Republican Vice Presidential Nominee Sarah Palin
Republican Vice Presidential Candidate Sarah Palin

The question Barbadians and others have been asking since the announcement is – who the hell is Sarah Palin? To be honest the BU household has read her name in our VECO readings. She has developed quite a reputation as the new Alaskan Governor who is a fierce anti-corruption advocate, several political stalwarts, Ted Stevens et al having been indicted under her tenure.

The Barbados economy like many around the world is interwoven with that of the USA. Most Caribbean people have families who reside in the USA. It seems natural that we should have a healthy interest in the political shenanigans currently going on in the USA.

We know that Sarah Palin is a pro-lifer. To prove the point she delivered a child while having prior knowledge that the child would be born with Down Syndrome. She is anti-corruption in government and in her short stint as Governor of Alaska, only two years, she has the record to prove it. She presents the perception that she places a high importance on family despite her political career.She is knowledgeable on oil issues which is very topical.

What her selection by John McClain does is to run a platform which presents two politicians who are mavericks and anti-Washington. The fact that Americans select Presidents and not Vice Presidents maybe shattered in this election. While Obama has had the Primaries to be tested Americans will not get the opportunity to do the same with Sarah Palin.

The political pundits have agreed that the selection of Palin by McClain as a long pass-will the ball be caught?

114 responses to “Who Is Sarah Palin?”

1. ha ha ha ha She is your avarage American woman,wife, mother etc, many of whom you don’t know. ๐Ÿ™‚

……….Politically this was a great pick. The more the democrats negatively focus on her from a prospective of no experience, the more there are shining the light on Barack Obama. sweet. and two years as a govenor (executive experience) beats as much as ten years in the senate. Two years running a state, being commander in chief of the Alaskan National guard, to my mind beats 3 years in washington. It’s kind of sad that the Democrats have been force to compare their NUMBER ONE PICK to the Republicans NUMBER TWO PICK. well not really. ๐Ÿ™‚

Check this out, since Obama likes to play God, he could say that he foretold McCain’s Sarah Palin’s vp pick when he said during his acceptance speech “CHANGE DOESN’T COME FROM WASHINGTON, CHANGE COME TO WASHINGTON” ha ha ha ha ha and all the way from Alaska. ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Voting for McCain, is like a 3rd term 4 Bush… On the other hand Obama would destroy our offshore entities – who is more beneficial to the Caribbean and what proof do they offer?

2 yrs as Gov, is more than 10 in Senate – what planet are you from? In Alaska with VECO 4 God’s sake? Her claim to fame is a former beauty queen!

3. @David

when you said “It seems natural that we should have a healthy interest in the political SHENANIGANS currently going on in the USA.

…. are you suggesting some confusion on your part with something in particular or with all US politics?

4. Ms. Palin IS the woman we all know – In the West, we refer to her as the married professional woman.

This is McCain’s biggest gamble in the sunset of his long career. My bet is that he will loose.

Palin will not win over any majority of Clinton voters – she is not made of the same material and voters are not that naive.

From what I’ve been reading and watching, Obama, far from playing God, is a very humble man. What we don’t want to concede is that he is extraordinarily gifted!

Palin will be fodder for Biden.

5. @Adrian

We agree with you argument that it nullifies the inexperience rebuttal which the Obama camp might table. What we want to read about is the perception by the American public at the selection. McClain is not your regular Joe running for President, he is 72 years old having had several bouts with cancer.

Conceivably Sarah Palin could be President of the USA if McClain is elected , we are talking probability here.

How does the American public feel about a woman who has been Governor of a relatively small state, 2 years and who is a heartbeat away from running the largest economy of the world and as far as we can judge has hardly operated outside the USA borders in any capacity, well she has this in common with Bush!

6. What is this experience of which people speak. Does being a Governor really prepare one for leadership of the free world?

7. Ian Bourne // August 31, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Voting for McCain, is like a 3rd term 4 Bushโ€ฆ On the other hand Obama would destroy our offshore entities – who is more beneficial to the Caribbean and what proof do they offer?

