Mark of the Beast

It is no secret that there is a constituency which dwells in the Barbados Underground who enjoys a robust religious debate. In recent times there has been rich discussion about the Jewish Talmud, The Promises of God and currently The Bible And The Qur’an, Brothers Kept Apart. This group is comprised of Atheists, Agnostics, Christians andย  others, we even noticed the description Apathiest.

Surprisingly to the BU household the religious conversation has attracted a healthy following based on what we see from back here. We hope that we are not twisting any arms but there are some Christian events which require clarification.

• The BU household wishes to ask our religious luminaries to explain how they perceive revelations linked toย  the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls can potentially reshape religion as we know it.
  • Explain the Mark of the Beast and the much discussed the coming of the Anti-Christ.

Attached is a Power Point Presentation which has been in circulation for sometime which some believe is the Mark of the Beast exposed!

820 responses to “The Mark Of The Beast, The Coming Of The Anti-Christ,The Dead Sea Scrolls”

1. Only qualification i depend on is the right to free speech.

Johnโ€™s Gospel was not Jesus’s

If i was to give the meaning for a parable it would be: A polite way to say to someone, don’t ask me! if you want to find out, do it on your own.

19 parables later and no one ent get the point.

I am pretty sure, out of what is presented as Jesus’s teachings in the bible, a majority is parables.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Ready-Done
    I always thought Jesus used parables to confuse people and basically, get them thinking for them self.

NO JESUS USUALLY EXPLAINED SOME OF THE PARABLES HE GAVE TO HIS DISCIPLES AFTERWARDS. In others he did not need to.

Jesus didnโ€™t ask folk to think for themselves he asked them to follow his example and do just as did, i.e follow his Fathers instructions unswervingly. This is best demonstrated in Johnโ€™s gospel.

โ€œI always thoughtโ€ ? Thats the problem. THE SCRIPTURES ENJOINS US TO STUDY THEM ! JESUS RECOMMENDED TO THE JEWS OF HIS DAY IN JOHN 5 that they SEACH THE SCRIPTURES!
    JESUS SPECIFICALLY REVEALED TO NICODEMUS IN JOHN 3 THAT HE OUGHT TO KNOW CERTAIN THINGS AS A LEADER OF ISRAEL not think!.

You cant think without some sound bases from which to start of!

Your supreme thinking on biblical issues allows you to serve up lots of twaddle!

Re Only qualification i depend on is the right to free speech.

I notice that this is your right alone, not anyoneโ€™s else.
    I must try practicing Medicine using my โ€œright of free speechโ€ and my โ€œthoughtsโ€
    Do you expect your physician to do this?

Re Johnโ€™s Gospel was not Jesusโ€™s

You speak like a fool Sir. Since we are speaking concerning issues of Scripture, we must refer to scripture. If it was Physiology, I would quote Guyton or Ganong. If it was Pharmacology I would quote Goodman & Gillman or Jawetz or Ritter Rand & Dale etc.

If Johnโ€™s Gospel was not Jesusโ€™s, then so was Matthewโ€™s and Markโ€™s and Lukeโ€™s so how did you learn of Jesusโ€™ personality and your โ€œthoughtsโ€ about the reason for Jesusโ€™ use of parables? Eh?.

Re If i was to give the meaning for a parable it would be: A polite way to say to someone, donโ€™t ask me! if you want to find out, do it on your own.

Parable = parabolos in the greek = to lay aside
    A parable is only an illustration Sir.

Re 19 parables later and no one ent get the point.

Again you err . Read the end of the parable of the good Samaritan. The one to whom he spoke understood what he said. When Jesus explained the parables that they didnโ€™t understand THEY GOT THE POINT!

Re
    I am pretty sure, out of what is presented as Jesusโ€™s teachings in the bible, a majority is parables.
    NO YOU ARE SURELY WRONG
    TRY READING THE TEXT AND STUDYING THE WORD!
    It doesnโ€™t hurt, man.
    When you study you can be REALLY SURE!

Many folk like to STUDY THE WORD just as much as you love your gardening.

I am amazed at the number of Bible illiterates who come on this forum spouting hate and chatting error having not studied.

If I practiced Medicine like you guys practice misinterpreting the Bible I would have been sentenced long ago. In the practice of Medicine you donโ€™t go merely by your โ€œthoughtsโ€, or by โ€œIm pretty sureโ€

I am off to meeting now. There will be many men there who have STUDIED. A few of them will stand and speak extemporaneously on what ever issue is mentioned in the lyrics of one of the first two hymns that are called —also extemporaneously. There will be no brimbling or twaddle, I can assure you.

3. Georgie Porgie, sir, that is a answer.

After Jesus notice that people crave instruction he would then provide explanation, but the intended effect was to encourage people to think for them self even if only for five mins. (much like a school teacher would do.)

Seek what Scriptures? the NT was written after Jesus, so he could not be referring to them, That would effectively make the christian church void. As most church is based in the NT. We would have to go back to the OT.

follow his Fathers instructions unswervingly? from the above i assume you mean the OT, but if the old testament is the scriptures to follow unswervingly, how things get so bad in the first place, that Jesus had to come and fix it? People use to follow this written, man inspired law ‘unswervingly’ as it was enforced by death. but still it left lots of things to be desired.

The bible teaches: to know a man you must know his works, NATURE is gods creation, the original purpose of man was to controlmaintain nature.

Could the lawscriptures Jesus was talking about be the law of nature. That law witch is written so clearly, not by man made words, but authored by GOD himself in the unswervingly law of nature.

After all, what goes up must come down.

4. @Ready-Done

One thing I must admire you for is your persistence because it says a lot. You need to forgive GP because he don’t understand your language at all. He ain’t grasp what you saying yet and if he understands, he is using words not to answer you and put in his own propaganda at the same time.

Let me say up front, that this character called Jesus is meant to be a politician and if you check it carefully, only politicians does come to the electorate with promises in order to win power. There is a principle here that speaks to the disposition of man as a creature.

It is the same way we deal with animals and before some idiot jump up, we don’t promise animals anything by word, we control the animal by a system of communicating punishment and reward… but this in itself is a promise to the animal; you do what I want and you will have in abundance.

So, you withhold food to punish and you give food to reward. Now under that system, a dog will not attack its master and will do everything that he can perceive his master to want in order to get food. To the farm animal, it is, you stay in this pen and I will satisfy you with food.

If you have a pig in a sty acting up, the one thing that will cool him down is to give him food. That is how simple minded a pig is. This suits the farmer too because for the pig or the cow to be running around it would lose the weight he wants in order to fetch a good price on the market… plus he wants the meat to remain “tender” and not tough.

If you see a stray dog come at your residence, the easiest way to get that wild spirit to be loyal to you is to feed it and if you feed it in abundance, it will stay around and don’t leave.

To the animals we are Gods because we provide. The only difference is that they know that we die and are not immortal, whereas the fact that “god” is removed, we know nothing about him.

Now a dog is a living spirit just like any human being. Christians talk foolishness about them not having a soul and they being lesser spirits and lesser beings… but they all have a sense of right and wrong. A totally ignorant human being will behave like an animal. To me this is an example that man could be deprogrammed to act like an animal. Where then is the spirit in the equation? Would the man’s spirit then become a lesser spirit?

What this tells me is that the animal condition is more about the physical and mental capacity than about any spirit or soul. This is about the interface between the non-material and the material to produce consciousness.

Maybe a good analogy is a radio receiver, where reception capability is equal to the quality of the receiver. This has nothing to do with the quality of the signal or transmission; which is always at its optimum.

Using this analogy, it would indicate that all spirits are the same and what makes the difference is the body but certainly all life is about the spirit. If this is not so, tell me what brings a tree to life, what causes an insect to fly and what causes bacteria to exist?

I consider all these, not simple chemical reactions, but forms of intelligence; resilient and able to propagate life. We are made up of colonies of tiny particles; they combine to make us who we are. It is the quality and maybe quantity of these existing in us that give us our intelligence and capacity or capabilities.

Here it is, that because of this natural harmony between spirit and material to create consciousness and intelligence, nature is able to study itself and manipulate itself. It is a constant evolution where, as it is said, the only constant is change itself. We see ourselves as independent of the rest of the world, but really we are not. We are agents of nature, we do what the bacteria can’t do or the dogs can’t do; we try very hard to control nature in our quest for stability.

Here it is that we are the creatures in the creation, able to study and manipulate the creation. It’s like robots made to generate their own intelligence and regulate themselves; something that we fear because then there would be no need for man because here it is that a creature would emerge that does not need to eat food; energy maybe, but you can get that from the sun.

This blog thread has become nauseating to read. The self-righteous are now the gods. Actually, when you read them and compare it with what the bible says, they are more the authority than the bible. They tell you what you have to do while the bible prescribes and promises benefits if you adhere to the prescription.

Let me ask a question, if I tell you that if you put your hand in acid it will burn, is that not different from saying, if you don’t do as I say, I will pour acid on you? Well, can’t I find a way to put my hand in acid without getting burn? I could certainly cover my hand with plastic.

So then I could rephrase the statement: if you put your hand unprotected in the acid, it will burn and if that suits you, so be it, maybe the hand offended you.

Quite far from this reasoning is that of people like GP and Zoe and their instructions can be found in Isaiah. We wonder why christians have been persecuted and you wonder why they burn so much knowledge? One question you have to ask yourself, is this behaviour to be tolerated in any society? and remember, this is directly from the bible. We dealing with tyranny. Here goes:

“No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD.” Isaiah 54: 17.

5. @GP
    Exactly why are you so touchy and defensive? You give the impression that it is your way or the highway – although I understand that this is not your intent.

In the first place, when I was typing my response to RD re the parables I had not yet read your response. I was therefore not responding to you or to any previous exchanges we may have had.

In the second place, no one said that these two issues were the underpinning matters to understanding the truth – I said that they would SET HIM ON THE WAY to understanding the truth.

Thirdly, Jesus did NOT explain his parables -except to the disciples.

Indeed, he said that if he explained them to the public they may understand what he was saying and be saved. But since it was not intended for them to understand, he spoke in parables.

Indeed, to emphasize his intent, check
    Matt 13:34 – “All these things Jesus spoke to the multitude in parables, and without a parable spoke he not unto them.”

