Submitted by Yardbroom

Caster Semenya

At the Athletics World Championship in Berlin last week, a shy black 18 year old female athlete from South Africa, won the womens 800m – setting the fastest time in the world this year.  The win was no surprise to those who had followed the early rounds of the 800 metres.  The teenager from a tiny village in Limpopo province has shown her talent but the world’s media, at first surprised at her times, decided to take a closer look and then events became uncomfortable for Caster Semenya.

Only hours before the race, it was announced that the IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) had instigated  gender testing for Caster Semenya.  South Africans were appalled, it was insensitive nd humiliating to the young athlete, did they have to go public, the charges and accusations came thick and fast, not only from South Africa.

Was this course of action within the rules of the IAAF ? Yes it was. The IAAF ceased gender screening for all athletes in 1992 but retains the option of assessing the gender of a participant should suspicions arise – Wikipedia. Suspicions had arisen, it was therefore within their remit to order a gender test.

There was not the usual post-race interview for Semenya, she was bundled away by the South African authorities.  The waiting media were denied the opportunity of hearing her reputed deep masculine voice or a closer inspection of a blush of facial hair.

On her return to South Africa there was no attempt to hide her away.  She was among friends.  The airport was crowded to welcome home South Africa’s “golden girl”.  Political opportunists were quick on the scene, they never let a crisis go to waste.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, Nelson Mandela’s ex wife was there to call her “my grandchild,” she elaborated “we are here to tell the whole world how proud we are of our little girl, they can write what they like we are proud of her”.  South Africa’s President Jacob Zuma was even more robust he said” They’re not going to remove the gold medal.  She won it.  So the question does not arise.”

Leonard Chuene the head of Athletics South Africa who had resigned his seat on the IAAF over the Semeya issue broadened the situation…”We are not going to allow Europeans to describe and defeat our children.”  Julius Malema – who heads the ANC (African National Congress) Youth League decided to go the racist route ” Calls for Semenya to be tested he said “were made solely because she was black and had surpassed her European competitors”.

With the tone now set in stone, preliminary tests indicated her – Semenya’s- testosterone levels were three times higher than ordinarily present in a woman”.  However, tests have not been “completed” they are expected to take weeks.

Is there any valid reason for the IAAF’s gender screening?  What is the history of gender screening?

1. In 1936 after the Summer Olympics in Berlin, Avery Brundage of the United States Olympic Committee said a system should be established to examine female athletes.  There was concern at the time about *”hemaphrodites” and Brundage felt there was a need to clarify “sex ambiguities”.  He had seen the performance of Czechoslovak runner and jumper Zdenka Konbkova and English shot putter and javelin thrower Mary Edith Louise Weston.”  Both individuals later had sex change surgery and legally changed their names to Zdenek Koubek and Mark Weston.”
  2. “There was also the case of Stanislawa Walasiewicz – perhaps the earliest – ” who won a gold medal in the women’s 100m at the 1932 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, but who after death in 1980 was discovered to have had partially developed male genitalia.  However, the presence of genitalia is not regarded as absolute evidence of a persons sex.”
  3. “The Polish athlete Ewa Klobukowska who won the gold medal in the women’s 4x100m relay in the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo failed a gender test in 1967.  She was found to have a  rare genetic condition which gave her no advantage over other athletes but was nonetheless banned from competing at the Olympics and Professional Sports.  Also there was Indian middle distance runner Santhi Soundarajan who won the silver medal in the 800m at the 2006 Asian Games in Doha, Qatar she failed the sex verification test and was stripped of her medal”.
  4. “Sex verification has long been criticized by geneticists, endocrinologists, and others in the medical community.  One major problem was unfairly excluding women who had a birth defect involving gonards and external genitalia (i,e., male pseudohermagph roditism)”

The case of Caster Semenya has a world wide audience, an 18 year old girl from a small village in Limpopo province, South Africa, set off to run at the World Athletic Championships in Berlin 2009.  Little did she know how close an examination there would be, not only of her running but of herself   Racism, “perhaps” a European perspective of what males and females should look like, have all been thrown into the mix.

Behind it all is a young Black African girl waiting for results, which will determine how the world sees her.  We wait for results which will be over for us in a flash, then yesterday’s news, but for Caster Semenya they will be with her for the rest of her life.

