Shridath Surendranath "Sonny" Ramphal

The comment by Shridath ‘Sonny’ Ramphal a couple months ago when he used the term ‘intimations of ethnic cleansing’ in a speech referring to Barbados’ new immigration policy has not rested well with Barbadians, perhaps to many surprisingly so. Barbadians from all strata of society continue to show amazement that a man of his background would have used such inflammatory language in the prevailing climate. The fact he based his comment on a Nation newspaper editorial makes it all the more mind-boggling.

The Nation newspaper carried a report today citing Ramphal as rejecting the interpretation being applied to his now infamous reference to ethnic cleansing. Interesting to note Ramphal in the report refused to deliver an unqualified apology to Barbadians. Ramphal’s response to the strident criticism after he made the injudicious remark would have come two months later. The delay is most regrettable and only served to further inflame the sensitivity of Bajans. Of interest also is the fact he has come public a couple weeks after Rickey intimated in his weekly column that Ramphal would ignore public calls to address the matter.

Prime Minister David Thompson at party conference on the weekend,for the first time addressed the Ramphal statement. Here is a snippet from his address:

Barbados is a democracy. We invite and encourage criticism, debate and discussion on topical issues,” Thompson said. “[However] . . . as Prime Minister of this country I have had as much as I am willing to take as far as the unfair and unwarranted maligning of Barbados and Barbadians by those to whom we have extended a welcoming hand is concerned. There is precedence for dealing with such ingratitude. I am saying today ‘enough is enough’!” – Nation Newspaper

There is no doubt the scathing remarks by Prime Minister Thompson coaxed Sonny from his nest. He could ignore Lincoln Lewis but how could he ignore our Prime Minister?

If it were not apparent before it should be now that Bajans will be as tolerant to being crapped on especially by those who reside in Barbados at our invitation. Barbadians have historical accepted the labels of passive, generous and tolerant when compared to our neighbours. To those who we have given freely of our hospitality should we not expect them to demonstrate sensitivity when such situations arise?

Oh no Sonny! The damage has been done. Your legacy has been tarred forever in the minds of many Barbadians. You took too long to respond. Even with your tardy retort you let slip the opportunity to deliver an unequivocal apology to Barbadians for the emotional stress caused and the destruction to goodwill earned over several years. Your lack of the situational awareness required at a time ,which merited you to exercise diplomatic skills accrued after many years as Secretary General of the Commonwealth has caused many Barbadians to ponder.

The issue of Ramphal’s indiscretion should not be addressed in isolation. The role of some of our regionalists and academics must come under the microscope. Some of them have used their websites to pour scorn on Barbados at the expense of addressing the Ramphal comment. Did we not hear Norman Girvan, Annalee Davis and George Braithwaite in an interview with a Jamaican radio station refer to our Immigration Department as using Gestapo like tactics? The other issue is the role of the Barbados media and specifically the Nation Newspaper in this matter. Why have they not published the Lincoln Lewis letter to Rickey Singh? Given the stature of Lewis as a leading trade unionist and General Secretary of the Caribbean Congress of Labour the refusal to print his letter or even part is unprofessional.

Let the word propagate that disrespecting Barbadians with the casualness of the past has come to an end. We will make mistakes; do the right thing and accept responsibility and let us move on. The very ideal promoted by Ramphal over years to promote regional integration is being undermined by his divisive and inflammatory statement. Despite the Nation report citing Sonny’s retort the issue remains unaddressed.

1. You really trying to sell we gibberish Johnny!

I love that name JOHNNY!!

2. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy

Johnnie Too Bad // August 27, 2009 at 1:23 PM

Good try Adrian, I greet you with ONE word, harmonisation of wages, prices, standards etc.

————————————————–
    ONE WORD? which one??? You aint Johnny Tudor nuh? LOL!

3. Johnny

You is a johhny backra?

Yuh too foolish doh.

These racist indians will eat the foolish bajans that won’t listen to Negroman and X-Man – they will eat them for dinner.

Sonny ramphal boy,you have burnt your bridges.

