Submitted by Lindsay Holder

The following articles were submitted to the local press for publication. To date, three of these articles have been published.ย There are status statements at the end of those articles that have been published.

Thompson just does not get it! He keeps missing the point.
No one is saying that barbados does not have the soverign right to determine its Immigration Policy, what they are saying, is a loud: “No” to the “inhumane treatment of undocumented CARICOM nationals who are being rounded up and deported, while their possessions; money clothing and everthing else of value – is stolen by DLP members and supported.”
Now we know why! Thompson said in Guyana:
“Barbados is not in breach of any of its Treaty obligations – in removing those persons, whose presence in our country is sanctioned neither by our immigration laws nor by any of the provisions within CARICOM, to which we have agreed.”
In short, they are Guyanese “illegally,” and as such, illegal presence cannot claim layful ownership – hence justification for DLP members and supported to call the immigration and once immigrants are ambushed by the Immigration office – the dems can move in and steal their stuff.
This “Inhumane David Thompson deportation policy” is turning out to be extremely lucrative for DLP members and supporters, since it forms part of “Thompson’s fatted calf doctrine.”
This debate is swiftly turning into one where people are shouting their point of view to others who are shouting back their points of view and they are speaking of two different matters. No one disputes Barbados’ right to “manage” immigration, that point is a given. Now, how do we treat deportees? Are all the stories of inhumane treatment fictitious? Thompson seems to be quite clear on this as well, and his opinion differs from most on this blog who are claiming to support him 10000% or some equally ridiculous figure. Read the front page of today’s Nation.
This โInhumane David Thompson deportation policyโ is turning out to be extremely lucrative for DLP members and supporters, since it forms part of โThompsonโs fatted calf doctrine.โ
The Prime Minister had to explain to a Guyanese journalist the difference between being deported and being asked to leave. That could explain how the Guyanese government count 53 and the Prime Minister said 4 persons were deported since the raids started. The other 49 were asked to leave and placed on a flight to Guyana.
The Guyana immigration count the 49 as deported. They could show the Barbadian press that is there now their passports that were stamped deported.
They are just trying to make Barbados look bad at every turn. The Prime Minister still has not convinced them about his policies because they are still complaining.
Let the immigration stand firm and continue the raids.
The CDB head, Ricky Singh and any other Guyanese can cry as much as their like. The laws of this country must be respected.
Patriotic Bajan
You ain’t even hear the best,even jagdeo could not tell the difference whenasked, between being asked to leave and deported.
The President of Guyana ,mind you.
I wonder if Jagdeo went to school.That man sounded so pathetic in that david ellis interview.
The man cannot even form a sentence then.
But is there a difference as Thompson is saying? The Immigration Act speaks to a deportation order being made, but whether one is deported or only removed, he cannot return to Barbados without the consent of the Minister….see section 21 (10) of the Immigration Act, Cap 190 of the Laws of Barbados.
The following is a copy of my comments on Stabroeknews under the article Barbados open to structured re-admission of overstays (quoting the Prime Minister of Barbados)
###########################
Ruel Daniels 98.88.127.8 not found says:
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
July 2, 2009 at 8:34 pm
Leave the damn Bajans alone. They built their nation into one in which they could be proud while Guyana is being run into the ground by a bunch of corrupt politicians. Some Guyanese continue to vote for this regime, and then want to go and enjoy the environment Bajans struggled and sweated for.
The Bajans have seen what is happening in three distinct countries, namely Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, and Fiji. The fact that the circumstances in all three of them are almost the same is enough evidence for any sensible group of people to do what is necessary to avoid their nation becoming a replica of any of those three.
Barbados, Antigua and other Caribbean islands have no moral obligation to support refugees from Guyana while lottery and CLICO money is being stolen right left and center. The Government of this Country should hang its head in shame, to be criticizing a nation with a positive developmental history while it goes around the world with hat in hand begging for alms, and converting whatever it receives to its own partisan political use and benefit.
The current laws as it pertains to Barbados immigration law dictates that if someone has overstayed their time & are removed[basically pay for their own ticket home] they cannot return to Barbados for 1 year.If a person however not only overstays their time but also have to be removed at Government’s expense they are basically banned for life from Barbados until the Minister in Charge of Immigration says otherwise.
Hello Fellow Bloggers,
Did any of you listen to the 7.00pm CBC news tonight?
