Submitted by Yardbroom

Caster Semenya

At the Athletics World Championship in Berlin last week, a shy black 18 year old female athlete from South Africa, won the womens 800m – setting the fastest time in the world this year.  The win was no surprise to those who had followed the early rounds of the 800 metres.  The teenager from a tiny village in Limpopo province has shown her talent but the world’s media, at first surprised at her times, decided to take a closer look and then events became uncomfortable for Caster Semenya.

Only hours before the race, it was announced that the IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) had instigated  gender testing for Caster Semenya.  South Africans were appalled, it was insensitive nd humiliating to the young athlete, did they have to go public, the charges and accusations came thick and fast, not only from South Africa.

Was this course of action within the rules of the IAAF ? Yes it was. The IAAF ceased gender screening for all athletes in 1992 but retains the option of assessing the gender of a participant should suspicions arise – Wikipedia. Suspicions had arisen, it was therefore within their remit to order a gender test.

There was not the usual post-race interview for Semenya, she was bundled away by the South African authorities.  The waiting media were denied the opportunity of hearing her reputed deep masculine voice or a closer inspection of a blush of facial hair.

On her return to South Africa there was no attempt to hide her away.  She was among friends.  The airport was crowded to welcome home South Africa’s “golden girl”.  Political opportunists were quick on the scene, they never let a crisis go to waste.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, Nelson Mandela’s ex wife was there to call her “my grandchild,” she elaborated “we are here to tell the whole world how proud we are of our little girl, they can write what they like we are proud of her”.  South Africa’s President Jacob Zuma was even more robust he said” They’re not going to remove the gold medal.  She won it.  So the question does not arise.”

Leonard Chuene the head of Athletics South Africa who had resigned his seat on the IAAF over the Semeya issue broadened the situation…”We are not going to allow Europeans to describe and defeat our children.”  Julius Malema – who heads the ANC (African National Congress) Youth League decided to go the racist route ” Calls for Semenya to be tested he said “were made solely because she was black and had surpassed her European competitors”.

With the tone now set in stone, preliminary tests indicated her – Semenya’s- testosterone levels were three times higher than ordinarily present in a woman”.  However, tests have not been “completed” they are expected to take weeks.

Is there any valid reason for the IAAF’s gender screening?  What is the history of gender screening?

1. In 1936 after the Summer Olympics in Berlin, Avery Brundage of the United States Olympic Committee said a system should be established to examine female athletes.  There was concern at the time about *”hemaphrodites” and Brundage felt there was a need to clarify “sex ambiguities”.  He had seen the performance of Czechoslovak runner and jumper Zdenka Konbkova and English shot putter and javelin thrower Mary Edith Louise Weston.”  Both individuals later had sex change surgery and legally changed their names to Zdenek Koubek and Mark Weston.”
  2. “There was also the case of Stanislawa Walasiewicz – perhaps the earliest – ” who won a gold medal in the women’s 100m at the 1932 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, but who after death in 1980 was discovered to have had partially developed male genitalia.  However, the presence of genitalia is not regarded as absolute evidence of a persons sex.”
  3. “The Polish athlete Ewa Klobukowska who won the gold medal in the women’s 4x100m relay in the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo failed a gender test in 1967.  She was found to have a  rare genetic condition which gave her no advantage over other athletes but was nonetheless banned from competing at the Olympics and Professional Sports.  Also there was Indian middle distance runner Santhi Soundarajan who won the silver medal in the 800m at the 2006 Asian Games in Doha, Qatar she failed the sex verification test and was stripped of her medal”.
  4. “Sex verification has long been criticized by geneticists, endocrinologists, and others in the medical community.  One major problem was unfairly excluding women who had a birth defect involving gonards and external genitalia (i,e., male pseudohermagph roditism)”

The case of Caster Semenya has a world wide audience, an 18 year old girl from a small village in Limpopo province, South Africa, set off to run at the World Athletic Championships in Berlin 2009.  Little did she know how close an examination there would be, not only of her running but of herself   Racism, “perhaps” a European perspective of what males and females should look like, have all been thrown into the mix.

