Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Remember those times when women were name after certain products.
    If a woman had named Pepsi, it means that she was short ,fat and curvy like the old time Pepsi Bottle, and for some toooooo sweet.
    But if she was named Thermogene, meant she was hot hot hot, as Thermogene was a hot stuff you used to rub with to ease aches and pains.

2. Remember when your mother or grandmother had a headache, they would roll a kerchief, pour Bay Rum, Limacol all over it and tie it around their forehead. What about the Snuff that people shove up their noses. One day, a lady was pushing some up her nose, and I ask what it was. She asked me if I wanted to smell it and I said yes. She took a pinch out of a little can she kept it in, and pushes it up my nose. Man, I ran and bawl like a cow; that burned me so bad. I was even frightened to tell my parents.

We were given that bad tasting Canadian Healing Oil to drink, the stinking smelling shark oil, and none other than Worm Wool steeped in rum which we were made to believe that it was good for the worms. LOL. Contrary to those bad tasting and smelling concoctions, we had roolie pollie, nut cake, comforts, the sweetie called Paradise Plum, and the sweetie that was shaped like a nut in shell (can’t remember if there was a name for it.)

Another High school that come to mind was Metropolitan. Erdiston Primary School was initially known as Erdiston Model School, in the days of Ms. Barrett as Headmistress; Mr. Edey as Asst Headmaster; Mr. DePeiza, etc

3. Sapadillo
    Only yesterday I sent some of the same sweeties that shape like a nut to the U.S for my fam’bly. The name is nut-krisp.
    It used ta be World war 3 evry Sunday morning at my house wid dis bad tasting ting call ‘castor-oil’. Oh christ man. And de more I vomit, de more licks I get. And another dose.

Sargeant,
    Yes boy, I remember only too well de $4.80 dat was equivalent to 1 pound. Dah money use ta buy a truck load a ‘goods’ boy.

Bradley432
    Ya walkin encyclopaedia. Today I see a Wosley boy I almost run offa de road looking at um. Talk bout a strong lookin body. Shite man, ya should see de ol boy dat did driving um. I sorry I didn’ get de numba.

BAFBFP
    You talkin bout a roller n steerer.

Wah bout de ‘scraper/raker’dat use ta rake up de rocks n leaves in de yard wid? It was a piece a thin galvanise or sumting so an shape like a “L”. I know a ol lady dat is still use one.

Sapadilla,
    People use ta get some kinda oil leaves and strap round da head fa headache too.
    I mek a lil girl smell ‘smellin -salts’ one day too and she run home bawlin. I stan and hear she granny telling she to stop tellin lies pun me cause I won’t do nutton so.

Eagle Hall Primary was referred to as Ms. Gooding school, I tink.

Wah bout de two milk tots dat ya use ta bore a hole in de middle, thread piece a cord thru de hole n tie round a nail and stan up pun de tots an walk bout pun. If ya evva slip off all ya shin bone cut up.

Wah bout de slippers mek outta car tire an rubba bands or de bicycle inna tube ta push ya toes thru? Dem slippers did hard den.

And when ya playing house and ya cooking. Ya gone inside n tek up lil rice, somebody else gone home fa lil lard oil, piece a meat all de way so and we put on we butter tin ta cook in. When it done evry manjack gettin lil bit. But if a
    ‘noise’ brek out befo de food dun, de pot would get kick off de ‘wood-fiah’ and dun de show jus so. But if ya kick off de pot, ya got ta run home or ya gun hold real lickssssssssssssssss. And real licksssssssssss days afta.

4. Sapidillo // October 14, 2009 at 11:38 AM

For those of us who did not have a water toilet, don’t let us forget that precious commode, the topsy or as some would call it, de poe.
    …………………………………………………..
    “de poe” was known as “the white lady with she hands in she kinba”

The School in Belmont could have been the Cooperative High own by the Callenders

5. @ Bonny Peppa

Yuh mean you cooked ‘minute pots’ too? That is what we called those cookup in the butter tot. hahaha

They cooked faster than regular cooking – so the name!

