joel_palefsky
HPV PREVENTION. Dr Joel Palefsky, an infectious disease expert from the University of San Francisco (left with Dr Mark Gilbert and Dr Natasha Press), told the gay men's health summit in Vancouver that all boys should be vaccinated against HPV. (Nathaniel Christopher photo)

The next general election is over two years away if held when constitutionally due. The health of the economy, freedom of information, integrity legislation and immigration issues we suspect will feature prominently on the next general election platform. Another issue we suspect will be on the list is one of morality, specifically homosexuality.

The members of the BU family who have been with us from our early days know the interest we have shown in homosexuality (do a search of BU using ‘homosexuality’ keyword). It is one of the pillar issues we feature from time to time even if of late it has not featured on the BU rotation with the same early frequency. Interestingly the subject of homosexuality is one which a high level of hypocrisy can be levelled in Barbados. Whether we like the Jamaican approach Prime Minister Bruce Golding has echoed the position of most Jamaicans, zero tolerance to batty men in his cabinet because he feels it does not reflect the public position. Jamaicans appear to wear the label of homophobic like a boy scout would wear a badge of honour.

In Barbados we have a long way to go regarding how as a country we want to deal with the issue of homosexuality. BU remembers very well prior to the last election listening to representatives of  the Democratic Labour Party (Dr. Byer-Suckoo) and the Barbados Labour Party (Reverend Joseph Atherley) dipsy-doodle around the homosexuality issue. In contrast Jamaicans are sending a clear message. Some Jamaican homosexuals are not being deterred and have started underground churches. The venom of Jamaicans directed towards homosexuals have forced many homosexuals in Jamaica to go underground. Stories of Jamaicans suspected of the homosexual lifestyle being publicly beaten by fellow Jamaicans are a matter of record.

The lobby by homosexuals to promote greater tolerance in our predominantly heterosexual and Christian driven societies is gathering momentum. This issue is not going away. The fact many believe homosexuality to be a deviant behaviour does not remove the fact that homosexuality has now become a civil rights mater. The reality that our societies are built on Christian values and by extension the socialization of our people will continue to build tension in the minds of the average Barbadian when confronted with the homosexual issue.

In a related matter we read with interest that  the prevalence of human papillomavirus (HPV) among gay men, especially those already infected with HIV. When you are HIV-positive virtually everyone has HPV,” Palefsky says. And gay men who are HIV-negative are still at high risk. This information was circulated at the Fifth Men’s Gay Summit held last week. The local medical and homosexual community should note the recommendation by Dr. Palefsky who is an infectious disease expert: Palefsky believes that all boys should receive a universal HPV vaccine before they are sexually active “because there’s no way to know who is going to be gay.

Alluded to above Barbadians need to start discussing the matter of homosexuality and how we intend to make the societal changes to accept this group of people who continue to be marginalized.  It would be unfortunate for some if we wait until the next general election to do so. To discuss the matter driven by political considerations will be unfortunate.

350 responses to “The Homosexual Debate Continues to Simmer In Barbados”

1. Dr. GP would like to get your medical opinion on this HPV business.

2. off message – apologies
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2009/nov/15/west-indies-cricket-team-cricket
    Interesting interview with Viv Richards.

3. Homosexuality, for whatever reason, is a choice. Certainly, there are those who clearly are born and develop differently than most, this may clearly impact their choice as a ‘natural’ choice.

Nevertheless, regardless of source, this becomes a matter of their personal right vs societal demands.

Surely, as long as this can be seen as not impacting negatively on society per se, why should a person not have a choice of their lifestyle, generally and specifically?

I personally have deep reservations in ‘selecting’ any particular group and labelling their ways as wrong, whether they be of any ethnic or religious origin or simply a person of ‘different’ lifestyle choices.

You see, once one starts ‘selecting’ groups and labelling, this creates a dangerous atmosphere of bigotry, hatred and witchhunting.

Who is next then on the ‘ist’?

No, we must come from a position that seeks to include persons of alternate lifestyles, as fellow human beings.

It is one’s behaviour to others that counts, one’s contribution to society that guides how one should be treated.

There can be no other yardstick but this.

If one does not wish to approach this issue with an open mind, we could done the discussion right now and go home.

Personally, I will treat people as individuals, as to how they interact with me as a person, as to their own value system, their integrity and honesty.

