Lincoln Lewis, General Secretary (on leave) Guyana Trades Union Congress.
Lincoln Lewis, General Secretary (on leave) Guyana Trades Union Congress

30/07/09

Dear Sir Shridath,

Fraternal Greetings,

This is an open letter with a copy forwarded to Barbadian and Guyanese media. I  have chosen to communicate with you both privately and publicly since the issue that prompted this engagement emanated from public statements attributed to you. I could not help but take notice about your references to “ethnic cleansing” first reported in Stabroek  News (Guyana) June 26, 2009 in relation to the case of Barbados exercising its sovereign right and legal means to regularize undocumented workers and illegal Guyanese immigrants.

One notes that without compelling evidence there was an almost indecent haste to publicly accuse and castigate a sovereign nation and label the regime of Mr. David Thompson as one guilty of intimations of the most heinous crime against humanity.

The denotation and connotations of “ethnic cleansing”, the gruesome images it conjures up, and the international concerns that such claims are capable of evoking are not made less impacting by the qualification of “ intimations”, particularly when made by a distinguished knight of the British throne for whom credibility comes with little question, particularly in our hemisphere and Third World. This makes your statement even more troublesome and dangerous for a developing nation like Barbados.  Based on your stature and intellect, recognized and respected throughout the world as shrewd, many would find it difficult to appreciate that such apparent thoughtless mis-speak was not driven by emotionally driven racial considerations.

Whereas you live in Barbados and are not affected by the conditions creating turmoil, anguish and desperation of your countrymen in Guyana, you would appreciate that the rising number of immigrants to Barbados and Guyanese fleeing their homeland to live in foreign countries is a sign of the nation’s failure to provide for its people, and to prevent them from migrating under any conditions.

As the human rights of Guyanese at home continues to be eroded under the Jagdeo/ PPP government, your voice Sir Shridath is not noted  as one seeking the relief and upholding of law and order, of justice,  and the respect for trade union rights and upholding the Constitution.  Under President Jagdeo there was/ is a death squad which was headed by US prisoner on trial Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan and which government Ministers Ramsammy and Gajraj are implicated in. Taped conversations also implicate President Jagdeo , other top ranking government and police officers of being associated with drug kingpin Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan . Hundreds of young black males were brutally murdered and went missing as the government used their murders and torture for political gains. The Guyanese landscape is stained with rampant government corruption  at all  levels, money laundering, narco trafficking, an unharnessed criminal underworld with government connections and support, mismanagement of the affairs of government, nepotism and racial strife promoted by a dictatorial megalomaniac and a government that is more an “ethnocracy”.  The Guyana Constitution is being violated with impunity and there is no regard for the separation of powers of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government. The right to freedom of expression, dissent and association is being eroded. All Guyanese are living in fear but remain divided by racial tensions fueled by a government supported by an Indian base who are kept in fear of their black brothers and sisters who the PPP constantly criminalize and deny the right to a court trial. Africans are being accused then murdered as in the case of Minister Satyadeow ‘Sash’ Sawh case which is now closed after the torturing and subsequent murder of accused David ‘Biscuit’ Leander even as he was in the police lock ups.

Torture is the mode supported by and tolerated by the Jagdeo government to get accused men to give statements implicating themselves. Torture is done by the death squad members as reported in the case of Axel Williams and Mark Thomas also known as Kerzorkee; by  PPP supporters identified as community police who are being armed by the state; by rogue elements of the Guyana Police Force and the Guyana Defence Force.

Guyanese no longer have peace nor a safe environment which they can feel comfortable to raise their families and participate in the development of this nation for all to be able to enjoy regardless of race, or political persuasion.  43 percent of our nation’s gross domestic product is remittances. It is the highest in the hemisphere. The PPP government needs this and is perhaps motivated to engage in a sophisticated form of trafficking in persons as part of it developmental strategy. It is recognized that in excess of 80 percent of our university graduates migrate. Nurses and teachers, among other professionals are also leaving in droves. In response to the exodus and the public concerns about the exodus, the government is on record saying people can leave and it will train more. This is indicative that they are not prepared to put systems in place to create decent jobs as a part of its developmental thrust.