233 responses to “Gold, Race And A Question Of Gender: Caster Semenya”

1. Congratulations to Caster Semenya.

She is a beautiful young women (and no I am not a wicker in spite of what sylvan says. He doesn’t know me)

Deep voices mean nothing.

My second cousin has a deep voice. People always address her as mister when speaking to her on the phone for the first time. She has been happily and faithfully married for nearly 30 years, gave birth to 2 children, breast fed them them both and they are now highly regarded professionals.

In this family there are no Chamber Rosies, no sissy women.

In our time the women of this family, have cut cane, forked cane holes, worked in the jungles of Brazil and in the deserts of Saudi Arabia, and we have all given birth to healthy children, who have grown up to be happy, healthy, well educated, productive adults.

So what if our voices all sound like Mia Mottley’s or Eugenia Charles’

But I got to go now. I have to weed 1/2 acre of ground and I want to be finished by noon. Will cook a nice hot lunch when I get back.

And no sylvan I am not a wicker.

I am not Kim Young either.

2. Boy tall people ain nuh joke Avatar
    Boy tall people ain nuh joke

Thats right J, you are not a wicker , you are not Kim Young, and you are not real, If Bajan mythology exist, then this is where you can come alive. ha ha lol!

3. What would happen if a male with a squeaky voice, as some would say feminine like, kept coming last in all the meets and were not performing as expected; basically coming last.

Would that person draw suspicion and ordered to be tested.

There is probably some underlying story yet to come.

4. If that’s a woman then I’m Adonis!! – which, some people consider me to be!!?

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

5. The Hottentot Venus was considered a circus freak by racists who began classifying humans into “races”
    http://api.ning.com/files/WXKQIZtETdSNAIcDXvqXMPQIHYMiyNWTBu9K7ZMykLw_/hottentot_venus_ill.jpg

6. every time they lose…

… they change the rules again

7. Kiki, dah chip pun u shoulder mus b very heavy bo!! Yuh betta get rid of it!! It in doing yuh nuh good!!

8. 10,000 chips on my shoulder

9. Calls for Semenya to be tested he said “were made solely because she was black and had surpassed her European competitors”.

This is the one that I am backing, if it were an white or indian I don’t think that they would have been treated with such scant disrespect. If they were doing the testing, it should have been done quietly and Semenya given her dues as a woman. (or until proven other wise)

10. @Undertaker

Could not agree with you more. It was insensitive to publicize the investigation BEFORE her big race. There is enough to question the integrity of the decision. It is good to see how South Africa has rallied around her so far.

11. Dis paronoia ting spreading boy!! David, I c u got it too!! – sad!!

12. Dave, u really must n’t b such touchy bout dese tings yuh know! Looka my sweetheart day, Flo Joyner, back in d 80s, pretty as ***** an winning every single thing an then, wha happen? Din’t she turn out to b on drugs or some such ting?!! So u can blame d authorities!!

Got rest my sweetheart in she grave!!

13. Regarding Caster. I was watching a talk show on a Trinidad TV station where the two male hosts said, Caster is very much a girl and that lots of Caribbean girls look like Caster and sound like her too, and that the issue at hand here was racism, and not gender, as Caster beat the white girls. I got to thinking would the two Caribbean TV male hosts be seen walking down Port-of-Spain, Bridgetown, or Kingstown with this type of girl. I say no, BUT maybe in Georgetown, Guyana as they seen to have a better grip on things of this nature. I say they have either given Caster male hormones to pump her up, or she has some sexual genetic defect. I hear her talk and she sounds like a man, even her body language says man. Flo Jo was not taking drugs, she died from asthma.

14. J, Why you don’t hire a Guyanese to do the weeding , or are they all back in Georgetown enjoying life in beautiful Guyana.

15. And if the Guyanese does the weeding for me who will be getting the exercise? And who will ensure the crops are not overloaded with pesticides? and how will I stop the laborer from stealing? And how will I enjoy my off day with my delightful weeding companions?

Done weed, done wash a week’s clothes, done cook some nice mellow breadfruit coo-coo.

I ain’t hard.