Finally, you reference Jamaica in the article.

We all know the reputation has for being homophobic.

Gosh knows where it comes from. Is it a case of ‘doth protest too much’?

Then again, Barbados has always been known to be a more tolerant and open minded society than Jamaica.

At least on the surface. Bajans will let you ‘get on bad’ at Crop Over, but talk about yuh behind closed doors.

Bajans wont pelt rocks, but will lickmout that same evening.

True?

4. Crusoe // November 16, 2009 at 5:23 AM. Amen. Well put. I agree. Ef the en hurting you, lef duh loan. It is not your business, unless they choose to involve you in it. And then you have the right to say yes, or no.

As for Jamaica, you are right. Too much protest. Nuff batty boys there, including the ones in government that got wives (although some might call them “beards”).

As for Jamaica’s “zero tolerance”, it will find out that all the major industrial nations that Jamaica depends on for financial handouts have a “zero tolerance” for their “zero tolerance” takes the form of “hate crime” legislation.

So, it is far better to do as successive governments of Barbados have done – keep the buggery laws so as not to offend those who might be offended, but don’t enforce them because (a) you would have to apply them against certain members of parliament, and (b) against, maybe, some of your own relatives. This is pragmatism at its best – and, for once, I agree that we maintain the status quo.

I offer this little bit from the London Telegraph that may be of interest. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/family/6574238/Lesbians-make-better-parents-says-senior-parenting-official.html

Any inoculation that will help to keep people healthy and no matter what age, ought to be administered – and particularly in a place like Barbados where there is no reliable data on HIV/AIDS, simply because people too fraid to get tested or come forward, due largely to the negative backlash than might ensue. At least, if you are inoculating all, then there is room for anonymity. But it will not address the enormous number of undiagnosed and undeclared cases of HIV/AIDS that already exist in Barbados – or Jamaica, for that matter.

It is also worth remembering that much religeous dogma and practices (like the Jewish/Arab not eating pork) arose, not because these creatures created by God were actually unclean, but because of the lack of refridgeration and proper storage facilities. So, religeon has, throughout history (until now) incorporated health and other safeguards for practical, non-religeous reasons aimed at the well-being of mankind.

We are faced with a medical situation worldwide and it ought to be religeon that carries out its traditional, pragmatic role. But these days, the religeous pundits are too busy enriching themselves by pandering to the prejudices of their congregational paymasters to follow the clear direction provided by their predecessors. Far better, they think, to enforce rules and dogma of no relevance today, than follow an example. Sad!

As for pork, well I doubt there is a Bajan alive who would not resist with every fibre of their being any attempt to remove from them their pork chops. Or what bout puddin n souse?

5. In December of 2008 the UN General Assembly presented a declaration against discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity.

Only St. Lucia in the Caribbean has signed against this declaration.

I wonder where our leaders lie on homosexuality in Barbados.

Take a look at the following link:
    http://trivester.com/christian-news/world/americas/caribbean/barbados/homosexuality/nov2009/

6. “The members of the BU family who have been with us from our early days know the interest we have shown in homosexuality”

Hmmmm! That speaks volumes!

7. @Peltdownman

Is this BU attracting another label?

8. BU, I really don’t know. What I do know is that there is definitely something unhealthy about your blog’s rabid interest in homosexuality. At worst it is hate-mongering, and at best it is pandering to uninformed prejudices. I am definitely with Crusoe on this one.

9. what people do in bed is their own business not society’s

10. HPV is often (one might even say “most often”) transmitted by heterosexual sex. Having the HPV vaccination is simply smart and has nothing to do with one’s sexuality.

Linking the HPV vaccination with homosexuality is simply an irrelevant red herring.

11. The HPV vaccine has only been developed for women and is hard to detect in men. While there is in development a vaccine for men, there is no known date as tow when it will be available and how testing in men will be carried out as it is not the same for women.

12. Why are we giving the homos so much prominence.

13. @peltdownman

You are entitled to your view. Interestingly we heard similar sentiments when BU raised concerns about immigration, race relations and the like. BU does not condoned the barbaric behaviour of Jamaicans when dealing with the subject of homosexuality but the silence which occurs in Barbados and is only discussed in lunch rooms and other places in whispered tones does not make us any better. Let us confront the issue to reach some middle ground.

