Minister of Health Donville Inniss

Last week we listened to VOB92.9 radio referring to sources that the government plans to reopen the St. Joseph Hospital. We don’t have to remind the BU family about the political football which was played by the previous government concerning this issue. The end result was that a multi-million dollar facility was left to go to ruin and the reputation of Senator Branford Taitt was impaled.

BU’s resident medical Guru Dr. Georgie Porgie has been calling for the expansion of the Polyclinic services to disperse the concentration of demand from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Porgie’s recommendation would have been given the thumbs down recently by the new Minister of Health Donville Inniss. BU agrees in principle with Dr. Porgie’s hub and spoke solution for healthcare in Barbados, our issue is that we can’t see how the government can allocate the required resources to make it work i.e. financial and staff.

One of the burning issues in healthcare in Barbados has been the efficient staffing of our health system by our nurses. Over the years Barbados has developed a good reputation by its healthcare professionals, especially our nurses. The former government instituted a major policy change at the hospital by shifting to a Board of Directors. The process required that the tenure of nurses be transferred to a new arrangement. In the process we understand many of our precious nurses were lost for one reason or the other.

The former government responded to the situation by expanding the capacity of the local Community College to supply nurses in the medium term. It is our understanding that it takes 3 years to prepare a nurse for the system. In the short term the former government was forced to recruit nurses from outside Barbados, notably from the Philippines and St. Vincent. Our concern about the news that the current government plans to start spending money on the St. Joseph Hospital is on several fronts.

Barbados has built-up a healthcare service over the years which has served the country well. In the last decade it is obvious our healthcare has started to molder. Before any major decision is taken to resurrect the St. Joseph Hospital, the government should be driven by a declared strategic plan for healthcare delivery in Barbados. Already the government has committed to spending a vast sum to fix the QEH, we have the Polyclinics which need to be integrated optimally into our healthcare system, what about the District Hospitals and the Psychiatric Hospital?  More importantly is the quality of the healthcare professionals we need to manage and train to ensure that the legacy of our superior healthcare is sustained.

BU sources have confirmed that that the three shifts worked by nurses at the QEH is currently under stress i.e. 7AM-3PM, 3PM-11PM, 11PM-7AM. It appears that if one shift does not routinely work overtime to overlap with the incoming shift the healthcare at the QEH specifically would become seriously compromised. BU is deeply appreciative to the RN’s for the commitment they have been making to keep our healthcare ticking over. Our sources have have also confirmed that the flow of qualified nurses from the Community College has not been meeting the original projection.

We understand that about 50% of nursing students qualified from the last batch from Community College was an improvement from the previous year where the number was about 25%. The situation had become so critical that there was high-level discussion last year to introduce the student nurses who failed the RN examination into the healthcare system until they were able to pass.

It drives us to ask the questions:

• Is the qualifying examination (RN) at Community College too difficult to pass?
  • Is the prerequisite qualification for the student nurse (Associate Degree from Community College) too easy to acquire?
  • Are the teaching methods at Community College adequate?
  • A combination of all the above?

Against this background we are deeply concerned at the sound-bite approach currently engaged by the government to healthcare strategy. BU has been lamenting that there are some issues of national importance which require a bi-partisan approach, and healthcare is one at the top of the list. Surely we cannot afford to repeat our mistakes in this sector.

We need to stop playing political football with our healthcare system. The health of any nation is the wealth of the nation.

22 responses to “Is Our Healthcare System On The Skid?”

1. The problemwith QEH, like most government depts is that there are civil servants that seem not to understand that their jobs are non-partisan jobs. At the change of any administration there are elements of workers who are hell bent on seeing that administration fail. Take for instance those nurses who opted not to work under a Board under the last administration but most are now willing to resume work under this administration. Then there are others who are disgruntled because of the change of government and are not pulling their weight. Civil servants have got to be more professional in their work. They got to understand, the only thing constant in life is change.