2 yrs as Gov, is more than 10 in Senate – what planet are you from? In Alaska with VECO 4 Godโ€™s sake? Her claim to fame is a former beauty queen!
    =================================

ha ha ha now let me see. Owen Arthur and the BLP remains convince that the last 14 years Bajans never had it so good. BU just reminded us that the Barbadian economy is interwoven with that of the US. Eight of those years Bush was in the white house. Your prophetic claim is that McCain the Maverick who is not trusted by core republicans, that was courted by Democratic Presidential nominee John Kerry, will as president be like it GW for a third term, and you say this not to be charitible i presume but to suggest something very negative, yet from a Barbados perspective you can clearly sight a policy position from Barack that will directly affect Barbados. Certainly you did not make your contribution to quiet the concerns of BU!

btw I am from the planet that understands the perceptions of people who will be electing the next President and VP of AMERICA. If indeed her only claim to fame was that of being a Beauty Queen she would be a democrat and you would probably be a fan “riri” re. the entertainment value. ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually read the details of Veco and her involvement, and i understand your willingness to gloss over the same. Uh mean yesterday one Scout wrote that she was facing “impeachment” in Alaska. Is that true? ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Juris // August 31, 2008 at 3:22 pm

What is this experience of which people speak. Does being a Governor really prepare one for leadership of the free world?

am I am talking about the United States presidential elections. But you aint see that Albert Brandford just wrote an article questioning whether Barbados has a democracy or not! If the source he quoted are correct in their opinions any so called leader of the free world might not be wunnuh leader. ๐Ÿ™‚

Reference to Nationnews article “A model democracy?” by Albert Brandford Published on: 8/31/08.

9. It would not surprise me at all if this woman becomes president. The USA has sunk to such depth that that it is difficult to dismiss the prophecies in Isaiah 3 where because of the institutionalized sinfulness, God ‘removed the benefits of their food and drinks’, displaced their wise leaders and brave men and ‘
    Et dabo pueros principes eorum,
    et effeminati dominabuntur eis’ .

…translated for David’s benefit, -” And I will give children to be their princes, and the effeminate shall rule over them”

Isaiah goes on to describe the process of ‘scraping the very bottom of the barrel’ in search of leaders.

Who would have thought that George Bush would be elected over Al Gore?

10. But BT is Isaiah’s use of effeminate does not mean feminine.

If means eunuch’s, homosexuals, wiccas, bullers, transexuals etc.

It does NOT refer to women.

11. NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance) Avatar
    NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance)

I do not care who wins the American elections. Bajans have this stupid notion that they are a part of America. Americans care nothing about BAjans >>>>>
    but
    I believe that this pick was one of desperation

12. NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance) Avatar
    NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance)

The lack of experience rebuttal works more in OBAMA’S favour not MCCAIN’ S because MCCAIN was saying that OBAMA was inexperienced. Mccain cannot now us that argument.

Heard that the war in Georgia was Started to help
    MC CAIN ‘S campaign

13. Adrian H,

I don’t know about a call for impeachment, but it seems she ordered a police chief to sack her brother-in- law, he refused and reported her, perhaps that is the matter for which she is being investigated.

Moral: Don’t sue the governor’s sister for divorce.

On a plus note for Palin, she has a son in service and he is on his way to Iraq.
    A very rare event for American political families.

14. Jon Stewart’s/Steve Colbert’s report on the McCain VP pick:

Bill Maher’s take on the VP pick:

15. We know that Sarah Palin is a pro-lifer. To prove the point she delivered a child while having prior knowledge that the child would be born with Down Syndrome.

Or did she?

Yesterday, with the news of Sarah Louise Heath Palin inexplicably being chosen as a Vice-Presidential nominee, the attentive American public was also introduced to her character. Unfortunately for all of us, it was filled with multiple instances of backtracking and outright lies. While Alaskans had been giving her an 80% approval rating, recently 87% of Alaskans polled on the subject of TrooperGate believed she was lying.

Now, I’ve known liars in my life. Their single core problem is not with themselves, but those around them. If they’re never called out on their twisting of truths and fabrications, they simply continue to make larger lies.

Well, Sarah, I’m calling you a liar. And not even a good one. Trig Paxson Van Palin is not your son. He is your grandson. The sooner you come forward with this revelation to the public, the better.