In an interview with members of the press today, President Jagdeo of Guyana accused Barbados of lying and of using ‘gestapo-like’ tactics in its repatriation of illegal Guyanese immigrants.
I think that it is time that Prime Minister David Thompson put on his boxing gloves.
Lindsay Holder
I concur entirely.
We need a Ton Adams like persona to deal with this uncouth phillistine.
Really he is saying his lying,criminal lot gave their story and the barbados prime minister gave his and therefore what thompson is saying is a lie.
What the shite more thompson need to hear?
Unfortuately, I didn’t hear the evening news, however, if what you are saying is true, then my remarks earlier should be accepted. Remove ALL guyanese immigratants from Barbados even if it means pulling out of Caricom because this is heading in the same direction as the federation and we must not be stuck with a growing indo-guyanese culture of arrogants.
I wonder if my P.M realise that he has the destiny of our offspring in his hands?
Hello Folks,
The immigration fracture between Barbados and Guyana seems to be no longer a spat; it seems to be assuming dimensions of an all-out war.
The President of Guyana is making much ado about nothing over the numbers; his focus should on whether those Guyanese repatriated were illegal or not.
Then, he has the gall to publicly accuse the Government of Barbados of ‘gestapo-like’ tactics. Clearly, for me at least, the behaviour of Jagdeo has done nothing to further the cause of Guyanese. Rather, it will contribute to resentment on the part of most Barbadians, and make it more difficult for most of us to embrace Guyanese and treat them as one.
@The Scout
I think what is at stake is much greater than that.2 Countries are desperately asking 1 leader to solve all of its problems,but only 1 leader actually truly belongs to one country.
I think the Immigration raids should be expanded dramatically until the illegal immigration mess has come under control.Barbados should not offer ANY soft treatment as prescribed by some leaders.I think the progress at the Caricom level maybe able to progress where we can have a ‘managed migration’ process at the Caricom level since it doesn’t seem like Barbados can easily withdraw from Treaty of Chaguaramas.
Most of Caricom seems to be getting the point & getting Barbados’ position.Not once have I seen one leader suggest Barbados withdraw from CSME or Caricom which should say something……we could still win this !
@ Mr. Holder
What are your thoughts of Mr. Kissoon’s appeal to our Prime Minister ? Do you think that maybe this is what Guyana’s nationals are really saying to Barbados every time they leave Guyana & come to Barbados’ shores even though they may not admit it ?
http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2009/07/02/an-appeal-to-barbadian-prime-minister-thompson/
————————————
“An appeal to Barbadian Prime Minister, Thompson
July 2, 2009 | By osafo | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon
I am absolutely sure that though the Barbadian Prime Minister, David Thompson, is new to the power establishment in the CARICOM region, he has more than a superficial knowledge of the nature of politics in Guyana over the past years in which he would have been a politician in Barbados.
One only has to look at Mr. Thompsonโs counter-part in Jamaica. There you see a CARICOM Prime Minister that knows what the politics of Guyana is like. During the controversy stirred up by President Jagdeo over the signing of the EPA, Prime Minister Bruce Golding castigated a certain CARICOM country for consistently begging the international community.
Mr. Golding was devastating in his description. He told his audience that this sister CARICOM state goes around the world portraying itself as dirt poor and pressing countries to be generous. He referred to this country as a panhandler. He went on to assert that such behaviour was an embarrassment to CARICOM. He ended his perception by saying that he, Golding, is fed up with the particular CARICOM nationโs international begging.
In case the CARICOM Heads do not know, this columnist on this page wrote that it was Guyana that Mr. Golding had in mind although he didnโt name the country. President Jagdeo at a press conference called me a fool when it was pointed out to him that I had fingered Guyana as the territory that Mr. Golding had in his thoughts
If Mr. Golding is embarrassed by Guyanaโs international mendicancy then the Jamaican Prime Minister should ask himself how he thinks we, Guyanese feel. Every road, school, hospital, bridge, water equipment, sewage pipe, every national programme, be it alcohol awareness, tobacco awareness, HIV campaign, has some kind of international money going into it as a result of a request from the Guyana Government.
A majority of people in this country would like to see the nationโs government fund our own development.
Back to Mr. Thompson. So surely, Prime Minister Thompson must have a working knowledge of Guyanese politics. Is there an idea inside the head of Mr. Thompson that makes him reflect on why there is a not so small group of illegal immigrants from Guyana in his island, a number which no doubt is larger than other undocumented communities from the rest of CARICOM. There must be.