2. The Scout,
    As usual, well said. Hallelujah, preach it to dem ma brother. You are so right, you are almost left.

Happy 2009 and beyond.

3. @The Scout

The purpose of putting a Board in place was to remove many of the roadblocks which you have mentioned from within the civil service. We don’t think the problem is the civil service on its own, it is far more complex.

4. David

I did not think that Scout was saying it is the civil service per se, but he said that they don’t understand that it is not a non-partisan job.

What he is hitting at is part of a wider problem in the Civil Service and even with statutory corporations. Maybe it has to do with people understanding their roles and what impact the efficient conduct of their roles have on the society and the economy.

Take the medical services for example. Nurses at polyclinics have no regard for time. Even the way appointments are set. You have one doctor and about 40 people who all have the same time to see that doctor (say 9 a.m.). The nurses have this habit of telling patients that when it comes to health, they have to make the time and this is their excuse to continue at snail’s pace. meanwhile all kinds of people virtually messing their pants with all the anxiety of waiting, trying to get back to work.

So those persons who are working and need only 15 minutes with the doctor, have to go and wait for hours. They have to take a half day from work.

So what is the impact of this? Loss of man hours. In some cases loss of pay. Possible inconvenience to consumers/customers because of absenteeism.

This is not just about the medical services, this happens right through the Civil Service; a blatant disrespect for time and people; leading to poor service. The private sector has it challenges too but here we are addressing public servants.

This is a complex one but I will try to simplify it. First there is no guiding principle which drives the performance of the service. Not even a Mission or Vision statement. If there is one, it is a well kept secret or it is just not appealing.

Certain rules should apply, for example
    DON’T KEEP THE PUBLIC WAITING: Every employee ought to be responsible for the quick dispatch of clients; even a supervisor or manager; deal with the deficiencies later, internal problems are not a concern of the public.

YOU ARE A COG IN THE WHEEL:
    Civil Servants should be taught that the performance of Departments, efficiently carrying out their duties, adds value and benefits in the long and short term to the country as a whole.

5. The main issue with health care in Barbados is the issue of cost recovery. With an aging population and more expensive illnesses to treat (cancer, diabetes, hypertension, aids) finding the money to pay for evermore expensive procedures and medications will become the critical issue. Of course counselling on lifestyle change can alleviate some of the demand but I’m not sure what percentage of the health care load can be attributed to lifestyle. Maybe higher “sin” taxes i.e taxes on cigarettes, alchohol and fatty foods etc is required.

6. BU is correct in the view that “We need to stop playing political football with our healthcare system. The health of any nation is the wealth of the nation.” BU is also correct in the view that “the sound-bite approach currently engaged by the government to healthcare strategy” will not work

Why is anyone surprised that the current government is approaching health in a slap dash hodge podge willy nilly fashion? You will recall that there was no mention of health in their election manifesto and in the throne speech the only mention to health was that the abandoned St John Polyclinic will be completed.

I will just say a few words about the flow of qualified nurses from the Community College.

Re We understand that about 50% of nursing students qualified from the last batch from Community College was an improvement from the previous year where the number was about 25%.

Has anyone stopped to think that the girls who would previously enter the nursing profession are now going to UWI and other universities and studying to enter a diversity of other professions. The girls who might be currently presenting to enter the profession are probably just not up to doing an Associate Degree from Community College. And why should they be expected to do so.

In the British system, which we once followed (and from which we have since departed) nurses are trained in hospitals on the job under the auspices of the Department of Health, until some brilliant ****** decided that all our RNs should be trained in a college under the auspices of the Department of Education.

There is nothing wrong in introducing the student nurses who failed the RN examination into the healthcare system as ASSISTANT NURSES or NURSING ASSISTANTS until they are able to pass the Associate Degree from Community College.
    Is the qualifying examination (RN) at Community College too difficult to pass? PROBABLY NOT. It is probably standardized.
    Is the prerequisite qualification for the student nurse (Associate Degree from Community College) too easy to acquire? PROBABLY NOT.
    Are the teaching methods at Community College adequate? THEY PROBABLY ARE

The problem is most likely to be attitudes to study.

