USA First Family, The Obamas
Barbados First Family, The thompsons
Barbados First Family, The Thompsons

Mothers Day went in May with its usual fanfare. Fathers Day followed yesterday with more fanfare than has been in the past. It seems there is a concerted effort to highlight Fathers Day more than ever. Could it be that the objective is to rival the enormous buzz which is now synonymous with celebrating Mothers Day?

The BU household is fortunate to have its matriarch still firmly entrenched in the role, and for that the BU household is stronger because of it. The emerging position which seems to be enveloping modern societies appears to have created a contest between the roles of Mother and Father. In our view the motive is noble but the outcome will contribute to a further polarization of what we believe is the most important societal organ, the family.

We live in a period where it is fashionable to shape important family decisions to fit our personal lifestyles.ย  There was a time when the mother and or father would endure sacrifice to protect the well-being of the family unit. Nowadays it is not uncommon for many within the growing female professional population to forestall child rearing, sometimes permanently!ย  There is also a growing group of males and females who prefer to engage in same sex unions not because of hormone imbalance but the held view that โ€œwe have the right to do what the hell we pleaseโ€ attitude. Yes, and our definition of a family is what is referred to as the traditional meaning. It seems strange that we feel obligated to provide a broad definition of what we think family means.

The images above this blog which features two first families gives us a sense of hope. Leaving politics aside whether viewed in an international or local context, it is edifying to be able to have the opportunity to point to what the vast majority of world citizens view as the traditional family. The family hybrids popping up in modern societies nowadays which are being routinely validated is symptomatic of the struggle the traditionalist and conservatives will have to fight against.

Why do we feel the need to hype Fathers Day? Why not push the fact that a family unit can ideally function to its optimum when there is a father and mother performing well in the roles?

1. I have not heard the term โ€œFirst Familyโ€ as captioned in your photo of Thompson and his family applied to any PM of Barbados. Pay tribute to the family unit if you will but lets not import the trappings and titles that surround US Presidents

2. The BU Family
    Thanks for this posting. The comments made are very relevent and it is because of this that a group of us, through the Bureau of Gender Affairs have organised a Week of Activities to mark Fathers’ Day. However, we are focussing on the Family, hence our slogan is ” Loving Men Build Strong Families.” We had a church service on Sunday and a panel discussion on Wed. 24th June at Solidarity House. The topic is ” The role of the man in Today’s Changing Society.” The panelists are Rev. Huston Innis (religion), Mr Corey Layne ( youth), Mr Abrams
    ( lawyer/legal matters) Mr George Griffith ( Men’s Health) and Mr Jeptor Ince ( economics). The moderator will be Mr. Dennis Johnson. The discussion starts at 7.00 P.M.
    On Saturday in Queen’s Park will be Fathers’ Fun Day, we expect fathers to come out with their families and enjoy a day of fun and frolic. There will be novelty races, softball cricket match/s, dominoes, card games and much more fun. Even the little ones are not left out, there will be jumper tents and story telling and maybe magic show. Music will be provided by Radar Sounds. Food Stalls will be there. We thought it best to include some healthy aspect to the day, therefore we will provide Blood Sugar and Blood Pressure testing, plus literature on Cancer Prevention.
    I hope to see the whole BU family there with your families. Men made a special effort to be at the panel discussion on Wed night Solidarity House.

3. The BU household is fortunate to have its matriarch still firmly entrenched in the role, and for that the BU household is stronger because of it.

Dave, I hope this has n’t been at the expense of your role as head of the family which, I believe, it’s natural and logical that the man should be, assuming he’s an intelligent and responsible person, like you!!

4. “If Barbados’ Debt to gross domestic product (GDP) ratio surpasses 110 per cent, the island can kiss its investment-grade credit rating goodbye” – the Front page of the Barbados Business Authority, 22 June, 2009, paraphrasing Dr. Justin Robinson, Head of Management Studies, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, as he was at the time responding to questions at a lecture he had delivered at the Frank Collymore Hall, Tom Adams Financial Centre, last Wednesday.