By the way, are you sure it was not Bradlye432 driving that ole Wolsey? he he he.

6. Man I have two beautiful topsies here in my house.

One is by Alfred Meakin – Ironstone China with georgeous flower decals. This one holds my potpourri. A lovely conversation piece. Cost me $10 about 15 years ago.

A few months ago, I picked up my second one. It is not as heavy and is made by Woods and Son, England. This is also white, but plain with no design. I keep my match box covers in it by the fireplace hearth. It also cost $10.

I could have had a beautiful one with blue flowers and a cover. Could not make up my mind and by the time I got back it was gone – for a whopping $50. The shop attendant told me it was very old and was ‘flow blue”. But the blue was not flowing that is why I hesitated. lol

These things are collectible in these parts. I would not let go of mine for less than $100 each.

7. @Pat

An aside; How come you still using a wood fireplace? You contributing to the destruction of the environment. Gas is the way to go

8. Topsies as collectibles, what will they think of next 🙂

9. Women din use tah break win’ of any kind….! Ah boy..!

10. Pat

I like my topsies wid a few ‘bounces’ doe. Dat adds nostalgia. (teeheeeee)

11. David,
    I in see you put in you two-cents wurf. You in had nun a dem ‘times’.

De good ol days boy. Not back then though. Pure torture.

Wah bout scrubbing de floor wid de white head bush pun ya all fours.
    Phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

12. Remember those dance clubs in the country,like the YMUC and the Corner Club in St joseph as well as one at Horse Hill. In those days we hav some big strong men that only used their fist to fight.One night a fight breck out at Horse Hill club, and a police sergeant and a constable went in to quell the disturbance. The men turned on the cops ,and with thier big size 12 boot the made a bee line up Horse Hill, but the constable was in from of the sarge, who remarked, “man move out ma way and leh a man that could run run!”

13. The Abbey School., Belmont.

I nevah see a mauby woman. Da’ beyond me boh!

But I know yah could buy a sea egg shell wrap in a sea grape leaf full ah sea eggs fah a couple dollars…!

14. De Ice Cream Parlour pun White Park Road, and De Real Chicken Barn whole chicken..!

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@BP,

Eagle Hall Primary was known as “Goodland”. I don’t know if this is still so. I was there from 61-65.

16. @BAFBFP

You went to the Abbey School?

17. Yea ROK I also had to deal wid Percy Scratch. I followed you around the world it seems. LOL

18. @BAFBFP

You got me a bit confused. The Abbey was in Belmont Road? Who was Head Mistress? Mrs. King?

It also means you went to Lodge School before 1972 to but up on Scratch.

19. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I think the abbey school was on colloden road next to or near to the government’s training board.

This abby school was a private primary school.

20. Correct MUBB with the head Mistress Ms. Ronalds, the lady that ate crab backs every afternoon after school and insisted that the boys not be allowed into the yard after Robert Dabney fell, lost an eye and was subseguently blinded for life.

I had to deal with both Scratch and Smith, Ronny Hall (just passed), Buffum Gooding that lef’ because he din’ t’ink nah Black headmaster should be runnin’ Lodge School, Jack Frost dat still knockin’ roun’, Beamish, Kirton (later Education Minister in St. Lucia) the first woman in Ba’bados to wear thongs (after your time ROK but I know that tah be true along with 1000 other boys at the time) Goggie Clarke, English woman Iron Bubby, Tightpuss before she became head Mistress of Alexandra’s and so on…

21. The Abbey school was in Belmont then it moved to culloden road. In Belmont next to what is now the National Sports Concil, (now occupied by a sound and stage management conpany) it was run by Ms Ronalds. The Guesburies (I know I spelled the name wrong) of Reddifusion fame, owned the land.

