Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @GP

That program LIFE CAN BE BEAUTIFUL, did it have in the characters Papa David and She She?

Back in those days Readers Digest was a very popular book for those who liked to read.

2. Kissmya
    This is a Bajan blog, and we will be reminiscing about te sweet days of the 60’s.

If you dont like it pass this thread by or go back to Basseterre.

Sarge thank you for reminding me of the Robe and the author of William.

When the movie the Robe came to Bim it was well attended because of that exposure on Redifussion. The ten commandments with Yul Bryner and Heston was also a hit as well as Ben Hur, with the indelible chariot horse race scene!

3. Yes David I remember my mom talking about Papa David.

Those programs were as popular as “Waste” i.e Days of our Lives!

4. I Check

That got to be bimbro.

5. Anybody remember the biscuits in four squares. A cent in biscuits was four 4 squares and the biscuit tin that was used for so many things including keeping the cakes and sweet bread at Xmas?

The Dutch Oven

6. @ROK

Back in dem days yuh cudda din buy dem loose kept fresh in a containna mek outta tinnin by de shopkeepa or by de pack which wus 4 squares x bout 10 in a red plastic packet.

7. “Let us not forget our past. But certainly look forward to the future. It’s more exciting.”

I received the following new version of Nursery Rhymes from some of our traditional ones and thought they were worth posting.
    With each of the rhymes, there is a pic associated with it but unfortunately the pics cannot be pasted in with the text.

Mary had a little pig,
    She kept it fat and plastered;
    And when the price of pork went up,
    She shot the little bastard.
    Mary had a little lamb.
    Her father shot it dead.
    Now it goes to school with her,
    Between two chunks of bread.
    Jack and Jill went up the hill
    To have a little fun.
    Stupid Jill forgot the pill
    And now they have a son.
    Simple Simon met a pie man going to the fair.
    Said Simple Simon to the pie man,
    ‘What have you got there?’
    Said the pie man unto Simon,
    ‘Pies, you dumb ass’
    Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall,
    Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.
    All the kings’ horses,
    And all the kings’ men.
    Had scrambled eggs,
    For breakfast again.
    Hey diddle, diddle, the cat took a piddle,
    All over the bedside clock.
    The little dog laughed to see such fun.
    Then died of electric shock.
    Georgie Porgy pudding and pie,
    Kissed the girls and made them cry.
    And when the boys came out to play,
    He kissed them too ’cause he was gay.

On another note, Did we touch pun de YMPC? Anybody rememba De Opels wid Clarence Thompson, de Fantastics wid Lloyd Wilson, de days o Mickee Dee, a few uddas but I can’t rememba rite now

8. Bonnie yah eva hear ’bout Cat Wiskers? You an’ ROK an’ GP mus’ ‘a been gettin’ down up inside dey. Cat Wiskers and the Drill Hall. De Marine House pun Ol’ Years…! Federal.

My Ting was more like Alexandra’s, Garage and Rendezvous Room pun a Friday.

I did too young fah Harry’s Nitery. Sorry dey din nah cell phone cameras back den… Ha ha!

9. Sapidillo you know fah a fact dat Gorgie Porgie is a gay?

10. Sapadillo,
    I luv dem Nursy Rimes bad especially Simple Simon.
    Along wid Mickey Dee was a fella called Jeffery Greene. He was light-skinned and real cuteeeeeeeee. I had a crush pun he too. Went to St.Leonards Boys wid Mickey Dee.
    ‘Timeeeeeeeeeeeeee is on my side”. Sweet tune by Mickey Dee.
    Fern Trail was also a hit. She was back here some time ago a mere shadow of herself.
    ‘On the floor all the people dance around, moving close together and there all alone in the corner………….”.
    Anotha sweet tune sung by Fern Trail.

BAFBFP
    Cat Whiskers was in my home town. I is a Blk.Rk woman dat marrid n migrate ta de cuntry ya kno? I did too young ta ga in de Whiskers but I woulda love ta go.
    Harry’s Nitery was for de brave at heart.

There was another book other than Reader’s Digest. Think it was Walker’s Almanac or sumting so. Can’t rememba exactly. Something Almanac.

Dr. Porgie,
    Sorry, not Quiet Time but Music to Remember. That wasn’t hosted by Auntie Olga? It was all classical music.
    Never heard of Aunty Pat, only Aunty Olga.

Sargeant,
    Wah bout Carl Scot? Strong bajan accent.
    Never heard of The Robe.