Behind it all is a young Black African girl waiting for results, which will determine how the world sees her.  We wait for results which will be over for us in a flash, then yesterday’s news, but for Caster Semenya they will be with her for the rest of her life.

233 responses to “Gold, Race And A Question Of Gender: Caster Semenya”

1. Hey …watch it Bushman….you mashing some corns here LOL!

We young Foundationers watching you.

2. Gear Box Pretending to be LIB

What show you talking about?

Neither Rumplestilskin or myself are as ubiquitous on BU as are other posters.

On this thread Rumplestilskin commented on what he knows, and was duly and quickly corrected when he strayed ouyt of line about matters about which he knows little or nothing.

Rumplestilskin might very well be correct in his opinion that the athlete in question might have high testosterone levels because of ingesting the same, i.e from EXOGENOUS sources (originating out side the body).

It is noteworthy that at NO time did I challenge the view that the young South African might indeed be guilty as “charged” or thought to be.

I have in stead sought to present an alternative and more scientific view, by giving lists of the causes of high hormone levels, and by reference to the metabolic pathway by which testosterone is formed within the body (ENDOGENOUS source) to demonstrate that one can have high testosterone levels without having imbibed testosterone.

Neither Rumplestilskin nor I prevented any one from contributing in a meaningful way to the discussion. Neither of us stopped you from contributing your usual and meaningless AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!

@ J
    Actually, I have been living the American nightmare (its definitely not a dream as some opine) in the USA since 2003, except for a stint of just over a year when I taught at two bogus offshore American medical schools in Bonaire and Curacao.

@ Bimbro
    You might have noted that this Georgie Porgie does not run away ‘when the girls came out to play’ or when the boys seek to engage me I in debate about issues about which I have spent time to gain some competence, and about which the combatants have a knowledge with the dimensions of an abyss! I comment on this forum when I know about what I speak, and as in this case, when I know that I can add something useful and interesting and enlightening to those who wish to learn.

@ Yardbroom
    In your wisdom Sir, you correctly opine that scientific opinions cannot be reasonably challenged except with science. You are also correct that many issues are discussed on BU at a very educational high level unknown and unattained by the excuses we have in Barbados for newspapers.

@ Victor & Anonymous

As you know the major difference between men and women is the anatomy with respect to the sex organs, and later in life the manifestation of the secondary sexual characteristics when the gonads produce their respective hormones.

The point that interests me about this Caster girl, is the relative lack of the manifestation of the secondary sexual characteristics. Whereas Marion Jones and Flo Jo and others who abused anabolic steroids manifested the secondary sexual characteristics of a female, Caster does not! A reasonable inference is that she has not been given testosterone recently (though she might indeed have) but that her unusual secondary sexual characteristics is a result of a prolonged exposure to testosterone, and little exposure if any, to estrogens.

Now human hermaphrodites are rare.
    They are the result of a lack of differentiation of the gonads during their embryological development. Both males and females develop along the same pathway, until at a point when they differentiate into males or females. (We know that in reptiles temperature is the determining factor.)

A hermaprodite may have an enlarged clitoris (which is basically a miniature penis without the urethra running through it) and in some cases a normal set of female reproductive organs i.e ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, vagina etc.

Essentially a person with a normal set of female reproductive organs i.e ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, vagina etc is functionally a female even if they have in addition a structure that resembles a thallus. It is therefore reasonable to expect such a person to be able to procreate.

3. Technician

Not only did I live in Ch Ch at the time, I attended the Ch Ch Parish Ch sang in the choir and went to Sunday School with a host of boys and girls who attended the Foundation school.

I still remember those six years with great fondness, and believe they were some of the happiest days of my life.

4. Bush Tea chase way LIB…BIMBRO chase way LIB… Gear Box can’chase way Porgie …so David chase wy Bush Tea and BIMBRO…!

AAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhh

5. Hi Georgie, thanks for the above and I, generally speaking, agree with your self-assessment! Mind u, I thought Foundation was a girls’ only school but, perhaps things have changed!

