Submitted by Yardbroom

Caster Semenya

At the Athletics World Championship in Berlin last week, a shy black 18 year old female athlete from South Africa, won the womens 800m – setting the fastest time in the world this year.  The win was no surprise to those who had followed the early rounds of the 800 metres.  The teenager from a tiny village in Limpopo province has shown her talent but the world’s media, at first surprised at her times, decided to take a closer look and then events became uncomfortable for Caster Semenya.

Only hours before the race, it was announced that the IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) had instigated  gender testing for Caster Semenya.  South Africans were appalled, it was insensitive nd humiliating to the young athlete, did they have to go public, the charges and accusations came thick and fast, not only from South Africa.

Was this course of action within the rules of the IAAF ? Yes it was. The IAAF ceased gender screening for all athletes in 1992 but retains the option of assessing the gender of a participant should suspicions arise – Wikipedia. Suspicions had arisen, it was therefore within their remit to order a gender test.

There was not the usual post-race interview for Semenya, she was bundled away by the South African authorities.  The waiting media were denied the opportunity of hearing her reputed deep masculine voice or a closer inspection of a blush of facial hair.

On her return to South Africa there was no attempt to hide her away.  She was among friends.  The airport was crowded to welcome home South Africa’s “golden girl”.  Political opportunists were quick on the scene, they never let a crisis go to waste.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, Nelson Mandela’s ex wife was there to call her “my grandchild,” she elaborated “we are here to tell the whole world how proud we are of our little girl, they can write what they like we are proud of her”.  South Africa’s President Jacob Zuma was even more robust he said” They’re not going to remove the gold medal.  She won it.  So the question does not arise.”

Leonard Chuene the head of Athletics South Africa who had resigned his seat on the IAAF over the Semeya issue broadened the situation…”We are not going to allow Europeans to describe and defeat our children.”  Julius Malema – who heads the ANC (African National Congress) Youth League decided to go the racist route ” Calls for Semenya to be tested he said “were made solely because she was black and had surpassed her European competitors”.

With the tone now set in stone, preliminary tests indicated her – Semenya’s- testosterone levels were three times higher than ordinarily present in a woman”.  However, tests have not been “completed” they are expected to take weeks.

Is there any valid reason for the IAAF’s gender screening?  What is the history of gender screening?

1. In 1936 after the Summer Olympics in Berlin, Avery Brundage of the United States Olympic Committee said a system should be established to examine female athletes.  There was concern at the time about *”hemaphrodites” and Brundage felt there was a need to clarify “sex ambiguities”.  He had seen the performance of Czechoslovak runner and jumper Zdenka Konbkova and English shot putter and javelin thrower Mary Edith Louise Weston.”  Both individuals later had sex change surgery and legally changed their names to Zdenek Koubek and Mark Weston.”
  2. “There was also the case of Stanislawa Walasiewicz – perhaps the earliest – ” who won a gold medal in the women’s 100m at the 1932 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, but who after death in 1980 was discovered to have had partially developed male genitalia.  However, the presence of genitalia is not regarded as absolute evidence of a persons sex.”
  3. “The Polish athlete Ewa Klobukowska who won the gold medal in the women’s 4x100m relay in the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo failed a gender test in 1967.  She was found to have a  rare genetic condition which gave her no advantage over other athletes but was nonetheless banned from competing at the Olympics and Professional Sports.  Also there was Indian middle distance runner Santhi Soundarajan who won the silver medal in the 800m at the 2006 Asian Games in Doha, Qatar she failed the sex verification test and was stripped of her medal”.
  4. “Sex verification has long been criticized by geneticists, endocrinologists, and others in the medical community.  One major problem was unfairly excluding women who had a birth defect involving gonards and external genitalia (i,e., male pseudohermagph roditism)”

The case of Caster Semenya has a world wide audience, an 18 year old girl from a small village in Limpopo province, South Africa, set off to run at the World Athletic Championships in Berlin 2009.  Little did she know how close an examination there would be, not only of her running but of herself   Racism, “perhaps” a European perspective of what males and females should look like, have all been thrown into the mix.

Behind it all is a young Black African girl waiting for results, which will determine how the world sees her.  We wait for results which will be over for us in a flash, then yesterday’s news, but for Caster Semenya they will be with her for the rest of her life.

233 responses to “Gold, Race And A Question Of Gender: Caster Semenya”

1. Technician

Did your grandmother attend the 9:15 service at CH CH Parish Church betwewn 62- 68? If so I knew her.

Anchor NZ Cheddar is the best cheese as far as I am concerned. Good with Eclipse or Sodabix too!

