bajan_prideA few weeks ago we listened to veteran journalist David Ellis expressing exasperation on air about all the race talk around in Barbados. His position as we understand it – educated Barbadians need to conceptualize positions which would move the country forward. We believe if Ellis were to think a little on that utterance he would realise it was an  asinine statement. Bear in mind the issue of race is being discussed in many countries around the globe including the great USA which is described as representing the melting pot of people from all backgrounds. He should also bear in mind the greatest Roman philosophers who we quote freely today were always prepared to enter the public squares to discuss the issues, good and bad with the people. The debate facilitated cross fertilization, more importantly the approach allowed the PEOPLE to vent and for the learned to respond. Hopefully both sides were the richer for the exchanges. It is a model which BU is committed to following for as long as we exist.

For any people including Barbadians to understand who they are and what they want to become, an understanding of their past lives must feature prominently. Decisions in the present cannot be divorce from experiences of the past. The psyche of the Barbadian has been influenced over time based on ALL of our history. Sadly our past is tarred by the experience of slavery and the colonial governance system which enforced it.  Today when we survey our system of government, church and other institutions and symbols which support civil society, the vestiges of our colonial relationship remain visible to all who want to see. For us to move forward as a people we have to discuss and debate how institutions which were active in our pre-emancipation period must be reconfigured to ensure a  Renaissance which the late Right Excellent Errol Barrow would have envisaged for our small but proud nation when he uttered that Barbados would be friends of all and satellites of none. Sad to say Barbados has progressed admirably if we use economic measures but boy have we neglected the social structures which are the intangibles of equal importance.

To understand the Barbadian and the negative reaction we have had to the large influx of Indo-Guyanese, we have to revert to history.

The Apprenticeship System which was implemented after August 1, 1834, the abolition of slavery makes for interesting reading. Although the slave was announced free they had to serve in an apprenticeship period for six years which was as harsh as that suffered in the pre-abolition period. The dehumanization of the Black slave which led to the conditioning of his psyche; the slaves obviously resisted the idea of working on the plantations during the apprenticeship period. The British rulers quickly realised that sustaining the plantocracy of the time was under threat and a solution had to be found.

1838 signalled the legal end to slavery and the plantocracy turned to Indian labour to keep the plantation production going. Here is where we find the history get interesting. Bear in mind Barbados is the only island in the English speaking Caribbean which did not change hands, it is significant if we are to properly assess the psyche of the dominant host population in Barbados today.

The indentures Indian labourers were brought in to the Caribbean as competition for the Black ex-slaves. Ex-slaves were paid less than the indentured labourers. Of course trade unionism in Barbados only received birth in the 40s. BU believes given the small land size of Barbados most of the Indo-immigrant labour was attracted to Guyana and Trinidad enticed by higher wages and assistance by giving land to accommodate the indentured families. After all those countries had the land space! It explains why Trinidad and Guyana attracted nearly all of the East Indian labour.

Over 150 years later Barbadians can see that the plural make-up of Trinidad and Guyana is in name only. We admit our races work together but do we mix socially? We believe part of the reason why Blacks, Indians, Chinese et al resist full integration and fiercely protect customs has to do with our reluctance to delve and embrace our history. We believe our people can become edified by the process of discovery and benefit from the ensuing self-confidence to proudly preach our history. The result should nurture self-belief and release on the world the positive energy of our Black race. Every where there is a multi-ethnic society e.g. Trinidad, Guyana, Fiji the India populations have expanded in numbers and achieve a dominance of culture and political achievement at the retreat of the Black population.

Is this what we want for Barbados?

74 responses to “Who Or What Am I?”

1. What do you mean by “Barbados was the only english speaking Caribbean country which didnot change hands”? According to Dr. Eric Williams writings in (From Colombus to Castro) the main reason why a majority of East Asian people ended up in Trinidad and Guyana was beacuse the Governors at the time in both countries were the most active advocates for immigation from India.Why? beacuse after the abolotion of slavery the plantation system in both countries suffered immenesly( were depopulated) than other caribbean Islands because the ex-slaves,now free, refused to be part of the apprenticeship program.So the plantation owners lobby their Governor and by extension the king of England for indenture labour.

Govenor Woodford of Trinidad wrote to the Colonial Office advocating that
    ” free labour was cheaper than slave labour”. In essence Trinidad and Guyana ended up with the majority of the East Indian Population not because of their sizes(geograhic area) but rather their plantation economy was more in danger than the rest of the other Islands.

On another note, I was in the Richmond Hill area( Little Guyana) of Queens yesterday liming with a Guyanese brethren and the topic of Barbados came up and let me tell you it was not a pretty sight. In a nutshell their is no love for Bim in Little Guyana.

2. Why talk race…talk ’bout David Ellis he’self who love to spout wha’ever he believe is right or wrong and den want people tah believe that it is the callers who make di program.. What a joke! Instead of Brass Tacks it should be David Ellis View (sorry Take) on Everything Under the F#ckin’ Sun…!

3. “Don’ Ask Mah Nothing Too Technical Cause Moderators Can’ Know Evet’ing” Show.

“If Yah Get Ta Close I Gun Sidetrack Yah” Show.

“De David Ellis Voice ” Show

“De Tony Marchall – It’s Always Your Fault Show”

“The How Tah Appear Intelegent By Badgering Simple Folk Show” with To-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-ny Marshall

4. You demonise indo-Guyanese and justify it by the non-related emancipation act of 1834 in our distant past. That is hypocrisy.