4. “Johnnie Too Bad” said:

It was and is obvious that people from Guyana, Jamaica, Haiti and others would relocate if they could to a higher wage economy and so it is their right to do.
    —————————————–
    All of the countries you mentioned have some of the most populations within Caricom,Haiti most of all.I would love to see 8.7 million people fit in 166 square miles.Immigration[Permanent relocation] is not a RIGHT,it is a privilege.That is why most countries have rules & regulations to ensure that those wishing to immigrate are mainly going to be an advantage to the country,NOT THE IMMIGRANT.

You also speak as if there is COMPLETE Free-movement when there isn’t any such thing.I think CSME Immigration should be even more restrictive at the Caricom level especially when it comes to small island states.What Barbados is doing as it pertains to immigration policy is only a natural reaction to the problem AKA Illegal immigration !

5. “Johnnie Too Bad” said

Today it is Guyanese, what if the tables turn in the next 20 years and we are forced to export some of our people to Guyana?
    ————————————————

According to the following economic projection I’ve seen till 2029,Guyana is slated to have a Real GDP per capita of $2364 US,While Barbados will be at $18,794 US.Reverse immigration to Guyana due to economic reasons for Bajans ?Highly unlikely,imo !

http://www.ers.usda.gov/Data/macroeconomics/Data/ProjectedRealPerCapitaIncomeValues.xls

6. @ Johnnie too Bad
    “Today it is Guyanese, what if the tables turn in the next 20 years and we are forced to export some of our people to Guyana?”

That is the reason we need to look at this problem in different light and stop casting blame and stigmatising Guyanese. Don’t rely too much on economic projections, we could get lick up any day (even by a category 10 hurricane) and then we may find ourselves cap in hand going to the rest of the Caribbean for survival.

We therefore don’t need this kind of stain and quite frankly, it is unnecessary. Furthermore, this is not just about Guyana, it is time that the citizens of the Caribbean rise up and let our leaders know that we do not intent to suffer at the hands of corruption and that we will no longer tolerate the state of underdevelopment that we find ourselves in 40+ years after being independent. Why then are we independent? To become voluntary slaves?

7. @David

I am already on the case. Having spoken to some Guyanese already, an interesting point is that there are some Guyanese here who would have been here anyhow, i.e. whether or not Guyana was going through economic and social instability.

However, even those are interested in seeing Guyana come out of the doldrums are ready. They don’t feel comfortable about Jagdeo at all. It looks like we may be able to get this show on the road as early as next week.

Just keep pumping it people, the support of BU will be very helpful.

8. Simple solution! Make Sir Sonny persona non grata then deport him from barbados forthwith and all the illegal aliens.

9. Way to go ROK!

Give BU the details of the bank account when available. Suggest you open the account at bank in Barbados which has a branch in Guyana.

10. @Unugly

True that! And if it was said they would have been through GAIA to anywhere else or stay in Barbados and don’t get a pick. Pensions would always be late too and the thing is Bajans would not have a clue, they just would not hear the perpetrators.

11. @David

Please tell me which bank in Barbados has a branch in Guyana????

12. @ Johnnie Too Bad // August 27, 2009 at 11:31 AM

Why not listen to our good friend Bush Tea. You may learn a lot and has nothing to lose.

On the other hand… dont listen and some may re-name you “Johnny-on-the-Spot! lol

13. @ROK

Checked online and it looks like Scotiabank is the only bank in Guyana with a presence in Barbados. We thought RBTT with Caribbean roots would have had a branch as well. But you should ask the Guyanese you are communicating with, they should know.

14. @David

As you said, it looked so… but when I pursued it, the Scotiabank list does not include Guyana. Could not find a Guyana address for the bank.

15. This begs the question of is GUYANA a Caribbean country? Maybe you should re-take Geography class! Anyway, you need to check the Scotia website for South America and you will see that Scotia Bank does have many branches across our great country of Guyana. And so does Republic Bank Guyana Limited. Republic Bank we are banking on Guyana. We also have Bank of Baroda from India and Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry owned by the Beharry Group. Citizens Bank and Demerara Bank with branches across our great country…Remember we are not a Caribbean country, but South America.

16. @Anonymous
    Thank you very much. Never thought about that. Got it.

17. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

ha ha ha anon. You got that right. But it doesn’t take away from what ROK has suggested.

