Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Why wanna don’ let de dead gah long…

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

2. Sapadillo,
    Faget ta tell ya dat Ceola was related to me. She died in Jinkins, I tink.
    Yes, madness runs in de fam’bly. Be careful.
    I did frighten as shite fa she. She was very quiet doe.

3. Gear Box
    Whatzupppppppppppppp my man? I was beginnin ta miss you ya.
    Mek a contribushun man n dun-up de show.
    A waitinnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
    Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

4. Hey guys an gals. What about de puff leg panties
    dat de girls use tuh wear instead of today’s kite strings.
    I could remember Lordie 60 cent sweet bread fuh lunch
    and Pine Hill glass-bottle milk for 50c to wash down all
    dah flour- de same bread now cost $10.00. De Drill Hall
    was popular for fetes and parking-out and de soldiers
    use to be on duh bellies in de grass peeping at lovers.
    Guys had big afros and a large afro comb in duh pockets.
    I could remember standing under de almond tree at de ole
    airport and shakin’ and shoutin’ like mad to get attention
    when people going and coming from de planes.
    WE DIN HAD NUH ELABORATE SECURITY.
    People use tuh guh way in suits and big broad rim church hats.

5. @ Bonny Peppa // October 12, 2009 at 1:20 PM “Faget ta tell ya dat Ceola was related to me. She died in Jinkins, I tink.”

It’s a gud ting dat I did not expand on Ceola. Hahaha. It’s my understanding that she was educated at QC. Anyway, I was told that after her mother visited Bim and saw the condition her dauta was in, there was some kinda getting together; Ceola got treatment, and that no sooner her mother returned to either Canada or England (can’t remember which country) she filed papers for her. That Ceola migrated to one of the aforementioned countries, she got married and had children.

I’m truly taken by surprise now learning that she died at the mental hospital. It just goes to show that we should not be too quick to repeat everything we hear.

6. Hey guys an gals. What about de puff leg panties
    dat de girls use tuh wear instead of today’s kite strings.
    I could remember Lordie 60 cent sweet bread fuh lunch
    and Pine Hill glass-bottle milk for 50c to wash down all
    dah flour- de same bread now cost $10.00. De Drill Hall
    was popular for fetes and parking-out and de soldiers
    use to be on duh bellies in de grass peeping at lovers.
    Guys had big afros and a large afro comb in duh pockets.
    I could remember standing under de almond tree at de ole
    airport and shakin’ and shoutin’ like mad to get attention
    when people going and coming from de planes.
    WE DIN HAD NUH ELABORATE SECURITY.
    People use tuh guh way in suits and big broad rim church hats.

7. People used to talk bout “Sundee-go-tuh-meeting” clothes, and the clothes that females wore around de house were referred to as frocks. Very few woman wore pants in dem days.

8. @ROK ,Sapidillo, Hawkings was not St Joseph man, He drove an Austin Metropolitan G35,I saw him once near House Hill School calling at some school girls.
    Who remembered mixing ink at school,and using those government issued pens with a nib,which you juck in the ink well on the desk,and if it did not write straight await you held it up gave it a shake, and by this time all the ink splattered the back of the shirt of the fellows sitting in front of you.
    Then we had to mix powered milk,and at nutrition break got a couple of hard biscuits to go with it. Before my time I heard that Billie Miller’s father who owned the Spa Plantation used to supply the school with fresh cows milk, but lost the pick after he started stretching it with water.
    But the worst day in anybodys school life is the day when the Dentist was visiting. You would stand in line and watch the persons in front of you screaming in the chair while the dentist grabbed and struggled to pull out a tooth or two,as he was paid per tooth extracted. The dentist at the time was Dentist Alleyne from Bush Hall Yard Gap. I am certain that in his spare time he was a butcher in the market.

9. Worst that someone calling you Chigger Foot, was being called a Bag Blind Bastard. Who would believe that there was a time that the society used to look down on those who rented homes. Like Douche Can said, “every body doing it now”

10. Barbados was not Barbados without the steel donkey kicking down somebody house cause they did not pay the coolie man. But we had our very own in St Joseph, a fellow by the name of Ripping Rufus who terrorised the whole village for months pelting rocks ,bottles and anything that he could get his hands on.
    But I must confess that after he stoped, pelting , I fired a few rocks just to see the people scamper from the corner. One night I mis- aimed and a big rock landed on the meeting hall galvanise roof, and when I went across the road,I heard everyone inside praying bad things for the hand that three the big rock

11. @Bradley432

I knew Hawkins from St. George. Yes, any girls and Hawkins gone mad.