6. Or, was it Queens College!! Too long ago! Don’t remember and does n’t really matter, any more!!

7. So George, tell me; r u then Bajan middle-class, upper-class or wha?!! 🙂

8. R there any upper-class Bajans pun hay??

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

9. You see why I want to marry GP! He is a man in the KNOW!

10. Well, JC, provided ur definitely female and not of questionable orientation!! I wish yuh all d best!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

11. Bimbro
    Up until some time in the late 70’s or early 80’s there were two autonomous Foundation schools ; Boy’s Foundation & Girls’ Foundation. In the 60’s when I attended, both schools used the same hall, library, canteen but were very separate. With the recently departed Enid Lynch at the helm, they seemed an intent to keep the boys as far apart as possible. The girls started school at 8:30 and recessed at 2:30, and the boys went from 9-3.

Girls were not to associate with the boys on the road or in Oistins. Quite hilarious really, because since MOST children who attended the Foundation schools were residents of Christ Church, and often neighbours and from the same or contiguous villages.

Many of us attended the parish church, and after Sunday School several companies of us could be seen walking together from this weekly event used for serious socializing and meeting those of the opposite sex. I can think of three girls in the same family who all attended girls Foundation who sang in the Church Choir. MOST of the boys in the Choir attended Foundation or the then popular (but now defunct) Christ Church High School which was convened in the discarded former Boy’s Foundation building.

Queens College is girls’ only school you refer too. Before co-education there was also St Michael’s and Alexandra.

Bimbro, I born poor, and I still poor!

You can be assured that before I marry JC at the Ch Ch Parish Ch that she will be subjected to a thorough examination to acertain her sexual proclivities! Oh me am! Murder!

Seeing that she is a younger “thingh” pray that I will live through the examination! Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

12. Georgie Porgie

from what you have written a person who is essentially female but has an enlarged clitoris ( to the degree that it resembles a penis) can reproduce. Would such a person be a “true” hermaphrodite (which you have indicated are very rare)? However I wish you could address Victor’s story of a hermaphrodite who was “made” to be a male and went on to father children.

13. @ GP….

Even at my young age, those days were still there.
    I too was born in CH.CH (the district hospital) grew up in Carter’s Gap /Enterprise. You may know the Williams/ Kellman families. We live next to that windmill that used to water a field.

14. I AM ALL WOMAN!

And before I forget ….. I will readily sign ANY TYPE OF prenuptial agreement that you find acceptable! (Very serious)!!!

15. Anonymous
    re

Would such a person be a “true” hermaphrodite (which you have indicated are very rare)? NO.

True hermaphroditism is a medical term for an intersex condition in which a person is born with both ovarian and testicular tissue. Such persons found in approximately 1-in-25,000 births have undescended, sub-sized ovotestes i.e. “gonadal mosaicism.”

Due to ambiguously-formed genitalia at birth [stunted penis; divided scrotum; and vagina], these persons are usually considered female at birth and raised as girls until at puberty naturally-occurring virilization of secondary characteristics may manifest itself.

Such persons develop along non-female lines i.e. no breasts, no milk glands, no child-bearing hips, no menses, sterility; early beard growth, male vocal chords, male skeletal structure, male musculature, male libido, and might eventually on testing be found to have male genetic patterning.

For such persons, nature has bestowed upon them “characteristics of the opposite sex” from birth, and given them inconsistent and conflicting chromosomes, genes, gonadal composition, glandular / hormonal output, overall brain circuitry and, in turn a confusing, inherent gender identification and sexual proclivity.

Could this be the case with Caster, as Yardbroom asked in earlier posts? YES!
    So things are not always what they seem!

With respect to Victor’s story of a hermaphrodite who was “made” to be a male and went on to father children, such a person would be operated on to remove the ovarian section of their ovotestes due to “gonadal mosaicism.”

Their undescended testes would be brought down into the scrotum where the temperature woud be adequate for them to function properly, and their pseudo vaginas sewed up to resemble a scrotum.