This newspaper went on to say that Dr. Robinson – once a contributor to this BU blog – believed that the challenge for Barbados has always been its debt.

Well, it did seem that Dr. Robinson did deliver a good lecture entitled Credit Rating: The implications of a Downgrade. It appeared too that he was fairly frank and precise in his assessments of the role of global credit rating agencies, esp. Standard and Poor’s and Moody’s, and the kinds of implications for countries like Barbados of these agencies having to, say, downgrade these countries’s foreign currency sovereign credit ratings, or, say, perhaps to downgrade regional financial institutions’ credit ratings.

Nevertheless, while it is clear that Dr. Robinson did NOT seriously focus – in the lecture/discussion – on Barbados’ improving its credit ratings in whatever regards, and the efforts that are needed to be made to help do such, we in PDC are yet fortified in the knowledge that NOT ONLY the Government’s Debt ( NOT the National Debt as many so mistakenly refer to this debt as), BUT ALSO the national institutional, structural, legal and policy making frameworkings giving rise to such debt, that these are in need of serious redress, and for the better, esp. with a view to substantially reducing the personal, corporate, institutional, and other forms of debt in this country.

Furthermore, that Dr. Robinson apparently did NOT explore the causality that exists between debt and debt causing linkages and the fact that these are primarily the reasons why Barbados is in recession today, is unfathomable from this vantage point but is still unforgivable and damning, esp. since one CANNOT escape SOME of the real reasons why these credit rating agencies do decide to rate the creditworthiness of a country or for that matter of a financial entity – for reasons of their monetary fiscal financial performances at any given points in time.

Finally, that is why we in PDC and many of our supporters are arguing that to eliminate these kinds of causes of debt, that to substantially reduce debt and by extension to prevent local recessions, a future PDC Government will Abolish TAXATION in this country; will Abolish Interest Rates in Barbados; will make Institutional Loans for productive purposes non-repayable; will eliminate Mortgages related to productive activities; will ensure that Motor Vehicle Insurance is abolished in this country as well, and that so many other things will done under such a government to reduce drastically the propensity to incur debt and the actual debt levels in this country.

PS – the above portion was very inadvertently sent.

5. @ the PDC though your topic may be very interesting it is out of place.

6. The root of this problem is in thinking that men and women are equal, this is the furthest from the truth.

Men and women are equally important but not equal, different tools for different jobs, the two combined fulls the tool box.

7. Ready -Done
    WELL SAID. YOu are soooooo right.

8. @The Scout

The BU family is currently indisposed, we look forward to a report from of your observations.

9. Thanks to that misleading and deceptive ideology of women’s liberation and equality,[and now ‘gay’ rights] which was intended to destroy the family which is the foundation of a strong society we are now experiencing the efficacy of this dogma today. Once the family structure has been infiltrated and weakened it is now very easy for ungodly,irreverent governments and big businesses to step in and control this weakened structure. And as a result we are producing more lambs for the slaughter. But long live the strong FAMILY…be it nuclear, extended, matriarchial or patriarchial.

And yes MEN and WOMEN are NOT equal!

10. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Hopi // June 23, 2009 at 8:58 am

Thanks to that misleading and deceptive ideology of womenโ€™s liberation and equality,[and now ‘gay’ rights] which was intended to destroy the family which is the foundation of a strong society we are now experiencing the efficacy of this dogma today
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’…….
    Here a article like a comment to the comment about gay rights and children of gay/lesbians:

http://www.pinknews.co.uk/news/articles/2005-10025.html

By the way; black society`s biggest danger(also longterm) to a healthy family structure,are the many totally absent fathers playing around.

11. @PBG……….what about the misleading and deceptive ideology of women’s lib?

Obviously the ‘gay’ community will paint a pretty picture for their agenda which does not impress me.

‘Black society’s…………………’ wrong and can’t be separated from the bigger issue. Before black people became europeanized we also existed in patriarchial societies where men headed more than one house. Who started the BS of removing the black man from the home? You cannot separate this issue and blame black men only.