12. what about you people finding something to do rather than talking sheeite (muslims)

13. what about you people finding something to do rather than talking sheeite (muslims)

14. @ Bradley432

What is the real story about Darcy from Burkes Village. Is it true he put donkey shit in the tithing evelope and when he did not own up, the Minister prayed for the hand that did such a dastardly thing? One of the kids at House Hill said that is how his hand became withered from the shoulder.

@ROK

Hawkins had a little red sports car. He used to keep company with a lady in Cleavers Hill. Rumour was that he gave her syphillis.

15. @Pat

I don’t remember the sports car. I remember an austin or morris, a small white car that was rather unkempt and smelly on the inside.

16. Bradley 432

Worst that someone calling you Chigger Foot, was being called a Bag Blind Bastard
    I think it was “bag bind bastard”. It meant that you were so poor that all your clothes were made of crocus bags and probably tied up around you with string. The “bastard” of course needs no translation. When I first heard it, it was accompanied by another insult which combined is probably the worst insult that I’ve ever heard.

I can’t understand the constant reference to “Hawkins”. To set the record straight he settled down with a St. Lucian woman ( maybe they even got married) whose name I know but will not mention because she is still around. They had several children who would all be adults now.

17. @ROK

This was early 60’s. It was a two seater and had a black soft top. He used to look scruffy and people said the lady went with him because he had money. When ever I saw the car, I walked on the other side of the road.

18. I have a clipping from a paper called Indo Caribbean World d/d Oct.19, 1994 which recounted the murder trial of George Beckles of Clapham in 1948. Beckles was charged with murder of a 14 year old by dynamiting the house where the teenager was sleeping. Seems the neighbours had a dispute and Beckles was alleged to have blown the house up.

To make a long story short, according to what I was told, Beckles was a very wicked man who was also known as “Rock of Ages” or “Rocka” to those who were his close friends and associates. Why the name? Apparently on one occasion he was given the “cat” or “cat o nine tails” and is alleged to have said at the first lash. “Rock of Ages cleft for me let me hide my ass in thee”

“Rocka” was acquitted of the murder his defense team was JET Brancker who later became Speaker of the House under Barrow and EK Walcott QC another prominent name in Bajan legal circles. The case was tried before Chief Justice Sir Allan Collymore and John Wyatt was the prosecutor.

You can look it up.

19. @Pat

I first knew Hawkins about 1967 when I was living in Newbury. I was at school and one day we decided to walk home and Hawkins came down and gave us a lift. He knew my friend who became a popular radio announcer but migrated early. Of course, when we he dropped us off, I got the history of Hawkins from him. By then Hawkins was driving this austin or morris mini.

20. One day I catch easy boy running to shelter under the eave of a shop. He did not realise that I saw him until after he got under the shelter but I was right behind him running for shelter too.

Would you believe that easy boy beg me not to tell anybody that I see he running? I mean, the man beg, plead and beseech me not to tell, but that was the “furtherest” thing from my mind; to tell somebody that I see easy boy running. Steupse.

21. Rocklyn and Evelyn near’ bus my

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhh

22. The popsicle man was named bruce. Talk ’bout mouth sweet? “Come Pop with me!” Anybody remember popsicles though. Miller used to make them and Bruce like he used to sell all; LOL!

Wha ’bout Cuz that was down on pebbles beach? Talk about concoctions? he had a name for every concoction.

23. Bag Blind Bastard = crocus bag used as a blind or partition or wall. Bastard the parents were so poor they could not afford to marry.

Bag blind bastards were conceived by people who were so poor that they could not even afford a cardboard partition. The man and woman had sexual relations behind a crocus bag which of course provided little or no privacy. This meant that the children who lived in that house heard and saw far more than was good for them. Consequently the little bastards were coarse and rude.

24. And before fast food and microwaves, when women were still housewives, police wives and firemen wives especially used to pack their men’s food in a 3 part white enamel food carrier and sometimes then put it in a board box and ask the bus driver to drop off the man’s food at the police or fire station.

Those old time fellas used to get proper home cooked food.

25. There were purses that were oval shaped and could fit in your hand. There was a slit down the centre of one side so that when you squeezed the purse the slit would open to reveal the contents. St Giles school boys refered to them as Pokie purses. That how I learned the basics. Ha Haaaaaa HAAAAAAAAA…! Walaaassss

26. @ Sargeant // October 12, 2009 at 11:04 AM “Was Percy Bushell charged with robbing a bank?”