16. It ain’t hard.

17. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

J my maid have three sisters waiting to come over, they ain’t fraid of no hard work. So if you want me to organise some labourers for you , I am more than happy to do so. Just say the word. There is another quarter of a million waiting to come over.

18. Anonymous wrote at 1:25 p.m “I got to thinking would the two Caribbean TV male hosts be seen walking down Port-of-Spain, Bridgetown, or Kingstown with this type of girl.”

And perhaps this beautiful and talented teenage girl would not be caught walking down the streets with the Trinidadian TV hosts either (or with any of the she-she men on this blog either)

There are a fair number of she-she’s in the broadcast business.

Who wants to be seen with them?

19. Johnnie Too Bad wrote on // August 29, 2009 at 3:46 PM…”J my maid have three sisters waiting to come over… There is another quarter of a million waiting to come over.”

And if the Guyanese women work in the sun for me how will I get my vitamin D, to keep my back strong strong so that I can keep my partner-in-life happy.

I should hire the Guyanese women to do that for me too?

20. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

J they can do all manner of work, even that too, so go for it, just let me know when you ready.

21. Here is the Wikipedia lowdown on Caster Semenya. The debate continues in the global press about the gender test the young athlete is currently being subjected. The question of the day, if she has a vagina, what is the problem?

22. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

Conversely David, if she did not have one, then her parents would not have considered her a girl.

23. How do you know that Flo Jo was not taking drugs? Does death from asthma preclude the taking of anabolic steroids, Sir? I don’t think so?

And may I ask which sexual genetic defect does Caster have?

Caster does not have to have been given male hormones to pump her up, nor does she have to have some sexual genetic defect to sound our look like a man.

It is generally known that cholesterol is a precursor to all the sex hormones, and that everyone makes cholesterol in thier livers.

Cholesterol is first converted to one of the female hormones progesterone. So ALL men have some of the female hormone progesterone in their bodies; certainly at the site of progesterone synthesis. (This might account for the effeminate ways of some men! They just have too much progesterone in their blood!)

So cholesterol is first converted to progesterone. The progesterone is then converted to androgens (e.g testosterone) and then eventually in women to the other female hormone estrogen.

It is possible that some effeminate men have more progesterone (the staring point for sex hormone synthesis in everyone) and more estrogen (the end point for sex hormone synthesis in females,) due to a biochemical defect in certain enzymes that catalyze the necessary conversions.

It seems likely that Caster may have a relatively rare biochemical defect in which the enzymes necessary to convert androgens to estrogens are lacking.

The result is that she might then have high testosterone levels, and thus the phenotype of a male. She obviously would have some aspects of the female phenotype because she is producing progesterone, which is a precursor to testosterone production, necessary to make estrogens in women.

24. Thanks for that medical factoid Sire!

Would we be out of place to ask if there is a medical counter to what you just exposed to make Caster normal?

25. Quoting Caster’s father “I used to change her nappy, and I know she’s a woman. What better proof do people need?”

26. David wrote “if there a medical counter to what you just exposed to make Caster normal?”

Davis what’s normal?

Caster is normal for Caster.

When I was a girl I met a bearded lady who lived a few villages away. She was a rural Barbadian woman born in the 1920’s She was more heavily bearded than our friend ROK.

She was married, and remained married for more than 50 years. She gave birth to, and breast fed 10 children and raised them all to adulthood.

Would you consider that normal David? or do you believe that a heavily bearded married mother of 10 is DEFECTIVE or ABNORMAL?

27. @ David suppose just for argument sake – I am not saying this is the case – she is an “Hemaphrodite”: Having both male and female reproductive organs.

As regards seeing her at birth, the size of the organ could be so minuscule that only a trained eye could ascertain.

28. @Yardbroom

We give way to your obvious wisdom in matters of this kind Sire!

There is no shame in admitting we may have a simpleton view of the issue.

29. Why do they have to perform all these tests to determine if Caster is a girl or not ?Wouldn’t simple swab of her cheek cells to check for Barr bodies be enough to determine her sex ? Only female have Barr bodies in their check cells,men have none.I think the issue goes deeper than is she a male or a female I think that they want to perform chemical tests such as hormone tests to say that she probably took hormones.

