Peter Wickham

Political Scientist and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) Talk Show Host Peter Wickham continues to display emotional outbursts directed at UWI lecturer Dr. Kean Gibson. We find it strange that Peter Wickham a political scientist who earns his daily bread by performing scientific analysis would depart from his training when dealing with the matter of racism in Guyana and the real possibility that these learned behaviours can be imported into Barbados given the significant number of Guyanese on the island, legal and illegal.

Dr.Gibson’s response to Wickham in yesterday’s Nation newspaper shows that she is very capable of defending her work and reputation. We have to disagree with Dr. Gibson when she opines that there are not enough Indo-Guyanese in Barbados to destabilize Barbados. The exact number of Guyanese resident in Barbados has been a mystery which has straddled two administrations. The closest we have gotten to a figure from an official source was when former Minister Maxine McClean who had responsibility for immigration matters exclaimed that the government’s best estimate is placed at twenty five thousand. The uncertainty in the number exposes our flawed immigration framework which has been a legacy of the former government.

Although the current government has promised a shake-up at the Immigration Department, and we accept that there have been changes, the disclosure of the outcome of a sub-cabinet review on immigration policy promised by Prime Minister David Thompson  appears to be long overdue. Wickham is happy to cloud the concerns of many Barbadians by labelling us xenophobic. The issue for BU centres on how learned behaviour moulded in a racially conflicted Guyana could impact on the social landscape of Barbados in years to come given the inflows of large numbers of Guyanese into Barbados.

The recent attack by political analyst Peter Wickham on Dr.Kean Gibson exposes his agenda for all of Barbados to see. The irony for BU remains that the conversation about how learned behaviour moulded in Guyana can impact a stable society which has a majority black host population needs to be escalated to a national level. BU believes that the academic work published by Dr. Gibson titled  The Cycle of Racial Oppression in Guyanaexposes the chasm of racism which the Guyana government, regional media and and general commentators continue to bury their heads in the sand.

It has been voluminously documented the turbulent political history of Guyana. The Jagan era which was pro-Indian and the Burnham era which countered by being pro-Black.  The legacy of the two eras haunt Guyana to this day. The result is an incumbent government led by Jagdeo which seems to have surrendered to its legacy by exporting its people to the world with the expectation that foreign remittances will provide a source of foreign exchange.

Even if Dr. Gibson was thought to have taken a position deemed marginal, biased, ignorant or specious on the subject of racism in Guyana, how can we ignore the independent findings contained in a recent United Nations commissioned report on Minority issues in Guyana? The Guyana government of course challenged the report which was prepared by the UN minority expert Gay McDougall. The report in a nutshell fingers the racial divide in Guyana presided over by President Jagdeo. Bare in mind that Blacks and Indians are the two dominant groups in Guyana and technically can’t be described as minority groups. It makes the McDougall report all the more interesting.

Mr. Wickham you are a political scientist by training, yet you use the radio and TV airwaves to pontificate on a multiplicity of issues. To whom much is given much is expected. In your desire to challenge the researched position of Dr. Gibson, a credited academic, your response should equally be researched. The generous airtime you allocate to Guyana Consul Norman Faria and the silent Ricky Sigh on the racial turbulence unfolding in Guyana continues to puncture your credibility on the matter. What we agree on is the need for there to be a national conversation on this issue. Another example of Fourth Estate failing the PEOPLE.

What is your agenda Mr. Wickham?

229 responses to “What Is Your Agenda Mr. Peter Wickham?”

1. @ J
    Please note: you are asking me the sme question I asked you. So clearly you nor I don’t have any ansers.
    Valium works better than me. Don’t suffer the insomnia. Love ya!!!!!

2. I do have an answer.

People can and do BECOME Bajans.

And people can and do cease being Bajans.

No valium required.

I sleep the sweet sleep of the innocent.

Happy Easter.

