Submitted by Guyana Consul Norman Faria

Sir Roy Trotman - General Secretary of BWU
Sir Roy Trotman – General Secretary of BWU

The Consulate is deeply honoured and pleased to be once again assisting Guyanese workers to show friendship and solidarity with the Barbadian people and government in this most significant celebration of the struggles of working peoples around the world.

This year’s participation of Guyanese one again comes against the backdrop ofย  democratic minded peoples, their organisationsย  and their governments, facing challenges following recentย  financial and other economic downturns starting inย  the US economy. The repercussions from this meltdown are already being felt, as reported, here in Barbados and other regional countries and worldwide.

As is natural and historically worldwide,ย  the organisations of working peoples and their allies will support the just actions, including those of their governments and the private sector, to safeguard their interests and the hard fought for achievementsย  as a whole.

Guyanese contract workers, those on work permits, are participating in theย  annual May Day activity in Barbados once again. This is being done to symbolically show friendship and solidarity with the Bajan people and their government in these challenging timesย  .ย  By working together, we can achieve aย  just and lasting solution to the reported difficulties. We can continue on the good road of progress and democracy traditionally found in Barbadianย  society.

We must work together. This is better than engaging in anyย  ultimately futile and divisive top-of-the-list argument that “home drums beat first and non-nationals should be the first to go”. Most reasonable minded Barbadians would share the commendable reported view ofย  BWU official Robert “Bobby ” Morris that, against the background of the movement to a Caribbean single market and economy, any labour market shifts should be on a merit/performance basis. Commendable stances have also come from the other major trade union, the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) where I was honoured to participate in a seminar on migrant workers.

Guyanese work permit holders and others have in recent years assisted immeasurably in the Barbados construction sector, including the new Kensington Oval where just under 35 per cent of the workforce , with various sub contractors, were Guyanese nationals. The agriculture sector has also benefitted while the countlessย  Guyanese nannies, home helpers (maids) and care givers (taking care of elderly and sick) are doing their part in Barbadian homes . Just as Guyanese agricultural workersย  have helped the island’s economyย  in ongoing efforts to produce more locally grown food, these industrious and caring nannies, home helpersย  and caregiversย  have made it easier for the Barbadian workforceย  to be more productive among other benefits.

I have personally found very few Bajans who would decry the contributions of these hardworking, decent Guyanese who may have to sometimes stand up for their rights. . Very fewย  Bajans would allow them to be scapegoats in any remedial strategies facing the challenges as reported. Very few Bajans would support any measures to divide us.

The Consulate salutes the Barbadian people and theirย  government, including the loyal opposition both in and outside Parliament, on the occasion of May Day, this most auspicious of working peoples’ holidays. It commends the BWU’s General Secretary Sir Roy Trotman and other union operatives and rank and filersย  for keeping the meaning of this workers’ day alive. The Guyanese government and people, through its Consulate in Barbados, see this modest, symbolic gestureย  contributing in its own small way to the continued good and friendly relations between theย  peoples and governments of Guyana and Barbados.

The Consulate has pleasure too in also assisting in the “Guyanese Tent” atย  the end of march rally site where traditional Guyanese food will be on sale at reasonable prices. As well, an appreciative Consulate Award will be presented to the family of the late Guyanese worker Kanak “Kumar” Ramsaroop who faithfully supportedย  for nearly ten years the ideal of international workers’ solidarity by building and marching inย  the May Day activity.ย  A joiner and carpenter, “Kumar” died in March. Only two days before his death he, as a member of the Planning sub-committee, went over details about this year’s participation with Consul Faria. Family members in Barbados will continue participating in May Day, and in other programmes,ย  in his memory.

1. BU is reminded that today is Press Freedom Day and any inclination to stifle a contrary opinion should be taken in this context. We have given voice to Guyana Consul to Barbados Faria on previous occasions in the same way we have given voice to our friends Rickford Burke et al over at Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy. In the process we believe that the BU family and others have been the better for it.