If you examine your scrotum well you will notice that the central ruggae looks as though it might have been a sutured up vagina (as indded it is essentially).

Since such a person never really had female reproductive organs, but an undescended unfunctional testes, the removal of the ovarian tissue would remove the feminization of the person.

With the testes descended and functioning properly, such a person could function normally as a man.

Perhaps our athlete friend Caster is indeed a hermaphrodite- and predominantly male.

Her sudden increased speed due to stronger muscles might very well be due to the testicular part of her ovo-testes starting to predominate, as is usually the case when true hermaphrodites approach their twenties and beyond.

16. JC

Re
    I AM ALL WOMAN!

And before I forget ….. I will readily sign ANY TYPE OF prenuptial agreement that you find acceptable! (Very serious)!!!

Don’t worry about the prenuptials, JC.

Just tell me …… WHAT HAPPENS NOW WHEN YOU WANT TO RUN AND I CAN ONLY WALK? LOL Murder.

I am not as good as I was once BEFORE, and I not even sure that I am good ONCE as I was before!

I might only be able to sleep the sleep of the JUST, rather than the sleep of the just AFTER! Murder

English too sweet nuh?

Got to get nuff linseed and oats and soy and………… I got to come and consult with J and Bonny Peppa to tell me how an older horse like me can run wid relatively a young gelding like JC.

Bimbro and BT would laff at me if they here I was failing, floundering , flailing and flabergasting at such a feast, when I trying to engage in gentle soothing foooooooooooooo. Oops! with such a most highly flavored lady!

Murder! Oh me am!

17. LOLOLOLOL ha ha ah ha I laffing so baaaaad! lolololol!

I am willing to compromise!

We’ll take it nice and easy ALL OF THE TIME! HA HA HA LOLLLLOLOLOLOL

18. The above post was by me! ha ha ha lolololololololol!

19. Mosquito on the wall listening Avatar
    Mosquito on the wall listening

JC ; GP get up and GET UP!

GP: woman I just sleeping

JC You can sleep as much as you want JUST AFTER, but not before..

GP Woman I tell you from the beginning that a I am not as good as I was once BEFORE, and I not even sure that I am good ONCE as I was before!

JC Well I can tell ya, ya not good NOW for sure. And ya not even good ONCE! You sure you was EVER ANY GOOD BEFORE OR EVAH?

GP Well I was always a tryer. Just a tryer.

JC Well see if you cant try again, cause that last try wasn’t a real, real try for sure.

GP Girl. That was what you call a trial run! I was trying to RUNNNNNNNNNNNNN!

JC Well try one of these (thrusts a highly flavored thoracic appendage in GP mout)

GP.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm (for once GP is lost for words)

JC Not bad GP. It like it coming back ma dear. Now its time for a gentle soothing foooooooooooooo. Oops!

At this time the mosquito coil put the poor mosquito out of commission or sent him giddy at the site of an old man breast feeding. LOL

20. LOl
    You really tek de mickey out of me dat time. LOL

21. I an’ my mosaic of gonads wanna marry GP too… fah de money…ya ya

AAAAAAAAAghhhhhh

22. No money Gear Box.

23. Mosquito on the wall listening Avatar

No money…….and no love- ing for JC either.

She like she backing a dead horse ya! LOL

24. GP

Dey got space in heaven fah a sexually active hermaphrodite? .. Cause either way he guilty of b*llin’ or w*ckin’…!

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

25. Dr Porgie,
    Don’t feel too bad hunny. Some young horses can’t keep up with young geldings either. There are few if any horses, young or old, that can out race ‘we’. They might try but a lot of the times, their ego is writing cheques that their body can’t cash. Why attempt to run 2mls when you know fully well dat you only qualify for a 1 ml. race and live to see another day? So you tek it easy Dr. Porgie and rememba, we love a slowwwwwwwwww hand, so don’t do things in a heated rushhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Bimbro,
    Adviser to the President won’t ansa you question so I gun ansa it fa you man.He/she is adviser to a community club see, so da mek he de President. Dah is all. An he real confuse too.
    This athlete had me confuse too cause she look and sound like a man and according to Mash up, she real flat-chested. Bonny a bit flat-chested too, so I chan mek na laffin sport. I luv um so doe. Barely enuff to nibbl, so wahhhhh?
    I got two grown sons dat I ‘nurse’ from birth to 3yrs. U like dem big-busted nah? I cud imagine. Ya devil.

