am not calling any names but there is one particular person here on this blog that I find to be very very offensive and simply empty.

4. Hardhead-(which head) Balgobin Avatar
    Hardhead-(which head) Balgobin

pure folly !

the comments and reports about Rihanna

Believe none of it

Didn’t somebody say that she only had $20, 000.00 (twenty thousand) on a Bank Account._(must be the account for tips) -idiots !

People make things up when they do not know anything about you so that they can satisfy their urge to GOSSIP. This is prevalent in most societies that were open to things like slavery, domination and EUROPEAN EXPLOITATION and in Europe itself. It is not a feature of Eastern civilization

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Rhianna’s name will be worse than dog dung soon in america.

The girl plain wufless.

Her 15 minutes of fame is almost over.It’s a pity that she didn’t make better use of her opportunity,than skinning out all over the place.

If you are decent deep down inside then nobody no matter the amount of money they pay you will convince you to do the crap she is doing.

But no one is forcing rhianna,she seems seems to like acting whorish and classless.

Real sad,because I really felt good about what she was doing at first.

Imagine her telling a radio station that she like men with big penis,and another interviewer that she feels sorry for men who don’t get naked pictures from their women.

This makesDavid thompson look real foolish now he up and give her that ambassadorship without any merit.

If he got any sense left he better remove that title from her real soon.

Rhianna shite!

6. Rihanna is playing the fame game…she is the fisrt Bajan to truly do this in the popstar realm and she is doing very well overall….

7. Another entertainer who made it without taking her clothes off.
    Tina Turner.

8. @mez

Measurement of success is to what degree Rihanna should exhibit lewd behaviour? That is the messages she sends to her young audiences and the immodesty she exudes? What defines a decent person anyway? We all remember Bretney Spears who was a mega-star only yesterday.

9. Here is something to ponder on, accentuative the positive, reduce the negative:

10. Rihanna is a product of her times…. she never said sh was a church going gospel artist…

From day one it was about her beauty and sexuality just like Madonna, Janet, Britney etc…

Why do we keep asking these people to be role models for our children??? If we want our children to be fully covered nuns in training then we need to keep them home and raise them ourselves away from ALLLLLL outside influences not only RIhanna.

I think that however I would tell my child to follow her dreams just like Rihanna did and I know that she would do so with respect for the values I GAVE her (which I hope woul supercede the outside influences) .

Toger woods is a cautionary tale on two levels

1. For his audience which was lead to believe that he was an upright family man with little or no vices…an example to be followed ( Stupse). Why do we need to make people perfect in our eyes???? It is not possible!

2. For himself in that he was very protected and apparently gladly presented this false image only to see it crumble when his true nature was revelaed

This is why I have no beef with Rihanna and her presentation of self!….Is she acting that much differnet from a 21 yo beauty from a simple background with limited education and big dreams! I find her refreshing!!!!!

11. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar

because we are stupid ! that’s it !

12. mez
    And if your child in emulating this ‘super-star’ decides to ‘strip’ for a magazine, regardless of her upbringing, would it be ok with you too?
    And to compare Tiger’s actions with Rihanna’s is like comparing blue with pink. As much as we would like to deny it, we know that the likes of Tiger etc are just simply irresistible. To think that ‘marriage’ will stop the eyes from wandering both ways is to believe in Santa. To act unscrupulous is another story. Infedility is common amongst us, however we still have to get accustomed to this ‘nudity’. I think one is a lesser evil. You can guess which.

Hard-head
    First, ya name got me cryinnnnnnn. But lemma ask ya sumting; Rihanna is an inspiration to who?stupseeeeeeee, doan mek ma cry. Christmas is dis week man.

BAFBFP
    Doan mind de han tremblin.I kno dah khan stop you from multi-taskin. One han tremblin, de edda han jerkin. I post a joke pun Jokes corner jus fa you bout de lil boy in de bathroom. Ya hing-man but a luv ya. Doan tink bout hornin ROK doe.

Pat
    Girl, I envy you neighbas. Talkin bout duck, I had a lickin duck-stew yestaday. I still lickin de plate all like now. Talk bout swoiteeeeeeeeeeee. And I like ta drop one or two bay leaf in me stew. Sus Croissssssssssssssssss, finga lickin good.

Mash Up
    My dawlink. Seasons best ta ya good self. Nuff respeck.
    If ya havin a drank, drank fa two.
    Hiccupppppppppppppppppppp.

