Barbadians Must Demand Better Governance

Skipping out on the whole notion of having a “white Christmas,” Simon Cowell was spotted frolicking around the beach in Barbados yesterday (December 25, 2008) with Sir Philip Green
Yesterday in the news there was a report that the government will start construction on a secondary school at Searles, Christ Church in early 2017. The information caught the attention of BU not because the school is earmarked to have a sixth form, rather, Minister of Education Ronald Jones explained he preferred not to divulge the reason why the construction of the school was delayed. It is difficult to imagine a minister and by extension a UK or US government being allowed to avoid disclosing the reason why a government project was delayed.
To support the point, across the pond in recent days there has been a full parliamentary enquiry into the collapse in April this year of British Home Stores (BHS) which, until its sale last year, was the ‘jewel in the crown’ of frequent visitor to Barbados Sir Philip Green. Sir Philip is not scheduled to be in the parliamentary hot seat until next week but BU anticipates his testimony will follow the same course as BHS’s new owner, Dominic Chappell and its CEO and CFO have yesterday [08/06/2016]. In other words, the loss of over 11,000 jobs and the disappearance of its employees’ pension fund is everyone else’s fault, not his.
The noticeable difference between a major collapse of a large company in the UK and a similar collapse in Barbados lies in the robust application of transparency laws. Whereas in Barbados successive governments have given lip service to governance issues, in the UK, an enquiry is not only held to investigate suspected or reported malfeasance, it is publicly televised and information made available for a legitimate fourth estate to report on. It also goes without saying that the UK DPP will be following events with the threat of prosecution unlike our DPP Charlie Leacock.
Yesterday’s hearing was fascinating in that Darrin Topp, the CEO (or former CEO) of BHS and the CFO, Michael Hitchcock, blamed everything on the new owner Dominic Chappell and went so far as to accuse Mr Chappell of threatening to kill him (Mr Topp) and Mr Hitchcock called him a “premier league liar and Sunday pub retailer”. In his turn Mr Chappell denied that he had threatened to kill Mr Topp and stated, in effect, that Mr Topp was completely incompetent and blamed the collapse of BHS, which he purchased for £1 from Sir Philip Green, on…..Sir Philip Green. Mr Chappell however was forced to admit that he had made a profit.
We wait to hear from Sir Philip Green who may find himself in the law courts alongside Mr Chappell.
The key issues are:
The pension scheme: There is a pension deficit of £571 million (BBD$ 1,661,717,332). In 2013 BHS agreed to put £9.5m (BBD$ 27,642,867) into the pension yearly for 23 years to make up the deficit. Companies have a legal obligation to do this under the Pensions Act 2004. This amount does not compute and seems far too low a refund to the raided pension fund.
Property: Sir Philip bought BHS in 2000. In 2001 BHS sold 12 stores to Carmen Properties Limited for £105.9million (BBD$ 305,687,376) and then rented them back from the Carmen (which is off-shore and based in Jersey) for £12million (BBD$ 34,935,907) a year. Carmen Properties was owned by Sir Philip Green. Over the next 11 years BHS paid £141million (BBD$ 410,558,695) in rent to Carmen. These rents are generally considered to be high in comparison to the prevailing market rate.
Dividends: BHS paid £414 million (BBD$ 1,205,504,283) over 4 years (£220 million (BBD$ 640,581,016) in 2004 alone, more than £118 million (BBD$ 343,626,037) more than its pre-tax profits). More than $400 million (BBD$ 1,164,834,024) of that went to Sir Philip Green. This eradicated the £147.7million (BBD$ 430,121,852) reserves of BHS at a time when the pension fund had gone into substantial deficit. £60million (BBD$ 174,737,898) of these reserves went on dividends, instead of into the pension fund. The payment of dividends reduced shareholder funds from £335.2 million (BBD$ 976,268,985) to £86 million (BBD$ 250,556,126) between 2000 and 2004.
Sale and purchase: BHS was purchased from Sir Philip Green by Retail Acquisitions for £1 on 12 March 2015. Dominic Chappell, the new owner, is a TWICE declared bankrupt and was millions of pounds in debt as a result of a failed business building, a marina on the Isle of Wight. Mr Chappell has no experience in retail whatever.
Prospects of success: Arcadia Group/BHS’s 2014 results show like-for-like sales were up 3.6% at BHS. Yet it is generally held that BHS had fallen behind its competitors and were steadily falling.