22. BAFBFP
    Whetha you spell de name rite or rong, we know who ya mean. Dis in nah ‘spellin B’. Do ya ting howevva.

Jeff Cumberbatch,
    I was at Goodland around that time too. And yes it was called so maybe because of its location. An older brother of mine said that it was also called Ms.Gooding school. The headteacher was Ms Maxwell. Then I was transferred to Deacon’s Primary when it first opened. You rememba Mad Tom? I was real, real, real frighten fa dah mad-man, hear.

Bradley432,
    ‘man move an leh a man dat could run, run nah’. (a cryinggggggggg).
    You could publish a book a short-storied. You in easy a ‘tall.

Jeff,
    ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’
    (still cryingggggggggggggg at dat)
    Um is a classic.

I nevva see de ‘mauby-woman’ eitha but I rememba de sea-egg in de grape leaf shaped like a scone. And ya get sea-egg fa days man. We use ta get sea-eggs pun Brandon/Brighton beach too and eat dem out de shell pun de sand.
    I would pay anything now fa a sea-egg. I serious.I miss dem baddddddd man.

23. District F Police station was on top of Bissex Hill, before it was move to Horse Hill. Bissex is one of the highest points and Barbados, and the Water Works was unable to pump water to the station. This was considered a punishment posting,as in those days many policemen used to live at the station. If they wanted water they had to come down to Coconut Grove with some oil drums in the back of the station Chevrolet truck M1033. There used to be a big red policeman by the name of Murphy who used to ride a white horse. On bank holidays he used to go down to Bathsheba to the many excursions held there, and at the end of the day he was fully boozed up. The horse would take Murphy back to the station, but not the short cut up the Ridge, but it actually completed the route that Murphy should have patrolled. I recalled one night driving in a car in Chimborazo, came around a corner and was met with the big broad ass of Murphy’s horse, and Murphy hanging on and swaying like Cat Ballou.
    In those days a plantation watchman’s job was 24/7. One morning about 3.30 am one of these a policeman for F, confronted a watchman called Bollow Wood half asleep at Mayers Corner, these watchmen were good good Stick Lickers,and when Bollow fired a few lashes at the policeman, the whole village was woken up by the brop..brop.. brop noise of the policeman’s boots as he high tailed it cross Sugar Hill with all the dogs chasing him.

24. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

When I scrolled the page, I saw the name ROK and I saw no photo so I shouted hurrah ! -he heeded my request ! and there is no picture.

What BRAIN POWER did realised was that the picture did not load imediately but some time after. To say that I was dissappointed would be the understatement of the year.

ROK you have not heeded my request so I am ordering you to beat yourself in the head six times-(maybe that’ll work).

I am calling for other commenters to tell ROK to remove his photo and to use his full name instead of ROK.

BONNY PEPPA alias BARE PUP (BP)
    -behave yuhself
    -I am not talking to you !

25. BP
    We ‘ol-talkin’ not ‘shite-talkin’.
    Now you behave youself Sugar-plum.

Bradley432
    Murphy was my neighbour a long time ago. He was one handsome man. His son Leo, a Comma-marian, was sooooo handsome too.

26. It seems to me that BU attracts viewers who were born in the mid 60’s and forward. Could it be that those who were born prior do not want to be reminded of their past? Smile

Btw, where is Mr. Bimbro?

27. They say VIC is murphy’s son.

28. Anonymous,
    Which Vic? Brewster or Fernandes? Murphy had bout 3 sons from he wife. All living in Germany now I tink. And all dem boys did handsomeeeeeeee. De motha was a purty gal she self.
    None a he sons in ugly, hear?
    Sapadillo,
    I born in de 50’s if ya please. De 50’s.

I missin a few BU fam’blies:
    Scout, Sir BentWood, Porgie, Bimbro, Hopi, Gear Box etc. I waiting pun dem contribushun.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

29. @ Bonny Peppa

I am your elder! I was born in the 40’s. I think Bradley432 was as well.
    I have not seen Bimbro around these parts for about three weeks. I wonder if he okay? I wonder if he sick? I wonder if he in Bim, hiding out from we all like now? I hope nuffen n happun to e doe. He is nuff, nuff fun.
    Maybe he took off to the Continent with a young Jamaican ting.