30. David
    I am not sure that I understand your question, Sir! But I guess that her androgen levels, progesterone and estrogen levels can be measured, and compared to the “normal” range for girls in her area.

I think that she can be considered in the “range” of what is considered normal.

Normality is a “range”. For example, all of us have noses. Some are flat, some pointed, some stubby etc But once they have certain anatomical features, and function according to certain physiological parameters, all these variously described noses are normal. They are in the “normal” range.

With all due respect J, the fact that Caster’s father changed her nappy does not constitute any scientific proof to the young person’s sexuality.

His observations are just gross empirical observations, at that time, and are not based on any scientific parameters used to describe what is scientifically the “normal range.” He might of course still be correct.

Again…. I have tried to explain what is normality. It is a range. It is not scientific to just say that “Caster is normal for Caster.”

The lady you described was definitely not normal. She had some hormonal defect which induced her abnormal facial hair growth, even though it did not affect her reproductive organs such that she was able to give birth to and breast feed 10 children.

Being married for a millennium or raising as many children as the patriarch Jacob, has nothing at all in this world (or the next) to do with the concept of normalcy for females.

A heavily bearded woman whether married or able to conceive, certainly does not fit into the normal range for the facial features of women. This woman clearly had some hormonal or biochemical defect.

@ Yardbroom

Whereas, at birth it may have been difficult to perceive if this person was hermaphrodite or not, by now the size of an enlarged clitoris (which is a miniature penis I terms of embryological development) should be clearly discernable.

One does not think that her father would now be observing her pelvic anatomy that closely, but one would think that as a person enrolled in a University Course, that she would be able by now to notice any discernable differences in what the normal female anatomy is, and to have perceived any difference in her physiological functions in this regard.

It does appear that the haste in which investigatins are being conducted wreaks of racism and bias.

31. Pearl is quite correct by stating that all they had to do (and such a test could be done relatively quickly) was to test for Barr bodies in order to determine her sex, since only females have Barr bodies.

It does seem that they want to test her testosterone levels to ascertain if she was using testosterone.

The problem with that, is if she does indeed have a defect in her conversion of androgens to estrogens, they will have to do more tests than just testosterone levels.

32. Thanks Dr. Porgie your answer satisfied the question!

We read with interest part of your response to Yardbroom:

One does not think that her father would now be observing her pelvic anatomy that closely, but one would think that as a person enrolled in a University Course, that she would be able by now to notice any discernable differences in what the normal female anatomy is, and to have perceived any difference in her physiological functions in this regard.

Certainly the first part of your statement although logical must be considered a presumption of a very high order!

33. As a person who folows track and field this case is a hard call. She came to the attention of the IAAF when she destroyed her competion one month before the Berlin games in the African competition in Mauritania.To be honest guys, the first time I saw her I swore she was a male. Someone in the IAAf leaked the information to the press and for that I say shame on you.The IAAf and the South Afriacan Federation knew about the issue from about a month before and they should have already sorted out this controversy.Personally if I was in charge of the SA federation I would sit out caster (she is still young 18) until the test was complete.To humiliate her like that in front of the world is a disgrace.And please the race card issue is mischevious at best .But history has shown that these controversial chromosome testing has been around awhile as the above article mention.During the 70s snd the 80s (during the cold war) the Government of East Germany was intentionally doping their female athletes and that is why they were a athletic power house back then.This androgenisation process leads to a lot of these female athletes exhibiting a very male-like phenotypical appearance.When you look at some of those athletes like Marita Kotch, Jarmila karatichilova, Marlis Gohr, you swore the other runners were competing against male athletes.Later when the two Germanys were united and the files were unearth a few off the athletes confessed,others denied it. Some of these athletes died young and others couldnot have kids later on.