In Barbados, Little England, we accord a high level of preferential treatment to these dubious foreign operators like Claire Cowan, David Ames, Eugene Melnyk (the father of our Charlie Leacock’s godchild) et al. Commentary on an article posted recently by Jeff Cumberbatch exposed our lack of appreciation of how dots are connected in the temporal space humankind exist. Freedom to exercise the intellect and nurture a healthy curiosity about all things in the ecosystem is a prerequisite to achieve actualisation and happiness.
If we want our system of government to work, we have to ensure checks and balances are legislated and practiced. There is a reason bipartisan Committees of parliament exist such as the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), The Committee of Privileges to name two. Note these important committees of parliament have not functioned in the interest of the public under a BLP or DLP government. Instead the system has given rise to a political class whose interest is to serve themselves. Barbadians although rumoured to be an educated lot have ceded our right to advocacy under our Westminster system of government to an ineffective few.
Several lessons can be learned from the on-going BHS public parliamentary enquiry in Great Britain. No system is perfect, however, we must continually work to make it better.
Related Link: BHS: Death threats, ‘crazy’ rants and a scuppered Sports Direct rescue bid

” FIVE MEN AND two women are said to be the main candidates for the three new judgeships soon to be established.”
LikeLike
Precisely, we should not stop trying to find the better world, that is possible.
All the ills in our world have been created by humans, and as humans we must forever try to reverse them, make things better, for every living creature.
LikeLike
@Pachamama at 1:07 PM you came out the starting blocks really swiftly but then quickly started a type of speed wobble down the track that created quite a bit of opportunity to be surpassed.
I have no idea what you mean by “you yourself are shamelessly ignorant about the most recent developments in your own field”. And in fact neither can you. I have never said I do A or B and in speaking on business or governance there are always new and different methodologies/concepts/theories that drive the ‘hot trend of the day’ . So that is one speed-wobble of not saying much.
Anyhow, the simple fact is that I do not subscribe to your level of ideologue absolutism. I am not some mindless corporate “tehnician” whose “beliefs have guided us to a cul-de-sac”. That is ideological mumbo-jumbo used to wiggle out of practical analysis of the issues.
Although I can’t find way to “justify the unjustifiable” which at NO TIME have I attempted to do here on BU or in life you however have the inalienable right to be “seeking to exact revenge for the cultural genocide [I] have supported”.
Clearly that is not “justify the unjustifiable”. Oh lawd!!!!
I attempt to be a realist and recognize that Marx and Lenin were evil just as Margaret Thatcher and George Bush the son (in a different ways of course) and Vladimir Putin and the Bothas and Ian Smith were/are ALSO evil and speak that clearly and (I hope) well enunciated therefore I am a bad-word fit for execution.
Away with that line of dated insane thinking Pacha.
I am essentially not much different from you in many regards but I have long reached a point where a little innate honesty drives me.
So I can applaud vigorously the young Fidel Castro but I can equally criticize a 90 year-old Castro who feebly goes to his governing council meeting this week and implores his other wizened revolutionists to push back on the desires on the new blood of socialists/communists Cuban thinkers who want to regig and reform to a modern process that embraces Obama’s overtures.
No one says or desires a return to Batista days but to your point which “systems have made the world a better place”
So I cannot show you any of them but I can honestly seek to move forward practically…you want to use a guillotine.
Good luck with that…you obviously have much more than ” temerity to spew” that ignorance.
Trust me bro I firmly believe in self-defense. If your crew comes to take me out then come prepared. You want to substitute my level of stupidity with your own stupidity…then be prepared bro. LOLLL.
I love and follow Dr King or Madiba examples of life and yet I channel El Hajj Malik too. That’s the type of contradictory ignorance I spew!!!
LikeLike
What is amazing that people are so easily hoodwinked into giving up their constitutional rights in favour of political justice
The story of the dog and the bone comes to mind
LikeLike
“On Being as Wise as a Serpent while as Harmless as a Dove”
Life does that to those of us who would be quick to embrace peace and the “why cant we all get along” quixote tenets.
We live, fully cognisant of the 11 p.m. Wharf Road killings that the Acting Chief of Police and the Attorney General are very quick to argue are “figments of our imagination”
Crime is Down
LikeLike
To the family of Abijah Holder, the 11 year old who lost his life on the Barbados ABC Highway, I respectfully ask your forbearance for this poster.