I have told you about the corrupt immigration officials on this site before who accepte 500 dollar bribes to have the passports stamped, and the 3 AM raids that happened when things didn’t conform to BAJAN wishes. In short, it is not “them”, IT IS “YOU” (us).

YOU (we Bajans) used them, and now you (not i) seek to stigmatise them.

That is really quite a reprehensible thing.

I’m sorry, but to make a link as you have done above between INDO Guyanese (and remember that black Guyanese also have come) is a far more distant linkage to try to pull past peoples’ eyes, than saying that BU is an arm of the ruling DLP propoganda machinery.

Good morning Wishing in Vain. Since you like ths blog, which continues constantly to be racist, by the same logic aren’t you the racist ones, by the same logical correlation and coordination?

Good morning Prime Minister Thompson. Wishing you well, but all in vain from my perspective.

Maybe we, the minorities should all close our businesses, liquidate investments and leave? You would like that, wouldn’t you? But it is not a good idea for Barbados.

I never thought I would say this, but I am beginning to think, because of recent BU activity and local racism driven by BU origin, that perhaps Barbados is not the place where I, a Jewish person, wish to spend the rest of my life.

Let all the Carson Cadogans and the Gary hopes of the blogs walk all over vaious minorities, and claim it be OK for free speech and political gain. See Barbados vecome an island of crime, resentment and unhappiness.

You don’t wish, but I wish in vain to have you, understand you are losing the foreign goodwill very quickly for your need to gain popularity of the masses. In the end starvation and crime will turn their votes against you, as your recession does not recover to growth. While you campaign politically 2 years after you won the mandate to do as you wished.

It is your own vanity that will bring you down, not me.

Respectfully yours and mine

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

zion

The said guyanese in richmond hill you will find would do anything to get their indian brothers and sisters to get citizenship in Barbados.

The very barbados and bajans that they hate,and you know what?You will finf ignorant black bajans helping them too.

They don’t even know they cutting a whip to cut thier boxy.

These indo guyanese have even taken their racist behaviour to New York,where the indo guyanese live in Queens and Richmond, and the afro guyanese live in brooklyn and the two don’t mix or get along.

What you think will happen here in barbados once those indo guyanese entrenched themselves here in barbados?

6. Oh Lord..lookah what i gone and do..i am sorry “art”i didn’t know you were a Jew that is why you took offense to my dirty jews comment..so sad..i forgive you.bye bye now..have a nice trip.

7. @zion1971

When you are translating the history of the Caribbean of that time you have to paint the full picture.

Why did the slaves protest working on the plantations during the apprenticeship period?

– the apprentices (former slaves) had to work with out pay
    – they could not leave the plantations even on their own time
    – laws were passed to control movement of the apprentices on the islands (Vagrancy Acts)
    – laws prevented apprentices from starting retail operations, owning fishing boats etc
    – laws at that time were heavily weighted AGAINST the former slaves

It was against the foregoing that the plantocracy instead of improving conditions for the former slaves to work on the plantations they accepted loans from the British government to import labour from India.Bear in mind many historians will confirm that bringing in Indian labour was a deliberate atempt to keep wages down in the post-apprenticeship period. Many of the small island including Barbados were over populated and sent slaves to the larger islands. Barbados was one of the small islands where ex-slaves were recruited as a militia force to force other slaves to work on the plantations.

The history is there for all who want to read it zion1971 as well as interpretation.

Zion we are not worried about what Guyanese in New York are saying. Barbados is not doing anything wrong by protecting its borders and regulating/documenting who enters. Are they vex with Antigua as well? Are they vex with the USA where Guyana has the highest rejection rate for Visas?

@art our biggest critic

In attempting to explain how the Barbadian psyche has been developed through history it is important to understand why our dominant Black host population may perceive the a deep Indian penetration of our population as a threat. Given our history Barbadians will always see a large influx of Indians as threat. Barbados was built unlike many of the other Caribbean islands on the backs, sweat and blood of our Black forefathers. If Barbados wants to encourage an immigration policy which will lead to a multi-cultural society, it has to be planned.

8. This entire article is just regurgitated rubbish designed solely for the purpose of generating traffic on a site that is seeing declining readership.

9. @zion1971

“In essence Trinidad and Guyana ended up with the majority of the East Indian Population not because of their sizes (geograhic area) but rather their plantation economy was more in danger than the rest of the other Islands.”

I see that David responded to you but my fundamental question to you is why were the plantations in these two countries in more danger than the rest? How does your position differ from that of the lead story? It would seem to me that to arrive at your position without an explanation as to why they were in danger, is void of the experiences which both countries would have undergone and hence without analysis.

10. @art

“YOU (we Bajans) used them, and now you (not i) seek to stigmatise them.”

It would seem to me that in your effort to prevent the stigmatisation, you would turn your head on the facts and ignore the history that caused it to reach there.

I have a problem with this kind of cowardly behaviour of self interests trying to suppress the facts so that the environment may be conducive to your self interests; so you can reap your rewards, never mind black people suffering. We are born to suffer and to see everything through other people’s eyes because we have no eyes of our own, right?

Tell your Indian friends to stop practicing racism, elitism and separatism and then you can run that talk. This is not a one way street but you would like somebody to believe that Indians were so upright in their position to the point of being innocent bystanders… and is who you fooling?

11. I am proud to be your biggest critic!
    In hope that you will change yourself.

Thank you to all the racist son of guns who are used by David for writing psychopathological hate in the name of poitical mileage!

You have about 12 posters. No good, right thinking people want to use this medium any more, except to try to change the BU. It is all about politics and subversion of the masses.

