328 responses to “Ambassador Rihanna Goes Topless For GQ Magazine”

1. Speechless!

2. Wuh deng!!!!

3. @ David

Why are you? The child has been on a downward spiral for the last year. It is topless now, next it will be completely naked for another men’s magazine.

She is no Beyonce, so she has to do whatever her handlers tell her in order to sell records with that whiney nasal voice of hers. She may think her fans are young people, but living in North America for the last 42 years, I would say dirty old men buy them to fantasise with, as they will be grabbing up the magazine to masturbate on the cover.

4. A proper match.

Tiger’s Wood and Ri’s vocals.

5. @ Pat:
    I go along with your comments. When I saw the photos on TV I didn’t know what to think.

I would like to make an additional comment but before I can do so, I would like to know what is the role and the responsibilities of someone who is given the title of Ambassador.

6. Pat
    Ya bad. Sad but true.
    Wuhlosssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.

7. Ef dis doan kill Bimbro,nutton else will.
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

8. @ Bonny Peppa

You know the family, what do they think?

On a British blog, people were comparing her behaviour to the conservative, religious people they encountered on vacation, where practically everyone goes to church on Sunday.

One blogger wondered what her parents and family thinks of her now.

Bimbro will get his magazine to do his business with too. Dont underestimate that ‘ole goat’.

9. @BP:
    You mean if Bimbro is still around, and/or keeping up with the latest on his gurl Rhi Rhi. Hahaha.

No one seems to know if he is lost, traded or stolen.

Maybe in the New Year he would put in a surprise visit to BU and make a comment, even if it is under another pseudo name.

10. Pat
    I know two of her uncles. One visits me every now n then but we never discuss her. Next time I will ask him what he thinks about her. I have always found her two uncles that I know, Lester n Leslie to be real gentlemen, especially Leslie.Around me, at least. She has ‘dollars but no cents (sense)
    I could hardly wait to see Bro. Scout’s contribution on dis. Ya know wah he gun be asking fa? “Please take away de ambassadorism from she”. That will be his main argument. Wait n see. LOLLLL
    Stupseee,de girl is a klown.

Sapadilla
    Doan mind Bimbro de ol ‘snipa’. He gun get a heart attack fa sure dis time.

11. What is david thompson waiting on.

Take away the damn ambassadorship man.

Rhianna is a real low life fool.

12. I was in the United States recently and had a young female sales clerk tell me she had never heard of Barbados until Rihanna became a star. Like it or not,and for the right reasons or not, Rihanna is internationally known and I can’t see David Thompson stripping her of her Ambassador title with the negative press that will likely follow that (“Barbados turns its back on Rihanna” etc) and the outcry that will come from her young supporters, a constituency I can’t see him offending. If and when her popular wanes then perhaps he will do so.

13. Angelie Jolie has displayed more skin than Rihanna and she is a UN Goodwill Ambassador. Putting things in perspective, Rihanna’s success has everything to do with her looks. She is hardly a singer or dancer of note!! It was inevitable that her “career” would take this route. She is probably now looking for a movie role something along the lines of being the next Bond girl. Like it or lump it, what did we expect of a not particularly cerebral, very ordinary wannabe singer, who has paid no “dues” in any field and was catapulted into fame at 17 years old on the sole basis of her looks?

All we can do is to wish her well and hope she can save as much money as she can while she commands so much of the popular media’s attention.

14. @ Micah:

Dont make me cry. Americans are dumber than bait. Canada is the second largest country in the world. It is bigger than the US, shares the longest undefended border in the world with the US, but guess what? Most Americans have never heard of Canada. Those who have cant pick it out on a map, or think there is year round snow.

So, dont be impressed by the store clerk. Canada has always been here and will always be here but most Americans will not hear about it.

15. I just get over Serena, an’ dis babe still look youngish… so she could gah long. I gotta note dat it is de women (Sap, Bonnie, Pat, ac?) dat seem to got a problem wid it. I wonda wah Hopi t’ink..?

16. Barbados is irrelevant to Rihanna’s stardom.

She has a personna created by promoters and marketers.Sex sells and sex appeal sells records and cosmetics.

Give her credit for being able to actually perform and be recognised as an International star.

The time has come to end this Ambassador nonsense. There is too much risk that there will be risque behaviour by young stars.

17. Anon ‘not particularly cerebral’? She did go yo Cawmere, therefore she got brains, whatever you may think.

And now she got more money than most bajans except COW, Seale, Edghill and a few others.

So, she listenting to her advisors for a reason. She is not stupid.

Having said that, Hants has it right, every line he wrote.