12. Dave, u caan answer my question man?!! Wait till yuh wife in day!!

13. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Hopi // June 23, 2009 at 9:26 am

โ€˜Black societyโ€™sโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€™ wrong and canโ€™t be separated from the bigger issue. Before black people became europeanized we also existed in patriarchial societies where men headed more than one house. Who started the BS of removing the black man from the home? You cannot separate this issue and blame black men only.
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    Of course we cannot blame black men in today society,that would be horrible horrible, even if the ones suffering, are their children….?
    Yes, slavery had an impact on the slaves family-structure.
    But do we still have to blame that old institution for how black men behave today, or are we willing to take a grip and be responsible for own faith now?

Concering the men in old Africa who headed more than one house,we must NOt forget that they took some responsability economically and socially for every household they had children in.Its called polygamy.
    And raising a child was often a whole clans responsabily, included the father.

I recommend reading:
    “African American History for Dummies” By Ronda Racha Penrice .

14. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Another article about West African family structure before and under slavery:
    http://family.jrank.org/pages/58/African-American-Families-Historical-Cultural-Influences-on-African-American-Family-Life.html

15. PBG, (a) we in West African an any African will tell u dat, if u din know!! (b) dis is 2009, not 209!! (c) We r 4k miles away from Africa in a different environment an culture an (d) we’re more advanced, civilised and sophisticated than the vast majority uh dem!! R those sufficient reasons for u why your reference is irrelevant, or do u need further persuasion and, if so, why?!!

16. PISS POOR BLOG

17. @Ace……Congrats! I see that your vocab is improving. Keep it up honey!

@PBG…….If you read that bk for Dummies, I’d say ‘Good for you’ but I’m not interested.

Slavery was not instituted solely for economic benefits, but also for its devastating psychological impact. And I would never remove that ‘burden’ of responsibility from Black men. They need to stand tall with our Black women and guide our children and not allow deviant external forces to keep us divided and distracted from our purpose.

18. Still no reply from David or PBG, yet!! and this is how black people, specifically Barbadians, hope to progress!! LOL!! In the end, all that talk about black unity and ‘the black family’ is cheap but when it comes to getting your finger out, it’s a different matter which is why with apostles like them, black people will never get anywhere, fast!!

19. “199 // June 23, 2009 at 5:23 pm

PBG, (a) we in West African an any African will tell u dat, if u din know!! (b) dis is 2009, not 209!! (c) We r 4k miles away from Africa in a different environment an culture an (d) weโ€™re more advanced, civilised and sophisticated than the vast majority uh dem!! R those sufficient reasons for u why your reference is irrelevant, or do u need further persuasion and, if so, why?!!”
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

Well, Hopi was referring to the obviously hunting past of black men, that today make them to very often, ansent fathers

Me referring to that past is never a waste, if i can give a nuances to the understanding of ancient african traditional family structures.
    If not to Hopi, maybe to someone else that will be curious and investigating.
    because nothing is black or white here.
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Some people have to be educated.

20. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Sorry, it was me writing answer over.

21. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199: the reason that I sometimes can`t answer your questions immediately, is that I live in another part of the world, with a different time schedule.
    As you maybe know, time is not the same, all over the world…..?

22. PBG, is that why u did n’t answer it on this occasion, too!

23. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Eh…I am at work , I work in the health services and cant be a siameese twin with the computer.
    But inbetween!:-)
    Is it something else you wonder about?

24. PBG, u could try answering my questions at 5.23 yesterday!! an doan deliver any more babies, till u do!!

25. Dave indispose boa!!

Laaddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

26. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

“””199 // June 23, 2009 at 5:23 pm

PBG, (a) we in West African an any African will tell u dat, if u din know!! (b) dis is 2009, not 209!! (c) We r 4k miles away from Africa in a different environment an culture an (d) weโ€™re more advanced, civilised and sophisticated than the vast majority uh dem!! R those sufficient reasons for u why your reference is irrelevant, or do u need further persuasion and, if so, why?!!”””

