Submitted by Guyana Consul Norman Faria

Sir Roy Trotman - General Secretary of BWU
Sir Roy Trotman – General Secretary of BWU

The Consulate is deeply honoured and pleased to be once again assisting Guyanese workers to show friendship and solidarity with the Barbadian people and government in this most significant celebration of the struggles of working peoples around the world.

This year’s participation of Guyanese one again comes against the backdrop of  democratic minded peoples, their organisations  and their governments, facing challenges following recent  financial and other economic downturns starting in  the US economy. The repercussions from this meltdown are already being felt, as reported, here in Barbados and other regional countries and worldwide.

As is natural and historically worldwide,  the organisations of working peoples and their allies will support the just actions, including those of their governments and the private sector, to safeguard their interests and the hard fought for achievements  as a whole.

Guyanese contract workers, those on work permits, are participating in the  annual May Day activity in Barbados once again. This is being done to symbolically show friendship and solidarity with the Bajan people and their government in these challenging times  .  By working together, we can achieve a  just and lasting solution to the reported difficulties. We can continue on the good road of progress and democracy traditionally found in Barbadian  society.

We must work together. This is better than engaging in any  ultimately futile and divisive top-of-the-list argument that “home drums beat first and non-nationals should be the first to go”. Most reasonable minded Barbadians would share the commendable reported view of  BWU official Robert “Bobby ” Morris that, against the background of the movement to a Caribbean single market and economy, any labour market shifts should be on a merit/performance basis. Commendable stances have also come from the other major trade union, the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) where I was honoured to participate in a seminar on migrant workers.

Guyanese work permit holders and others have in recent years assisted immeasurably in the Barbados construction sector, including the new Kensington Oval where just under 35 per cent of the workforce , with various sub contractors, were Guyanese nationals. The agriculture sector has also benefitted while the countless  Guyanese nannies, home helpers (maids) and care givers (taking care of elderly and sick) are doing their part in Barbadian homes . Just as Guyanese agricultural workers  have helped the island’s economy  in ongoing efforts to produce more locally grown food, these industrious and caring nannies, home helpers  and caregivers  have made it easier for the Barbadian workforce  to be more productive among other benefits.

I have personally found very few Bajans who would decry the contributions of these hardworking, decent Guyanese who may have to sometimes stand up for their rights. . Very few  Bajans would allow them to be scapegoats in any remedial strategies facing the challenges as reported. Very few Bajans would support any measures to divide us.

The Consulate salutes the Barbadian people and their  government, including the loyal opposition both in and outside Parliament, on the occasion of May Day, this most auspicious of working peoples’ holidays. It commends the BWU’s General Secretary Sir Roy Trotman and other union operatives and rank and filers  for keeping the meaning of this workers’ day alive. The Guyanese government and people, through its Consulate in Barbados, see this modest, symbolic gesture  contributing in its own small way to the continued good and friendly relations between the  peoples and governments of Guyana and Barbados.

The Consulate has pleasure too in also assisting in the “Guyanese Tent” at  the end of march rally site where traditional Guyanese food will be on sale at reasonable prices. As well, an appreciative Consulate Award will be presented to the family of the late Guyanese worker Kanak “Kumar” Ramsaroop who faithfully supported  for nearly ten years the ideal of international workers’ solidarity by building and marching in  the May Day activity.  A joiner and carpenter, “Kumar” died in March. Only two days before his death he, as a member of the Planning sub-committee, went over details about this year’s participation with Consul Faria. Family members in Barbados will continue participating in May Day, and in other programmes,  in his memory.

1. Scout is a serial hater! Rhuel, I am much older than you and never in my GUYANESE LIFE did I ever hear the foolishness that you write above about if you white you right, if you brown stick around and black stay back. Since when, when most of the mixed gUyanese have black in them, since when Rhuel. I don’t think that saying applies to Guyana, you pick that up in the USA, well please refrain from placing that saying in the Guyanese context. Nonsense Rhuel, you know better than that.

Now JC you insult my intelligence with that stupidness written by some serial racist in America, we don’t read, but they reading, and yet they are functional illiterates, you have got to be joking with that piece, it just goes to show how quickly you buy into foolishness, some white fool writes a bunch of nonsense and you believe it. Oh please, look here most of us Guyanese are people of colour and as such we need to stick toegther, instead of this nonsense that is continued here year in and year out. Get a hold of yourselves.

2. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Jay

From my reports which are very credible,the numbers that will be given amnesty are less than 2 thousand.

For me that is 2,ooo too many.

Let me see which employers are going to be so bold and so foolish to give an illegal employee a letter of employment.

Musty Faria let me hear you now.

3. Guyanese culture does NOT teach if you are white your right, you mixed up now Rhuel..that is an out right lie, it can’t teach that when we all go to school together, party together, marry up and sex up, you are lying to them, so shameful.

Look at the old BG school pictures, you see Mr. Thompson, the leader there, Mr. Jagan, Mr. Faria, Mr. Tony Best, Lady Olga Lopes, Mr. Adrian Loveridge, Miss Decaires, Mr. Arthur Chung, and if you lucky Dr. Desire Fox, and you come here with this racial nonsense, you too are a serial hater Rhuel, go dat side. You need a good boxing.