We must work together. This is better than engaging in any  ultimately futile and divisive top-of-the-list argument that "home drums beat first and non-nationals should be the first to go". Most reasonable minded Barbadians would share the commendable reported view of  BWU official Robert "Bobby " Morris that, against the background of the movement to a Caribbean single market and economy, any labour market shifts should be on a merit/performance basis.

The above quote is extracted from the press release received from Guyana Consul Faria. We have to say that we take umbrage to the manipulation of the concerns of many Barbadians which is about a lack of a robust immigration policy which has been exploited by several countries with Guyana at the top of the list. The concerns of BU have been specifically about:

A hole in our Immigration Department

The social impact of multiple ethnic groups on a stable host black population โ€“ physical/social

More of concern is the fact that our Prime Minister, Attorney General and other Members of Parliament have expressed concern at the unfettered inflows of immigrant labour into Barbados. To quote Attorney General Fruendel Stuart he is concerned that Barbados is becoming the warehouse for unskilled persons in the Caribbean.

Consul Faria we take no pleasure in the fact that the freedoms which Barbadians hold dear permit you to voice your opinion. Beware however that using your propaganda tactics to give lie to the reasons why Barbadians are concerned at the large number of immigrants flowing into Barbados will be challenged and exposed. This is not about xenophobia but about enforcing our laws to ensure we maintain the well being of our country.

2. David

Are you saying that any job should not go first to a bajan but that a guyanese should have the same chance at getting that job in these hard economic times?

And you are agreeing with bobby morris of the BWU on this?

3. David

You ammended your post by the time I submitted my post.

OOPS.Sorry.

4. Barbadian unionised workers have no pride.

To take part in a workers parade where your general secretary and deputy general secretary have both stated that bajan jobs should not only go to bajans first but to guyanese workers here too,should tell bajan unionised workers where they stand.

All like now they should be resigning en masse amd heading over to the NUPW.

Shame,shame,shame.

5. Not a problem Anonymous (its about time you Christian yourself!)

We can go further and suggest that any government’s first duty is to protect its borders and by extension its PEOPLE.

In an orderly society a natural pecking order must exist. If we have some Barbadians that have a less than average work ethic then these are Barbadians that we will have to deal with, to approach this problem on the basis on some system of meritocracy is again some scheme hatched in the class room of UWI or some back patio.

6. David

Luv it – christian yourself..Will have to do my baptism soon.

The dilemma is staying fresh and not being sterotyped.

Agree with the sentiments above.

7. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Check out the advocate today and leroy trotman’s welcome to the guyanese,saying he wants them here and he appreciates their work.

Bajan workers look out,you soon will be a member of the guyana workers union and not the barbados workers union.

Lord,looka muh troubles.

8. Scout with fellow Indo Guyanese haters Negroman and Bonnie Pepper taking long to get here.

9. REAL GUYANESE Avatar
    REAL GUYANESE

Observer, you stupid Indian, Scout, Negroman and Bonny are not haters, they just love their country that you want to come and mess up like you did in Guyana. They are nice people that like REAL GUYANESE, you are not a Guyanese, because every year at this time you gather at Guyana Stadium build a repica of the HMS Whitby and put on those ugly native Indian costumes counting the years that you have been in Guyana, that is an insult to Real Guyanese, you masquerading around the place like that, go home to Hindia and stop hating. Don’t worry we voting PNC next time, because only them can rule Guyana. Hello Barbadian friends we the PNC Guyanese and others are so happy you are welcoming us to Barbados. God Bless you all

10. @Anonymous. Could you imagine the more huge profit that UCAL can realized if it get rid of its Bajan work force and hire Indo Guyanese at a lower rate. Owen sold us out and now Siroy.

11. @ REAL GUYANESE, let the bloggers on Stabroek News know who the unwelcome ones really are,bro.