Morning dirty little willy-have a nice day. Smell you later.

Next response in a day or two.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ART

“See Barbados vecome an island of crime, resentment and unhappiness.”

Am I to take it that we black people should be eternally grateful for people like you? Otherwise we would be living in a cesspool?

Do you really hear yourself ART?

13. @art
    “Maybe we, the minorities should all close our businesses, liquidate investments and leave? You would like that, wouldn’t you? But it is not a good idea for Barbados.”

Why is it not a good idea for Barbados? Consider that the minority you speak of came to Barbados to seek their fortune and so the talk about it not being good for Barbados is what? Self interests?

Maybe the time will come when Black Bajans will stop shopping with that minority and create their own businesses run in their interests.

Whoever said that we want to be a multi-cultural society. Take a look at Guyana and Trinidad and tell me that the brutal crimes happening in those societies are welcomed in Barbados?

Where is the encouragement to integrate with Indians that all they do is suck you dry and support nothing black. They don’t even eat from us under the guise that they have to pray over the meat; foolishness. That is a great excuse to eat cheap. They come, buy your animals at next kin to nothing and kill it themselves or breed them so thay don’t have to come back. Who lost? Igrunt black people, right?

I know you will not like these details but demonstrate to me that my facts are incorrect.

14. @art

“Morning dirty little willy-have a nice day. Smell you later. ”

Is that what you think of us? You dare open your mouth and talk about racism. My experience is that those who use that word try to deflate their own practices and feel that by somehow applying these labels they could keep black people docile.

Smelly willy nuh? I think that is a greater insult than what we do by trying to bring the facts to the forefront of the minds of our people. Go where your nose is not offended. We will be happy for you. If you can’t take the stench, stay out of the cesspool.

15. Whenever Blacks anywhere recount their history others become offended.

Whenever Blacks in Barbados seek to right history and encourage symbols which reflect pride in race we are ridiculed.

Whenever Blacks in Barbados seek to paint the picture of the journey we have already travelled and why it is important for our future generations to stay focussed, we are ridicule.

It is fine for all cultures to penetrate ours and protect theirs.

It is fine for the Jews, Indians, Chinese to nest their cultures in our small society while at the same time Blacks are ridiculed for trying to educate our people and nest ours.

Barbados belongs to Barbadians and all who visit, all who resettle must understand this position.

16. black taylor with the axe Avatar
    black taylor with the axe

seems to me that it is the English that were the slave masters …the Irish and Scottish who were the first endentured are not slave owners or masters and the majority of white bajans i know are decendants from them and welch , that being said ..Can’t you see that the English are still controlling your behaviour by ‘divide and conquer tactics’ ..look all of dem and there and their strong pound coming in and taking all the good land , and playing dem nice to bajans !!! Not saying some ain’t alright but a lot of them taking everything and a lot of them are not careing about wunna !!! Caribbean people need to get along and Legal Immigration need to be !!!!

17. @Anonymous

You would like to see that we put up stories that nobody will respond to, right? And that nobody will read the purpose of public discussion is to put up what people will discuss. To do otherwise would be defeating the purpose. David would not be doing his job. So your charge is perfectly correct. That is how you run a blog. Anything wrong with that?

18. Art, when our fore fathers and mothers were working the fields where were you and all the people like you,back in the 30, 40,50,60,70 and before, when we ate sweet potatoes sprinkled with lard oil for breakfast and sweet water for dessert ,it is now that people like you want to live in bim we did not see many Indians when we lived in mostly wooden houses why is it now that Barbados seams as a good place to come to let me say this Israel,India,Europe are places with long and known cultures, Barbados only started to rebuild a culture since 1968 do you think it would be right for you and the Indians from Guyana to come and rule over us and change the course that we are charting for ourselves none of you have been killed or injured in bim for being what you are as an,Indian or Jew my great great grand father had his head chopped off in a plantation field for digging yams in St John Art you need to think of where your are before you start to write foolishness remember Babados is only 166SQ miles

19. Barbados belongs to Barbadians and all who visit, all who resettle must understand this position.

On the evidence available to date, it appears that the powers that be no longer subscribes to this view.

The traditional Barbadian way of life is no longer valued and is seen as inferior to that of others.

Take note of recent attempts to expose Bajans to Chinese culture.

20. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

General lee

You speak the truth re this new trend of indoctrination of bajans towards this’sucessful china” under the guise of cultural exchange.

Notice that can’t do that in India.

Imagine black bajans living for over 60 years on plantation tenantry land and chineese come here and skin the people out.

You see ralph thorne,or henry forde,or ronald toppin,mia mottley or david thompson defending these poor,black bajans?

Don’t get carried away I suspect art is really jack bowman who can’t keep away from BU ,but always trying to tell BU what to do.

Look BFP is on its death bed so they have no other outlet but BU.

Just wait for pied piper if she is not here already in that Anonymous post.

We have to keep speaking out and educating our people,the jews and indians and chineese do it all the time.

The sad thing is you will not see articles like this in the Nation newspaper,or on VOB.

What we are seeing in the immigration green paper tells us that as black,indigenous bajans we have to fight hard to protect the future of our children.

Don’t expect the politicians to do it for you,stop going into those swan street indian stores where the owners treat you like shit.

Stop buying their cheap shoes,their cheap clothes,stop buying from mrs Ram who treat her black workers like dogs.

Educate your children from small to support their own,talk to your co-workers every day until they understand,talk to the boys on the blocks, talk to your old parents and grand parents.