Wait, who rememba Art Linkletter and The Kids?
    ‘Kids say the darnest things’.
    That kids show was hilarious too.
    Think he’s still alive too. Maybe 1000yrs. old by now.

Wah ’bout de village shops? Dem shopkeepers had built-in scales in dem hands man. What evva dem tek up in dem hand somehow use ta be de exact weight you want. No mo, no less.
    And sometimes de shopkeeper would wipe de butta stick in a saltbread and gih ya.

ROK,
    I Check is Bimbro? Notttttttttttttttttttt.

KissMya,
    You can’t run tings rong hay, so put up or shut up. Ok? I tink ya betta shut up.

11. I thought “I Check” was Bimbro too!

12. Some of those popular nursery rimes could land us in big trouble today:_
    I’m a sailor young an gay
    just came back from sea today
    will you marry,marry marry me.
    Perhaps he has an eye on this guy
    Bobbie Shaftoe went to see,
    silver buckles on his knee.
    or
    Ding Dong Bell! Pussy in the well

13. One of the best lawyers i knew never went near a law school, Manny Browne. He used to be in the Bridgetown courts daily ,just observing and would advise many a lawyer who had lost a case where he had gone wrong. Many a person in the district who was about to face the law court would seek advice from Manny.
    He was once charged with arson, apparently he was paid to burn down a Marhill Street drug store, (Bonny Peppa, should know which one,) but Manny like he used too much gasolene and the fire service found him at the scene with some serious burns. He represented himself in court and won. His favourite questions to lawyers and witnesses those time he lander in court was, ” In my presence and in your absence were you there?”

14. Today the airwaves was hot over a young student receiving some lashes at the school gate. We had a boys school and a girl school next both shared a common gate,and the Boys school headmaster used to take up a position after a few minutes past nine and lash both girls and boys coming through. If one of the teachers at the girl school object they were likely to get some too.
    But when the Boys at Clifton Hill,Southborough were late they used to rub their hands with a onion like plant with a yellow flower which growed alongside the road. This made the skin very soft and tender,and as the headmaster lashed them in the palm, blood would spout like a pig at the butchers.
    I remember one morning on the way to school one of the masters sent me back to his home to collect some ink. As I was on an errand for the teacher I was ok, or so I thought, when I got to school late the same teacher cut my tail,and when I protested that he had sent me back to his home, he told me,”yes but you had enough time to get there and back to school in time.”

15. Jim Reid,I think he was a magistrate
    ,he taught me at West. One day he asked me ,What is torque? Don’t know sir.
    He grab me and said, ” see this bamboo?it weighs 2 Lbs and is 3 feet from your arse.Thats a torque of 6Pounds feet on you behind.” BAM.

16. One of the highlights in the village was the Harvest Programme at the village meeting hall. The biggest and best of everything used to be there,and the biggest and sweetest canes used to form an arch over the doorway. This came in handy cause while the congregation is clapping after a recitation or song ,some of the boys will be busy cutting down the canes from the doorway.

17. Those old Bedford and Austin trucks were so simply made that many a driver/ owner was his own mechanic.
    A few years ago I saw one of these old Bedford trucks broken down underneath government him,and the driver was so engrossed in trying to repair the old truck that he was not aware until a woman driver shouted, “Hey !You ! try and pull up ya pants.”
    While he was reaching over the high bonnet his pants slackend off and dropped to the ground.

18. Remember Brother Bridgeman,a big fat red man on a bicycle,who used to ride about and shout ,”DONT BULL”

19. Before there was TV: Reddifusion broadcast many British programs some of which have been mentioned but included among them were the BBC World news, English football results, Top of the Pops with mostly British singers, there was also a broadcast from the BBC focused on the Caribbean I think Andrew Salkey the writer was on that program. Reddifusion also broadcast a program on Saturday night called “Hootenanny Saturday Night” where they played Blue Grass and country music.

I also remember when Jackie Opel returned to Barbados and started to perform again. At the inquest into his death the Gov’t expert (I think it was Harold Hinds) on vehicle safety said words to the effect that that his car should never have been on the road as there were too many defects, basically it was a death trap.

A friend has given me some 45s for safe keeping, they include songs by Rudy Boyce, The Escorts, The Sand Pebbles, Tony Grazette & the BRC, Wendy Alleyne & The Dynamics, The Merrymen,Sir Don, Sach Moore, Patsy Cadet, The Draytons Two, Mike Grosvenor etc

20. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bradley 432

Bridgeman had goadies too right?

He was a disgusting man fuh true.

What about those english comedies on the rediffusion on a sunday afternoon wid the 2 fellas.