12. May Day, May Day, May Day. May 1st, 1776 has nothing to do with a labour movement. May 1st is really about the celebration of the birth of the modern-day illuminati in Bavaria on May 1, 1776. This is the same illuminati that’s going around the world and wrecking havoc upon their economies, including Mexico and Guyana hereby sending the Guyanese to Barbados in droves. This a plan for worldwide destabalisation. They have sat at their round table and planned the destruction of world economies. And today they have the peoples of the world believing that they have a solidarity with each other in the name of a labour movement. Why can’t the Guyanese and Mexicans stay in their country, earn a living and live in peace. How can little Barbados accommodate such an influx of immigrants without social repercussions? This is all part of the big master plan being facilitated by so-called trade-unionists and heads of governments. Endgame = Social Unrest so that they can have more control over the “freedom” of the peoples. Watch how the US will find funds for bogus “security” but can’t find funds for social development.

13. Bare in mind that Sir Roy wears several hats and agendas. He has a big involvement in the International Labour Organization (ILO). Given its international flavour Sir Roy must be perceived as being non-parochial.

The utterances of Consul Faria can be seen in some quarters and being confrontational and anti-government. The time has come for OUR Prime Minister to firmly respond to this situation. Can you imagine a Barbados Consul in Guyana challenging Jagdeo the way Faria has been mouthing off with his propaganda and manipulative language? It is obvious the 101 PR he is running.

14. Why should Roy Trotman be perceived as being non-parochial if he is Bajan and representing the interest of Bajans foremost? It seems like there is some conflict of interest there.

15. Cock & Bull

I understand now that you mention the UCAL scenario.

Someone on this blog said that trotman during the sandy lane strike got a job for a guyanese woman who he is ‘friendly’ with while the bajan female workers were sent home,never to return.

Now he and bobby morris ‘bigging – up’ faria and his anti bajan bull sh*t.

Something got to be wrong with our people.

Sir Frank Walcott MUST be turning in his grave.

16. Guyana Consul Norman Faria wrote.

Quote: ” We can continue on the good road of progress and democracy traditionally found in Barbadian society.”

How telling he could not have added to the above statement… and Guyana.

17. I will not respond to another post submitted by Norman Faria.This is my only response to this post.

Norman Faria is very manipulative and is getting his way in Barbados.Norman Faria is dictating the policies of the Barbados Workers Union.I believe that Norman Faria suggested Browne’s Beach opposite the Heineken Shop owned by Indo-Guyanese as the location for the rally so as to allow that shop to maximise sales on that day.I think this is either the 3 or 4 year that May Day event was held at that location.Previously that event was held at different locations through out Barbados particularly at Queens Park.

The Barbados Workers Union has lost all credibility to be workers representative in Barbados.It has sold out the workers a very long time ago.
    Where is the union’s voice for the displaced workers at Nation Newspaper & VOB.Those workers were unceremoniously fired and in some cases were given armed security escorts off the premises.Some of those workers spent over 25 years in those establishments building them to the powerful entities there are now.

I cannot believe we have the Barbados Workers Union 2 top executives maligning Barbadian workers and giving credit to non-nationals workers and advocating that Barbadian workers must compete with non-nationals workers for scarce jobs in this nation.I want any one to tell me where on this earth will that exist outside of Barbados.

The Barbados Workers Union has caused those unfortunate workers at Sandy Lane Hotel & The Royal Shop to be not employed at those places presently.Poor representation has caused the demise of those workers.In addition poor government intervention has also allowed the situation to be the way it is presently.

Norman Faria knows that he has real power in Barbados and that our authorities are weak knee and ineffective.That is why he can always insult us and he can continue to say what pleases him with support from some influential Barbadians and little opposition from our government.

Our Prime Minister promised us a overhaul of our immigration system within the first quarter of this year.This is now the 2 month in 2 quarter and nothing is forthcoming.My sources indicate that the government is waiting for the appropriate time to put this new immigration policy in place so as to maximise any political benefits from it.That was said to me by key individuals and some members of the Democratic Labour Party government.That is a cop out.The major reason why this new immigration policy is not in place is a result of the immense pressure government is getting from the special interest groups that benefits from our lax immigration procedures.I do not have to repeat who those interest groups are.I have mentioned them in many previous postings.

This government is weak and I am beginning to doubt if any meaningful immigration procedures will ever be in place in Barbados.This government seems incapable of putting an effective immigration policy in place.