On geography:
    Can it be said that any part of Guyana’s coast line faces the caribbean sea? Some people question whether this south american country should be concidered as a Caribbean one as well. A counter argument suggested that indigenous communities and people who settle along the coast line of lands facing the caribbean sea saw themselves as caribbean people hence the term Caribbean nation. Oddly enough we have Shridath Ramphal foundly refering to Guyana, Trinidad, Barbados, Jamaica as his West Indian home. Is the term West Indies not a mis-Indentification by our once colonial masters? It is also a term that George C Brathwaite PHD candidate in waiting may not be fond of.

18. Here I am telling you about our banks so that you can start the Save the Guyana Fund LOL. I thought you were sending remittances to your family. You had better keep the money there to start a fund to buy land in Suriname, for global warming is coming and your country will sink into the deep blue sea, and that is exactly where you belong. President Jagdeo is our elected leader and we love him, but he is not for you to accept for you are Barbadosian, so mind your business, worry about your country, not ours. What atrocities going on in Guyana? Nothing, you want to take over our country as you know global warming is going to sink yours, well try Suriname they more like you. And you that Tall Boy, oh please yuh granny came to Guyana from Barbados to get land, now we hear that, but previously you are Barbados to the bone, you too mental, you are Guyanese and I know it, and you should be ashamed of yourself bashing your heritage here for what, to show you are are well read and know politics.

19. @Anonymous
    “President Jagdeo is our elected leader and we love him, but he is not for you to accept for you are Barbadosian, so mind your business, worry about your country, not ours.”

Well you see, that is why our immigration should be our problem and you in Guyana should mind your own business too.

I see you are a strife maker and I wonder if you are truly Guyanese. You love Jagdeo? Well that is your privilege, but from what came out of that USA court about the corruption of your President and your Minister of Health and you still so much love Jagdeo, it speaks volumes. Who burnt the Ministry of Health?

I wonder who is doing the ethnic cleansing, if not Guyana trying to get all the black people out of there.

You want to trade blows; let’s get it on.

20. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

ROK

If you buy land in Suriname it might be somewhere in current Guyana that Suriname claims. I truly expect Chavis to make good on Venezuela’s claim to, is it two thirds of Guyana? Chavis building up his Army, Airforce and Navy while consolidating power for some reason. Hope it is not to march into Guyana. Wunnuh aint using the land anyway.

From time to time, the Government of Suriname has made claims to New River triangle, an area of about 6000 square miles (about 15,600 square kilometers) of Guyana’s territory located on the south-eastern corner of the country. Suriname has also claimed the entire Corentyne River as its territory, and this itself has caused some controversy. Recently, Suriname has also laid claim to a section of Guyana’s territorial sea.

2. Suriname contends that the boundary in the continental shelf and the sea lies along a line originating at a point at No. 61 Village on the left bank of the Corentyne River and bearing 10 degrees east of true north.

21. ROK the freedom fighter calling me Strife maker, all I am doing is standing up for Guyana…Yes I am Guyanese, but I doz lay meh head where ever ah find a comfortable spotsuh dat could be USA, T&T, BDS, and even Suriname. Mr. Jagdeo is our President and we have to stand up for him, he is the head of the South American Union of nations tuh you know, thats right, President Jagdeo is head of this union that includes Brasil and Chile and Venezuela, and Tall Boy President Chavez will not march into Guyana, we have settled that border dispute years ago, but we are not war like, we are a peaceful people, just ask around, but by the same token not a blade of grass, we use diplomacy, as for Suriname, ah see they are the new darling of you all, everything these days is Suriname, Suriname group in Trinidad, minister in Trinidad says they must look to Suriname for their agriculture needs, Suriname the wonderful melting pot, Suriname Suriname Suriname, their place so ruckle down YUK. well hear this we not planting or growing nothing to send to the Caribbean, dem day done. Bye and do have a beautiful weekend.

22. Boy tall people ain nuh joke Avatar
    Boy tall people ain nuh joke

Guyana hardly has drinking water to quench it’s citizens thirst. A thirty people will not have the energy to grow anything. So are you telling me that wunnuh would refuse cold hard cash for the few crops wunnuh are able to provide? I don’t believe um. Do you all ever plan to repay the 120 million plus interest we loaned wunnuh almost thirty years ago?