4. Sister Baby

We know it is you writing the above crap back there in Guyana.

Go long yuh mad poppet.

5. I rf we as a peo0ple would read more we would KNOW ABOUT THE BLASTED CATELIKE SYSTM that exists in Guyana.

If we would read more we would realise what Scout and Anon, and others have read and experienced.

It relates to us IN EVERY WAY!

WE NEED TO READ MORE, so that inept persons cannot bullshit us like you sister baby. Or whoever the hell your name is.

6. While, as stated before, I’m not terribly happy at the amnesty given, I’m glad to see that my P.M is doing something to curb the influx. However, he should go a bit further (1) more stringent immigration laws like harsh penalties on anyone overstaying their stay (2) Also harsh penalties on any immigration officer found breeching the law. (3) Charge and convict any employer who employs an illegal immigrant (4) charge and convict any person who falsely declares the lenth of stay of ANY illegal immigrant in this amnesty period (5) remove any non-bajan who violates the laws of Barbados even if that person was granted immigrant status ands (6) even though granted immigrant status, jobs in this country are airmarked for bajans first, regional citizens after and extra-regional third. Unless these laws are put in place and enforced, then this new immigration law would be come useless because all it would mean that new illegals would still come and hide around until the next amnesty comes around. By then Barbados would be totally over-runned by these illegals, especially the indo-guyanese

7. Question to the immigration dept; is there still a bounty on the head of these illegals? If the answer is YES, then fellow some of us can hit the jackpot by rounding up the herds and senting them back into their pen (Guyana). On a more serious note, it is time the Caricom leaders put some pressure on Jagdeo to improve conditions in Guyana so as to curb the level of human drainage from that country. I understand he is to resign soon, this is the opertune time for Caricom leaders to insist on an improved Guyanese administration of else barred from Caricom.

8. I wasn’t saying anything but ALL of the things that you have mentioned are in the new Immigration Act.

9. Anonymous
    I know but the laws MUST be enforced.

10. I’ll make my other comments on the newer blog on this topic.

11. Scout

Those 6 recommendations you made at your post @7:17 a.m. are excellent ideas.

Can you send them to the P.M.?

Also please re -post those comments in the new article on the immigration policy that David has put up.

Very,very good ideas Scout.

12. Just noted Anon @ 7:22 a.m. post which says there is a NEW Immigration Act which contains what Scout said.

When did this Act come into being Anon @7:22 a.m.?

13. Simple // May 5, 2009 at 11:13 am

It seems as if from 2002 to the present here was a major influx of guyanese.

I think that it is why they chose that specific time.

Dark Knight // May 5, 2009 at 10:54 am

@ Scout

You mean, thank you Mr. Obama for your enlightened policy on Immigration Reform and “change” you brought, which is speading across the world like a virus.

This was ever in the making David Thompson started withe the team CHANGE!

Dont forgt it!

14. Jc wrote:

“This was ever in the making David Thompson started with the team CHANGE!

Dont forgt it!”
    ……………………………….
    The Presidential race in the US started even before 2006. Don’t forget it!

At least we are seeing “change” in America and Pres. Obama is changing the entire world:even in Cuba, Iran, Caracas and North Korea.

We cannot even see change in Barbados furthermore within the CSME.

Perhaps this explains why Regional Head seek to force “CHANGE” by selecting the Guyana President to represent them when they meet Pres. Obama later this year.

15. Sutpes I think it is that you shame to admit that Owen Arthur has left a legacy of clean ups mr. Knight

The Public of Barbados DIDN’T FORGET IT!

My proof January LAST ELECTION. LOL!

toodooloo!!!

16. Jagdeo I couldnt care less about Jagdeo, or any other person who hates black people.

It is a shame that they chose him, I thought he and his Indian friends would have hated Obama (he aint ‘TAINTED’ with black blood) as well…………

17. Regional Heads passed a no-confidence motion against David Thompson at the Summit of the Americas – by selecting the Guyana President to lead them in talks when they meet President Obama later this year and David Thompson get vex and now putting Guyanese and people from those countries that selected the Guyana President – out of Barbados.

How can a Prime Minister of Barbados be so childish?

Will David Thompson now ban Professor Girvan and Dr. Joseph from landing in Barbados because they say that he is “dumpsy

18. You are so pathetic. Elections gone and the rate that you all going at I think that ya all need to suck on something …… aaaaaa mint that’s it

a mint!!!!!!!!!

19. Everytime someone express an alternative view with the Ruling DLP, their response is:

“elections gone.”

The DLP said the same thing in the 90’s but between 1991 and 1994 – over 4,000 public servants were sent home, and Barbados was running to the IMF with its begging bowl.

It is as bad now, as it was between 1991 and 1994, and the DLP is saying exactly what it said back then: “the elections over.”

I suppose the DLP see’s elections being over as its Free Pass to create a MESS.

20. What is wrong with you people. Every country in the world has nationals from everywhere. Why do you hate the Guyanese so much. Without hard working people where will you be.

Good luck with your attutude

21. please email me the biography on sir leroy trotman it is for a project in industrial relation.