Finally,I will repeat I will never respond to another post submitted by Norman Faria.I also urge my fellow bloggers to boycott any postings by Norman Faria.If David wants Norman Faria to continue to use his blog to promote his Pro-Guyanese position and is falling for the trap that is being set up.So be it.I will continue to comment on this immigration issue but not on any post submitted by Norman Faria.Never,Never,Never again

18. @Negroman

What should matter is that you posted a comment on BU and not who submits it. In Barbados we have always demonstrated to the world how a democracy should function. We may not always get it right but we sure try. By exposing Faria’s submission to the world and dissecting it to bits we show the folly of the current immigration policy. The time for the government to act is running out. This issue is not about Guyanese it is about enforcing the law and building the kind of society we want. FARIA wants to make it a anti-Guyana affair but it isn’t. FARIA we will challenge you every step along the way and that is our promise to you and the oppressed people in Guyana who continue to suffer. Use your zeal to rebuild your country and stop the asinine strategy of exporting people.

19. Negroman

I hear my brother

20. I will sit back and see the response from my government on the mouthings from Norman Faria. The time has come when the P.M has either to stamp his authority on this situation or he will look like a VERY weak leader. Plus, I hope the P.M is ready to deal with the backlash this can cause the country. Finally, I’m most ashamed of Sir Roy, I have known him for years and have sat at many negotiations with him and now it seems he’s gotten to big for his boots. If I was still a BWU member, I would have resigned IMMEDIATELY. This has been the SADDEST day in the history of trade unionism in this country. Maybe money is talking

21. @Wishing In Vain

It would be good if you could comment on what your government intends to do on this matter.

22. Norman Farkia now has the BWU leaders in his back pocket. He already silenced Starcom. You can’t even mention the word Guyanese on that station without being cut, but you can call and bash christians all you want without any problem. I want to puke on this ferret.

23. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Boredickey

No truer words spoken.

That pissy ole dog faria could only buy those who are for sale like trotman and bobby morris and the people need to let those 2 know wha’ is wha’.

The burial rites are being committed now for Starcom.There is nothing free and frank about the discussions down there.

24. Time Will Tell Avatar
    Time Will Tell

Our Prime Minister promised us a overhaul of our immigration system within the first quarter of this year.This is now the 2 month in 2 quarter and nothing is forthcoming.My sources indicate that the government is waiting for the appropriate time to put this new immigration policy in place so as to maximise any political benefits from it.That was said to me by key individuals and some members of the Democratic Labour Party government.That is a cop out.The major reason why this new immigration policy is not in place is a result of the immense pressure government is getting from the special interest groups that benefits from our lax immigration procedures.

I hope our Prime Minister really checks out what is going on in Immigration including the attitudes of certain Senior Immigration Officers like Negroman. Aha!

If you carefully read what Negroman has been saying for the past few months on this site, do you really expect that an reform could affect him. He is an arrogant, delirious prick.

I know him well and he is a very currupt officer who has extorted thousands of dollars from Guyanese and then put them out.

I will expose him shortly.

Be careful Barbados.

25. Time Will Tell // May 4, 2009 at 6:31 am

I know him well and he is a very currupt officer who has extorted thousands of dollars from Guyanese and then put them out.

In that case, I take my hat off to him. If this is true, good for you Negroman. You are patriotic! A fool and his money is soon parted. Dont let the bleeding heart sell-outs deter you from your goal. Ship them out by the planeloads!

26. Here is what the Guyana Chronicle reports today:

The following statistics tell the story:

* In the Asian, African and Latin American countries, well over 500 million people are living in what the World Bank has called “absolute poverty”

* Every year 15 million children die of hunger

* For the price of one missile, a school full of hungry children could eat lunch every day for 5 years

* Throughout the 1990’s more than 100 million children will die from illness and starvation. Those 100 million deaths could be prevented for the price of ten Stealth bombers, or what the world spends on its military in two days!

* The World Health Organization estimates that one-third of the world is well-fed, one-third is under-fed one-third is starving- It is further estimated that over r 4 million will die this year.