As a young man I was engaged in struggles against previous administrations alongside Dr. Jagan, the PPP, Walter Rodney and others. Today, Freddie Kissoon, Senior Lecturer at the University of Guyana, and political analyst, compares the grievances under the PNC to “boy scout mischief” in comparison to the evil that we see unleashed on Guyana by the Jagdeo/PPP regime. The principles, I stood for are still held dear and sacred. They are built on the understanding and respect for human rights and dignity which fundamentals are being trampled on by President Jagdeo and the PPP regime. Today the PPP is committing crimes against humanity with impunity. There is no excuse for extrajudicial murders and there should be no tolerance for state associated death squads and narco militarism

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine in Stabroek News article published July ,26th 2009  compared his experiences of being locked up for arson under the PNC and noted that: “Apart from the discomfort of being handcuffed behind my back for a night, I suffered no physical abuse. The other comrades who were held at other police stations around the country experienced no physical abuse. Three days later, in response to writs of habeas corpus, we were placed before the Magistrate’s Court where Walter, Omawale and I were charged with arson and released on bail. Mr. Troy Small’s misfortune is that he came under suspicion of having committed the crime of arson not in the dark night of dictatorship but in the bright noon of democracy.”

Sir Shridath, African Guyanese need your distinguished voice raised to defend their rights which are being violated in Guyana under an Indian based government. All Guyanese need the support which you can bring to this nation by lending weight to our cries for true democracy , good governance , accountability , justice , the upholding of human rights for all,  an end  to the lawlessness and government death squad narco relationship .

We need your voice to be raised against the slow genocide that is occurring in Guyana, where the life of Africans, like the days of slavery is losing value, apart from being a useful tool for wealth production.

You are also encouraged to speak out on other aspects of political and worker discrimination, which I am sure you would be apprised of in the media and international reports.

I remind you of the words of US President Obama: “No country is going to create wealth if its leaders exploit the economy to enrich themselves, or police can be bought off by drug traffickers. No business wants to invest in a place where the government skims 20 percent off the top, or the head of the Port Authority is corrupt. No person wants to live in a society where the rule of law gives way to the rule of brutality and bribery. That is not democracy, that is tyranny, and now is the time for it to end”

Guyana needs your voice. I am willing to meet with you to discuss further ways in which you can be of service to all our people. I can be contacted at (info supplied)

Attached are some newspaper articles and other reports that you may find useful for preliminary enquiry.

Yours sincerely,

Lincoln Lewis

Concerned Guyanese Citizen

General Secretary (on leave) Guyana Trades Union Congress.

Sample links to articles regarding Government association with Death Squad and US Drug accused Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan

July 31, 2009

Dr. Ramsammy purchased spy equipment

July 31, 2009

Roger Khan’s gang had plotted to abduct diplomat’s wife

July  29, 2009

Militarised security equals politicised justice-GHRA

July 29, 2009

Roger Khan ordered Waddell killing- informant tells Simels trial

October 5, 2008

Is the phantom squad still lurking in Guyana?

June 8, 2008

Roger Khan had govt permission to buy surveillance equipment-lawyer

November 14, 2007

The Persaud disclosures

Allegations of torture by Government Officials

December 9, 2008

GHRA condemns use of torture by disciplined services

November 11, 2008

Context of torture allegations needs to be understood-President

November 2, 2008

Torture allegations

September 26, 2008

Torture report will not urge sanctions if culpability established-Luncheon

July 23, 2008

Burnt and beaten prisoner laid to rest

October 13, 2007

GHRA unhappy that serious rights issues remain unresolved

115 responses to “Open Letter To Sir Shridath Ramphal”

1. We are living in a society where it is acceptable when Indians define and un-acceptable when Africans do.

Can you image the furore if an African made accusations about apartheid or ethnic cleansing. First, his own would have gone for his jugular. Second, the Inidans would have gone on a susatined campaign to demonise and criminalise that African.

Bajans NEED to come out and condemn Ramphal (intimations of ethnic cleansing) and Rickey (apartheid). Join Carl Moore, Tony Best and Lincoln Lewis to tell this Emperor and the Guru journalist just what you think of them.

The signs of subtle racism (indian sense of superiority) which is overt in Guyana and Trinidad creeping in to B’dos. It always start with the elite class then spread to the masses. And if the elite class is so small, does not have political powere, and is so powerful in B’dos, its time people wake up!

2. See dem bajans…leave dem alone and let dem party and when they wake up let dem ‘eat cake’ because it’ll be too late. Barbados will be physically taken from dem and yet again they will be taken into capitivity, strangers shall inherit their place of abode!

