naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. @ concernobv

By the way have you done anything for NABO besides partying. Maybe, you can answer a question. Since NABO has retained the services of a attorney in South Florida (by the way the same one that represented them when Mike Cummins got sued for not paying the former secretary her money) is it fair to say that the attorney will direct Mike Cummins, John Ellis and Earl Ashby to pay off the $12K plus credit card debt they incurred under the NABO name or is that another nail that will be driven in coffin to bury NABO?

2. @concerned
    You have a lot of information. Give us some more.

3. Uh bak dis mournin tuh see how tings gine, how wuhna getting tru sorting out peezez o de puzzle.
    Uh see wuhna got de parshul, imparshul and de nonparshul.
    NABO nuh mo o de wizzy wizzying wuhna push de envelope tuh muc and to far. Uh glad tuh see de exposure fuh true.
    Keep sorting peepuls, gone fuh now

4. I have a feeling that what we have read so far is not the end of what I found to be a very intriguing yet sad case. I doubt that the local print or online media could have given patrons the amount of info that this blog has been able to provide.

Gone are the days when there were no blogs to put what was expected to be hush hush in the limelight for all to see.

In this debacle, I expect there will be more defenders and offenders. I say let the chips fall where they may. These emails among members have truly left many, many unanswered questions. Will there ever be answered; will someone be held accountable? Thatโ€™s left to be seen. Only time will tell. The Canadian and European partners must be trembling in their boots. What a calamity!

Any organization found to be caught up in this kind of fraud, it should be kicked to the curb and banned by authorities. The only problem is they could resurrect under a new name. But it would be up to the people to boycott.

5. Hello David,

I was trying not to get into this catfight, since I have learned one canโ€™t blog/comment on every subject matter. However, one could not help noticing you have exposed the credit card number and expiration date information of Mr. Earl Ashby on the internet (WordPress) no less.

I hope Mr. Ashby has read this and realized his exposure, and have the good sense to change that account number.

Where is the outrage? Is it only me? Or is there nothing that is out-of-bounds.

Your copy with Visa A/C#: 2068 Exp: 03/09 information could have been edited/omitted.

Just looking out for yah!

6. Peepuls uh teifing sum time tuh tell wuhna dis. Um mite be LICORISHness dat accounting fuh de money.

7. Thanks Marlehole. You are correct about the card number. We took a decision to post because this information had already been making the rounds on the email before it got to BU. The account was compromised long before it got to BU. Our advice to the people at NABO is to close the account if they have not done so already.

We don’t want to contravene any laws so we will try to edit the pdf and reinstate the link.

8. This NABO Business. Trying to pick sense out this truck load of nformation. Ain’t too good at academics but I would still like to grasp wha gine on , why Barbados getting all dis play for this company operating overseas. I hope one of the bright boys would brek it down for a simple mind like mine.
    So long waiting to hear.

9. Simple
    This overseas company carries the name of Barbados, it has gotten financial support from the Barbados government both parties.

10. @ Simple

Simply put the government of Barbados current and past and companies have invested tax payors and in the case of banks and credit unions invested customers’ monies in the interest of selling Barbados and enhancing tourism and marketing; in a Collaborative Conference in Barbados where the ‘big 3’, Mike Cummins, Earl Ashby, and John Ellis, assisted by Janice Bispham and Colleen Innis- Gittens from Innovative Business Solutions misappropriated the funds. Most of the support to the Conference were given by the Bajan Diaspora overseas and instead of giving back something to benefit the bajans community either here or in Barbados. A cash donation of $5,017 was given to help fatten the bottom line of an already profitable organization in Barbados , who by the way Colleen Inniss-Gitten is on the Fundraising committee. Another $40,000 in kind was given by NCF, no mention instead there were checks written for those expenses. $3, 100 was paid to Weisers and also paid to Innovative Solutions in cash. Need any more the list of improprieties goes on. The BOD simply asked for clarifications and explanations. Members pay $100. a year to be part of NABO that continues to dupe the governement and corporationg that support the mission of NABO. I can meet you on River Road to caucus with Mike Cummins and Earl Ashby.

11. Who gives a cash donation of $5,017.00 to anyone. Donations are made by check so as you will have a paper trail.
    The Internal Revenue Service is going to love that line item.
    These people did things without even thinking of the out come. The chair and past chair operates they own business and should know better.
    However this was all about how much we can get away with and I must say each year it got worst.
    Now these same people do not want to report to the members and indicate that no one can call a meeting but them.

12. ummm..
    for your info it is not age nor alcohol. You continue to make stupid comments.