As I write, there is no published evidence as to the numbers of unregistered entries of nationalities from Guyana and the West Indian island in Barbados. My thinking is that the Guyanese constitute the largest group from what I have been told by people whose analyses I have confidence in.
Mr. Thompson, as the Prime Minister of Barbados, must have asked himself during the recent days as his stand on the return of these undocumented residents gets expanding coverage in the media in his country and Guyana, why after seventeen years of the return of electoral democracy to large, resource-rich Guyana, are its people fleeing in large numbers to the small, overpopulated island of Barbados.
I believe Mr. Thompson ought to know that it has to do with leadership failure in Guyana.
I come now to a direct appeal to Mr. Thompson. In 1997, CARICOM brokered a peace concord with the Guyana Government and the Opposition. It is named the Herdmanston Accord. Guyana was drowning in violence in the aftermath of the 1997 elections when this vital covenant was signed that saved the country. The Herdmanston Accord sees constitutional arrangement as a pathway for an enduring solution to Guyanaโs troubled politics.
Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, one of our finest minds, said eleven days ago that the architects of the Herdmanston Accord arrived at the judgement that Guyanaโs intemperate ethnic divisions constitute the core problem of the country and the overhauling of the 1980 authoritarian Constitution could provide the basis for a sustained peace.
Dr. Roopnarine has faulted CARICOM for not doing an audit of the Herdmanston Accord.
I am appealing to you, Prime Minister Thompson, to have a discussion with your CARICOM colleagues, including the Guyanese President to examine the status of the Herdmanston Accord. The lack of implementation of the principal requirements of this peace deal is directly related to the overflow of undocumented Guyanese in your country. I donโt know how much you know of the history of Guyana the past 30 years but in that timeframe, right up to this moment, nothing has changed.
You must know Dr. Yesu Persaud, one of the Caribbean greats. He said last week that Guyanaโs politics has prevented Guyanese from returning home. It is time CARICOM insist on the acceptance and inclusion of the Herdmanston Accord in the body politic of Guyana. It can save this country from impending disaster.”
—————————————-
Although,most Guyanese may not want to admit the immigration enfocement actions of Barbados have brought this problem to the limelight.Whether the Prime Minister will actually do it,I don’t know but I think it might explain the root cause of this immigration issue !
On July 1st at 6:44 an David wrote and Anonymous responded as follows:
“It is time your profession steps up to the plate…A mighty hit for six David…
Now kim young put that in your pipe and smoke it.”
J writes “More like a duck.
I am not Kim Young.
I don’t even know Kim Young.”
I don’t even like lawyers.
I like the philosophy quoted in Shakespeare “first thing we’ll do, let’s kill ALL the lawyers”
I like that.
Jay,
The statements in the article are correct.
There are two main problems that plague Guyana. The first is that the country has been unable to put its resources to good use, and that is due to the general lack of vision and to mis-management of the economy. The second problem is the ethnic tension; the lack of meaningful cooperation between the two main ethnic groups has been occurring for a long time, and has contributed significantly to the malaise and desperation that permeates the entire society.
Unless the issue of ethnic tension is addressed, and unless the government adopts a visionary approach, Guyana will continue to be a parasite within CARICOM.
Jagdeo is caught between a rock and a hard place. I am sure he understands the issues in his country as well as the problems posed by illegal Guyanese immigrants for Barbados and other CARICOM countries. Note that at times he comes over as being sympathetic to the position faced by Barbados and other CARCOM countries with regard to the problem of illegal immigration; at other times he behaves like a pit bull in his efforts to placate the Guyanese people.
Quoting Wishing in vain
” Wishing In Vain // July 1, 2009 at 9:51 am
Professor Compton Bourne may be well advised in his position to avoid making comments of a political nature while in office and in a foreign land.”
Dear Wishing in Vain:
Are you mad?
You want to silence Compton Bourne because he disagrees with you and with David and with Lindsay Holder?
What next?
Who else do you wish to silence?
You ever heard about freedom of speech?
You ever heard about vigorous intellectual discourse?
You ever heard to quote Kamau Brathwaite about calling a spade a fucking spade?
Compton Bourne is well within his constitutional rights to disagree with you, with David and with Lindsay Holder (and with me also)
And yes the Barbados Constitution protects me and David and Lindsay and Compton and you Wishing in Vain (although perhaps it shouldn’t) and any stranger, or wayfarer or sojourner, passer-by, or tourist or illegal immigrant.