Can’t remember their names.Half de time yuh could not even understan’ wuh dey were saying.

21. Shuggie Otis Strawberry Letter 23

22. Mary had a little lamb
    It turned out to be a ram
    and Mary had a little lamb.

23. Kiki wah dem is… white belly sheep?

Bradley 432

One fine day in de middle ah de night
    Two blin’ men began to fight
    Back tah back dey face one anodah
    drawing swords tah kill one anoda

A deaf policeman hear de noise..

i can rememer de res’….!

24. Bradley432
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnn.
    All de talk, I like Bridgeman
    ‘Don’t bull’. OK? Just doan bull. Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Bradley my fam’blee had a cook-shop on Marhill St. not a drug store. They were Beryl, Bertie n Boo. Fair skinned people. Can’t rememba na fiah doe.
    You thought dat because de teacher sen you pun a erran dat you could play nah? Um doan work so, come man, hold dese, wax palax n cocoa bakes.

Wah bout when ya had ta stretch out ya hands to get ya nails inspect? God help ya if da too long or dirty. My Lord. OR if de teacher pull a comb thru de boys hair and it in comb, Lord help ya again.

I was a ‘favourite’ at primary school doe, cause I had real long hair and i kno dat de teacher would beat de whole class n not me. Den when school let-out at 3, I had ta tek off fa home or get beat.

I hope dah man had on a b.v.d when he pants drop down. teeheeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Sargeant,
    I still got a good collection of 45’s n Lp’s too n a record playa. Wah bout Lunar 7, Vibrations,Checkmates,Merri-boys.

Mash up
    My sour-sop punch, howdydo? Thought I didn’ gun hear nutton from you. Like ya kno. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.

ROK,
    Andrew Murphy resides in Germany and brother Leo. Rudy lives here.

Wah bout when de ‘coolie-man’ come out and ya motha tell ya to go n tell he dat i in home and you go and tell he, ‘she tell me ta tell you dat she in home’.
    One day de ‘coolie-man’ peep inside a woman house and she did hiding behind de ‘blinds’, so when she son tell he, ‘my muddah in home’, he holla, ‘well, tell she de next time she leffin home ta cah long she feet’.

Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

25. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Heh,heh

Bonny peppa how yuh mean yuh thought I wasn’t going say something and I here posting all de time.

You mean the man we ain’t hearing nuttin from is yardbroom,he gone real quiet and he does got some sweet,sweet ole time stories.

26. Mash Up
    Sorry, Sweet P.

You mean dat Yardbroom sweeta dan Bradley432? Dah in possible.

Yardie,
    Come n defen ya crown bosey.
    Bradley real baddddddddddddddddd.

27. Very interesting blog. Someone should collect this information to produce a book for posterity, since after the older folk are gone this social history may be lost forever.

I was born in 1950 and can identify with a lot of what was discussed. For instance: Deighton “The Bomber” Griffith was my headmaster and a real tyrant. I later taught at the same school where he humiliated me in front of my students. I taught Mickey Dee, and to this day he is very pleased to see me. I was almost 15 years old before TV came to Barbados and I think that without that distraction, we did a lot more reading. Dictation, comprehen- sion and reading aloud individually were great aids to mastering English.

28. Mad Mac,
    Welcome, if this is your first time posting.
    If you hear the stories my older brothers have to tell about the ‘Bomber’, it would have you in stitches.

Wah ’bout de attire of the teachers in those days?

And at Singing practise, some teachers would come right up to your mouth to make sure you know the words of the hymns or elseeeeeeeeeee.

Jeff Cumberbatch,
    No more contributions?
    ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’.
    ( still as sweet as the first time I read it).

Yardbroom,
    Sa sumting nahhhhhhhhhh. Cuh dear.

29. Kiki,
    I want you to pull up ‘My boy lollipop’by Millie Small on YouTube and post it here for me. I don’t know how to do it.The one recorded in 1964 I think.
    And it is for all my lolli, lolli-pops on BU.

30. You know that males operate the same way,whether its Human or Animal. Some fellows used to go around robbing the plantation orchards and kitchen gardens which were pretty near the plantation house which was guarded by some fierce bull dogs. They would take along a slut dog in heat, and turn the bull dogs into wimpering puppies.

31. There was a time when schooners used to run between Barbados and the other islands.The story goes that a Bajan fellow sneaked aboard one of these schooner with the intention of getting off down the island.When the schooner left Bridgetown and stop at its next port, the man got out please as hell running down the street shouting that he was out of Barbados. Then someone,yelled,”Hey you! man ya in Speighstown.”