Anyway this is counter productive. We are about helping Guayanese call their Government to account. To start the process of providing a viable economy that can keep Guyanese at home and statisfied. This is a noble cause is it not?

23. @Anonymous
    “Mr. Jagdeo is our President and we have to stand up for him…”

If I take your argument to its logical conclusion, then we should not have elections. Whomever happens to be PM should remain PM until death. Nobody else is capable and nobody can do better.

OK. I get it.

24. Barbados is already full & those without the proper documents or who cannot be an asset to our country must go.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/tbest-b-dos-most-populated-copy-for-web

“AS THE ILLEGAL IMMIGRATION DEBATE rages in the Caribbean with the focus on Barbados, a report confirms that the country is the most densely populated in the Western Hemisphere.

Interestingly, Guyana, the source of the largest single community of undocumented immigrants in Barbados and many English-speaking Caribbean states, is among the world’s least densely populated countries.

In Barbados’ case, its rate of 653 people per square kilometre places it among the world’s top 12 countries when it comes to population density. No other place in the English-, French-, Spanish- or Dutch-speaking Caribbean cames close to matching Barbados’ figure, according to data recently released by the Population Reference Bureau in its 2009 report.

A distant second to Barbados was Puerto Rico with a rate of 447 people per square kilometre, followed by Martinique with 368, El Salvador 349, Haiti 333, St Lucia 319, and Grenada with 308.

Worldwide, the countries at the top of the list were Monaco, 35 382; China, 21 346; Hong Kong, 6 403; Singapore, 7 486; Bahrain, 1 714; Malta, 1 310; Bangladesh, 1 127; Maldives, 1 057; Channel Islands 804; Barbados and the Israeli-occupied Palestinian territories, 653; and Mauritius, 625.

The issue of population density entered the immigration debate when current or former Barbadian officials, who defended Barbados’ immigration policy of amnesty for many undocumented immigrants but deportation for others without jobs, insisted that the country was too small to have open borders for anyone desirous of entering the country in search of employment or a better way of life, or both.

Charlie Skeete, a retired senior economic adviser at the Inter-American Development Bank in Washington who also served as Barbados’ Ambassador to the United States and the Organisation of American States in the 1980s, cited population density as a vital reason why he supported the Thompson Administration’s attempt to control illegal immigration.

He told the WEEKEND NATION that Barbados was so small that its entire land mass could be “swallowed up” by one of Guyana’s rivers.

As for Guyana, its estimated population of 800 000 living on 214 970 square kilometres but with a land area of 196 850 square kilometres, gave it a density of four people per square kilometre, a rate that placed it among the world’s ten least populated countries.

The others on that list were Western Sahara, Mauritania, Botswana, Canada, French Guiana, Suriname, Mongolia, Iceland and Australia, all with rates of less than ten per square kilometre.

By way of comparison, Barbados’ estimated population of almost 300 000 lived on a land area of 431 square kilometres.

Another Caribbean country whose government has to stem the tide of undocumented immigration is Antigua, with 199 per square kilometre. St Vincent’s density was 283, Trinidad and Tobago 260, Jamaica 246 and The Bahamas 25.

The Caribbean regional average was 176 people, stated the Population Reference Bureau. South America’s was 22, Central America’s 61, and North America’s 28 per square kilometre.

Population density is derived by dividing the number of people in a country by its land area.

While Monaco has the world’s highest population density, Mongolia has the lowest.”
    ————————————-

It is rather pathetic that those who promote open borders & complete free-movement do not understand the fact that allowing more permanent immigration would not solve the scarce water issues or land issues.I wonder how many more cave ins,security issues[crime,drugs] before a Comprehensive Enforcement strategy is implemented to protect Barbados citizens & borders.

Every new Permanent immigrant does not come with land from off the plane !