The modern situation is this:- there are a large multitude of persons walking around calling themselves followers of Jesus (Christians) who have heard only parables.
    -They do not understand the true message.
    -They are characterized by the inability to articulate their faith except by repeating the parables that they know by rote.
    -They cannot explain basic concepts except to resort to ‘faith’ in the parable
    -They are unwilling to explore alternative ideas because they know that they stand on a weak foundation.

True disciples can entertain debate on ANY concept because in the final analysis, they have had the ‘parables’ explained and they KNOW the true gospel.

…so ROK could never bother a true disciple… no matter how provocative he is, or how many spaceships he contemplates….LOL.

The whole business of the ‘parables’ is therefore interesting in that it dispels the temptation to believe that those who have heard the ‘parables’ (or studied the bible) necessarily understands the intended message…

6. A quick note, people believe in god but not in aliens, God and the angels are not of this earth, so, where are they from? could heaven not be a planet?

7. To those who expound ‘Hogwash’ in their diatribe, its most appropriate for them to talk about ‘Pigs’ as their minds are usually in the Pig Pen!

Opinions are like an ‘anus’ everyone has one, and free will and free speech certainly allows some on this thread to expound in the form of bovine, nauseating, rancid, rancorous, malignant hatred for Almighty God and His Word!

“And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a DEBASED MIND, to do those things which are not fitting…backbiters, HATERS of God…For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against ALL ungodliness and unrighteousness of MEN who suppress the TRUTH in unrighteousness….so they are without excuse…but became FUTILE (empty, foolish, useless, confused, perverted logic) in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were DARKENED…Professing to be wise, they became fools.” ( Rom. 1: 28, 30, 18, 20b, 21b, 22) emphasis added.

8. Bush tea,

when it comes to this parable business and confusing people, Jesus ain’t got a thing pun you!

9. Thanatos,

I hope you gone to church already cause with that anger you gwine lick up somebody and brek up de service if yuh ain’t careful.

10. @Anonymous
    Ha Ha Ha – LOL (ROTF)

…man you don’t be easy with the Bushman at all….

It must be somewhat confusing indeed Anon, but if you think about it, it has to be….
    Do you realize that this is a topic that has confused billions for centuries and even with all the knowledge that mankind now has, the vast majority still have no clue….

If therefore the Bushman responds to a small issue in an environment where there is little true understanding – it will appear to be confusing…. Jesus would have had the identical problem.

…case in point – A man comes up to Jesus and ask him directly (I will translate to Bajan)
    ” Skippa. cut out the lotta long talk, What exactly must a man do to be saved?”

Jesus tell the man “You must be born again”

Now Anon, if you understand the plan, that is the most concise, exact and correct answer possible. But the poor man immediately ask “So wait, you want me to go back into my mudda and come out again…”

What Jesus then went on to explain is profound, but few ‘Christians’ seem interested in digging into his explanations. They prefer to operate with their mysterious church dogma.

Fortunately, there is something called ‘common sense’ and there is ‘logic’.

Independent of what you may believe, if it does not make sense and if it does not follow basic logic, then one should be prepared to question that belief.

On the other hand, If you think that you really understand the truth, then one should be always seeking to subject one’s beliefs to the test of common sense and logic…. even if it is confusing..

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Todayโ€™s first service started with a hymn which in the second stanza said โ€œ Muse upon thy body broken and thy blood shed on the tree.

The second song was entitled โ€œThou Spotless lambโ€.

On its conclusion a brother rose to his feet to muse upon the broken body of the Lord and his blood shed on the cross by reading the first 6 verses from Exodus 12 which reads thus :-
    1. And the LORD spake unto Moses and Aaron in the land of Egypt saying, 2. This month shall be unto you the beginning of months: it shall be the first month of the year to you.
    3. Speak ye unto all the congregation of Israel, saying, In the tenth day of this month they shall take to them every man a lamb, according to the house of their fathers, a lamb for an house: 4. And if the household be too little for the lamb, let him and his neighbour next unto his house take it according to the number of the souls; every man according to his eating shall make your count for the lamb.
    5. Your lamb shall be without blemish, a male of the first year: ye shall take it out from the sheep, or from the goats: 6. And ye shall keep it up until the fourteenth day of the same month: and the whole assembly of the congregation of Israel shall kill it in the evening.

Having read the text he divided our outlined the text and relating it the ONE whom this passage prefigured in this wayโ€ฆ.
    A SELECTED LAMB VS 3
    A SUFFICIENT LAMB VS 4
    A SPOTLESS LAMB VS 5
    A SLAIN LAMB VS 6
    And as he proceeded he quoted relevant scriptures from all over the Bible that related and corroborated what he was saying.
    How my soul thrilled with in me as this young man delivered his erudite exposition extemporaneously, as he had no knowledge of what the songs would be that went before his chat. He was able to do what he did because he HAD STUDIED TO SHOW HIMSELF APPROVED because he HAD at some time previously SEARCHED THE SCRIPYURES AS JESUS SAID IN JOHN5. AND HEARTS WERE BLESSED!
    Having read so much twaddle on BU all week I was ecstatic!

After he sat down, another brother rose to his feet and read from Hebrews 10 before reminding us that Jesusโ€™ sacrifice on the cross was
    PENAL
    SUBSTITUTIONARY
    VOLUNTARY
    REDEMPTIVE
    PROPITIARY
    RECONCILIATORY
    EFFICACIOUS
    REVELATORY

He related his outline and the passage to the relevant scriptures, giving evidence that he had studied and searched the Scriptures and was thus able to divide it correctly extemporaneously.

The saints were again blessed.

But all good things must come to and end, and so I returned home and descended from the sublime to the mundane meandering madness and muck on BU! Oh me am!

12. @GP….

………’But all good things must come to and end, and so I returned home and descended from the sublime to the mundane meandering madness and muck on BU! Oh me am!

Who is putting a gun to your head and ‘forcing’ you to log on to BU?!?

Seems to me that you are either ‘yielding’ to the temptation, addicted or just ‘like a noise’….:)

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Ready-Done
    Re After Jesus notice that people crave instruction he would then provide explanation, but the intended effect was to encourage people to think for them self even if only for five mins. (much like a school teacher would do.)

Your opinion is not supported by Scripture. Jesus gave explanations who were the men in transition between the dispensation of the law and the dispensation of grace or the church age. Since they would be the original pillars of the church and present the โ€œapostles doctrine (Acts 2 42) they had to KNOW.

Most of Jesus hearers did not crave instruction. John 6 teaches that the majority of them turned away from him after what is called the โ€œcanabalistic commotionโ€ in that chapter.
    Read the text.

Re
    Seek what Scriptures? I said SEARCH the Scriptures.

the NT was written after Jesus, so he could not be referring to them, That would effectively make the christian church void. As most church is based in the NT. We would have to go back to the OT.

Again you seek to supercede the teaching of the Word by your โ€œthinkingโ€ your โ€œvain philosophyโ€. Consequently you talk โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..material that would be useful only in your garden. LOL

The OT is in the NEW REVEALED
    The NEW is in the OLD CONCEALED.
    You cannot properly interpret the Old without the New or interpret the New without the Old.

Study the teachings of Jesus, John Peter, Paul, Mark, Mathew, Jude etc in the NT and you will find that ALL of them consistently referred to the Old testament.

follow his Fathers instructions unswervingly? YES 122 times in John alone Jesus refers us to the Father!
    from the above i assume you mean the OT, but if the old testament is the scriptures to follow unswervingly, how things get so bad in the first place, that Jesus had to come and fix it?

JESUS DID NOT COME TO FIX THE OLD COVENANT HE CAME TO ADD THE NEW COVENANT AS PREDICTED IN JEREMIAH!

JESUS CAME TO ACOMPLISH THE THINGS THAT WEWRE REQUIRED BY THE OLD COVENANT. THIS IS THE WHOLE TEACHING OF THE BOOK OF HEBREWS ESPECIALLY

People use to follow this written, man inspired law โ€˜unswervinglyโ€™ as it was enforced by death. but still it left lots of things to be desired.

YOU ERR AGAIN. THE JEWS FOLLOWED THE TRADITIONS THAT THE RABBIS DEVELOPED ON THE INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN IN THE LAW. Read Mark 7 and see Jesus rebuke them for this. He told them clearly that the followed the TRADITIONS OF MEN rather than THE INSTRUCTIONS OF GOD!

The bible teaches: to know a man you must know his works PLEASE CITE THE TEXT WHERE YOU READ THAT SIR

Re , NATURE is gods creation, the original purpose of man was to controlmaintain nature. BUT MAN LOST THIS CONTROL AT THE FALL see Genesis 3 and Romans 8

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea

Re Exactly why are you so touchy and defensive? You give the impression that it is your way or the highway โ€“ although I understand that this is not your intent.

I am not touchy at all. My intent is to obey the tenet of 1 Peter 3:15 which reads โ€ฆโ€ฆ. But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

And may I add โ€ฆโ€ฆ
    16. Having a good conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of you, as of evildoers, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse your good conversation in Christ. 17. For it is better, if the will of God be so, that ye suffer for well doing, than for evil doing.

With respect to being defensive according to Jude verse 3, I am only engaging in the exercise of โ€œ earnestly contending for the faith that was once delivered to the saints!โ€

In the first place, when I was typing my response to RD re the parables I had not yet read your response. I was therefore not responding to you or to any previous exchanges we may have had. NO PROBLEM I JUST REITERATED THAT WHAT YOU HAD SAID WAS PARTIALLY TRUE.

Re In the second place, no one said that these two issues were the underpinning matters to understanding the truth โ€“ I said that they would SET HIM ON THE WAY to understanding the truth. AND I DISAGREE WITH YOU THERE STILL. Those two issues are NOT CONSIDERED TO BE FUNDAMENTALS OF THE FAITH. There are ESENTIALS and there are INCIDENTALS.