3. That has already happened, we are just waiting for the official proclomation from Elizabeth’s loyal representative.

4. A pleasant good morning to you Hopi.

@Tom:
    Ricky Singh is nothing more than someone who “journals” life’s events. He has highjack that understanding and the space he was given to so do, to now give us HIS PERSONAL OPINIONS under the guise of journalism. On the use of the phrase “ethnic cleansing” Shridath is his friend and Tim is not.

5. Themis // August 1, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Just saw your post, David. Yes, it is an opinion, but it is too an intimation. As I said in my last post, Ramphal did not say that the policy was official Government policy.
    ###########################

Rubbish. This amounts to a disingenuous attempt to manipulate semantics in order or to change the context of Shridath Ramphal’s assertion.

Mr Ramphal’s statement was being made in connection with the Government’s immigration policy, and he applied that reference to define its operations and results. No amount of disingenuous acrobatics can alter that. In analyzing the situation the relevant question is what inferrence the audience is likely to draw from the comment.

Mr Ramphal made that reference for the benefit of his Indian Caribbean audience who he wanted to assure that he had not given up his indianness by choosing the overwhelmingly black Barbados as his place of residence. That is a pattern that is consistent with the atitudes of many Caribbean Indians who enjoy the “Pon tap” political advantage of the PPP ruling Guyana but refuse to stake their livlihood and that of their kids under such rulership. It is what it is.

6. […] Sample links to articles regarding Government association with Death Squad and US Drug accused Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan – Bajan Underground […]

7. Themis, This is how I see MY GUYANA. I see Guyana as a black country that is located on the South American continent BUT similar to Trinidad & Tobago, and Barbados. We are people of colour in Guyana, so it is of great irony to me that these East Indians in Guyana are so racist.

8. Themis,

Just because you have a 1/2 East Indian child with some East Indian woman from Guyana does not qualify you as a mouth peice for the East Indians. I will tell you that the only reason the East Indian grand parents love the child is because they know one day that she will send a Barbadian dollar or two in which one Barbadian dollar is worth $97.00 Guyana dollars.

Mr. Ramphal made that statement of ethnic cleanising because he is afraid that if that is the case then he too in trouble, he is East Indian, isn’t he. The man looking out for he self, like the rest of them. They open businesses in Guyana, all of them, the Chinee, the Coolie, rob us all up, and then leave our country with all the money to such places as Barbados and America to live out their lives in nice homes.

9. Anonymous @1:15 pm,

Many of your assumptions are incorrect. My daughter’s mother is not Guyanese but Trinidadian, we are no longer married, and the child does not live here.

Further, do you really think that the authorities would throw Ramphal out of Barbados for any reason?
    Don’t you realise by now that all of us are equal BUT some are more equal than others? And that this rule operates in every sphere?

10. OK Themis, Trinidadian, a whole different story. Sorry, don’t know much about T&T except Piarco Airport and Caribbean Airlines. Sorry

11. No need to apologise, Anonymous @ 1:33. What about the second part of my post?

12. Themis,

Why does Sir Ramphal choose to live in Barbados? He was born in Guyana, a former attorney general for Guyana, then he turns around and chooses Barbados as his retirement home. I have no respect for Sir Ramphal, for a man of his statue living in Guyana and speaking out against the PPP would have had a lot of weight/clout, but to live in Barbados and then quote from a Guyanese newspaper appears like he is seeking some attention from you all.

There are two types of Guyanese, ones like Sir Ramphal that choose to live the good life elsewhere, and those that are in the hundreds of thousands who work overseas in order to send back remittances to help family and keep Guyana afloat.

Sir Ramphal and the other one, Sir Saunders in Antigua could certainly have made a difference in the lives of all Guyanese had they choose to live in Guyana, run for public office and help make Guyana a better country, but no, they too selfish, but every day I read the Guyanese papers I see Sir Saunders writing some folly about dis and dat, or Sir Ramphal made some off the wall statement, Mr. Ricky Singh writng something, and Mr. Tony Best said this. Well they are all irrelevant as far as I am concerned. I salute the overseas based hard working Guyanese that send home remittances and the remittances receivers who stay in Guyana with hopes of one day Guyana will be a great nation for all of us to stay home and enjoy the lovely scenery.

13. @Themis

You have made some good points. I agree with you.

