1. Sargeant I contributed several post that were on topic and gave my understanding of LH cost benefit analysis. Not many others joined in with their on topic opinions. Soon LIB was at it with his obfuscation attempts. How do we get on topic if no one seems to have been interested in the first place?

2. LIB knew of which liberal I speak. He has himself listed as a liberal on Facebook, followed the Obama campaign, lived in the in US for 20 years certainly he fooled no one.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

As straws fly in the wind and are clutched at….But a person who has liberal political views (which can include card carrying Socialists) and a Liberal (which carries some clear party affiliations) are very different animals. Followed the Obama campaign? True, and the Olympic Games…Lived in the US…but has no vote….What next? Writes right handed…Good grief! Someone save us!

4. Now why would I leave Boston for Barbados to meet with a Anti-Bajan Jamaican? Did I not stay out of Bean town when you visited?

btw I thought you were “off to Tokyo”? having a difficult time keeping your “stories” straight? Let me help you, were you off to attend an audio or video conference, with participants in Tokyo? ha ha ha lol! If not I can make to Bimshire before you can, let alone bake a ham for somebody. Oh and will Kofi be in attendence at your Thursday get together?

5. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH, got it right. Video conference in Denver, and then online meeting in Tokyo. Too expensive and time wasting to be jetting around. Kofi is travelling to east Africa… real planes, for him, I’m afraid. Anyway, the ‘usual suspects’ will be here tomorrow. You can link up by webcamera/phone or Skype. We
    are willing to accommodate your constraints.

6. @LIB did I tell you that I capture that page with the pic and comments? Well I did. right now that pic is making the rounds so that I can indentify and make aware, these two ladies, what said of them.

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH, jolly good. I indicated to David that I thought you would be the sort of person who would do that. Tad predictable? I think I have a pipe and deerstalker hat in a cupboard. Good story for tomorrow’s blog.

8. Hello All,
    Sometime over the weekend I will respond to the comments on my cost-benefit analysis of immigration in Barbados.

For the time being I will state that I have been practising Economics as a profession for thirty-one years, and that I understand the Barbadian economy extremely well. I will also explain the difference between an assumption and a hypothesis.

To some of the critics, cynics, and political yardfowls, if you understand economics so well, why don’t you invest the time and present detailed analyses that can be subjected to discussion.

9. livinginbarbados // August 5, 2009 at 9:27 pm

@AH, jolly good. I indicated to David that I thought you would be the sort of person who would do that. Tad predictable? I think I have a pipe and deerstalker hat in a cupboard. Good story for tomorrow’s blog.
    ————————————————–

You predicted nothing. You responded after the fact. Did you predict that I also have pics of Kofi? You should remind him to delete his plaxo account. An African and a Jamaican making “uncomplimentary” remarks about other blacks. Bimbro may very well have a fit when he is made aware of this. ha ha ha

10. Alright Lindsay Holder, I will wait on your response. In the mean time LIB is checking for this difference you mention. I would have said that Hypothesis and assumption are one and the same and I am amaze that LIB did not relish the opportunity to set me straight on this point, as he claims to be a meticulous sort of fellow yuh know what some of us may refer to as anal-retentive.

11. Adrian,
    Note that an assumption is a statement that is accepted without proof, while a hypothesis is generally a statement that can be tested and confirmed to be true or false. As I will explain in my full response, some assumptions can be recast as hypotheses that can be tested, others can’t. Therefore, it is not accurate to state that an assumption and a hypothesis are one and the same.

12. LIB,
    You indicated that an economist referred you to a book which indicated that there are substantial net benefits associated with immigration. If you want to make a substantial contribution to the debate, then you should read the book and tell us what are the circumstances under which those substantial net benefits occurred. You clearly are not an economist, since genuine economists know that the benefits of any economic policy depends heavily on the environment or circumstances under which that policy is implemented.

Also you should note that because there are disagreements in my profession, those disagreements do not in any way affect the integrity of the profession. Attempts to resolve or address some of the major theoretical and empirical disagreements in my profession have actually made it a fascinating and rigourous field of study, one that is recognised worldwide through the award of a Nobel Prize in Economics every year since the mid 1960’s.