14. As a Christian, I do not hate, despise nor fear ‘Homosexuals’ anymore than I hate adulterers, fornicators, or muderers, or for that matter any other sinner, as we are all ‘sinners’ either Saved by God’s grace, or not saved, it is a choice either way.

However, in recent decades the Homosexual Agenda in America, a very well organized platform from which they speak, has a clear well defined strategy of ‘deception’ based on refocusing the issue from a ‘moral’ one to that of ‘human rights’ and it would be folly not to believe that here in B’dos, that strong advocates for this ‘human rights’ facade like Peter Wickham et al are not working along these lines with their counterparts in North America.

The four stages that homosexual activists have taken in the United States toward thir goal of unbridled sexual behaviour, and silencing of the Church? That has led to the ‘moral’ demise of a culture, are as follows:

1. The Community Establishment Stage.

In this stage, a group of like-minded individuals (homosexual activists) who practice such lifestyles of sinful behaviour, discover each other and start to play a larger role in society. They start to feel empowered.

2. The Organization Stage.

In this stage, the group now feels empowered and start to get organized and develop a game plan for ‘legitimizing’ their behaviour in society.

3. The Mobilization Stage.

The group starts to pool together all of its resources. That develop a ‘common’ language and strategy for presenting their case to the public. They reframe the issue, taking it out of the ‘moral’ realm, and present it as a ‘human rights’ issue. Those who oppose their arguments are deemed “hateful” or “intolerant” toward those who are “different” even though the groups only *identification* is that of a chosen sexual behaviour.

4. The Legitimization Stage.

Once the issue has been redefined from a moral absolute to an individual choice, society starts to be reprogrammed that the arguments of the group are valid, and therefore special *privileges* from previous “injustices” and for affirmation of the behaviour occur.

In America and some other countries, we are at stage 4 and are at the eleventh hour with regard to homosexual activism, and religious freedom. The homosexual activists have the ball, as it were, on the ten-yard line, and it is first and goal.

While this is the stage at which homosexual activists have reached in North America and some other countries, let us not forget what Mia Mottley attempted to do in this regard, and was shot down by the majority of Barbadians, and as Owen Authur, said, ‘…she has being mortally wounded….give her a brake…”

The underlying purpose, agenda of these homoxesual activists, is to *erase* all religious and moral values from our society, and to impose themselves under the guise of being *value neutral* and *value free* when in fact they are laden with all kinds of values, which are alien to the beliefs, of the majority of Americans, Barbadians et al.

In short, they accuse those who disagree with their lifestyles, as being ‘intolerant’ when in fact, they are vehemently *intolerant* toward the majority of citizens, because we don’t want their ‘value neutral’ ‘value free’ so-called human rights, to become law, thus changing what marriage IS, between a ‘man/woman’ as Almight God did NOT create ‘Adam and Steve’ He created Adam and Eve!

We, must therefore be very careful, in understanding the sinister, deeper agenda of these homosexual activists, especially those who are able to articualte their cause, under the subtle veneer of so-called *human rights*

15. @Zoe

Given your religious bent how do you explain divisions with the Church ordaining homosexuals? This act certainly validates a position which is contra to yours expressed above. In other words are you prepared to accept we live in a pluralistic society and holding fast to a position rooted in religion will not reconcile the issues?.

16. The homosexual activists have the ball, as it were, on the ten-yard line, and it is first and goal.

…and this is why we, as concerned adults should be BLITZING !!

17. I tend to agree with Peltdown Man.I do not understand why BU continues to have these post on homosexuality.That is a subject that should never be discuss on the best Barbados blog.Leave that despicable,anti-life disgusting habit to the race that created & love to do it,the immoral,bulling Europeans.

Homosexuality is anti-African and we of African ancestry should never be discussing a despicable act such as homosexuality.

Leave homosexuality to the originators of that act,the bulling Europeans who love to have sex with little boys and who have their man – boy sex clubs.

18. Any bullers or wick-kers in here ?

Tell us how it feels to be antiiman ; anti-woman

19. Likelihood that someone will say anything sensible for the rest of this thread: approximately zero.

That’s partly because of concern that, even anonymously, some doofus with a God-obsession or a “wasn’t-it-so-much-better-in-the-old days” obsession is going to use vulgarity to accuse you of being something you’re not. Clear as day.

