Peter Wickham

Political Scientist and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) Talk Show Host Peter Wickham continues to display emotional outbursts directed at UWI lecturer Dr. Kean Gibson. We find it strange that Peter Wickham a political scientist who earns his daily bread by performing scientific analysis would depart from his training when dealing with the matter of racism in Guyana and the real possibility that these learned behaviours can be imported into Barbados given the significant number of Guyanese on the island, legal and illegal.

Dr.Gibson’s response to Wickham in yesterday’s Nation newspaper shows that she is very capable of defending her work and reputation. We have to disagree with Dr. Gibson when she opines that there are not enough Indo-Guyanese in Barbados to destabilize Barbados. The exact number of Guyanese resident in Barbados has been a mystery which has straddled two administrations. The closest we have gotten to a figure from an official source was when former Minister Maxine McClean who had responsibility for immigration matters exclaimed that the government’s best estimate is placed at twenty five thousand. The uncertainty in the number exposes our flawed immigration framework which has been a legacy of the former government.

Although the current government has promised a shake-up at the Immigration Department, and we accept that there have been changes, the disclosure of the outcome of a sub-cabinet review on immigration policy promised by Prime Minister David Thompson  appears to be long overdue. Wickham is happy to cloud the concerns of many Barbadians by labelling us xenophobic. The issue for BU centres on how learned behaviour moulded in a racially conflicted Guyana could impact on the social landscape of Barbados in years to come given the inflows of large numbers of Guyanese into Barbados.

The recent attack by political analyst Peter Wickham on Dr.Kean Gibson exposes his agenda for all of Barbados to see. The irony for BU remains that the conversation about how learned behaviour moulded in Guyana can impact a stable society which has a majority black host population needs to be escalated to a national level. BU believes that the academic work published by Dr. Gibson titled  The Cycle of Racial Oppression in Guyanaexposes the chasm of racism which the Guyana government, regional media and and general commentators continue to bury their heads in the sand.

It has been voluminously documented the turbulent political history of Guyana. The Jagan era which was pro-Indian and the Burnham era which countered by being pro-Black.  The legacy of the two eras haunt Guyana to this day. The result is an incumbent government led by Jagdeo which seems to have surrendered to its legacy by exporting its people to the world with the expectation that foreign remittances will provide a source of foreign exchange.

Even if Dr. Gibson was thought to have taken a position deemed marginal, biased, ignorant or specious on the subject of racism in Guyana, how can we ignore the independent findings contained in a recent United Nations commissioned report on Minority issues in Guyana? The Guyana government of course challenged the report which was prepared by the UN minority expert Gay McDougall. The report in a nutshell fingers the racial divide in Guyana presided over by President Jagdeo. Bare in mind that Blacks and Indians are the two dominant groups in Guyana and technically can’t be described as minority groups. It makes the McDougall report all the more interesting.

Mr. Wickham you are a political scientist by training, yet you use the radio and TV airwaves to pontificate on a multiplicity of issues. To whom much is given much is expected. In your desire to challenge the researched position of Dr. Gibson, a credited academic, your response should equally be researched. The generous airtime you allocate to Guyana Consul Norman Faria and the silent Ricky Sigh on the racial turbulence unfolding in Guyana continues to puncture your credibility on the matter. What we agree on is the need for there to be a national conversation on this issue. Another example of Fourth Estate failing the PEOPLE.

What is your agenda Mr. Wickham?

229 responses to “What Is Your Agenda Mr. Peter Wickham?”

1. The dominant groups in Guyana Black and East Indian are MINORITY groups, for neither one of them commands 50% of the national total, one is at 42% give or take a few, and the other 30% of the national population. The UN report is flawed!

2. It can’t understand why the powers that be are playing around with a given fact. THERE IS GREAT CONFLICT BETWEEN BLACKS AND INDIAN GUYANESE. Everybody who is somebody knows that, by trying to deny this by Wickham and others is only making the situation worse. if that problems continues to exist, it can cause civil unrest in Barbados. What then Mr Wickham are you willing to suggest to the powers that be to order OUR Defence Force to turn their guns on Us the citizens in oeder to protect the guyanese?

3. There is no greater conflict between Indian and Black in Guyana than say the in Trinidad, Suriname or say whites and blacks in the US or native Indians and whites in Mexico or whites and blacks in Cuba. You have taken this topic totally out of context. And since you believe there is a problem in Guyana, then let me tell you that this problem, this divide that you so wontonly speak about on a daily basis was caused by the late President Burnham, your fellow Barbadian, now I don’t have to go into Guyanese History here with you, you can enroll in a class at UG for that. Mr. Burnham is the root cause with his rigged elections, and totally disregard for the laws of Guyana, and the Guyanese people, fancy a leader winning election after election and the country and standard of living going down the drain, fancy that, and now to add insult to injury you are talking here about mariginalisation and killings of fellow Guyanese. WEe have laws in our land and if you break them you will be metted out punishment, and to have someone come here and say how Minister Rohee is a dougla, we know about Minister Rohee, I know Mother Rohee, and that AFC leader is a black man when in fact he is a mixture of the many groups in Guyana show that all you care about is race, race, race, and nothing more