A write-up on Percy Bushell can be found at http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb/Lawlibrary/events.asp?id=51

27. @Pat, Darcy was a choir boy at St Joseph parish Church and the rector kicked him out,so in the next offering envelope he put in some horse shit,take from where else but Horse Hill.The following week he fell off a bicycle comeing down Horse Hill, and from then had a finny hand.
    Speaking of the Clergy, the was a Scotman called Cooper at St Annes. The Scots are known for thier tightness when it comes to parting with money.But this one was as tight as a duck’s ass,and that water tight. He would not pay a cent to see the world go round, and used to hitch up his cassock and jump on the back of one of Andrews sugar trucks and cadge a lift to town. He used to make his own communion wine out of the wild grapes and cherries around the vicarage.

28. Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, wunna killing ma. De water runnin down my face. One a my grans now look at me an ask me, ‘granma, why you crying’? I serious, wunna killinnnnnnnnnnnn me.

Anonymous
    De girls now wearing kite string? Ya bad. I too rememba de ol’ airport wid people crying real bad too especially when de plane ”lift’.

Sapadillo,
    I was but a lil whippa-snappa when i heard ’bout Ceola. By then she was old, very dark and looked really bewitch.

Tell Me Why,
    You did a crawling soldier or the other? I hear all these stories from my family who are or were in the Regiment or Defence Force. I think it probably still happening.

Bradley432,
    You giving me convulsions. You badddd. But de hand evva went bad?You is de best. I in able wid you. You real funnyyyyyyyyy.

ROK
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnn. Why Easy Boy didn’ want to be seen running? He did a real klown fa true. I doan believe you.

BAFBFP
    I owned one a dem pokey purses up until recently. It just disappeared. Sometimes de ‘lips’ would stick togetha too just like one a dem fa tru. You mussy owned a few yaself.

BIG Dick
    Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, luv de name.

29. And Marjorie Downes at Mayers Corner I believe had the first juke box outside of the City area. A pretty Wurlitzer that used to get choked up often with too much money.
    The most popular of the s 200 records on it back then in “56/”57
    Oh Carol….Niel Sedaka
    Diana………Paul Anka
    Ben Wood Dick….Sparrow
    Maria…….Sparrow
    Jamaica farewell…..Harry Belafonte
    April Love….Pat Boone
    Wake up little Suzie…Everly Brothers
    Bye Bye Love………..Everley Brothers
    All I have to do is dream…Everley Bro

30. Bradley432,
    Ya bad fa true. Dah is de year I born.
    My family had a cook shop on Marhill St. and a juke-box too. My favourite songs included ‘Searching for my baby’ and ‘Try my love again’.
    Can’t rememba de singers now. Think one was Bobby Moore n the Rhythm Aces. Talk bout sweet tunes. Even now.

Wah bout de ole time excursions? Food, food n mo food.

Wah bout when de fella come home to court you or ask fa de ‘han in marriage’?

Wah bout de Grundig radio-gram? I heard of de grammafone but never saw one.

My neighbour use to drive de Ice factory truck and every time he come to start it, he would put a long iron in front de hood and crank it up.

I rememba when 25 cents could buy 2 oz. cheese, a small coke fa 10cent and 6 biscuits.

31. Bonny Peppa

I only had one purse. The lips did not stick, t’ank de lard, but dey hurt like hell…!

HaaaHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA….Murdaaaaaah

32. BAFBFP
    Wah kinda purse you had bosey? Not a pokey-purse fa sure. Dem lips use ta stick togetha but wid a lil prying, de lips use ta open wide anuff. You had a diff’rant kinda purse, Soul.

Uh uh. Ya wicked.

33. Dah purse mek a man outa me…! HAHAHAAAAAAAAAA

34. Dem songs and music in de 50s & 60s were sweet to my ears. When you could sing accopella (sp), and carry a tune, you know you cud sing. There was de Glabble(sp) Salts Band dat use to be in St. Thomas; dem ole boys use to like to piss-per-rade at Xmas. There were a few fellows that would come through the neighborhood on Xmas morning, stop at a few houses, and would say, “de day is short, de nite is long, geh muh sumting and leh muh guh long.”