* One in twelve people worldwide is malnourished, including 160 million children under the age of 5. United Nations Food and Agriculture

* The Indian subcontinent has nearly half the world’s hungry people. Africa and the rest of Asia together have approximately 40%, and the remaining hungry people are found in Latin America and other parts of the world. Hunger in Global Economy

* Nearly one in four people, 1.3 billion – a majority of humanity – live on less than $1 per day, while the world’s 358 billionaires have assets exceeding the combined annual incomes of countries with 45 percent of the world’s people. UNICEF

* 3 billion people in the world today struggle to survive on US$2/day.

* In 1994 the Urban Institute in Washington DC estimated that one out of 6 elderly people in the U.S. has an inadequate diet.

* In the U.S. hunger and race are related. In 1991 46% of African-American children were chronically hungry, and 40% of Latino children were chronically hungry compared to 16% of white children.

* The infant mortality rate is closely linked to inadequate nutrition among pregnant women. The U.S. ranks 23rd among industrial nations in infant mortality. African-American infants die at nearly twice the rate of white infants.

* One out of every eight children under the age of twelve in the U.S. goes to bed hungry every night.

* Half of all children under five years of age in South Asia and one third of those in sub-Saharan Africa are malnourished.

* In 1997 alone, the lives of at least 300,000 young children were saved by vitamin A supplementation programmes in developing countries.

* Malnutrition is implicated in more than half of all child deaths worldwide – a proportion unmatched by any infectious disease since the Black Death

* About 183 million children weigh less than they should for their age

* To satisfy the world’s sanitation and food requirements would cost only US$13 billion- what the people of the United States and the European Union spend on perfume each year.

* The assets of the world’s three richest men are more than the combined GNP of all the least developed countries on the planet.

* Every 3.6 seconds someone dies of hunger

* It is estimated that some 800 million people in the world suffer from hunger and malnutrition, about 100 times as many as those who actually die from it each year.

At the moment, the priority is the military and wars and so invaluable resources are being wasted on a daily basis on man killing man and developing new means of doing so.

Annually the world is spending a totals of over US$600 billion on the military, with one country alone accounting for US$400 billion of that total.

It is the same country that prides itself as having the greatest respect for human rights and is the model of democracy.”

——————————
    I post the above because of concern that that important issues of a developmental nature are seldom discussed.

Little wonder that the world is in crisis!!!

27. Time Will Tell // May 4, 2009 at 6:31 am

Shut to FU** up …. you dont know negroman. LOL Expose him then, so we can laugh in your face you are dead WRONG!

DAMN FOOL!

If one reads negroman’s comments one can tell that he loves guyanese since he is an avid visitor, however, one realises that he sees the injustices that go on there when he visits …… shut to f***up!

28. Negroman visit Guyana ? No wonder like he mind wnadering. Here wha happen: He like he get a mini stroke from seeing so many Indian people down there livin peacefully with blacks and other races.Hehehehe. or maybe he getting problems from jerking off so much when typing in his racism against Indian people and embarrassing decent minded black people .
    From what I know, the consul en finish wid he yet though. When the court case come, then he worries gon real start. Same with Barbados Underground bosses who pretending they rspect press freedom when in effect they want sensationalst controversy to keep going their little gutter unfettered operation read by a handful of people…….

29. @Norman Faria

We await your writ/summons!

30. the gene pool has to be expanded
    so cry as you like , the influx will not be abated anytime soon

Barbados is underpopulated anyhow and for the country to develop the population, that is an aging population anyhow, must be increased.

get used to it people

31. Time Will Tell Avatar
    Time Will Tell

I hope Negroman goes to New York, Toronto and London and helps them get all those Bajan Illegal Immigrants back to Barbados.

He and now JC – two pricks….

32. You dont know who are two pricks …. I wont go there with you I have better things to do. Persons dont have a problem with persons coming it is when they come to take over.

Norman Faria you think that negroman and myself are 2 black fools like Trotman, Morris and company. We aint like that atall atall atall.

You think that we dont have black GT friends that talk about the injustices that are happening in Guyana.

You all think that SOME black Barbadians stupid well newsflash to you and time will tell

TIME WILL CERTAINLY TELL!