30. Sometime ago Bimbro said that he would be posting less, he mentioned something about “changing times and circumstances”. This is right after he started the flirting with the Bajan/Yankee who said her husband was an undertaker. Now what man in his right sense would flirt with a woman who said her husband is an undertaker? They can get rid of you and no one would be the wiser ( I am talking about false bottom coffins LOL).

Anyway I think Bimbro took the exam for a position with this agency. I heard that they were looking for spies, so Bimbro may fancy he is the next 007 and is cooling out on the beach checking up on all a wunnah.

If anyone else wants to take the test go right ahead.

http://www.sis.gov.uk/output/self-selection-tool.html

31. Pat,
    Many respects my Elder. Not much elder doe.
    You know Bimbro fulla tricks too. He probably comin wid anudda disguise. He khan keep way fa too long.
    Sumting tellin me dat he barely laffin at we talkin bout we miss he. Tricksta.

Bimbroooooooooooooooooooooooooo,
    Smoochesssssssss my coffee-mate.
    Ya sucre devil.

No,no,no de unda-taka wife too ol’fa he. He like dem young like ‘ya-kno-who’? Here’s 2 clues:
    Brella, ella, ella, ella, ellaaaaaa.
    Shut up n drive, drive,driveeeeeeeeeee.

Wunna guess who yet? Good.

32. Bonny peppa

Vic Fernandes.

Murphy son leo lives in germany,the big one rudy that look like vic lives in barbados,and the other one I am not sure where he is.

33. Murphy was one of the mounted cops on duty the Independence night when things went bad at the Supremes concert.He used his horse to control the unruly crowd.
    Speaking bout Vic ,remembered Bit Guts DaSilva, he used to goo fromm shoop to shop selling goods from his yellow Bedford van,he was so fat and his guts so big that he could not get out the van, and every village he got to he would have a different fellow running around for him ,for a little something. On the side of DaSilvas van he used to advertise FERGUSSON Tractors. At one time the Fergussion people stop paying him to advertise, and under Fergusson Tractors, Silva wrote “ARE NO GOOD.” But he had a pretty lil wife.

34. Inspector Kenneth Murphy, yes he was on duty the night the Supremes sang or failed to sing in Independence Square. Did you ever hear the one about the young constable who was standing behind Murphy when the bottles started to fly and a bottle was heading for Murphy when the young constable ever anxious to please said “Watch out Mr. Murphy”.
    and……….Murphy ducked.

Murphy also used to patrol the schoolboy stands at cricket. One day the late Colin (Blizzard) Burke in school uniform attempted to get into the Schoolboy’s stand .for the Test against the Aussies (circa 1965). Murphy came right up to his face and said “boy wuh form you in? Burke replied “5s2 sir” Murphy , “well yuh cud be in 5ka3 you ain getting in here today”

35. De Lard tek Ozzie Mo, Joe Tuda an’ my picture pun de roof one night during’ a tunda storm….

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

36. Today’s NATION records that some boys who were late for school by over two hours, got a whipping at the school gate for thier tardiness.

It is reported also that the boys, and lookers on from nearby complained and objected.

Does anyone remember when it was routine to be punished by lashes or detention for lateness?

Does anyone remember walking to school and experiencing some fear and trepidation when one heard the theme song for PORTIA FACES LIFE issuing forth from someone’s Rediffusion?

Depending on the distance away from school at the time one heard that theme song, you know if you were safe…………or otherwise.

Does anyone remember the two popular programs at nights on Redifussion………..LIFE CAN BE BEAUTIFUL or DOCTOR PAUL?

What about KID GRAYSON RIDES THE RANGE ON SATURDAY MORNINGS?

