Submitted by Lindsay Holder

The following articles were submitted to the local press for publication. To date, three of these articles have been published.ย There are status statements at the end of those articles that have been published.

Why does Barbados remain in CARICOM, the CCJ or the CSME? These institutions appear to be a net drain on our resources. Time for PM Thompson to throw down the gauntlet and forge a new regional arrangement which returns to the original ideas of functional cooperation and mutual assistance. Forget this quicksand of political and economic integration. Barbados for 400 years provided wealth to England, now independent we must not let others take what we have built up. Beware the Trinidad/Guyana mafia, it brings only misery and death!!
patriotic barbadians need to come and march to show solidarity with the government and support for the policy of managed migration. we must turn in a massive number and full up the streets of bridgetown in one big march. a saturday afternoon would be good. we will march to defend our country and government. barbados for bajans. if the guyanese hate that, tell them get out and go back to guyana and carry their nasty habits with them.
In the final analysis,I will deem the following enemies of the state of Barbados
1. Stabroeknews
2. The Nation news
3.Stabroeknews overseas based bloggers.
4 Ricky Sing
5 A small percentage of Guyanese living in Barbados.
The majority of Guyanese here in Barbados , whether legal or illegal are not the ones kicking up a fuss. So too are the majority of Guyanese in Guyana. The agitators and mischievous ones who are calling on God to strike Barbados with a hurricane and all that, and demonstrations against Prime Minister Thompson in Georgetown are those refugees who had absconded from Guyana never to return, living in the USA, Canada, the United Kingdom and right here in Barbados.Then there are those who live a privilege life outside of Guyana,but see it fit to drag down Barbados ,its people and its policy , just to be on the band wagon. In this sad state of affair , we must remember that there are many law abiding Guyanese living among us .
Scout do you know what “host” means?
For all those who asked Leviticus Chapter 19, verses 33 to 34 says “and if a stranger sojurn with thee in your land, ye shall not vex him, but the stranger that dwelleth with you shall be unto you as one born among you, and thou shalt love him as thyself, for ye were strangers in the land of Egypt”
We need the church(es) to guide us to the Christian response.
If Immigration officers are “raiding” homes in the foreday morning, do they have search warrants issued by the courts?
And if no search warrants have been granted is it not unconstitutional to enter a person’s home without a warrant?
David your friend the PM is a lawyer (I am not) maybe you or he can answer this question for me and the rest of the BU “family”
And this one for the church going Scout, from Leviticus chapter 19, verses 9 and 10 “and when ye reap the harvest of your land, thy shall not wholly reap the corners of thy field, neither shalt thou gather the gleaning of thy harvest, and thou shalt not glean thy vineyard, neither shalt thou gather every grape of thy vineyard; thos shalt leave them for the poor and stranger, thus says the Lord thy God”
J
I thought you knew, I’m uneducated, after all, I’m bajan,how do you expect me to know what “host means?
You people do like taking the Bible passages out of context and use them to your fancies. However, I never lived or visited Egypt.
@J
Do you think that our Fourth Estate should be bring this information you are asking us about? It’s time your profession steps up to the plate.
David to J
Do you think that our fourth estate should bring this information…………
It is time your profession steps up to the plate.
A mighty hit for six David.
Now kim young put that in your pipe and smoke it.
Wuhloss.
Lindsay Holder
Have you seen your article re peter wickham’s analysis in today’s nation on line.
Is this the first article they have posted and did they delete any part of it?
Just checking.
MUBB,
Yes, out of six articles that I have submitted to the Nation Newspaper, the one appearing today is the first that the Newspaper has published.
Yes, the Nation deleted two paragraphs. I will shortly submit the full text of the article to BU’s administrator so that it can be posted on the blog.
MUBB,
Correction. The article appearing in today’s Nation Newspaper is a redacted version of the article, ‘Peter Wickham – Nonsense and More Nonsense’, posted on this Blog.
I have just submitted the article, ‘Due Process and Other Immigration Issues – Open Letter to Professor Compton Bourne’, for posting on the Blog. That article appears in today’s edition of the Barbados Advocate Newspaper.