Madonna rode the spotlight like a champ, used the media to get what she wanted. Rihanna’s advisors seem to be pointing her the same way.

The best advice for her now is to make sure she keeps a rein on expenses, go through her checkbook or expense record every week to ensure money is not going where she does not expect (assuming some others are spending to take care of her costs), sit with her accountant every month to go through her income and expense, restrain from wild spending and invest in solid companies, a broad portfolio of both stocks and bonds and not to invest in any wild investments promising ridiculous returns.

I say, good for her, ride the wave sweetie.

And watch your back.

18. Rhianna has always patterned and shown great admiration for Madonna, in fact she has labeled herself the Black Madonna. If the Madonna script is being followed closely, nudity and bisexual behaviour will play a part in the months to come. Madonna in recent times has been trying to patch her tarred legacy by spending her millions to acquire orphans out of Africa, so too Jolie.

Interesting to listen to Vic Fernandes aka Market Vendor who accuses Rhianna’s critics of being sanctimonious.BU will challenge this position at another time.

19. Crusoe
    Dah got idiots dat went to Harrison’s, Queen’s too and therefore, Cawmere is no exception.
    She cannot sing, she cannot express herself verbally, she is a klown, she is a klown. She was the right place at the right time and she has the looks to boot. Doesn’t mean she should be ‘displaying her assets’ all ovva town. stupseeeeee.

Pat
    Ya got ma cryinggggg. ‘Americans are dumber than bait”. Sus Crois, dat is one fa de records. Next ting, ‘most Americans never heard of Canada”. Ya real bad Pat but I luv um bad.

BAFBFP
    Ga long ya ringneckvagabond. Ya soon mashup dah monitor wid all a dah ‘jurkin’.

Hants
    Season’s Greetings to you n yours from me n mine.

20. Vic Fernandes is a krutch. He probably did feel so too bout we when we did criticizing Vioma Ali or whateva de hell she name is.

We don’t hate Rihanna. We just don’t like how she is portraying herself like a lil slut. She in got ta behave so man.

21. @BAFBFP

Wat problem?
    Please practice good hygiene. Don’t forget to wash yuh hands.
    People with real talent don”t have to go that route.
    I don”t remember ever seeing Beyonce exposed and she made tons of money.

@BonnyPeppa.

Yuh mak me laf

22. Crusoe

I chose my words carefully. Rihanna is not retarded nor stupid nor illiterate etc. She was at the time of her “discovery” an average Bajan teenager albeit with such arresting looks that Evan Rogers on seeing her for the first time thought to himself “wow if she can sing I can make her a star”. So her marketability is not due to her programming skills, book writing skills, philosophical meanderings nor scientific reasoning etc, it is her physical attractiveness. An attractiveness that will fade with time (we all grow old) and so must be exploited aggressively and quickly. Also this “attractiveness” is being sold in a market (which includes hypocritical Bajans) that pays a premium for gratuitous displays of erotica and violence. I would thus say that Rihanna is bang on target.

On the ambassadorship business that was a case of the Gov’t jumping on the bandwagon which further reinforces the point that Barbados is really a small place and getting smaller.

I agree with your hopes for her financial well being.

23. B.P
    I hope I don’t disappoint you with my comment but quite honest with you Rihanna is no longer of any interst to me. I’ve made my position quite clear and have moved on. All I would say is “may the Lord have mercy on her soul.”Right now she’s like a puppet on a string and that string is made of U.S dollars. Maybe a lot of her family would like to say something but maybe some crumbs are falling on their tables. Money greedy people can easily turn their heads to morality; this is the type of world we live in right now.

24. Ri Ri keep the ooze flowing from your body !

Some here in Bim just jealous that they have nothing to show !!

25. Really, you can’t associate this type of behaviour with state actions. As ambassador from a country, you need to keep your clothes on. Maybe she is sending a message that being ambassador will hamper her ability to make money the way she perceives she is capable of making money. She does not want to be an ambassador. Get the message?

26. @Love

What jealous what? We could probably see better talent of that type in a night club.

27. @ The Scout // December 16, 2009 at 7:28 AM

Well said!

@ ac // December 16, 2009 at 6:42 AM, “I don”t remember ever seeing Beyonce exposed and she made tons of money.”

Rhianna is NOT a Beyonce when it comes to singing; Rhianna can’t even come close. Let’s face it Beyonce can truly sing. Had not for the backup instruments, Rhianna and many others who call themselves songsters would still be in search of a singing career.

On several TV networks, while reporters talked about Chris Brown and his recent behavior which is apparently due to the low sales of his latest, Rhianna was brought into the mix, and photos of her from the magazine were shown. In my opinion, the comments made were unflattering.
    @ Love // December 16, 2009 at 9:44 AM
    I don’t believe the comments had to do with them (reporters) being jealous of her.