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bonny

Try and be a little like sweet pepper this christmas instead of hot peppa yuh hear ma bread puddin’.

I hope yuh find rok under your christmas tree.

Enjoy this blessed season – you and your family.

Season greetings to all of the BU family.

14. Yuh all don”t let the likes Rhi Rhi get you upset.
    I hope the supporters are standing at the bottom of the cliff to catch she when she fall.
    Most of them that applauding her won”t approve that kind of behaviour for they girl children.
    It is always easy to say what would do when the situation doesn’t affect you .

15. @Bonny Peppa
    I made the wedding cake for the two of you,but i think imight have to throw it away that was two months ago.What taking wunna so long to tie the knot.

@BAFBFP.

Yuh fresh .Look at dat de woman gunna cook turkey gizzards fuh yuh .
    Don’t forget to use the paper towel to wipe de hand.

16. mash up
    I usin sweet peppa along wid flava peppa. I mekkin a special ‘brew’ fa my ROK so hopefully early nex year we gun be united as one. whetha he aware or not is anudda story. I workin pun um as we speaks.
    Ya call me bread puddin. Boy, I luvvvv dat real bad hear. ya now whet me appetite man.

if you put in nuff rum or wine dah cake cud last til early next year when we do de ‘ting’. doan thra it way man. I reddy all like now but ROK like he got a hard start. I workin pun um doe, doan worry.

BAFBFP
    Ya escapeeee.

17. At sixty nuff nuff here is the type of star that Rihanna will be some day without a doubt

18. … but it will take support, 100 percent support from you guys, particularly from the ones with pokies, Bonny, Pat, Sap, ac and Hopi… do something different for a change and back one of your own…

19. @ BAFBFP

Yuh dreaming in technicolour. Tina can sing and is a natural dancer. She has tremendous stage presence and uses the entire stage. I found her dancers distracting. She doesn’t need them at all. I saw her about 15 years ago. I was simply enthralled. After the concert, I just sat there in the stadium. The cleaners turned up and I was still there, I was so mesmerized.

Aretha was here for one day performance about a month ago, but the tickets went fast, fast, fast. Could not even grab a half a ticket.

20. BAFBFP
    All de ‘ones’ wid pokies asking she ta do is ta clean up she act. You evva see Tina Turner breasts n posing half-naket? No.
    And she was/is still very impressive. Dis udda whun like she advertisin. And yes, I backin one a my own. You khan see my back turn? An my eyes ‘rollin’ up at she behaviour.

Bimbro han mussy mo tired dan yours, if he able, po soul.

She risin de non-pokies pressure wid dem pics man. You included. Ya devil.

21. Tina is from a different era…

Cant live in the past!

Rihanna is doing just fine! get over yourselves

22. @mez
    Not another era.
    But a different Class.

23. Haven’t taken her clothes off.
    Mary J. Blige
    Sold millions of records

24. @BAFBFP
    I was giving rhianna my full support until she started talking trash and acting trashy. I bought her C D s and i enjoy listening to her music.

25. mez
    You tink dat artist din taking nude pics back den too?
    But you know what, all dis crap ’bout ‘from a different era’. Lemme tell ya sumting man, even though times may change, principles should still remain the same, buddy.

That is like a prostitute finding excuses for her ‘way of life’. Or a drunk finding excuses for his ‘inebriation’.
    Stop finding excuses for your behaviour.
    You want to do it, so you do it. Plain n simple. No excuses.

you betta dan me cause I would never buy one of her cd’s. Not my type a music. I from de ‘way-back when’ school. 40’s,50’s early 60’s. My ting.

26. Pat // December 21, 2009 at 9:09 PM, “…Tina can sing and is a natural dancer. She has tremendous stage presence and uses the entire stage.

No dout Tina is a great stage performer. I aint no ’bout de singing though.

27. why would you compare Rihanna to Tina Turner…makes no sense…. compare her to her contemporaries… look at her market, her niche

She cant be all things to all people.

Her new album is her best ever…and I think she is doing very well

28. adrian
    ok, which of her other contemporaries going topless for GQ or any other magazine for that matter? I serious. I would like to know if such is happening and I would ease off she case. If that is the norm I would keep quiet even thought I still don’t support this behaviour. I know that anything n everything goes in the U.S. As long as money is being generated, principles, morals, scruples go down the shoot. Sad but true.

