miamottley
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley
used-by-pm-owen-arthur-of-barbados
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

At the beginning of the year BU warned Opposition Leader Mia Mottley that there is a centipede in her bed. Today the centipede ran across the bed and is yet to be found. Today the centipede had this to say about Mottley:

They want to like her, they want to respect her, she has to use power skilfully.

Despite the protestations of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur that he has no interest in the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party, political pundits know better. Based on the between the lines meanings by Arthur in his press conference today, it appears he has some issues with Mottley which he felt motivated in a special way to counter publicly. Barbadians have accepted that the BLP has historically not vented their problems in public, Arthur today broke the longstanding tradition.

One point we agree with Arthur is why would Mottley force this matter to a vote by the parliamentary group? The 6-2 result in her favour means nothing when viewed against the CADRES poll which placed Arthur several points ahead in the national leadership perception. BU remembers well Mascoll was in a similar position where he had the parliamentary support but Thompson was preferred by the people. When Thompson challenged for the leadership the support shifted from Mascoll to Thompson. The 6-2 vote means nothing, it was a nuisance vote and now threatens to divide the BLP.

Arthur’s move today appears to be well calculated and has nothing to do with airing dirty linen in public. He obviously intends to ride the popularity he still enjoys with Barbadians and see where it leads. Mottley still growing in the leadership role has blinked first in the standoff with Arthur, he has wasted no time in responding with the ruthlessness of a seasoned veteran.

The following was submitted by BU family member Adrian Hinds as a comment earlier today. We found it very interesting:

The BLP will have to look hard at it’s current process for electing the Political Leaders. The DLP did away with that approach. The DLP did away with the approach that saw the parliamentary group dictating to the entire political party membership on who should be the Leader.  This is far from over.

I think Arthur should wait until after the General election of 2013 to advocate for a change in the Laws of the Party. It has never been right for the too few to determine hook line and sinker, who will lead this country.

December 2007:

Listen to Mottley telling us the path that she would use to become  the Leader of the BLP and hopefully the prime minister. She doesn’t need the general party membership nor the vast majority of Barbados electors to achieve her goal, and this is what is glaringly wrong with our system.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgvPoQC1Mp4

If as Mia Mottley correctly states, that the parliamentary team of the ruling political party chooses the Prime Minister and Leader of the country, and that a single constituency must validate this choice by first nominating this person to be their representative to parliament, why are we being encouraged to view this election and to make a choice of whom to give our vote too on the opinion of who is best suited to lead the country? WE THE PEOPLE HAVE NO SAY IN THIS BY WAY OF OUR VOTE. WE CAN ONLY VOTE FOR A REPRESENTATIVE NOT A LEADER.

Do I understand Bajan politics or what? Core to all issue in both parties is Leadership. Who and how it is decided. Parliamentarians alone should not choose the Leader of the country. The largest number of persons should get to do so in a real democracy. Next step is to get both parties to the point of allowing the general Assemblies to pick the political leader, with the parliamentary group ratifying that choice to satisfy the constitutional requirement of awarding the PM-ship to the parliamentarian who commands the most loyalty amongst his fellow members. Right now, the two processes are not coalescing as Mia said back in 2007 that they should. What we have is a process of the few dictating to the majority. The final stop however is to have a popularly elected Leader of the Country.

As it stands now with Owen and as it was with Thompson the majority membership of the political parties cannot get their wish because of a process and few individuals. Ultimately the Barbadian electors will have to suffer the burden of someone they absolutely do not want as their leader as the only alternative. This is not democracy

68 responses to “Mia Mottley Blinks First, Will She Pay The Price?”

1. What do Owing, Pain, Mottley, Marshall, Clarke, Forde, Toppin, The Parro In A Suit Royal Idiot Slyvan Greenidge, Hederson Bovell all have in common ??

They are all bonded under the program of stealing from the people of Barbados.

It is for this very reason that the Marshall of the Court is seeking him out to serve him with a writ.

This is charming, the fact that birds of a feather seem to lurk together, in this case under the same BLP roof and schoool of corruption and theft.

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Public Bashing Act 1

The recent tongue lashing by Owen Arthur of the Opposition leader will go down in political history as one of the quickest and finest dressing down of a leader. In the space of ten minutes, the former BLP leader reminded Barbados of his fire and brimstone political nature. Owen shredded Mia’s political past in that one press conference. He opened up his war chest as he eloquently “unmek de woman in public.” The recent public display of political tribalism must be worrying to the past leaders of the Barbados Labour Party, as the untold stories make their rounds.