14. Let’s assume for a minute that everything Lincoln Lewis said is true. Let’s also assume for another minute that Ramphal’s comment is also based on the fact that the deportation of illegal Caribbean citizens in Barbados is statistically affecting indo guyanese refugees moreso that any other group.
    Though to claim that the Bdos is practising ethnic cleansing is hypocritical and outright mischievous, we would have to agree that both responses (Ramphal’s and Lewis’) are wrought with emotion.
    Now having said that, it would be most proper and correct for David Thompson to declare Shridath Ramphal, persona non grata and ask him to leave the country.
    Long and short! This government does not have the balls and is now trying to clean up the PR mess they put themselves in with their immigration policy.
    In the meantime, the economy is heading fast toward the depths of the 1991 crisis for which Erskine Sandiford was rewarded and named as ambassador to Peking.

What a bunch of jokers!

15. The jokers are the Guyana government and their supporters who want to bully Barbados to take on their problems.

They dictating how Barbados must run its affairs and cannot even run Guyana or tell Jagdeo what to do. Prime suspect are Ramphal, Rickey and Faria. Let them leave Thomspon to us and go tell Jagdeo how to run Guyana, the land in which they all born.

Thompson policy is not wrong. What was wrong was the way the Nation allow the 3 racist Guyanese to run bajan agenda.

16. Henry, you must come to realize that the Nation newspaper is not a local newspaper. It is a regional newspaper that happens to be located in Barbados. You could do without buying it yuh know. Duh can’t sell you what you refuse to buy. Duh could only offer for it sale.

17. Henry, Guyana is a beautiful country with beautiful people, so you just keep those three old mash herrings, Faria, Ramphal and Singh right there. Plus Faria was born there, he is a citzen of the country,

18. Shridath, Ricky, and Norman can live in Barbados. They do not scare us. They can opinionate as they wish. One thing for sure is that they cannot manipulate the GoB to our collective disadvantage. They are no more persuasive than I. They are no more focus and on task than I. My lot in life is to get people talking, discussing the issues, and no ideology, no socialist or three can win against all Barbadians.

19. The government of Barbados should declare Singh, Faria, and Ramphal persona non grata.

20. Talk, we can’t talk to them, for the least talk they are ready to sanction us with death treats, and then if we don’t stay quiet we are killed. Remember Mr. Ronald Waddell, who was so brutally cut down just because he dared to speak out against Jagdeo’s PPP killing machine.

21. On November 20th 2008 Shridath Ramphal gave a lecture at UWI Cave Hill
    “ROUGH HANDLING FEDERATION”

SOME PERSPECTIVES OF THE WEST INDIES
    Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of The West Indies Federation

on page 18 Shridath had this to say

“The story of the Federal Project is at once the story of the West Indies at its
    best and at its worst. In his Epilogue to John Mordecai’s Book Sir Arthur
    Lewis lists 11 ’if onlys’ on the basis of which the Federation would have
    been saved; but then he asks the question: ‘BUT HOW DID THESE HIGHLY INTELLIGENT MEN, ALL DEVOTED FEDERATION, COME TO MAKE SO MANY ERRORS IN SO SHORT A PERIOD? Perhaps, Mordecai had answered the question when he
    wrote, bemoaning the disregard of diplomacy:

“At all points the rough handling of the problems of this Federation is
    more extraordinary than the problems themselves”.

————————————————

I think Shridath or someone else may be force to give a Lecture titled

ROUGH HANDLING FREE MOVEMENT.

There was no diplomacy then and they certainly was not any during this all points cursing Barbados recieved from all and sundry including Shridath for announcing a manage migration policy.

22. Lincoln Lewis should also give us some insight into his very abusive attitude towards his former spouses, namely, Elaine Ross, Samantha Hall and Charmaine Croft. All three of them, like many other Guyanese, were forced to flee not due to Lincoln’s false pontifications by rather after suffering at the hands of immense physical abuse from an often intoxicated Lincoln.

23. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

John aka Jagdeo pimp

We are not discussing lincoln lewis private affairs,so get off this site with that crap.

24. We Black People love to respect our oppressors & people who have done us wrong.

Stinking Sir Shridath Ramphal the eminent scholarly ass accused the Barbados government of practising racism with its new immigration policy.That scum has not apologize to the Barbados government for his remarks but is trying to seek justification for his comments.