This is how black people will be educated about their worth and the power they have with their dollars and cents and their vote.

STOP BEING SO PASSIVE.

READ THE IMMIGRATION GREEN PAPER AND SPEAK OUT WHERE YOU FIND WRONG.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ART

“Morning dirty little willy-have a nice day. Smell you later”

Nice!!!!!

With that statement you have just neutralised everything that you have ever said on this blog. For a person who is ranting against racism, that statement shows you up for who you really are.

I do not know how long you have been on OUR shores but my grandmother and grandfather had a Bajan saying, “the more the monkey climb, the more he show he tail”.

Black Barbadians are nice once they pander to you and let you reap all the sweets.

Do you really hear youself ART?

22. David, thanks for that indepth analysis.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

The more things change the more they remain the same. I am sure we are all familiar with this saying.

“The B.E.P.P.A has blamed the importation of turkey wings in part, for the reduction in sales of chicken. This is the same tactic that was used in 1998 against chicken wings, despite the fact that like this year, there was a glut of flying fish.”

The above is a quote from a letter in the Nation newspaper by Robert D. Lucas Ph.D.

Reading toady’s Nation newspaper I see that Carlisle Brathwaithe And the Barbados Chicken cartel division of the largely white controlled Barbados Private sector has received their wishes. No more imported turkey wings for Black consumers in Barbados. Now how is this going to help the Black consumers of Barbados? It was done just ahead of Christmas.

24. This is essential reading. Fellow Afro-Bajans please remain vigilant. Your region is in peril.

Commentary: Debating the Syrian/Lebanese control of Antiguans and Barbudans

By Dr Isaac Newton

http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/oped/oped.php?news_id=19141&start=0&category_id=6

Commentary: Debating the Syrian/Lebanese control of Antiguans and Barbudans

Published on Monday, October 5, 2009 Email To Friend Print Version

By Dr Isaac Newton

In September, 2009, I wrote an article entitled: ‘Departing from the wisdom of VC Bird Sr, A Nation in Peril.’ With riveting honesty, it created a bone-chilling debate within Antigua and across the Caribbean. The article was a wake-up call on the complex ways that ethnicity and race intersect with potentially dire consequences for our survival as a small island state. This overlap exposed real and perceived notions of political control and economic domination of a minority over the majority.

Dr Isaac Newton is an international leadership and change management consultant and political adviser who specialises in government and business relations, and sustainable development projects. Dr Newton works extensively in West Africa, the Caribbean and Latin America, and is a graduate of Oakwood College, Harvard, Princeton and Columbia. He has published several books on personal development and written many articles on economics, leadership, political, social, and faith-based issues.
    Several responses got my attention. They came from the heart and combined brilliance with moral awakening. But the exchanges I had with Mr Ellorton Jeffers enhanced the importance of constructive debate for the promotion of a healthy democracy. For those who still fear opposing this fraternity of injustice, but are willing to break their terrifying silence behind closed door, I hope for the sake of our grand children, you are encouraged to continue, where we left off. This is what it means to take a stance for the advancement of the public’s welfare:

Dear Dr Newton,

I share with “H” this concern (name shall remain anonymous here). We must be very careful that we are not deliberately picking on the Arabs because they are Arabs. We must not come to resemble Idi Amin.

Though I agree their rise and political influence in Antigua are worth careful examination, it should not be conveyed that their ascendancy is the result of avariciousness peculiar only to their race. We must be quick to point out that if the Arabs have gained any undue advantages it is not because they have duped our political leaders. Our leaders, we must remind our readers, are willing accomplices. They have provided and created the opportunities for the Arabs.

I suspect that Antigua’s rising black, economic elite are working to create similar relations with the Antigua government hoping to gain the same advantages that the Arabs allegedly monopolize. If not more. It would not be a surprise if they think that they, more than the Arabs, deserve those advantages because of their national origin. This competition, if encouraged, can create political conditions for the emergence of the Idi Amin type. We do not want that to happen.

The Antigua State is very small but it is a significant purchaser of goods and services. It has properties to sell, contracts to issue and finances to raise for salaries and debt servicing. The State is an economic entity in itself, and as such it will enter into relations with the Arabs and the black, economic elite; and these relations are entered into because there are profits to be made. What determines who get what and how much? I do not know.

But it is safe to say that the one that can affect the political fortunes of the Minister, if not the entire government, will most likely be the beneficiary of government’s largess or business. The Minister and the individual who is soliciting the government understand what is at stake for each other and, therefore, both will recognize the need to act in concert to advance each other’s interest.

The Arabs are not the only parasitic agent. And neither are they the only ones for whom the government acts as a host. There are, the fly by night investors who come to make a quick fortune and then disappear. Then there are those who stay a little longer but never reinvest their profits back into the local economy. This accumulated labor (profits) is sent overseas to be reinvested in the countries from which the investors originated, or some other major capitalist city. Antigua is a place from which wealth is extracted leaving the economy without the means to expand into new areas of economic activity. This has been a fact since the 17th century.

Personally, I do not consider the Arabs the problem. What do they do? They buy and sell. Their economic activity would hardly undermine any serious attempt by Antiguans to develop a national economy that prioritizes the goals of the broad masses of people. Once we have a workers’ State, it could move to legislate out of existence any form of activity that does not fit into the national plan. I would like to think that the Arabs, having lived in Antigua for so long, would see a role for themselves and if they cannot find a role, a role would be outlined for them. It would be the same for the black, economic elite.