Did they have ‘Panty Lane’ when you were at Foundation? NO.

We used to down to Oistins via Scarborough. I see they have proper steps so you can deswcend from the church road now.

2. I spent enough time at the Garrison to know that I don’t want to (in fact can’t) do any business with a gelding.

I am surprised that a medical professional like Sir Georgie Porgie would make such an elementary error.

Maybe he needs to consult with his vet colleagues.

3. Sargeant I went to BFS one year man.
    Used to follow races a bit early on, but didnt study it like say cricket.
    Enlighten me on geldings then. LOL

4. Dear GP

If a horse has been gelded, it means that its testicles have been removed.

5. J

There is no way that I will ever get a knighthood girl. No way!

and I aint no vet. The guys used to talk bout geldings on the radio—- always thought they were young horses. Obviously I am wrong. Still have not worked out birdies and eagles in golf either.

6. OK J

You learn every day……even at this old age. LOL

7. GP

Filly: A young female horse (or high spirited young woman)

Gelding: Castrated male horse

Foundation Boys know the difference

8. Sargeant the truth is that I meant a filly (though I didnt really think about what a gelding is.) LOL

Yes.We used to use the term filly as “yutes”.

9. BIMBRO
    Man this JC, Bonnie, J and Kim Young got me tekkin real cold showers. I feel Bonnie is Kim Young though!

10. Seems I have to apologize to JC for referring toher a a gelding rather than a filly.
    Hope you accept my sincerest apologies JC.

11. BAF, Hi bro, yes, I wish I could have seen those Foundation chicks too, but I had some nice ones hay in Englan ‘confusing’ me so I was alright!! 🙂

Georgie, so ur a medical professioal! Congratulations bro. More useful than a blinking tax collector – although they have their purpose, too!!

Georgie, I don’t know what a birdie, or eagle is in golf either and just assume a par is the average no. of strokes for sinking a put but, it would be nice if somebody who knows about golf could enlighten us!!

BAF, dah Kim Young gal is really a Chinese. Did u realise that! Anyway, she still doan look bad, especially in black!! Check my photo link on the actual page to see what she really looks like!! and, good luck with whomever!!

I’m still not happy about being a returnee!! Bonny?!!

12. What a beautiful pic of Caster Semenya.

Far more pleasing to the eyes than the pic of Allen Stanford!

13. Bimbro,
    Well if ya doan wanna be termed a ‘returnee’, we wood fine anudda name ta call ya? Wah ’bout a cum-bakkian? dah soun ‘fisticated man.
    Bim, you ask me why I ‘nurse’ my boys till 3yrs? Wait wah dem fadda pass 3yrs a longggggggggggg time ago an he still ‘nursin’. You real baddddd hear?

BAFBFP
    Who de hell is Kim? Not dis Bonny Peppa. How you arrive at dah now BAF?
    Dah sayin dat she is a wikka so I could nevva, nevva be Kim. A man ‘wood’ got ta be wikkin me, nah woman a’ tall.
    But wait, you very cruel to my man Gear Box. Cuh dear, leff he man, he is very brilliant to make de comments dat he make, however short. It takes a wise man to play a fool’s part, hear BAF, so doan be sa cruel ta he man. I like he.

Dr. Porgie,
    Doan mind dem trying ta confuse you bout using gelding and not fillly. We know wah you mean man. Emphasis was on ‘young’ rite? I wid u hunny.
    My sons went to Foundation too but they were in de Panty Lane time. They didn’t get de opportunity ta get ‘any’ doe, cause I was their chauffeur from day one to day end. Na lingering fa dem, strait home. Bonny did strict as c*^t wid she boys ya kno? Na mock-sport.

Tech,
    I wid you. Nutton cud be betta dan a red ju-c an a cheese cutta man. Up ta now. Is pull lowddddddddddddddddd.

14. Hi Bonny, no, I doan like dah name eida!! 🙂 Ok, I c wha ya mean about d 3 years!! Duh fada lucky, eh?!!

15. Thanks GP for the succinct expIanation. I hope everyone can now see why the smaII town in Scandinavia has an hereditary history of the heamaphrodite state. And what the diIemma was posed to my friend, shouId his chiIdren be toId? Have you read “Brain Sex”, I forget author’s name. I found it interesting how stressfuI socioIogicaI situations eg war tend to infIuence the hormonaI input in pregnant women on the foetus, affecting chromosomes, resuIting in more homosexuaI maIes being born. It made me wonder about the effects of capture and sIavery on women victims. And why, after a war, in this case -WW2 where some of this research was done perhaps not whoIIy trustworthy – Nature seems to decide to have Iess “macho” maIes. If that is the case how to account for WW2 foIIowing on so cIoseIy – 20 yrs – after WW1? Apart from obvious poIiticaI reasons. I’d Iove to hear your views.