If we had a strong real leader stinking Sir Sridath Ramphal along with musty Norman Faria and Ricky Singh should be out of Barbados a long time ago.Unfortunately that is not the case and as a matter of fact musty Norman Faria along with his half Indian wife or mistress were at Ilaro Court last night drinking & eating out the Black Barbadian taxpayers money at the Prime Minister Crop Over reception.Yes musty Norman Faria Negroman is everywhere.

Prime Minister David Thompson is a weakling and I am totally convinced that the non-national Prime Minister who so proudly said to the Guyanese in Guyana that he has Guyanese blood in him is not keen on removing illegal immigrants from Barbados.He is bluffing and the illegal Guyanese know that.

Prime Minister David Thompson citizenship should also be revoked and he should be sent packing out of Barbados back to England where the clown is more suited.

I have given up any hope that the loser we have as a Prime Minister & his inept,bungling government will ever do anything with the illegal immigration problem.

25. Quoting Mr Negroman: “musty Norman Faria”

@ Mr Negroman: are you the same charmer and deep thinker who said: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Just wondering …

26. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman,Bonny peppa,Scout & other regulars excluding J aka kim young,

I cannot tell you what to do,however I have suggested before and will suggest again that Jack bowman who is one and the same as Mongoose has been sent on this site by the BFP Posse to disrupt our discussions on various issues.

Every time you respond to the crap he writes he suceeds in what he wants to do on this site.

David is not going to ban him so it is up to you bloggers to ignore him every single time.

The choice is yours.

27. That Mongoose and Jack Bowman are one and the same person is beyond dispute. Whether they were sent by BFP is another matter, but there is no longer any dispute as to which is the premier Barbados blog.

28. @ David, you have this moderation feature, too? Since when?

29. Bear with us Themis.

30. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

HELP!

This erratic scrolling as you link to a comment is very frustrating.

Please revert to the former standard.

Thanks.

31. Ok, just wondering, that’s all. Good luck.

32. @Mash up

Not sure what is causing your problem. Is it only happening with BU page?

33. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

Yes David

It happened a couple of weeks before and stopped.

Before when you clicked on a comment,it opened on to that particular comment,now when you click on the comments section it does not go to the comment but scolls it seems to comments at the top.

It is making me dizzy lol.

34. The only change made is the comments rating feature. The ratings has now been moved to the top of comment hope it helps!

35. David
    The erratic scrolling seems to coincide with the ‘ratings’ feature. Same thing last time.

36. in light of the problem should we leave it?

37. It is still going on…!

38. This man Bowman is a terrorist. He on every blog with the same thing. Have to wonder though if he has mental or psychological problem; he is certainly a nut case.

39. @ David

It’s happening, although it did not happen after my last post.

40. @ROk

The feature was turned off a moment ago:-)

@George Brathwaithe

Again you have commented and said nothing about Lindsay’s CBA. What should we glean from it?

41. So after his initial comments Ramphal is opting to stay silent, in the words of Rickey Singh
    “it is his reluctance to be drawn into public controversies over personal statements
    or positions adopted by him”

That’s right, make a controversial statement and then when the you know what hits the fan act like you are above the fray. If Ramphal thinks that his statement was not heard across the region he should think again as another politician of East Indian descent in Trinidad has added his voice to the mix, MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh of Trinidad & Tobago

Talk about “kith & kin”

http://www.nationnews.com/comments/guestcolumnists/rickey-singh–Aug-7-copy-for-web

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161507042

42. Had to reread Rickey Singh’s column, let’s see if we understand the noted journalist well. He contacted Ramphal to get a response on the reaction to his incendiary comments in a tinderbox environment wrought on Barbados and his position is ask the Nation newspaper to explain its editorial.

No where in the Singh article does Ramphal offer remorse for his undiplomatic mouthings. Even if we are to find logic in his statement about intimation of ethnic cleansing isn’t there a basis for him yielding on the position of using a newspaper editorial as the basis for commenting on such a sensitive and sovereign matter?

Here is news for Ramphal his legacy has been stained forever until he reasonable redresses the matter.

This ‘ethnic cleansing’ words game

Published on: 8/7/2009.

I AM QUITE SURPRISED by the anxiety of some
    to publicly malign, or simply engage the attention of, Sir Shridath Ramphal in relation to comments attributed to him by sections of the local/regional media about "ethnic cleansing" involving a controversial phase in the crackdown by Barbados immigration authorities against illegal CARICOM nationals in this country.