25. Hant boy you should be tall Avatar
    Hant boy you should be tall

Sir Shridath Ramphal on August 16th, 2009 at 4:18 pm Dear Norman,
    Thanks for this; even though it adds to the deepening gloom. We used to say that the things we have done best together were the UWI and WI Cricket and that gave us inspiration to move on. Now UWI is in a phase of de-regionalisation as its necessary growth through de-centralisation advances. That was probably inevitable; but, in the process, a maturing CARICOM should have been doing for this generation what UWI did for ours. That has not happened. Meanwhile, WI Cricket has developed a death-wish and threatens to deprive us of our regional life-blood. Cricket is in our regional genes, in villages, in cities, in the world-wide diaspora. It integrates us, it defines us, it proclaims our oneness. Now with CARICOM faltering, with UWI fragmenting, with WI Cricket disintegrating, WI regionalism is approaching a state of coma. The mediation process in cricket is still alive and I shall not tire; but I cannot prevail against a Board and players in a suicide pact. My task is to prevent that fundamentalist folly.

Sonny
    ————————————————–

26. No surprise to hear on the news Ramphal has failed to mediate the dispute between WIPA and WIBC. The hard truth is the WIBC is making a stand to break WIPA and probably has no plans to bring back the Gayle led pack unless forced.

27. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

We know shridath ramphal is a big fat blow hard.

He no longer holds the respect he once had.

28. WIBC? These people are the real rebels in our midst. Watch how fast they are to the draw in sefl-defense or attack! Mercenaries … they are and obviously, a law unto themselves, …”ruling” with a heavy hand, trying to frightem whomsoever they can. I just trust that Caribbean people continue to remain silent until the next regional series and show that we have learned the Barbados lesson by using our dollar bills to send our message. NOT one cent of ours should be spent to pay them. High-handedness to the hilt. Let us not fall to this shameless pact of bullies. Rather let us show support for Chanderpaul who we must remember as the true tiger of the Caribbean and to Gayle for his stand with his team, with all the noble cricketers who would stand for justice in the face of tyranny. Could PJ patterson, Pres. Jagdeo, fmr Justices, and other emminent crcketers and leaders be so daft? Do not confuse issues Mash up & Buy back, Sir Shridath is still an emminent Guyanese and CARICOM leader with a flaw like the rest of us. We need our elder statesmen yet like Britain owes Churchill despite his recognised flaws.

29. truth be told. shridath this son of Guyana, pompous british royal loving showman, is a member of the PPP Crime Family and LIVES IN BARBADOS!!
    go figure
    you can fool some of the fools…strike that
    you can fool some of the people…strike that
    you can fool some of the sheeple some of the times and the sheeple who continue to bleep all the time

30. Shridath ramphal is a racist ball of shite,a pretender who has been fooling a lot of west indian people about how supposedly wonderful he is.

Let the people who work with and really know the deal speak.

The problem is more WIPA than the WICB.

The WICB needs to be re-configured and the players need to get rid of Didnath ramnarine who is really seeking to make a name for himself,draw a big salary – whether or not in the process he destroys west indies cricket or the west indies players’ careers.

31. David

Are you listening to Conde riley on VOB tonight explaining why he resigned today from the WICB.

I always felt that it was as conde put it a ‘cabal’ taking place with jagdeo,ramphal and ramnarine.

Conde said he was disgusted with the staements of ramphal and jagdeo and did not want to be part of that Cabal.

I knew that ramnarine was acting according to the principle of ‘Apanjaat’,ie indian support your race.

Ramnarine waited until jagdeo received lead for Caricom in July and then he approached jagdeo as head of caricom to intervene.

One indian to another.

Then watched what jagdeo did,he invited another indian – shridath ramphal to be the mediator.

Conde is upset because interpreting what he seems to be saying shridath behaved in a one sided or untruthful manner by giving the impression that the Board was the problem,when in fact Ramnarine walked out of the meeting on Sunday and went back to his family in Tobago.

Ramnarine obviously feels he is
    Mr West Indian Cricket’,so he could call all the shots.

David I hope you and all the bloggers are noticing how indians behave.

They use their indian compatriots in top positions to get their agenda fulfilled.

I could have called that ramnarine-jagdeo-ramphal shot early.

So jagdeo now blaming the WICB,and Ramphal blaming the WICB and ramnarine is an angel.

What would have been in stock for barbados had we allowed Owen arthur to get his wish and fill this country with these indians?

Scary indeed.

32. Was it professional for shridath as a mediator to go the public and subtlety implied that the board was in the wrong when the discussions hadn’t even ended?