Recently, i have been watching a lot of the cartoon JOHNY QUEST. I remember when the theme song for that progam was heard, bat and ball in my village would come to an abrupt end, as the boys scurried to the nearest accomadating tv set.

37. Georgie

PORTIA FACES LIFE …KID GRAYSON RIDES THE RANGE .. well well Redifusion was king

At Christmas you would hear..

Redifusion has the Christmas Spirit.
    Jingle Bells

There’s only twelve shopping days left to Christmas.

Ho Ho Ho

38. Mrs.Pat, Mrs.Bonny,

Wunna lookin for Bimbro?

How about this? This seem like him?

39. I Check,
    Dah in look nutton like my Bimbro. Ya liah.
    Bradley432,
    From de time I see you post, I does start ta cry. Cause i know dat you coming wid a tikkla. You is de best.
    Wait, you mean DaSilva dat had de shop at the bottom a Fairfield? You right in my home-town ya. De business close many moons ago but de family home still day. I can’t remember he but I rememba Ms. DaSilva. Dem did Guyanese or Indians? Which.
    ‘ARE NO GOOD’.
    Bradley you is de best. I serious.

Anonymous,
    I tink Murphy otha son is Andrew. Not too sure. I thought all of them were in Germany. Leo had a bigggggggggggggg afro and talk ’bout cute. My mout use ta water secretly whenevva I see he. He got ‘locks’ now. Mr. Murphy went in de Almsouse (Alms-house) at Beckles Rd. before he passed I tink.
    Fernandes kinda cute too, so um cud be tru.

Dr.Porgie
    Talkin bout Portia face Life, I had de unduly task of taking my lil brotha to school evry mornin. He was de biggest ‘traunt’ in History. And any morning we hear Portia, depending on how far we were from school, he would stand up at attention and REFUSE to go any further. I could beg til de cows come home, he in moving. Eventually we would go back home and my motha would kill de two a we wid blows fa not gine school. stuupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    You rememba wah use ta come over at 2:45? “Be still my soul, the Lord is on my sideeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”.
    Yes, de ‘Quiet Time”.
    Wah bout ‘Second Spring”?

Wah bout de long ago stores in B/town?
    I rememba 5& 10, Civic, Fogarty. Can’t rememba de location doe.
    There was a store on Broad St. that had a bicycle up in de air and it would light up at night. Think it was on de right going up to Nelson. Am I right?

Sargeant,
    “ya could be in 5ka3”
    Dah baddddddddddddddd

Gear Box
    Wah He tek mine las nite too. Just waitin fa dum ta come out now.
    I smile real broad an holla fa,
    CHEEZEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

(i hope da come out good, stupseeeee)

40. @ Sargeant // October 13, 2009 at 10:00 PM “Was he ever convicted? If memory serves I think I heard he left Barbados for another country”

Percy was not convicted. It is also my understanding that he left Bim

41. ok people easy now
    I feel kinda left out
    how long will this go on ?

42. Re You rememba wah use ta come over at 2:45? “Be still my soul, the Lord is on my sideeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”.
    Yes, de ‘Quiet Time”.

Theme song was Findlandlia by Sibelius with Lorne Whitney on the pipe organ.

There was Sports Roundup from the BBC at 1:45 followed by Music to Remember with Alfred Pragnell at 2PM.

Sunday nights at 8:30 was Sunday Symphonette with Doris Provencal.

3;oclock on Sunday after noons was THE HOUR OF DECISION with Billy Graham, followed by Sunday Half Hour with good hymn signing from the BBC.

I not talking bout the often heard TIME TO SIGH! on CBS tv. Some times dat singing doers ne so bad you really got to SIGH fuf trute!

When the theme song was Day is dying in the West with the Methodist chap who started that program, I condcted my church group choir on that program for about four years. We used to get invited. We didnt have to apply or audition, cause we were in the top drawer with Neville King’s Chour for the Propagation of Church Music.