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Lindsay Holder
    “If you want to make a substantial contribution to the debate, then you should read the book and tell us what are the circumstances under which those substantial net benefits occurred. You clearly are not an economist…”[I will see if there is a substantial contribution to make to the debate after I read your responses during the weekend.

I will also try to read the Philippe Legrain book if I can get a copy before the weekend. It was not available locally and I have to decide if the Amazon.com or Kindle route is better; if you have a copy that you could lend me, that might help.

I look forward to making my future contributions as a non-economist, but as an unqualified lay person, hoping that they will suffice.

You use a few terms that are not in my dictionary of economics, but it is old; I will see if ‘political yardfowl’ is in the later editions.

I had hoped that by working with economists for the same time as you something would rubbed off. But, alas. Now that I am free of the delusion that I am an economist, I will see how I can proceed. First off, I need to amend my CV and check with the universities about my degree certificates. I’m also going to go back to my employers and ask why they were employing me as an economist under false pretences. I hope that sorting that out can be done quickly. But apologies if that becomes my main focus in coming days; there’s a lot of personal history to be revised.]

14. George Brathwaite,
    Let me tell you what my agenda is.

My agenda is one of promoting good public policy, regardless of which political party constitutes the Government of Barbados. In all of the immigration articles I have written, there is absolutely no political bias. However, some of you have tried to impute poltical bias that does not exist. I need to let you know that, despite my political leanings, whatever those may be, I am not a member of any political party nor am I a political yardfowl. I did not go to school and to university to end up being anyone’s political yardfowl.

On the immigration matter specifically, no one can dispute that the mess we are currently facing is a result of the policies of the previous Government. If those policies are allowed to continue, Barbados will be in a total mess in a few years. You need to recognise that if illegal immigration is a problem for a country, then it must be addressed. Just like a sore, if left untreated, it will fester and become worse or fatal after some time. Despite your mouthings of political symbolism, a lot of fuzzy rhetoric, and use of high ‘falluting’ words, Barbados cannot absorb the countless number of disposessed Guyanese immigrants that have and will continue to flock to our shores in the absence of an immigration policy that is well formulated and implemented. There is a cost associated with such a policy, and that cost will be borne by all the bona fide citizens of Barbados.

You or no one has made out a case why Barbadians should be asked to bear that cost.

Rather than questioning my agenda, you should question that of the government of Guyana, which is bent on systematically exporting people so as to mitigate the political, social, and economic problems that the country faces. Does it not strike you as being strange that for the poorest country in CARICOM, its president comes across as being the biggest bully?

You seem to condone the use of words such as ‘gestapo-like’ tactics, ‘actions similar to the persecution of Jews in the 1930’s’, and ‘intimations of ethnic cleansing’ to describe the proposed immigration policies of the current Government of Barbados. I, however, don’t, and I will therefore speak out. I am a Barbadian, by birth, and I have a good feel for how Barbados reached the stage that it is currently at. Guyanese and Jamaicans could have emulated us and pursued similar policies, but they didn’t. Rather, they destroyed their own societies, and now expect people to be sympathetic to them. Yes, I could extend sympathy and compassion, but it does not mean that you have a right to take up illegal residence in my country.

15. LIB,
    If you want to engage me on economic issues, and you are trained in Economics, then act like an Economist.

It is not suffice to state that there is a book with the title of ‘Immigrants’ that indicates that there are substantial benefits to be had from immigration. That is not in dispute since we all accept that immigration can be beneficial to countries whose economic fundamentals are such that the migrants can be easily absorbed.

I dealt with the specific case of Barbados at this juncture in its history, and if you want to be credible then you need to deal with that specific case also, regardless of the assumptions that you choose to make. My refrain is this, ‘Write it and publish it in the newspapers or on the blog, and let your analysis be subject to the same scrutiny that mine has been subjected to.’