Wasn’t he trying to turn public opinion (for those who are easily led) against the WICB?

I hope all in the Caribbean notice that ramphal is definitely no ‘Sir’.

33. As mediator his comments in the VOB interview were strange indeed. On would have expected that if he had a position it should have been made with a more conciliatory tone. Instead his public comments along with Jagdeo have poisoned public opinion and inflamed the environment in away which will lead to more acrimony. Excellent job by the respected Knight and career diplomat. What the verbose Conde Riley has done reflects a level of frustration and his actions must be judged as someone who was an insider.

It is amazing how the decline of West Indies cricket quickened when the WIBC headquarters moved to Antigua, away from the Mecca!

34. Didn’t think of that David,but like Liat WICB operations declined when they both moved to Antigua.

35. This is an example of how Ramphal’s Indianness influences the positions he assumes, and the deceit with which it is propagated.

Black people in the Caribbean have to come to grips with the obvious incapacity of some Indians, and I said some of course, to avoid ganging up in any issue where a blck was on the other side of the equation. Ramphal’s skulldeggery in this regard is similar to his association of ethnic cleansing with Barbados enforcement of its immigration laws. Guyana arrested 40 Christian Mormons and paraded them at CID headequarters claiming it was enforcing its immigration laws. You don’t hear Ramphall commenting on that.
    ###########################

WICB/WIPA saga continue
    September 5, 2009 | By KNews | Filed Under Sports

WICB head accuses President Jagdeo of misinforming the public

St Lucian Politician and President of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Julian Hunt, has written Guyana’s President Bharat Jagdeo accusing the Guyanese leader and Sir Shridath Ramphal of seeking to give the impression that the WICB was the Party responsible for the unsatisfactory and premature end to the WICB/WIPA Mediation proceedings. Hunt, in his letter which was circulated to the media yesterday, said “it is more than a little disturbing to read the comments attributed not only to Sir Shridath but also to you which seek to give the impression that the WICB was the Party responsible for the unsatisfactory and premature end to the WICB/WIPA Mediation proceedings”

Hunt told President Jagdeo that there was an urgent need for the two Presidents (WICB & Guyana) to ‘set about some urgent damage control measures having regard to the misinformation that is already in the public domain’.

The full text of the letter read:-

“Dear President Jagdeo,
    As you will recall, I met with you at your invitation along with other representatives of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) in Guyana on July 21, 2009 to discuss a means of bringing to a satisfactory resolution a number of issues in dispute between WICB and the West Indies Players Association (WIPA). Based on your intervention and with the concurrence of the WIPA representatives with whom we also met on July 21, it was agreed by both parties that we would jointly invite Sir Shridath Ramphal, former Commonwealth Secretary General, to immediately commence mediation proceedings on the basis of our mutual acceptance of the importance and urgency of resolving the immediate differences between WIPA and ourselves and setting our relations on a path of lasting cooperation.

We also agreed at that meeting that each Party would appoint a Facilitator from among its membership to assist the Mediator in his interaction with the Parties and that the Caricom Secretariat would provide administrative assistance to the Mediation Team which was expected to begin its work immediately. You also kindly agreed to have Caricom standing by to assist if required.

You will also recall that it was agreed on July 21 that the players who had withdrawn their services from the West Indies Team would make themselves available for selection pending the resolution of the outstanding issues between the parties, though you concurred at the time that actual team selection was a matter for the Board’s Selection Committee. Both parties signed on July 21 in your presence the WICB/WIPA Mediation Agreement, commonly referred to as “the Georgetown Agreement”, and we commenced mediation proceedings in Barbados with Sir Shridath on July 26, 2009.

Sir Shridath presented a document to both parties entitled “WICB – WIPA Mediation Rules of Procedure” which, with minor modifications, was agreed by all. On that same day, Sir Shridath issued a Press Release in which he informed the public that the Mediation Process had commenced, with assistance from the Caricom Secretariat, and that the Facilitators nominated by the Parties were Mr. Dinanath Ramnarine (WIPA) and Mr. Gerard Pinard (WICB). Sir Shridath also gave his assurance that the Rules of Procedure required the discussions in the mediation process to be confidential. Sir Shridath also expressed the hope that the mediation proceedings could be satisfactorily concluded by the end of August, 2009.