26. Mosquito,
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ya got talent, ya got talent. A deaddd.

27. Technician

I remember when the CH.CH District Hospital played a serious role in taking pressure of the QEH for normal deliveries.

I notice that big tree that used to stand before the District Hospital for many many years is gone.

I must confess that I preferred the Oistins of the 60’s, because it has many great memories for me, including meeting a girl friend at the library before choir paractice, and reading the Cricketer Magazine and other similar cricket magazines that used to be available there.

Also there was a man Alleyne who used to bake some of the best turn overs (they were highly flavored.

My greatest regret is not taking several (in fact I took none) photographs of Oistins at that time, especially with the nets hang up in the “mild” trees by the side of the road.

We used to walk up to the lighthouse after Sunday School. I see the house with the roof looking like a boat is still there.

28. Mosquito on the wall listening Avatar

I hear watching the US open and I wonder if JC in the racing class like Serena Williams.

If so GP betta lef out JC yuh. Or else he have to stop at the breast feeding stage cause that would be a banquet or full course one course meal.

But den again I gran mudda used to say the race not for de quick nor de backle for de strong but for those dat endure to the end.

JC would have to put he true he paces slowly to build up he stamina and endurance.

If not we definitely looking at a dead GP. and JC will get charged for manslaughter due to an overdose of PUSS- C. Dat is a serios drug. Nothing to play with.

GP the ball in your court Check things out before tougupin with alll these foooooooooooo.Oops you talking bout yeh? Unless you just believe in mout talk or mout action!

29. Dr. Porgie,
    I worked at Ch.Ch distsrict hospital too and never understood why its destruction. Something about Kickumjenny erupting or something so. Not too sure.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

30. The destruction of a good coral stone building that stood the test of time is absolute nonsense.

Its location in Oistins was also strategic.

If we are worrying about Kickumjenny erupting there far many buildings that ought to be destroyed on our coatst then.

31. Mosquito on the wall listening

It seems that your recent posts have JC on the run. I was hoping she woud declare her hand on whether her “thoracic appendages” were elephantic in proportions or if they had a valency of zero like Caster.

One wants to know if they are beautifull to behold and to BE HELD!

32. One wonderes also if one would have to signal “wide” after she passes.

33. GP

Dey got space in heaven fah a sexually active hermaphrodite? .. Ca Dear either way yah look at it …..

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

34. Well GP I have full breast and yes my ass is big!

PLEASEEEEEE dont let that scare you lol!

Don’t look like Serena but I hold my own (and pretty good too)!

35. @ GP…
    Do you know a lady called Dolly from Enterprise?
    She used to frequent the Oistins fish market, was well known.
    When I was a Foundation, it was Skeete’s Bakery for salt bread and pastries, the turn-over was the favorite or a fresh salt bread with piece of cheese. This was replaced by KFC (damn).
    I think it was to be a hotel where the district hospital was (could be wrong). I think I know wher I could get some pics of old Oistins, if I can I will send them to David for you.

36. Mosquito on the wall listening Avatar

GP things sounding good!

JC is definitely offering you something big to hold on to in a time of crisis dennnnnnnn!

37. Technician
    Do you know a lady called Dolly from Enterprise?

I think I heard that name in my youth.

A fresh salt bread with piece of the NZ cheese and a red or yellow JuC was standard fare. Definitely nothing to scoff at.

Re This was replaced by KFC (damn). That is a major understatement Techie.

Re I think it was to be a hotel where the district hospital was (could be wrong).

Not surprised.