If this is the road Rhianna takes to make her living, and live the best as if it were her last, I hope it pays off with no regrets.

I am disappointed that she would go this route; but then again, there’s that old adage, “Money talks and Bull sh*t walks.” (Most likely there are many excuses that could be made for her accepting the offer.) IMO, she should stick to singing which is not really great anyway, but pleases her many fans.

Maybe the time will come when whoever is in power would decide to have the appropriate person contact Rhianna to let her know that they are relinquishing her title of Ambassador.

Or maybe she should send a letter to the appropriate personnel informing them that she is gracefully bowing out of being Ambassador.

28. Barbados was warned. Best practices in the US entertainment industry demonstrates that if you cannot sing very well, you must take off your clothes very early in your career. Rihanna’s nudity was forcasted, as all the signs of comming undone were there for all to see — her panties were visible from the very beginning less we forget. Her singing (if yuh can call um dat) is over, and I don’t know how far her Bajan accent will carry her in Acting.
    …..Did Rihanna ask wunnuh for uh Ambassadorship? and did anyone informed her of the responsibilities for the position? chupse. Girl tek off you close and pose do!

29. Oh for God’s sake, the human anatomy is a beautiful thing indeed. So what if it is being shown off. Most of you people need to grow up a little. This lady did not ask to be an ambassador, the Barbados Government made a conscious decision to piggy back on her popularity and she has returned the favour big time…! If you do not like the ride then its time you shut up. Oh no I gotta wash my hands again..!

30. I see folk mentioning Serena Williams, but Serena’s nude shots are far more tasteful than Rihanna’s titillations – the Westbury gal’s shoot leaves li’l to the imagination! Serena’s spreads on the other hand hint at sensuality, both are black females but only one is a lady, IMHO

31. @BAFBFP

Dont forget to sanitize the computer screen!!!

@ Adrian

Well, the clothes are off, so we can just imagine the acting roles she will be getting. That is, if she can act. She did a bit part on a soap opera and the reviews were not good. This was a non speaking role – a cameo.

32. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

Beyonce not exposing sheself ?

are you serious ?

from day one Beyonce has been wearing skimpy outfits and actually revealing the same amount of flesh.

Go into town in that mall and buy that poster that shows beyonce with all per vagina exposed. Watch the video on youtube of her performing in England or any other performances of Beyonce

Beyonce not exposing
    ——man show me some sense !

33. @ Crusoe

I am not certain of this, but it was mentioned on this blog that she was still in third form at 17 years old. At that age I was in Form Six modern studies. I dont consider myself to be a big brain, just average. So what are you trying to say?

It is not where you go to school, it is how you come out that matters. Or rather what you come ou with.

34. You silly people…get to hell over it and leave the blasted woman alone. She did not ask for your silly meaningless title of ambassador, neither does it pay her bills.
    When you all visit the Louvre and see Venus de Milo, how do you think she posed? With clothing on…? There’s absolutely nothing wrong with nudity. Get to hell over it and go get a life.
    Go deal with the problems in your own households first.
    Leave the blasted woman alone.

35. Wait a minute
    You wait a minute, who de phuck you tink you is ta call people silly ya scunt. You mek you point and we mekkin we whun. Who visits the Louvre and who de phuck is Venus de Milo? Dis girl all ova de place fa all ta see, pussee.
    You talkin like a khunt so I in wastin na mo a mi time wid you.

Pat, ya still doing de ‘dog’ man. Ya rite.I surprise dat she get out a 1st form. Dummy wid munny. Dat’s all caus she chan even croak muchless sing.
    stuupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Merry Christmas all.

36. Ok…Bonny Peppa…you are are cursing and carrying on and want to put yourself above Rihanna?
    Go figure.
    You’ve just proven the point.

37. Wait a minute
    Go figure my ass. If you see me anywhere do you know me from any other?
    And you’ve proven your point too.

Excuse de strong language. I trying to be a christian but it is comments like yours dat keepin me from seein my Saviour face. Lord have mercyyyyyyyy.

Some approve of her behaviour, some don’t. You in got ta call people ‘silly’ and all dat r’hole. Behave ya self.

38. There is a saying”bad publicity is better than no publicity at all”. Right now Barbados is being flown under that banner , Barbadians should take it for what it’s worth.
    Many entertainers who have taken that route have ended up in drug rehab or dead and broke.

@BAFBFP.

I am waiting to see your nude pics too. I dare you to post them on the internet.
    Don’t forget to wash your hands liitle boy.