As a parent, I feel that Your son, or any other child, should not die on our highway BECAUSE OF AN ILLEGAL STRUCTURE.
IT MUST BE MOVED & THE PEOPLE RESPONSIBLE FOR HIS MURDER, MUST BE BROUGHT TO JUSTICE.
Or what we have is a country where
(i).we can kill children by stomping on their bodies (while the neigbours nor the child care board does nothing)
(ii).shot our sons (while the DPP does nothing) or
(iii).build “islands” in our streets and kill our youth (while our Ministry of Transportation and our Town Planning Authority does nothing)
LikeLike
shoot*
LikeLike
With Respect, PUDRYR, You said above;
(iii).build “islands” in our streets and kill our youth (while our Ministry of Transportation and our Town Planning Authority does nothing)
I think that may not be quite accurate. Those authorities can reasonably claim that they carried out their duty in condemning the obstruction and putting out a cease and desist order respectively. There are facts in the public domain that support this.
Could they have done more! Definitely yes!! But the buck did not stop with them.
The people who did nothing to remove the threat of future deaths were: firstly the MInister responsible for the TPD; and secondly, the Developer who failed to carry out the order. However, some other Ministers may also share some culpability in this matter along with Cabinet for not insisting on urgent action to right this wrong.
Perhaps with a new MInister responsible for the TPD and elections that could be called anytime now, we may see some action on that front in the not too distant future.
LikeLike
@AWTY
A classic example of doublespeak. According to you everyman carried out his job, but yet nothing was done. Lip service is not full service. Don’t just go through the motions; bring the different arms of government into the picture.
An order from a Ministry or government department must carry more weight than an order from a BU blogger. Put the full weight and machinery of the government into that order.
And “the developer failed to carry it out”? What does that mean? It shouldn’t matter if the developer carried it out or not. If he carries it out then that is good; if he doesn’t then the goverment will do it for him and send him the bill.
LikeLike
Piece and what about the Codrington family ? where is the justice after so lo many years ? and who and what were responsible for the failures in those fatal deaths ? These and many more questions remains unanswered after lo many years ?
To be fair and balanced how about making a Poster in the Memory of Codrington family .or doesnt their lives count to all and sundry those who sit high on the seat of morals ethics and transparency ,,just wondering
LikeLike
@ AC
One thing about truth is that you do not need to write down what you said all you need to do is recall it.
The Blogmaster can and will find my blogs on the Codrington family in Arch Cot and my comments about Smiley Teets Dale Marshall and his inane comment on national TV about the smeller dogs are searching to see if there are any living specimens.
I also spoke about the fund that was set up at the Bank account that no one knew where the proceeds of those monies went.
I even went so far as to speak to that practice and also spoke of Auntie Olga’s so called funds for the homeless that there was no single authority on the Barbadian landscape that acted as ombudsman for the disadvantaged cause evey body was in a free for all.
I did not have the assistance of me grandson then to put them in pretty pictures books and on CD covers but I am fair in my licks AC, if you and the DLP doing scvunt, I give wunna licks but not a fellah here cant say that when it comes to speaking about what is just and right and fair I am lead amongst those that Mia Mottley speaks of when she erroneously mentions people on the blogs who disrespect the institutions and seek to undermine the laws.
The institutions are inanimate and I wont waste my time directing my ire against them, it is the small doggie menses and the clitoris bitter outers that I speak to and that I easily disrespect.
If a thing is right yesterday, at the absolute level, it cannot be wrong today since it echoes “Quod scripsi, scripsi” at the absolute level.
If teifing by the DLP is wrong, if bribes at Cahill are wrong, then bribes with Edutech, and ZR license scams and PSes giving preferential treatment to friends and shifting UWI government agreements to family members IS WRONG.
Dat be my problem, IT WRONG & nothing you nor de other people can say will make me say that it is right.
LikeLike
Piece…dont mind that idiot AC aka WAK…she’s trying to distract you from the topic at hand and simultaneously kiss Maloney’s ass at the same time…”a pooch licker”.
From Fruendel back down ignored that childs death…Maloney is culpable since he thinks he owns the island and refused to move the obstructing structure…he definitely needs a criminal charge.