33. If there are bajans illgally ANYWHERE on this planet they should get their ass packed back HOME!

34. I went on a block recently named LEBANON this is in Britton’s Hill!

Now close to this block was a house spot. A lot of my friends were asking about. dont you know that these GT people come and buy the land. And I mean realll people ask about this land!

I am now hearing men saying things such as that the Guyanese come about here and bring in their cocaine and buy thier fiso (f150s) ha ha ha I think it was unfair and still UNFAIR!

You know how much people ask about that land! It just got me surprised but then again I dont know why I am so upset and surprise. For sure I know that if this was in Guyana we would have done got we ass run out!

35. GUYANA IS FOR GUYANESE

Asiba that nice Buffalo Soldier is the only bright one here blogging. JC, and Negroman are big dunces, you need new people in the gene pool there, or else you will have one eyed people, two head people, no foot people, people born with the head in the back side of body, like looking down on their batty instead of the sexual oragns, you silly people, is nature working on your behalf.

36. JC get a life, we not interested in your tear jerking story of Guyanese buying land in Barbados, get a hold of yourself, you sound pathetic, so go suck on a genip or two and hopefully you swallow and choke on the seed and that will put you out you misery. and let me tell you this there are a lots of millionarie Guyanese, Guyanese people who are doctors, lawyers, TV personalities, movie stars that have millions, that can buy up your country, you have little Miss RiRi and you think you all have landed on the moon, well we have better than her, Shakira Baksh, CCH Pounder, Shawn Michael Thomas, Marc Gomes, Eddy Grant, Debra Grant, Baroness Amos, Asha Blake, Laura Carrington, and I can go on, but I don’t want to make you jealous. and vex.

37. Pat, Shame on you!

38. Bajans people, don’t you realise these indo guyanese are using reversed psychology on you? The whole world knows and the region in particular are fully aware of the tension between blacks and indian guyanese, now they are trying to transfer it to bajans on them. This can’t work. I call on the powers that be to have an open forum/ town hall meeting, where bajans, black guyanese and indian guyanese can come and express themself and bring this whole matter out into the open. The pressure that is building up on the inside can blow the lid off this issue and the spilled contents can be disasterous. Obvious, Norman Faria and Co are looking for some civil unrest , so as to claim bajans are unfriendly and racist, also to destablise this country, like they have done to Guyana. So far they have a cross-section of the leaders on their side, it is time the true bajan wake up and defend their country. If we allow these parasites to get further rooted, we might become foreigners in our own country. Mr Faria, you want to take a case to court, GO AHEAD but don’t wait for your day in court. The day the writ is filed, jump on the next flight to Guyana and listen for the reports. Ricky, Tom is coming back to deal with you. Was your “personna non grata” status revoked?

39. Read these two articales in today’s edition of the Kaieteur news
    1.) The East Indians of Guyana: The inheritance of Distatorship; by Freddie Kissoon, an indo-guyanese.
    2.) An interview with poet Randall Bitisingh, also an indo-guyanese.
    I would like to get a response from Faria and Co which includes Ricky Singh and Peter Wickham.
    Immigration and Custom officers, check carefully what we are importing into this country.

40. I had to share this with the BU family……….

BLACK PEOPLE, PLEASE, READ & HEED. POIGNANT!!!

The sad thing about this article is that the essence of it is true. The truth hurts. I just hope this sets more Black people in motion towards making real progress. Chris Rock, a Black comedian, even joked that Blacks don’t read.

Help prove them wrong! Read and pass on.

Please Note:

For those of you who heard it, this is the article Dee Lee was reading this morning on a New York radio station. For those of you who didn’t hear it, this is very deep. This is a heavy piece and a Caucasian wrote it.

Dee Lee, CFP
    Harvard Financial Educators

Dee Lee

THEY ARE STILL OUR SLAVES
    We can continue to reap profits from the Blacks without the effort of physical slavery. Look at the current methods of containment that they use on themselves: IGNORANCE, GREED, and SELFISHNESS.