29. @ Adrian

If this latest record is her best, why was it selling through Amazon for $3.99? Are they trying to short change her or something? I mean J-Z, and Def Jam?

“ac” said it was on sale for 99 cents. This is not fair if it just came out. She cant make money that way. If, as you say, it is good. Maybe they are hoping to make up from road tours? Last time they worked her until she was so exhausted the DR. ordered rest and some shows were postponed.

It is to be hoped that she does not take anything to give her energy or to get rid of the tiredness or make her feel better. That is how they get them hooked on the drugs.

30. “I backin one a my own. You khan see my back turn? ”

Awright Bonny dah wun kill mah.. yah mek mah laf till ah sneeze…!

Fah me Tina and yea Pat, Aretha represent Longevity and dah is all I want fah we girl. Tina didn’t show she breasts… but she did showing nuff legs in pussy-pelmets sellin’ de same ‘see but don’t touch’ sex appeal as we girl…!

31. @Adrian

I have gone on record on this blog long before now, as saying that Rhianna is not the most talented Barbadian singer. I can call a dozen Bajans that are more talented than Rhianna. What is happening has proved my point, which is that somebody was looking for a good candidate that they could exploit using high profile PR.

Knowing how business operates, these people would not want anybody who can think, who is smart, who can speak publicly, or any of those qualities, it was a case of finding somebody who would do as they say and accept whatever comes because that person would achieve more than they would ever have achieved on their own; a puppet. We fall into these traps because we have swallowed the pill.

At this point in time, I would say that it backfired on the investors and they have resorted to plan ‘b’; place that person in such a position of controversy that if she leaves, she can’t make it on her own and if she stays, she will continue to plummet to tatters. There was a reason Rhianna never gave interviews before now and if they had plans for any long term relationship with Rhianna, they would have sent her to school or hire somebody to teach her to speak iin public.

Meanwhile, they have already recouped their investment with profits and at this time, it is just a question of milking the cow dry. My conclusion is that she will not have another album so long as her ratings keep dropping.

People are not foolish. She got Brown charged for abuse and then turned around and admitted that she attacked the man first. Then she goes on an interview and embarrasses herself. Not only is she now fully exposed for what she really is, but the game her investors are playing is in plain sight. They know that the ball is already lost and that sooner than later, keeping Rhianna on their payroll will be like flogging a dead horse.

the final thing I would say is that the comparison with Susan Boyle is very relevant. It shows the difference between raw talent and professed talent. Certainly, the looks of Susan Boyle may not be what one would associate with the best singing talent and despite all her critics who told her to quit and stay home because of her looks, without a plan, she is doing better than the one with the so-called looks that has a plan.

You are free to like what you want. Gamblers like gambling and robbers like ‘robin’. What matters is what the majority will do. In this case they have moved to Susan leaving Rhianna on the fringes.

32. The sad thing about the developing sad story of Ambassador Rihanna is the blind support she has been given to support her injudicious actions by people in our society who should know better. To the comment above about comparing Rihanna to people in her peer group (something to that effect), we actually need to be comparing her to people of high moral fibre. Such a comparison transcends time.

BU wishes her all the best and hope she is able to cut her losses at some point.

33. Nudity is not immoral.. prunes…! ha ha ha

34. Haven’t Taken her clothes off ameican idol Jennifer Hudson.

@Bonny Peppa.
    I love many types of music .The rap I
    have some difficulty with.

35. ac Because she fat fat fat…(prety doh!)

36. @BAFBFP

As creatures of social behaviour, immorality or morality may not be so much what you do but when and how you do it. Can you agree to any of that?

37. Nope…!

38. @ ROK

What you have said gives food for thought. It does make much sense. It makes the puzzle pieces fall into place neatly.

39. Carrie Underwood another american idol winner no clothes off.She is making millions of dollar.

@ROK

I guess it is what is accepted in a society.
    However as an individual one can choose between moral and immoral behaviour.

40. @BAFBFP

With the tricks they use in photographythey can make her look skinny.(Jennifer Hudson)
    Also she can sing.

41. Not wanting to inflame things here but why must we keep stressing out about superstars like Rihanna. She is succeeding at something that no one else from Barbados has ever done. Granted she is not the most righteous and upstanding representative of Barbados but she is succeeding in a filed that is not known for those traits.

It is naive to think that she would have full control of her image in that industry. And it is also presumptuous to assume that she has a problem with where her career is going.