”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    I think I need further persuation from you, even if Hopi was the one who answered me?
    Or are you the same person??
    he referred to black mens past and reasons for a broken family structure, and the links were answers to some of them.
    Yes, we live in 2009, but why do Hopi then blame past for everything bad happening to black , male caribbeans and americans right now?
    is it so?
    I also wonder why you write that “we now live in a society more advanced, civilised and sophisticated than the vast majority uh dem”!!
    Who are “them”?
    Africans?
    And what is sofistication about it, if you abondom your children?

27. Yes, we live in 2009, but why do Hopi then blame past for everything bad happening to black , male caribbeans and americans right now?
    is it so?

Does he, PBG?!! Then, maybe, he’s an ‘eternal apologist’!! i.e. apoligist for the way we are today!! I caan worry wid dah theory muhself! I like to be responsible fuh my own actions!! Anyhow, Sir Hopi would have to answer fuh eself, boa!!

PB, does everybody abandon dere chilren?!! Don’t women also abandon dere children?!! Come now, PB!! doan b silly now, cause u sounded sensible, otherwise!! Of course we’re much more civilised than they are!! Would u like to live in Africa??? Firstly, they would n’t accept you!! That’s how civilise they are, not to mention d wars, famine an everyting else!! Come on PB, get real sweetie!!

28. There’s no guarantee that a family with a mother and father will succeed but I think that the public example set by Obama and David Thompson is good for black men.

I have said how I feel about the two guys on various blogs. They both inspire me.

29. @199

Both mother and father play important roles.

Like any team situation there must be a leader.

Electing the leader is a family decision no doubt based on individual qualities.

30. Hi David, yes, yuh right, but, fuh d sake of holiness, I hope in ur case dat dat leader is you!!

Lord!!

31. partly bajan girl. Avatar
    partly bajan girl.

199 // June 24, 2009 at 1:57 pm
    Of course weโ€™re much more civilised than they are!! Would u like to live in Africa??? Firstly, they would nโ€™t accept you!! Thatโ€™s how civilise they are, not to mention d wars, famine an everyting else!! Come on PB, get real sweetie!!
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    199;I am not sweet at all, and I think you are quite ignorant to your roots now.
    Shame on you.
    And I have african relatives who are civilized and educated as they should be.Africa are so many things!
    Not only wars and hungry children.
    Africa is a LOT more.
    The most sad thing about West- Africa is the still growing islamination of the people.
    Its too much extremism in islam today.
    Too much feelings.
    I wish we could go back to nature religion.

32. partly bajan girl. Avatar
    partly bajan girl.

Personally i think women in lead gives a less aggressive society.
    but they have to cooperate with men, of course!
    Here is an article about matriarchy around the world, look especially on the part about Africa/Ghana;-)

http://www.universitadelledonne.it/english/matriarchy1.htm

33. PBG, d overwhelming view of Africa is dat it’s a gully!! Do u still have gullies in Bim? Well, that’s what I think of, for the most part, when I think of day!! Obviously, yuh will fine a little spring-garden here an dere but, fuh d greates part dat’s wha it is!! I know it, u know it an everybody know it, u jus caan bring yuhself to accep it!! An Islam, is d final nail in d coffin!!

Darlin, I in reading nutten to do wid Africa!! It’s a patent, waste of time!!

34. P, dere’s civilise an civilise!! We stop eating wid our hans a long time ago!!

35. partly bajan girl. Avatar
    partly bajan girl.

199 // June 25, 2009 at 6:39 am

PBG, d overwhelming view of Africa is dat itโ€™s a gully!!
    Darlin, I in reading nutten to do wid Africa!! Itโ€™s a patent, waste of time!!
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    Oh dear,oh dear!
    Its not strange that black caribbeans feel a bit lost in the world ,if they cant embrace Mother Africa.
    A gully??
    Bajan gullies are interesting, and should be taken care of:
    http://www.cbd.int/ibd/biodiv-day-2002-ctrs.shtml?ctr=barbados

36. 199 you is a nut ya know, you got Google earth?

well since you sooooo civil you should have it, take a quick look at Africa and see how much swimming pools and thing them people got. you is only see what the camera highlight Africa got money in it man!!!