Their IGNORANCE is the primary weapon of containment. A great man once said, ‘The best way to hide something from Black people is to put it in a book.’ We now live in the Information Age. They have gained the opportunity to read any book on any subject through the efforts of their fight for freedom, yet they refuse to read. There are numerous books readily available at Borders, Barnes &Noble, and Amazon.com, not to mention their own Black Bookstores that provide solid blueprints to reach economic equality (which should have been their fight all along), but few read consistently, if at all..

GREED is another powerful weapon of containment. Blacks, since the abolition of slavery, have had large amounts of money at their disposal. Last year they spent 10 billion dollars during Christmas, out of their 450 billion dollars in total yearly income (2.22%).

Any of us can use them as our target market, for any business venture we care to dream up, no matter how outlandish, they will buy into it. Being primarily a consumer people, they function totally by greed. They continually want more, with little thought for saving or investing.

They would rather buy some new sneaker than invest in starting a business. Some even neglect their children to have the latest Tommy or FUBU, And they still think that having a Mercedes, and a big house gives them ‘Status’ or that they have achieved their Dream.

They are fools! The vast majority of their people are still in poverty because their greed holds them back from collectively making better communities.

With the help of BET, and the rest of their black media that often broadcasts destructive images into their own homes, we will continue to see huge profits like those of Tommy and Nike. (Tommy Hilfiger has even jeered them, saying he doesn’t want their money, and look at how the fools spend more with him than ever before!). They’ll continue to show off to each other while we build solid communities with the profits from our businesses that we market to them.

SELFISHNESS, ingrained in their minds through slavery, is one of the major ways we can continue to contain them. One of their own, Dubois said that there was an innate division in their culture. A ‘Talented Tenth’ he called it. He was correct in his deduction that there are segments of their culture that has achieved some ‘form’ of success.

However, that segment missed the fullness of his work. They didn’t read that the ‘Talented Tenth’ was then responsible to aid The Non-Talented Ninety Percent in achieving a better life.. Instead, that segment has created another class, a Buppie class that looks down on their people or aids them in a condescending manner. They will never achieve what we have.. Their selfishness does not allow them to be able to work together on any project or endeavor of substance. When they do get together, their selfishness lets their egos get in the way of their goal Their so-called help organizations seem to only want to promote their name without making any real change in their community.

They are content to sit in conferences and conventions in our hotels, and talk about what they will do, while they award plaques to the best speakers, not to the best doers. Is there no end to their selfishness? They steadfastly refuse to see that Together Each Achieves More (TEAM).

They do not understand that they are no better than each other because of what they own, as a matter of fact, most of those Buppies are but one or two pay checks away from poverty. All of which is under the control of our pens in our offices and our rooms.

Yes, we will continue to contain them as long as they refuse to read, continue to buy anything they want, and keep thinking they are ‘helping’ their communities by paying dues to organizations which do little other than hold lavish conventions in our hotels. By the way, don’t worry about any of them reading this letter, remember, ‘THEY DON’T READ!!!!

(Prove them wrong. Please pass this on! After Reading

41. David/BU Family

Please note Parliament is discussing the subcommittee for immigration and laying out new requirements.

42. BREAKING NEWS
    The new immigration law has just had its first reading in Partliament. Part of it states that an amnesty will be given to those living continously in Barbados for a period of EIGHT (8) years and gainfully imployed. All other illegals will be required to leave. I think the exp. date is sometime in Dec’09.
    It might not be what we wanted but it is a move in the right direction. Thank you Mr P.M for listening to the cries of patriotic bajans. I hope that matter can be resolved soon, so that the region can see how amicable bajans can be.

43. @ Scout

You mean, thank you Mr. Obama for your enlightened policy on Immigration Reform and “change” you brought, which is speading across the world like a virus.

44. I wondering if all de talk about de number of Guyanse living in Barbados don’t add up to what was being touted. If the number was as big as thirty thousand amesty would probably not be 8yrs seeing that other groups whose numbers may be unknown might also be living illegally.

Hope that all is well and ends well.

45. Hey JC

That piece of info was around for some time now

where did you get it

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Scout

The immigration bill does not say it is giving an amnesty,it says that persons who have been living illegally in the island since 2005,that is 4 years scout,will have to to apply for immigrant status.