If I know anything about the public life of Sir Shridath, one of the most pre-eminent of our West Indian icons, it is his reluctance to be drawn into public controversies over personal statements
    or positions adopted by him.

I am therefore not holding my breath that the former chairman of the West Indian Commission may reply soon, if ever, to fellow columnist Carl Moore’s intervention of July 26 to accuse him
    of engaging in "ethnic cleansing" talk and, consequently, "disqualifying" himself as "a voice

of reason" on the immigration impasse between Barbados and Guyana.

Nor do I expect a response from him to last week’s call by former Barbados Central Bank Governor Sir Courtney Blackman – as reported
    by journalist Tony Best on July 31 – to consider withdrawing the "ethnic cleansing words".

It would be even more surprising if the author
    of Inseparable Humanity (an anthology

of reflections to mark the "150th Anniversary of the Abolition of Slavery" and the "Beginning of Indian Indenture") responds to the "open letter" from

the Guyanese trade unionist and political activist Lincoln Lewis (last Tuesday’s DAILY NATION) urging him to "intervene" in allegations of human rights abuses in Guyana.

Earlier in the week, I sought to interest
    Sir Shridath in a response to his critics over the reported "ethnic cleansing" remark.

He restricted himself to pointing me to his address of June 26 at the Inaugural Conference of the Caribbean Association of Judicial Officers under the auspices of the Caribbean Court of Justice, as well as to an editorial in the MIDWEEK NATION of last June 17 on the immigration controversy.

In his address, Caribbean Judiciaries
    In An Era Of Globalisation – Meeting

The Challenges, he had also referred, with "sadness" as he said, to the reported treatment

of CARICOM immigrants in Barbados mentioning neither ethnicity nor nationality, but noting:

" . . . Both policies and practices are deepening Caribbean divides. ‘The knock on the door’ at night
    is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of ‘ethnic cleansing’. No Caribbean leader would countenance such departure from

our norms and values; but all must not only believe but also act as if they believe that we forget our oneness at our peril; whether the ‘otherness’ that displaces it is an accidental place of our regional birth or otherness of any kind . . . . "

So why, I asked, was he questioned by a journalist in Georgetown during the 30th CARICOM Summit, about his reference to "intimations" (the operative word) of "ethnic cleansing"? Sir Shridath replied by pointing to THE NATION’s editorial of June 17, in which was located a surprising warning against "a disturbance of the existing equilibrium among races, a hallmark of Barbadian life".

Perhaps, said Sir Shridath, rather than "becoming very emotional and judgemental" about his reference to "intimations of ethnic cleansing", those really interested may wish to inquire of THE NATION what led to its editorial comment about
    "a disturbance of the existing equilibrium among races in Barbados".

l Rickey Singh is a noted Caribbean journalist.

43. David,
    You are absolutely correct. The statements made in an editorial column of the Nation Newspaper should not be construed as the policy of the Government of Barbados. For Ramphal to use those comments as the basis for justification of his ‘intimations of ethnic cleansing’ statement is totally unacceptable.

What is clear to me is that Ramphal was seeking to pander to his East Indian roots; that is known as ‘apanjaat’ in Guyana.

44. I refer to Ricky Singh’s column Published on : 8/7/2009

” So why, I asked, was he questioned by a journalist in Georgetown during the 30th CARICOM Summit, about his reference to “intimations” (the operative word) of “ethnic Cleansing”?

“Sir Shridath replied by pointing to The Nation’s editorial of June 17, in which was located a surprising warning against “a disturbance of the existing equilibrium among races, a hallmark of Barbadian life”.

It is quite possible to have “a disturbance of the existing equilibrium among races, a hallmark of Barbadian life” without any intimation of ethnic cleansing.

Sir Shridath has made an error of judgement.

This issue will “never” go away, it is so sad that in a long career this is what will be remembered of him; unless even at this late stage, he realizes the injustice he has done to the Government of Barbados and the citizens of the country, in which he sought comfort in the evening of his life.

45. John // August 6, 2009 at 3:03 pm

Lincoln Lewis should also give us some insight into his very abusive attitude towards his former spouses, namely, Elaine Ross, Samantha Hall and Charmaine Croft. All three of them, like many other Guyanese, were forced to flee not due to Lincoln’s false pontifications by rather after suffering at the hands of immense physical abuse from an often intoxicated Lincoln.
    ###########################

Jagdeo’s wife Varshini wrote that he subjected her to high tech domestic abuse. And he is the President of the country. It show the how cockeyed you PPP masqueraders are when it comes to fairness and balance

Varshini said the marriage between Jagdeo and herself was never consumated. That is in the press. So your matee Indian Prez fostered a lie in the nation of Guyana in order to mask his sexual preference.