When he is leaving Barbados, hopefully after a prison term ..he can take the idiot AC with him, as his personal slave since there will be no further use for her as a yardfowl.
Mia needs to share more information that we know she has about the decades old disenfranchisement of the majority bajans. I know Maloney personally to be a very nasty piece of work….right along with the others.
LikeLike
PUDYR
Add scamming odder people of their intellectual property and no hearing to date
LikeLike
Whuloss Gabriel not me and that Pele case boasie
Gabriel we must endeavour to never stop learning (i nearly said Endeavour to persevere a line from the Outlaw Josie Wales)
I am always trying to understand things. Than being as close as i get to accepting them.
But here is something in that vein of teifing IP, after a while one needs to appease oneself about these transient things so I have adopted the challenge of studying something new every day since it is claimed that it is a way to defeat dementia.
I have to speak to the GP about that cause I ent no doctor AND if it does not work, given that one would not be able to tell that it did not work, would that mean that not being able to determine that it did not work would mean that it did work? lololol
Sorry about that one. Was trying to be deep.
If you get bored read this
http://www.bbc.com/capital/story/20160504-why-your-colleagues-cant-help-stealing-your-ideas
In summary the article says
“There’s nothing more infuriating than sharing an idea, only to hear it repeated by someone else at your next meeting. But these idea thieves may not even realise they’re doing it.”
It makes for an interesting read and assuages ole menses per people teifing ideas.
Dem even got the gumption to use an image of a person teifing a wallet though it could be someone tekking their own wallet from their own right back pocket with their right hand.
LikeLike
GoB launches new App Bribe which is banned by Apple Store and Google Play
LikeLike
Piece yuh talk nufff but no good hiding underneath the coat tails of the blogmaster. Waiting for DEM posters of Mia in bed with Akanni and look on the good side it might change everyone belief . but back to the Codrington family you gone ran and hide leaving a trail of hypocrisy behind.
LikeLike
The traditional colours of the Barbados Flag.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Piece…I too await the Mia posters, but first, we gotta get her as Prime Minister with her and her ministers doing the same crap as the DLP ministers…much more fun that way…lol.
Yeah Buggy, the island is too color coded…they refuse to let go of the centuries old blight of defining a majority black country by skin color and hair texture…total blight.
LikeLike
millertheanunnaki June 11, 2016 at 11:57 AM #
Piece, what about the already-proven death trap on the ABC highway acting as an egress to the Coverley boot-camp looking houses or accommodation for military personnel?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Nothing like today’s military accommodation.,more like a concentration camp. The last barracks which I occupied in BAOR looking exactly like the houses in Coverley , were built in the mid-1950’s were all demolished about 15 years ago.
LikeLike
Gazer; Re. your 5:25 pm post.
I suspect that you know little about what you speak, especially the process through which Planning permission for Physical Developments are approved, denied or modified by Government. “Bringing the relevant different arms of government into the process” is a mandatory aspect of the process.
The fact that a cease and desist order went out for the Coverly exit road indicates that the technical staff of all the relevant MInistries did their job. The fact that the Developer thumbed his nose at the order suggests that he was fortified in doing so by an entity or entities other than the TCPO who, from the information in the public domain, does not appear to have withdrawn the order. There is no provision in the process for even senior Public officers to agitate to have wrongs righted or even make their views public.
By the way, as far as I’m aware, Only the Minister responsible for theTPD has the authority to legally vary recommendations for Physical Development projects. No other Minister has such power. But I might be wrong.
What doublespeak what! Read my post again.
LikeLike
Piece would NEVER put a poster depicting Mia for Past or present indiscretions which all know are too numerous to count like most here on BU advocating their voice for change Piece is a big time Hypocrite steep in delusional politics masquerading as a voice for Change . i dare Piece to put a poster of Mia as despot in waiting and i know the backlash that he would get would cause him to flee from the blog asking for mercy ..what left of his balls would disappear instantly.
LikeLike
@Col B, cute flag. But although you have the symbolism about right I suggest the overall symbolism of the insidious powerful ones in the black band at the end of the flag would be more accurately represented as an outer band around the entire flag. Black supposedly in control as containing the other colours!!! oh lawd.
@Are-we June 11, 2016 at 11:55 PM, as a former gov’t official you need to explain a basic issue for me on this Coverley matter. If a cease and desist order is in place how then was the ‘hazard’ allowed to remain? It is either dangerous or it is not.