One of these illegal immigrants will find a lawyer with balls (or maybe better still a lawyer without balls) and will sue the Barbados government for violating the Constitution, the court will find against the government and/or its agents and we the taxpayers will pay.
Mark my word.
Dear Lindsay on July 1st at 951 a.m you wrote “Would that article have had the desired impact if it hade been collapsed into the two installments?”
I bet that collapsing the articles into 2 x 750 words each would have got them published in the Nation and truly brought you views to public attention.
Because to tell the truth how may people you really think read this blog (or even the Advocate)
Stupseeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Living in Barbados wrote “They were certainly the longest pieces I have seen by an outside author in any of the local papers, but will defer to others with longer histories if that is not the case.”
Yup.
I have been reading all local papers for more than 50 years and Lindsay’s pieces were certainly the longest that I can recall.
J,
Who are you?
Be a real man or woman, and identify yourself. I doubt if the Barbados Constitution can protect phantom writers.
Thompson held a 90 minute press conference in which he rejects the accusations that Barbados is ill treating illegal Guyanese immigrants. Next day the Guyanese PM and his host at a Caribbean leaders meeting calls him a liar.
Over to you Thompson, the ball is in your court.
Dear David on July 1st at 11:03 a.m. in reference to Lindsay Holder you wrote “by exposing the views of a prominent Barbadian.”
Lindsay Holder may be a good economist, he may even be a damn good economist, he may even be the best economist in Barbados or the world (I can’t judge because I know neither Lindsay nor economics well enough to say) but Lindsay is no expert on migration.
On migration matters Lindsay is just an ordinary layman, like me, or you, or the other bloggers.
My late mother God bless her soul always used to tell me never to take medical advice from a lawyer (regardless of how eminent) and never to take legal advice from a doctor (regardless of his eminence).
On immigration Lindsay is just a layman, so as the young people would say, “don’t let us get tie up”
@J
Are you back with that drivel that the article was too long. It was too long for you because the authorโs opinion did not mesh with yours, thatโs the long and short of the whole issue. And who are you to say what the Nation would or would not publish, are you an insider?
The incoherent mumblings of Jagdeo last evening begs the question to what degree is Jagdeo prepared to stay political on the matter of immigration. Here is is we have a relatively new Prime Minister trying his best to open the door for a solution to this matter and Jagdeo to the surprise we are sure of Thompson feels no remorse to toss around words like gestapo. All of his accusations are based on allegations and the one he used of himself receiving hassle while travelling to Barbados as a Foreign Minister borders on a bare face lie. His explanation is he would not show his diplomatic passport because he did not always want to use the VIP lounge. Hello, because he used the diplomatic passport does not mean he HAD to use the VIP lounge!
As Chairman of Caricom and the leader of a country which is responsible for flooding the countries of several Caribbean islands one would have thought he would have adopted a conciliatory tone. In his defense he said somebody must be telling lies about the figures. Prime Minister Thompson has obviously been forced into a position to respond. It is most unfortunate how this matter is playing out.
On July 3, 2009 at 1:06 am lholder erote ”
“J,Who are you?”
Why does it matter?
But I will greet you next time I see you, and maybe identify myself (if I feel like it ๐
And yes the Constitution protects persons, nothing in there about names, and nothing in there about whether I have to have balls or not.
And “no” I am not Kim Young. I don’t even know Kim Young, nor Ezra Alleyne either.
No Sargeant I am not a Nation insider. But I have been reading the Nation from its first edition, and the Advocate for more than 50 years, so yes in half a century I’ve noticed a thing or two, including that the Nation likes their articles short and lively.
Lindsay’s articles are unfortunately neither.
But he is a nice enough guy.
For those who want to think about whether Barbados’ policy towards illegal immigrants is well structured, balanced, likely to work/fail, etc., it’s useful to look at what the US is doing (remembering that the US has extensive borders that are very hard to control), see NY Times, http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/03/us/03immig.html?_r=1&hp. Questions on the article can be addressed to its author.
I must say that I have great skepticism that the PM’s stated policy is really one that can work if it focuses (or appears to focus) merely on the supply (immigrants) and not also on the demand (employers, landlords, etc.).
For those who really have the capacity to think about it, the pull factors (eg, Barbados’ relative economic success, relative social stability) and push factors (relatively poor economic performance in neighbouring/regional states, divisive social/political situations in such states) are not likely to change markedly in the foreseeable future.