13. I just go in from work and all this stuff has warmed me up. Despite not answering the questions from the directors, Ashby, Cummins and the Sheep from Florida are still raising funds for another conference. One account in Barbados I hear have over $20,000 in it for the next conference. They are robbing blind the innocent companies in Barbados and selfishly trying to abuse the Barbados Government agencies. maybe seet drinks are not selling in the USA and supplemental income is needed. All the talk about the charity donations by NABO to Barbados is a joke. I challenge anyone to come forward with proff an any such donation. Find a person in Barbados who can say that they was a recipient od a NABO donation.
    Check out and see who have been the true contributers to BIM.
    Bajans in the USA, Canada and the UK should be sending money home not stealing from poor BIM. These are a sorry bunch of crooks and sheep that support them.

14. Comment transferred to Henry blog

15. Dark Knight
    This is a blog on NABO not the Barbados government. Why do you kept putting this on this blog.

16. If Dark Knight had a job where he/she had to work in -5 degree temperatures maybe he/she would be a bit smarter. Intelligence is not something that one buys at a service station.

17. @ Dark Knight

Stop trying to steal the thunder of those folks who are trying to get to the bottom of NABO’s crisis. Maybe you should consider opening up your own blog to deal with politics. Typical of why NABO is an organization in crisis you are just like the “big 3” always skirting the real issues. Do you have any resolutions for the NABO folks or are you one of the “big 3” and hope that by changing the subject the issue would fade into the dark of knight.

18. @CONCERNED
    Thanks for explaining for my benefit. I think that the NABO body of members should seek legal advice on how to proceed. With my limited knowledge I know that there are legal rules and regulations to govern the conduct of clubs, societies and business groups. This is my little bit for today.

19. These same people who was removed but refuse to step down is now pushing a conference in South Carolina. I hope that this blog has open the eyes of the various sponsors. They will be fools to give NABO money at this time.

20. @ Rodney

Thanks to you too.

21. @Rodney:
    who are the potential sponsors for the NC conference??

@Coldone:
    Where and how is this fund raising activity taking place??

22. The fund raising activities are bieng done in Barbados by the Gittens woman. It is also in her interest to do this since she gets 20% of all funds raised and the reciever of the donations is some organization she is affiliated with. Some sponsors are the ones mentioned in financial report listed in the earlier blogs: etc Air jamica, Clico, Credit Union and so forth.

23. I doubt the Bdos government will be crazy enought to get caught in this mess. So that will be a few sponsors less.

24. Why these people not locked up? Are the directors of nabo stupid? How come this sort of thing gone on for so long? Anyone know if the sponsors are aware of these accusations?

25. Adrian Hinds
    As coldone indicated, plus on their website is showing partners as Barbados Public Workers Credit Union, Calidad, Barbados National Bank, Cable & Wireless, BCSI and Bajan. I do hope that these sponsors see this blog and do not get in bed again with this bunch, these are the type that give us a bad name.

26. @rodney
    It is time for your AA classes. You are still going on and on about nothing, but it is understood because during a live meeting you are not sober enough to comprehend, therefore this forum is a place where you can guzzle and gabble all at the same time. It is time for you to exit stage back where you have been for a long time.

27. Have the members in all of these organizations under NABO been made aware of these allegations? I cannot remember reading anything in the bylaws to address issues such as this one.

I don’t expect NABO to defend itself to the public, but I think someone from the top brass should make a public statement on these allegations, or have someone make the statement on their behalf.

NABO may have forgotten or don’t know that any IRS information they have provided is public record.

One more thing, leave out the personal attacks and get to the root of what looks like a real serious problem for NABO.

28. @Newcomer: I am honestly trying to get a response from Earl, Michael, and others mentioned here. I have used the email addresses listed here; I have reach out to them via face book. I do not expect them to respond publicly, but they have to in the least signal to the public that some attempt internal to the organization will be pursued to bring the warring parties together to begin the process of working out these accusations, issues and stand-offs etc. It could be a conference call, a WebEx meeting, something. At the end of my attempt and there is no response from or word of any attempt by the officers of the NABO to address these accusations, with a stated date and time to start and complete this process,โ€ฆ I will be going ahead with whatever action, so intended, to uncover, disclose, and make aware to all those, who may have a stake in the activity of NABAO, its state of affairs. This list will include the IRS, State of Florida, and Barbadian/US base sponsors/donors, The Council Generals of Barbados, Florida and NY etc.

29. ummm..
    you do not even have enough balls to use a name. You kept making statements to which you have no knowledge, you continue to show that your brains are the size of a split pea. You have never seen me at a meeting if you did you will know I do not drink, you seem to have a problem with the truth. This is a blog about NABO however you must be one of they sheep as you keep attacking people that have the most knowledge of NABO leaders dirty habits.
    You can post whatever you want going forward I would not lower myself to answer any more of your stupid comments. You should get the facts before you put your fingers in action.