32. Town women always take delight in tricking country men. This fellow from the country went in Church Village ,in the days when it was known for its hairy banks and not the Central Bank. This fellow hand over his fare,and as the lady held his hand to take him behind the tree, the man wet his pants,and I aint talking pee. The woman would not give him back his money,arguing that like a bus fare ,it was for part or the whole of the journey.

33. Georgie Porgie // October 16, 2009 at 8:14 PM

Kissmya
    This is a Bajan blog, and we will be reminiscing about te sweet days of the 60’s.

FROM WHAT I READ THERE WAS NOT A LOT OF SWEET ABOUT THOSE DAYS.
    all yuh just being nostalgic and its making me sick.

Anyhow Iwill take advice and butt out

34. @ BAFBFP
    They look like piebald deer, which I have
    never heard of.

Freedom Flight
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/freedom-flight/

Inspiration Information
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/inspiration-information/

35. Bonny hunny I was sleeping..

My boy lollipop,
    You made my heart go giddy up.
    You are as sweet as candy;
    You’re my sugar dandy.

36. @Bonny Peppa – re: teachers’ dress

Males had to wear a tie in those days.
    I remember my brother bringing me a ‘hipster’ pants and pointed toe boots from a trip to Martinique. The French were ahead of the fashion scene. This pants had bell bottoms and was made to be worn with a ‘broad’ (2-1/2″ to 3″) belt. I wore this pants and the pointed toe boots with a terylene shirt to school one day and the Bomber saw red. He said, “You are no teacher, you’re a playboy”. From that day he was always on my case. To avoid the stress, I left teaching after two years.

37. @Bradley 432

Talking about Church village, I remember when the Sanitation Dept. was in that area. There were also two garages there: one was the local Rootes dealer (Hillman, Singer) – don’t remember the name – and was destroyed by fire. Motor Services replaced it. The other was Withnall and Co., agents for Truimph motor cars (Herald, 1300, 2000). My friend was a salesman there.
    Another popular business was W S Monroe & Co. which was there up to the mid seventies.

38. @Mad Mac,not that I frequented Church Village. The garage was owned by the Goddards and known as Redman and Taylor which was also agent for Land Rover and Jaguar. Somewhere on St Michael Rowe below the Cathedral car park was another car agency, not so much a garage, that used to sell Lloyds and Borgwards. The Lloyds had a guarantee of 5Miles or 5 Minutes which ever came first,and many owners of Lloyds ended up taking them back ,as there was no maintenance support or spare parts available . It was operated by Bradshaw, the man who was the sole gun dealer in Barbados. Try arguing with him over your new clapped out Lloyd car.

39. @Kissmaya,it depends on what you see as “Sweet things”. If you mean material things, like washing machines, gas stoves, TV’s, Video, Computer ,cheap flights, KFC and Chefette , AIDS, herpes,bubbies popping out ya chest,same sex marriages and a host of other modern day “sweet things’ the answer is NO.
    The sweetest thing about life then was one’s love for a fellow human being and mutual respect. People were poor, piss poor, but would still endeavour to share what little they had with friends and neighbours,and even strangers.
    Today many of us do not know our neighbours, and do not care to .I remembered on one occasion this man used to pass through the village every morning on his motor bike and spoke, and wavedcheerfully at everyone he met. No one knew his name or where he came from. One morning he had an accident, ran off the road and into a poison tree. He was not badly injured ,but was blinded from the juice of the poison tree. There were no telephone as such to contact his family or an ambulance to take him to hospital. The villagers took it upon themselves to look after the man. The treatment for that blindness was fresh milk, baby’s milk,not from the tin. The newest mother in the district was brought to the scene and she without hesitation took her breast out and squeezed milk into the poor man’s eyes. His family back where he came from did not have to worry. This is the type of sweetness that was so readily available back in those days.Today we are caught up in our own selfish world,and think that these are the finest days,and to hell with the other fellow.

40. @Bradley432

Wuhloss, I must have missed something I thought that breast milk was for babies didn’t know it had other uses. Somehow my Gran and Great Gran never passed on that old time remedy to me. I need a second opinion; GP where are you?

