naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. This current NABO board was remove by a vote of 70% of the member associations, but they refuse to step down.

2. All you need per the bylaws of NABO is 50%+1

3. More fallout information as a result of stupidity.

Dear Board of Directors,

After a thorough review of the Income & Expense Statement –
    Collaborative Conference – Barbados I have found a few errors as follow:

1. Page 1 “NABO Presentations” the total should be BDS$23,225.31
    not $22, 989.71

“Trade Expo” the total should be BDS$21,085.95 not $19,

2. Page 3 Total Expenses should be BDS$292,925.76 not
    $290,867.95

Net Profit should be BDS$3,541.48 not $5,599.29

Queries/Discrepancies that need to be answered as follow:

3 Page 3 “Workshop on Prostate Cancer (Sponsorship) $2,500 what
    does this represent since the health workshop was on “Hypertension and
    Diabetes Epidemics”. Is this for an upcoming workshop? We need to get
    this correct and state the sponsor, since it was listed as sponsorship.

4. Page 3 Donation to Charity – please be specific, I recalled
    being told it was made to Olga Lopes.

5. Page 3 “Revenue from Cash Collected in B’$33,128.24 what does
    this represents, please provide a breakdown of which activities the
    funds should be applied to.

6. Page 3 “Tours” $3,045 was paid out based on the spreadsheet
    only US$ 1,362 (BDS$ 2,724) was collected, please explain the
    difference, representing a loss to NABO. This was supposed to be handled
    individually.

7. Sheet titled “Total Event Online for Collaborative Events/
    Total Event Onsite for Collaborative Events, total collected in US$
    72,402.00 (BDS$ 144,804.00) why are the amount as income on page 3 of
    the report different from the amount on this sheet; in most cases a
    large disparity. Is the “Revenue from Cash Collected in B’$ of
    $33,128.24 to account for it. See #5 above.

8. Under “total Patrons” there is a standard amount across the
    board for the events; however, I can attest to the fact that some event
    were more after the cutoff date, i.e. Boat cruise was USD$30.00 and
    Banquet was USD$100.00. The packages varied in price based on when they
    were purchased. A breakdown of the amounts of each of the packages needs
    to be listed. Please provide that list.

9. Sheet titled “Sponsors/ Exhibitors/Advertising/Additional
    Sponsorship” – I am taking the position that “Advertising” pertains to
    the journal. If my position is correct there are some questions that I
    need answers or clarification. There are 6 ads that the funds are not
    accounted for pages, 66 (Julia Hollingworth), 79 (Innovative), 83 (Blue
    Print), 86 (assuming this is a Dr. Brathwaite that is shown for $1,000),
    90 (Caribbean Heritage), 99 (Innovative). If these funds are still to be
    collected, why aren’t we seeing a sheet for receivables?

10. Can we have full disclosure of the packages that were offered
    to the sponsors? I am sure that some perks were offered to them through
    journal, ads etc. these need to be accounted for properly on the Balance
    Sheet.

11. The “Income & Expense Statement – Collaborative
    Conference-Barbados”; what is the reporting period for the document and
    who was it prepared by. Please provide that information.

Michael Cummins was correct in his statement recently made in an email
    that the report from the collaborative conference was ratified by a vote
    at the Board of Directors meeting. That doesn’t mean; however that the
    membership can’t ask questions that were not addressed due to the
    limited time given to review the document. Bear in mind that the
    financial document from the Collaborative Conference was not an official
    financial document but rather a summary of transactions that need to be
    amalgamated into NABO financial report; that such document needs to be
    audited and ratified by the membership; and is expected to be received
    by the Board of Directors by February 28, 2009.

I recalled Mr. Cummins making a statement that there was no reason for
    the NABO’s treasurer’s report not to be completed since all the
    information was with him for some time. That statement will tell me that
    most of the information requested in this email should be readily
    available and all corrections made and requests granted by February 15,
    2009; and sent to the Board of Directors prior to us receiving the
    Treasurer’s report.