3. Nope, actually I mean both.

Guyana suffers from both a social & political problem that doesn’t seem to be even close to being resolved which I believe ultimately inhibits the country’s development.I believe that should a Government fail then the responsibility for good governance would automatically fall to the people.In this case,however,even the people of Guyana do not appear to be fighting for said good Governance except for a few individuals such as Freddie Kissoon & instead choose to emigrate permanently.This transplantation I believe is the primary reason for the current manifestation that you see on this blog concerning people of Guyanese descent & throughout Barbados because our Citizens do NOT want to see the same problems coming with Guyana’s citizenry.I’m not saying it is right or wrong but that it is just expected.

I have seen every reason in the book as to why Guyana nationals should be in Barbados,but I have never once seen one question answered as to why they should not be in Guyana fighting for their own good governance.This is why I absolutely oppose any effort to make Barbados immigration laws any easier & disagree with Peter Wickham on this matter.The Barbados Government should not be making it easier for people to flout our immigration laws.If they are in the country legally fine,but otherwise deportations & consistent work-site enforcement raids are in order.

4. Peter W. Wickham // April 10, 2009 at 3:01 pm

Clearly Adrian cannot appreciate the subtle difference between my agreement that Guyana does have a racial problem and my assertion that this problem is not caused by the simple presence of large number of Indo Guyanese.
    ————————————————-

Poor Peter cannot seperate himself from his inconsistencies. Here we are, dealing with the real realationships that exist in Guyana, fully aware that people do not put away their behaviours, their cultural norms, and practices, their steriotypes etc when they migrate to another society, and that such real relationships in Guyana has enormous implications for any country that allows large numbers Guyanese into their space. Peter wants us Barbadians to look at the cause for the racial devide in Guyana, accept that such a cause is not present in Barbados and therefore we have nothing to fear. It isn’t the cause Peter. If my next door neighbour was known to have kept flammable liquids on his properties, and I did not. A fire broke out on that property, according to Peter I should not be concern about the fire spreading, because the CAUSE for the fire does not exist on my property.

5. To try to discredit Dr. Gibson as acting out of her league is folly.
    The lady is a professional researcher.

Once the information presented by her has been empiracally researched (as against being skewed) that is all that matters

To try to put her down is an underhand and cheap form of attact.

6. Sould have been: “empirically” and “attack”

7. @ Adrian Hinds

Exactly,Migrants must adhere to the societal norms of the country they are trying to migrate to,not the other way around.

8. Peter Wickham credibility has been destroyed and there is nothing that he can say to restore it.Peter Wickham is a coward.We are pleading with you to come back on the blogs and answer the queries of the UN report on Guyana.

9. Wanna want me tah bring back Pete? Beg …….!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

10. Anonymous
    Why should I be careful using Nigel’s name, when this matter was done in the presence of many people. You don’t want to hear the truth or want your stinking government exposed. I could expose a lot more so don’t rub me the wrong way.

11. J
    If you were born in any other part of the world and became a citizen of Barbados, you will NOT become bajan , you will be a barbadian citizen. A Bajan is a TRUE citizen of the soil not a “come yuh.”

Anonymous
    I used to work in Guyana for the company I worked for then and God knows, I was glad when I was transfered,the canals stink, the roads stink, water stink. You people really enjoying sweet life in Barbados. Secondly, if guyanese are some hard working you have thousands and thousands of miles of land begging to be cultivated by guyanese at pepper-corn consession rates, why then come to Barbados to try and rent half acre of land for what you can rent a hundred acres for back home.and with plenty, plenty water. This just don’t make sense. The government and politics in guyana is what causing you to run. Well don’t burn your bridges, just now you will have to run back.

12. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

I am definitely not a coward and have lots more to say, but I have been advised by Gear Box to hold it down for the time being and I will await his counsel regarding the appropriate time to re-enter the debate.

13. The plot thickens. Our Union Bosses are in a dilemma whether Bajan workers should be sent on the breadline first:

Deciding who goes first

Published on: 4/12/2009.

by PHILLIPPE AIMEY

SOME SOCIAL LEADERS are divided on whether Barbadians or non-nationals should be put on the breadline first, as businesses continue to grapple with the current global economic downturn.