Serious Bible teachers MAJOR ON THE MAJORS not the minors; they MAJOR on the ESENTIALS NOT the INCIDENTALS

Thirdly, Jesus did NOT explain his parables -except to the disciples. THIS IS PARTIALLY TRUE ONLY. There were some parables that HE DID NOT EXPLAIN.
    Read Luke 15. Did he explain the parable of the lost boy the lost coin and the lost boy? Eh? Did he explain the parable of the good Samaritan

Indeed, he said that if he explained them to the public they may understand what he was saying and be saved. But since it was not intended for them to understand, he spoke in parables. HOW COULD THIS BE SO WHEN HE ALSO SAID THAT HE CAME TO SEEK AND TO SAVE THOSE THAT ARE LOST? Eh?

Indeed, to emphasize his intent, check
    Matt 13:34 โ€“ โ€œAll these things Jesus spoke to the multitude in parables, and without a parable spoke he not unto them.โ€

All this text means that in his teaching he gave ILLUSTRATIONS or โ€œparabolosโ€; i.e things that he laid aside to facilitate understanding.

Whereas on a few occasions Jesus said that he spoke in parables because he didnโ€™t want the โ€œFAR YOU SEESโ€ and the โ€œSAD YOU SEEsโ€ to understand this was not the case, because in nearly all of the first 12 chapters of John where he used no parables persons came to believe in Jesus.

Re The modern situation is this:- there are a large multitude of persons walking around calling themselves followers of Jesus (Christians) who have heard only parables.
    -They do not understand the true message.
    -They are characterized by the inability to articulate their faith except by repeating the parables that they know by rote.
    -They cannot explain basic concepts except to resort to โ€˜faithโ€™ in the parable
    -They are unwilling to explore alternative ideas because they know that they stand on a weak foundation.

BT well I trying to teach Masters and Doctorate level Bible here on BU man. Guys that donโ€™t know the Book should GO BACK TO SUNDAY SCHOOL MAN. LOL!

Re True disciples can entertain debate on ANY concept because in the final analysis, they have had the โ€˜parablesโ€™ explained and they KNOW the true gospel. ALL THAT IS TRUE BT. I AGREE, but remember the Word ORDERS โ€œtrue disciplesโ€ in the OT in Proverbs 26 thus 4. Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him. 5. Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.
    In the NT this ORDER is repeated in ! Peter 3:15 concerning those whom we should answer and in 2 Timothy 2 :23 concerning those whom we should NOT answer thus.
    23. But foolish and unlearned questions avoid, knowing that they do gender strifes.

Briefly put this scripture says in Bajan AVOID JOKERS WITH SILLY TALK THEY ARE GALLOWS BAITS

Re The whole business of the โ€˜parablesโ€™ is therefore interesting in that it dispels the temptation to believe that those who have heard the โ€˜parablesโ€™ (or studied the bible) necessarily understands the intended messageโ€ฆ
    BT you gone out of the box again. LOL

So BT now you understand why you must (and I KNOW THAT YOU DO THIS IN EVERYDAY LIFE) why you must answer some men (those who are seeking TRUTH) and why you donโ€™t waste time on others WHO SEEK TO CAUSE STRIFE!

I am sure your parents warned you to ignore such. I am sure you as a parent warned your to ignore such also and come home quick. Ah gone till next time Sir.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Et tu Technician?

I stated a matter of FACT in my beautiful prose complete with alliteration Techie.

“mundane meandering madness and muck”

No one is putting a gun to my head and โ€˜forcingโ€™ me to log on to BU.

I was just comparing and contrasting the bliss of hearing the Word rightly divided and the mire and mud into which those who wrest the Word (as Peter opines in 2 Peter 3:16) descend.

You know Techie some fellows muddy up the waters of the Word and call that “deep” teaching. LOL

No Techie, I wish I could log on and read fellows having a discussion in the top drawer in stead of ?????

It is because I dont “like a noise” that I ignore those who wrest the scriptures.

16. @GP
    You may not realize this GP, but I have learned volumes from your responses.

Often, it is not the lessons that you intend to project, but your wide references and quotes have helped me to tie up many ends and to clarify some issues.

How do you know that many others (who may not actually be commenting here on BU,) are not reading and being influenced by your comments?

You must know that you are not communicating on BU with individuals, but with the world.

While it may be prudent in a ‘one-on-one’ to be dismissive to a particular blogger, it sends a poor message to do so in a forum like BU.

….have you not noticed that many bloggers support ROK’s various (far fetched) prepositions to explain these spiritual matters?
    They do so because while ROK comes across as well read, he is generally open to different ideas and not quick to put down or insult those that oppose his ideas.

Lastly, I think that the point that Ready-Done was making about judging by actions relates to the assertion that it is ‘by your fruits that you shall be known …’ and you no doubt know that the fruits of the spirit include love and forgiveness….

17. @ GP now i am convinced your a pastor.

So i KNOW you would never admit you COULD have been mislead.

I got 2 more questions, acording to the bible,
    1)what is the difference between a man and God?
    2)when god put adam out the garden what did he give adam that he may surive in the world?

Remember, KISS. & also occam’s razor is still the sharpest.

ps.Do you know the history of the christian church and how it rose to such grate power?

18. Could the lawscriptures Jesus was talking about be the law of nature. That law witch is written so clearly, not by man made words, but authored by GOD himself in the unswervingly law of nature.

After all, what goes up must come down.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Ready Done,
    I am not now, or never have been a pastor at any church anywhere; but I have been known to teach and preach the Word now and then, or oft and on, here and there: BUT NEVER willy nilly or hodge podge or slapdash!

Bush Tea

I come back from church today and give you boys two good sermon outlines, and all I can get from my friend Techie who grew up in a Christian home is a whipping, and now a further dressing down from the Cawmere fella from the Holders Hill area!

I expected instead that wunnah chaps would alliterate that last outline for me into all โ€œPsโ€™ or all โ€œRsโ€ or all โ€œSโ€™s. โ€ But NO! I get cuss out. Is why wunnah Bajans so?

BT, whereas I know that many others (who may not actually be commenting here on BU,) are indeed reading and might be influenced by my comments. That is why I cant lead them astray by disobeying Proverbs 26: 4.and 2 Timothy 2 :23. However, I did not dare think that BT would durst learn anything from a kolij boy.

Our culture and traditions and my home training bids me to avoid gallows baits at all times.

Bloggers who support various (far fetched) prepositions to explain their spiritual matters are well described by 2 Timothy 4:1-4 which reads

I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom; Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.

For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

To entertain nonsense while teaching the Word of God might be accepted by the philosophy of men, but is CONTRARY TO THE PROOF TEXTS WHICH I HAVE ALREADY CITED FROM BOTH THE OT & THE NT.

My message and practice is simple. All can interpret the Word adequately if they KNOW THE SAVIOR AND THEREBY GET THE SCRIPTURE’ S AUTHOR TO RESIDE WITHIN THEM AND GUIDE THEM INTO ALL THINGS AS JESUS TAUGHT.

THEN ONE STUDIES AS COMMANDED in 2 Tim 2:15 & SEARCHES THE SCRIPTURES AS JESUS TAUGHT IN JOHN 5.

I will say this categorically here and now BT, the only other person that impresses me on this blog that they are WELL READ IN THE SCRIPTURES IS ZOE WHOM MOST OF YOU HATE INTENSELY! Where is the love and forgiveness for him?

But you have to know the scriptures to really know and appreciate if someone knows the Scriptures. LOL

Its like this BT. When you first go on the wards to examine patients as a medical student, you learn the NORMAL. Man once you got the normal rhythm and sound of a normal heart in your brain, THERE IS NO WAY YOU CAN MISS AN ABNORMAL HEART SOUND. You may not know what is wrong but you sure know “This heart dont sound right!” LOL

In like manner…………….. when i hear BS………I KNOW!

My purpose is to teach the Word in season, and out of season as accurately as I can and to support those who do. My purpose is to earnestly contend for the faith. If bloggers have itchy ears and want to follow error, they have that right.

I โ€œengageโ€ with you, Pat, Hopi, Technician and those whose statements or questions make sense, even if they are erroneous, and even if you think I am arrogant or even ignorant.

Here we have a thread on the mark of the beast and the rise of the antichrist, which ought to be foremost on peopleโ€™s minds, since it is by all appearances from all that is happening around the world economically and politically etc. And jokers are engaging in twitter about vain janglings and Sunday school type questions. Go start a Sunday school thread then nuh?

Bible scholars in their teachings often list the several opinions or interpretations of a text. Then using OTHER RELATED SCRIPTURES or THE ORIGINAL LANGUAGES point out why a particular interpretation ought to be the preferred one. This is what occurred today when I pointed out certain things to you about parables (parabolos).

I guess that you donโ€™t read all the comments on the thread, and so you missed the ignorant comment โ€œSwine flu!โ€ to my posts on Daniel 9 which I deliberately submitted on the forum as an edited version of Constable’s commentary on the passage (having pointed out at the beginning clearly “after Constable”).

Constable has of course been an eminent Bible teacher at Dallas Theological Seminary for over 30 years . I donโ€™t think that I ought to argue with anyone who dismisses that level of exegesis in this way.

Read the blogs of your friends BEFORE you defend them man.

Lastly, it is NOT the โ€œfruitsโ€ of the spirit, but the FRUIT of the spirit. Nit picking you might say. Look up the word in the Greek first before you do.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT

I was doing some research online for an assignment on Mark 7 , and I found the extract below, which I think might interest you on the issue of parables, and why Jesus used parables on some occasions to veil his message (the key words are ON SOME OCCASIONS). What do you think of this manโ€™s views?

[ At the school where I did my theology the guys would word the question thusโ€ฆ.. โ€œIn a paper of no less than 30 pages and with reference to 30 scriptures, comment on the use of parables by Jesus in his teachings.โ€ But I wont hit you so hard! LOL ]

I quote

“According to the scribes and Pharisees, whether one washed oneself before eating was related to what one had eaten. The Mosaic Law distinguished between clean and unclean foods. Many Jews, by eating only clean foods,
    marked themselves out as Godโ€™s people.

For them, food laws, like ritual washings, were intertwined with loyalty to God and nation and to the hopes for liberation from Rome. Therefore, after responding to the scribes and
    Phariseesโ€™ question about washings, Jesus speaks about food laws.