The dull and the straw men are always with us …

Quoting David: “[T]he silence which occurs in Barbados and is only discussed in lunch rooms and other places in whispered tones does not make us any better [than Jamaicans]. Let us confront the issue to reach some middle ground.”

Okay. Here’s some middle ground. Some people, such as myself, like to have sex with people who have a different kind of reproductive apparatus. Some other people like to have sex with people who have the same kind of reproductive apparatus.

That’s middle ground. End of any need for discussion. Deal with it.

20. David, it is clear and always has been what your personal opinion of homosexuality is….and you are entitled to it. It is ALSO clear that you have advocated the finding of a means of understanding and coexistence, which has clearly been missed by your detractors. My understanding of what you have always said is, “I don’t agree, but I want to understand and coexist”. Anyone who does not acknowledge your right to disagree and the magnaminity that makes you want to understand and coexist, has serious problems and an agenda that defies reason. Pay absolutely no attention to them – no one else does – including people in the “gay” world.

21. Taken from the Jamaica Observer:

Beenie yanked from NZ show following gay pressure

Monday Musings

with Yasmin

Monday, November 16, 2009

Following headlines over the weekend that gay lobby groups in New Zealand were presuring the promoters of music festival, Big Day Out, to pull Beenie Man from the line-up, and subsequent defence of their decision to use him as the only reggae act, the promoters have now backpedalled and have yanked the deejay from the concert.
    Beenie Man… yanked from line-up for music festival Big Day Out

Internet reports say that New Zealand MP Kevin Hague was among those objecting to the inclusion of the King of the Dancehall based on his anti-gay lyrics. Hague noted that hate-mongering is not welcome in New Zealand, and reportedly urged the Big Day Out to uninvite Beenie.

“Music is a powerful shaper of culture, values, attitudes and behaviour,” said Hague. “Music that denigrates gay men and lesbians in the most extreme way imaginable sends some very powerful signals both to young gay and lesbian people but also to their peers. It is not true that ‘sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me’.

“Hate speech like that of Beenie Man gives permission to prejudice and discrimination and creates it where it didn’t previously exist. It blights and diminishes the lives of all who are exposed to it, most particularly young lesbian and gay people who suffer violence, harassment, lowered self-esteem and all the consequent health and social problems.”

Gay reaction stemmed from a song recorded by the deejay in which he says, “I’m dreaming of a new Jamaica, come to execute all the gays.”

The promoters had said in a previous release that they were aware of Beenie Man’s controversial past, but he had renounced those feelings and was now promoting “peaceful and humanistic values”.

However, a release posted yesterday said, “The depth of feeling and hurt amongst these groups has convinced us that for us to proceed with his Big Day Out appearances was, and would continue to be, divisive among our audience members and would mar the enjoyment of the event for many.”

Beenie Man, as is the norm, could not be reached for comment.

The sad part about this is that it’s not just Beenie who has lost out, it’s the music. This is a lost opportunity to promote reggae/dancehall in a major way and would no doubt have been a big boost – financially and otherwise – for Beenie Man himself. The fact is that there must have been big demand for this artiste for the promoters to have included him in a line-up with names such as Lily Allen, Muse, Eskimo Joe, The Mars Volta, Calvin Harris, Lisa Mitchell, the Horrors, and others. Between January 15 and 31, the Big Day Out will be held in Perth, Sydney, Adelaide, Melbourne and the Gold Coast, and according to the concert’s website, many of the venues are already sold out.

22. And as an excuse, given its inability to manage the economy and put Barbadians to work, David Thompson seeks to blame the educational system for not creating entrepreneurs.

But while he is doing that, more and more Barbadians are coming to the same conclusion.

They are saying that whenever the DLP says anything that makes sense, it is extracted from the BLP’s manifesto or the same National Strategic Plan 2006-2025 that the DLP refused to debate when it was laid it the House or it is something that President Obama has said.

Turn to page 6 and 7 of the DLP’s 2008 Manifesto to see why the DLP now talks about enterprise creation and entrepreneurship.