While general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), Dennis Clarke, did not go as far as saying that non-nationals should be laid off before Barbadians, he said that this policy of "home drums beating first" was one he had observed in other regional jurisdictions.

He said it was a stark reality where locals were being protected first and foremost, "visibly and loudly", but said Barbados would probably be crucified for taking a similar stance.

"Naturally one would not want to adopt such a policy but it is happening in some of the islands in the Caribbean and some international territories, which are looking at their citizens first. There has been some slowdown in construction but all along people were being imported from various territories.

"So the question is: ‘If you had to downsize at any time within the construction industry, who would be at a disadvantage? Would it be the non-nationals or the locals? Will it be a question of home drums beating first? [They] are going to say that they are looking at the most productive workers and I know that will be the cry, but you need to ask how fair is it that way?" he said.

The NUPW boss admitted that he had recently returned from one Caribbean territory where the policy was to look after locals first, and there were Barbadians in that territory fearful of losing their jobs.

"So it is something that needs to be looked at, because Barbados is supposed to be sanctimonious and this leader for CARICOM, but there needs to be balance and support from across the board," he said.

However, deputy general secretary of the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU), Robert ‘Bobby’ Morris, shared a different opinion. He suggested that competency and productivity should outweigh any considerations related to nationality.

"It is about competence, respect, motivation and it is simply about how you work. Where you were born should not be a determinant of whether you work or not . . . . That is what both employers and the unions are expecting because you can’t hide behind nationality, at least not in a single market and economy framework," Morris said, pointing further to worker representation within a union.

"Each agreement between employers and employees should address this issue. Once a person is my member, I don’t want first and second class members in my union . . . once you are a member, you are entitled to fair representation across the board. A man is a man and if you invite me into your home, I expect you to treat me fairly," he said.

Within the construction industry a large component of the labour force is Guyanese, and Guyana’s consul Norman Faria told the SUNDAY SUN that employment of those labourers was important.

Following the halt of the Four Seasons project that saw "a sizeable number" of Guyanese workers laid off, Faria said he made a request to the Immigration Department that they be granted additional work permits to work on other job sites. He spoke directly to the importance of their employment in Barbados.

"We really want everyone to remain employed, both Guyanese and Barbadians, because everyone makes a valuable contribution to the economy. It [employment] also allows a number of these workers to send home remittances to their families, so it is crucial that jobs are maintained and I mean that for both local and non-national workers," Faria said.

* phillippeaimey@nationnews.com

14. @Peter Wickham

Making mock sport at the BU family by running from a debate does not become you.

15. Dear Pater:

Don’t take any advice from Gear Box. We need you back on this blog so that TRUTH and REASON can prevail.

16. Dear Gear Box:

Ok we beg. Bring back Pete…

I am taking a lunch break now, but I really want to her from Peter (and from you) before nightfall.

17. Steupes

“Truth and reason”???!! give me a break! Peter “Bojangles” Wickham got to address the issue first! He dancing all bout de place.

18. Peter Wickham what a convenience excuse.You taking advise from Gear Box who says nothing on these debates and tries to trivialize and make mock sport at serious issues.Give me a break with that bull shit.Peter Wickham you are coward and you know you are defeated and cannot bring any justifiable reasons to support your foolish argument.You are a wimp.

I cannot believe what Bobby Morris said in that article.I hope Barbadians are following the the direction the Barbados Workers Union is going with regards to Workers right in Barbados.No wonder the union lost the Sandy Lane & Royal Shop battles.I always had doubts about Bobby Morris.All the other Caribbean Countries and indeed all the countries of this world including the United States of America are putting their citizens first and doing everything possible to protect the jobs of those citizens and that clown talking about productivity of the workers and not nationality.He has insulted all hard working Barbadians who parents,grand parents and who themselves are now giving tremendous service to the development of this country.He has also given credence to the view by non-nationals that Barbadians are lazy.Bobby Morris you are a union disgrace.All Barbadian workers should resign from the Barbados Workers Union henceforth.I am calling for all Barbados Workers Union members to take that Barbadian traitor Bobby Morris to task.Do not allow him to receive a paysheet from your hard earn money and he is not representing your interest but the interest of non-nationals.