@LHolder
Rather than focus on whether the newspaper published your submission in totality–because we know that editing is part of the process for all media of high quality and there are genuine space constraints with print versions–do you feel that the editing materially affected your arguments?
And before any jumps up, no media has any obligation to any writer/contributor to take what is offered without editing, even in-house staff are under that rule.
@Peter Wickham
Your silence is deafening! We know that you follow BU why not respond to Lindsay Holder’s challenge?
What makes Mr Holder’s comments even more worthy is that this gentleman is a loyal friend of Owing Arthur but he has chosen to write on the matter as a sensible loyal Barbadian, putting friendship aside which to me makes his comments even more biting and worthy.
There is much being made about nothing, if you live and work illegally you should expect to be asked to leave at some stage, simple and plain, it also appears to me that this story is given much fuel to run on by the likes of Ricky Singh and Roxanne Gibbs two transplants from Guyana to Barbados, my suggestion to both of you is if you two are unhappy with the Gov’t of Barbados’s policy re illegal Guyanese and other illegals you are free to relocate back from whence you came to your homeland, I am sure that they will be only too happy to receive you once again.
Professor Compton Bourne may be well advised in his position to avoid making comments of a political nature while in office and in a foreign land.
LIB,
Your recent submission is rather strange.
We all know about the editorial policy of newspapers, but deleting material that alters the context within which statements have been made is not appropriate. In such circumstances, not publishing the article is a better policy that publishing it with redacted portions that alter the context of the article.
True, the Nation Newspaper has no obligations to publish any articles submitted by me or anyone else, with or without redacted portions. But let me ask you this question. “Did it not publish the drivel, sad stories, and inflammatory statements carried in editorials or other pages of the Stabroek News without any redactions?”
Lastly, it is the same Nation Newspaper that requested me to collapse my article, ‘Immigration Blues in CARICOM’, into two instalments of 750 words each. Would that article have had the desired impact if it hade been collapsed into the two instalments?
@LHolder
No where that I know does a newspaper not exercise its right to edit, if it feels the need, and the reasons can be many. Hence my request to you to stress if the editing materially affected your argument.
A word limit is a reasonable control device and you know that for many professional journals/publications you would be subjected to that. You may be able to negotiate with a professional journal about what is taken or left. But, we also know that it is an accepted part of the discipline of writing. It is rare that such a process of negotation over length occurs with a newspaper (especially if they are trying to touch on matters of immediate import).
To the extent that any of your publications in the papers, if they have been edited before publication in a manner that you feel distorts or ignores the context or distorts your argue, would elicit a nasty rebuke to The Editor (which of course, he/she may or may not publish).
What The Nation has done in publishing material drawn from elsewhere is what it often does, reproduce existing news copy, but usually that is not very long.
I would like to think (but it totally hypothetical) that had your original pieces been shorter they would be have been published in full, in a series as has been the case with the Wickham and Jeff Cumberbatch pieces. I don’t know if you explored that option.
What you offered several weekends ago was a treatise, as far as most newspapers are concerned, and that you went at length into the exposition is to your credit. The Advocate split the presentation over 2 publications (not sure if that was with agreement by you). I read them in full and did not count the number of words, but many/several commented on this blog about their excessive length. They were certainly the longest pieces I have seen by an outside author in any of the local papers, but will defer to others with longer histories if that is not the case.
But, you have the blogs, such as BU, where, I presume, the moderator has not to impose any length restrictions. You could also have your own website and be master of your own publication destiny. You can also use it to indicate the rebukes you send to The Editors.
LIB,
Thanks for the objective comments.
Best regards.
@LIB
We see that you have become the defender of the status quo. It is ironic Peter Wickham was heard defending the editorial policy of the Nation newspaper the very same paper which blocked his column during the last election. All must be well in paradise now.