23. homosexuality represents a pre-occupation with sex

sex is for procreation; pleasure is not the main focus.

indiscipline pushes the sex/pleasure principle to the apex

24. I might not know everything
    but I know some things
    One thing that I know is that
    The more you learn , the less you know

25. For our thoughts to be taken away from the task at hand, which is,how can we get our leaders to lead Bim in a way that will benefit all the people especially Afro bajans we are talking about Bullers & wickers this is a distraction …Zoe is right,check the world population how many normal people are they how many deviants are they,Elton John was not stopped from performing in T&T but Beenie man has been stopped from performing, if you are black you must be stopped but if you are white you are harmless,this whole thing is a white man agenda we as black people has been suffering for centuries and it has not stopped but the gay lobby has got their agenda to the UN in less than 30 years does this not tell us some thing

26. B.I.G DICK
    H.O.W. BIG??

27. Oh lord, It would appear from these postings, and many from other forums that bajans are social conservatives. I have also gathered that Bajans seem to be, at the personal level, fiscally conservatives. Who of our poltical class has gone beyond labeling themselves as a socialist democrat, to bodly declare themselves to be liberal? who? and what does it mean?

28. Quoting the always fantastically hilarious and deeply insightful Bonny Peppa, fount of endless wisdom, a true comic, always deeply funny, not in any way a profoundly dull dispstick:

“B.I.G DICK
    H.O.W. BIG??”

How funny can a person be? That made me laugh so much that I stopped.

Perhaps later I’ll respond to the semic-comical subliterate racist bigot Negroman. Perhaps not.

29. For those accusing BU of inciting the population by fanning the issue of homosexuality let us be clear. It does not matter what BU thinks, what matters as Adrian alluded to is the conservative posture by mainstream Bajans on this issue and others. If all groups must coexist peacefully on the little rock some serious discussion needs to peltdown man.

For those who feel the homosexual issue is a distraction you need to wheel and come again. Barbadians will have to decide very soon, in about two years, what mirror image we want to project in our leaders.

30. Quoting David, evidently a maestro at debate and always a stylist of gorgeous prose:

“For those accusing BU of inciting the population by fanning the issue of homosexuality let us be clear.”

Yes. Please, David, be CLEAR. Who exactly on this thread has accused BU of “inciting the population by fanning the issue of homosexuality”? Who? Please give one anonymous name. One. Give one, please, or grow the f**k up, even if you think it’s too late for you to grow up. Give it a try.

And if you can’t do that, can’t you at least take a class in basic English grammar somewhere?

31. Quoting Zoe: “As a Christian, I …”

I assume that was where everyone stopped reading. Right there.

32. So David, now the agenda becomes clear, once again. This is really just an assault on Mia Mottley, cleverly disguised as a general discussion about homosexuality.

Jack, as always, love your posts.

33. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

The complex origins of human behaviour are always good areas for study. New research looks at the effect of chemicals that may cause ‘effeminate behaviour’, http://www.stumbleupon.com/s/#1eLmfq/wellness.blogs.time.com/2009/11/16/can-plastic-chemicals-cause-effeminate-behavior-in-boys//. This current study suggests that, not only does prenatal exposure to these common chemicals impact testosterone production, but it may also have longer term influence on gender identity and play behaviors as children grow up.

34. @Dennis Jones.

If my memory serves me right Homosexuality has been in civilisation back from bibical times and that was before all of the man made chemicals .
    To clarify my point Sodom and Gommorah was such a city
    Now in todays society we are still arguing about homosexuality which maybe genetically.

35. LOL @ Jack Bowman..haha

36. @ Bonny Peppa

I think B.G.Dick might be packing a WEENIE
    Ha ha———————————————-

37. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ac, I’m not sure what you are calling ‘civilization’, but what we now call homosexuality has been around for a good few centuries, recorded for a couple of thousand years, and often with not a European near the scene.

But, I did not mention homosexuality when citing the research, merely that “The complex origins of human behaviour are always good areas for study.” I mentioned effeminate behaviour, which is not the same thing as homosexuality.

I was not meant to be a red herring, though some will follow it where it does not lead.

38. What about Denis Lowe? Anyone heard him at Digicel’s BlackBerry launch the other night? He was saying how the phone jockeys were so handsome, strong and well-equipped! I thought Shelly Williams was going to pee herself, especially when he tried too late correcting himself. You hear he get lock out of his place in chancery lane? He had to beg for a chance to retrieve his clothes, someone needs to get to the bottom of where all his money goes. It seems Denis’ finances are on the downlow or very brown, if you know what I mean?