After his first confrontation with a delegation from Jerusalem, Jesus began shrouding his vision of the kingdom of God in parables in part to avoid arrest (Mark 4:1-2, 10-12), as โ€œ his timeโ€ or โ€œhourโ€ had not yet come.

A straightforward presentation of his vision would have attracted even more unwanted attention from potential enemies and thus placed his mission at
    risk. Once again, Jesus employs a parable, this time to address food laws, a religious and political hot potato.

He implores those in the crowd who had flocked to him to โ€œlistenโ€ and โ€œunderstand,โ€ inviting them to attend to the deeper meaning of his cryptic assertion concerning defilement.

If he were to speak straightforwardly
    and controversially about the food laws, he might have provoked a riot. Jews in the not-too-distant past died for refusing to eat unclean food (2 Maccabees 6:18-31, 7:1-42).

Similarly, the prophet Daniel risked his life by refusing to eat unclean food (Daniel 1:8). For Jews, much more was involved in food choices than a decision between McDonaldโ€™s and Fresh Choice.

Although Jesus speaks in parables to throw his enemies off track, he expects his disciples to comprehend him by now. The deeper meaning of the parable, however, eludes them.

Once again, as in Mark 4, Jesus speaks cryptically in public to the crowd in order to avoid arrest but openly in private to his disciples in order to instruct them.”

21. Thanatos

“To those who expound โ€˜Hogwashโ€™ in their diatribe, its most appropriate for them to talk about โ€˜Pigsโ€™ as their minds are usually in the Pig Pen!”

What happen man, the pig excite you?

22. @GP
    Sorry my friend, I have no serious interest in your extract. I stopped reading when it suggested that ‘Jesus used parables to avoid arrest…’.

Man GP, I am a simple Bushman, if I want to know why someone did something, I do not speculate, do extensive research,or hire consultants – I just ask them.

The disciples asked Jesus DIRECTLY “Why do you speak to these people in parables?”

Jesus answered DIRECTLY ” …so that the wicked sons of **$#% would not understand my message”

…what more do you want GP? why do we need a 30 page paper to decipher that? Are you saying that Jesus lied to his disciples?

The same situation exists with the Bible.
    True it is God’s word, just like the parables are Jesus’s words. In consistent manner, the bible is designed to confuse its readers (and has done so successfully to date)

Jesus explained his parables to his disciples and promised to send a ‘comforter’ when he left to explain to future disciples.

If you believe that the Bible is indeed inspired, then these facts are beyond dispute.

The problem is that this reality does not fit well into the traditional church dogma.

I have always enjoyed the various logical gymnastics used by Christians to explain away why Jesus set out to deceive listeners.

GP, Notwithstanding that out of the thousands of various religious dogmas in existence, yours is the correct one (lol); surely you can see the confusion that results from the bible’s many various interpretations.

Do you honestly think that God would have been challenged to explain his plan to all and sundry had that been their intent?

Do you really think that one would need to 4 degrees in theology on top of a medical degree (and lord knows what else) if God intended for mankind to understand the bible?

Lastly, do you really think that if God intended for the bible (and Jesus’s parables) to be confusing to his followers, that having 6 degrees and spending 6 decades in diligent study would be enough to defy that intent?….just asking..

What research what!!!?

23. By the way GP:
    “After his first confrontation with a delegation from Jerusalem, Jesus began shrouding his vision of the kingdom of God in parables in part to avoid arrest (Mark 4:1-2, 10-12), as โ€œ his timeโ€ or โ€œhourโ€ had not yet come.
    What false reference is this that you have provided?
    Please explain how the reference scriptures support or even relate to the point that you are trying to make in that paragraph.

Those references say only that Jesus spoke to a very large crowd -so large that he had to stand on a boat.
    It said he spoke many things -ALL BY PARABLES.

Vs 10-12 simply says that when he got the disciples alone, he explained the meanings to them and pointed out that the ‘outsiders’ were not intended to understand….thus the parables.

…trying a fast one GP?

24. Leh muh get dis right,

Throw de so and so Bible out in de trash cause I wont onerstan it anyway as God wanted to confuse me proper. All dem pastors and preachers only spreading confusion. Imagine how we only kerfufflin little children heads with Bible reading every morning in schools. No wonder dey does got dat dazed look when listening to Bible reading. All a long I thought I was just uneducated but now I know dat God dint want me to know a pang. Wait nuh next ting I gwine hear dat Jesus really dint love me and all dem other sinners, he only looking fuh a few special people dat got de secret code. Wuhloss I gwine do bad dis crop over. I gwine get drunk, lust after women, eat like it going out of style, cuss and get on bad cause wuh, nobody aint care. I did fooling myself (or being fooled) all dese years. Or wait! Islam like um meking more sense cause according to dem, Allah aint farting around wid no secret codes and parables. He come an tell Mohammed wuh He want straight out and bram tings fix up. No wonder dey tekking over.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea
    Wunnuh cawmere boys difficult neh? Or is it wunnuh fellas from Hoytes Village & Holders? Now you accusing GP of trying to bowl you a fast one!

You tell me how I should consider alternative views, and now I give you an alternative view which is not unreasonable from the context of the early squirmishes reported in Markโ€™s gospel you tell me early o clock โ€œSorry my friend, I have no serious interest in your extract. I stopped reading when it suggested that โ€˜Jesus used parables to avoid arrestโ€ฆโ€™. And accuse me thusโ€ฆ.โ€ฆtrying a fast one GP?

Actually, I did indeed find this extract online while surfing for new information on Mark 7. And I totally expected your response, because I know that you are set on your thesis with respect to Jesus use of parables.

You tell me how I should consider alternative views, and now I give you an alternative view which is MORE FEASABLE than the junk that I refuse to consider because it is not rightly divided, you cast the manโ€™s idea into outer darkness, where there is weeping of teeth or gums as the case might be. You not easy man.

Let me see if I can unravel this nonsense you write here BT. I getting worried bout you now, man. It is written in 1 Cor 15 that โ€œevil communications corrupt good manners.โ€ It seems you getting in the wrong crowd BT.

1. I never said that one needed a 30 page paper to decipher anything. I told you that at the school with which I studied that the typical essay assignment for a doctoral course would read thus for example
    โ€œIn a paper of no less than 30 pages and with reference to 30 scriptures, comment on the use of parables by Jesus in his teachings.โ€

The point I am making BT is that to answer such a question you needed to first find all the parables, and then analyze and classify them before proceeding, and secondly you would be expected to reference 30 scriptures to support your answer. You will note therefore that I habitually quote scripture to support my answers.

Once to answer a question in GEOGRAPHY OF THE HOLY LAND I looked up all the references in Strongโ€™s concordance in order to give a comprehensive answer to the question โ€œ God was able to take Israel out of Egypt, but he was not able to take Egypt out of Israel.โ€ Support your answer by 30 Scriptures. Now that was fun to me.

Hear another one. Jesus said Abraham rejoiced to see my day and was glad. IN an essay of 30 pages supported by 30 scriptures, explain how Abraham rejoiced to see Jesusโ€™ day.โ€ For that one, the concordance did not help at all!

Back to parables!
    2 I will not refer to your naughty statement that โ€œ out of the thousands of various religious dogmas in existence, yours is the correct oneโ€ except to say that I DO NOT DEAL IN DOGMA. I try to stick to trying to study so as to rightly divide. It is truly amazing BT to meet believers of all hues, ethnicity and denominations who have the same interpretation of most of the scripture because they are all seeking to rightly divide the Word!

3- I am aware as you suggest that there is confusion that results from the many various interpretations of men about what the Bible teaches. The confusion is usually because of sticking to dogma, and not being willing to consider REASONABLE ALTERNATIVE VIEWS BY COMPARING SCRIPTURE WITH SCRIPTURE. As I pointed out before the scholars in their commentaries often give ALL the prevailing views and then explain the pros and cons of each one. This allows the reader to chose for himself and to understand why the preferred view is likely to be the correct view.

4 Re Do you really think that one would need to 4 degrees in theology on top of a medical degree (and lord knows what else) if God intended for mankind to understand the bible?
    Of course not. I studied for the four degrees in my spare time because I got addicted to the challenge of answering the questions the chaps posed like the ones I mentioned in # 1 above. Actually I was looking for work overseas online when I saw the add about the studies, and curiosity got the better of me. I had a fair understanding and knowledge before I started, but I gleaned a lot more as a result of studying for the degrees.
    I think I already explained on a previous post that to understand the Word that you need to be saved and thereby acquire the resident teacher & author within to aid you as you obey 2 Tim 2:15 and as you search the Scriptures.

5- Re The same situation exists with the Bible. True it is Godโ€™s word, just like the parables are Jesusโ€™s words. In consistent manner, the bible is designed to confuse its readers (and has done so successfully to date)

I donโ€™t agree that the bible is designed to confuse its readers, and that it has done so successfully to date, because that has not been my experience nor that of the authors I read or those I listen to on radio or TV, or of many associates who really STUDY THE WORD & SEARCH THE SCRIPTURES (unlike many who post on BU). Most of the Bible can easily be understood. Difficult passages need extra research and effort.

I have several times told you the methods that I was taught and little things I have gleaned here and there, but you reject my position out rightโ€ฆโ€ฆ and call it challenging me. Nonsense! I heard three fellows poring forth this morning (including a fellow physician) that proves your thesis totally wrong. Sorry Sir!

6- I have repeatedly said on this forum that I do not accept traditional church dogma. I was taught from early, and believe that folk should be like the saints at Berea in Acts 17 who searched the scriptures to see if the things that they were taught were so or not!

7- Re I have always enjoyed the various logical gymnastics used by Christians to explain away why Jesus set out to deceive listeners.

The fact that several persons do actually understand Jesus teachings indicate that it is not true that Jesus set out to deceive listeners. Repeating it perpetually will not make this fallacy TRUE BT.

8- Re The disciples asked Jesus DIRECTLY โ€œWhy do you speak to these people in parables?โ€ Jesus answered DIRECTLY โ€ โ€ฆso that the wicked sons of **$#% would not understand my messageโ€
    I have shown you before, and I tell you again THAT THIS WAS NOT SO FOR ALL OF THE 19 PARABLES. Are all cawmerians hard eared and hard headed BT?