Bobby Morris you & Peter Wickham are 2 discredited Barbadian disgraces.

Bobby Morris & Peter Wickham I hope both of you rot in hell.

19. I just read with disbelief, the comments made by Bobby Morris. How can any bajan BWU member have condidence in him on a negotiations panel? Negro Man, I agree with you, this man is a TOTAL disgrace. I just hope the P.M is not thinking that way too. At the end of the five years term, will these non-nationals vote? Who would the unemployed bajans and their family who are suffering at the hands of a unpatriotic government and non-nationals, will they vote OUT? Let’s get serious, HOME DRUM BEATS FIRST, you said so yourself Mr P.M, don’t backdown now, we are supporting you all the way. Barvados did not reach this stage in our development with the help of these non-nationals, they just come on the bandwagon with this slogan about bajans lazy and run with it. Let’s pull up our socks and band together, things are going to get rough and we bajans have got to defend our country against this invasion. We MUST secure our country for our children and our children, children.

20. Negro Man
    That’s typical Peter Wickham, empty but full of talk until challenged. On the call-in programs, he has the benefit of a producer to protect him. This now shows the true fraud

21. Bare in mind that the large non-Barbadian population working in Barbados represent an opportunity for the BWU. As the working population contracts it means the BWU and other unions membership bases are contracting. You don’t want the unions to have to lay off staff dont you?

22. Pete anxious. Awright I gun call he…

Pete Lickham up… again

AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

23. Scout, You have been running with the devil, so God don’t know nothing whether you glad or whatever, God don’t listen to hate. But it ain’t too late to redeem yourself and allow Jesus into your life and thus drop the charges against you. We are all God’s people, but what is needed right now in Barbados is a Holiness Revival, and I am praying that the Lord will lead Prophetess Juanita Bynum to Barbados to save and sanctify God’s people who have gone astray, the Anglican Church can’t save you all, only some old fashion religion can.

24. Negroman,

With all of your emotiveness and flamboyance you too are as empty as thy come. Man I hate when I have to agree with a sentiment that you have made. Damn, makes me uncomfortable. Thankfully this time around, I can state with conviction that you are not making sense. And the same goes for Scout (as usual) and a few others. P W Whickham is recognised and respected through out the region because he can deliver; sets him aside from most other academics that I know. David BU and the rest of you are in the grander scheme of things lack umph.

Show some respect.

25. David
    I do not understand the point you are making on the contraction of the Barbados economy and the inevitable laying off of Barbadian workers and the effect that will have on the BWU membership.Are you trying to say that only Barbadian workers will be laid off and the union will then have to negotiate to protect the the jobs of non-nationals?

Scout
    We have only wind bags as leaders,David Thompson,Bobby Morris,Leroy Trotman,Peter Wickham & the rest.Those hum bugs do not stand up and showed backbone when required.
    Scout your prediction of anarchy might come to be a reality one day coming soon.I know that this inept government is trying but it is not bold enough to carry out the comprehensive clean up of the immigration situation as it promise it will do.This government is capitulating to pressures from certain interest groups and reactionary forces in this island.

Scout,We must always remind David Thompson that we the people of Barbados made him Prime Minister and it is us that could bring him down not the special interest groups and the reactionary forces that are influencing his decisions.

David Thompson the wind bag act in the interest of the masses of Black Barbadians that elected you as Prime Minister or we make this country ungovernable I promise you that.

26. @ Negroman

David is absolutely right on this subject,even here in the United States the largest unions actually do protect illegal immigrants & with the ascension of Democrats in power in the Legislative & Executive.They have probably the most influence of any group here in the United States.It is basically all about money not membership.