30. @Adrian Hinds
    Try calling the Embassy in Washington, DC and talk to Mr. Bulbulia. I understand that directors requested he contact Ashby to try to have him answer questions related to these issues and he refused saying he don’t answer to directors and that he was elected to run NABO and he will do what he pleases. He said he will only talk 2 times a year and the next one will be in SC. This will be when all is forgotten. Also try reaching Mr. Greenidge in CA. He will spill his guts.

31. Adrian Hinds
    A webex meeting was called and all parties was ask to attend including the executive board, this meeting was call by the board of directors, however the executive refuse to call because according to them they are the only ones who can call a meeting.

32. Who is John Licorish?

33. thanks for the heads up, but unless you see them doing the dog, you shouldn’t make judgment … all i want to know though is :
    I was told dis was a collaborative conference, not a NABO conference, so
    where the Canadians and the British in all ah dis mess? they had people on the committee and wha I want to know is if dem up in de teefing too.
    and after all dis lotta long talk, who does investigate dese so call amigos?

34. David
    the past treasurer under Cumming chair

35. David // April 2, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Who is John Licorish?
    ==========================

I came to Boston in 1993 and was told that J licorish was the honary council general of Barbados to Boston. He wasn’t much like by the Bajans i knew (mainly cricketers) He always seemed distance, aloof, and unfreindly to me. I don’t know if he still has that title. If so it is high time he be remove and the post given a little bit more attention, by mission out of NY and or the embassey in Washinton. So David please tell me how John’s name is mixed in this thing? I was also told that he is some distant relative of mine. Don’t know that i agree. lol!

36. Green banana
    Yes it was, but NABO was in charge and controll.
    The accounting speaks fot itself.

37. We understand that many questions regarding finance matters have been asked in the past with some of these organization and guess who was Treasurer?

38. David

Who??

39. Well there is a John Wesley Licorish honary council and his son John Samuels Licorish. Which one ?

40. @rodney
    You must have quit the bottle recently, and if you did, you are having withdrawals because you keep going and going and NABO seems to have really irritated you for a long time. If they are as bad as you say, there must be a reason why you are so attracted or…. your focus is to be always what you can only be from your inner negative demons. You are right in what you do, those demons must get out and this is the forum for you. Break out!!!!!!

41. Our source says J W.

42. ….I am working on a concise dossier highlighting the ‘ALLEGED activities”contained in this thread that are leveled at the persons so named, as one Earl Ashby, Michael Cummins, and others. This consise short read will be handed out at every Barbadian function in the Boston/Providence metropolitan area. Readers will be directed to BU for further reading. This is but one approach that i will be using to force transparency and openess to this issue.

43. ConcernObv = Janice Bispham

44. ConcernObv = Janice Bispham only contribution to NABO is partying and following the crooks!

45. NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BARBADOS ORGANIZATIONS, INC.

P.O. Box 670755
    Carol Springs, Florida 33067-0755
    http://www.naboinc.org
    T: 301-648-7515
    F: 302-341-0460

Dear Friends,

NABOโ€™s Annual Conference will take place this year in Charleston, South Carolina from Thursday, July 9th to Sunday, July 12th. The conference promises to be a memorable and sterling event, and one that you would not want to miss. I invite you to join us and experience the historical and economical connection, and to witness the cultural and architectural similarities between Barbados and Charleston that trace back more than 300 years.

The planning of the conference is being executed by a conference committee, chaired by Michael Cummins, and comprising members of the Executive. The committee has been meeting on regular basis, to ensure you of a successful conference, and plans to keep you fully informed as plans evolve. We would appreciate whatever assistance and support you can give to us by spreading the word within your organization, as well as to your friends and families.

Registration and details for the conference will be available on our website at http://www.naboinc.org on February 24, 2009 and will continue until July 5, 2009

Thank you very much, and we look forward to seeing you in Charleston, South Carolina.

Earl Ashby
    Chairman

46. it started in W.palm beach when the votes were to keep the yes people together and now it has fallen apart.
    the yes people are now under insv. and someone needs to go to jail. the bus stop e.t.c and the crookery need to stop and an honest transparent assn. need to be in existance.

47. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

it started in W.palm beach when the votes were to keep the yes people together and now it has fallen apart.
    the yes people are now under insv. and someone needs to go to jail. the bus stop e.t.c and the crookery need to stop and an honest transparent assn. need to be in existance.

48. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

it started in W.palm beach when in the elections kept the yes people together.
    Now, someone need to go to jail

49. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

If proven wrong
    If crookery exist
    then jail time should follow

50. Since this story broke many have been asking about the position of the Canadian and European chapters of NABO. BU continues to be concerned at the information being revealed which shows how NABO has been conducting its business.

Attached please find information received from our sources which may clarify the position of the Canadian chapter of the NABO body. Again it seems painfully obvious that the procedures of the Canadian chapter NCBAC was questioned by some without success regarding the planning of the 2008 NABO confernece held in Barbados.

Click HERE to read documentation about Canadian (NCBAC) concerns.