I can’t rememba who sang,.. it went sumting like dis “wuh yuh gine geh muh fuh Xmas, geh muh anyting yuh cud spare; wuh yuh gine gey muh fuh xmas, leh muh have a happy day; wuh yuh gine geh muh fuh xmas, uh want sumting frum you; geh muh sumting fuh xmas girl/boy, I gine geh yuh sumting too.”

@ BP, a man who use to be called, “mice” use to be on de ice factory truck delivering ice. My grandmother had a Gramophone and every once in a while, she would crank it up, clean de records and the big needles with some kind of oil, play a few tunes, then put it away ‘til she was either ready to play a few songs again or to clean.

But wait wuh bout we Horlicks & Fry’s Cocoa; rememba dah Cocoa Tea song; changing cans into cups – whatever went in that cup-tot use to taste sweeter than drinking out a regular cup. Hahaha.

Before I fuget, the monkey jars we kept water in to drink; the water use to be real cold.

I think it was the last year of Carnival when the “Carrot Bounce” was licking dog pun the roads.

35. Sapadillo
    Sach Moore sings dat Christmas tune. You know that we have some really nice local Christmas songs.

Dah cocoa tea, is a poison ta me,
    Evry time a drink it a doan kno whay I be,
    If ya want ta find me
    Ya betta look for me
    Cause dah got ma head upside down
    Wid a cup a dat cocoa tea.

You mean dat song Sapadilla?

De neighbours use ta sing dis song pun one anedda when quarrelling:

I wake up dis morning and say my Lord’s prayer,
    Um in me, um is you, ya confuse.
    OR
    Shoo fly doan botha me,
    Cause you in belong ta noboby.

Den big ‘cuss-out’ would start.

I still have a monkey jar. De handle break off. I use it as a vase now.
    I also have two clothes irons that shape like a triangle. We use ta rub candle-grease over dem when we done pressing.

My older brother refused to drink tea unless it had in de boys heads. You know what he meant? My mother had to cool his tea by pouring it from cup to cup and of course bubbles would form.So when he put it to his head to drink his reflection would be in de bubbles. That is what he called the boys heads. And crying real bad too.’I want de boy heads, i want de boy heads’. wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    He did want a hard lash in he ass.

De ‘Garrot-bounce’ is still a hit today. People still wuk up real stink to dah tune. Some tunes would nevva die man.

Wah bout Santa coming out at Christmas pun a lorry/truck pelting out toys? I get trample many a time runnin fa a toy.

BAFBFP
    Ef you seh sa.
    hahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

36. @Bonny Peppa. that long iron ting your neighbour used to start the ice truck with was called a crank or starting handle,and apart from starting a truck it was used as a weapon to pelt licks in someone. Also used for beating was the Bullpistle, which was a cured penis of a bull, and a Dog hunter. In them days a woman could tek some licks,especially if she was two timing the man, or went to a dance and dance with another man or eat his park chop.(a real pork chop,not what you thinking, da tin was not introduce here yet)
    But listen to this one. A fellow from outside the village one night went into the rum shop bar and took up a seat in the corner.The other men there warned this man not to sit there,as that was Freddie’s favourite seat. The man would not move and later Freddie came in. And with a Aye–eeeeeeee,he hit the man and knocked him cold. Freddie turned to the others and said,When he come to ,tell him that was a #65 Karate Chop.
    Next night the same chap turned up late and found Freddie alredy sitting in his favourite seat. With a Aye-eeeeeeeeeee he struck Freddie and knocked him out. He turned to the other and said, “Ya could tell Freddie that dah was a 1964 Bedford truck crank handle>”

37. Was it really de gud ole dayz or we only say so cau dat was all we know den. If yuh tink of it de yung ppl of 2day wud be saying de same very ting wen dem get olda. But 2 tink of it and compare, sum o dem ole days wasn’t really dat gud afterall. I en fooling myself

Anyway, seeing that Xmas is right around the corner; it use to take long to come in we day, dint it? I am going to hold on to this one for the holidays. “Drink a rum it is Xmas morning”….LOL

Don’t fuget to shell dem peas, geh de goat de husk, and put dem peas away to mek jug-jug.

38. Get the real ham – wrapped in crocus bag and hang it up at de kitchen door ’til Xmas eve nite to cook when all dah baking gine on; so muh so dat when yuh pass xross de road on yuh way tuh midenite service, the aroma follow yuh tuh de church step. Hahaha

39. Look, those cranks used to work good. And with the manual trucks and cars, the alternative was to push start.

Nowadays, you gotta hope that someone has a battery cables, if not call Crane & Equipment.

lol.