SNIP

JUNEAU — Gov. Sarah Palin shocked and awed just about everybody around the Capitol on Wednesday when she announced she’s expecting her fifth child.

The governor, who recently turned 44, told a handful of reporters as she was leaving work to expect a new member of the first family, then headed to a reception at the Baranof Hotel to feast on king crab.

Palin said she’s already about seven months along, with the baby due to arrive in mid-May.

That the pregnancy is so advanced astonished all who heard the news. The governor, a runner who’s always been trim, simply doesn’t look pregnant.

Even close members of her staff said they only learned this week their boss was expecting.

SNIP

On Friday, April 18th, 2008, Sarah and her husband Todd were in Dallas, Texas for a Republican Governor’s Convention. They had been in town for three days already, but Sarah had yet to give her keynote speaker address on energy policy. Then early Friday morning at 4:00am, Sarah began leaking amniotic fluid. Instead of checking into a hospital, she instead made a call to her doctor, and delivered the keynote speech.

“I was not going to miss that speech,” she says.

She rushed so quickly from the podium afterwards that Texas Gov. Rick Perry nervously asked if she was about to deliver the baby then.

The oddities only grow from here on, as instead of rushing to a Dallas medical facility that could treat a mother who’s amniotic fluid has been draining for hours on end (made even more crucial due to the fact that this is occurring a full month prematurely), Sarah & Todd instead opted to… Fly all the way back from Texas to Alaska. A dangerous choice, as with each pregnancy (once again, in this case after four previous), a mother’s window of labor to delivery grows shorter and shorter.

Aboard Alaska Airlines, the flight lasted for eight hours, with an additional landing in Seattle. The majority of commercial airlines require mothers seven months pregnant to provide a doctor’s letter to fly, but Sarah did not inform the airline of her condition. Alaska Airlines is one of the few airlines that do not require such a notice, despite the possibility of an emergency landings being required in such scenarios. That said, no one on board noticed that Sarah was going into labor:

SNIP

Eight months pregnant. A 6.2 pound fetus. No one notices a visible trace. By the third trimester, a perfectly fit woman not wearing anything less than a space suit should be easily spotted as pregnant. Not in Sarah’s case.

The plane then made a landing in Anchorage, Alaska. Does Sarah then visit a medical facility that can accommodate a premature birth in Alaska’s most equipped city? No. She drives 45 minutes away, to Mat-Su Regional Medical Center, right outside the small village she used to govern as Mayor, Wasilla. Trig Palin is then delivered one month premature, Friday night. Sarah returned to work after three days.

Continued here:
    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/8/30/121350/137/486/580223

16. The Republicans have said that because Alaska shares a border with Canada and is close to Russia that counts for foreign policy experience. Reasoning like that makes me think that because I flew in a plane I have aeronautical experience.

As for Adrian H argument that she ran a state, yes Alaska is the largest state in the Union but the population is less than that of Chicago. The number of votes she received to win was 112,000 which is smaller than some congressional districts. Alaska is like the wild West and corruption is endemic (does VECO ring a bell?) The electorate hungered for a change and Palin took on the good old boys and won but that in no way qualifies her to be the VP.

One of the ironies of the election is that in the Miss Alaska contest she was runner up to an African American (you canโ€™t make this stuff up)

Here is a local Alaskan bloggerโ€™s take:

http://mudflats.wordpress.com/

17. Its going to get crazier than ever mark my words!

18. I think McCain has just dug his grave a few feet deeper. He’s obviously scrapping the bottom of the barrel. This woman he chose has some much dark clouds hanging over her head, plus she’s not very popular in her own state.

19. Dear J,
    You are right when you say that Isaiah’s use of the word “women” in Is 3:12 does not refer to women. You are however, wrong when you analogise it to Homos, lesbians, transvesites etc.
    Bush Tea was rolling on the right track in stating God’s giving up Israel because if institutionised sin.

Kings ruled Judah, not women or children. The symbolism is that the rulers (Kings) with no aptitude or experience in sound spiritual leadership would lead the Israelites to their peril as if they were lead by women and children

The words “chidren” and “women” are not to be taken literally. Israel was a male-dominated society. Women were treated as 2nd class citizens. Hence the reference to “women leading” was in reference to the Kings’ style of weak leadership.
    This characterized Israelite leadership in its closing phase before Babylonian captivity.