46. John’s attack on the Lincoln Lewis’ character is nothing short of what the PPP does-engage in character assasiantions. Lewis should sue the bastard.

Jagdeo locked his wife out of their marital home, never consumate the marriage (he couldn’t bear having sex with a woman), and never registered the marriage. Check Varshnie interview with the media.

BU family, John is the typical PPP face. When these abusers are cornered or exposed they behave like lunatics, attacking persons and accusing them of every imaginable crime or sin under the sun. Trust me, if anyone understands Guyana, drinking rum, getting drunk and beating women is dominant in the Indian culture. And it happens even among Indian government ministers. Any Black man in public life will not be allowed to get away with that. His own community will shun him and call for his resignation

47. Rickey Singh is a sick piece of sh@#t. His column is a poor excuse in an exercise of nothingness. Hard as he tries with his fulminations and denial, there is no denying the fact that Ramphal was out of order.How can Ramphal make a comment on a editorial which is not the government position or reported it was? Foolshness!!!

Even as I read Singh’s pathetic excuse and Ramphal drool I hope Thompson indeed try to keep them out. They are a bothersome group of people B’dos can do without out.

48. Rickey Singh is a faux regional journalist who is really a PPP political activist. He writes for the Guyana Chronicle and is paid from the hard earned dollars of Guyanese taxpayers. Let Singh show three (3) articles he wrote calling on the racist, oppressive PPP government to govern for ALL Guyanese.

All these people see is race. Nothing else. Breaking the law is good if committed by Indians. See it in Ramphal’s accusation of “ethnic cleansing” when Barbados trying to enforce its laws. Crime is good when committed by Indians. Watch Shaheed Roger Khan case unfolding in the US Court. Abusing women is understandable if committed by Imdians. Observe the silence of the PPP women’s arm and Indian women to Jagdeo common-law wife complaints of abuse and asking for a place to live.

Singh and Ramphal are no different from the ordinary Indians. Like them they will support Jagdeo and vote PPP but they will not live in Guyana. They go and live in countries properly managed by black people who they despise with a vengeance. Even as they live on the kindness of black folks they will cuss and bully them to change their society to accomodate their lawlessness and racism. Barbados is reaping the benefit of this mindset.

49. It seems that columnist at the Trinidad Express find reason to justify Ramphal’s use of the term intimations of ethnic cleansing:

Further, his reference to Sir Shridath Ramphal’s use of the term in the Barbados/Guyana immigration conflict is a weak analogy. With respect, Dr Gopeesingh is not the senior regionalist and diplomat that Sir Shridath is, nor does he share Sir Shridath’s gift for oration.

It is clear from Dr Gopeesingh’s own statement that the context of Sir Shridath’s usage of the term fulfilled the geographic and demographic criteria of the definition, despite the reflex retort from prominent Barbadians. Further, Sir Shridath did not say "ethnic cleansing"; he said the Nation newspaper editorial contained "intimations of ethnic cleansing". This analogy does not help Dr Gopeesingh; again, it reinforces his misuse of the term.
    Read Full Article

50. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

It is repeatedly said to which I now concur,that the worst ‘negro’ is one who is so desirous of being accepted or liked by members of the other ethnic groups,that in the face of compelling facts and reason,he (the negro) will seek to debunk and not defend a position taken in support of a member of his race or the racial group as a whole.

To my mind jeff cumberbatch fits into that ‘elite grouping’.

His article in today’s Sunday’s Advocate,strenously seeks to convince us that shridath ramphal has no reason to apologise for his ethnic cleansing remark about Barbados,despite the fact that said article contains numerous examples of fallacious reasoning,and clear cases of how shridath ramphal’s assertion is not only wrong,false etc,but cannot be substantiated by the facts.

Yet Cumberbatch sees no harm done to wit an apology should follow – as a consequence of the damning statement made by shridath ramphal.

What a fine example of an Uncle Tom!

Consider in contrast the article in today’s nation by a top Barbadian diplomat in the USA, Charlie Skeete on the ramphal insult.

The only thing I can agree with jeff cumberbatch on,is the strange silence of the barbados government on the ramphal remark.