27. Peter W. Wickham Avatar
    Peter W. Wickham

I appreciate very much Gear Box’s invitation to re-engage this issue and would want to begin by directly addressing this UN Report that some are suggesting I have run away from. I have read what I can of the report online and it seems to be suggesting that there is evidence of racial discrimination in Guyana and moreover that this discrimination takes place within state agencies and negatively affects the well-being of racial minorities.
    The BU family might be surprised to hear that this information does not surprise me, nor does it negate any of my previous assertions. I can’t speak for Norman Faria, but I am inclined to believe that there is evidence of racial discrimination against Afros there at present, in the same way that there was evidence of racial discrimination against Indos there during the Burnham-PNC era. My thesis is not that there is no discrimination, but that discrimination is not caused by the mere presence of large numbers of Indos and moreover that Indos are not genetically or culturally inclined to discriminate because of their Hindu beliefs. To my mind this is simple enough. So yes I believe there is discrimination, although we can disagree about the extent of such, but the issue is the root cause and if that root cause will be imported into Barbados along with the Indo Guyanese that have come. I believe we should as a society begin to understand the roots of prejudice and discrimination as a way of ensuring that it does not happen here.
    Sadly I detect some nasty manifestations of racism and prejudice emerging in this debate which tells me that Dr. Gibson’s message is not lost on several people who are looking for an excuse to oppress Indo-Guyanese. When I read one apparently White Barbadian’s reference to the body odour of Indos (as he argued) I can only hope that the danger of Dr. Gibson’s views is now clearer.
    The related contribution from Gear Box is thoughtful as it relates to the types of objectives that governance needs to achieve, but I suspect it will be lost in the debate which has become quite venomous.

28. So sad, I went back and read what some of you wrote, Negroman said, they should be eradicated, WOW, eradicated is a harsh word, but I shudder to see it placed alongside humans, the so called white Barbadian says pelt them down, well not so long ago my dear cousin attended Howard University in Washington DC and just because she was black she was restricted in where she could go, yes in the 50’s in Washington DC the capital city of the USA. In that same period young Emmett Till went down to south to Mississippi (sp off) and he was lynched because they said he had whistled at a white woman, when in fact he did no such thing, but never in my wildest dreams would I have thought I would have seen this sort of thing coming from our Caribbean black poeple, and I will tell you this today is the East Indian people and tomorrow is people who are half black, ah Negroman hates half black people.

29. We should try yo stay true to this debate. All Peter needs to latch to an exit strategy from this discussion is to focus on commenters who engage in extreme comment. We find the part of the comment by Peter interesting:

I believe we should as a society begin to understand the roots of prejudice and discrimination as a way of ensuring that it does not happen here.

It just makes us wonder what’s all the disagreement about. We are making progress, Mr. Wickham has conceded on this point of learned behaviour possibly being imported. What we need is for this matter to be researched, we need scietific positions offered to the people. The rhetoric fed by all in this matter needs to stop.

30. Jay
    I respect your views on this immigration issue,however,I do not think that a comparison between a big industrialised country like the USA & Barbados is relevant.The USA can absorbed millions of illegal immigrants because of the sheer scope of the workforce where illegal immigrant workers performed basically jobs that US citizens really do not want.In Barbados it is completely different scenario.Both locals & non-nationals are competing for the few jobs available in Barbados today. Tell me how can that be fair in a small economy like Barbados. Isn’t that a recipe for anarchy?Jay the unemployment figures in Barbados are rising daily.It has reached double digits

Peter Wickham you have said nothing as usual.I think you are shallow.Critique the UN report with your usual expertise.

31. Supposedly, there was racial discrimination against East Indians at the end of PM Burnham’s rule of Guyana. Remember now when LFSB came to power there were very few Indians in the civil service, most of the East Indians were on the sugar estates. The few East Indians that were qualified were place in high positions at the beginning of LFSB’s rule, but what happened these people were not loyal to LFSB or the Guyanese state. They liked their positions, but they were always looking back at Dr. Jagan. Remember now it is LFSB that brought East Indians into the teaching profession, the nursing profession and so on, it was LFSB that made all the Hindi and Moslem holy days national holidays, and allowed them to wear their native clothes on special days.