Back then the drug testing procedure was not that rigorous and a lot of these athletes have never failed a test(they were one step ahead of the game).Flo-Jo case is another one.She has never tested positive.However, as the marion Jones incident has shown that passing a drug test does not necessarily means innocent.Marion Jones had passed over 100 drud test and the only reason she confessed was that the Feds had a lot evidence(BALCO) on her and so she cuts a deal.Flo-jo was definately on something.Look at the enormous changes from 1984-88.In 1988 at the top of her game (both world record in the 100m and the 200m) she suddenly retires when she heard that IAAF drug testing procedure was going to get more rigorous.Just Image ,Flo-jo records have been around since 1988 and no female athletes havenot been able to get close to them much less to even or break them.The same goes for Marita kotch record in the 400m( since 1985)).That is why records in the women sprints have stood still since then.The case with Caster is not looking good since her coach has a history of doping other athletes with steroids. The question that will need to be answered -by the endocrinologist -is wether this excessive amount of testosterone is a genetic malfuction of the producing gland or wether this excess is coming from external sources. The sociologists and the psycologists will also have to continue the debate on sex and gender.Remember the experts say that sex is biological and gender is social.Lets see how they handle this one.

34. David
    you win dat wun. i hope dat he behaving like a good father should and not getting up too clse to he chile! lol

35. Dar Dr. Georgie:

Forgive this ignorant lay person. I’ve always thought that if it conveived and gave birth (with only the traditional male assistance) then it must be female.

36. @ Georgie Porgie
    Without “hesitation” I defer to you my learned friend.

My observation as regards size of the male organ was only in reference to Caster’s physical development at the “changing of nappies” stage as was alluded to by another blogger.

37. Mr Yardbroom Sir.

I understood what you said. I was just, as they say in the discussion board in some online courses, “advancing the discussion.” LOL Not at all implying that you were not on the ball in your submission.

@ Anonymous

I’ve always thought that if it conveived and gave birth (with only the traditional male assistance) then it must be female.

I dont think that that concept is being debated. The conept on which I opined was “normalcy” in terms of normal health and the concept of “normal ranges.”

38. @ Annonymous
    If you are harping on my response to the comments made by J please note that her comments seem to reverberate around a lady who was hirsute. Some women with hirsutism can indeed bear children.

The following should clarify this concept, I hope.

What is hirsutism ?
    What causes hirsutism?

Hirsutism refers to the growth of long, coarse hair on the face and body of women in a pattern similar to that found in men.

Hirsutism refers to the growth of hair in areas where women typically grow fine hair or no hair at all – above the lip and on the chin, chest, abdomen, and back.

Adults have two types of hair, vellus and terminal. Vellus hair is soft, fine, colorless, and usually short. In most women, vellus hairs grow on the face, chest, and back and give the impression of “hairless” skin.

Terminal hairs are the longer, coarser, darker, and sometimes curly hairs that grows on the scalp, pubic, and armpit areas in both adult men and women. The facial and body hair in men is mostly of the terminal type.

Each hair grows from a follicle deep in the skin. As long as these follicles are not completely destroyed, hair will continue to grow even if the shaft, which is the part of the hair that appears above the skin, is plucked or removed.

Most often, excess facial and body hair is the result of abnormally high levels of androgens or male hormones in the blood. Androgens are present in both men and women, but men have much higher levels. These hormones cause hairs to change from vellus to terminal.

Once a vellus hair has been transformed to the coarser terminal hair, it usually does not change back.

Androgens also cause terminal hairs to grow faster and thicker. Both the ovaries and the adrenals produce androgens. To some degree, estrogens and progesterone, female hormones, prevent the effect of androgens.

(So Caster might have an ovarian or an adrenal problem- though not necessarily be hirsute.)

The circumstances described below can lead to high androgen levels, which in turn can cause hirsutism. Although all women produce androgens, increased levels of androgens can lead to hirsutism. Besides being cosmetically distressing, hirsutism may also signal the presence of a hormone imbalance or a hormone-producing tumor.

Hirsutism is caused by an excess production or action of hormones called androgens, usually within the ovaries or adrenal glands. Several different conditions can lead to hirsutism.

The two most common causes of hirsutism are polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) and idiopathic hirsutism. Both are diagnosed by physical examination, medical and family history, and, sometimes, blood tests.

Polycystic ovarian syndrome(PCOS)

This is the commonest reason for hirsutism in infertile women. ( this is NOT the condition that J’s friend had).

Polycystic ovarian syndrome causes the ovaries to develop many small cysts and to overproduce male hormones.

Women with PCOS often have hirsutism in combination with acne, balding near the front of their head, and menstrual irregularities.