Let us continue to deal with this in a professional manner. NABO can be
    a force to be reckoned with and we can’t afford to bring any more
    negativity into the mix. Let’s all stay positive. I look forward to your
    cooperation.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Ava M. Foster

Chairman, BACA

4. Information as a result of stupidity.

Dear Board of Directors,

After a thorough review of the Income & Expense Statement –
    Collaborative Conference – Barbados I have found a few errors as follow:

1. Page 1 “NABO Presentations” the total should be BDS$23,225.31
    not $22, 989.71

“Trade Expo” the total should be BDS$21,085.95 not $19,

2. Page 3 Total Expenses should be BDS$292,925.76 not
    $290,867.95

Net Profit should be BDS$3,541.48 not $5,599.29

Queries/Discrepancies that need to be answered as follow:

3 Page 3 “Workshop on Prostate Cancer (Sponsorship) $2,500 what
    does this represent since the health workshop was on “Hypertension and
    Diabetes Epidemics”. Is this for an upcoming workshop? We need to get
    this correct and state the sponsor, since it was listed as sponsorship.

4. Page 3 Donation to Charity – please be specific, I recalled
    being told it was made to Olga Lopes.

5. Page 3 “Revenue from Cash Collected in B’$33,128.24 what does
    this represents, please provide a breakdown of which activities the
    funds should be applied to.

6. Page 3 “Tours” $3,045 was paid out based on the spreadsheet
    only US$ 1,362 (BDS$ 2,724) was collected, please explain the
    difference, representing a loss to NABO. This was supposed to be handled
    individually.

7. Sheet titled “Total Event Online for Collaborative Events/
    Total Event Onsite for Collaborative Events, total collected in US$
    72,402.00 (BDS$ 144,804.00) why are the amount as income on page 3 of
    the report different from the amount on this sheet; in most cases a
    large disparity. Is the “Revenue from Cash Collected in B’$ of
    $33,128.24 to account for it. See #5 above.

8. Under “total Patrons” there is a standard amount across the
    board for the events; however, I can attest to the fact that some event
    were more after the cutoff date, i.e. Boat cruise was USD$30.00 and
    Banquet was USD$100.00. The packages varied in price based on when they
    were purchased. A breakdown of the amounts of each of the packages needs
    to be listed. Please provide that list.

9. Sheet titled “Sponsors/ Exhibitors/Advertising/Additional
    Sponsorship” – I am taking the position that “Advertising” pertains to
    the journal. If my position is correct there are some questions that I
    need answers or clarification. There are 6 ads that the funds are not
    accounted for pages, 66 (Julia Hollingworth), 79 (Innovative), 83 (Blue
    Print), 86 (assuming this is a Dr. Brathwaite that is shown for $1,000),
    90 (Caribbean Heritage), 99 (Innovative). If these funds are still to be
    collected, why aren’t we seeing a sheet for receivables?

10. Can we have full disclosure of the packages that were offered
    to the sponsors? I am sure that some perks were offered to them through
    journal, ads etc. these need to be accounted for properly on the Balance
    Sheet.

11. The “Income & Expense Statement – Collaborative
    Conference-Barbados”; what is the reporting period for the document and
    who was it prepared by. Please provide that information.

Michael Cummins was correct in his statement recently made in an email
    that the report from the collaborative conference was ratified by a vote
    at the Board of Directors meeting. That doesn’t mean; however that the
    membership can’t ask questions that were not addressed due to the
    limited time given to review the document. Bear in mind that the
    financial document from the Collaborative Conference was not an official
    financial document but rather a summary of transactions that need to be
    amalgamated into NABO financial report; that such document needs to be
    audited and ratified by the membership; and is expected to be received
    by the Board of Directors by February 28, 2009.

I recalled Mr. Cummins making a statement that there was no reason for
    the NABO’s treasurer’s report not to be completed since all the
    information was with him for some time. That statement will tell me that
    most of the information requested in this email should be readily
    available and all corrections made and requests granted by February 15,
    2009; and sent to the Board of Directors prior to us receiving the
    Treasurer’s report.