I just want to say that President Jagdeo is doing an excellent job for Guyana, he single handedly is transforming our country into what it should have been years a ago. Dr. Jagan and the late Mrs. Jagan also did lots for Guyana, in fact the only progress I ever saw in Guyana was when the PPP ruled Guyana. Now where were you when Mr. Burnham was ruling Guyana and hordes of Guyanese were disenfranchised? Where were you all? I see what is going on here, and I don’t like it, you are trying to divide our country, when in fact most of us have relatives of all the ethnic groups in Guyana, so how can you call Guyana a racist place, when people have relatives that are Black, Indian, Amerindian, White or Chinese. I read something where Dr. Gibson said, that some HIndu priest said something bad about black people and that pushed her over the edge. I hope you see it just takes one unkind thing to break a friendship that took a lifetime of many niceties. Build bridges, and let me say you recruited those Guyanese people to come to work in Barbados, in fact it was just last year Guyana TV was running ads for a Barbadian company recruiting in Guyana. The UN report is flawed, Miss McDougal has no clue about Guyana and the dynamics of race in Guyana, they might as well have had asked Dr. Kean to do the study, for one thing she is Guyanese, which is a nice thing. Good Bye.

4. Anonymous // April 9, 2009 at 6:49 am … you are certainly corrrect re the shenanigans of Burnham, He single handidly destroyed Guyana.

And re the BU statement above “we have to disagree with Dr. Gibson when she opines that there are not enough Indo-Guyanese in Barbados to destabilize Barbados.” What balderdash. The exact problem Barbados has is it’s lack of ethnic diversity.

5. And at least Mr. Peter is a rational thinking man, rational, everybody can get along, so please Mr. Peter continue to write you wonderful well written articles. By the way look at who is ruling Barbados, Mr, Thompson a man of Guyanese decent, the best journalist in all Barbados BC Pires a man of Guyanese ancestry, the best humanitarian in all the land Auntie Olga Lopes, Hi Auntie Olga lots of love to you gyal. The best ambassador Mr. Norman Faria, the other best journalists Mr. Tony Best thats right and he is Guyanese too, I was wondering where he was, and also Mr. Ricky Singh, so you see you can’t do without Guyanese. Global warming coming, I read that you are a flat country east to west, well you had better pray that global warming stops as the hilly north will not be able to hold 300,000 people.

6. David/BU Household

You have outdone yourself with that article.

Go to the top of the class.

Now could you please put it at the top of the page where it belongs?We have given enough prominence to the overseas bajan group story which is at the top now.

I want you to pay attention to those first 2 anonymous posts which are identical to someone posting from guyana calling herself/himself sister baby on this blog and on BFP.

We have already been warned by afro guyanese coming on this blog that the jagdeo administration sends out operatives to monitor blogs and to spread his propoganda.

So it is clear what those first 2 posts represent.

Within the last 2 months the Guyana government has moved to shut down the living in guyana blog and to charge the administrators of that blog,because they dare to speak out against the atrocities of the jagdeo government.

Please give this post prominence and keep it up there as long as you can.

It is well written.

Guyanese,especially indo guyanese as well as the other caricom criminal elements in our midst will destabilise this country if we don’t move swiftly to eradicate them.

David thompson is a big,big disappointment.He seems more interested in cosmetic moves and attending reggae shows and not going forward with the People’s Business.

With regards to peter wickham,it is really sad to see how these people who have their narrow misguided objective are giving prominence on the airwaves and in the newspaper to push their agenda.

Yet we see yesterday that the Nation newspaper in the interest of balance did not even put Dr Kean Gibson’s article on the opposite page to wickham’s,so that readers could immediately compare the 2,but instead they push Dr Gibson’s article a couple pages back in the Letters to the Editor section.

There is definitely an agenda afoot to stifle discussion on this issue.

I want to give a big shout out to Yardbroom and Bush Tea who I have not been hearing lately.

I hope you are both well.

7. @anonymous

If we take your comments to a logical position under PNC or PPP their has been polarization across racial lines.

@anonymous 2
    The problem of our overseas friends is importaant not only because of the obvious financial irregularies which we have helped to uncover but the fact that the topic has been bring Barbadians to BU in droves.

8. Since I sent my post I noticed that the guyanese have come on and try to fill up this blog with multiple propoganda posts.

David I hope you are monitoring this ,because this is not any innocent blogger .we were warned by guyanese before this is a deliberate attempt to skew the discussion and fill it up with garbage so that people will be turned off.

I hope you know what you must do.

9. ANON 2

Got your response about NABO.