Again. It is clearly not so for the parables of Luke 15 or the parable of the good Samaritan for example. YOU NEVER MAKE A DOCTRINE FROM ONE VERSE BT! What you are expounding is BTโ€™s DOGMA. You need to examine all of the parables in their contexts!
    9- do you really think that if God intended for the bible (and Jesusโ€™s parables) to be confusing to his followers, that having 6 degrees and spending 6 decades in diligent study would be enough to defy that intent?โ€ฆ.just asking..

Again. This is not the intent of the Bible or the parables BT

10- โ€œAfter his first confrontation with a delegation from Jerusalem, Jesus began shrouding his vision of the kingdom of God in parables in part to avoid arrest (Mark 4:1-2, 10-12), as โ€œ his timeโ€ or โ€œhourโ€ had not yet come.

BT to start, you need to import the synoptics into the time line of Johnโ€™s gospel if you will properly understand the gospels as a whole. (as well as Jesusโ€™ use of parables in his teaching). I have not had time to study the manโ€™s view point. I just sent it to you to get you going. And you responded just as I predicted. But it is indeed true that Jesus avoided Jerusalem until his โ€œ his timeโ€ or โ€œhourโ€ had come. This is one of the definite sub themes of Johnโ€™s gospel which is best outlined by appreciating that Jesus made 5 visits to Jerusalem during his public ministry. The synoptics deal mainly with his ministry out of Jerusalem. Johnโ€™s gospel mainly with his ministry in Jerusalem.

It is these little tidbits that help you to facilitate the life of Christ.

26. @ Anonymous
    Your piece serves as an excellent example of why BBE would have conceived a plan to keep most of us in ignorance…. something about ‘wasting pearls on swine…’
    …what Jesus actually said to his disciples was that it was because people were so ingrained with wickedness and filthy minds that his truth was with held ‘least they listen and be converted and be saved…’

If you choose to ‘go wild’ because God has not personally sought to spoon feed you with the pearls of his wisdom then so be it…..

The actual challenge is to ‘SEEK AND YE SHALL FIND’, not that God is begging all and sundry to ‘join his band’.

I will tell you what GP.
    You continue on your merry way – congratulating yourself on your great knowledge. I wish you the very best.

If you re read my position carefully, you may note that it contains very few personal positions. I tend to offer my personal positions as ‘theories’ and they tend to be built around BBE.

While you are at it, you should also reread your last piece – obviously written while sleepy, since unlike MME you probably avoid alcohol….

I merely reported what your bible says that Jesus said….

…interesting that you have problems with that, but then again Jesus was a carpenter wasn’t he? ….probably not HC stuff….

Brilliant how you can manage to find a long meandering monologue to explain away a simple straightforward statement made by Jesus in response to a direct question from his disciples.

…you are indeed amazing GP.

27. @Anonymous

“Wuhloss I gwine do bad dis crop over. I gwine get drunk, lust after women, eat like it going out of style, cuss and get on bad cause wuh, nobody aint care.”

Very reckless of you. Why you think that because the bible and christianity out the window that all is amok? Before the bible there were great civilisations. Furthermore, the law or word existed before the bible and there was order in the world. Men knew the earth was round not flat.

Before the bible, what went up came down and when you put your unprotected hand in acid, it burned.

There was justice: an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth; but along comes the bible and tell you no eye for an eye and no tooth for a tooth; give them your next eye and another tooth. Where is the justice? You set up to be taken advantage of.

Men went to prison for crimes and will still continue to do so. The Police Force will not crumble with the bible. What are you really saying?

The rules of interpersonal relationships will still exist; men will still want morality in their lives, etc.

@Anonymous
    “I did fooling myself (or being fooled) all dese years.”

You had better believe it.

28. @GP
    “Actually, I did indeed find this extract online while surfing for new information on Mark 7. And I totally expected your response…”

What a hypocrite you are… What total nonsense and deceit… You bordering on criminality… Let Thanatos see what is hogwash.

Where you really going with that? A Barbados Scholar? No, no, no, no, no, no skipper; come again.

If by now you have not lost all your credibility in the sight of christian readers, I know that they too are lost.

29. @GP

I have to admit that it is painful to read you and I can’t take much pain, but I decided to read that last post and I tell you fella, senility setting in, hear. Check yourself. I am very serious.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes Bush Tea
    I will continue on my merry way โ€“ congratulating myself on my great knowledge BECAUSE I EARNED IT. I have spent my life being punished in my home from a child by my father for excelling. And I have suffered else where for doing what he taught me โ€œIf you will be a scavenger be the best!

I have sought to understand the Word of God, and I have to a large extent, and I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE FOR DOING SO.

Re .
    If you re read my position carefully, you may note that it contains very few personal positions. EXACTLY! HOW CAN YOU HAVE A POSITION ON ANYTHING IN THE BIBLE WITHOUT STUDYING IT PROPERLY? HOW CAN YOU HAVE A POSITION ON ANYTHING IN THE BIBLE WITHOUT SEARCHING IT THOROUGHLY!

CAN YOU TALK SENSE AND GIVE A COMPLETE POSITION ON THE PARABLES WITH OUT ANALYZING ALL OF THEM? NO YOU CANT

You harp and stick to one little piece of the gospels like glue, and refuse to note that there are at least 18 others parables! And then you think you can discredit what I say?

You talk about ME being intolerant and not considering ridiculous outlandish alternate views, but when I send you an alternative view from another person you laugh it to scorn. When I point out to you that you might see some sense in what the man says if you fit the synoptics into the timeline of John, you obviously didnโ€™t understand the sense in that, but I will post today for the benefit of the silent readers out there a few things to help those who want to learn what the Bible teaches.

You think that the Bible has to do with theories and some entity known only to you as a BBE, instead of acknowledging the Creator as such just as is taught in Romans chapter 1.
    You seem to think that your BBE junk is some great invention. Its nonsense of your vain imaginations- vain philosophy as Paul says in Colossians 2.

You refuse to compare scripture with scripture at anytime, and scoff at the idea of using concordances, or reference books but you think you can have a comprehensive discussion about the Bible.

Any jackass can quote a Bible verse and say โ€œI merely reported what your bible says that Jesus saidโ€ฆ. โ€œ Even the devils quoted scripture to Jesus man. James teaches that the DEVILS BELIEVE AND TREMBLE!

But when I told you that you cant use one text to prove a doctrine or pontificate on a subject you talk absolute nonsense as if you are a total illiterate. I REPEAT THERE ARE AT LEAST 19 PARABLES & JESUS DID NOT HAVE TO EXPLAIN ALL OF THEM TO HIS LISTENERS! A parable is AN ILLUSTRATION, and was used in much the same way that we throw a story or anecdote or poem or any such thing in along with the main discourse to explain what was being said.

I do not have any problems with your pithy pedestrian puerile chatter BT None what so ever. And it seems that you donโ€™t understand that though Jesus worked as a carpenter when he lived on earth HE WAS GOD! The same person that CREATED THE WHOLE WORLD AND FOLK LIKE YOU! Whether you believe it or not, or whether the demonic forces resident on BU believe it or not JESUS WAS/IS GOD!

It is not my fault that I went to HC, Going to HC has never been my ticket to anywhere. Going to HC has always been a disadvantage to me. And I did not learn the Theology I know at HC either.

Yes BT it is indeed brilliant that I can write a long response in a friendly tone to answer EVERY point that you tried to make in your previous post. It was NOT as you say meant to explain what you call โ€œa simple straightforward statement made by Jesus in response to a direct question from his disciples.โ€

Yes BT I know that I am amazing, and guess what I WILL NOT APOLOGISE FOR BEING SO!.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

For those who read BU BIble blogs around the World who are silent, and for those who are interested in really learning about and understanding the Scripture, or who think that it can be understood, the following is an aid to understanding John’s gospel and its role in describing the life of Christ.

Major Differences
    Between John and the Synoptic Gospels

Introduction: the relationship of John’s Gospel to the synoptics.

(a) If John knew of the synoptics, then he wrote to supplement them. (To say John knew of one or more of the synoptics is not to say, however, that he wrote his gospel with copies of Matthew, Mark, and/or Luke in front of him. John may have been aware of the existence of other written accounts of Jesus’ life and ministry without actually having seen them.)

(b) If John’s Gospel is totally independent from the synoptics, he had enough material to choose from that much of it does not overlap with the synoptics (cf. Jn 20:30 and 21:25).

Major Differences:

(1) Omission by John of material found in the synoptics. John’s Gospel omits a large amount of material found in the synoptic Gospels: the temptation of Jesus, Jesus’ transfiguration, and the institution of the Lord’s supper are not mentioned by John. John mentions no examples of Jesus casting out demons. The sermon on the mount and the Lord’s prayer are not found in the Fourth Gospel. There are no narrative parables in John’s Gospel (most scholars do not regard Jn 15:1-8 [“the Vine and the branches”] as a parable in the strict sense).

(2) Inclusion by John of material not found in the synoptics. John also includes a considerable amount of material not found in the synoptics. All the material in John 2–4, Jesus’ early Galilean ministry, is not found in the synoptics. Prior visits of Jesus to Jerusalem before the passion week are mentioned in John but not found in the synoptics. The seventh sign-miracle, the resurrection of Lazarus (Jn 11) is not mentioned in the synoptics. The extended Farewell Discourse (Jn 13–17) is not found in the synoptic Gospels.

(3) Different length of Jesus’ public ministry. According to John, Jesus’ public ministry extended over a period of at least three and possibly four years. During this time Jesus goes sevreal times from Galilee to Jerusalem. The synoptics appear to describe only one journey of Jesus to Jerusalem (the final one), with most of Jesus’ ministry taking place within one year.

(4) ‘High’ Christology as opposed to the synoptics. The Prologue to John’s Gospel (1:1-18) presents Jesus as the Lovgo” become flesh (1:14). John begins his Gospel with an affirmation of Jesus’ preexistence and full deity, which climaxes in Jn 20:28 with Thomas’ confession “My Lord and my God!” The non-predicated ejgw eijmi sayings in the Fourth Gospel as allusions to Ex. 3:14 also point to Jesus’ deity (Jn 8:24, 28, 58). Compare Mark who begins his Gospel with Jesus’ baptism and Matthew and Luke who begin theirs with Jesus’ birth. John begins with eternity past (“In the beginning the Word already wasโ€ข”).