Let us continue to deal with this in a professional manner. NABO can be
    a force to be reckoned with and we can’t afford to bring any more
    negativity into the mix. Let’s all stay positive. I look forward to your
    cooperation.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Ava M. Foster

Chairman, BACA

5. Rodney // March 31, 2009 at 3:01 pm

All you need per the bylaws of NABO is 50%+1
    ==========================
    This NABO group like it is a Joke thing.
    The red highlights particularly the 50%+1 were these recent changes? How long have they been in effect and what was the process use to make the change?

So what is the process for “steping down” do they have something that legitimize their continuance in the face of what appears to be a ligitmate vote per the bylaws? How can they refuse? do they have cheque books, the seal etc? would you be seeking judicial relief?

…To Earl, Mike and company these are some serious charges, with the evidence to their claims made public. What says you? It is our business now and an answer is needed. I am not above calling out to you in public to answer these charges. I have some calls to make.

6. What is/was the role of Martin Greenidge? He was voted off the NABO Board based on our understanding in the extraordinary meeting called. Why is/was he not involved in the money decisions. It looks like if he did not even prepare the financial documents which we have seen. According to NABO By-Laws XVII-Section 3 the role of the Treasurer is very clear:

The Treasurer shall have the custody of the funds and securities of the corporation and shall keep full and accurate accounts of all Sets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements of the Corporation in the books belonging to the Corporation and shall deposit all monies, securities and other valuable assets in the name and to the credit of the Corporation in such bank or financial institution, or, in the case of securities, within such registered dealer in securities as may be designated by the Board of Directors from time to time. The Treasurer shall disburse the funds of the Corporation as may be directed by proper authority taking proper vouchers for such disbursement and shall render to the Chairperson and Directors at the regular meeting of the Board of Directors, or whenever they may require it, an accounting of all the transactions and a statement of the financial position of the Corporation. The Treasurer shall also perform such other duties as may be from time to time directed by the Board of Directors.

7. Adrian
    These changes were made about 5 years ago and voted on by the members. The red was the new changes that went in effect then.

8. David
    Martin was the treasurer elected to office in January 2008. However as you have seen the financial appear to be prepared by Mr. Cumming. For what has been going on I suspect that Martin have never seen a bank statement or the check book.

9. But, nevertheless, Martin Greenidge stands by his peeps. He recently manouvered to vote out the President of the California group, and make himself the new Prez. The previous president of california did not side with Earl and his team during the fallout, but Martin G. does. He is deep into the soup.

10. Having reviewed the receipts, it looks like Mr. Cummins was given the authority to disperse of any and/or all funds as he deem necessary from the account at a Barbados Credit Union. His signature is on every letter authorizing money to be paid out.

Did he not have full financial control over the conference.

11. Why do you think that the Board rebelled? Mike Cummings was all over the money although he was not the Treasurer.

12. @Ivor

If what you are saying is true then Greenidge should have resigned and not waited to be voted off.

13. Look at the dates that information was changed to the Florida Corporations website for NABO. The whole debacle was to be completed by February 28. A special meeting called on March 8. Changes made March 3, 2009. By Mike Cummins no less; is he still the chairman and Earl is just fronting. Was he trying to sneak out unnoticed.Can’t understand if Desmond is on another planet or he is part of the conspiracy to dupe the Barbadian Diaspora.

http://sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet.exe?action=DETFIL&inq_doc_number=N05000000071&inq_came_from=NAMFWD&cor_web_names_seq_number=0000&names_name_ind=N&names_cor_number=&names_name_seq=&names_name_ind=&names_comp_name=NATIONALASSOCIATIONBARBADOSORG&names_filing_type=

14. NABO take over engineers
    Dale Husbands former treasurer it is time for his first report.
    Roslyn Sealy rejected twice at NABO polls.
    Ava Foster 2 nd meeting (GO GIRL)
    June Lashley Just kicked out from her organization loooking for somewhere to go. Mor to follow after research.

15. NABO take over engineers
    Dale Husbands former treasurer it is time for his first report.
    Roslyn Sealy rejected twice at NABO polls.
    Ava Foster 2 nd meeting (GO GIRL)

16. The folks are missing the point. These supporters must be sharing parts of the $239,000 generated by the conference and flying on the tickets from Air Jamica. These are very loyal supportes or just stupid.