16. GP, just got to thinking about Ancient Greece, very warIike, constant confIict, Ioads of sociaIIy acceptabIe homosexuaIity? As far as the oIympics are concerned, in this day and age with drugs etc. being used, I think aII shouId be tested and pIease don’t Iet an 18 year oId from a smaII viIIage get to the post before he or she has to undergo this ordeaI in front of the worId’s eyes. of course it is not about race. See how many bIack athIetes sign up to foreign teams just to be in the running, especiaIIy if they come from a poor country. See the disproportionateIy Iarge numbers of bIack footbaII or cricket pIayers, for exampIe in European teams. It’s aII good, nobody compIains about them when the team wins!

17. Got an interesting thought from Utube.
    America’s best sprinters play professional football. The sprinters Tyson Gay etc. that you see on the track are the ones that could not make the cut. So there may be a few people out there that could leave Usain in his tracks, they just prefer to play at a different sport… What will they think of next?

18. I thought Bonny Peppa say she done !

19. She chan dun so Anon. You wood die, if she did. U kno dah too. Doan be dangerus.

20. yuh dont keep off the computer . you addicted or sain ?

21. Bonny we adore you I glad you ain’t gine na way! And be yah self! Nobody can’t change you …………

22. Bonny Peppa done wid BU and JC done wid GP cause he call she a gelding LOL murder

23. Better for she to brek my heart than brek my back! Murder!

24. Anonymous // September 2, 2009 at 4:52 PM

Bonny Peppa done wid BU and JC done wid GP cause he call she a gelding LOL murder

Georgie Porgie // September 2, 2009 at 6:08 PM

Better for she to brek my heart than brek my back! Murder!

Here laughing my ass off. You people trying to compete with Gear Box or what? Aaaaaaaaaaaaagh.

25. I leffin’ BU…

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

26. Pat,
    Is only one Gear Box girl any otha is just a duplicate. Dah man sweetttttttttt.

Anon
    I addicted ta de computa, yeah, like you addicted ta porn. Addiction is addiction regardless, rite?
    I luv ya poetry too. Try fa a ‘best-sella’soon. Ya good.

27. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

BONNY PEPPA can continue but she needs to stop interferring with people and stop cursing people.

I came on here to this blog , never said anything directly to the woman but she start attacking me and cursing unnecessarily. I am sure that I can cuss worse than she can. Do you see me cursing and attacking anyone?

BONNY PEPPA needs to respect herself
    Rita Forrester 1988 . *Woman Respect Yourself* Calypso Monarch Barbados.

28. DrPorgie,
    Ya very rite, doan mine dem geldings/fillies hear?
    “He who fights and runs away, lives ta fight anudda day’.
    Tek my advice Doc.

29. De Adviser,
    I know you would got ta come in in my defence too. You know dat you like my ‘busing’ too. Now, I don’t buse nabody, I does buse what ya say. I in got nutton ‘gainst you so why you always accusing me of ‘interferring’ wid you. If I interfere wid you, I know you gun like um. So Keep quiet man. We is still we Boo.

Ya still confuse doe.
    Ga long now an leff ma.

30. Oh what a nice bulge she has.,….mama Mia

31. observer,
    Most men got a nice bulge too, so i still confuse. She look real masculine, even the face structure. she betta start ta make-up she face, otherwise, I doan kno boy. I jus doan kno.

32. wake up its a man
    ANOGRAM OF Caster Semenya is
    A SECRET MAN YES
    word play of the name
    castrated semen ya
    castor see man ya

33. raptuready
    very well construed but i tink ya crazy 🙂

34. to me she looks like half man, half woman, every child in the womb is created as a female, this woman had both male and female chromozones, or equal amounts, thats why she looks like a male but is a female.

35. Interesting story about how the ASA is remaking her image

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/owen_slot/article6825732.ece

36. @ nanci
    to me she looks like half man, half woman, every child in the womb is created as a female, this woman had both male and female chromozones, or equal amounts, thats why she looks like a male but is a female.

What kind of jackass or illiterate are you?

every child in the womb is created as a female, THIS IS BULL SHIT AND NOT TRUE!

this woman had both male and female chromozones, or equal amounts, thats why she looks like a male but is a female. YOU CAN CERTAINLY TALK EVEN MORE SHITE THAN ROK!