(5) Literary Point of View: John versus the synoptics. The synoptics are written from a third person point of view, describing the events as if the authors had personally observed all of them and were reporting what they saw at the time. Thus they are basically descriptive in their approach. John’s Gospel, on the other hand, although also written from a third person point of view, is more reflective, clearly later than the events he describes. The author of the Fourth Gospel very carefully separates himself from the events he describes (cf. the role of the Beloved Disciple in the Fourth Gospel). However clear it is that he was an eyewitness of the life of Jesus, it is no less clear that he looks back upon it from a temporal distance. While we see the events through his eyes, we are carefully guided to see the events of Jesus’ life not as John saw them when they happened but as he now sees them. We understand more of the significance of the events described from the position the writer now holds than an eyewitness could have understood at the time the events took place. In this sense John’s Gospel is much more reflective.

There are numerous passages in John’s Gospel which could serve as an example of this later perspective. Four will serve as examples:
    (a) Jn 2:17–
    (b) Jn 2:22–o
    (c) Jn 12:16–
    (d) Jn 20:9–

In each of these passages it may be easily seen that John has adopted the “post-resurrection” point of view. He looks back on the events and emphasizes the inability of the apostles to understand the things that were happening in their true perspective at the time they occurred. It is only possible for us to understand these things when we consider the resurrection of Jesus and its significance in God’s plan.

(6) Extended dialogues or discourses rather than proverbial sayings. John presents his material in the form of extended dialogues or discourses rather than the ‘proverbial’ or ‘pithy’ sayings found often in the synoptics: John 3 (with Nicodemus); John 4 (with the Samaritan woman); John 6 (the Bread of Life Discourse); John 13–17 (the Farewell Discourse with the disciples).

The Gospel of John passed on the words of Jesus predominantly in another genre than the synoptics; it did not do so in sayings, parables, and controversy dialogues, but in connected or dialogical discourses.

–L. Goppelt, Theology of the New Testament, 2:293

(7) Use of symbolism and double meaning. John makes more frequent use of these literary techniques than the synoptics. Examples: John 2:25 (temple/body); John 7:37-38 (water/Spirit); John 12:32 (lifted up/exalted). Much of this symbolism takes the form of dualistic antitheses: light/darkness (1:4; 3:19; 8:12; 11:9; 12:35, 46); truth/falsehood (8:44); life/death (5:24; 11:25); above/below (8:23); freedom/slavery (8:33, 36). Much of this antithetical dualism is also found in the Qumran (Dead Sea Scrolls) texts. See J. H. Charlesworth, “A Critical Comparison of the Dualism in 1QS 3:13-4:26 and the ‘Dualism’ Contained in the Gospel of John”, in John and the Dead Sea Scrolls, ed. J. H. Charlesworth (New York: Crossroad, 1990).

(8) Use of the ‘misunderstood statement’. John makes frequent use of the ‘misunderstood statement’ as a literary technique. Jesus says something to someone which is misunderstood, thus giving Jesus a further opportunity to clarify what he really meant. Examples: John 3 (Nicodemus’ misunderstanding of the new birth as a second physical birth; John 4 (the Samaritan woman’s misunderstanding of the living water as drinkable water).

(9) Ipsissima verba versus ipsissima vox. The long discourses in John’s Gospel do not necessarily represent Jesus’ exact words (ipsissima verba) as long as they give a faithful summary and interpretive paraphrase (ipsissima vox) of what he actually said. Jesus’ teaching in the Fourth Gospel may be couched in distinctively Johannine style. On the other hand, some of John’s style may have been either directly or indirectly inspired by Jesus’ own manner of speaking: in Mt 11:25-27 + Lk 10:21-22 Jesus uses language almost identical to that which characterizes his speeches in John’s Gospel–“โ€ขall things have been given to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, nor the Father except the Son and the one to whom the Son wishes to reveal him.”

(10) ‘Kingdom of God’ versus ‘eternal life’. The emphasis on the Kingdom of God found in the synoptics is largely missing in John (the phrase basileiva tou’ qeou’ occurs only twice in John’s Gospel (3:3, 5) and the noun basileiva only three times (all in 18:36). Instead we find John’s emphasis on ‘eternal life’ as a present reality (Jn 5:24 etc.).

(11) Realized eschatology in the Gospel of John. The problem of so-called ‘realized’ eschatology in the Gospel of John (the term was popularized by C. H. Dodd) can be seen in microcosm in John 5:20b-30. On the one hand there are statements that speak of the parousia (second advent) as a future event in the traditional sense: “โ€ขfor an hour is coming when all who are in the tombs will hear his voice and come forth, those who have done good to a resurrection of life, and those who have done evil to a resurrection of judgment” (Jn 5:28-29 NASB). Alongside these on the other hand are statements that seem to speak of the full realization for believers of salvation in the present (5:20-27): “Truly, truly, I say to you he who hears my word and believes him who sent me, has eternal life; he does not come into judgment, but has passed from death to life” (Jn 5:24 NASB). There is an obvious tension between these statements that must be reconciled; judgment cannot be both present and future at the same time. Related to John’s emphasis on ‘eternal life’ as a present reality is the stress on judgment as realized in a person’s response to Jesus (Jn 3:19). In addition John’s Gospel does not emphasize the second advent of Christ as a future eschatological event (Jn 14:3 is about the only clear reference).

(12) Differences in grammatical style from the synoptics. The Gospel of John is written in a style of Greek quite different from the synoptics. The range of vocabulary is smaller. There is frequent parataxis (use of coordinate clauses rather than subordinate clauses). Asyndeton frequently occurs. Related to paragraph (7) above, there is little difference between the words that are ascribed to Jesus and the words of the Evangelist. Example: try to determine in Jn 3:1-21 where the words of Jesus to Nicodemus end and the interpretive comments of the Evangelist begin.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

For those who read BU BIble blogs around the World who are silent, and for those who are interested in really learning about and understanding the Scripture, or who think that it can be understood, the following is an aid to understanding Johnโ€™s gospel and its role in describing the life of Christ.

In the notes below copied from an online source about 10 years ago you will find an important time line that facilitates the comprehensive understanding of the life of Christ as presented in the four gospels

JOHN’S GOSPEL – A COMPLETIVE NECESSITY

Here we want to consider the relationship of the Gospel of John to the synoptic Gospels. The similarity of the synoptic Gospels, Matthew, Mark, and Luke, accentuates the dissimilarity of this fourth Gospel.

This fourth Gospel completes the picture of Jesus which we have viewed in the other three Gospels. Thus it is a completive necessity.

In the other three we have accompanied Jesus, learning what He said, what He did, what He felt. We have noted those seven peak-events: his supernatural birth, His baptism, temptation, transfiguration, crucifixion, resurrection, and His ascension.

We have heard Peter’s announcement, avowal: “Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Thus we have learned what He was rather than who He is.

First of all, The Gospel of John, is a completive necessity in that it completes the others.

The earlier three are a presentation of Jesus; this fourth is an interpretation.

The other three show us Jesus outwardly; this fourth interprets Him inwardly

The other three emphasize the human aspects; this fourth unveils the Divine.

The other three correspond respectively with the lion and the ox and the man in Ezekiel’s vision; this fourth parallels with the eagle.

The other three concern themselves mainly with our Lord’s public discourses; this fourth gives larger place to His private conversations, His verbal conflicts with the Jews, and His closer teachings in seclusion to His inner disciples.

The other three are mainly occupied with His Galilean ministry; this fourth is almost wholly devoted to His Judean ministry.

The other three are purely factual; John is also doctrinal.

The other three begin with a human genealogy and a fulfillment of Jewish prophecy; John begins with a direct Divine revelation of that which was altogether pre-mundane (earthly) and eternal.

All these features accord with John’s interpretative purpose, which purpose is found in John 20:31. “But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.”

Secondly, The Gospel of John, is a completive necessity in that it sheds light on areas in the other three that may be the source of questioning and confusion. Thus John throws a flood light on the other three.

For instance, when the synoptics tell of our Lord’s “Follow Me” to Peter and Andrew, James and John, it would almost seem as though He had not met them before, which makes their immediate abandonment of all else to follow Him so surprising as to seem almost artificial; BUT in this fourth Gospel we find that they had not only met Jesus earlier, at John the Baptist’s gatherings along the Jordan, but had companied with Him both in Judea and in Gallilee (1:40, 42, 43, 47).

Before He ever started His preaching itineraries in Galilee there was a group called “His disciples” (2:2,11), which certainly included Andrew, Peter, James and John and others who later would become Apostles of the Lamb. Jesus’ seashore “Follow Me,” recorded by the other three, came later, and was a call to full-time service with Him.

Again in the other three Gospels you could get the impression that from the minute Jesus began His public ministry, “began to preach” (Matthew 4:17) He had vast crowds and wide spread fame and then wonder how could this be? But, here in John, we find that before He ever started His ministry in Galilee [which is the starting place of the other three Gospels] , that He had worked miracles in Jerusalem (2:23), which had become big news in Galilee.

“Then when he was come into Galilee, the Galileans received him,having seen all the things that he did at Jerusalem at the feast: for they also went unto the feast” (John 4:45). There had also been the turning of the water into wine at Cana in Galilee, where He thus manifested forth His glory, and the disciples believed on Him” (2:11). We know for a certainty that. all these things happened before our Lord commenced His preaching circuit of Galilee, because “John (the Baptist) was not yet cast into prison” (3:24) – and it was not until after John was imprisoned that Jesus began in Galilee (Matthew 4:12).

Furthermore, a noting of John’s dates and places corrects certain misimpressions as to our Lord’s movements. Not only do we learn that after His Baptism our Lord was five or six months in Jerusalem and Judea, with goings to and fro between there and Galilee, before His main Galilean ministry began, But we find that there was also another time break between the end of His Galilean ministry, and His triumphal entry into Jerusalem.

Were we to go only by the synoptics we might assume that Jesus went from Galilee to His triumphal entry into Jerusalem without any interruption of His Galilean ministry.

