flowersWe read a report a couple days ago which highlighted the track record which the Barbados Horticultural Society (BHS) has had at the Chelsea Flower Show over a 21 year period. The report mentioned that the BHS had  won 13 Gold, seven Silver-Gilt and one Silver in a highly commendable 21 consecutive years at the Chelsea Flower Show. In a nutshell the BHS has come to represent excellence. The news which comes every year that the BHS has won gold or silver is expected, this is the high standard which the people in horticulture have set for themselves.

In an age when standards seem to be slipping all around us we would suggest to whom it may concern that the Key Performance Indicators of the BHS should be studied very carefully and replicated. Although it is a sector which most Barbadians know very little, it seems that there is a huge opportunity to expand this sector which has the advantage of earning foreign exchange. We have been told that while this sector was the preserve of the elite in recent years others have jumped on board most notably retired Barbadians who have returned from overseas to sustain this incredible success story.

We wish the BHS continued success and urge our Ministry of Agriculture and the Ministry of Tourism to do some strategic planning to explore how we can create a significant economic opportunity.

1. They repeatedly bring a little oasis of sunshine and colour to the Show, on occasions in the past I saw their expertise…a joy to behold.

2. First and foremost, Chelsea is about business. The trade in horticulture is massive, and the exhibitors at Chelsea are there to do business. You are correct – there are huge opportunities for Barbados in this area, some of which are already being exploited. But we could and should do a great deal more – after all, it’s not that we don’t have available land.

3. @Peltdownman

Can you suggest a good reason why despite such an enviable track record of excellence Barbados would not have thrown more resources at developing the sector?

4. There is something beautiful about flowers but not about the fact that Young People in this country are under attack by the DLP.

Young people who were eligible to vote for the first time in the January 15 general election – were about four-years-old and may have no recollection of the unprovoked economic warfare, which the then Democratic Labour Party administration declared on their parents, thereby robbing them (young people) of milk formula, food and threatening their education.

The DLP’s unprovoked attack resulted in an eight per cent salary cut; thousands loosing their jobs and countless others losing their homes; not being able to buy food; pay their bills or send their children to schools.

It is pure political insanity that the DLP is now doing precisely what it did between 1991 and 1994 but is hoping for a different outcome and result.

It was because of the “dangerous mismanagement” of the economy by the DLP when it was last in office that Barbadians were fed to the wolves and were placed on the frontline as well as on the breadline by an uncaring DLP Government.

The same thing is happening again and the reason is simple.

The DLP did not know what it was doing then and it does not know what it is doing now.

Management of the economy has never been the strength of the DLP.

For the fourteen years the electorate voted for the Barbados Labour Party they enjoyed economic prosperity.

In January the electorate decided to give the DLP a chance and the DLP repaid them with increased taxation (or the confiscation of their wealth) and a manufactured meltdown of the Barbados economy.

Like flowers that lack water, an absence of the BLP is causing the Barbados economy to wilt.

5. Everytime we in crisis we resort to planting. I want to be able to see from Six Roads in St Philip down to Moon Town in St Lucy. No interruption of my view by cane blades.

Now all I hearing is a lot of long talk and nuff trash above the Green Economy. Arthur said plant a little kitchen garden to help reduce ya food cost and a lot of talk brew up about ‘ Gine back to slavery’.

But things does happen to show us the way. Lord mek peace the African snails destructive,destructive and causing a whole lot of degradation to this land. Now de Argriculture ministry can’t rid de place of dem.

Wha we really want cause I ain’t sure what is the policy. De rats ripping out de guts out of de canes yams potatoes and cassava an nuh pesticides can catch up wid dem, thought dat was bad but now dem African snails tek over de place. This must be a sign.

We must be reaping what we sow.
    Doan give up try horticulture instead of agriculture. Meks sense.

6. De rats ripping out de guts out of de canes yams potatoes and cassava an nuh pesticides can catch up wid dem, thought dat was bad but now dem African snails tek over de place

What is the Minister of African Snail; Rat Poison, 4H and Sweet Peppers doing!

I mean, what is he really doing?

7. David, I have just read your response to my previous submission.
    There are already a few peole who are growing and exporting tropical plants and blooms successfully. We will only see a growth in this area if we begin to train some young people in the business of horticulture. It requires specialised knowledge to make it work, plus land and capital, as special shade sheds and insect-free environments have to be created. Let’s start by training some horticulturalists at university, feed them into the existing industry for experience, and then encourage them to become entrepreneurs in the field.

8. What needs to be done – is written on the wall in capital letters, yet a weak Prime Minister David Thompson calls old men – who are not well – out of retirement from active politics – to help him run the country.

A serious confession for Mr. Thompson to make – that old man who are not well and have retired from active politics – are times more competent and intellectually sharp, than David Thompson is.

Why does David Thompson not do the country a favour and call election – unless the DLP is so power hungry and has determine that it has not yet had its fill at the trough – that it wants to hold on to power at any and all cost.

I say that Barbados must not loose its sense of outrage.

Unfortunately, we seem to be developing a tolerance for cruel and inhumane torture, even though there is a better way.

O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts, And men have lost their reason.

9. Thanks for the insight Peltdownman. It fits with our little knowledge of what is required, a transformation in thinking, the will and the commitment of significant resources. Similar to what is requires to develop alternative energy. We seem to have a comfort level with milking the system which has served us well over the years.

10. Barbados takes no pride in agriculture there is not even a category for agriculture on this web site.

(I want one please)

I am going to change Barbadian views on agriculture by providing a hassle free way to grow your own food and still be able to live your’ hectic lives’. its called aquaponics.

11. Ready-Done

We have written several blogs about the challenges facing agriculture. Try posting comments you about agriculture to this blog.

12. I want a category on the main page, pun the right side, going down like how every other thing got it own category.

Please.