Is it that the TCP wants to maintain a certain aesthetic to their road planning and thus just simply do not prefer these type of structures or that this is a clear and present hazard and must be removed?
We are saying that the ” developer thumbed his nose at the order” which is correct on the facts but if this is a ‘road hazard’ in the complete and truest sense of the word then the developer’s reaction to the order would be irrelevant. The gov’t would act according to what is right per regs and eventually be reimbursed at the success of their court action.
On that simple basis the argument to blame the developer is flawed – of course he is wrong to breach regulations -but the government should have removed the hazard already and returned the road way to the recommended status.
I am completely unable to understand why that has not happened.
Also unable to understand why government has left themselves open to lawsuits due to accidents UNLESS their law department has already advised them that the condition is a hazard only in the event of careless driving and as such the burden of an accident falls significantly on the driver and not due to the ‘island’.
Anyhow time will tell the true scandal on this.
LikeLike
AC….even if Piece is not up to the task of reining in Mia, others are more than capable, Mia did not succeed in stopping the blogs from existing in Barbados and for that attempt she made with your ministers and corrupt business people alone dictates that she must be held accountable for what she did as attorney general and deputy PM, all her past wrongdoing and what she will do in the future as prime minister, to disenfranchise the people.
You should be more worried about the next DLP scandal, ya still got less than 2 years to go….more than enough time for another auditor general’s report about bribery and corruption.
I leave my friend Piece to deal with you later.
LikeLike
@Dee Word
Yours is the 64 thousand dollar question. The Chief TP needs to address the matter.
LikeLike
@david
What, if anything, can the Barbados Port Inc do Rock Hard Cement for the several, various and fundamental breaches of the agreement for lots 3 and 7??????
If the board of BPI does nothing then the Opposition have to make it an issue and call for the resignation and or removal.
LikeLike
What BU can definitely opine is that David Jean-Marie has a lot of explaining to do.
LikeLike
@AWTY
@DPD
I was about to compose a reply, but I see that theDPD has given a much better response than I could.
LikeLike
…………….and Mark Maloney’s uncle, the chairman of the Barbados Port Inc, Mr. David Harding?
LikeLike
DPD; re. your 7:25 am post.
Good questions! Thanks for putting them in the way that you did as it makes me appreciate the angle that was being pursued by the Gazer. I can now understand his position which, like yours, has much merit.
I can only answer your questions in relation to my indirect and perhaps imperfect knowledge of how things were handled somewhat over a decade and a half ago. I do not know what actually happens in these cases in these modern 21 st century times.
Once a stop and desist order is made and the 28 or so days grace period has elapsed without a successful challenge from the Developer it is the DUTY of the CTPO to remove the structure in the interest of the Public. The CTPO would be expected to effect that duty expeditiously and without fear or favour, utilizing, where necessary, physical and other resources from other Departments not under his direct control in doing so. Such departments might include the Police, the MTW, the AG’s office, etc.
Given that scheduling might be a bit problematic, the timing of an action such as at Coverley or the Lears roundabout might reasonably take a couple of months, not years while the cease and desist order is in effect.
Therefore a reasonable assumption must be that some other considerations, over and above scheduling problems related to getting the necessary resources mobilized at a specific time, might have preempted the ability of the CTPO to take that action expeditiously.
Was the overriding factor direct or indirect interference by an entity that had the power to persuade the CTPO to neglect his duty since it does not appear that the cease and desist order was officially removed in the interim?
If that is the case, should the CTPO have had, for his protection, a direct paper trail that nailed the details of such speculative interference? In the past the stratagem of “put it in writing” would have been used in situations such as this one. I wonder if such a strategy still exists?
If the CTPO did not carry out his duties in such an important case where such implied dereliction of duty threatened life and limb of the public and would be presumably against good governance and the wishes of an upright Minister, should one expect that his boss would have taken measures to effect some sort of sanction against him? In the absence of such is it reasonable to conclude that the CTPO was operating with the full blessings of his bosses? If so where should one assign the proportionate blame?
Imponderables or very easy?
Fill in the dots.
LikeLike
@david
Who else on the board of the Barbados Port Inc is conflicted with Mr. Maloney? The chairman is conflicted because he is family to the Mr. Maloney and they have business interest in common as well.