20. JC
    I agree with you ; the craziness has only just begun. This is going to expose the woes in america politics.

21. @Adrian H

We said shinnanigans because we have always been a little confused about the electoral system which occurs in the USA.

Primaries and Caucuses, we have never understood how a few hundred/thousand people can enter a town hall and shout for who they want to vote for like selling cows in the market.

We never understood how Gore could have been defeated in Florida and it was not contested given the obvious inefficiency in the chad system.

We never can understand how an Electoral College could elect a president and not the people directly.

Don’t misunderstand us, it is a system which has worked for the USA and we respect it just that it seems very complicated and INEFFICIENT!

22. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

Any idea who paid for PM Thompson to attend the DNC convention?

23. Good old boys Jacky and Dunlap of Red State Update discuss the McCain VP pick.

24. Inquiring Housewife Avatar
    Inquiring Housewife

I am sure you all would agree that this story was leaked at this time when all eyes are on New Orleans and Gustav. Palin’s 17 year old daughter is 5 months pregnant. Rather interesting considering the conservative nature of the Republican party, not to mention McCain.

http://firstread.msnbc.msn.com/archive/2008/09/01/1318541.aspx

25. Inquiring Housewife Avatar
    Inquiring Housewife

Okay this grows more interesting as we research it , quesitons regarding if Palin is the 5th child’s mother or is she covering for her daughter. Said daughter that is now pregnant again. Go figure

http://www.zimbio.com/Bristol+Palin/articles/49/Follow+up+Bristol+Palin+pregnancy+rumor

26. How does the BU family feel about the report that Palin’s 17 year old daughter is five months pregnant?

Isn’t Palin’s selection to appeal to the consertives in the party?

27. David

They will spin this as a great achievement to further cement the Sarah Palinโ€™s pro life credentials. It just confirms what the bloggers have been saying all along i.e that Palin was not vetted.

Dr James Dobson of โ€œFocus on The Familyโ€ issued this statement which reads in part:

“In the 32-year history of Focus on the Family, we have offered prayer, counseling and resource assistance to tens of thousands of parents and children in the same situation the Palins are now facing. We have always encouraged the parents to love and support their children and always advised the girls to see their pregnancies through, even though there will of course be challenges along the way. That is what the Palins are doing, and they should be commended once again for not just talking about their pro-life and pro-family values, but living them out even in the midst of trying circumstancesโ€.

Do you think that he would issue the same statement if the Obamaโ€™s had a teenage daughter who was unmarried and pregnant?

28. “When ya white ya alright, when ya black stay back.” If Obama had chosen someone like Palin which so much baggage carrying around, all you Obama hating racist would shin the man alive but ya know what this girl is white so she has morals, blacks can’t even spell the word.

29. Sargeant // September 1, 2008 at 3:18 pm
    Do you think that he would issue the same statement if the Obamaโ€™s had a teenage daughter who was unmarried and pregnant?

So let me see, am Sarge,….you aint really have a problem with the Palin’s as a result of their daughters pregnancy, you are just upset that similar compassion would not have been directed at Obama???? How do you know this to true?

Sufficient number of whites have forgiven Obama for his Pastor’s comments that they deemed racist.
    Sufficient number of whites have forgiven Obama for his continued association with unrepentant terrorist Bill Aires.

The Governor of Massachusetts Deval Patrick a black man and person from whom Barack borrowed his “Just Words” speech, just found out that his daughter is gay, and no one is holding it against him, but he is a democrat, contrast that to when Black conservative Alan Keyes ran against Barack for Illinois senator and his daughter came out and announce that she was gay, the democrats made much hay out of it.

30. @Adrian Hinds

I donโ€™t have a problem whether she is pregnant or not I have a problem with HYPOCRITES. Isnโ€™t this the same constituency that was critical of the Spears family when Britneyโ€™s teenage sister became pregnant. What does this discussion have to do with white people? As to the gay issue why do you bring red herrings to the topic who cares who is or isnโ€™t gay?

Isnโ€™t there any other negative things that you know about Obama or have you exhausted them? You brought up the Ayers connection earlier, we need to hear your views on the Madrasses he supposedly attended in Indonesia? What about his half siblings?