My focus today is on the Wimbledon men’s semi-finals, where players from 4 nations that have had a range of problems over centuries with immigration (legal and illegal), will tussle: Switzerland, UK, Germany, and USA. I suspect that the results will not tell us whether the countries’ immigration policies have facilitated the emergence of great sporting talent or helped bolster them economically or socially.
Have a wonderful weekend, and those in the USA, the Independence Day holidays are always a good time to think about the origins of the nation where you now live.
J,
You are right, I am not an expert in migration issues. Note, also, that there is no broad academic field of study known as ‘Migration’. Almost all university courses in that field are taught in faculties such as social sciences or law.
Although I am not an expert, my academic training in Economics and Politics gives me, I think, a better appreciation for the issues being discussed.
@LHolder
“Although I am not an expert, my academic training in Economics and Politics gives me, I think, a better appreciation for the issues being discussed.”
I too have academic training in economics, politics, and urban planning; I also have working experience over 3 decades in economics. I have been a migrant almost all my life, including now. I have lived most of my life as a racial minority, and have also lived as a religious minority too, though when I was part of a racial majority. So, I, too, feel all of that gives me an even better appreciation of the issues being discussed.
That said, my views/experiences are not necessarily those that will or should carry the day. But, I do hope to offer a wealth of insights into the issues.
J
Is it not hypocritical of Professor Compton Bourne and Ricky Singh not to comment on the Herdmanston Accord?
There are intellectuals of Guyana who moved out and are enjoying a high standard of living but refuse to get involved in serious discussion to help solve Guyanaโs problems.
It is their right to freedom of speech in Barbados. How about their right of freedom of speech in Guyana. They do not speak negatively of their homeland Guyana.
I must tell you that most of those comments against Barbados immigration policy make me like Fidel Castro more. He would put them in jail for some frivolous reason.
From what Jagdeo said last night make me now hate Indo Guyanese more.
Can you imagine a President of a country that is 500 time bigger than another complaining about 49 persons who got sent back to that big rich country. The man is behaving like a full goat with the rope.
Sargeant “it” learns from hear say. May be if it’s mother is still around she could read Lindsay article and Tell J about it. chuspe
Man LIB post your comments to Lowdown last article. Did I interpret you correctly, as saying to Hoad, “As a BLACKMAN you did not like his (Hoad is White in the Bajan context) defence of the Status quo”? Wuh yuh saying exactly man? ha ha ha ha lol!
You did feeling blue or black when you wrote those words? ha ha ha
J // July 3, 2009 at 2:10 am
And yes the Constitution protects persons, nothing in there about names, and nothing in there about whether I have to have balls or not.
————————————————-
The consitution is just a piece of paper. It is hope that all citizens have a vested interest in it’s provisions and in so doing makes it a part of who we are. When people stop believing in it, as can happen when non-productive individuals such as Academics and lecturers, in particular those at UWI start a campaign to re-interpret and redefine it’s words to fit a cause, it can become just another disrespected institution as your law is not my law takes root. Ask Mia she knows it well although she does nothing when her agents are the main ones seeking to remove all percieved roadblocks to the liberal progressive march.
Dear Patriotic Bajan, although I feel that you are neither patriotic nor Bajan, you wrote “those comments against Barbados immigration policy make me like Fidel Castro more. He would put them in jail for some frivolous reason.”
Thank God that you have no power.
And thank God that Barbados has a Constitution.
And thank God we have courts that seek to do justice.
And that God that we have some good decent Parliamentarians still.
Adrian, what do you mean the Constitution is just a piece of paper? Can you imagine what would happen if a government agreed with that? Or the Police? You evoke memories of George Bush…in more ways than one!
J
Trust me I am a 100% bajan and patriotic enough to stand up for the good name of Barbados unlike you. I also have liking for some of the policies of Fidel Castro.
What is your position on the Herdmanston Accord?
Why has Professor Compton Bourne and Ricky Singh not commented on the Herdmanston Accord in the same public way they want to castigate Barbados.
Remember that the Herdsman Accord was agreed on to solve some of the problems that confront Guyana. They are influential Guyanese and their views could help Guyana.
As you are supporting them maybe you should get hold of them and seek out their views.
Themis // July 3, 2009 at 10:19 am
Adrian, what do you mean the Constitution is just a piece of paper? Can you imagine what would happen if a government agreed with that? Or the Police? You evoke memories of George Bushโฆin more ways than one!