Perhaps, this is the point for a bit of Bible marking. Turning to Matthew 4:11,12, it might be useful to insert between verses 11and 12 : THE FIRST FIVE CHAPTERS OF JOHN ALL FIT IN HERE. (The same between Mark 1:13 and 14 also, between Luke 4:13 and 14.)

Similarly, in John, it might be well to write between chapters 5 and 6: MOST OF GALILEE MINISTRY FITS FROM HERE UP TO 7:1.

Next, in John 10, between verses 21 and 22, write; THREE MONTHS BREAK HERE JESUS BACK TO GALILEE, WHICH HE NOW FINALLY LEAVES AS PER MATTHEW 19:1 AND MARK 10:1.

Also, you may note between Matthew 26:20 and 21: JOHN 13:2-30 FIT HERE;

and between Matthew 26:30 and 31 that: JOHN 15,16,17 GO HERE.

If you will understand Jesus teaching and his teaching methods you must interpret against the increasing hostility towards him by the Jewish religious leadership which is developed in John and explained in the five visits that Jesus made to Jerusalem as John only records.

How can one divorce a man’s teaching or pedagogy from his mission, motives and motions.

As Jesus said in John 7:24 Judge righteous judgement and not by the appearance. In other words you CAN NOT ADJUDICATE PROPERLY WITHOUT ALL THE FACTS.

Only the unlearned and those pilosophers who think that they know do this with respect to the Scriptures.

33. A Muslim man in Egypt killed his wife because she was reading the Bible and then buried her with their infant baby and an 8 year old daughter.

The girls were buried alive! then He reported to the police that an uncle killed the kids. 15 days later, another family member died. When they went to bury him, they found the 2 little girls under the sand – ALIVE!

The country is outraged over the incident, and the man will be executed.

The older girl was asked how she had survived and she says ‘A man wearing shiny clothes, with bleeding wounds in his hands, came every day to feed us. He woke up my mom so she could nurse my sister,’ she said.

She was interviewed on Egyptian National TV, by availed Muslim woman news anchor. She said on public TV, ‘This was none other than JESUS, because nobody else does things like this!’

Muslims believe Isa (JESUS) would do this, but the wounds mean He really was crucified, and it’s clear also that He is alive! But, it’s also clear that the child could not make up a story like this, and there is no way these children could have survived without a true miracle.. Muslim leaders are going to have a hard time to figure out what to do with this, and the popularity of the Passion movie doesn’t help! With Egypt at the centre of the media and education in the Middle East, you can be sure this story will spread.

ุง

Christ is still turning the world upside down! Please let this story be shared. The Lord says, ‘I will bless the person who puts his trust in me.’ Jeremiah 17.

Listen to the devilโ€™s crowd go amock now!

34. @ Anonymous

“A Muslim man in Egypt killed his wife because she was reading the Bible and then buried her with their infant baby and an 8 year old daughter.”

The lengths that you people will stoop to in order to make a point. Not only that, the fact that you could be gullible enough to repost such a story, is testimony of the straws that christians clutch at in order to try to prove to the world that theirs is the right path.

This story never happened. There are no reports of anything like that happening anywhere in Egypt or the Middle East. Like the bible, it is a lie. You christians are such deceivers; even in your innocence; that you would believe such a far-fetched story. It is an e-mail hoax that has been circulating for so many years that it now gone off the map and like christ, you resurrect it.

SHAME ON YOU. IT NEVER HAPPENED!

35. Who cares if THAT happened or not? After allโ€ฆโ€ฆ

THOUSANDS KNOW THAT JESUS CHRIST AROSE FROM THE DEAD
    Scripture References:
    Matthew 28:1-20; Mark 16:1-20; Luke 24:1-49; John 20:1-21:25.
    Resurrection of Jesus Christ – Story Summary:
    After Jesus was crucified, Joseph of Arimathea had Christ’s body placed in his own tomb. A large stone covered the entrance and soldiers guarded the sealed tomb. On the third day, a Sunday, several women (Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, Joanna and Salome are all mentioned in the gospel accounts) went to the tomb at dawn to anoint the body of Jesus.
    A violent earthquake took place as an angel from heaven rolled back the stone. The guards shook in fear as the angel, dressed in bright white, sat upon the stone. The angel announced to the women that Jesus who was crucified was no longer in the tomb, “He is risen, just as he said.” Then he instructed the women to inspect the tomb and see for themselves. Next he told them to go inform the disciples.
    With a mixture of fear and joy they ran to obey the angel’s command, but suddenly Jesus met them on their way. They fell at his feet and worshiped him. Jesus then said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go tell my brothers to go to Galilee. There they will see me.”
    When the guards reported what had happened to the chief priests, they bribed the soldiers with a large sum of money, telling them to lie and say that the disciples had stolen the body in the night.
    After his resurrection, Jesus appeared to the women near the tomb and later at least twice to the disciples while they were gathered at a house in prayer. He visited two of the disciples on the road to Emmaus and he also appeared at the Sea of Galilee while several of the disciples were fishing.
    Points of Interest from the Story:
    โ€ข There are at least 12 different appearances of Christ in the resurrection accounts, beginning with Mary and ending with Paul. They were physical, tangible experiences with Christ eating, speaking and allowing himself to be touched.
    โ€ข Jesus’ resurrected body was different from his physical body. It was no longer subject to the same laws of nature. He could transcend locked doors, and yet he could still be touched and he could eat.

โ€ข Before Jesus ascended into heaven he gave the Great Commission, telling his followers to go and make disciples of all nations.

โ€ข The stone was not rolled away from the tomb so Jesus could get out. He was able to walk through walls (John 20:19) in his resurrected body. The stone was rolled away so that everyone could see that he was risen.
    Question for Reflection:
    When Jesus appeared to the two disciples on the road to Emmaus, they didn’t recognize him (Luke 24:13-33). They even talked in great length about Jesus, but they didn’t know they were in his very presence. Has Jesus, the resurrected Savior visited you, but you didn’t recognize him?

HAS JESUS THE RESURRECTED SAVIOR VISITED YOU BUT YOU DID NO RECOGNIZE HIM ROK?

36. MORE SCRIPTURES ABOUT THE RESURRECTION OF CHRIST ROK

Did this resurection happen ROK?

John 11:25-26
    Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. (NIV)

Romans 1:4-5
    And Jesus Christ our Lord was shown to be the Son of God when God powerfully raised him from the dead by means of the Holy Spirit. Through Christ, God has given us the privilege and authority to tell Gentiles everywhere what God has done for them, so that they will believe and obey him, bringing glory to his name. (NLT)

Romans 6:8-11
    Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. For we know that since Christ was raised from the dead, he cannot die again; death no longer has mastery over him. The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God. In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. (NIV)

Philippians 3:10-12
    I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead. Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. (NIV)

1 Peter 1:3
    Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead… (NIV)

Matthew 27:50-53
    And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit. At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook and the rocks split. The tombs broke open and the bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life. They came out of the tombs, and after Jesus’ resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many people.(NIV)

Matthew 28:1-10
    After the Sabbath, at dawn on the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to look at the tomb. There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven and, going to the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it. His appearance was like lightning, and his clothes were white as snow. The guards were so afraid of him that they shook and became like dead men.

The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay. Then go quickly and tell his disciples: ‘He has risen from the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him.’ Now I have told you.”

So the women hurried away from the tomb, afraid yet filled with joy, and ran to tell his disciples. Suddenly Jesus met them. “Greetings,” he said. They came to him, clasped his feet and worshiped him. Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me.” (NIV)

Mark 16:1-8
    When the Sabbath was over, Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, and Salome bought spices so that they might go to anoint Jesus’ body. Very early on the first day of the week, just after sunrise, they were on their way to the tomb and they asked each other, “Who will roll the stone away from the entrance of the tomb?”

But when they looked up, they saw that the stone, which was very large, had been rolled away. As they entered the tomb, they saw a young man dressed in a white robe sitting on the right side, and they were alarmed.

“Don’t be alarmed,” he said. “You are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who was crucified. He has risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid him. But go, tell his disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.’ “

37. THE DEVIL AND HIS COHORTS DONโ€™T LIKE THIS MESSAGE TO BE DECLARED

WE ARE SO SORRY FOR THEMโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

BUT JESUS CHRIST ROSE FROM THE DEAD!

1 Cor 15:14-22 And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith. More than that, we are then found to be false witnesses about God, for we have testified about God that he raised Christ from the dead. But he did not raise him if in fact the dead are not raised. For if the dead are not raised, then Christ has not been raised either. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ are lost. If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are to be pitied more than all men. But Christ has indeed been raised from the dead, the first fruits of those who have fallen asleep. For since death came through a man, the resurrection of the dead comes also through a man. For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive.
    1 Pet 1:3-7 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade– kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith– of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire– may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

Acts 13:34-41 The fact that God raised him from the dead, never to decay, is stated in these words: “‘I will give you the holy and sure blessings promised to David.’ So it is stated elsewhere: “‘You will not let your Holy One see decay.’ “For when David had served God’s purpose in his own generation, he fell asleep; he was buried with his fathers and his body decayed. But the one whom God raised from the dead did not see decay. “Therefore, my brothers, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you. Through him everyone who believes is justified from everything you could not be justified from by the law of Moses. Take care that what the prophets have said does not happen to you: “‘Look, you scoffers, wonder and perish, for I am going to do something in your days that you would never believe, even if someone told you.’”
    Rom 8:11 And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.
    Rom 8:34 Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died– more than that, who was raised to life– is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.
    Rom 10:8-11 But what does it say? “The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,” that is, the word of faith we are proclaiming: That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. As the Scripture says, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame.”
    1 Cor 6:14 By his power God raised the Lord from the dead, and he will raise us also.
    Eph 1:17-21 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.
    Col 2:11-12 In him you were also circumcised, in the putting off of the sinful nature, not with a circumcision done by the hands of men but with the circumcision done by Christ, having been buried with him in baptism and raised with him through your faith in the power of God, who raised him from the dead.
    1 Pet 1:21 Through him you believe in God, who raised him from the dead and glorified him, and so your faith and hope are in God

38. @ Annoymouse
    “Who cares if THAT happened or not? After allโ€ฆโ€ฆ THOUSANDS KNOW THAT JESUS CHRIST AROSE FROM THE DEAD”

Like you going beserk fella. That is a sorry excuse.