Thanks

10. I gun tell Pete wunna talking ’bout he…

AAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhh

11. David
    I must congratulate you on your persistent in keeping this immigration issue alive.We must constantly remind our leaders that an effective immigration policy is a top priority for this country.

I am amaze that Indo-Guyanese are constantly blaming Forbes Burnham for the problems of Guyana today.Comrade Forbes Burnham, one of the greatest Black Guyanese ever born modernized Guyana,improved the living standards of Guyanese and at a period of time in Guyana development that country educational system and the country itself were ahead of Barbados.Guyana was the beacon of the Caribbean.The great Forbes Burnham died in 1985 and his party lost power in 1992 and that started the downward slide of Guyana.

The Indian dominated PPP is in powre since 1992 that is about 17 years of rule under that party and at this present time the PPP is still blaming Forbes Burnham for Guyana problems.The PPP had 17 years to correct any wrong doings of Forbes Burnham, but what has it done,practise the politics of racism.The PPP has wrecked Guyana that even their Indian PPP supporters are fleeing in their thousands to get away from that inept,incompetent,corrupt government.

Indo-Guyanese stop blaming Comrade the late great Forbes Burnham for the failed state Guyana is today.It is in that state because of the wicked,corrupt,dishonest ways of the thieving,scheming Indian Guyanese.

Indian Guyanese are the ones that have Guyana in the state it is today and we will not let that happen to Black Barbados

Get out of Barbados.We do not want the Indo-Guyanese human waste in Black Barbados.

12. Two elections ago, a indo-guyanese that was driving the taxi that they assigned to me told me that he was registered to vote in three regions. Most of the top civil service jobs are held by indo-guyanese. One indo-guyanese once made a remark in a confrontation he had with a black business, “indian rule.” I was in Side Walk Cafe, when a PPP big boy stooogy came outside with a rifle mounted on an open back jeep and demanding Nigel Hughes to remove the chair from next to the road. PPP is a dictatoal party and very currupt too.

13. The Scout
    We Black Barbadians do not really understand the time bomb that is waiting to explode in Barbados with these Indo-Guyanese hum bugs.Scout your personal experiences with that lot should be an insight to the type of discord those human miscreants could unleash on a society.

The recent history of Guyana should be enough evidence for Black Barbadians not to welcome that lot into this country.Indo-Guyanese & rat catcher/mango seller Indians on the whole are a destabilizing force in any society.

Indo_Guyanese should never be welcome into a Black Barbados after the harsh & horrible treatment that awful lot have perpetrated against the helpless Black Guyanese.The UN report indicated that situation.

I still want to hear the views of Peter Wickham & Norma Fari on that said report.

Scout keep on plucking away.We must never give up.

14. For whatever reason when we saved this blog a couple paragraphs dropped off. We have updated.

15. The history of Guyana is rich in information. Bare in mind that this is relatively recent history. Here is a snippet of what we mean:

In 1961 the PPP was again victorious in elections aimed at internal self-government. However with independence looming and left-wing revolutionary forces proving triumphant in Cuba, Cheddie Jagan’s admission of Communist leanings seriously alarmed Britain and the US. They both feared the establishment of a Soviet backed communist beachhead on the South American mainland, and strongly favoured the opposition parties led by the Afro-Guyanese Forbes Burnham (PNC) and Portuguese Guyanese Peter D’Aguair (United Front).

Playing on pro-western anti-communist sentiments the opposition together with externally funded trade unions undertook a series of destabilizing anti-government demonstrations and riots between 1961 and 1964. Lives and homes were destroyed as ethnic mistrust and suspicion grew and formerly ethnically integrated rural neigbourhoods began to devolve increasingly along racial and ethnic lines.

The institution of a System of Proportional Representation in 1964 greatly exacerbated the trend since it allowed the political parties parliamentary seats based on percentage of votes. Racial politics began to completely dominate the national debate as party strategists on both sides sought to increase their vote shares by blatantly appealing to ethnic sentiments and underlying fears of domination.

When the PPP lost power in the 1964 elections, the PNC formed a coalition with the United Front, thereby producing a majority and allowing Forbes Burnham to become the new prime minister.

Fearing the consequences of British departure and a locally run post-colonial administration many middle class Guyanese (mostly mixed race) began immigrating in large numbers to North America. This initiated the out-migration trend of well-trained but apprehensive nationals that has continued ever since. – read full article

16. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

While I do not agree with much of what I have seen here regarding this discussion that could be billed “Wickham v Gibson” I appreciate the fact that the BU family has devoted this much attention to the issue since I do believe that it is an issue that we as Barbadians need to address.
    The BU family needs to appreciate that I am not for one moment denying that Guyana had and continues to have a racial problem and I do not think that there are not Indian racists in Guyana and for that matter in Barbados as well. Similarly, I am confident that there are African racists here too and I consider this variety no less offensive, even though I acknowledge that this variety is unlikely to threaten me personally.
    I however believe that political racism in both Guyana and Trinidad is a result of their system and we need not assume that the same thing will happen here. I believe that people like Dr. Gibson and the BU family should use their enormous intellects to try to better understand the root causes of the problem and as our society becomes more multi-racial, seek to ensure that we grow together harmoniously.
    Regretfully, I see a simplistic approach emerging where we believe the solution is to try to keep out Indo Guyanese since we believe that the very presence of such persons will destabilise our society.
    Finally, in response to your moderator’s concern about my “Agenda”, I think that by now the BU family should realise that I am driven by a personal philosophy that rejects discrimination in every single manifestation. Hence you will find a similar perspective emerging from my “pen”, regardless of whether the issue is that of discrimination against Indo Guyanese, Academic Underachievers, Homosexuals or the Economically Disadvantaged. Sadly I frequently find that the BU family, like most of Barbados is much too anxious to discriminate against the foregoing as well as an ever expanding quantity of persons in different categories.
    I have always been inspired by a well-known poem by Martin Niemöller entitled “First They Came…” Niemöller was a German Pastor and Intellectual who criticized German intellectuals for their silence during Hitler’s reign. He said:
    “When the Nazis came for the communists, I remained silent; I was not a communist. Then they locked up the social democrats, I remained silent; I was not a social democrat. Then they came for the trade unionists, I did not speak out; I was not a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, I did not speak out; I was not a Jew. When they came for me, there was no one left to speak out for me”…
    The BU family can be assured that unlike Niemöller I will NOT remain silent, so that simply put is MY AGENDA.

17. @Peter Wickham

You have said a lot and said nothing in our opinion. The problem of Guyana must be addressed at source. As it is the problem of Guyana and racism is being avoided by CARICOM. Yes we have racism in Barbados but never for a moment seek to elevated to par with Guyana. Until we help Guyana to strengthen its political and social infrastructure the problem will promulgate. Home drums beat first Peter and even as we speak it maybe too late given the stress being placed on Barbados’ infrastructure. Let us admit that as a dominant Black host population we have a legitimate fear of how a growing ethic population may change our country. Your willingness to accept that the inevitability of a multiracial society and all that goes with it is unacceptable. There are models out there which suggest that we should tread carefully.

18. “the exact number of Guyanese resident in Barbados has been a mystery which has straddled two administrations. ”

It’s no mystery.

Immigration knows the name of every single person who enters Barbados. Immigration also know the names of every single person who has left (or not left)

Mystery what.

And in the matter of immigration and racism Peter WIckham is right and Kean Gibson is wrong.

Got to go now to pray for David, the BU family Peter and Kean.

A good Good Friday to you all.

19. Dear Anonymous you wrote “was caused by the late President Burnham, your fellow Barbadian, ”

Forbes Burnham was NOT a Barbadian. So do not try to blame Guyana’s many racial problems on Barbados and Barbadians.

Guyana’s racial problems ARE CAUSED BY GUYANESE BOTH INDIAN AND BLACK.

BOTH RACIAL GROUPS IN GUYANA HAVE CAUSED PROBLEMS FOR THE OTHER AND FOR THE INDIGENOUS PEOPLE AS WELL.

If Burnham was such a trouble making Bajan how come he caused NO PROBLEMS in Barbados.

Maybe because we in Barbados did not let him. We will not let Guyanese in Barbados black nor indian cause problems in Barbados either.

Once you try to stir up trouble you better go home. And I think that you Anonymous and Kean should be on the first plane out.

20. David

Be strong.Our Lord was crucified on this day,so who are you mere mortal man?

One day barbadians who listened and learned would be thankful to you for trying to open their eyes.

People like peter wickham and J could only speak glibly and in generalisation about racial conflict in multi racial societies.

They know not of which they speak other than reading a book or talking to indians portraying themselves as the victim,or to sociologist,political scientist and the like spouting their brand of ‘social do’s and don’ts.

I prefer to listen to someone who has passed through the fire and is learned to boot,as in the person of Dr Kean Gibson.

21. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

As I said before, first it was the communists, then the Jews… yesterday Gibson was celebrated by some members of the BU family becasue she wants to kick Indo Guyanese out, today family members want to kick her out too 🙂 Who next ? My point is made…

22. Mr Wickham

I winced at your “criticism” of Gibson that since her area of expertise is linguistics then she is unqualified to comment on anything else. This is not to say that her views are correct but the same unfair criticism could be leveled at you in your role of public affairs commentator.

23. I believe (not know) that most of the protagonists of this debate (re Black Guyanese vs Indo Guyanese etc) are themselves Guyanese with a few Barbadians who may lived for many years outside of Barbados. It is thus my hypothesis that many of the opinions say on BU are not homegrown and do not reflect mainstream Barbadian thinking. That said it may give credence to the view that as more of these persons (specifically Guyanese) reside here, the louder this debate will become and possibly worse in other words transplanted racial tensions.