Here is the hard truth LIB. Given the current debate any submission by Lindsay Holder given the ensuing discussion post-Barbados Advocate publication of his exposition would probably have done wonders for its circulation which has been flat for sometime despite its marketshare. The additional incentive is the importance to the Nation’ s credibility given its readiness to give full page prominence to news regurgitated from the Guyana newspapers, Rickey Singh et al by exposing the views of a prominent Barbadian.
There is a lot more we can say about the tainted editorial policy of the Nation newspaper on the immigration/Guyanese matter specifically but it might compromise individuals undeserving of censure.
I hope the critics of PM Thompson’s immigration policy including Mr. Wickham, would read and re-read
W I V’s latest posting quote ‘There is much being made about nothing, if you live and work illegally you should expect to be asked to leave at some stage, simple and plain’ .
Great work Lindsay, whether one agrees with you or not you have certainly raised the level of debate on this issue. We need you back doing some teaching in our department.
My question is, given the sensitivity of the movement of people across borders, should nations make major changes in immigration policy as part of a single market for example, without reference to the public, in say the form of a referendum?
I do not know if being referred to as defender of the status quo is a compliment or a criticism. I do not flip-flop, so in trying to be consistent, I write things as I see them. Lindsay seems to understand my point as it goes to his writing, and really that is of most importance.
I am not defending the editorial policy of a particular paper, merely making a point that such policies cut many ways, often not to the liking of a contributor. I would like to think that in trying to uphold whatever standard they have they do it consistently. The Nation and The Advocate have cut my pieces (never changed my words) and I tell them that I do not care because I will publish in full on my blog. I had my oral remarks edited to fit a time slot and while it did not really affect my main thrust it left out key points. Again, I published in full on the Internet.
We are no longer in the era of a single or limited range of organs for our views. But, honestly, I find it odd that on the one hand you can say the equivalent of these papers are a bunch of no-counts, then place so much emphasis on what they do if you do not like the stance. You cannot have it both ways.
As I said about balance, both main papers are tainted, as are the VOB and CBC. Each has a set of biases, which is sometimes very clear, but othertimes a bit opaque, but still there.
@livinginbarbados
but many/several commented on this blog about their excessive length.
Must have been another blog, there was only one complaint on the length on this blog. Perhaps David can confirm.
Anyway whatโs the problem in exploring an important issue at length? It seemed to have grabbed everyoneโs attention.
Lindsay Holder
I mash up & buy back – applaud you.
You have been relentless in your defence of this blessed land – like any true patriotic son of the soil should.
Please don’t be misled by living in barbados that many on this blog commented on the length of your fist piece to the advocate – insinuating they felt it was too long.
That is the nature of the beast.
I recall only one blogger ‘J’ who made that comment,and others like adrian,david and myself supported your full post.
I detect your sincerity on this matter and a desire to bring the barbadian perspective which to my mind was brilliantly laid out.
If it were possible for the ill wishes of non nationals in this country to bring about our demise – then Barbados would now be keeping company with the likes of Haiti and Guyana.
On re-reading, I will take the ‘status quo’ label as a criticism (though mild). I have always been referred to as an iconoclast for NOT towing the line. By I was raised to speak my mind. Have I mellowed with age? Is something in the water in Barbados must be responsible? Do I have a reason to love BWA after all?
For the pedants out there, it can be towing or toeing the line…
If you ever listen to Living in Barbados aka Dennis Jones on Down to Brasstacks – he uses a lot of words and ends up making no sense or saying anything of depth.
If you can,please ignore him.
@LIB
While you contain your argument within the editorial policy of the respective media houses we prefer to believe though with great difficulty, the dynamic role a Fourth Estate MUST play as it interacts with the other realms of the estate. As a developing society about the navigate a path strewn with challenges the role of the Fourth Estate MUST align with the job at had.
@MUBB/Sargeant
One tendency, and it’s interesting, is for some (not many) to feel that they need to speak for others. I wrote ‘many/several’ (and honestly did not count or care, but merely noted that length came up as an issue; yes some/several commented that length was not an issue for them–but it’s not set text so hopefully no marks will be deducted from those who did not read it all). I could say that I know many who did not read the articles in the newspapers because they were turned off by its length. I accept that was a casual observation made over the first two days of publication.