LikeLike
Board of Directors
LikeLike
Management team
LikeLike
Many were wondering why Peter Harris…via Jean-Marie, did not get the property for his latest big brain scam….now we know, Maloney don’t like to share and if the Chairman is indeed Maloney’s relative, now we see clearly the tug of war that preceeded this latest scandal.
The business crooks are all fighting to divvy up property between themselves, even illegally, aided by dumb politicians and strategically placed, taxpayer paid executives….which will leave nothing for the people on the island.
Time to rein in Maloney and Peter Harris….what is Jean-Marie still doing working at the port, did he not do enough damage at Transport Board with Peter Harris, whose yardfowl is he or does he belong to both political parties like the corrupt businessmen.
Government needs to get rid of all these conflict of interest parasites from the public payroll.
LikeLike
The chairman of the board has to go. He has to resign, he has presided over a scandalous affair at the BPI, on compounded by the fact that he is the uncle of Mr. Maloney, so he needs to do the honourable thing and resign. The only thing he could have done was to personally affix his signature to the agreement to lease the lands to Maloney and Rock Hard Cement.
LikeLike
The only thing he could have done worse was to personally affix his signature to the agreement to lease the lands to Maloney and Rock Hard Cement.
LikeLike
BU posted a note to FB to email confirmation of the familial ties in this matter.
LikeLike
No wonder Fruendel dropped this potential hot potato in Boyce’s lap…let him take the heat for anymore bad decisions going forward.
LikeLike
@Are-We, pellucid. Thank You sir. Ironically, the more you wrote the more @Gazer’s comment also became more pellucid. LOLL.
Double-Speak, indeed….not at you….the process. And obviously 21 cent. operations are different to your time.
But coming back to the tragedy of the death on the highway and the prolonged period this has been intact that the road-island cannot be the determining “fault” of the accident.
LikeLike
DPD;
You said “Ironically, the more you wrote the more @Gazer’s comment also became more pellucid. LOLL.”.
I agree.
On first reading his comments I had a knee jerk reaction to defend the senior Technicians in this matter. at least 2 of whom I used to know professionally. But, rereading Gazer’s points and reading your pellucidly clear post, I realised that Gazer’s take (and yours) was an overwhelmingly logical indictment of the situation at the TCPD end.
That the order has apparently not been officially withdrawn suggests to me that the road-island is still likely to be at least a highly contributory “fault” of the accident if not the “determining” fault.
If it wasn’t there there would not have been an island for the driver to run into no matter the degree of possible negligence on his or her part.
LikeLike
In todays news we learn that Maloney has commandeered a public road in the Port area for his own uses. If the same Minister ,and TCPD ,had put their feet down when he had done a similar thing outside of Coverley development, in blocking off the access to Legall’s concrete business, he would not be so cocky with the government today.
Perhaps we may start seeing Mark Maloney as a candidate for the Knight of St Andrew ,sorry Knighthood from England, when he begin to publish the Maloney Papers ,as this is perhaps , the only way that we may have a much desired early General Election before November 30, 2016.
LikeLike
@ De Word, The Gazer and Are We there Yet
Reasoned arguments among citizenry makes for stronger wiser nations.
I do wish that I had the sound pellucid reasoning that you gents are blessed with, but i am bereft of such grey matter and commensurate verbal acuity.
I shall therefore be facile.
Not because I want to ,state of volition, nor because I can, state of capacity, but because I am, simpleton state.
I will zoom into Are We There Yet’s remarks not because I appreciate his more than Gazer’s or DPD’s but because of these 4 words
ABIJAH IJESTIC HOLDER-PHILLIPS
Do you know who that is?
http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/420/59420/abijah-holder4345-450×303.jpg?1435463227
He is the casualty of that accident at the Coverley Development illegal island in the ABC Highway.
He is the essence that his mother referred to as her “Sun” and his father too would have mourned and who both still will mourn.
So since I am not too au fait with these things logical, let me see if i can get this correct Mr. Are We There Yet.
A man constructs a bar illegally and receives a cease and desist order which he “ignores” and (after a length of time not shared with the reporting news people? or if shared was not shared with us readers) his $30,000 investment gets pulled down.
Abijah gets murdered by an illegal island in a highway that leads to a development where there are a number of illegal structures i.e. a gas station that is 5 feet away from my back door so to speak, and the same authorities that would have cautioned that rum shop operator to remove his shack CANNOT tek down the island in the road?