24. @David:
    You must realize by now that Peter Wickham has little creditability on the Guyanese issue. He first sought to deny us our belief that there are significant racial issues in Guyana. He partially admitted to it in an article dealing with the outcome of Guyana’s most recent national elections, which was at odds with another article he wrote. He now admits there are significant racial issues, but now hinges his name calling on the precarious precipice that there is nothing to fear from the Guyanese population in Barbados. How would he know? In addition, why should we believe him now? He has been wrong so far. No one in their right mind could defend the inconsistencies of Peter Wickham, and he is clearly out in left field on this issue.

25. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

Thus far I have written (edited) one book on Regional Integration and several academic articles on issues of regionalism and politics, since those are my areas of specialisation. I do write “popular” articles in other areas where I have an interest, but I am not a specialist. My difficulty with Gibson is that she has presented academic work which attempts to address a socio-political issue while she is a linguist and her skewed logic will be referenced by students who are attempting to support similar points. If she confined her arguments to “popular” media like I do when I am speaking of social issues, I would be less concerned. You will also note that I am quick to distinguish between my OPINIONS and OBJECTIVE OBSERVATIONS. As an example, I do not support the death penalty, however I have demonstrated in my surveys that 80% of Barbadians do. Get my point?

26. Are you saying that Dr Gibson’s views in her published book are not researched?

So must a linguist only restrict him or herself to the areas they are currently employed in?

By george,I can’t fathom that logic!

27. @peter wickham

what is really core to your objections to Dr. Gibson’s work? That she is a linquist? or that her “logic” is skewed?

How is her “logic” skewed simply
    because she is a Linguist????

First I would like to know what you mean by “logic”?

28. @Peter Wickham

But who is an expert, someone who can support a body of work by citing researched positions of others? Did Dr.Gibson satisfy this creterion?

Let us forget your fixation with Dr. Gibson for a moment. What is your position about the recent report submitted to the UN by an expert?

29. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

Clearly Adrian cannot appreciate the subtle difference between my agreement that Guyana does have a racial problem and my assertion that this problem is not caused by the simple presence of large number of Indo Guyanese. Barbados has 98% literacy; surely we can appreciate the difference between the two arguments. Can I make it any simpler? Yes, Guyana and Trinidad do have racial problems; however these problems are not caused by the mere presence of large numbers of Indos, but by a political system that does not facilitate equal access to political power for both races (all people). The solution therefore is not ethnic cleansing in either Barbados or Guyana, but an appreciation of how important it is to adapt our political system to changing realities.
    The irony of this discussion is that everyone knows that Guyana’s political system was constructed by Forbes Burnham who ironically sought to preserve the interests of Afro Guyanese and all then, people like Gibson were silent. (Yes, the Martin Niemöller poem “First They Came…” would be applicable to her). Now she and others like her have fled Guyana and have lots to say now the “shoe is on the other foot”. Perhaps she and Adrian need to start by appreciating the extent of the nonsense that Burnham did to build some credibility instead of assuming he (Burnham) did good since he was looking out for the interest of Black people. Burnham had the opportunity to fix the problem, but he hatched a plan that was conceived in iniquity and born in sin. The inevitable failure of Burnham’s project is reflected in the fact that people like Gibson now speak from the UWI and not UG.

30. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

Incidentally thanks Gear Box for drawing this debate to my attention. I would hate it if these comments went unanswered.

31. Mr Wickham

One of the more cited socio-political commentators is Noam Chomsky of MIT. There are at least 15 books dedicated to criticism of Chomsky’s political views. He is thus hardly seen as someone to ignore. However Chomsky is a renowned linguist and philosopher, professor emeritus at MIT!

I think that bona fide students of sociology, politics will make appropriate references and if not will have to take the consequences of their work being found deficient. Any body of work will have to be judged on the soundness of the evidence presented, the analysis used and the conclusions reached. It should not stand nor fall on the academic qualifications of the author or even past work.

Let’s move on from Dr Gibson. I am curious about the adaptations that would be required to allow equal access to political power by both (or all) races. Can you address this in more specific terms?

32. Barbados has 98% literacy; surely we can appreciate the difference between the two arguments. Can I make it any simpler?
    ——————————————
    Was that necessary???????

Let the record reflect that Peter Wickham threw the first bumber. I am not one to duck and say come again, not with a bat in my hand. This discussion can stay on the highroad, but I am not afraid to join you on the down low.
    ———————
    What cause the racial divide in Guyana and Barbados should concern other caricom leaders. It should not be of concern to Barbadians, and certainly the practioners of it should not be in a position to affect Barbadians in Barbados. Or is that people immediately put away their practices after landing in a different country? Maybe you would want to suggest that the racial devide is at the political level only.

33. that should have been Guyana and Trinidad.