Length can be an issue for some and it is often cited as a negative feature. Several of my former bosses often swore that they would not read any thing I sent them if it was over one page in length.
I think Lindsay understands the point.
Anyway, as Justin says, thanks to Lindsay for being amongst those (not the only one) to have raised the level of the debate.
Justin,
Thanks for your comments.
I will try and make myself available for teaching from the next academic year.
On the referendum issue, Jay on this blog also raised that question. I think that there is some merit to it.
There are many matters that must be addressed on the CSME and freedom of movement with accompanying work rights, but they have not got the attention that they deserve.
I sincerely believe that freedom of movement with accompanying work rights for ‘bona fide citizens’ of the islands known as the ‘Little Eight’ is feasible. The term ‘Little Eight’ was used after the break-up of the Federation.
There is a lot in common between those islands. I, however, do not beleive that such freedom of movement is feasible with either Guyana or Jamaica at this time. With all due regards to Jamaica, Bruce Golding is trying his best. Note that he has not commented on Barbados’ immgration policy. I look forward to the day when Jamaica gets back on its feet; it is a wonderful country.
With regard to Guyana, there is so much too be done that it seems impossible. At the current rate, if Guyana continues to export its problems, it will never develop given that it is an already under-populated country. If that occurs, there will be nothing to gain from integration with that country, and that is the harsh economic reality of the situation.
I will let sargeant speak for himself,but I will say this for my self to you living in barbados.
Your explanation above is at best dishonest.
Your direct quote to lindsay holder was that:”I did not count your exact words,but many/several on THIS BLOG commented on its excessive length”.
This is the second time within a few days that I have noticed that living in barbados makes a negative comment or insuination about a fellow blogger,but when challenged and found to be guilty of false accusation – he never apologises but seeks to engage in fudging and spin.
In today’s example he now moves from ‘many on this blog commented on the length of lindsay’s article’,to ‘many of my friends who read the article in the newspaper felt it was too long’
If you can’t trust a man too be truthful in what he writes or say,I would think it is difficult to trust him in other things.
David & BU Family
Prime minister thompson will be ding a live regional press conference in Guyana at 1:00 p.m. today.
It will be broadcast live throughout the region.
@MUBB
I have no problem with being proved wrong on ‘many/several’ on this blog and will gladly withdraw the reference, even resubmit it and ask David to delete the original. It still does not detract from the point I wished to make and I think Lindsay understands (though I dare not take silence as being consent) the length of the piece detracted readers. That I know for a fact as far as my circle goes, hence my drawing on the well-worn path of ‘casual observation’. I can quantify them.
With due respect (and Lindsay please feel free to answer directly) I did not make an insinuation against him if “negative comment or insuination about a fellow blogger” was pointed in his direction. If he were not the blogger in question, please specify so that due apologies can be given.
With regard to my commentaries on the radio, they are often very short and not a lot of words (rarely as long as 5 minutes). I have no problems with the transcripts and recordings being used to prove that point.
Again, I am in your debt for being the arbiter of truth. If asked, would you identify yourself?
@MUBB
Just so that it’s clear to those who may not read the full thread, I did not move from one point to another. I made two separate points: the one concerning the blog, I am prepared the concede; the other, concerning my friends, I will definitely hold.
The risk with commentary is that one gets misquoted and even in your submission your cite me twice but change the words in my citation, without remark. Should I start to wonder?
@Justin Robinson/LHolder
“My question is, given the sensitivity of the movement of people across borders, should nations make major changes in immigration policy as part of a single market for example, without reference to the public, in say the form of a referendum?”
Referendums may be the way to go for the immigration policy issue, but you have to then accept that if you go that route the expectation may be for other ‘sensitive’ issues to be dealt with similarly. Of course, there is no reason to have the referendum once, and EU countries and the state of California (as an US example) have used the method several times to see public approval/disapproval on a single issue.
I do not know the Barbados Constitution well, so am unsure of what its provisions are for a referendum, and how any results would/could be binding on a government.