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    “If you want to engage me on economic issues, and you are trained in Economics, then act like an Economist.”[You just stated that I am not an economist (“You clearly are not an economist…”), and I am just getting comfortable with that.

You have written and published in newspaer and blogs, and are now being scrutinized. I’m happy to continue the scrutiny of what you have written and published from my new perspective.]

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I’m actually very grateful to Lindsay for having freed me from the constraints of being an economist, and now that I am not obliged to write and have it published, I think my commentary can become easier. I think that puts me on a par with most other commentators so is really much more comfortable and comforting.

18. @LIB

Forget the semantics and engage!

19. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    “On the immigration matter specifically, no one can dispute that the mess we are currently facing is a result of the policies of the previous Government.”[‘No one’ seems sweeping, but I will let those who feel that they would like to dispute squeeze in.]

“You need to recognise that if illegal immigration is a problem for a country, then it must be addressed.”[Does this mean that if you do not recognize this problem, then one does not need to address it? It would appear that within Barbados there are several groups for whom illegal immigration is not a problem because they derive substantial benefits from that process–some landlords, employers, retailers, for example.]

“Guyanese and Jamaicans could have emulated us and pursued similar policies, but they didn’t.” [Could the nationals of two countries as vastly different from Barbados in terms of size, population, and natural resources, have really emulated Barbados and achieved the same results?]

20. LIB,
    Size, population, and natural resources are not the issues. The central issue is that of sensible economic and social policies, not the idiotic socialism and cooperative socialism that were pursued in Jamaica and Guyana, respectively, in the 1970’s and 1980’s. Those divergences away from market forces accompanied by well formulated and implemented governmental interventions, e.g. the ample provision of some public and social goods together with good social legislation, adequate safety nets, and good governance, were and continue to be the source of the malaise that affects those two countries.

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

David, you cannot really have a meaningful discussion if you forget about semantics (and that is not a pun). Lindsay decided to redefine me, and I don’t have a problem with that.

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    “Size, population, and natural resources are not the issues.”[So, criticisms of the IMF et al as having a ‘one size fits all’ approach may be misplaced.]

“The central issue is that of sensible economic and social policies, not the idiotic socialism and cooperative socialism that were pursued in Jamaica and Guyana, respectively, in the 1970’s and 1980’s.”[So, the impact of what you call ‘idiotic’ policies pursued over say 20 years has had an impact that has not been removed after 3+ decades? What prospects does that suggest for those countries of the former Soviet Union? Presumably, they are doomed to failure. Cuba, clearly, has not a hope in Hades. It does not explain Haiti’s problems but let’s not get into that.]

“Those divergences away from market forces accompanied by well formulated and implemented governmental interventions, e.g. the ample provision of some public and social goods together with good social legislation, adequate safety nets, and good governance, were and continue to be the source of the malaise that affects those two countries.”[I’m not sure I fully understand, but you can clarify, if needed. I was away over the weekend but read about PM Thompson’s recent pronouncements, which seem to suggest a desire to move away from certain market forces. If that is so, how are we supposed to interpret the direction of the current administration’s economic policy?]

I’m intrigued on the illegal immigration side by a report I saw on CANA news this weekend (http://www.cananews.net/news/131/ARTICLE/40404/2009-07-29.html), where the PM is reported to have said “when the conditions are appropriate in Barbados and the resources are there for us to accommodate more Caribbean nationals beyond the categories that are already agreed, we will do so. But we’re not ready right now,”. The PM does not give a timetable for such readiness. However, the process of readiness may be underway. One of my contentions has been that the amnesty is meant to regularise illegal immigrants and what is the situation if those applications are largely approved (ie many illegals become legal–and I see a report that 6000 applications are being processed, and the PM indicated some weeks ago that most applications are being approved). If there is this mere change of status, with little net emigration, what will have changed? I can see revenue gains for the government from a new body of legal tax payers, but I see little change on the cost and pressure on resources side.