37. Bonny Peppa ya know its true

ANOGRAM OF Caster Semenya is
    YES A SECRET MAN

nufsaid

38. Anonnymous // September 8, 2009 at 10:25 AM

ssssh! Dont get upset. Just walk on by….

She may be a GT bwanna.

39. 2009
    Oh shite, dah is she. Hard to believe. See what lil make up does for a ugly woman? I am living proof. Ugly as piss widout me lil make up. What a difference a make-up kit makes. She stil got dis transvestite-type-a-look doe.

40. THE controversy over gender row champion runner Caster Semenya deepened today — after reports claimed sex swap tests have shown she is a HERMAPHRODITE.

South African gold-medallist Semenya, 18, has both male and female organs, it was claimed.

And sources close to the International Association of Athletics Federations — who ordered extensive tests on the teen after her amazing 800m win at the World Athletics Championships last month — say the results mean she could still be stripped of her medal.

Testosterone

Semenya is claimed to have NO womb or ovaries — and has internal testes, the male sexual organs which produce testosterone.

The row over Semenya’s biology has caused huge divisions — with South African politicians calling slurs she is a man “racist and sexist.” Her birth certificate has the teen listed as female and urine tests showed that, despite her having higher than average male hormone levels, they are within the official limits for a woman.

But an IAAF source was today quoted as saying: “There certainly is evidence now that Semenya is a hermaphrodite.

“But the trouble is the IAAF now have the whole ANC and the whole of South Africa on their backs.

“Everything is going to have to be done absolutely by the book, no question of a challenge to our findings.

“There’s all sorts of scans you do. This is why it’s complicated.

“In the past you used to do a gynaecological exam, blood test, chromosome test, whatever.

“That’s why the findings were challenged, because it’s not quite so simple.

“So what they do now is they do everything, and then they can say look, not only has she got this, she’s got that and the other.

“The problem for us is to avoid it being an issue now which is very personal: of the organs being a hermaphrodite, of not being a ‘real’ woman.

“It’s very dramatic.”

IAAF spokesman Nick Davies was not immediately available to comment on the story.

Advertisement

The organisation confirmed this morning that it had received the test results back and was processing the data.

Semenya was ordered to take tests straight after her 800 metres gold at the World Championships in Berlin.

The athlete received a heroine’s welcome when she arrived back home in South Africa following the backlash.

And Semenya’s family have slammed the claims, saying: “It is God who made her look that way but she IS a girl.”

The runner was last week given a make-over by YOU magazine — and called the row over her gender “a joke” as she posed in make-up and a dress.
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2631482/Runner-is-a-hermaphrodite.html

41. Rap, u beat me to it. Just shown them all up for what they really are – a bunch uh cheating, teifing ignoramuses!!

42. Any idiot cudda c dere was someting not quite right wid ‘er’!!

43. raptuready,
    all jokes aside, i feel really sorry for this individual. it can’t be an easy situation to find oneself in. i feel truly sorry for the individual.
    It is no laughing matter.
    How do these defects of nature come about nah? Lord have mercy.It’s frightening.
    Raptuready, I didn’t read the whole thing. It is saddening but is there actually a fully developed vagina and penis at the same time? This is scary.

44. @David:

I hope the BU family take a look at the comments section of that article in the Sun UK. SOME Persons doing what they have been known to do for a very long time.

and here is the disclaimer on the Sun’s website that allows it all.

Disclaimer:

Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of the Sun. The Sun Online accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/mysun/comment/view.page?storyId=2631482&submissionId=1128955&nav=jump&pageNo=1

45. When other Media were sleeping in Barbados, Barbados Underground (BU)
    Made this story BIG.

46. Only on BU was the sacientific possibilities surrounding this woman explained by our own GP!

Biochemical defect, hirsutism and hermaphrodtism were all explored and explained by GP, and the giving of testosterone was debunked!

47. We should thank family member Yardbroom for the submission and the excellent dialogue which flowed. It is indeed a very sad story and exposes the South African Athletic Association to what was a cruel decision made by sending this girl to the World Championships.

48. The South African Athletic Association can not be blamed for sending this “girl” to the World Championships.

She was raised as a “girl”, thought she was a “girl” and was presented as a “girl”.

She nor her family did not know her to be anything else but to be a “girl.”

There are other instances of this that are well documented- even though the condition is a rarity.

The comments by the folk in the SUN speaks of the total ignorance of many in that country, and the inability, even with the advent of the internet to learn anything other than what they think they know.

49. The strangeness of Caster’s performances were known and even investigated before the world championships.