Mia has been wounded by the comments coming from Arthur but she is getting little assistance from her Chairman, in this respect. The chairman, George Payne in his address last week was all mouth, as he called for members to rally behind Mottley. “We have an elected political –an undisputed leader. We are rallying behind our leader.” Where is George Payne when Mia needs him most? It is clear that Mia has been set up to fail by her parliamentary colleagues. The secret meetings that are been held to spur on the war of words taking place between Mia and Owen will soon come to light.

Owen’s admission that there is a challenge of leadership in his party is probably the most insightful comment coming from the interview. His assessment of her leadership capacity has been known by many for years. The fact that her former boss has now taken issue with it is somewhat puzzling. It was Owen that promoted her to deputy Prime Minister, despite these glaring short comings. What exactly was Owen seeking to achieve as Prime Minister when he made his move?

We warned Mia about the mad rush to popularize herself by hoisting candidates on the party structure. The body of support in any political party will come from the membership. The show of support for Arthur at the last annual conference should be a lesson to Mia that she needs to change her strategy. Mia must tell Barbadians, the contrasting response she got compared to Owen’s. The rank and file members of Barbados Labour Party love Owen Arthur not Mia Mottley.

The “come Tuesday, this issue must be resolved and we must go forward” statement was a knee jerk reaction to a problem, according to Arthur, that does not exist. Arthur’s reading of the situation would have further endeared his adoring fans in the Party even more. Arthur knows what he is up against and has picked his cherries very careful. He knows how George Payne behaved on Sunday and how the man of the cloth attempted to stir up some support for his good friend Mia. They had all the political weapons cocked for poor Owen last Sunday.

It came to us as no surprise what occurred on Sunday October 25 2009, a day that is now referred to as ‘Red Sunday.’ A day, when political blood was spilled on the floor of the Barbados Community College gymnasium. The desire not to see politics as a blood sport is one which Arthur spoke very strongly about. It is clear that those words have come back to haunt him. The past week shall be remembered by all, as an occasion when the glue that kept the BLP together became the agent that split the political atoms. The jury is still out on where is Elizabeth Thompson in all of this is and one final question, who is the political Brutus that roams the corridors of Roebuck Street?

3. The reason why Hartley Henry aka WIV attacks this fellow Greenidge, whom he says is Royalrumble so much, is well known on this blog.

We all know that RR has posted some real damaging stuff on this blog about you WIV so we understand your rage against him. But guest what, every time you attack him you cause people to remember the things he posted about you.

By the way what ever came out of that case with the policewoman you raped in St. Kitts and then paid a handsome sum to get the court files hide. I am reliably inform that the case is far from over and that If the man who is now Opposition Leader wins the election there you can brace yourself because a court writ will be hurrying your way and the likelihood of some jail time is real.

4. the prime minister used words such as ‘advice’ perception to attack mia mottley .my advice to him is’ ‘people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones’
    for one his moral compass is broken all one have to do is look at his past indiscretions. who is him to talk about anbody weakness. for a former prime minister to go into mia personnel life and forget his own is very hypoctical

5. I am still searching for that one person who, while being against Arthur’s action has factored into their opinions, the role of the rank and file BLP membership, such as what are the wishes of ordinary blp members regarding Arthur and Mia?.

It is as if their views don’t count. Could this be a small peep into their larger view of the majority Bajans as captured in the last CADRES poll and which to my mind is very similar to that of the ordinary BLP member?

6. Miss Mottley sorry to say that ignoring Arthur or refusing to respond will NOT make this matter go away. There will have to be an exorcism on your part or a backing down i.e.resignation by Arthur.

This comment is in response to Mottley’s public position to the media today.

7. David, It must be clear to all and sundry that Mottley is very depleted of party, branch or support from members of Parliament based on the results of the first round of voting on Monday evening with two members refusing to support her those being Glyne Clarke and Ronald Toppin.

Once again she can be viewed as nothing more than an empty useless windbag that when pricked ( No she is not this thing friendly at all )
    empties to nothing,

Owing has her exactly where he set out to have her in the political TRASH HEAP of the politics of this island, never again will she be seen as a possible head of this country she is a moraless beast.

It maybe a case of what everyone felt or may even have heard about her agression and the venom with which she targetedd her victims is no longer a myth or just idle speech but her own former leader the former PM clearly stated that her LESBIANISM IS HER PROBLEM COUPLED WITH HER AGRESSION IN HER PURSUIT OF HER VICTIMS IS THE REAL PROBLEM MOTTLEY IS SUFFERING FROM.

Barbadians are tolerant of person of Mottley’s ilk but they are not tolerant of her vicious attacks and beatings, this just does not cut it when police officers assigned to protect her when as the Dep PM she can stop at her gate and try to seduce the lady office by telling her to come and have a drink and then we can have a good time together, this is a very sad state of affairs to the point that the lady officer asked to be reassigned so as not to have to work in or around Mottley.