LIB,
I am not really caught up with the debate about length of articles and the editorial policy of the newspapers on that issue. My main point is that the newspapers, if they are to be seen as impartial, must strive for balance with regard to the letters they publish and to the material they reproduce from other newspapers. If it is apparent that such a policy is being adhered to, then there would be less opportunity for criticising the newspapers.
“While you contain your argument within the editorial policy of the respective media houses we prefer to believe though with great difficulty, the dynamic role a Fourth Estate MUST play as it interacts with the other realms of the estate. As a developing society about the navigate a path strewn with challenges the role of the Fourth Estate MUST align with the job at had.”
It’s hard to argue without putting a limit of some parameters. When we don’t others say we have strayed off topic. But, I do not see ‘editorial policy’ as narrow, but governing all that is done by a media house.
But, I really do not understand the point you are making in the final sentence.
@LHolder
Nor am I caught up on the matter of length. If it makes others happy, I can say that the length of your submission is your business; that does not address the matter that the publisher may want to cut it down.
But I am also not of the view that the local media are striving to be seen as impartial. Admittedly, my experience here is short, but I see little to hold onto regarding a search for impartiality.
@LHolder
What we don’t know about the papers is what they do in totality: we see published letters, but not those in the trash bin.
As I have tried to say also, we no longer need be hostage to the editorial policy of a given paper, because things like the Internet mean that self-publishing at least, or publication elsewhere is a real and often more effective option.
Lindsay please do not get bogged down in this back n’ forth banter with LIB. You will get nowhere very fast.
Will someone please take notes of the PM comments and report back please!
@Adrian Hinds
Why on earth do you feel you need to advise Lindsay? Give the man the respect to be able to think for himself.
Is the PM on the radio? So far I can’t find a radio station carrying his press conference.
ha ha ha um is real funny to receive advise against advising someone else. I gine live by the example that i would wish others to follow. I gine tek muh own advise.
@Adrian Hinds
VOB is carrying the broadcast…
@Livinginbarbados
Parsing!Parsing!Parsing!
Lindsay Holder was asked if he submitted any articles to the newspapers and if they were edited. He responded that yes he submitted articles and an edited copy appeared in the Nation. Who tell he to say dat? You immediately launched into a defense of the newspaper and its editorial practice. You even said that many on this blog found his previous article too long (since redacted) and that among your circle of friends it was thought to be too long. What kind of friends do you have? I mean they canโt be so shallow that they canโt spend at most 20 minutes to read the article.
Yuh mean yuh got enough time to read and respond to the โpostsโ from PDC and now you say that the article was too long.
In the local parlance โWheel and come againโ.
Can someone explain โThe spirit of Caricomโ? Or should I ask David Ellis?
Thompson has done Barbados proud having this press conference. He is truly the truthful and realistic leader with a clear vision. Gonsalves and Jhagddeo can go and finger themselves.
My boy is basically telling them “calm yourselves”, “cease and settle”, “get your facts straight”. Guyanese journalists rightfully humbling themselves after all the frothing! Haha!
@Sargeant
“What kind of friends do you have? I mean they canโt be so shallow that they canโt spend at most 20 minutes to read the article.” [Very intelligent ones, many of whom spend the day reading long documents for a living and books for pleasure. I will ask some of them why they chose not to read Lindsay’s article. I could presume that the subject was not of interest. That would be justification enough. Perhaps they are unlike me and do not want to delve into this issue. Who knows? Is their not reading the articles a new sin?]
Yuh mean yuh got enough time to read and respond to the โpostsโ from PDC and now you say that the article was too long. [I read my own comments again concerning Lindsay’s articles, “I read them in full and did not count the number of words…” I did not say that I found the article too long. Hold the belief you wish to, despite the evidence to the contrary.]
Truth be told, I have no idea how many people have read what Lindsay wrote, and do not try to guage that. What I know is that some people have and sought fit to comment on it on this and other blogs. Counting the new commentators might even lead me to believe that not many people have read the pieces.