It does not guarantee that they will be accepted.They have to show they were employed while here, and that they are able to sustain themselves if they stay in Barbados.

47. mash up and buy back
    The bill read in Parliament TODAY says, those who have been living continuously for a minimum of 8 years can come in and have their status regularised (special conditions apply). Those who don’t meet these conditions, will be reported, if they don’t repurn to their homeland on their own. i hope the immigration would not allow thissituation to get out of hand again. Plus it does not mean that if those illegals who gain status in Barbados breech our laws that they can’t be deported. The jobs in Barbados are STILL for BAjans first. I know that a large amount of illegals would gain status but a very large amount willalso have to hightail it back to Guyana. This goes for illegals from any where else too.

48. Ruel Daniels Avatar

Black people certainly need to read more, pay more attention to their surroundings near and wide, and understand that they stand alone at one extreme end of the racial continuum, while all other groups flock around the other end. That is why People like Faria behaves as he does. He grew up in Guyanese culture that taught him “if yo white yo alright, if you brown stick around, but if yo black stay back”. Black people need to understand that what was written by that white person is in the minds of the merchants of other racial groupings that come into our communities to do business, but have no respect for us. It is time that we make people pay for their racist ways.

49. Mash up & Buy back,It is an immigration AMNESTY surrounding at least being 8 years in the country,The Scout is absolutely right.

@ Scout,but should they actually get the benefits of the amnesty it would be extremely difficult to deport them since they are being given Immigrant status.They would have most of the same rights as Bajan citizens in terms of being able to apply for any job without a work permit & they can freely leave & enter Barbados as they wish.

The amnesty seems stringent enough,but we ALL know what is going to happen.The Caricom nationals are going to be given their amnesty while we don’t get any interior immigration enforcement @ the worksite to those who continually seek to break Barbados’ immigration laws.

50. Here is what Cananews had to say about it.

http://www.cananews.net/news/131/ARTICLE/37513/2009-05-05.html

“BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – The David Thompson administration, reiterating its commitment to the regional integration process, Tuesday announced a six-month amnesty for nationals of Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries who have been living in Barbados illegally.

Prime Minister Thompson, who made the announcement in Parliament, said the amnesty came out of a recommendation of a Cabinet Sub-Committee on Immigration that was established to develop a new and comprehensive Immigration policy for Barbados.

โ€œWith effect from 1st June 2009, all undocumented CARICOM nationals who entered Barbados prior to the 31st December, 2005 and remained undocumented for a period of eight years or more, are required to come forward and have their status regularised,โ€ he said.

However the Prime Minister, who is also the minister with responsibility for Immigration, acknowledged that โ€œcurrent levels are unacceptably high, increasingly difficult to control and pose potentially negative socio-economic challenges for the country.

โ€œWhile it cannot be denied that some of these persons have made and continue to make a contribution to the development of Barbadosโ€ฆthe problem of illegal immigration can no longer be ignored,โ€ Thompson said.

To benefit from the amnesty, CARICOM nationals must submit an application to the Immigration Department before December 1, 2009 and satisfy a number of requirements.

โ€œThe applicant must be able to sustain his/her claim that he/she has been residing in Barbados for at least eight years immediately prior to 31 December, 2005, that is, before January 1, 1998,โ€ the Prime Minister said, adding that applicants must be currently employed and must provide evidence of their employment status.

He added that applicants will also have to pass through a security background check and advised that โ€œapplicants with three or more dependents will not automatically qualify for statusโ€ and that โ€œeach case will be considered on its individual meritโ€.

Thompson also warned that after the qualifying period expires, โ€œthose CARICOM nationals without lawful permission to remain in the island will be removedโ€.

The Prime Minister also reiterated his governmentโ€™s commitment to the regional integration process and โ€œin particular to Article 45 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas which provides for the movement of skilled CARICOM nationals within the CARICOM Single Market.

โ€œThese rights are enshrined in the Caribbean Community (Movement of Skilled Nationals) Act which was passed by Parliament in 2004,โ€ he added.

However, Thompson said it was his view that โ€œleaders in this region must work together to find solutions to the many vexing problems existing in our individual societiesโ€.”