39. ac
    I feel so too but hate to hurt a fella’s ego.

Jack Ass Bowman
    ‘I assume that was where everybody…..”
    I tried my best not to laugh but that was hilarious.
    Gotta hand it ta ya…………regretttably.
    Ya id’jit.

40. David, Regarding the first part of your question, “Given your religious bent how do you explain division with the Church ordaining homosexuals.”

First, that section of the World wide Anglican church in America, who ordained that homosexual priest, Robinson, I think his name is, most certainly do NOT Biblically, Scripturally, nor theologically, constitute being recognized as ‘part’ of the true Church of Jesus Christ, they are *blatant* apostates, as even within their own communion of fellowship, there IS strong disagreement on this ordination, which is a *flagrant* disgraceful, scandalous, outright rejection, of what is clearly, and emphatically, condemned in God’s Word, both in the Old and New Testament Scriptures.

“Therefore, God also gave them up to *uncleanness* in the *lusts* of their hearts, to dishonour their *bodies* among themselves.”

“Who exchanged the truth of God for the *lie*, and worshipped and served the creature, rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever. Amen.”

“For this reason God gave them up to *vile* passions. For even their *women* exchanged the natural use (heterosexual) for what IS AGAINST NATURE.” (Lebianism)

“Likewise also the men leaving the natural use (heterosexual) of the woman, *burned* in their *lust* for one another, men with men (homosexuality) committing what IS *shameful* and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due.”

“And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge. God gave them over to a *debased* mind, to do those things which are not fitting. Being filled with unrighteousness, *sexual immorality* wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness, full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, evil-mindedness, *haters* of God, violent, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, undiscering, untrustworthy, unloving, unforgiving, unmerciful, who knowing the righteous judgment of God, that those who *practice* such things are deserving of death, not only do the same, but also *approve* of those who practice them.” (Rom. 1: 24- 32) emphasis added.

Any so-called ‘church’ masqurading as Christians, who fly into the face of Almighty God, and His Word, the Bible, contemptuously, and falgrantly defying God’s clear and emphatic denounciation of ‘homosexual’ and ‘lesbian’ relationships, IS in for His judgment sooner or later.

Regarding our society being a pluralistic one, this is not the point David, from the OT era, after SIN entered the human race, all societies have being pluralistic, BUT, this does not mean Almighty God approves of it.

Barbados has always being a pluralistic society, BUT, before the advent of this blatant Homosexual agenda, such behaviour, as wrong as it has always being, WAS not sought to be imposed on us by a change of Law, it was done quietly, though always sinful and disguisting, in privacy.

Now, we have a force of a different nature, these reprobate minds, are marching, demanding that their ‘vile’ wicked lifestyles, MUST be given rights,
    so-called ‘human rights’ a LIE, fostered by rampant propaganda, seeking to have our laws changed, so they can walk down the streets, in front of our children, hugging and kissing one another, is this what we want our boys and girls to be openly exposed to in our society, and this IS their agenda, and it does not stop there, it goes even more deviant than this.

In some parts of North America, they want rights, to teach little boys and girls about, *fisting* how they do this to each other, don’t be fooled, this IS all part of their evil agenda.

IF, we once open the door through legislation, to accept homosexuality, as they want it, under so-called ‘human rights’ gay marriage, etc, etc, it will set a precedent in law, that will run wild in having to meet all of the other disguisting, immoral, deviant things they want imposed on society.

The historic stability of our society, socially, morally, politically and otherwise were built on our religious/moral value principles, in spite of all our inherent failures, it nevertheless, was, and to some extent, still is, the stabilizing force, guide for our rational, moral compass, which the rabid homosexual activists want outlawed, and their ‘value free’ value neutral’ debased lifestyles to replace it.

If a man/woman, want to engage in this God condemned filth, in their own privacy, the present law gives that that right. BUT, to extend their agenda as it really is, IS something entirely different.

41. @ Dennis Jones
    AS usual you are always good at skirting the issue .Never willing to be specific on your point . In other words straddling the fence. For once let me know what Denise Jones really thinks on any topic instead of hiding behind somepersons theory.
    The ” red herring “makes my point.

42. GOP // November 16, 2009 at 6:59 AM

In December of 2008 the UN General Assembly presented a declaration against discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity.