17. I realise the desire to talk about NABO, perhaps as a distraction tactic, but here is the result of the bad decisions and poor judgment of the DLP, which does not know what it is doing.

The DLP is extremely limited and shallow on fiscal management; intellectually weak and politically incompetents. And what is the consequence:

1. Cost of living doubled in 2008 over 2007.

2. Unemployment Sir increase by some 12 per cent moving to just about 8% in Barbados.

3. The Nation Debt increased by some $900 million in the last 14 months.

4. The External Current Account deficit down to the end of September worsened Sir by $262 million.

5. There was a smaller Capital Account Surplus in 2008 than it was in 2007 by over $223 million.

6. Private Capital Inflows in this country reduced to $409 million from a high of $920 for the first nine months of 2008.โ€

7. And worst of all, International Reserves in Barbados declined under Thompson by over $700 milling in nine months. Since 2008 the reserves increased in the first quarter of the year to $2.7 billion. But then they fell in the last nine months of 2008 from $2.7 billion to $1,990 million or by over $700 million.]

You thing 1991 was bad!!!

The sad thing is that David Thompson is blaming the global financial crisis for even his cabinet reshuffle as well as for the fact that he bought a new Mercedes; travels on Clico’s jet, and don’t know what he is doing.

18. You “think” 1991 was bad!!!

19. Have anyone check the background of that takeover team. Information from the past have shown that one of the team had committed a gross financial act when they had the treasurer’s position in a certain New Jersey organization. Basically, a lot of money came up missing that led to a dismissal. Is anyone going to stand up and be identified?

20. This is a blog to discuss NABO not Barbados Politics. Why is the Dark Knight attempting to move away from the subject which is NABO

21. What does the DLP or BLP have to do with the current NABO situation? I guess Dark Knight is so clouded by his dislike for the DLP that he/she can read or see clearly. Look at the facts. Ask the treasurer who handles the finances or why he does not have access to any bank accounts. Ask why the financial report is still missing page 2. Ask him who prepard the financial report at the Directors meeting. Ask Earl and the treasurer why the treasurer was not allowed to handle funds collected in Barbados. Ask why the planning committee was sworn to secrecy.

22. ummmm..
    which one of the team ? Kept in mind the “take over team” is 10 of 15 associations, futhermore the board at that time Earl etc. did not want to join the call as no had the right to call a meeting but them.

23. @To Dark Knight

Boy you got so much material ask Colin Spencer one of the best singing calpsonians to put that in a song fuh dis crop over season. Can’t digest all that one time.

24. @Dark Knight
    Better yet Colin Spencer does mark up to 10 so if You more than 10 you might not get a pick.
    lol

25. I went to dis conference in Barbados as a Canadian Bajan from NCBAC, I want to know how dem does fit in all ah dis ting. Dem ketch up in all dis mess? because dem kept telling we dat this was going to be a “win win” ting fuh we, with promise of nuff money.

26. @green banana
    Ask Sandra Asgill. She in bed with Early Ashby (de real bed).

27. @Dark Knight

You are making NOISE on this NABO topic. Please respect the BU familyโ€ฆ

@NABO

Having had a read of the several pieces of info provided several concerns have been raised which Barbadians everywhere should be become concern:

Why was an account setup at the Barbados Public Workers Credit Union in Barbados? How was it funded? Who is authorized to sign on this account?

#1 is important because according to Article XXIII/Section 4, โ€œAll monetary transactions shall be made in the name of the Corporation. All CHECKS or WITHDRAWALS pertaining to the OUTGOING FUNDS shall be SIGNED JOINTLY by the TREASURER with EITHER the CHAIRPERSON, VICE PRESIDENT, OR SECRETARY."

Our question is who signed those checks paid to Colleen who appears to be the coordinator of the conference.

In light of the documents produced purporting to be representing a fair representation of the NABO Income/Expenditure Statement of the conference in Barbados, WHO IS THE ACCOUNTANT FOR NABO?

Why would the Barbados Tourism Authority donate $40,000.00 to NABO, just curious?