PCOS is also associated with other medical problems, such as infertility due to irregular menstrual cycles, irregular ovulation, menstrual disturbances obesity, diabetes mellitus, high cholesterol levels, and possibly heart disease. Effective treatments for PCOS are available.

Idiopathic hirsutism — Idiopathic hirsutism refers to hirsutism that has no identifiable cause. It is usually chronic and may be a mild variation of PCOS.

A gradual, increased growth of coarse body hair is typically the only symptom in women with this condition.

Menstrual cycles are normal in women with idiopathic hirsutism.

Genetics
    There are very obvious family and racial differences in hirsutism patients.

In some women, the skin is very sensitive to even low levels of androgens and their follicles produce primarily terminal (coarse and dark) hairs. If your mother , grandmother or sister experienced the disorder, then you are at a greater risk of developing it.

Ovarian tumors
    On rare occasions, androgen-producing ovarian tumors cause hirsutism. When this is the case, hirsutism progresses rapidly; and may even cause virilisation – in which the woman starts developing masculine characteristics, such as a deep voice and an enlarged clitoris.

An ovarian mass may be detected during a pelvic examination. Tests may also need to be done to make sure that tumors are not present when male hormone levels are high.

Adrenal disorders

The adrenal glands, which are located just above each kidney, also produce androgens.

The most common disease of the adrenal gland that can result in hirsutism is an inherited disorder called late onset adrenal hyperplasia. Adrenal tumours and other adrenal diseases such as Cushing’s disease can also cause overproduction of androgens.

39. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Off Topic -please dont cuss me
    ———————
    I dont like correcting people with reference to language but there are some things that some people keep getting wrong

The term is not ‘scant disrespect’
    It is -‘scant respect’
    ————————-
    another one is when people refer to a known artist by saying-He is not my fan
    -What you should say is : I am not a fan of – Richard STOUTE instead of saying Richard Stoute is not a fan of mine.
    —————–
    some more ? NO -I dont like doing this because it is not a classroom.

40. I have a friend who was born in a smaII viIIage in Norway where there is a history of hearmaphrodites. I count myseIf Iucky to have met this person who had both a penis and a uterus, who is in their 60s now, yet was taken from Norway by the father at age 14 to have a hysterectomy and breast removaI without being consuIted. Dan/Dawn woke up to find, after the operation, that Iike it or not, he/she was now a bIoke. Now “Dan” went off to fight in the Vietnam war, got married and fathered 2 chiIdren a girI and a boy. Years Iater, “Dawn” resurfaced, even though she had had her sexuaI characteristics surgicaIIy removed in hospitaI on instruction by Dad,of brute force, with no consuItation. Dan made up his mind he wanted to be “she”, be Dawn.. The probIem today is how to expIain toDan’s chiIdren that the heamophrodite condition is hereditary and may be passed on if his kids, who just think their Dad “went GAY” suddenIy have to accept that because of genes they have inherited, they probabIy may be haemaphrodict themseIves

41. ‘Adviser’, u did n’t answer my question before but, now I know why you obtained that job. The question now is, which President was it?

42. Oh, BTW, is that ‘Caster’ as in caster-oil?!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

43. Allegedly, Caster burst onto the scene after slicing her personal best, suddenly.

Such sudden improvements are always cause for question.

This is important, that she reduced her OWN personal best, thus if it was a question of her own inherent uniqueness i.e. hormonal situation, surely this would have surfaced earlier?

Without making specific allegations, do you think that the IAAF has a handle on the performance-enhancing issue?

Such components can be masked and have been previously.

It is unfortunate to have to go there, but bearing in mind recent (1-10 years) events, the question must be asked, if the IAAF really have a handle on this.

On the issue of Flo-Jo, apparently this from the coroners report:

‘Doctor Richard Fukumoto, who serves as chief forensic pathologist of the Orange County Sheriff-Coroner’s Department, found:”Florence Griffith Joyner died as a result of positional asphyxia, secondary to an epileptic seizure.”

Doctor Barbara Zaias, a neuropathologist, said: “It is an abnormality that is congenital, meaning it is formed early on at the time the brain is developing in early gestation,”

She said there was no way to anticipate when the condition would cause symptoms such as a seizure or even a headache’.

That should dispel issues on whether her death was caused by performance-enhancement.