Keep listening to Sean Hannity he may have some more or if you want I can direct you to some right wing sites for more spin.

31. @ Sargeant
    Re Profhannity We should hire him to talk into Hoad’s cow shit digester for six months, and turn the shit he talks into energy for the national grid!

32. alan keyes is such a bigot …

33. Adrian
    I wonder if McCain’s rev friend is going to say that Gustav’s visit to New Orleans and it’s surroundings was another curse from God.

34. The lies are out in full force. McCain said he knew about the young girlโ€™s pregnancy, sure and if you believe that then I have some bajan beach front property to sell to youโ€ฆ.cheap. He interviewed her for all of 15 minutes for a job which is potentially a heartbeat away from the most powerful office in the world. Meanwhile the Republicans have sent an investigative team to Alaska to find out if there are any more surprises in store, talk about closing the barn after the horse has bolted. When they arrive theyโ€™ll probably find the National Enquirer and all the tabloid press has beaten them to the punch..

Alaska must really be a backwater thatโ€™s why those corrupt politicians could escape examination for years and VECO could thrive. Gov Palin didnโ€™t know what she was getting into the big leagues where politics is a blood sport. Theyโ€™ve been trying to dig up stuff on Obama for two years, thatโ€™s why Hillary hung in so long she was hoping for a July surprise.

Gov. Palin must be a real caring mother to subject her daughter to such intense scrutiny from the national press at such a private moment. Meanwhile theyโ€™ve also announced that the young lady will marry her โ€œfiancรฉโ€, Gov Plain is reputed to be a good shot, so they must be shotguns somewhere.

35. @Sargeant

We agree that if this was Obama’s daughter it would be Good Night night nurse!

This is our opinion Adrian H.

The other Senators/Governors who have worked in public life for so many years on the Republican side must be wondering what has McClain done.

Some how we think that this is not the last of reading about the Palins.

PS.Are we hearing right that McClain confirmed that he knew of the daughter’s pregnancy and he went ahead and selected her anyway? We respect Obama’s call for some level of privacy for the 17 year old girl but if the blogs in America did not start to chatter about the child of Governor Palin being the daughter’s when would they have come clean? Finally it does not matter what Obama or McClain think about whether this is private or not it is what Americans think.

What do they think?

36. In a pro-choice speech, Obama has already implied what would happen if his daughter made a mistake – he would not want her “punished with a baby”. He is not only pro-abortion, but actively fought against the “born-alive” act which gives medical attention to babies born alive from late term abortions, like Gianna Jessen, for example. I googled her name and found her statement to the House in 1996.

What if McCain crossed the aisle and picked John Edwards as his VP instead! Edwards, his friend Young, and his girlfriend Ms. Hunter probably had the approved Planned Parenthood birth control education, plus they are all a lot older than 17, and probably all pro-choice, and two of them still got โ€œpunishedโ€ with a baby (Obama’s term)! And Ms. Hunter canโ€™t even marry the father(s!) because I understand that theyโ€™re both married. But Edwards was the Democrat pick for VP 4 years ago, and might have made it again this year as Obama’s pick if the National Enquirer hadnโ€™t staked him out in his girlfriend’s hotel room at 2 AM. With the baby there too (the baby that they are saying belongs to Edwards’ friend, Young).

Why is there such a double standard, and why should a little 17-year-old Republican, who is not running for office, be held to a higher standard than three hard-back old Democrats with privileged upbringings?

37. The question is not about abortion, there is not one poster here who said the baby should have been aborted. This is the party of Jerry Falwell, Pat Robertson et al, the Family Values party, the Moral Majority party which has longed castigated unwed teenage mothers; the party whose platform at this convention at this convention promotes abstinence for teens.

This is a party that believes only the children of โ€œgodless liberalsโ€ become unmarried teenage mothers. The question asked would how would they respond if it was Obamaโ€™s teenage daughter.

And we do know the answer to that.

38. I said that this pick was a bad pick
    my vibe told me so

any time women get involve in anything the whole dynamic changes and usually it changes to the dis-advantage of all

this was a desparate move by MC . CAIN
    to pander to women voters etc

I dont really care who win the election but I am trying to demonstrate that I can make an observation.