34. Now you see how much peter wickham does not know what he is talking about?

He states that because there is not equal acess by both races to political power there is therefore this racial conflict.

So explain to me Mauritius,Fiji,Britain etc where indians display the same racial hatred and hostility to persons of african descent.

Do they not all have equal acess to power.

The truth is as Dr Kean Gibson so rightly pointed out is that the hatred of persons of african descent by persons of indian descent is rooted in the caste system which originated in the Hindu religion back in India.

So therefore even today you will find indians in India who are black skinned performing the lowliest and diriest task,eg. cleaning faeces,burying the dead,cleaning the streets – they are commonly known as the Dalits,ie the Outcasts – and once born in to that caste that’s where they stay until they die.

Of course under hinduism they believe in reincarnation,so they die with the hope that in the next life they will be bron in a higher caste and perhaps with a lighter skin tone.

You will notice in Guyana and soon here in Barbados that indians will almost worship the caucasian or white person and will gravitate towards them.

It is again the belief that the fair skin is superior.

Therefore when they have to come into contact with persons of african descent who are generally of very dark hue,their cultural and religious upbringing and their feeling of racial superiority comes to the fore; because even though some of these indians may also be of dark skin,to them at least they have straight hair like the white man so they are superior to the person of african descent.

Any indian who desires to be honest will tell you that the fair skinned children in indian families are treated better than the dark skinned ones.

However I digress; it stands to reason therefore that the very same ill treatment of afro guyanese by indo guyanese currently happening in guyana will also take place with afro bajans by indo guyanese soon hoping to be indo bajans.

Indo guyanese will do anything to achieve their desired goal of becoming very wealthy and advancing themselves.

And I mean anything.

So therefore while back in guyana they would never associate and be sexually involved with a person of african descent,now they will pretend to love black bajan men – because these black bajan men are their passports to getting citizenship in barbados and to moving ahead with their lives after they bajan men have served their purpose.

So the indian woman divorces her indian man in guyana – believe it or not – with his consent – and then meets an ignorant black bajan man – pretends to be single – licks his boxy if she has to – gets him to marry her and bam – soon as she gets citizenship – it is ‘hit the road jack and don’t you come back no more’.

The divorced indian husband then comes up from guyana and the foolish bajan man loses house and whatever else.

Persons of african descent are only seen as a means to an end for indians – the eveidence is very clear.

Barbados will soon be experiencing and sadly not just witnessing from afar what Dr Kean Gibson is warning us about in Guyana.

35. ……….’but he hatched a plan that was conceived in iniquity and born in sin’.

RLMAO………..LOL…..this is rich coming from Wickham!!

WTF!!

36. Peter Wickham has not answer the questions posted by David & Your Truly.Peter Wickham I indicated I wanted a response to the UN report on racism in Guyana.I am sure you have access to that report.I want to hear your views on that report.

Peter Wickham in your posting you practically blamed Forbes Burnham for Guyana troubles.The PPP is in power since 1992 and yet Forbes Burnham is being blame for Guyana ills.Peter you are trying to tell me that 17 years of PPP rule and the apparent wrongs of Burnham cannot be rectified.Give me a break with that bull shit.You have not critique the performance of the PPP since coming into power in Guyana.
    Is it convenience for you not to criticize the PPP?
    Peter Wickham I am no university scholar but I could reasoned good enough to challenge you and to tell you that your views are contradictory.You criticised Dr Kean Gibson work and labeled it racist.The message from you on this immigration issue is that we Barbadians are xenophobic & in some cases racist and we Barbadians should not be afraid on Indo-Guyanese because those Indo-Guyanese are not racist.In your postings today you finally admitted that Indo-Guyanese could and are racist.

Peter Wickham do you know about Roger Khan and his connections to the PPP administration? Do you know about the phantom gang that murdered over 200 black men & boys in Guyana recently?Do you read about the police & defence forces raid of black communities in Guyana and the beating and imprisoning of Black men & boys from those communities?Do you know of the replacement of Black Guyanese public officers and Indo-Guyanese taking those jobs?Do you know of the general marginalization of the Black-Guyanese in Guyana today?

Peter Wickham your responses had said later or nothing I am not impress.

37. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

Yes let’s move on indeed, but don’t for one minute think that Gibson can be compared to Chomsky! I am familiar with his work and she does not even come close to being in his league.
    Interestingly enough, one would have thought that the system of government that Guyana changed to (the Proportional Representational System) would be ideal for a multi-racial society since it will invariably force the races to corporate in the interest of building a harmonious political system. To that extent, Guyana should be better placed than Trinidad in terms of racial harmony since Guyana has the PR system, while Trinidad has the “Winner Takes All” First Past the Post system. In all fairness to Burnham, the PR system should theoretically assure equal access to power since it forces power sharing, however I assume that this was not Burnham’s objective
    The problem therefore appears to be partially economic since even though some Indo Trinidadians complain about being denied political power, their complaints are more muted since the economic pie is sufficiently large and everyone can get a decent slice. Moreover I have noticed that in places like Trinidad where Afros control the government and Indos are more in control of the private sector, it is less of an issue. In Guyana I get the sense that Afros have not found their niche outside of government since Burnham left office. They have moved towards the professions, but as in Barbados they have not assumed control of the private sector and as a result they are very alienated from all (economic and political) power in the country. The situation is more critical since the economic pie is small and shrinking and as such Afros are feeling the pinch “disproportionately”.
    So the solution in the Guyana case could be a modification of the political system to ensure Afro participation beyond that which is facilitated by the PPP/Civic alliance, within the context of the PR system. Clearly this alliance is not seen as anything tangible. Having said this, however, I did say previously that I don’t think the PNCR will ever re-capture office while it is led by an Afro Guyanese and nothing said here should be construed to suggest that I think differently now, however that solves a PNCR problem, which is entirely different to the broader racial problem.
    Sadly, I do not think serious discussions about alternative governmental forms will ever take place in Guyana since the PPP has taken over a system established by the PNC and manipulated by the PNC at the expense of the PPP. I would think Jagdeo a “political fool” if he willingly placed himself at the “discretion” of people like Dr. Gibson who are clearly not happy about being deprived of political power for this long. It would be like a Turkey walking into a Thanksgiving Dinner…..

38. Lickham, Pete

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

39. Negro Man
    The problem with Peter Wickham and crew is that they sit up there in their “ivory towers” and read their fancy news and don’t come down are face reality. As I have stated before, from experience, I have tasted serious racism in Guyana and I state here and now Indo-guyanese are more racist than white people. Of the 50,000 to 60,000 guyanese in Barbados 80% are indians. A trojan horse is building up, when the flood gates open, God help Barbados.

40. This is a problem that was generated by the former P.M because he seemed to have wanted to be P.M over the entire region. He allowed Jagdeo, to fool him into letting in mass migration of guyanese into this country. You should how Jagdeo treated him whenever he was in Guyana. He lived like royalty and it seems to have blown his mind. I expected the new P.M to have rectified this trend but it seems his hands are tyed. Whatever happened to the P.M’s remark that bajan jobs are for bajans first? Why then are so many bajans losing their little pick and all these non-bajan still working? or in the case of Four Seasons, the chinese and guyanese are just waiting to resume work . Mr P.M don’t you think that we are courting some form of unrest when bajans are unemployed in their our country while non-nationals are reaping the sweets in these hard econmic time. Please don’t let Gonsalves and Jagdeo scare you, you know what you have to do, well just do it. Like President Obama, you presented yourself as the “people’s saviour” please don’t disappoint them.

41. Peter Wickham You have not answered the questions posted.Direct questions were asked and direct answers should be given.

The analysis of the political systems in Trinidad & Guyana is interesting indeed.however that does not answered the questions posted

Peter Wickham are you afraid to answer the non-university man questions?Come on be a man stop side stepping the questions posted and answered the damn questions.

42. Negro Man
    Stop wasting your time with that man. Them fellows can only talk academics, other than that they try to talk down to people and as they get resistence they run. That’s what he does on the call-in programs too.

43. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

pretends to be single – licks his boxy if she has to – gets him to marry her and bam –

hahahahahahahahaha !.

What expression
    wow !

44. He has not answered my question either why in countries like for e.g. Mauritius the indians who are the majority and held political power for the longest time still display the same racial hatred to persons of african descent.

Notice how he is now changing the argument to well it is not only about acess to political power,but the blacks lack of economic power.

I hope everyone is realising that wickham tries to talk as though he has knowledge and facts but in reality he is sadly lacking.

45. How disappointing Mr Wickham! Your ‘promise’ (my word) of adaptations was only empty rhetoric after all. After reading and re-reading your post I conclude that the reality of the situation in Guyana will remain unchanged, Indian domination will continue, Guyanese of all races will continue to leave and it is very likely that if Barbados continues to receive large numbers of them, it is very possible for the racial and other tensions of Guyana to be transplanted here. It appears to me that wherever an Indian diaspora community reaches a certain critical mass then tribal political viewpoints kick in and intense competition with other groups for political and economic power increases. The question we should ask ourselves is: Can the value systems that presently inform the functioning of our public institutions ( Parliament, public service, judiciary, the security forces, trade unions, economic arrangements etc) which have allowed us to develop to this point be maintained in the face of increasing numbers of those of whatever race that may have a different universal viewpoint/value system?

46. Dr Kean Gibson

I am sure you are reading this.Could you please join the debate and give us the readers the benefit of your wisdom?

Where can your book be purchased?

What are your views on the U.N. report?

Could you please approach CBC to doing a programme on a full discussion with you and others about racial conflict in guyana?