The creation of wealth for the few by the many has to end. Now. But to do that, two things have to happen. The political system that legalizes capital flight has to be changed and correspondingly we have to coordinate our economic activities giving a decisive role to those who work. We have to coordinate our activities because each sector must compliment the other and help the realization of the national goal. We will have to do some things differently, therefore, we will have to be creative and find new areas to exploit since there are limitations already placed on our natural resources. The young will have to be educated to find these in the field of art and culture and the exploitation of already existing technologies to harness what is workable in the new economy. We have to think beyond the Arabs.

Yours truly,
    Ellorton Jeffers

Dear Mr Jeffers,

I share your alert warning that we should avoid, at all cost, any inkling of ethnic lynching and with it, the lurking dangers of picking on the Arabs on the sheer basis of their ethnicity.

I am sure you realize that my analysis of the Syrian/Lebanese’s rise to unbridled political positioning, and a culture of economic entitlement, stayed clear of ideological content that promotes essentialism.

I focused more on the dramatization of post-colonial thinking, a history of behaving according to the tenets of this belief, leadership myopia tied to self-centeredness, silent participation by the majority, and a lack of devotion to ideals of holistic nation-building, by all of us—a recipe for the disenfranchisement of the majority.

I agree that the interlocking set of social, psychological, historical and leadership failures, did not account for a diverse thinking that exploited our natural resources or progressive views on capitalizing on global trends.

However, the particulars of the Arabs challenge can’t merely be fused into caution that the Black elites are competing for similar political advantages. It also should not merely emphasize the different forms of structural economic disempowerment that exists in Antigua and Barbuda. I grant that these elements are earnest prophetic insights, indeed.

One of the benefits of my perspective is that it highlighted the need to thoroughly expose the complexities of the Syrian/Lebanese dynamics, for purposes of keeping track of how this variable, both color and design of the political and social landscape in Antigua, and how it is becoming socially disruptive.

I think this approach provides a more accurate pathway for integrated and holistic solutions.

It makes good sense to tease out the varied challenges the Arab minority poses to the majority. The fact that these challenges are continuously manifested in practices of socializing poverty and privatizing wealth, serve only to undermine your clarion call for economic empowerment, beyond the Arabs.

Although you admirably pointed out, the need to examine the particulars of Arabs situation, your analysis denied the substantial value of detailing its scope. We cannot risk remaining distant from the plight of the majority. I think progressive thinkers and social activists need more, not less, of this kind of critical questioning and real participating, to create conditions for the common good.

Solace and Peace,
    Dr Newton

But an enthusiastic critic accused me of both betraying VC Bird Sr’s legacy and exhibiting extreme prejudice for pointing out the fact that over half a century in Antigua, Arabs do not intermarry:

1. I am very disappointed by the conclusions to be found in the piece listed above. It seems to suggest that African-descendant Antiguans, whose history of exclusion denied that group access to credit, to establishment positions in government, to fair and equitable treatment in our own birthplace for three centuries, or from 1634 to 1961, that we should practice the same against another ethnic group.

2. Further, to suggest that VC Bird was the progenitor of this discriminatory policy is to debase his memory and his contribution to fairness and justice. I have heard similar sentiments expressed by others; however, I have always concluded that they were mistaken. What VC Bird may have cautioned against is a concentration of both economic and political power in any minority’s hands; the Syndicates Estates’ control was exactly this type of concentration which led to abuse. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. It was not possible to escape the absolute power of Moody-Stewart whose control over government and the sugar industry was stultifying, to say the least. Always, the fear that a small group would exercise absolute control once the British descendants had been defeated, exercised the thinking of the recently liberated. On that basis, VC Bird was relying on a historical experience to forestall an outcome that history had taught him was inimical to the best interests of the majority. That is not the equivalent of locking a group out of politics… (Points 3-9 were deleted for brevity)

10. I cannot share the xenophobia and racist exclusionary practice advocated by the writer. The person I choose to marry is my choice; marriage is not some kind of social experiment. If African descendants found Arab women to be attractive, they would become their spouses. And, if male Arab descendants found African-Antiguan women to be attractive, the same would apply. Love trumps all kinds of barriers.
    I hope that unrequited love of democratic ideals will trump this urge to discriminate and exclude when one is sitting in the seat of power.

I responded:

…Thanks for taking the time to offer a detailed misreading of my opinion piece. Having had several exchanges with you in the past, I was neither shocked nor amazed that your response falls in the category of an intellectual nightmare—ideas grasping for breath trapped in narrow racial distortions or unable to walk without political leg braces, dedicated to blind party politics and not the merits of intersecting historical, social, economic and political complexities that my article sought to explore.

Please return to the abiding thematic core of my thesis, which you have hysterically violated and tragically distorted. It is simply this: Fundamentally, I argued that a history of self inflicted social inequality was perpetuated by successive governments. This history is both seeded and realized in the ironies and misapplication of VC Bird Sr’s wisdom of how to maintain a society that discourages any ethnic group from engaging in structural forms of oppression through political and economic modalities, at the same time.

I pointed out that the inequitable empowerment of the Syrian/Lebanese minority had very little to do with entrepreneurial skills but more to do with unfair political patronage. I implied that post colonial tendencies were partly responsible for this.

And I demonstrated that these tendencies were manifested in outright rejection of one’s own/locals, in deference to the belief that foreign things are superior and excellence is imported. I also made clear that this situation is not sustainable and if not corrected soon and radically, it will lead to social upheaval.