@ Anonymous
    “Did this resurrection happen ROK?”

To the best of the evidence it never happened… but not only that, he is not the only claim to resurrection, there are more than 10 claims, all before Christ and all over the world.

@Anonymous
    “BUT JESUS CHRIST ROSE FROM THE DEAD! ”

Were you there? you are stating hearsay that is accompanied by grave doubt, as a fact; just as you did that story which we know is a downright lie. How many more lies you carrying around as facts???

Waste of time quoting the bible to me, It is a lie that was cleverly concocted. Get the facts from a different source if you want to convince me. Get me proof from a different source; even as much as a grain of mustard seed.

39. @ Anonymouse

“HAS JESUS THE RESURRECTED SAVIOR VISITED YOU BUT YOU DID NO RECOGNIZE HIM ROK?”

Anytime jesus visits me I recognise him and anytime that God visits, I will surely recognise him. I have no doubt as to who he is and I am under no false impressions either.

40. @My friend(s)…

Why do we waste our time arguing with these, um, people?

We will never convince them…

Logical argument doesn’t work…

Morality doesn’t work…

They are infallibly right.

They will never even ask themselves that there might even be a chance that they might be wrong…

(I have learnt that those who do not question themselves are not worth listening to.) (I have learnt this the hard way…)

This proves two things…

1. That we will never convince them…

2. That what they say can safely be ignored as loud and pathetic (and, perhaps, said) ignorance…

We have better (read: more productive) things to do…

Let us please move on.

(IMHO….)

41. Christian, dost thou see them on the holy ground,
    How the powers of darkness rage thy steps around?
    Christian, up and smite them, counting gain but loss,
    In the strength that cometh by the holy cross.

Christian, dost thou feel them, how they work within,
    Striving, tempting, luring, goading into sin?
    Christian, never tremble; never be downcast;
    Gird thee for the battle, watch and pray and fast.

Christian, dost thou hear them, how they speak thee fair?
    โ€œAlways fast and vigil? Always watch and prayer?โ€
    Christian, answer boldly: โ€œWhile I breathe I pray!โ€
    Peace shall follow battle, night shall end in day.

42. Christian! seek not yet repose,
    Hear thy guardian angel say;
    Thou art in the midst of foes;
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

Principalities and powers,
    Mustering their unseen array,
    Wait for thy unguarded hours;
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

Gird thy heavenly armor on,
    Wear it ever night and day;
    Ambushed lies the evil one;
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

Hear the victors who oโ€™ercame;
    Still they mark each warriorโ€™s way;
    All with one clear voice exclaim,
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

Hear, above all, hear thy Lord,
    Him thou lovest to obey;
    Hide within thy heart His Word,
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

Watch, as if on that alone
    Hung the issue of the day;
    Pray that help may be sent down;
    โ€œWatch and pray.โ€

43. Step aside GP.

You too soft for these devils. Stop all the teaching. Just post scripture.

These devils hate the Word of God!

Ephesians Chapter 5
    1. Be ye therefore followers of God, as dear children; 2. And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.

3. But fornication, and all uncleanness, or covetousness, let it not be once named among you, as becometh saints; 4. Neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor jesting, which are not convenient: but rather giving of thanks.

5. For this ye know, that no whoremonger, nor unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, hath any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God.

6. Let no man deceive you with vain words: for because of these things cometh the wrath of God upon the children of disobedience.

7. Be not ye therefore partakers with them.

8. For ye were sometimes darkness, but now are ye light in the Lord: walk as children of light: 9. (For the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness and righteousness and truth;) 10. Proving what is acceptable unto the Lord.

11. And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them.

12. For it is a shame even to speak of those things which are done of them in secret.

13. But all things that are reproved are made manifest by the light: for whatsoever doth make manifest is light.

14. Wherefore he saith, Awake thou that sleepest, and arise from the dead, and Christ shall give thee light.

15. See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, 16. Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.

17. Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is.

18. And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; 19. Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord;

44. Words of Sizzla (i love the second verce)

Intro:

Rastafari and I and I love di yutes dem

Repartriation, woi children of man

1. Positively clear
    The people inna di world keep forgetting them past

so dem gone astray

So mi bun dem everyday

Dat dem nuh love, conspiracers a talk and never fail

Positively clear,

Di people inna di world a lust fi dem top class

Think yuh are actually there

Yuh toe yuh guh buck skate inna grass

CHO

Mi an di yutes a tro one away

Melchesedek way

So if yuh see mi an di yutes dem trodding through the earth

Wi haffi trod it King Selassie way, yeah yeah

Trodding this one away, haffi trod one away

Dem sen 50, 60, 70 pagan

Mi slew dem off in space a one day.

2. Well you see

The people inna di west

Di whole a dem gone crazy

Love fi big up dem chest yet dem dey inna slavery

Dem caan nyam nuh food without nuh money

So foolish is the man

Eat food in fruitful Zion yet him hungry

A tell yuh fi

Cleanse yuh ways, clean up yuh path

Ghetto yutes nuh badda gaze

Mi say unno fus fi staat

Babylon a seek soul an heart

Dem dun get dem peice and want our half

Dats why

CHO

3. Yuh see the Prime Minister know what a galong

A dem sell out di yutes to the queen a England

Di whole a dem haffi bow when dem see mi turban

Mi drop every authority fi Babywrong

Melchisedek order never yet wrong

How mi chant mi niabinghi fi di black redemption

Unno careful a di words an di food whey yuh a nyam

From the yutes grow dem good, dats organization

So Bobo hill better pull fi organisation

Emperor Selassie is an Ethiopian

Reign in the heart and flesh from Mt Zion

Mi come fi every Israelite out a Babylon

Show mi who will step forth for repartriation

Nuh cut nuh more throat

Nuh badda kill nuh younger one

So rise an tek yuh stan, Yuh better know whey fi walk

Selassie I is the almighty one, confuse not your heart

Dem sight mi turban, conspiracers a talk

Emanuel, so watch out because him a guh wrath

We haffi trod dis one away, dats the first and only way

So if yuh see mi an di yutes dem trodding thru

Dats King Alpha and Omega way….

4. Di whole a dem only secretive

But fi wha mi nuh know

Bun dem corner an dem crevices

Wha dat, it is the show

I need to see every yutes grow

Living up, come mek wi cristen and flow

Caan plant corn an a peas yuh waan fi grow

Haffi trod one away…..

Melchisedek was an Ethiopian ruler who was especially known for leading the Ethiopians in a victorious battle against the Italians.

For more info on Melchisedek, read Hebrews 7.

45. We wont be moving on anywhere except with the WORD OF GOD.

Sorry Mr Devil & your cohorts on BU.

Ephesians 6
    10. Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.

11. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.

12. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

13. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;

15. And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;

16. Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

17. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:
    18. Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

46. Christians out there in cyberspace pray for the devils on BU and thank God for the men who have sought to share the Word faithfully here because as it says in Ephesians 4 11. And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; 12. For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ: 13. Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ: 14. That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive; 15. But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ: 16. From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.

17. This I say therefore, and testify in the Lord, that ye henceforth walk not as other Gentiles walk, in the vanity of their mind, 18. Having the understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of God through the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart: 19. Who being past feeling have given themselves over unto lasciviousness, to work all uncleanness with greediness.

20. But ye have not so learned Christ; 21. If so be that ye have heard him, and have been taught by him, as the truth is in Jesus: 22. That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; 23. And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; 24. And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.

47. Christians it is our duty to do as taught in Ephesians 3 :8 We are to preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ; 9. And to make all men see what is the fellowship of the mystery, which from the beginning of the world hath been hid in God, who created all things by Jesus Christ: 10. To the intent that now unto the principalities and powers in heavenly places might be known by the church the manifold wisdom of God, 11. According to the eternal purpose which he purposed in Christ Jesus our Lord: 12. In whom we have boldness and access with confidence by the faith of him.

13. Wherefore I desire that ye faint not at my tribulations for you, which is your glory.

14. For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, 15. Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, 16. That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; 17. That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, 18. May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; 19. And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

20. Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, 21. Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.

48. Believers Ephesians 2 tells what WE WERE WHAT WE ARE AND WHAT WE WILL BE

Dont let the BU DEVILS DOMINATE THESE THREADS LETS HAVE PURE BIBLE

They love to cuss Zoe & GP Let them cuss the BIBLE NOW

You can see already that Ready Done was never a genuine seeker but a devil pretending.

GP to soft for wunnah

Ephesians Chapter 2
    1. And you hath he quickened, who were dead in trespasses and sins; 2. Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience: 3. Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.

4. But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, 5. Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) 6. And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus: 7. That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus.

8. For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9. Not of works, lest any man should boast.

10. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

11. Wherefore remember, that ye being in time past Gentiles in the flesh, who are called Uncircumcision by that which is called the Circumcision in the flesh made by hands; 12. That at that time ye were without Christ, being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel, and strangers from the covenants of promise, having no hope, and without God in the world: 13. But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.

14. For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us; 15. Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace; 16. And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity thereby: 17. And came and preached peace to you which were afar off, and to them that were nigh.

18. For through him we both have access by one Spirit unto the Father.

19. Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellowcitizens with the saints, and of the household of God; 20. And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; 21. In whom all the building fitly framed together groweth unto an holy temple in the Lord: 22. In whom ye also are builded together for an habitation of God through the Spirit.

49. Straight talk Avatar

Oh dear! all these benighteds are striving to be knighted int0 the host of hosts. angels all.

I sincerely hope they get their just desserts subsequent to their oh so mundane planting.

Would it not be the absolute irony, if after a lifetime of subservience to the invisible almighty all you achieved was a pair of cold lifeless eyes staring eternally at a cheap wooden box lid.

50. Anonymouse gone bezzerk?? That is the devil coming out?

Well you see that is the effect of living a lie all your life and then coming face to face with the truth. It is very painful. I can only console you with the fact that what you believe really don’t matter and you won’t go to hell for your sins or even heaven for your good deeds.

You see, you are already in heaven and you are already in hell too. Peace my brother. Don’t let it drive you insane. The real Creator is a natural forgiver for everything. It is left to you to forgive yourself.