Re I think I know wher I could get some pics of old Oistins, if I can I will send them to David for you.

That would be great Techie Thanks.

38. JC & Mosquito

I think I will have to stop running and carry the fight to JC win lose or draw.

I will sign a prenuptial that I if I die in action from an overdose of the JC version of the drug you cite, that she not be charged with manslaughter.

39. Georgie, thanks for that little hilarious piece of education day bro!! I remember some of it quite well but, before I knew it, it was time to head fuh dis cold country and, well, that was that!! Nuh mo Bim education fuh me!! Instead, I had d girls in my classroom hay in Englan driving me crazy an d cold to contend wid so I had tuh fuget all bout Bim, bo!! I sympathise wid u bro. When I was there I spent all my time praying for break-time so we could get to glimpse the girls again!! It was a wonder we learnt anything!!

Come on Georgie!! With all the big-education u got at Foundation I’m sure ur doing alright, even if only as a civil servant?!! Which ministry is it now?! Now, let me think – maybe the Inland Revenue!! Yes, that sounds like u to me!! 🙂

As for JC, that’s right bro. You ‘examine’ her properly before!! U don’t want any surprises on ur wedding night and enjoy yuhself!! Good luck with the old ticker (heart) there!!

40. lol, Bonny, ur a real joker!! How’d u know I like them big!! Well, not excessively large, just right!! Looka, I in telling u my sexual proclivities yuh hear!! Yuh jus enjoy yuhself an I’ll do likewise here!!

Lord a mercy!!

P.S. Is that all that he’s the President of?!! R u sure he’d agree with u! I could swear he meant President of the US or some other august personage!!

41. On a slightly, more serious note; Bonny did u say u breast fed ur sons until they were 3? That seems a long time? Why did u for quite so long, sweets?!!

42. Georgie is a heart specialist.. dah’s wha’ got JC confuse. “Dis English language sweet”..

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhh

43. Bonny, I don’t like being a would be returnee!! What can I do!! And, can a Barbadian recognise a returnee, on sight?!!

44. Georgie Porgie,

Sincerest apologies. Sometimes we get caught up in a discussion, pushing our own side.

I fully understand the points that you have made and thank you for the education on medical matters.

I do respect that you have studied hard and reached an excellence at your field.

Yardbroom,

Point taken and apologies. Thank you.

Gearbox,

LOL. Yuh can ban me, no problem.

Peace to all.

45. No problem Rumple

I understand perfectly what it is to be a Bajan in a heated debate!

46. Bimbro // August 31, 2009 at 5:55 PM

Bonny, I don’t like being a would be returnee!! What can I do!! And, can a Barbadian recognise a returnee, on sight?!!

Hell YES!!!

They are usually the ones in socks and sandals….RLMAO !

47. @ GP……
    Dolly was my grandmother (god rest her soul). She would be the life of the market, now she is resting in CH CH Parish Church cemetery.
    Didnt know Anchor NZ Cheddar was a hit with you too, one of Skeete’s salt bread and a nice chunk…had to wash it down..red JuC was my pick.
    Did they have ‘Panty Lane’ when you were at Foundation?
    It is the little winding track that put you in Oistins from the school right next to the fuel storage tanks.
    You can guess what went on in the ‘lane’.

48. The only thing I remember about Foundation School other than Okkie Donovan’s football skills is that the girls wore the shortest skirts in the industry. As for their games attire, those black panty-like shorts… BIMBRO..!

The only thing that people like me and ROK and a couple others on this site had to look at were some flat ass White chicks from Codrington.

49. Georgie P

That Gear Box twit asked you an interesting question though. You may be ignoring him/her in which case I understand; but he’s put something on the table that you should not ignore. Then again why bother. He/she/it’s just an idiot anyway.

50. GP

I got to come and consult with J and Bonny Peppa to tell me how an older horse like me can run wid relatively a young gelding like JC.

GP you sure you went to Foundation? You may know a lot about medicine but you sure didn’t spend any time at the Garrison. A gelding? LOL