Your crude misreading of my article— that I advocated ethnic discrimination, that I debased the fair-practice tradition of the father of the nation, that I promoted racist exclusionary practices— culminates in intellectual dishonesty at its loftiest, and further represents a gallant denial of the critical role that this very ethnicity is playing, in the redefinition of the political and economic landscape, operating right now in Antigua…

The issues that the September article raised (www.caribarena.com, http://www.caribbeannetnews.com, http://www.antiguasunonline.com links to ‘Departing from the wisdom of VC Bird Sr: A Nation in Peril’), penetrated the core of our lives with far reaching inequities that feed ethnic tensions. But to stand wishfully by, while Antiguan and Barbuda becomes stiflingly unequal, is not the future I want your children and my grand children (still unborn) to have. We are heading for the danger zone of a segregated society barricaded behind political divides and economic disempowerment. Our generation is now being tested by cultural challenges that divide us rather than unite us. Yet, I believe we can dream for a better future and make it happen!

25. forget race .the real question can Barbados afford to extend awelcome hand to foreignors in these hard economic times? The Barbadian people do have aright to protect its own interest . Nothing is wrong with that to use the Race Card to shut them up is in itself racist. @david

26. @ac

BU has been writing about the open door immigration policy for nearly two years now. Additionally we are equally concern about the impact of different ethnic groups on a stable Black host population. It has been our position and will continue to be so.

27. @ROK

I have always wanted to undestand why of all the Caribbean Islands, Trinidad and Guyana ended up with the majority of the East Indian population. As I said in my posting that Dr Willliams analysis of the situation in(From Colombus to Castro) was that their was a great labour shortage on the plantation after emancipation.This labour shortage was brought about by (1) an already small population for both countries and (2) a lot of the ex-slaves thougt the apprenticeship system was almost like a new form of slavery( as David mention above) and thus they leave their former masters in droves to try their luck on their own.This labour shortage was more critcal in Trinidad and Guyana prompting the plantocracy to lobby aggressively for immigant labour from India.Remember this is the analysis according to Dr Williams. Other people will say they went to these countries more because the incentives were more acctractive in these countries than other Islands. Now I donot want people to think I am insinuating that ( as some historians and non-histori ans have claimed) the Indians were more industrious and discipline than the ex-slaves and that the ex-slaves because of their laziness and attitude create the mess upon themselves.This “lazy theory” is nothing but crap. The question is if blacks were lazy as some people claim to believe how the hell on god’s earth did economic sytem of slavery suvive for so long? and according to comedian Dick Gregory who the hell is going to travel thousand of miles across the atlantic for years to purchase over 20 million lazy negroes even if the whips were the fear driver.

Every nation of people on this earth has their sets of lazy people.What happen then and still happen to this day is the classic divide and rule among the competing lower economic class. Indians were willing to work for less or nothing in deplorable condition.Blacks refused because the situation was even worse than before. Indians were seen as the hardworkers and docile while the blacks were lazy and aggressive.Out of this mix comes resentment and hatred for both groups fighting over the same economic spoils. In america today the saga continues. Latinos and Asians are seen as the hardworkers and blacks are lazy. But that is a myth, most of the so called hardworking latinos are the undocumented ( their choices and motivation factor are different from the documented).Ironically some off the laziest people I met in this country are documented Hispanics. Another thing to bear in mind is that people who migrate to other countries are more motivated than the natives. Where One person see poverty another person see oppurtunity.But not every country offers the same experience and oppurtunity for different group of people. For a lot of people the american dream is to die for.

America takes in the most immigrant(legal) per year than any other countries in the world. a lot of European countries take in a lot of immigrant also( France, Germany, England etc) but, as a percentage of the population(13%) the USA is not even in the top 20.As a matter of fact Canada(18%), Australia(25%), Germany(13%) , Saudia arabia(25%) and a lot more other countries are a magnet for immigrants just like America.

Outside of the Continent of India Durban South Africa is where you find the largest concentration of indian population.Accodindg to the USA census data people fron India make up the fourth largest immigrant group (over a million) Wether it is Fiji, Mauritania, Kenya, Uganda, Surinam, or other places that experience a large influx of Indian population one thing for sure is certain is that Indian people donot mix or assimilate into the culture of their adopted country.This isolation attitdue -wether caused by a natural human self-preservation mode or , hanging on to cultural baggage or a subconscious feeling of superiority -can lead to antagonistic struggle between their way of life and the other dominant group. Black people on a whole donot come to the tabe with these cultural baggages and are more easy to adopt or assimilate in their adopted societies.

I think it is every country right to protect its borders and have a manged and planned migration policy. Remember getting permission(visa, etc) to enter another person country is a privilege and not a right.They reserved the right to let in who they want and who they dont. Barbados is no different.Wether the politicians in Barbados doing this for political reasons or for genuine immigration change will always be debated .My answer is I dont know.The concerns of the Bajan people who genuinely think that a certain balance in the ethnic make up of the population should not be easily discarded as racism or xenophobia because wether the Indo-Guyanese threat is real or imaginary the history of Guyana, Fiji, and Trinidad cannot be ignored.

28. Another point. I am not worried about the overpopulation issue.300,000 thousand people on less than 200 square mile is not that worrying at this moment. Remeber Singapore is almost 2 times the size of barbados and yet they have a population of close to 5 million people. The foreign born population of Antigua is 23% probably the highest or one of in the caribbean. Whats the the percentage fro Barbado?

29. @zion1971

In our previous response we suggested that the smaller islands at that time including Barbados were overpopulated with slaves. It follows that the smaller islands would not have suffered labour shortages to the extent the larger islands did and explain why the indentured labourers flocked to BG and Trinidad.