28. Why did NABO give a donation of over $5,000 in cash, this donation was given to a charity in Barbados per NABO. Have anyone ever heard of a company or Organization given a donation in cash. First it was $10,000 abd then when to $5017.00 Come on people wake up and smell the roses that lot should be in Jail, these folks have gotten away with rigging the books for years it is time to pay the piper.

29. green banana // April 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm

I went to dis conference in Barbados as a Canadian Bajan from NCBAC, I want to know how dem does fit in all ah dis ting. Dem ketch up in all dis mess? because dem kept telling we dat this was going to be a โ€œwin winโ€ ting fuh we, with promise of nuff money.
    ===========================

am could you expand on this for us? NABO cannot point to any activity that has had a meaningful impact to any significant number of Bajans in Diaspora, neither can it point to any furtherance of bringing the diaspora together for the benefit of Barbados. In the absence of such proof, I have to ask to whose benefit does NABO exist? You might have provided the answer.

I have been told that there are at least five major bajan organizations in Boston, and that Earl Ashby is president of three. I have there numbers and i will be calling them. They will not be able to walk away from me.

30. Rodney // April 1, 2009 at 1:14 pm

Why did NABO give a donation of over $5,000 in cash, this donation was given to a charity in Barbados per NABO.

First it was $10,000 abd then when to $5017.00
    ————————————————————————————————————————
    I find the number to be quite odd.

31. That is what they financial indicate, I did not make it up

32. Coldone
    Who is the young one in Barbados that you have left your wife bed on many occasions in Canada to be in bed with even during xmas. We saw you shopping at xmas in Barbados. Perhaps your wife would like the nice pictures… hehehehe

33. ummm..
    You are totally out of line, you do not know who the Coldone is. He does NOT live in Canada or no way near Canada, before you throw punches get your facts straight .

34. ummm..
    Go ahead and send the pictures

35. As an observer to all this madness, all I have read and heard is the negative things about NABO and its leadership. Never once have I heard about the positives.

No so long ago this organization was abandon by its leadership, clinically declaring the organization dead. It was resurrected by some of the same people who are being crucified today. Please ask yourself this question, where were those people who are systematically destroying this organization. I would prefer not to mention any names, but you all know of whom I speak.

NABO and its leadership through the years have done many positive things. They have made significant donations to Barbados and Barbadian communities across the United States:

1. Donโ€™t forget the ventilators and dialysis machines donated the Queen Elizabeth hospital in Barbados

2. The scholarships awarded to many recipients in the Barbadian communities

3. The yearly conferences that provided so much to our people.

a. These conferences brought together bajans from all over the world where they shared the comradery many other countries would welcome the opportunity.

b. These conferences provided a forum where bajans can come together and voice their concern, opinions and issues that effect bajans and Barbados.

c. The conferences provided a forum where Barbados government entities could reach out to the bajans in the Diaspora. In this forum Bajans who having been home for many years felt connect as they were able hear and ask questions on the economic, social and educational conditions of our little Island.

d. It was the NABO conferences that provided the opportunity for Bajan products to be readily available across the United States.

I could go on with a list of other positive contribution by NABO, but that might take many pages.

I plea with you, before you go tearing down this organization by focusing on a few allegation from a few who has yet to show any contribution to the development of NABO.โ€ STOP AND TAKE STOCK BEFORE IT IS TOO LATEโ€.

Letโ€™s give credit to the leadership of NABO from Ken Knight the founder to Earl Ashby and his executives.

From an impartial observer.

36. @rodney
    I was not referring to you mr. rodney. Well I see you getting defensive for “Coldone”. Let him speak for himself unless you……..

37. Concernobv

You need to get in the real world, NABO has done very little for Barbados. It made a gift to the Cancer Society a few
    years ago under NABO however the major money sent was donated by one person and not really NABO.
    If you want to talk about Associations that give to Barbados you should see the list of stuff that Central Florida Associtaion does and the Association from South florida.
    I see you want to honour dishonest people, you sound like you are one of them
    What awards did NABO give and to whom.
    Who filled your head with it.

38. Ummm..
    I never indicated that you were speaking about me did I. I just happen to know who the Coldone is, you are way out of line.

39. Good to read about the good things NABO is doing but if the accusations of financial impropriety is not responded to quickly, truthfully by following the by-laws of the company its good work will be undermined.