32. Mr. Peter, I hope you know that the Portuguese of Guyana were very racist too. Oh yes, when they lived in large numbers in Guyana we could not touch them with a ten foot pole.

33. I was once talking to a white New Zealander and I was telling him about Guyana and he told me that the East Indians and Austrailian Aborignee are of the same genetic background. however, with the Indians and to some extent the Aborignee they procreated with the white man and that is how they look today. Look at a picture of the Aborignee and you will see Indians look just like them, especially in the South of India. The Indians don’t have the genetic make up of Caucausians, Africans or Asians, they are totally different, their own racial group.

34. Can someone not born a Hindu and not Indian become a Hindu? What is the prescribed punishment for converting from Islam to another religion? The correct answers may explain the reservations of some towards this “there is nothing to fear about large numbers of Indians” position.

35. I have a far bigger beef with White Bajans particularly the likes of Allan Fields who would claim in public that the race issue between Whites and Blacks in Barbados will improve at an evolutionary pace (that means over many, many generations). I have a beef with places like St. Winifred’s School, Harbour Lights, Mix96 FM, BBS and the Yacht Club. A population as small as our local White population should have been bred out of existence by now but the fact that it hasn’t suggests a huge amount of snobbery on the part of Whites. The spineless Black people seem comfortable not only looking the other way, but supporting White enterprise.

Sure, pick on the Indians… The Whites have been making you shite for generations so I somebody has got to pay.

36. Anon said:
    I was once talking to a white New Zealander and I was telling him about Guyana and he told me that the East Indians and Austrailian Aborignee are of the same genetic background. however, with the Indians and to some extent the Aborignee they procreated with the white man and that is how they look today. Look at a picture of the Aborignee and you will see Indians look just like them, especially in the South of India. The Indians don’t have the genetic make up of Caucausians, Africans or Asians, they are totally different, their own racial group.
    ——————————————————
    For your information recent genetic research based on the “Y” chromosome is showing that all mankind today is descended from original inhabitants of East Africa.

They moved north into Europe, East into grasslands of the East, South East into India, and eventually into Australia and New Zealand. The North American Indians came later across from Eastern Russia via the Bering Sea, and over the centuries migrated south into the Andes and eastern South America.

Differences in pigmentation, physical features etc came about through environment, diet and customs. The Indians from Southern India are more “African” due to their climate and more closely resemble the people of Eastern Africa. Geographical distance and the caste system in India – which discriminates against dark skinned Indians – essentially ensures that they do not easily intermix with the lighter skinned Indians of the North.

The historical records show that most of the immigrant labour contracted under Indentureship after 1838 came from Southern India, and was drawn from the lowest castes – dark skinned labourers. In many parts of India today one will find people with dark skin and obvious African features. They are of the lowest castes like the Dalits. This learned cultural behavior is ingrained in Indians and is one of the theses of Dr. Gibson’s books.

Another factor that is sometimes “hidden” by Indians, is that most immigrants were male and they cohabited with the Africans, thus some Indians in this region do have “local African ancestry”, as seen in their hair and features. Like some of the “Red People” who here in Barbados and elsewhere think they are “pure White” (if there is such a thing), these Indians are “Dougla” or mixed Afro-Indians.

In any case their ancestors are Africans although they would refuse to believe it..however …. Science does not lie! Indians, like all mankind, are descended from Africans. (Check the various recent studies posted on the Internet for the facts…)

37. No, a person cannot convert to Hinduism, not to my knowledge, at least not in Guayna, there is a Hindu Temple not far from my house in Guyana, and they never came to my door saying they trying to convert me, now I have had the Baptist, Johovah’s Witness, AME, and so on canvass me, and all I saw were Indians going into that Hindu Temple. I will say this, theya re fervent Christians once they accept Jesus as their personal saviour, now I know nothing about thier religion or what it stands for, and I know nothing about Islam, but I have seen some of our people convert to Islam in Guyana, but I have never see them with the Indian Moslems, so I don’t know.