History shows that the British government of the time brought in indentured labour and they were protected from exploitation in ways the Blacks were not. The culture of these indentures was allowed to flourish, Blacks on the other hand were dehumanized with their language and customs literally beaten out of them, Back then and even now Blacks continue to struggle as far as protecting our culture. When Blacks agitate for repatriation, it is not a joke!

30. @Zion1971
    “This labour shortage was brought about by (1) an already small population for both countries and (2) a lot of the ex-slaves thougt the apprenticeship system was almost like a new form of slavery( as David mention above) and thus they leave their former masters in droves to try their luck on their own.This labour shortage was more critcal in Trinidad and Guyana prompting the plantocracy to lobby aggressively for immigant labour from India.Remember this is the analysis according to Dr Williams.”

I am afraid that you have gone on beyond the issue. How does Dr. Williams’ analysis differ from what David said? Would not population be relative? And what about plantation size?

So while 60,000 labourers may be sufficient for Barbados, that is a drop in the bucket for Guyana and T&T. Conversely, the smaller islands would get their quota easily, leaving Guyana and T&T scrambling.

31. David, you’re psychopathological too, but in a very calculated, dangerous destabilising way. You, with the blessing of your DLP party, are doing your damndest to cause your own island to break down and suffer.

You are a malevolent, unethical, trying to pull every wicked, falsely prepared string.

You have to make an enemy; a false enemy; you do so in local minorities.

Nazi!

To cover up your failings you do this wrong thing.

And every word I say is the truth.

You don’t like the truth, and the truth is that you ARE racist.

I showed it to you- but I haven’t done anything to you.

I have worked quite hard, for quite a few years, in a position helping to make Barbados a better, more prosperous place. And in doing so I have bought an entitlement that is AS equal to many who lay out these racist claims. I claim nothing more than my share of equality.

Why do you talk about colour to me? I am not racist- YOU ARE. This is not in my heart, it is in yours.

I tell you that you are racist, and help you to see that you are, show you how you are, and still you deny and won’t look within.

Are we not all human beings, and do we all not have the ability to interrelate?

I, man art, have toiled myself and have worked as long for Barbados and for prosperity, long after others have rested, as anyone on this blog may testify to. I have worked very hard.

BU continues to be a caricature of Bajan nazi stereotypic propaganda.

SEE it.

See your racism.

David Thompson, may G_d find someone with ability to cause you to read this, and so to deal with these people before they destroy your government and peaceful island.

You are letting these people destroy good people’s lives and reputations, but soon it will be Barbados that will suffer.

Mark my words. I don’t do anything to you, you do enough in every way to destroy yourselves, even while I try to help Barbados.

32. @zion1971

You are crossing up space and time.

33. @David

I really don’t envy your job but we could do without the zionists, racists, facists people like art.

34. Rok

Don’t you know Art is a Fart.

Stinkin’ up the whole place.

35. I am Guyanese so let me tell the Zion 1971 that prior to the 1950’s African was the majortiy in Guyana (BG) British Guiana, however, with access to health care, (reducted infant mortality) and improved standard of living on the plantations increased the life expectancy for the East Indians and as such they became the majority, however, today the East Indians account for 42% of the national population of Guyana, also if you factor in that a lot of Guyanese East Indians are mixed with African then we really have an even much smaller pure East Indian population. I have told you all before that the vast majority of Guyanese are mixed with African, this includes Chinese, Portuguese, East Indian and Ameiindian, so in effect Guyana is really a black nation, never mind the foolishenss in Brooklyn or Queens, and remember now the Mayor of Queens is a Guyanese lady, one Miss Helen Marshall who is married to a Barbadian gentleman, so you see how we connected. BTW Miss Barbados is ranked number 10 in the countdown to winning Miss World on the Global Beauties website.

36. Art is more than a fart,he is a lunatic looking for recognition.

Art the fart do not come on this blog seeking compassion from Black Barbadians that people of your type consider to be stupid.Who gives an ass if you worked extra hard or not.Black people of this world have been working extra hard for over 3 hundred years and what do we have to show for it.Nothing,nothing what soever.

Art the fart your contempt & hatred for Black people was well illustrated in that comment you made earlier.

It seems that the comfortable lifestyle the thieving,parasites the people of your ethnicity enjoyed in Barbados is being threaten by a more enlightening set of Black Barbadians.I suspect less & less Black Barbadians are patronising the businesses of the ethnic minorities in Barbados and that is beginning to have an effect on those ethnicities standard of living.

Your Truly Negroman along with some other regular commenters on this blog are encouraging Black Barbadians not to shop at businesses owned & controlled by the rat catcher Indians,the stinking,nasty Chinese & the despicable Jews along with the world killers & murderers the disease Europeans.The call not to patronise those businesses is getting through to some Black Barbadians.I can say with some measure of surety,that quite a few of my friends & work mates do not shop at any business establishment owned & operated by other ethnic groups.I would brag & say I have powers of persuasion and I can convince many people I come into contact with to do what I say.

Black Barbadians continue to wake up We are the dominant ethnic group in Barbados and please do not continue to make the stinking murderous Jews,the rat catcher Indians,the nasty Chinese & the world killers Europeans rich by buying products from them.We have many Black businesses in Barbados that we could patronise and get the products the we required. My Black Barbadian brothers & sisters do like Your Truly Negroman and seek out only Black businesses.Do not spend your money with the rat catcher Indians,the stinking Jews,the nasty Chinese & the world killers Europeans because we are only making those criminals rich to ultimately oppress & destroy us.