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

PM Thompson’s recent pronouncements that I had in mind were those reported in the Nation (July 29), http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/hotel-help, which indicated the “…hotel sector is in line for more Government aid. Consumers will also get some relief from sharply rising food prices with a state agency to intervene in the market to import goods and cut out the middle man.”

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I better say it now before I forget what it’s like to be an economist. Lindsay’s views on the key to economic success are almost classic IMF doctrine. If countries are broadly following it, then they should have little need for recourse to the Fund–even though there are many cases of market failure and crises that push countries to the Fund (as is happening in varied degrees to some Caribbean countries) to allow them a chance to stabilise rather than just sink. But, their ‘visits’ should be relatively short lived if the underlying economic policy directions were right. I wont speculate about Barbados’ current case, but that was essentially the case in the early/mid 1990s.

25. LIB,
    The former countries of the Soviet Union are not doomed to failure. West Germany absorbed the entire cost of re-unification with East Germany, a former socialist state. Yet, infrastructure, housing, and other public/social goods and services in the former East Germany are not on par with those of the former West Germany. It takes time to address those issues, but Germany is a wealthy country and over time those issues will be resolved.

All of the other former Soviet satellite states that have become or will at some point in the future become members of the European Union have a good chance of improving their standard of living. The reasoning is simple; in good times there is more than enough money in Europe that can be invested in making the weaker economies stronger, and that is exactly what will happen.

With regard to CARICOM, the havoc wreaked by the disastrous economic policies in Guyana and Jamaica have resulted in the migration of extremely large numbers of trained and experienced individuals from those countries. You cannot build up your human resource base overnight, and if economic conditions have not improved then the few trained and experienced individuals remaining will also seek to migrate. That has been well documented in Guyana and Jamaica, and without that human resource base the countries will remain mired in poverty.

Prime Minister Thompson said that the bulk of applications for renewals of short-term work permits for the construction and agriculture sectors would more than likely be approved, even though the approval process would take longer. Be absolutely clear about it, that is not the same as regularizing the status of illegal immigrants.

The 6000 outstanding applications that you have mentioned are applications for permanent residence or reside and work, not for renewal of short-term work permits. You can be sure that those applicants will have to meet the criteria laid down by the Government for its managed migration policy.

Lastly, reliance on market forces for the provision of private goods is essentially the norm in Barbados. Government intervention or forays with regard to the provision of some private goods has occurred in Barbados in the past, but those interventions did not impact significantly on the reliance on market forces for the provision of private goods. The prognosis for the future is the same.

26. What a waste of space and time this morning. LIB made reference to LH status as an economist, now that LH as risen to defend his credentials, questions those of LIB and at the same time begun to defend his publish work, what does LIB do? He starts to whine, and seems unable to move on to deal with LH article after calling for him to come into the blog. LH can I beg you to ignore LIB stupidity and continue to engage us by detailing your article for us lay people. Thank you.

27. @Lindsay

Appreciate as we have said before your willingness to engage the BU family on this vexing matter.

You felt you had to defend your credibility in previous comments by using the yardfowl reference.

Can you advise when your position on the current immigration mess would have been arrived at because to some the problems/cracks had started to manifest sometime ago.

As an adjunct how do you explain the silence emanating from many in your profession on this matter throughout the region. Perhaps you may feel that the question is outside the scope of the role you want to perform on BU but we feel it is relevant. Dispassionate debate on this issue would help to recalibrate much of the discussion which has been incendiary at best from our political leaders, academics, the media etc.

28. David, LH is justified in referring to George C Brathwaite as a yardfowl, if indeed it is GCB that he intended it for. GCB has on several occasions hinted that their is a personal reason on LH part for his position. As recent as this thread GCB once again hinted at something LH may have said on VOB to this effect. He has a right to defend himself. GCB is a known member of the BLP and his commentry todate has been pro party and dismissed as such.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    Thanks. Given the length of the replies, I will refer by opening sentences.

You did not address my first point on size etc. I presume that you will later agree or disagree on the matter of your siding largely with standard IMF economic policy doctrine.