So far she has not engaged in any criminal acts nor has she directly downgraded her country ( in fact she is always speaking positively about it). She speaks negatively about her detractors here and so she should!

Here in Barbados we have Jamaican reggae artists promoting gang war fare, we have parents not spending enough time with there children and therefore not instilling values such as hard work and discipline and we have a superstar who has raised our profile internationally and where do we focus our energy. … Tearing her down … Not a good look!

I’m saying let Rihanna do her thing! She did not ask to be the ambassador!

42. Welcome Adrian to the side of the sane

43. Ok … I’m from the Bahamas but I’m embarrassed for the small town sensibilities being demonstrated by so many Bajans. Notwithstanding the conservative sensibilities that we all inherited from Mother England (God I love Cuba) …. Rihanna is no more a Bajan Ambassador than is Amy Winehouse or Mick Jagger for the UK. Get with the programme Bajans … she’s not nude .. nothing’s spread apart or very vulgar .. it’s risqué at best. In the end Rihanna (a) piques curiosity about B’dos and (b) let’s the world know that folks there aren’t all a bunch of fuddy-duddys. Why would anyone want to go to a place known for conservatism and being ultra prim and proper?!?

44. adrian
    wait,wait,wait, ya getting me confuse. Ya mek ma stupse sa hard just now dat two a ma false teets drop out.
    Because you condone this ‘superstar’ posing topless for GQ, those that oppose this sorta behaviour musn’t air their views? And all this crap bout putting Barbados on the world map, where was it before this lil whippa-snappa came along? Ya got ma cryin real tears.
    I am one of the parents that instilled values in my children so that comment went over my head. Maybe her parents didn’t or couldn’t or she would respect herself a lil bit more. There’s a time n place for everything.
    Whether she be Ambassador or Commissioner makes me look at her no differently. She’s a klown. Fullstop. In my view, which doesn’t count for much.
    We will agree to disagree on this point of order Mr.Chairperson.
    Nice meeting you.
    Happy Holidays.

45. The above anonymous was I .

Tico
    First of all, no one cares where you come from. Just make your comment and carry on smartly.
    Is it a crime to be conservative? you making it seem so. We’re not used to this sorta thing so if it is ‘part and parcel’ of what Bahamians are accustomed to it is not so with us. I would hate to be judged by the world based on how one klown chooses to ‘pose’ in public.
    Does she have to be completely nude or spread apart to be considered vulgar? Maybe in the Bahamas (God I love Barbados)
    Our small town sensibilities is what makes us all proud to be Bajan.
    How’s the crime rate in Bahamas?
    Our small town crime rate is relatively low and the tourists are more at ease here among the ‘fuddy-duddys’.

Anyway, welcome to the blog. Sorry it couldn’t be on a nicer note but we’re ‘conservatives’.

46. @ Tico

FYI, Rihanna is, in reality, a youth Ambasador for Barbados. She accepted this ‘honour’ from the Prime Minister. Amy Winehouse and the Mick are NOT ambassadors for anyone, anywhere, or anything other than drugs!!!

47. Anon…you like every one else is free to express your opinion and thankfully Rihanna is free to live her own life instead of twoing along with your opinion of how she should do so…

Rihanna has blazed a UNIQUE path for a barbadian , and I beilive that except for messing with Chris Brown she has done pretty well for herself! In my opinion, and speaking as someone who did not like her music until the last two albums ( and I like the last one in particular), she is succeeding beyond my expectations an I am therefore proud of her.

She was a Glamour magazine woman of the Year ( next to Michelle Obama among others).

She is one of the top singles artists of the Decade according to Billboard

She set records for itunes downloads

Her song Russian Roulette was voted one of the ten best of the year by the New York Times

She has won two Grammies ( I think ???!) thus far for collaborations

She sells a whole lot of lipstick for Cover Girl.

etc etc

I prefer to dwell on the good that she is doing ( and for the record I see nothing wrong with the GQspread, I’ve seen FAR worse in the Heat Paper).

My tow cents

48. Tico

I hope you go’ a pokey… yah mek mah proud…!

49. Here is something simple, repetitive, but profound and it has a good beat anyway.

Don’t cha get it?

Let your Star shine Ri.

Just remember to take a step back every so often and contemplate.

Better still, a moment each day.

Last bit of advice, do not let anyone push you or cajole you into drugs.

Best wishes to you.

50. That link did not work, so here goes.