It is now common knowledge that the mediation process came to an end on September 01, 2009 without the Parties reaching agreement on all or indeed many of the issues in dispute. It has since been widely reported in the media that the cause of the premature end to the mediation proceedings, which were scheduled to continue until September 04, 2009 if necessary, was the submission of a new document by the WICB during the night of August 31, 2009 and that the WICB had informed the Mediator that it was not prepared to negotiate “on any other basis”. In fact, Sir Shridath in his Final Report to Caricom dated September 01, 2009, entitled “Caricom Cricket Mediation”, stated that the document submitted by WICB was “the only text the Board was willing to sign”. Sir Shridath also stated in his final report that “Twenty-four hours before the Mediation Process ended I believed there was such an agreement save on one issue which, with the agreement of both parties, I was seeking to have resolved by third party cooperation, which seemed likely – a probability which I conveyed to both Parties”.

I am advised that the articulation of the WICB’s position by Sir Shridath in his press statements and in his final report to you are factually incorrect and that there was never any adoption by the
    WICB during the mediation proceedings of an unwillingness to negotiate on the proposed Mediation Agreement which it submitted on the night of August 31, 2009. In fact, it was clearly articulated in the e-mail to Sir Shridath which accompanied the proposed draft that the document represented an attempt by the WICB Team to succinctly cover “the range of issues agreed upon by parties and those that remain unresolved” and that the team was “hopeful that with the concurrence of WIPA we shall be able to conclude the mediation process tomorrow on this basis”. Clearly, the wording speaks for itself.

It is also worthwhile noting that at the meeting on August 31, 2009 from which the WIPA Facilitator had absented himself to proceed on vacation with his family in Tobago, with the agreement of Sir Shridath (contrary to the prior stipulation by Sir Shridath that the proceedings could not and would not be held in the absence of either of the Facilitators) the WICB Team informed the Mediator of its strong disapproval of the WIPA Facilitator’s absence and its concern that WIPA was not taking the proceedings seriously enough. It is worthwhile noting that both Parties had agreed that the proceedings would continue until September 04, 2009 if necessary and were requested to make themselves available for the entire period August 27, 2009 to September 04, 2009 for meetings in Barbados . Despite this agreement, two of the WIPA representatives, including its Facilitator, left the island on August 30 and did not attend the meeting on August 31. The WICB Team, on the other hand, was fully represented at each and every meeting of the mediation proceedings. In this regard, it is more than a little disturbing to read the comments attributed not only to Sir Shridath but also to you and others that seek to give the impression that the WICB was the Party responsible for the unsatisfactory and premature end to the WICB/WIPA Mediation proceedings.

It is my sincere hope that you will agree that an early meeting between us may assist in correcting the erroneous impressions that have been conveyed in order to forestall any further adverse effect on the reputation of West Indies Cricket. At the same time, I trust that you will appreciate the urgent need for us to set about some urgent damage control measures having regard to the misinformation that is already in the public domain.

Yours sincerely,
    Dr. Julian R. Hunte
    President
    West Indies Cricket Board Inc.

36. Ruel Daniels

Mediation coolie style boy.

37. As I understand it, the WIBC is the body administering WI cricket by virtue of a “franchise” or some similar arrangement with the ICC.

WI cricket has so long been mired in such public acrimonious discord that the ICC must be thoroughly fed up with the Board and must be desperately looking for a solution, especially since the WICB is cheapening the upcoming Champions Trophy by sending a 2nd eleven team.

I don’t know what type of agreement exists between the ICC and WICB, but it may be that if a credible body put a proposal to the ICC to take over the administration of WI cricket, it might get a very sympathetic ear and and get the ICC to give the current WICB the boot.

Who can we recommend to form an alternative board? I start by nominating Rawle Brancker and Tony Cozier.

38. @David:

The letter was sent on September 4th it is now September 9th. Has either Jagdeo, Shridath, or for that matter ramnarine responded to this WICB letter? Or must Thompson issue another threat for one of them to do so????

Am I being unreasonable and premature to say that Julian Hunte may very well be treated like another black caribbean man Lincoln Lewis?