38. Thank you Ecoanalyst, Wonderful piece by you, Thank You

39. @Negroman,

What I forgot to mention was that the money from illegal immigrants go to the Unions here in the U.S. & in return the Unions usually protect their illegal members from deportation.

I assume the same thing is happening with BWU.

40. Phew, EcoanaIyst, you just saved me from a speII of mind-boggIedness at that New ZeaIander’s expIanations and I had started my own repIy, now don’t have to. Next we wiII be hearing the stork brings babies. A person can convert to Hinduism. PeopIe do it aII the time. They don’t try to convert you door to door its not a proseIitysing reIigion to the extent of Christianity or IsIam but you do get the Hare Krishna peopIe going round chanting Krishna’s name. This worked weII in the West where you see pasty Iooking teens in robes roaming around chanting. A person can aIso covert from IsIam, as Iong as they don’t mind the death penaIty! IsIam not onIy wants you to convert but if you don’t the poIicy is “death to infideIs” i.e bIow up the infideI disco in BaIi or Soho. Yes the caste system is terribIe but tends not to thrive away from Mother Ganges, witness the many inter caste marriages in UK and US. However, be wary of IsIam as fundamentaIism thrives when abroad. If you want to worry, worry about sharia Iaw many musIim cIerics wouId dearIy Iove to impose aII over the worId. Pakistan is having that probIem right now.

41. Victor

How the hell do you know that Muslims “bIew up the infideI disco in BaIi or Soho”? Sure Muslims are an easy group to accuse and target but Blacks are the easiest group to fool and prostitute..!

42. Jay, Without unions, these poor illegal workers in the USA have to give sexual favours to bossmen, the female ones, plus in some instances so many hours in salary, and the male workers have to give, sometimes two weeks salary just to keep the job, plus endure all sorts of indignities.

43. http://www.statisticsguyana.gov.gy/pubs/Chapter2_Population_Composition.pdf

This link shows the population and religious makeup of Guyana’ s population in the 2002 Census.
    When this census was announced it was reported that Hindus were the majority in Guyana’s population. This is blatantly incorrect and is typical of the Hindu controlled government which wanted to perpetuate this lie.

The statistics show that Hindus are 30%(225,601). The majority of Guyanese ( 57.4%- 430,343) are Christians if one adds up all of the denominations that have been listed separately in this report to make Christians look like they were the minority. Muslims are 7.2% (53,781).

These statistics may shock many but they reflect the fact that Guyana has always had a majority of Christians or people who claimed to be Christians. How is this? Many Indians have converted over the years – many to the Pentecostal churches- the fastest growing Christian group (125,331 – 16.7%). I have seen letters in the papers criticizing the fact that Hindus are becoming Christians… some charging that they are doing this to more easily “get into America”.

There are also other trends within the population of 751,225. Here I show the 2002 vs the 1991 statistics to show these trends:
    Africans; 2002= 227,062 (30.20%) vs 233,465 (32.26%) in 1991.
    Amerindians: 2002= 68,675 (9.16%) vs 46,722 (6.46%) in 1991.
    East Indian: 2002= 326,277 (43.45%) vs 351,939 (48.63%) in 1991.
    Mixed: 2002= 125,727 (16.73%) vs 87,881 (12.14%).
    These four categories represent 99.54% of the inhabitants. Incidentally the census does not identify the growing Portuguese population from Brazil now living in Guyana, as they are not citizens.

What it does show is that during the PPP years of government since 1992, that the African population has gone up slightly while the East Indian population has decreased by some 25,000. It also shows increases in the Amerindian and “Mixed” categories, which is now some 26 % of the population. These trends may affect the outcome of the elections in 2011, if there is waning support for the PPP.

It is somewhat interesting that with an Indian dominated Hindu leaning PPP government in control that there has been such an outflow of Indians overseas looking for a better life. It could be that they are emigrating for a time to earn money to send home to build their houses etc…. or it could be also the unstable economic/political/ racial situation in Guyana where people see no hope in their future there.