===========================
Of course you know what I mean. Not only government, but its agents, and symphatisers as well. The constitution starts its life as a document of words. We interpret those with define meanings and practices to boot and place BOTH in our hearts, and DISPLAY them in our actions. In an attempt to justify a cause or position the intellectuals have started to play with the words of the document hoping that our understanding will change to allow passage of their cause. When you do this you run the risk of eroding the esteem the document holds in our hearts and our actions, at this point its state of birth (mere words) becomes all that it is.
Adrian, I honestly have no idea what you are talking about. Can you at least give me one example of “playing with the words of the document to justify a cause..”?
To me a Constitution is nothing but a set of ideals set at the time of its construction & usually the country in its present form look towards those ideals for future guidance.However,no one can deny the fact that what may have worked back then,may not work now.
A good example of this is that the Queen is still considered our absolute head of Government with a significant amount of power even though it has never been exercised during our ‘post-independence’.
This is one of the reasons why I can actually relate to the US since it was a Barbadian who printed the US constitution & the Queen is not the head of Government.Obama just sweetens the deal,lol.
There is no one like an educated fool. They like to impress people with their wide knowledge on a particular subject and pontificate from their patrician pulpits to us plebes. And so it is with one Jeff Cumberbatch who is a lecturer in law at the Cave Hill Campus of the UWI. According to Mr. Cumberbatch illegal immigrants are subject to the same constitutional protection as Barbadian citizens and legal residents of Barbados.
Mr. Cumberbatchโs logic goes like this: The Barbados Constitution allows that if you arrive in Barbados and tell the immigration officer you are here for two weeks to visit your aunt and the Immigration officer notes in your passport that you are allowed to stay for two weeks; then two years later you come to the attention of the Immigration Dept. who holds you for deportation you can tell the Immigration officers โnot so fast, let me collect my property before I leaveโ. The Immigration Dept. is then supposed to give you enough time to put you affairs in order before you depart.
According to Mr. Cumberbatch the Barbados Constitution allows you to profit from an illegal act. Since Mr. Cumberbatch is so confident in his position perhaps he should offer his services pro bono to any illegal immigrant who decides to challenge the law.
http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/LEAD-Immigration-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER
Can you prove Mr Cumberbatch wrong in what he is saying, Sargeant or are you just whistling in the dark? And Jay, which Barbadian wrote the US Constitution?
Sargeant.
Mr. Cumberbatch is actually correct.
Maybe you should be arguing that the constitution should be amended rather than argue that he is incorrect.
Its is time for Bajans to boycott the Nation Newspaper as well. (In the same way I did the Advocate). They are playing politics with the news and has been firing this issue in the most unpatriotic way. The fact is is that the newspaper and opposition are doing a great disservice to the nation and its honour. BAJANS BOYCOTT ..The NATION NEWSPAPERS >>>>NOW!!!!! They will feel it in a week time they need your $1, your $2.00 and and your $2.50 more than you realised. You will be surprised to learn what percentage of they total intake subs and daily charges accout for. DO IT NOT
Look are the paper today look at the front page look and the pages inside, Imagine the only first lady the country has had since 1996 has passed on and not even a pictural tribute has been render today. How can youth or any one be encouraged to have any respect for our institutions.
Anonjam // July 3, 2009 at 3:46 pm
Sargeant.
Mr. Cumberbatch is actually correct.
Maybe you should be arguing that the constitution should be amended rather than argue that he is incorrect.
————————————————
How so anonjam? how so is Jeff C correct? He say the the government cannot deprive them of their property. He did not tell us how the government is willfully and intentionaly depriving illegal immgrant of property.
I don’t understand Cumberbatch to be accusing the Government of anything. He is just saying what the law is!
AH says:
How so anonjam? how so is Jeff C correct? He say the the government cannot deprive them of their property.
———————
His assessment of the law is correct. That illegal immigrants enjoy protection under the constitution.
Jagdeo and Gonzalves goals are to destroy Barbados or at least seriously tarnish its world image.
@Anonjam
Mr. Cumberbatch is actually correct
I am not a lawyer neither am I a Constitutional expert, but I think I am endowed with some basic common sense. The Barbados constitution was written for the protection of Barbadian citizens and legal residents of Barbados. Without reading the Constitutions of the other Caribbean Commonwealth countries Iโll bet that the sections pertaining to individual rights would be virtually identical to the Barbados Constitution and probably identical to all Commonwealth countries.