Only St. Lucia in the Caribbean has signed against this declaration.
    …………………………………………………………
    B’dos has same percentage of hmosexuals as countries around the world. No more no less. Did GOP conduct a scientific survey? Guess not. GOP are you ST.Lucian? Have you gone to Gros Islet on Friday nights. Gay men in drag all over the place.

43. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ac, when one has a discussion or a debate, how one lets views be known is quite personal. Mine is clear, but maybe not to you, which is fine. One does not have to convince others and there is no voting during the process, so what would ‘knowing’ views really do? If your belief is that by sharing my views others may change theirs, then I’m not convinced. What is clear is that people tend to display bias once they think they have determined someone’s view.

44. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ac, I should have added that debate is about offering information that others may find useful in determining their views, which is what I have done. The ‘red herring’ is only for those who do not think that a difference exists between being men being effeminate and being homosexual.

45. ac

WERE you trying to be funny, or did it just happen (bearing in mind the blog title) when you said ‘AS usual you are always good at skirting the issue .Never willing to be specific on your point . In other words straddling the fence.’

46. Looks to be a bit of Freud there?

47. It is not natural and unGodly .God will judge such an act just as he did with sodom and like every sin. Opposites go together, it is natural.[so God created man in his image, in the image of God he created him, male and female he created them. God bless them and said to them, be fruitful and increase in number, fill the earth and subdue it.] Homosexuality is not fruitful and cannot bring an increase. It is dead wrong and against the will of God for mankind. Homosexuality is an act were people want to please their own evil desire and not God’s desire will for mankind. It is out of order and thus must be judge.

48. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Crusoe, I must admit that moving from a male to female name for apparently merely skirting the issues seemed like a dressing down. I’ll live with it, though.

49. One of the influential voices of the 1960s, C.Wright Mills, say in The Power Elite that privileged groups participate in a “higher immorality” in their ability to marginalize as deviant those in society who become troublesome. For Mills and his follwers, society’s elites use their wealth, prestige and power to sustain their privilege and ensure that their intereste become national policy.

If in the past it was wealthy and powerful elites who labeled others as deviant, this perogative has now been sized by influential interest or advocacy groups. Women’s groups and gay rights organizations, for instance, now have the ability to silence speech by those with whom they disagree.

Deviance is being rediscovered by ordinary people who have suffered the real world consquences of the academic elite’s rejection of the concept. Those whose communities have been broken by failed welfare policies, or whose families have fallen apart as a result of teenage pregnancy or divorce, are now speaking out about the moral chaos that is destroying their neighborhoods, their schools and their families. The pendulum continues to swing; where it will stop is not clear

For more than thirty years, the evolving politics of deviance has demanded that we adopt standards of conduct that come from human will and desire as mediated by advocacy groups, rather than those that derive from reason and commons sense. Social theorist Philip Jenkins has proposed that the current social contructionist environment can be likened to a market place in which activist compete to win buyers for their products. As marketers well know, success in convincing buyers that they really want to purchase a new product , especially when they are perfectly happy with the one they already have, can be achieved only through creative packaging of the product. The packaging of ideas involves a complex system of communication aimed at reaching people on an emotional level, convincing them that they want a redefinition of deviance even though they never realized that they needed it.

The politics of deviance
    Anne Hendershott

The book explores the culture war between traditional and postmodern definitions of deviance. Its central argument is that moral good or moral harm can come to a society according to how this conflict is resolved. The author does not believe that all behaviours are created equal. And no conception of what is morally right exist without a corresponding idea of what is morally wrong. The distinction between these —- that is, the bondaries of deviance —– must not be established by politically powerfull advocates through savvy marketing techniques. The author argues that we must reject the marketplace model. and instead draw from nature, reason and common sense to define what is deviant and reaffirm the moral ties that bind us together.

Remember this as you experience the marketing blitz starring Mia Mottley coming to the media near you, in the not to distant future.

50. So David, now the agenda becomes clear, once again. This is really just an assault on Mia Mottley, cleverly disguised as a general discussion about homosexuality.

Our agenda is clear, it is Barbadians have to decide how we are going to threat with the issue of homosexuality. Mottley is a key actor given her public position on the matter and having to be saved by Arthur. Since she is the PM in waiting we can discuss it now or during next election. One thing is for sure, it is an issue which will not go away easily.