37. Bajan gullies are interesting, and should be taken care of:

Well duh wus n’t when I was day!! LOL!! P, when I was day a gully was synonymous wid a rubbish-dump!! Maybe it mean someting else dese days boa!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

RD, I in got tuh have nuh Google?!! Looka, I does c Africa every day hay pun d telly!! I got someting call d ‘Africa Channel’, plus, an even more important, I have d misfortune tuh live among too many uh dum!! Looka, jes jus now I was looking out my bedroom winda an dis african woman uh dis african family who recently move in nex door, tek she pale uh stinkin water an through it all over she back garden, d same very back garden which d children does play in!! I taught tuh myself, she tink she back in Zimbabwe, or Nigeria!! I in sure exakly sure way she from an I doan have nuh intentions uh askin she eida but I taught, yuh c?!! yuh c?!! Jes wuh I tell yuh!! Straight from d jungle!!

Steupse!!

R, d money day got is all conterfeit an worthless!! Yuh can bet yuh life pun dah!!

Steupse! An any natural resources duh got, d white man dun exploit an exhaust fuh dum aready!! I say ‘fuh dem’, but, in trute dem in get none uh de worth uh it, ecep duh leaders and dem stick it right in duh pocket an buil d nices house duh could fine!! U mine dem?!!

Lord!! Wunna should know betta!!

38. Africa in the TV is not Africa in real life, some parts of Africa are doing well, she is a big place after all.

America on TV is not the same as America in real life, its a lot lot lot lotworst.

39. Royalrumble // June 24, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Who said that colonialism is dead? Massa still leading us.

There is more in common between a Guyanese and a Bajan than there is between a Bajan and a Englishman, but yet the Englishman has managed to set Bajans and Guyanese at war with each other.

On the plantation, massa (Englishman) was able set the house slaves against the field slaves by making the house slaves feel that they were more important than the field slaves. Once the house slaves bought and accepted the big lie they started mistreating their brothers and sisters in the field. They spied on them and inform massa of everything the field slaves said and did.

This is the same tactic being used today to set Guyanese against Bajans. A small vocal group of Bajans have bought the big white lie that Barbadians are more important than the others in the rest of the region and that they need us but we done need them. This is the ploy being used by this โ€œthrow backโ€ of colonialism, David Thompson, who has managed to get not only Bajans against Guyanese but has also succeeded in triggering an atmosphere of suspicion amongst other nationals in Caribbean.

Today, the union we started to build, with much success is in jeopardy and the survival and livelihood of our peoples in the region are at stake. Europe has build a union that today serves the social and economic mobility of its people, but here in the Caribbean we have fallen once again for the oldest political trick in the book. We have allowed this Englishman โ€œNew Age Massaโ€ David Thompson to single handedly destroyed our union.

Barbadosโ€™ new immigration policy has nothing to do with protecting our borders or defending the interest of Barbadians. In fact, it is more about protecting the wicket and immoral deeds of Thompson and hiding the truth from Barbadians. We would be shock but far more enlightened if we knew the real reason behind Thompsonโ€™s policy, which is directed specifically and deliberately at Guyanese.

Mr. Fario and Mr. Jagdeo would want to do some investigations surrounding the departure of a young Guyanese lady from Barbados and the abuse she experienced while here. If this young lady is willing to confirm the abuse and mistreatment she received at the hands of Mr. Thompson, then every effort should made, on the part of the Guyanese Officials to bring the matter before the Human Rights tribunal at the United Nations. In addition, every woman and womenโ€™s group in Barbados that value their dignity should condemn the abuse suffered by this young lady.

On January 6, 2008, nine days before the general election a young Guyanese lady by the name of Patina Agustine was sent back to Guyana by Mr. Thompson with the understanding that she would be allowed to return following the completion of the election.