Whoever wins would still be american with american ideas and imperialistic tendencies , cia inspired and manipulated operations and all the other nefarious activities associated with neo-colinalistic escapades. I doubt that the election result would be of any help to us here in Barbados

39. Kathy

Obama opposed that leglislation on the grounds that it was worded badly.

As it stands in the US, doctors are currently required by law to render aid and life support to all viable fetuses born under any circumstances. The Born Alive Act would require doctors to render aid and life support to non-viable fetuses as well.

That’s non-viable, as in they will not survive outside the womb. If they do render aid it could open them up to a whole host of malpractice suits if the child dies, despite it being non viable.

40. =================================

Sargeant // September 1, 2008 at 5:08 pm

@Adrian Hinds

I donโ€™t have a problem whether she is pregnant or not I have a problem with HYPOCRITES. Isnโ€™t this the same constituency that was critical of the Spears family when Britneyโ€™s teenage sister became pregnant. What does this discussion have to do with white people? As to the gay issue why do you bring red herrings to the topic who cares who is or isnโ€™t gay?

Isnโ€™t there any other negative things that you know about Obama or have you exhausted them? You brought up the Ayers connection earlier, we need to hear your views on the Madrasses he supposedly attended in Indonesia? What about his half siblings?

Keep listening to Sean Hannity he may have some more or if you want I can direct you to some right wing sites for more spin.
    =====================================================================

Sargeant , it is not my place to tell people what they should or shouldnโ€™t do, and it seems to me that you think you have that right to so do. You continue to suggest that I am getting my talking points from right wing talk show hosts and blogs, and you do this as if to suggest that I cannot reason and think and have an opinion of my own making. Now I am very familiar with this approach I have seen it from many liberals and Democratic Party supporters and I am of the opinion that this occurs when there is difficulty in responding without anger and condescending to points that they may not readily overcome with facts. This not to say that I believe you are a liberal or a democratic supporter, as I donโ€™t care if you are. Now I do not listen to Sean Hannity, as I have said before in response to an earlier assumption of yours, I do not watch foxnews as I do not have cable. What I do is listen to both sides of the fence as I am quite confident that I can pick the best practices from the left and the right and come to my own conclusions. For me arguments have to have merit, consistency, and be fact base or I will more likely than not dismiss them, or in the least question them.
    You cannot decide for me what issue I will discuss, I did not talk about the โ€œMadrasses he supposedly attended in Indonesiaโ€ because I did not see any merit in the statement. The negatives that I highlight about Obama are the ones that I have pursued and found to have merit, and are consistent with other position I hold to. My views on Rev. Wright are consistent with my views on race in America. My views on the need for experience in becoming the President has always been that it is not a necessary requirement and neither is Foreign policy experience, and as such I have never spoken out in favor of John McCainโ€™s previous strategy of โ€œNot Readyโ€. What is really needed in Washington is โ€œChangeโ€ and Obama knew this from the start and that to my mind is the single most reason why he gain traction so early (followed closely by the color of his skin). John McCain has come around to the mood of America that โ€œChangeโ€ real change I might add is the key to the white house, and politically with his VP pick he is trying to send that message, and has switch his strategy from โ€œlack of experienceโ€ to attempt and overtake of Obamaโ€™s โ€œchangeโ€ strategy. It can work. My Opinion is that on the face of it, Joe Biden, John McCain, and Obama are part of an institution that by its actions or lack thereof, over the years makes the call for โ€œChangeโ€ so urgent, there approval rating clearly shows this. Per the requirement set out in the constitution as to what the qualifications for president are, Sarah Palin is as qualified as any and as far as the perception of the American voters that there is a need for change, she is more Presidential than John McCain, Joe Biden. Barack Obamaโ€™s โ€œnewnessโ€ to Washington makes him to my mind a good candidate, but when you look at his policies, his associations and his ideological bent he is not as attractive to the majority of Americans, as Sarah Palin. I am for Sarah Palin as President of the United States. Leader of the free world can go to the EU and the French President. ๐Ÿ™‚

41. Sargeant // September 2, 2008 at 7:55 am

This is the party of Jerry Falwell, Pat Robertson et al, the Family Values party, the Moral Majority party which has longed castigated unwed teenage mothers; the party whose platform at this convention at this convention promotes abstinence for teens.