40. I never said that you were referring to me did I, I just happen to know who the Coldone is.
    Why done you go ahead and send the pictures.

41. Concernobv
    Great conferences for who? Everyone of them had financial problems.

42. It is already too late for NABO you have a board that want to stay in charge after beening legally removed from office. They cannot be trusted, the name is not worth saving because of all the bad associated with it.
    I was at forming meeting years ago in Atlanta, this Association was not form for people in charge to exploit and that is what is taken place now.

43. @ConcernObv

These generalized and alleged activities are in need of specifics. You know, the What, when, where, and by Whom.
    The comments about what the meetings provided are pure conjecture, and can only be, believed if there were feedback questionnaires issued by NABO, responded too by conference participants and tabulated. Do you have such? Alternatively, are we too, like all else about NABO, simply believe you in the absence of documentation?

ha ha ha It is interesting that you list one of NABO’s achievements, as bringing Barbadian products to Diaspora. Is Mike Cummins still in the import business? Tell him if he does not address this issue, I will visit his place of business just of River Street in Mattapan, for a comment. I surely will.

44. @Adrian Hinds…

You, and I, take some risk from this. But what the hell…

Namaste Adrian.

Rock On!

45. @ConcernObv
    Do tell about the supposed ventilators and dialysis machines donated the Queen Elizabeth hospital and the scholarships. I have no recollection of such giving, and I have been around NABO for umpteen years.

The only service has been a means to get bajans together to party once a year. One big party, and very little service to anyone but them.

46. Issue #1

If you steal some money, and there is a paper trail, how can you give access to your accusers? You got to hold on to the books.

Issue #2

If you steal some money, and people want answers NOW, how can you face the questions? You got to stall till the next conference and get your cronies to back you up.

Issue #3

If you steal some money, and got it stashed away in another bank account, how can you reveal it? You got to close the account real fast and hope that it never got out that it existed.

Issue #4

If you steal some money, and you in bed with Canada, who is about to have their own conference in MAY, 2009 and looking to do the same. You got to stay on the down low and hope that the shit hits the fan AFTER you get your last paycheck.

… well, next to last, cause you trying to hold a next conference (South Carolina) in July yourself, and then make a beeline for the exit.

47. From one onlooker to the concerned observer. Since you like you got concrete proof to your statements and not just repeating what people want you to believe, I would like to know

1.To whom and in which barbadian communities were these scholarships awarded? .

2.What did the conferences provided to “our people”?

3.Was there any positive outcome to these bajan and Barbados concerns? If so, name a few.

48. Coldone // April 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

@green banana
    Ask Sandra Asgill. She in bed with Early Ashby (de real bed).

He is a dark and handsome man. I gave him a second look. There he was making love to Sandra, vertically! (On a dance floor.)
    Muh had to cast muh lustful eyes elsewhere, ha ha ha.

49. @ ConcernObv
    Maybe you should call the names that haven’t made contributions to NABO. You are observed madness that your “tunnel-thinking” dictated that there is no opening in NABO for new ideas. The reason that all the crooked activities was able to happen for the past 3 years in NABO because NABO’s straight line was NEVER challenged by the horse-shoe. The ‘horse-shoe’ in recent year has more intelligent forward thinking individuals hence the reason that Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins, John Ellis, Martin Greenidge and that sheep in Melbourne , Florida have now been sprawled out with no resource but to act the intelligence of a few smart people who had the guts, know how to challenge the improprieties of NABO under the ousted leadership. Who ever you are wake up and smell the sweet smell of coffee. There is no progress without opposition. NABO has been in a stagnated thieving state for last few years. Face the music the partying that you are referring to and which include crookery is now coming to a close. Didn’t anybody ever said to you that if you do 50 things good and 2 bad, the bad things is all that can be seen. NABO in your eyes did nothing wrong by misappropriating funds. Go tell your cronies come and face the music and explain and answer the questions that the directors of NABO want answered. The same way that you can come out in this forum to represent them, this is also a great forum to address the questions.

50. @rodney
    you are very defensive and very talkative; is it the age or alcohol? ummmm