The economic downturn worldwide does not seem to be suppressing the people smuggling (backtrack) business, in Guyana, or the long lines getting passports and visas. There has been a reduction in remittances home (over $450M US in 2007) as the overseas economies contract. Guyana has been exporting its economic problems by exporting people. This “export” has also helped the country’s GNP with remittances. That is what Jagdeo and Faria are so supportive of this outflow. Now, this escape valve is closing and Guyana has to get serious about fixing its internal problems as outlined in the recent U.N. and USAID reports.

There is absolutely no reason why Guyana cannot CHANGE and become a positive force in developing itself and the Region. This will not happen if the current PPP politicians refuse to free their peoples and share the benefits of the economy with all races so that they can be the best they could be.

Governance should benefit ALL the people, and not just their Indian supporters and Indian”businessmen” who benefit from the present setup whereby Guyana is their private plantation.

44. I just came across an interesting article by the Guyanese columnist, Freddie Kissoon who writes for the Kaieteur News.. headlined “FLYING PEOPLE”.

He raises some very interesting points, already highlighted by me and others in this Blog re the increasing seriousness of Guyanese emigration to Barbados… especially in these difficult economic times.

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/2009/04/13/flying-people/

45. If freddie kisson a guyanese of indian descent could be so honest and tell us that barbados is heading for trouble as the build up of guyanese in barbados continues,then how come peter wickham that dim wit can’t get what kean gibson and others are saying.

46. @ Ecoanalyst

April 13, 2009 Columnists, Freddie Kissoon wrote:-
    “That influx seems to have irritated PM Thompson. Thompson’s response is that “we are too small.”
    “Barbados is bursting at the seam.”

The truth is about 70% of the population of Barbados lives between Christ Church and St. Michael. Any talk about bursting at the seam is nonsense and engineered to cause panic.

April 13, 2009 Columnists, Freddie Kissoon wrote:-
    ” Arthur, who did nothing to make him lose, did lose”

Arthur lost because he and his gang were spending as if money was going out of style. They were also living high off the hog. If more Guyanese could have voted they probably would have voted against the BLP for the same reason. Three terms is enough… tah much!

Singapore has a population of well over four million and are only slightly bigger than Barbados. They are one of the most developed countries in the world and they have no natural resources other than people. Hmmm.

Black people..!

47. Thank you Ecoanalysis, I have been saying to them frequently here that the majority of people in Guyana are African, black, coloured, have your choice of name, but no one listens, all I read is about Indian, and let me tell you after LFSB rule quite a few black people voted for the PPP, this might not happen again in 2011. Now you all stay clear of Freddy Kissoon, stay clear, and trust me, he is up in here reading minute by minute what is written, that is why such an editorial yesterday.
    And one last thing those overseas Indians that left Guyana are not going back, they rather punish in New York than return to Guyana, they see Guyana as black people country, some of them if you ask them where they are form, they say South America, you have to dig out Guyana from them.

48. Malta is 120 sq miles and has 1/2 million people. Freddy Kissoon says Barbados is one of earth’s most inhabitied territories, I guess he meant densely populated. I think you needed those extra Guyanese to help grow your economy, you had jobs, and they came.

49. BAFBFP says that since white people juck out the Black people right eye, we should now let the Indians juck out the left eye!

50. No! BAFBFP is saying that both the Indian and the Black people should work together so that the White people don’t get the chance to see one set juck out the eye of the other set!

There is a guy on this blog who refers to himself as Buffalo Soldier. Well it was the Buffalo soldiers who served as cannon fodder in the US Civil War, and the Spanish-American War (in Cuba) and the so-called Second World War (when on returning home to the US hundreds were lynched to remind the set that they were still just Niggers). The Buffaloes were very useful against the Indigenous peoples too (so-called Indian Wars) where they brutally went after the few Natives that got away from the White people.

No, no, no.! This Indian vs Black thing is a proxy conflict and the sooner you ignorant Black commentators recognise this, the better.