Ms. Agustineโ€™s sojourn in Barbados was in search of a better life that ended up in total disaster. Her search was for nothing more than what Bajans searched for when they journeyed to England, USA, Panama, Guyana, Canada and other places in the 50s, 60s, 70s, and even today. What this young lady found has now become a depressed story that included regular sexual escapades with Mr. Thompson, the exponent of the Family First. The acts indulged in during these escapades ranged from cocaine use to sadism, where the ends of burning cigarettes were placed on her buttocks to heighten the sexual pleasure of pain.

It is the vehicle, registration number G7096, belonging to one Mr. Herbert Crichlow of 2nd Avenue, Lower Newbury, St George that was used by Mr. Thompson to transport Ms. Agustine. Ms. Agustine now feels used and abused by Thompson and feels that his refusal to let her back into the country is an act of bad faith.

I hold no sympathy for Ms. Agustine. In fact, the disrespect she showed herself and women in general is not the issue here. My concern is at the level of the man with whom she was involved and the kind of moral values he holds not only for himself and his family but also the women folk of this country and the example he sets for our children.

Ms. Agustine is willing to share her disappointment with the media and I wish her well. Sadly, it is for her willingness to share her sad story with the media that she and many of her countrymen will not be permitted to enter this country again.

Barbadians have a much bigger problem to solve.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Is the above post from Royalrumble true?

Is so, aren’t BU facilitating a flawed debate?

Will there be a forensic audit on the post from Royalrumble?

What does pastor Lucille Baird, pastor Durant, Pastor Holford and the Rev. at the Christ Church parish Church.

They told Barbados that Thompson was sent from on high.

Now, look at what is happening in the United Staes with Governor Mark Sandford.

40. partly bajan girl. Avatar
    partly bajan girl.

I sign this, Ready Done!

Western news about Africa is lead by what sells, and what intentions politicians here have.
    Africa is so rich,so diverse.

Its a masturbation of a simple mind to think Africa in all terms is just a dump,just like the Barbados gullies has became dumpholes for the leftovers of the splendid” civilisation” we have today.

Lets get focused,lets get sharp 199!
    Clean the gully in your mind!

41. RD, I know precisely wha u sayen bro! Don’t tink I stapid!! I jes preten to be so sometimes cause I in got nutten betta tuh do but, in all seriousness, could u have sufficient confidence in ANY African country to invest your hard earned cash there to risk it disappearing into somebody else’s bank account?!! I doubt it very much R!! It would probably be another 200 years before I had sufficient confidence in there to do such a thing, and as you know, I wun be here then!!

Lor!!

PB, what will it take for you to acknowledge that Africans don’t want you!! I know it’s a difficult fact for you to accept but that IS the fact!! Do they have to scrawl it on your face in your own blood for you to believe! You advise me to ‘clean the gully in my mind’ but you need to face reality and stop dreaming!! Forget about some lost ‘paradise’ which will never fully embrace you again because that’s the nature of those bea – sorry – people!!

R, do u want me to save Bim?!! I will, but only if u ask me to!!

42. Back in the dark mists of time I recall Bim being compared in size to the Isle of Wight. Please explain this:
    Bim pop. 295k
    IOW pop. 130 k

Now, wha going on day?!! and, is it at the heart of Bim’s troubles?!!

43. The white man is owed his dues also.

Massa is a part of us and i thank him for bringing us to paradise.

Now the playing field is level, and we have a good governing structure, its time to build on that,Adding more and making the whole system work for the better of Barbados

44. When looking for comparisons to Barbados you have to remember that we have no large land masses closeby to aid in our development.

45. The white man is owed his dues also.

Massa is a part of us and i thank him for bringing us to paradise.

RD, as u know, many blacks, like PBG, would find that a highly controversial statement condemning the white man for slavery, while still loving living in the caribbean! They’re somewhat confused and doan know what to do with themselves!! I’m still puzzled by why, being rougly the same size, our population so be so much greater than the IOW’s!!

46. Dave, u gun give us the op to pay tribute to Sir MJ?!! I would like to say dat he wus a andromymous waise uh space who resented wuh he wus so, his passing in nuh big ting!!

47. Sorry, androgynous!! Spelling in too good!!

Lord!!

48. @199

Intend to post something in the next rotation on Michael.

49. Thank you, Dave!!