8. ha ha ha WIV I think you have your Islands, and politicians mixed up. That sounds like something that was rumoured to have occurred in St. Vincent. lol!

Watch the December 9th 2007 BLP nomination for St.Micheal northeast. It tells several stories. One of which is the acknowledgement by Mia Mottley of the negative perception Barbadians have of her. The BLP St. Michael team was introduce that very night and all them spoke to theme that was design to “play-up” Mia feminine side. It was very obvious, and very uncomfortable for Mia. But do not take my word for it. Go to their website, look in their archives, and watch all the videos dated December 9th 2007. Was it coincidential that a very feminine sound was remade to focus on Mia. Yet to Barbadians She is not Royal, and nobody’s queen.

9. Anon,
    Dem is de only files dat you kno dat get hide? Behave yaself do.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

10. Wishing In Vain Avatar

However, Mottley said it was a given that any person in public life had to adjust to how they were perceived, but she questioned if the same would be said or rumoured about her if she were a man.

For all intents and purposes we all assume and believe Mottley to be just that a man in womans clothing.

11. @WIV

You really need to lift the debate about Mottley. That style of argument will not wash. You saw when the BLP side used that approach it was a turn off.

12. @David

One must wonder, after looking back at some of the stories about past PMs, if Bajans really care about the reputation of Mia Mottley. If she is seen as PM material outside of her personal preferences, Bajans will vote for her despite the DLP’s rantings about her.

As a matter of fact, the DLP better be careful that this immorality appeal which they spouting does not land back in their faces from a sympathetic electorate.

The Bajan public may be amused at somebody falling in the gutter, but they will not condone anybody pelting rocks at someone who already in the gutter. Reaching the gutter is the end of the game. However, part 2 of the game is seeing how well that person holds out in getting themselves out of the gutter.

13. Just having some fun with her own comments, just calling it Frank as Fingall said about her.

14. I don’t think Bajans will vote for her. I think people vote party.
    And, she is certainly not a popular leader. Never will be.

15. Wishing In Vain Avatar

PM: Stay focused!

Neither naysayers nor the political issues of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) are to distract the work of the Democratic Labour Party!

So says Prime Minister David Thompson, who urged his party members to “stay focused” on the relevant issues of economic policy and social well-being for all of Barbados.

The Prime Minister was speaking last night at the Sharon Primary School at a branch meeting for the St. James Central Constituency branch.

“Analysing and resolving the problems of the Barbados Labour Party is not one of the challenges that I have before me. Leave them and let them do what they have to do,” said the PM.

He added that he refrained from commenting on the political intrigues of last week in relation to Leader of the Opposition and the BLP, Mia Mottley, and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, but noted “one salient point is that the world is round and what goes around, comes around”.

However, the Prime Minister kept true to his word and for the rest of the night focused on the issues at hand.

“The management of the economy is my focus and will remain my focus on to the end of this term of the government,” said the Prime Minister.

Still, he added that he would not be weighed down by this effort either. “I have no intention of becoming obsessed with arithmetic as some people would like me to become obsessed with. I am mindful of universally accepted indicators of economic performance.

But I am a protégé of the [former Prime Minister] Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow and I know he gave economic performance not only in terms of arithmetic but in the well-being and well-fare of the citizens of this country.” In this vein the Prime Minister reiterated that he would not be allowing Government owned land on the West Coast to be sold for further development of that coast.

“…members in the previous government used to get their emotional highs driving the West Coast and seeing building after building being built. That is what they viewed as economic indicators of economic success in Barbados”.

“I am not buoyed by concrete … therefore my idea of development is balanced physical and social development where the people advance together and where we have visual expansion and appeal of the country”.

Meeting with the constituency members for St. James Central for the first time since he became Prime Minister in 2008, Thompson took the time to highlight some of the policies of his government since that time, standing firm by his government’s immigration policy and social programme of free public transportation for school students.

“We have a policy to deal with migration in a systematic way and [there will be] those who would not agree with that… we will continue to act in the interest of the broad masses of people in relation to that policy regardless of the opposition to that policy”.

16. PAYBACK TIME FOR MIA

Mia costs the BLP the last election
    She acted against Owen
    Yuh tink Owen fuhget ?
    hell no !

17. A majority of comments on the Arthur Mia fallout favours Mia. I expected this to be the case. Bajans have shown a willingness to respond with emotion, and with a basic sense of what is right and what is wrong. Very few have looked at the process by which the Prime Minister is SELECTED.

18. […] still attract a good crowd given how some Barbadians are attracted by the salacious. BU in earlier blogs exposed the fact Mottley has a centipede in her bed. In the last 48 hours Barbadians have been […]