“The former countries of the Soviet Union are not doomed to failure…”[Not to be pedantic, but they are COUNTRIES OF the FORMER…]

“All of the other former Soviet satellite states that have become or will at some point in the future become members of the European Union have a good chance of improving their standard of living.”[Agreed, and so do some or all of the others, depending on their policies and endowments. For example, Azerbaijan has and will benefit from its possession of oil and/or gas; no EU membership prospects, though being at the apex of western Europe and Asia, may toggle onto the EU’s coattails. The various -stans (Uzbekistan, etc.) have varied prospects which could hinge critically on whether they toggle successfully onto the economic fortunes of China and south east Asia.) Belarus is stubbornly socialist, but still seems able to survive on the coattails of Russia’s economic fortune.]

“With regard to CARICOM, the havoc wreaked by the disastrous economic policies in Guyana and Jamaica have resulted in the migration of extremely large numbers of trained and experienced individuals from those countries.”[Migration from these countries did not begin with the policies of the the 1970s/80s, and the large emigration beforehand in the 1950s/60s was not driven by the nature of the countries’ policies, not least because they were still under British rule for a large part of that period. So there is not one driving force–ie ‘idiotic’ socialist policies. Havoc had started to be wreaked on the countries’ human capital bases well ahead of independence and reflected an inability to produce good jobs/standard living in the Caribbean and explicit demands for labour from the UK. That demand side shifted somewhat toward the US in later years.]

“Prime Minister Thompson said that the bulk of applications for renewals of short-term work permits for the construction and agriculture sectors would more than likely be approved…”[Point taken]

“The 6000 outstanding applications that you have mentioned are applications for permanent residence or reside and work, not for renewal of short-term work permits.”[Understood, but were/are they not part of the existing stock of illegal immigrants?]

Lastly, reliance on market forces for the provision of private goods is essentially the norm in Barbados. Government intervention or forays with regard to the provision of some private goods has occurred in Barbados in the past, but those interventions did not impact significantly on the reliance on market forces for the provision of private goods. The prognosis for the future is the same.”[Can we agree to disagree on this, given that the PM has merely stated his intention? The actions touch on two very significant areas of local economic life, and what I understand to have been proposed are the type of measures that tends to get expanded not shrunk.]

I hope that I can make further commentary without having to go through a vetting committee. I see calls for you to ignore my comments, so if that is your view then I can easily desist, and let you engage with those who prefer to have you discuss the topic with them only.

I look forward to your reactions to points I’d made earlier in the thread.

30. David,
    I was in London in 2006, and while there I read some articles in the press that highlighted how Britain was seeking to address the issues faced by accession to European Union membership of the A2 countries, Romania and Bulgaria. Those articles confirmed my belief that if we in Barbados were not careful, we would end up with a severe problem on our hands.

Prior to that, I had recognised quite a while ago that the numbers of CARICOM immigrants, particularly Guyanese, were rapidly increasing. My approach then was to assume that the Government would address the matter in a systematic manner and bring the potential problem under control.

However, what irritated me intensely this year and prompted me to take on the issue was the comments made by the Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the President of Guyana, the leader of the Opposition in Guyana, and the nauseating drivel written by the so-called ‘prominent’ East Indian journalist in response to the Barbados Government’s announcement of its proposed managed migration policy. Following on the rantings of those gentlemen, we then had the distorted comments made by Professor Compton Bourne, Professor Clive Thomas, and Sir Shridath Ramphal.

The behaviour of those individuals seemed to suggest that Barbados is a country inhabited by a bunch of stupid complacent people, and that other CARICOM nationals should be allowed to enter the island as they please and do what they choose to without anyone questioning their right to do so. Note that Trinidad and Tobago repatriates Guyanese immigrants in plane loads, but they have not attacked T&T in the vitriolic and vicious way that they have gone after Barbados.