41. Over at the corner of Culloden Road and Dalkeith,where the gas station is, the Progressive Bus Company was located. Ran by a man called Birch, the Government took over his buses when the Transport Board was first set up. Missing his buses or “birds” as he referred to them, Birch went across to Weymouth to see how his buses were “coping”,and was horrifies to see that they were in the open and not in a covered garage that they were accustomed. Birch protested bitterly and was allowed to reclaimed his buses. Eventually the Transport Board took them over again in the mid ’60″s

42. Over at the corner of Culloden Road and Dalkeith,where the gas station is, the Progressive Bus Company was located. Owned by a man called Birch, the Government took over his buses when the Transport Board was first set up. Missing his buses or “birds” as he referred to them, Birch went across to Weymouth to see how his buses were “coping”,and was horrified to see that they were in the open and not in a covered garage as they were accustomed. Birch protested bitterly and was allowed to reclaimed his buses. Eventually the Transport Board took them over again in the mid ’60″s

43. Every body must have heard about Zepherin who used to turn into a cat to spy and listen in to his workers in the bakery. Up to this day many Bajans still believed this story. Sometime in the 1980″s I was dealing with a supplier from the UK who did some business with Zepherin Bakery as well. Without knowing the folklore attached to Zepherin,he remarked to me that the owner there was weird (presumably referring to a son /grandson) He was in the office and this guy said to him,”You want to hear what that group standing together down in the bakery are saying.?” With that he flicked a switch, and the voices on the workers could be heard loud and clear on some discretely placed speakers in the office. Zepherin was a pioneer in BUGGING.

44. Bush Hill and the Garrison are not really new venues for that business conducted there at night. During the war when men of the Barbados Volunteer Force were encamped at the Garrison, many of whom were awaiting to be sent into action overseas,the ladies done a thriving business. There is one case where a soldier decided to go across and get a lil piece while waiting. Surprise !Surprise! the lady who he picked out to unload his short arm turned out to be his wife. Apparently she thought that he had gone overseas. Far from going overseas he ended up going up the river, to Glendairy for the murder of his wife.

45. Bradley432,
    O Lord, ya got a wealth a knowledge.
    And some good stories to tell.
    I luv how ya ‘hit-back’ at KissMya. She/he should shut up now. Hopefully.

Yes, I know of mothers using their breast milk for medicinal purposes. Sorry I wasn’t there to assist de fella wid my breast too. (teeheeeeeeeeee)

I luv how you reflect pun Church Village. It wasn’t always for banking money. (murdahhhhhhhhh) ya bad.

J.L Redhead had a store some way in town was related to me too. Roebuck St. I think.

So Zephrin was really a bugger not a transformer. (teeheeee)

Mad Mac
    You did dress real hard boy but de Bomber didn’ know dat or you did look betta dan he dat day. He did want a good ‘busing’.

Sargeant,
    Boy,ya nevva too ol ta learn. Ya see?
    No, I ain’ saying dat you ol hear? 🙂

Kiki,
    Thanks for de fava, Selecta.
    Check de dancer in de middle. Doing real bad boy. Look like she dancing de booga-loo. You know dat dance or u too young?

Wah ’bout de cracklings? (fried pork skin). Or de pork patties?

Wah ’bout rice-milk? Or rice-tea? Not sure which it is.

Or cocoa n dumplins?

Or de chocolate sticks from St. Vincent dat was used ta mek tea? Taste real good too.

Or sheep-belly soup?

Or cow-souse?

Or frizzle salt-fish wid a stew sweet- potato wid some porridge?
    Dat was a Saturda meal for many a man.

A lie?
    Uh-uhhhhhhhhhh

46. @KISSMYA // October 17, 2009 at 10:49 PM

Georgie Porgie // October 16, 2009 at 8:14 PM

Kissmya

FROM WHAT I READ THERE WAS NOT A LOT OF SWEET ABOUT THOSE DAYS.
    all yuh just being nostalgic and its making me sick.

Anyhow Iwill take advice and butt out
    ========================
    Good idea BUTT OUT! Anf go and see how sweet it is in Basseterre undr Denzil Douglas.

Maybe we are being nostalgic- but thats when we gre up………and though most of us were poor then, WE DID ACTUALLY HAVE LOTS OF FUN. It was SWEET FOR US INDEED.

We have got richer but not BETTER necessarily. We have lots of new STUFF, but we have also got ROUGH!

We cared for eah other then, we knew each other and were known by folk for miles around where we lived.

We knew where our friends lived. We knew folk by thier names and by thier car numbers (those who had cars.)

47. Oh and by the way Kismya, you can often find similar interesting stories about your country in your local newspapers. I enjoy reading them and find the comparisons very interesting!

48. I remember when you could buy li’l piece ah Black pudding in de skin. Yah had a choice, Black or White…Now dey only got Steam! Stupse….!