39. @anonymous
    When Angelie was running around loose and carefree she was no ambassador to anybody or anything.

40. If many of us as Barbadians were brought up in other countries where nudity is not being frown upon, we wouldn’t criticize Rhianna for being half-naked. Most would be cheering her on.

It’s just that many from the days of old saw and continue to see their body as private. So no matter what is said on Rhianna’s behalf it would be hard for them to accept.

Rhianna may not be able to please all the people all the time, not even her home based fans, working with the N. American entertainment industry. Her involvement in this part of the entertainment business maybe to keep a steady income and stay in the limelight for as long as she can.

She has a million dollar home and it has to be paid for. I don’t think anyone of us would be able to hold enough fund raisers to help her pay for her home if it were to go into foreclosure.
    The young lady has to do what she has to do to make it. At least she is not selling her body, or as the old people use to say, “turning tricks.”

Many is concerned and don’t like where they think she is going, but they should give her the benefit of the doubt that she knows where and when to draw the line.

41. @ Wait a minute

Are you familiar with some of the garbage that has been fallling from this girl Rihanna’s mouth?

Allegedly: she likes big dick men ( she called it well endowed); she likes to sleep around; it is common in Barbados to walk about naked; if you dont send naked pics to your boyfriend, she feels sad for him (this after her nude pics fiasco); all she wants for Xmas are sex and food.

Wuh wrong wid you, nuh? You helping to spen she money?

42. ac
    And another saying, ‘a bad boy is better than no boy’. Well if I had to choose, I would prefer no boy.

I tink BAFBFP keeps ‘hand-sanitizer’ rite next ta he monita. A wonda why. Perv.

Bro Scout,
    I’m not disappointed with your reply at all. I know your stand on this whole idea of ambassadorism. Gov’t is always too hasty to don these titles on whosoeverwill may come. It always amazes me. Ambassador, my botsy.
    She won a grammy, emmy or whatevva (another set up) and P.M Thompson head swell big like he guts and bramm, just so, Ambassadorism was bestowed upon ‘goat-brains’. She isn’t smart enough to know of all the social graces that accompany such a title hence the ‘naked-truth’. De gal’s a klown.
    You don’t have to ‘show it all’ to ‘be it all’. Klown.

43. ac

WHo tell you dat I little.. cudear I piss off all de women den! ac I won’ mind posting wah I got on de net cause I like de way it look an wah I got don’ get paid fah lying in public or tek lives or tief wah don belong tah it, like so many otha bajans dat deserve the type of focus dat dis propa piece ah Bajan humanity attracting today..!

ac I know you and Pat sexy too, yah jus’ ain’ showing it today.

Bonny I wan’ you cuss me too cause dah gun mek me sanitise de WHOLE room…! HA ha ha

44. Plain Talk
    I agree partially with what you said. I am from the old school so I still think that ‘some’ should be left for the imagination.
    If I conducted a survey on this pic. I think that most mature women would disapprove of it, the younger woman would ‘see nutton wrong wid it’ and most if not all men would be ‘asking for more’. Just my feelings, I could be wrong. I still believe that there’s a time n place for everything under the sun. I would be embarrassed if she were my daughter or grand daughter. I would say, ‘girl, hide yaself from de world and save it for ya hussy eyes only.’
    As for the million dollar home, don’t buy a car if you can only afford a bicycle. Take things in stride.
    As for ‘turning tricks’, who knows?

45. BAFBFP
    I fritten a nuff fa you bosey. Wah i gun cuss you fa? Um is ac dat askin you ta pose nude, not me. I won’t mind seeing ‘it’ needa but I in gun ask.I in dah bold.
    But tink it ova an gih we a pic. Ya cud hide ya face.

46. Which part you interested in BP..,?

47. I heard nuff talk and read some rave reviews about Rhianna’s song, Hard.
    Being curious, I listened to it via the net. I did not even wait until completion.

Can someone with an ear for music as well as someone who enjoys analyzing lyrics tell me what I should be listening for and what makes this song a hard hitter to the ears of so many?

Maybe she’ll win a Grammy and all the criticism that she is currently receiving would be crushed to the ground, and Barbados would be putting their Youth Ambassador and World Renown Female Entertainer on a pedestal one more time, thus making Barbados proud.

48. @ Sapidillo

The monetary success of a performer like Rihanna has little to do with lyrics or quality of music.

Millions of 13 to 30 year old North Americans, Europeans and Asians download or buy her songs because she is Marketed as a “hot sexy superstar”.

If you want to hear quality music listen to Alicia Keys or Whitney Huston from before her “problems”.

49. As an aficianado of good poetry, that song aint. To each his own. Did not listen, just read the lyrics.