The only thing better about todays cars is gas mileage.

The finishes were better, cars strong them days.

And the current day electronics are ig’runt. Stop working anytime.

40. Crusoe

A Battery would las’ the life of a car. Hah!

But w’ah happen ta de gocarts that had ball bearing wheels or de milk can cover nail onto de end of a stick. De Mark II was two can cover wheels on a cross bar at de end of a stick an’ a string attached at de ends ah de cross bar tah use as steering…! How ’bout a big bicycle wheel wid a ben’ up peice ah wire tah steer it wid…!

41. Last week some people were turned away from the Registration because on inappropriate dress.
    You remember those times in the “50’s and ’60’s when every house hold had some one going to Hingland. If ya had a bit more coppers than the average man, you would fly by BOAC at something like $368. The men would be dressed up in a whole suit, tie, new shoes and a Wilson hat to match. The women were dressed like Princess Margaret when she came down here in 1955,complete with white gloves and a crindalin hat. If money was tight you ,you pay a bit less and went the long way,by boat from the Baggage Warehouse on the Pier Head where the Coast Guard used to be.
    These boats,namely the Franca C, MV Surriento and a few others, used to run like ZR Vans and packed in just as much,taking some 14 to 21 days to get to Southampton.
    Men in England used to send back here for their girl friends, but due to the unschedule timings of the ship , sometimes when a girl friend got to England her man was not around, but this was not a big problem,cause some of the Bajan men who lived around the area used to frequents the ports , and if they see a woman hanging around too long they like sharks would pounce on her,and the poor boyfriend would be deficient one woman , and around $300

42. Sapidillo

Thanks for the tip on Percy Bushell, $7697.00 was a King’s ransom in those days when most men had bicycles and donkey carts were still prevalent. Was he ever convicted? If memory serves I think I heard he left Barbados for another country..

43. Some of the men leaving at that time for England were going to a) The British Army; b) London Transport. The women were going to join hospitals as trainee nurses. Some of those men ended up serving in places like Aden, some of those who joined the London Transport went on to University and carved out careers for themselves while the others continued to work at London Transport.

Most of them sent remittances via British Postal Order which the recipients would cash at the Post Office at the exchange rate of EC $4.80 per Pound. Those remittances kept many Barbadian families afloat. Many Bajan men also went to work in Curacao (at the refinery) I’m guessing that from there many went on to the USA. I’m not sure if there are many Bajan merchant seamen now, but there was a time when many ships had Bajan crews. The Shipping Office where many signed up was located near the wharf on the street leading to the former Customs office (which now houses the Immigration Dept.)

44. great stuff…de young peeal need to know about these kinda tings..caus day feel tings was alwasy this way…What was de name of the school after de part at Halls Rd..had de biggest girls and boys wid mouthnash…

45. Barbados Foundey! Who own dah lan’ now? I see de GoB gone an’ bil’ a palace fah Simmons pun it… but own de lan’ ???

46. For those of us who did not have a water toilet, don’t let us forget that precious commode, the topsy or as some would call it, de poe. Btw, the airplane cars; rememba bak den cars used to open backwards (de suicide doors) and sum had a running board dat yuh step up on to get in. Oh what a time!!

47. @William // October 13, 2009 at 10:59 PM “What was de name of the school after de part at Halls Rd. had de biggest girls and boys wid mouthnash…”

It triggers; was the school located at the corner of Constitution & Halls Rd? Did the students assemble at a house? Could the school have the word, “Institute” in its name?

48. You talking bout Callender’s school–cant remember the name now

49. Sometime in the last two years a priest at a St Thomas church turned of the lights during one Sunday morning service cause the congregation would not occupy the seats at the front. This is something very noticeable today in the Anglican church especially .
    And no wonder, there was a time when only the plantation and factory managers and their families could sit in those front seats which were reserved for them.Some churches still have the reserved numbers on the pews. It was not uncommon to see six pews capable of accommodating 60 person, only seating 6 or 10 people from the great houses, while the labour class was packed in the back seats. I remembered the Rev George Clarke (Cannon) at his first service at his new church,he looked at the planter class and said,” This foolishness has to stop, next Sunday when I come here I want to see everybody sitting together.” Next Sunday was no problem, cause the planter class left that church immediately, followed by many of the labour class.

50. A little known fact is that we used to produce beer in Barbados long before Banks came on the scene. London Breweries operated from Canewood plantation yard in St.Thomas.