The fact is that Barbados is where it is because of sensible and pragmatic economic and social policies implemented by successive governments. We have also adhered to the rule of law, democracy, and good governance. Those principles can be followed by other countries in the region if they care to. The fact that some of them have not, and are now reaping the consequences of not having done so, is not the problem of Barbados or Barbadians. We have built our society into one that is envied by others in the region, and we must be conscious of that and ensure that it is not destroyed through careless public policy.

With regard to others not speaking out, that is a classic Barbadian problem. Most Barbadians want to get ahead without being seen as supporting a controversial policy stance taken by one political party or the other for fear of being targeted or labelled. Note, however, that they have their views that they would express in private, and they are not loath to exercise them at the ballot box. Since my articles have appeared in the press, several individuals, of both political persuasions, have complimented me and have expressed their desire to have the immigration issue fully ventilated.

31. What do you mean LH had to defend his credibility by using the “yardfowl” reference? This is an insult to educated people. Is that how it is to be done now on BU? Attack the person, not his or her argument?

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You made a comment about ignoring semantics, but here is one clear instance of why that may be dangerous.

“You felt you had to defend your credibility in previous comments by using the yardfowl reference.”[Yard fowl is a term whose meaning I do not understand in the Bajan context. If I interpret it in the Jamaican context, I could go off at a real tangent. So, for my benefit, a thumbnail description/definition would help (by email is fine) as another commentator did in differentiating ‘poor great/rakey’.]

“As an adjunct how do you explain the silence emanating from many in your profession on this matter throughout the region.”[Pending LH’s reply, I have gone on record asking several times over the past two years why economists are generally silent on MOST economic issues in Barbados. I have heard replies that talk of partisanship, reprisals and other negatives. This seems odd, because non-economists DO speak to the issues. I also think that discussion (by economists and non-economists) has been different in different countries, and that may reflect a sense that the perception of the problems are quite different.]

33. Yes Adrian,
    You are on to something, but I am up to the task and can defend myself and my writings against anyone. Like you, I am not a cynic, and I do not criticise simply for the sake of doing so. You should by now have recognised that it is always easy for someone to criticise or attack your writings, but ask them to put together meaningful stuff for public discussion and they don’t know where to start. For me, the debate is far from over; it has just begun.

As indicated earlier, over the weekend I will provide bloggers with some further comments on my cost-benefit analysis article. Those comments will indicate that regardless of how you try to twist or distort my assumptions, the conclusion will still be the same.

Adrian, also note that I have been invited to make a presentation to one of the Rotary clubs on Tuesday of next week. My presentation will be titled, ‘The CARICOM Immigration Issue Recast’, and in that presentation I will blend the economics of integration with the theory of economic development with unlimited supplies of labour to demonstrate that all the grand old talk about full freedom of movement with attendant rights is more myth than reality. As soon as I finish that document, I will e-mail it to David for posting on the blog.

As you indicated, it is time I go into the trenches. My submissions have been based on my knowledge of economics, Caribbean history, government and politics in the region, and public policy, and not on political partisanship. It is therefore inappropriate for individuals to suggest that I have an agenda. Hence I have used the term ‘political yardfowls’, and those individuals who fit that description can continue with their puerile rantings.

34. Themis

Lest I suffer any collateral damage in this battle of the economists, I venture to say that Holder used the loaded term “political yardfowl” in response to Brathwaite’s article . Brathwaite’s commentary from this viewpoint seemed to be a straight line political attack on the DLP to boost the fortunes of Mia motley and the BLP with the immigration issue as a backdrop. So much praise was heaped on the BLP and their stewardship over the years that it could have been used as a weekly BLP column.

What else can one say about his use of this quotation in his “provocative piece” his words not mine
    “we Barbadians have all worked too hard to build up our economy, society and culture to allow a stranger to come within our gates and arrogantly seek to pull down what we, as Barbadians, with pride have built up over the years.”

Who is the stranger to whom he is referring?

35. Themis // August 6, 2009 at 8:16 am

What do you mean LH had to defend his credibility by using the “yardfowl” reference? This is an insult to educated people. Is that how it is to be done now on BU? Attack the person, not his or her argument?
    ————————————————-

You too have demonstrating an inability to be non-partisan. Such is your cross to bare. But don’t make demands of us to help you.