BU wrote The former government responded to the situation by expanding the capacity of the local Community College to supply nurses in the medium term. It is our understanding that it takes 3 years to prepare a nurse for the system. THREE YEARS THAT IN THE PASST USED TO BE SPENT MOSTLY IN PRACTICAL EDUCATION ON THE WARDS. We need to revert to the pass procedures for training nurses.

7. Donville Inniss is the next Prime M inister of Barbados…

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

8. @Georgie Porgie

Are RN’s trained on the job in the USA and other places?

What is the downside to Barbados reverting to this method of training?

Are there best practices we need to follow given the global nature of how live today?

9. David
    As far as I know nurses are trained on the job in the UK.

In the USA just to take blood you have to rake out a couple of thousand dollars to “train” to do so, before getting licensed. In the USA you looking at US $27,000 or more to train to be a RN.

Re What is the downside to Barbados reverting to this method of training?
    What can the downside possibly be? The great local nurses of the past who were trained in Barbados or Britain were trained in the old way.

Re Are there best practices we need to follow given the global nature of how live today?

Don’t worry with the global nonsense. The developing nations grabbing all the nurses they can get from the developed nations and fitting them into their schemes as they see fit. It is easier to get a job in the US as a nurse than as a doctor.

We need to chart a course for ourselves.

10. BU
    According to this article in today’s article all of our healthcare problems will be solved soon. So there is no more need to worry.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/335456567437728.php

QEH closer to working solution
    Published on: 1/5/09.
    The challenges facing the troubled Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) and possible solutions were thrashed out over the weekend during a retreat.
    “We heard from heads of various departments at the hospital details of the challenges facing the institution and solutions to those challenges,” Minister of Health Donville Inniss said.
    He declined to give details but said the Government would be swift in activating “workable solutions”.
    Among those attending the Saturday-Sunday retreat of the hospital board at Hilton Barbados were chairman Mitchell Codrington, his deputy Akhentoolove Corbin, director of support ssservices, Maria Boyce, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health Martin Cox, and Chief Medical Officer Dr Joy St John.
    Inniss, who recently took over the health portfolio, said the meeting helped to set the stage for the Government’s plans to upgrade health in 2009.
    “We are very solutions-focussed,” he told the DAILY NATION. “We are bent on doing things differently [from the last administration]. We are not wasting any time.
    “We have been meeting together to get a full grasp of the issues and to identify workable solutions.”
    Codrington, who chaired the proceedings, said the goal of the meeting was to “provide the QEH board with an opportunity to self-assess and to interface with the institution’s senior administrators collectively”.
    The meeting was aimed at assessing and re-assessing programmes and setting “clear directions” for the institution. (TY)

11. Wow GP, David,

We are in a topsy turvey world. Could we at this point start back training nurses on the job? Maybe it could be a mix, some days or times at the hospital and others in class. Develop a schedule.

Maybe this would also improve the efficiency of the health care; or slow it down???

Once you stop doing something like that, your personnel after so many years, may not now be equipped?

12. Yes ROK this is how nurses were trained in Barbados until quite recently. Student nurses were actually paid, because they WORKED on the wards in between stints in the classroom.

Now they go off to BCC for thier Associate degree just as they do in the USA. You see you need to have an associate degree to pass a bed pan or do a simple act like a bed bath.

We used to have nursing assistants who were less qualified than the RN/s who did great service at the QEH.

As we copy the often stupid ways of the US our standards will fall- dont worry.

As an experiment I tried to get a job as a phlebotomist in FL. They told me that I had to go and train and be licensed to take blood.

Man I was taking blood from patients at QEH in the 70’s long before the current sophisticated vacutainers or even disposable plastic syringes. We had then (in pre AIDS days) some glass syringes that were recycled by autoclave. They often had no suction. I learned from an inovative colleague how to take blood with only a needle.