Black Barbadians Buy Black & forget the rest.

37. I agree that the Indians in BDS are ruthless in their business practices. Dem like to buy low & sell high!
    Dem duz rip off people all the time. It is part of their culture.They dont believe in Karma! Wuh Karma ya talkin bout?
    They sleep like babies cuz they dont give a sh**e bout anybody but themselves. Send them back to Guyana where they can rip off their own kind!
    Barbados belong to we not these interlopers. Good Riddance to the creepy perverts!

38. Again BU’s position is about having a managed immigration policy but we have gone one step further to ask how multi-ethnic groups entering our country may impact a stable Black population. We have been clear and unyielding in this position. We are not about persecuting any group. As patriotic Barbadians we are not happy about the way our country has been allowed to drift in the current global space.

As Barbadians we have to speak out to say what kind of country do we want to build?

39. Art, do not let these people frustrate you. You see how some will take your honest words and pervert the meaning to suit themselves? These people are dishonest and rotten to the core, including their master David.

40. I want to respond to
    carson.c.cadogan
    are you serious?Do you know that turkey wings are classified as offal. It use to be put into dog food but some one in the turkey industry found out that i could be sold, at that there were persons who are willing to buy it and use it in human consumption,all over Europe and north America turkey is consumed all year, it is cut into pieces,legs,breasts,thighs,ready sliced,and minced,the wings are sold in large bags very cheaply and is used in the making of product called stock,do you not think that B’dos is large enough that you can raise your own turkeys for the Christmas ,in the sixties we use to buy a thing called chicken back it was nothing but bones,it was a way of getting protein,we took good money bought nonsense and made the same people rich,just look at it,who can afford it will be eating turkey.But the poor lile black man want the wings LOL mental slavery.remember the time when a company in England sold chicken wings that the government was going to return to them

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MICHAEL

There are quiet a few products considered as offal in “over in away” that Barbadians have consumed since Adam was a lad.

We have raised our children to grown men and women without any ill effect. We also offer such to our Tourists who find the them simply delightful and want more.

42. @david in my last response the message was for art apology.

@art if the guyanese has such ability to improved barbados .then why not wouldn’t they used such ability to rebuild guyana. there is no place like home. bajans has worked hard for what little they and not it is asking too much to risk it at the expense of others. it is not the fault of us that guyana has failed

43. Carson
    don’t get me wrong i eat turkey wings chicken wings pig foot tripe as well but what i am driving at is people want to beat on the government for turkey wings which is a throw away product if you are going to beat up on the government beat up on them for not creating the conditions where bajans can have there own turkey farms that can supply turkeys for Christmas

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MICHAEL

Point taken.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TODAY’S NEWS IN GUYANA

Enmore mother of four dies after beating

Cops under pressure as baffling crimes mount

Body of 58-year-old man found on Good Hope Public Road

Occupants of car attacked at Broad and Lombard

Mother of alleged Albouystown attackers held

Plaisance man doused with acid

Kitty man shot in shoulder after ‘attacking’ cop

Cumberland residents robbed while playing music

Stabroek news

With so many Guyanese in Barbados, how far off are we from this sort of behavior becoming the norm in Barbados?

46. Any feedback on the comment by prison boss Nurse that 25% of the prison population is comprised of Jamaicans, Vincentions and Guyanese?

47. People like that David Ellis are gate-keepers. They are paid to sit there and control the dialogue wherein one side is heard and the other side is silenced. Call in there with a “white-sounding” voice and he’s all EARS but call in there sounding “raw” and the bum is very impatient and dismissive. Always ready, able and willing to accommodate whitey.
    Talk about a HOUSE-NIGGER.
    David Ellis is the most miserable, comtemptible, finite speck of protoplasm I’ve ever heard on the airwaves in Barbados.

However,

We should never forget SLAVERY, because it is a constant reminder of the REALITY of who we are dealing with and we can NEVER trust whitey nor any of the others!

Its is very important to let every little BLACK GIRL & BOY know of the horrors that their Ancestors endured at the hands of whitey and it is also important to let them know that BLACK PEOPLE DO NOT NEED whitey! We were great before they got ‘seeded.’ They took our knowledge and perverted it to their benefit. But the BLACK MAN WILL RISE AGAIN!

48. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Just a quick point on the comparison to Singapore; I for one do not want Barbados to become an island so crowded that you can’t turn in peace. Secondly Singapore because they were ruled by a benevolent dictator were able to curtail rights and enforce situations which lead to development . They imposed conditions on people that Barbadians would never willingly tolerate.
    Thirdly, one cannot only look at economic development and prosperity. Quality of life must be the main consideration and for most Barbadians it is quite acceptable and better than many places.

We should be trying to develop a society where rules are clear and are followed and enforced vigourously to the benefit of all Bajans. that goes for PSV’s, immigration, NHC, VAT, NIS, big business and all aspects of public life.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MORE NEWS TODAY IN GUYANA

Two shot in Riverview

GUYOIL pumps contaminated fuel

NA housing group fleeced of millions

Army captain, Cpl., private nabbed with high-powered weapons

Guyana: Narco-Violence and a Failed State

Kaieteur News

Anyone saw Norman Faria at the BLP’s annual conference?

50. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Just another day in beautiful Guyana.
    Nothing to concern the average Bajan. Do you think that Thompson is aware of what’s happening in that South American country?

Perhaps you should inform him.
    You may influence him with regards to this famous green paper.

Let’s hope that he has the testicular fortitude to do what is right for the social stability of Barbados.