47. If Mr Peter wants information or confirmation about racism in Guyana, he can contact Mr Frank Da Silva quite frankly speaking. But Mr Peter does not seem satisfied that he has all the say at CBC to determine who should not have a say on CBC Sunday Nite show. Who are you trying to fool ,You are using diversionary tactics to stray people’s minds from the serious issues facing the
    country. Are you not getting the responses from your analyses that you anticipated.Today is Good Friday ,are you stirring up the people? You seem to be doing a PRO consultancy job now. Stick to what you are trained to do. Have you done any analysis one the immigration statistics or better yet migration statistics? What are the results? Have you been doing random political polls in Bim recently? Would you like to share info with the family.

48. Let Peter Wickham take a walk through B’town a Friday evening and take a survey of the different accents ans nationalities that are in the city. I’m positive Bajans would not be dominante. It scared me a few Fridays ago and I promise not to go back into B’town again on Fridays. I was told it is almost as bad on Saturdays

49. Large numbers of illegal jamaicans are also building up here in barbados.

Caymans,bahamas,turks & caiacos getting rid of these jamaicans because they bring with them a large criminal element and they are all fleeing here instead.

Can’t go to U.K.,USA,Caymans – no problem – go to barbados.

Owen and the Blp feel real smug seeing everyone from the region and elsewhere pouring in to barbados,but the cracks are already appearing in the society,check out the increase in prostitution with with the jamaicans,guyanese colombian,brazalian and russian women.

They are also here working illegally at all the low level jobs,but the criminals and drug pushers are also here and commissioner Dottin does not have a clue how to deal with this situation.

Both DLP and BLP politicians have these guyanese and jamaican women wo are here ilegally,and david thompson seem more interested in going to the reggae shows or entertaining these regggae artistes at illaro court.

Someone needs to speak to David like yesterday.

50. I was surprised by Peter Wickham article in The Nation. He seemed completely unaware to accept the realities of Guyana’s racial divide and was more intent on discrediting Dr. Keane Gibson. His additional comments in this Blog are even more surprising as he refuses to admit that Guyana’s “problems” are being exported to Barbados and other countries through the unending emigration of its peoples.

The recently published UN Report on race relations in Guyana basically agrees with the analysis of Dr. Gibson in relation to the systematic repression politically economically and socially of Afro Guyanese in Guyana. Mr. Wickham refuses to comment on this report. Maybe he has not read it – the same way he has not read Dr. Gibson’s books or heard her lectures.

The PPP Indian government won 54% of the vote in 2006, and rule like they have 100%. Indians have economic power as well as political power and they use Guyana as their own private plantation, while they have dual citizenship to the USA where they export their profits. Corruption is rife and drugs are the basis of wealth. They will do anything to stay in power including orchestrating the killings of Indians “Blacks” ( alleged PNC supporters) at election time to solidify their Indian support base which is about 45% of the population. The Afro Guyanese are about 30% but there are Amerindians (10%) and mixed making up the difference.

The solution for Guyana is where no one party gets over 50 % of the vote and therefore coalition governance becomes possible. Suriname has a diverse population and there is little conflict – no “race” is over 50% and they have to work together to govern. Mayde with Jagdeo leaving in 2011 that the PPP may not get 50% of the vote, as many Indians are becoming frustrated with the government although they may not vote for an alternate party.

Mr. Wickham mentions Trinidad and the fact the the Indians control business while the Africans are in Government etc. The same situation as pertained in Guyana under Burnham and Hoyte. I believe that eventually the Indians in Trinidad settle their “differences” when Panday leaves the scene… and become a single party… there will be another “Guyana situation” in the region where Indians have complete control economically and politically. With low oil prices, an economy that is weakening and the growing unpopulqarity of the PNM, this may not be too far away.

It is also true that Indians almost everywhere value money and material wealth as their badge of success… but this is also true with many other people. However they will do almost anything to achieve their goals… that may be the difference. They also, like many others, value lighter skin colours and would marry to ensure this. Their hatred for black skins is within their own culture — their hair the only differentiation from their black ancestors – who were the first humans anyway from whom they are descended. This light skinned preference is reflected in their film industry and the sale of skin lighteners in their society… even advertised by some of their film stars.

In Barbados they are now controlling a greater and greater part of the economy, whether they come from Asia, Trinidad or Guyana or are “Local”. They are buying up businesses, real estate and solidifying their position. They do not have to get political power – they just “purchase it” to get what they want.

Back to Guyana – they have to fix their “problems” or there will be a great flare up eventually that would be quite bloody… as noted in the UN Report. The government has ignored and discounted many reports and studies that concur with the UN study and the analysis of Dr. Gibson. They pretend that they are a multi-ethnic party because they have a few black faces in their cabinet… however it is an Indian government that is systematically raping and reaping the natural resources of the country…. while suppressing opposition and Afro-Guyanese.

Maybe BU should publish the UN report so all could see its findings.

Ecoanalyst