13. I wonder what happened to that engineering report that concluded that the current hospital building was “unsound” and that a new one should be built?

14. ROK,

I get banned from BFP too(, and VOB) so I don’ even visit that shite (sorry I might have typed a letter too many) anymore. Wha’ you get banned for? Jusk asking…

15. @GP

We wish Minister Inniss luck, he will need it!

16. BU
    I am sure that he will…….and that you were able to decipher my obvious sarcasm.

17. David
    It does not seem that Bajans care two hoots about Healthcare in Barbados- until, of course they or a relative dont get a speedy service at QEH.

18. @GP

We don’t agree. Barbadians care a lot about healthcare and the QEH scenario. Unfortunately we place political allegiance over everything.

19. BABFP

This is the post that did it:
    http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/barbados-government-kills-ethanol-proposal-bizzy-williams-should-read-bfp-to-find-out-why-he-was-turned-down/

ROK
    January 3, 2009 at 11:48 pm
    @BFP

You consider that I am selling something? You mean you don’t know the truth? What could I be selling? Asking people to wake up?

But why you got to be buying anything? What comes out in the blog should be what is expressed by contributors. Remember? Alternative media? You controlling it like how the private sector controlling the nation?

Since you put it that way, I ain’t buying what you selling either. That argument is puerile and simplistic and neglects the fact of post slavery syndrome or post colonial mentality which still renders us as slaves; including you. I see that you are happy with your lot; you being a good nigger. That’s nice!

BFP says,

We’ll just have to disagree then. But until you apologise for calling us a N… you’re out of here.

ROK
    January 4, 2009 at 12:02 am
    Sorry,

I will not apologise for calling a nigger a nigger. You in denial?

20. ROK
    I have discovered that folk dont like to hear the truth– the truth hurts.

In any case, the topics over here tend to be more interesting, and not so controversial or over the top IMHO.

21. Ain’t that the truth, GP.

The truthh always hurts.

It cuts like a knife…. through mythical preconceptions.

Answer me just this one question, b4 dismissing me as ineligible for the promised rapture, who since Paul has actually heard the word directly fron your God.

Is it you from your literal studies?

Is it Martin Luther from his awkward questions?

Or is it a fact that we are asked through faith to accept the primitive ramblings of a 1700 year dead zealot, blinded by headlights on the road to Damascus.

In 0 AD there were less people on earth than in modern Shangai, but you expect us to believe the ramblings of some of these roving nutcases, paros being the modern term, wandering the countryside with cataclysmic visions of cultures 2000 years hence.

What about the modern day prophets, Joseph Smith or L Ron Hubbard, they not real ?

They tell lies?

You need a beard, be Jewish and get crucified for street cred.

How come these modern day prophets can be torn apart yet ancient historical ones preaching hell and damnation are beyond reproach.

Give me a break.

Entreating me to believe in the second coming is equivalent to talking snakes in the Garden, wives turning into pillars of salt and raising Lazarus from the dead.

Hocus pocus myths to frighten the benighted into a voluntary submission to a “higher” power.

If these fairy tales are what you truly live your life by, i can acceept that, as it takes all sorts to make up our wonderful world, but please don’t presume you have the right to condemn anyone not being conned by your children’s fables to miss out on the rapture.

I would have thought Bajans after 41 years of independence, and a whole lot of free education, have earned the right to decide for themselves.

If we are wrong, oh lord.

If we are right, what was all this false subjugation, guilt and sacrifice all about.

22. GP

Imagine they telling me that until I apologise, I out of there. What is that? They think I am a first former.

I will risk to bet that BFP is controlled either by some young mis-guided upstarts or some older ones that believe they have white friends.

They don’t understand that I will ban them before they can ban me. All like now they banned, ’cause they let me back in to tell them I will not apologise. So I turning it around and changed my status.