Here are few of the comments that Georger C Brathwaite use in his responses to Lindsay’s articles

“In this lengthy polemic, Mr. Holder appears more to be attempting to resolve his personal sentiments and advance his patriotic stance in favour of Barbados, than examine the “current issues that provoke…..”

“To be sure, Mr. Holder with all due respect has told me more about his inherent prejudices than on his capacity to be empirical.”

“I still think that he should inform readers as to his agenda and the fact that his writings appear to be fueled by some personal discontent for which he briefly mentioned on a Sunday Brass Tacks some time ago.”

I think Lindsay was civil in just referring to him as a yardfowl. I would have been more scathing, had it been me that GCB said the above about.

36. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/LH
    I wanted to stay away from from jumping to a conclusion on “political yardfowl”, especially as just a day or so again David wrote “What BU would like to see is the day when opposing views can exist without the need to go AD HOMINEN (my stress). We are not quite there but we will not get there by avoidance or censorship.”

I don’t know (pending a definition) whether it is justified as AH would have us believe. I would have thought that given a certain level of professionalism it is a term that could have been avoided. So, when LH writes “Like you, I am not a cynic, and I do not criticise simply for the sake of doing so.” I stopped and thought.

LH, could you indicate which Rotary Club you will visit. Some who are on island may like the opportunity to see, hear and discuss the issues with you face to face. I put myself in that category (though I am not a Rotarian).

I’m not sure the analogy of the trenches is necessary, but I take that as literary licence and trust that your arms are more modern than those used in trench war fare. I have ‘mustard gas’ ready, though, and will be seeing if my old ‘tank’ can get fired up by the weekend.

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “Lest I suffer any collateral damage in this battle of the economists”[As metaphors fly like shrapnel, the ‘economists’ have fallen in number. I have been defrocked as an economist so am now a mere layman. It’s a freedom I have sought for over 30 years. But easy come, easy go.]

38. @LIB:
    My call to LH was to ignore your whining about his questioning your title as an economist. You did the same to him, take your like a man and stop whining

@Sargeant:
    I looked at that statement from the perspective of who can I use it to refer to, and not as you did which is to ask who is GCB referring too? I believe he is referring to the Prime Minister David Thompson. If so it is purely political and partisan, and therefore no requirement to be given worthy concideration as Themis would want. But I ask why is this GCB statement applicable to our Prime Minister and not to Illegal immigrants?

39. I am flanking LH not that he has asked me to so do. But GCB from the onset has demonstrated a willingness to get personal with Lindsay, and I think Lindsay has some very useful information for us all, therefore I have taken to learning as much as I can about GCB so that if and when he continues with his forays into Lindsay’s personal history I will be bringing his to light as well. I will be the self appointed umpire of this debate. GCB keep LH’s personal stuff out, or yours will be introduce.

40. @LIB/Themis

Again your inclination to resort to semantics will only seek to put an unnecessary edge to the discussion. As AH correctly pointed out George Brathwaite invited the kind of response he got, please his comments above. Yardfowl as a Bajan colloquialism often refers to a person with a diehard position when used in a political context.

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    If past experience is any guide, as the debate goes, you may find every remark combed over for consistency and content, bias etc. (Some may even go hunting for information in other places to try to discredit you. Some would call it ‘dirty warfare’).

You have written “It is therefore inappropriate for individuals to suggest that I have an agenda. Hence I have used the term ‘political yardfowls’, and those individuals who fit that description can continue with their puerile rantings.” To me that is a statement that is not at all neutral.

You also indicated that you do have (personal, or it may be a sense of national) grievances: “However, what irritated me intensely this year and prompted me to take on the issue was the comments made by the Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the President of Guyana, the leader of the Opposition in Guyana, and the nauseating drivel written by the so-called ‘prominent’ East Indian journalist in response to the Barbados Government’s announcement of its proposed managed migration policy. Following on the rantings of those gentlemen, we then had the distorted comments made by Professor Compton Bourne, Professor Clive Thomas, and Sir Shridath Ramphal.” Again, your descriptions are not neutral.