I have created the following poster for the Rastafarian Community whom few of you know, has NGO status with the United Nations, speak to Ras Bongo Spears of such.
I am encouraging said community to canvas with the UN agency, solely saying that one of its sons was murdered by one Baloney and his Development parties.
They can if they choose copy the recent Nation News article to show how the sovereign cuntry is being blackmailed and that one Baloney has threatened the Chief Town Planner.
You can if you choose mention how he has said that if he Bkarkham and the rest of the murderers dont get their way they have threatened that they will stop other investors from coming to Barbados
But most of all I would encourage the Rastafarian Community to speak to the fact that the “weapon of inflicting death to one of our nation’s sons Abijah” remains on our highway and while it is not like the weapon that caused us to loose another son 11-year-old Luke Bjerkhamn who died in a shooting incident at his home, while that glock can be placed in a safe, this one remains on our ABC Highway
LikeLike
Piece….if the black leaders had balls or useful intelligence….Maloney would be scared shitless for threatening to deprive a sovereign nation of investment because he cant continue his illegal activities. ….if the local leaders had a dash of intelligence, they would have the local police, whom Bizzy earlier this month publicly attempted to bribe, investigate to see what other illegal activities Maloney is engaging in on the island which he would use threats to protect and which Bizzy is willing to use bribes to the police to keep ongoing …that would be just the beginning.
The united nations laws governing such despicable actions would be the least of these minorities problems….when I am through with them.
The 2 bit politicians are not taking the threat that the minorities have become to the security of the people and island serious enough….is what it is….
LikeLike
We want to know the name of this company
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82138/food-company-erasing-labels
LikeLike
@Alien
Any good reason the Nation would not have published the name IF there is video evidence and other corroboration to support?
LikeLike
Chances are , you will find the name of the offending company in todays Sunday Sun, but in an advert. ……………It all boils down to the mighty advertising dollar.
LikeLike
http://i.imgur.com/rG2OTsN.jpg?1
LikeLike
http://i.imgur.com/ImyDy6f.jpg?1
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy June 12, 2016 at 9:25 PM
Colonel, come on you must have a more ‘decent-looking’ photo of the Dear Lying Primate into Parris. The guy just looks like a bloated blown up gorilla in a woefully poor-fitting white man suit.
Not even Hog Food aka King Dyall would be found dead wearing such a costume of the white man’s pimping mimicry.
LikeLike
@ Are We There Yet
You saw the one man Activist who sat down to protest the recent building of an “island” of a particular Bajan hotel?
You think that Abijah Holder’s Parents accompanied by the Rastafarian Community would have any effect on your statement “Once a stop and desist order is made and the 28 or so days grace period has elapsed without a successful challenge from the Developer it is the DUTY of the CTPO to remove the structure in the interest of the Public?”
I was just wondering if a picture of that to a NY newspaper or the UK Daily Mail or BBC’s online services might make a dent in what is obviously a fear of certain factions in Barbados.
LikeLike
Piece this is for YOU The Real DEAL
LikeLike
There are now enough dots to discern the machiavellian strategy.
CTPO beware!
Your head is being prepared for a figurative placement on a platter and delivery to Maloney.
The only worthwhile prize is the Hard Rock cement facility in the Harbour. At this stage of the game it seems almost certain that Maloney will win that battle. That battle promises to be nasty. The CTPO will lose it, perhaps with a vengeance as he is only a pawn in the larger game.
The hope is that the fallout from that epic battle will not affect the Political class so the new Minister responsible for TPD matters, who does not have to face the electorate, will be the one leading the charge and the one to take any political flack.
The major Financier for DLP will live to continue his activities with only a few bruises. He’ll get over it since he will get his pound of figurative flesh from the CTPO.
Connect the dots!
LikeLike
David June 12, 2016 at 9:25 AM
Who bother to explain anything in Barbados.
The Four Seasons project
Andrews Sugar factory.
The numerous downgrades this island has suffered.
The status of CLICO and its CEO
Louis Lynch Secondary school building.
Cahill story
Mark Maloney ,the de factor President of Barbados
The T&T fishing agreement.
Why Dennis Kellman was given a Ministry.
The truth about the Grotto high rise apartments.
Governments involvement in the Bushy Park race circuit.
and the list goes on .
LikeLike