But, does not mean that athletes do not use such.

Peace

44. Jarmila Kratochvilova 4 x 400:

Wow. Strong looking girl, fast too.

45. Daily Telegraph, notes that ‘Telegraph Sport can also reveal that the head coach of the South African team is Dr Ekkart Arbeit, the former East German coach who was accused by a female athlete of giving her so many anabolic steroids that she was forced to undergo a sex-change operation and live the rest of her life as a man’

Further ‘Although it is unclear how closely Arbeit has been working with Semenya, news of his position will raise concerns with the International Association of Athletics Federations.

The analysis on Semenya’s testosterone levels was carried out in South Africa and it is understood this information contributed to the IAAF’s decision to request the South African federation carry out a detailed “gender verification” test on the athlete.

Arbeit, who was named as a key figure in the East German doping machine in a German parliamentary inquiry headed by Professor Werner Franke, has admitted his involvement in the drug programme and has expressed his regret for the part he played in East Germany’s tainted successes of the 1970s and 1980s.

But he has also insisted that, since the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, he has had no involvement with performance-enhancing drugs and that his coaching methods are now clean’.

Interesting reading.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/athletics/6078171/World-Athletics-Caster-Semenya-tests-show-high-testosterone-levels.html

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Remember the runner from India a couple of years back in the olympics who was disqualified because she was found to be a man?

This south african athelete has no breasts,there seem to be a little bulge in the front,although that could just be a distortion of the picture,so as I looked at her I too started to have doubts.

However I agree with those who say this matter should not have been made public just before her race,because if she had lost the race and then found later to be a woman,couldn’t she have sued the sporting organisation for creating mental trauma which affected her results?

47. Victor

I didn’t know that human hermaphrodites could reproduce.

48. Namibian Frankie Fredericks soun’ like a woman. He shoulda get test too…
    AAAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

49. Caster ain’ brek nah record so wha ’bout de woman dat got de record

AAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

50. Rumplestilskin

In the same way that you say that Caster burst onto the scene after slicing her personal best, suddenly, and that such sudden improvements are always cause for question, is it not true that Florence Griffith Joyner also suddenly rose to the top ? Is it not true that she evinced signs of use of anabolic steroids.

Or are you ignorant of these signs?

As you readily admit in your pontification “ Without making specific allegations, do you think that the IAAF has a handle on the performance-enhancing issue? Such components can be masked and have been previously.”

As you report, the coroners report found ”Florence Griffith Joyner died as a result of positional asphyxia, secondary to an epileptic seizure.” And a neuropathologist, said: “It is an abnormality that is congenital, meaning it is formed early on at the time the brain is developing in early gestation,” She said there was no way to anticipate when the condition would cause symptoms such as a seizure or even a headache’.

So then she did not really die from asthma as you early opined. And as a trained professional, I know that all that BS you state does not prove that Flo Jo (whom you seek to defend) did not take steroids. So sorry your post DOES NOT dispel issues on whether her death was caused by performance-enhancement.

How do you (or the pathologist) know that the positional asphyxia, secondary to an epileptic seizure was not induced by the use of steroids? Do you know the side effects of anabolic steroids? Do you know anything of the role that steroids play in the body?

You ask the question to the effect that since Caster reduced her OWN personal best recently that this negates this performance to having resulted from a hormonal situation, and suggest that if this were the case it should have surfaced earlier.

Certainly you are evincing your abject ignorance of the causation of illness and the onset of its manifestation. Two different things!

Certainly you have not noticed the spurts in growth and development of secondary sexual characteristics in young females at this age? It happens at about this age, NOT BEFORE or WILLY NILLY OR HODGE PODGE OR SLAP DASH. It happens under pituitary hormonal control also. If not we would have pubescent toddlers as the norm!

Certainly you are not cognizant that such development of secondary sexual characteristics in young females at this age is under hormonal control, and that at this time the conversion of cholesterol to progesterone to androgens to estrogens reaches a peak and DOES SO SUDDENLY!

Whereas it is quite possible that this young woman might have been given testosterone, it is also possible that the basis of the scenario that I described is very feasible. I don’t write stuff in the forum because I have a computer and internet access. When I write on issues of a science I usually KNOW of what I speak.