So, perhaps unwittingly you have outlined your ‘agenda’. If that is not the case then you will be doing the Obama walk back. But good luck.

I’m however, going to leave you to do as you want and prepare your responses. If you want to send your paper to my e-mail address it’s on my blog. I also don’t have any problem posting it on my blog (but I say that to in no way detract from your choosing your preferred place to have it dissmeninated, and also to not get David annoyed with thoughts that I may be poaching).

Just for passing interest, have you sought to post on Norman Girvan’s site and if so what was the reaction?
    Have a good day.

42. Adrian,
    Well said.

You know, some people like to share licks but can’t take. I can both give and take without any bitterness. What I despise, however, is people attacking me and imputing all sorts of motives to my writings without being able to refute the facts or propose workable alternative assumptions. Hence the term ‘political yardfowls’.

LIB, rest assured, you are not included in that category.

43. David Can I ask you to, at some point take out those comments that LIB made in the early morning exchange with LH and that he is now suggesting are queries for LH, and present them as a series of queries/questions from LIB to LH. I simply do not want LIB to run about claiming that LH has not answered him, as I think he is deliberately complex in his submissions to confuse not enlightened. Of course you should seek LIB approval that the comments you are putting together for LH to answer are indeed the correct ones.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LH
    “LIB, rest assured, you are not included in that category.”[I was personally not in doubt, but am duly and doubly reassured by your comment.

I do find it odd that some one should seek to help you understand what you have to deal with by way of Q&A. However, if you accede to that, or feel that my questions or others are unduly complex, I would happily try to reformulate for you. I’m hoping that this is not a trend that the moderator will follow, because it could become a real headache for him if it goes far.

As I said, if you do want a reformulation don’t hesitate to communicate by e-mail. I don’t plan to spend much longer online blogging.]

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I really do not know how to respond to the following from AH: “I will be the self appointed umpire of this debate.” I really look forward to your reply. If this were Parliament (which it is not) I would wonder if the Speaker’s authority was being usurped or undermined by a member from the floor. We should all recall what happened a few weeks ago in the House.

46. @LIB
    It wasn’t LH who made the request, It was AH. LH is not the only one following this debate. We are and it is with us lay people in mind that I make my request. You are complex in your submissions, and yes I do believe it is deliberate on your part, never mind the silliness of commincating in a way that your audiance in none wiser. Maybe thats your aim.

47. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

For clarity, my main points to LH on his CBA were made much earlier/several days ago, not this morning. LH has dealt well (as far as I am concerned) with somethings additonal that he introduced today, and he has promised his substantive replies over the weekend on earlier points.

48. livinginbarbados // August 6, 2009 at 9:58 am

I really do not know how to respond to the following from AH: “I will be the self appointed umpire of this debate.” I really look forward to your reply. If this were Parliament (which it is not) I would wonder if the Speaker’s authority was being usurped or undermined by a member from the floor. We should all recall what happened a few weeks ago in the House.
    ————————————————

Then don’t, but atlast you must.
    This blog is not parliament so why muse abou such?

49. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    “it is with us lay people in mind that I make my request.” [Again the nosism (us). It is your sole voice and that of a self appointed umpire, to boot. That sounds a little dictatorial. I hear so far no chorus from the rest of the constituents. I’m sorry if I seem complex but I live in a world of complex issue, I am also not a simpleton, or despite remarks to the contrary, stupid.]

50. livinginbarbados // August 6, 2009 at 10:02 am

For clarity, my main points to LH on his CBA were made much earlier/several days ago, not this morning. LH has dealt well (as far as I am concerned) with somethings additonal that he introduced today, and he has promised his substantive replies over the weekend on earlier points.
    ————————————————
    Oh quit already. Clarity is your not aim. If David does not honor my request I will take all your questions to LH and put them to another blog and invite LH to make his reponses, then I will introduce them back here individually for us lay people to ponder on.