I gone for now bur Rediffusion was great! Truly special………..not at all like the BS coming out of River Rd now.

43. Bonny, I knew Andrew Murphy. Wonder what happened to he?

The more I seeing about Percy, the more he sound like the man I talk about earlier that eluded the police dressed as a feebly old woman.

GP, what about the kithero kid on Sundays after lunch? I must say, Reddifusion was the best.

44. ROK,
    My lolli,lolli-pop, I called one of Andrew’s cousin to enquire about Andrew but she wasn’t in. Will be sure to get that info for you my sucre.

Dr. Porgie,
    ‘Quiet Time was with Alfred Pragnell or Olga Lopsie? You sure?
    What hymn did Billy Graham’s Hour of Decision finish with?
    ‘Just As I Am Without One Plea’.

Wah bout de Top 10 on Saturday nights? All local tunes, I think.

KissMya,
    You can join in too. No need to feel ‘left-out’. Put in ya 2cents worth nah or yah 1cent worth.

CORRECTION:
    I said on Monday that I saw a Wosley but it was actually a Austin Cambridge. Yellowish color in de St.George area. I would like to see de ‘stick-shift’ in day. Mussy ’bout a mile long. chuckleeeeeee.

Wah ’bout Children’s Party wid Aunty Olga, Aunty Doris, Joe Tudor n Keith Campbell on the piano? Me n my siblings went almost evry Saturday. I went to get de sweeties really cause I couldn’ sing nor recite but I did day.

Wah bout de ol dutch – oven used fa baking pun de oil stove? And de cakes n sweetbread coming out real good widout burning. I doan tink I could handle one a dem ovens like my motha did. Ya had to be able to control de flame good.

45. Yes the Clithero Kid from the BBC in the early 60’s after lunch on Rediffusio was hilarious!

Sort of the stuff you read about in Billy Bunter or William or Jennings and Darbyshire (those boooks for boys from Britain about days in the lives of English school boys). These books disappeared some how.

I read a lot of Secret seven Famous Five by Enid Blyton and Captain E Johns BIGGLES, as well as John Creasy’s Inspector West in the early 60’s as a junior school boy. Of couse there was no tv then. LOL!

46. ‘Quiet Time was a syndicated program from the US. It is still heard all about. Had nothing to do with Alfred Pragnell or Olga Lopes-Seale.

What hymn did Billy Graham’s Hour of Decision finish with? ‘Just As I Am Without One Plea’. Yep. He glorified that tune. Few folk besides real good Anglicans know that there are two much sweeter tunes to‘Just As I Am Without One Plea’.

Re I said on Monday that I saw a Wosley but it was actually a Austin Cambridge.

Well the Wolseley, the Moris Oxford and the Austin Cambridge were basically the same car coming off the same assembly lines. Only difference were changes in the grills and little things here and there. Don’t let one hit a modern car though.

The original Children’s Party had an Aunty Pat wid, Aunty Doris, Joe Tudor n Keith Campbell on the piano? Aunty Olga came later. Yes they used to distribute sweets from Caribbean Confectionary in the early days.

47. AI remember Aunt Mary and Dr. Paul.

Dr. Porgie, I read all those boys books too, but in elementary school. Got my brothers to borrow them. Had balls of fun.

48. GP

The “William” books were written by a writer by name of Richmal Crompton for years I thought that the writer was a man turns out the writer is a woman based on the ambiguous name. I suppose you can say that I was a MCP (Male chauvinist Pig).

I am a bit surprised that you didn’t include “The Robe” in the radio soaps on Reddifusion. It was based on what happened to “The Robe” of Jesus after he was crucified. I think that the main character was a Roman soldier named Demetrius who converted to Christianity because he came in contact with “The Robe”

49. How about announcers or radio personalities with broad Bajan accents?. For a start Leslie (Shell) Harris and Sylvanus Broome

50. ALRITE NOW
    GIVE IT A REST !