And what political party does the following persons belong too? Arnold Schwarzenegger, Rudy Giuliani,Lincoln Chaffee, Log Cabin Republicans.

Abstinence for teens is a Republican policy only???????

In the mist of all the rhetoric and comments to the contrary, The UN of all the liberal socialist institutions, release a recent study that shows that Abstinence Education Lowering HIV/AIDS Rates.

“The report says that, in Zimbabwe, there has been a drop in the infection rate among pregnant women from 26% in 2002 to 18% in 2006 and that abstinence is playing a role in encouraging people to have less casual sex.

In nations like Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, and others, younger people are reportedly waiting longer to begin having sex. In Cameroon, the UN study says the percentage of children under 15 having sex has dropped from 35% to 14%.

Fewer people are dying — a decline of 200,000 from 2006-2007 — and new infections dropped by 300,000 last year.

Though the abstinence message has helped, the UN study says more focus need to be placed on it so prevention can hold down the numbers of new cases.”

42. Adrian
    Even though the young lady’s pregnancy is of concern, what concerns me more is the vindictive manner in which Palin acted in getting her way because of a problem with her sister and her ex-husband. She has behaved like a typical bajan executive woman that you and others would have criticised. Is she above board?

43. @Republicans

Why not make the announcement to coincide with the VP announcement?

Why let the pregnancy be a distraction at this time?

44. The scout // September 2, 2008 at 11:30 am

Adrian
    Even though the young ladyโ€™s pregnancy is of concern, what concerns me more is the vindictive manner in which Palin acted in getting her way because of a problem with her sister and her ex-husband. She has behaved like a typical bajan executive woman that you and others would have criticised. Is she above board?
    Scout it is not my style to engage in debates base purely on conjecture. You have no way of knowing what my reponse would have been to the hypothetical scenario you have proposed.

….. If what you contends to be the truth and what to mind certainly does look “fishy” of course she needs to be held to account. This is what is currently ongoing, via a special investigation by the Alaskan legislature, and by the Attorney General.

45. The truth so far is that polls that so many rely on show Barack after all the hoopla and money spent last week is flat in approval ratings. John McCain’s Maverick pick of a VP further took the spot light away from Barack, the unintended intervention of Gustav stole some of that back. Right now the presidential race is consumed by teenage pregnancy, not a good topic for democrats. John McCain is a true and true gambler. Politically so far she has been a good pick, and social and moral issue further revelations of Sarah Palin will either break him or create a big win for him.

46. Why are people getting excited about this girl’s pregnancy?

We know that sex before marriage (and adultery during marriage) is the NORMAL PRACTICE in every society on the face of the earth and it has ALWAYS been so. Not the belief, but the PRACTICE.

We know that nobody “believes in sex for teenagers,” but we also know that we as teenagers, as well as our parents, and grand parents, and great grand parents, HAPPILY practiced sex before marriage and adultery during marriage.

Why else do we think that there have always been

abortions

shotgun weddings

orphanages – most childen in arphanages/children’s homes have 2 LIVING biological parents

children “given” in adoption – most children “given” in adoption have 2 LIVING biological parents.

unmarried mothers

visiting relatonships

liv-wid couples etc

abscent fathers

welfare mothers

abandoned children

divorces

second marriages (often the second wife and her recycled husband have horned the first wife unmercifully)

third and subsequent mariages

Why do we think that DNA tests are showing that about 10% of us have the “wrong” daddies. And yes that includes those of us born before 1950.

Show me the couple who were BOTH virgins until marriage and NEVER committed adultery in a marriage that lasted 40 years or more

The reason that the Bible has a “do not commit adultery ” commandment is because adultery (and fornication) is commonplace. There is no need to forbid an action that never or seldom occurs.

I can’t understand why we are getting excited about a preganant 17 year old. It has ALWAYS happened, it will ALWAYS happen.

Sexual desire is about ensuring the survival of the species. It is powerful. It can sometimes be briefly restrained . It can NEVER be eliminated. Young people, young animals, young birds will always have that urge to merge.

I can’t believe the mddia frenzy about a COMMONPLACE.

47. Why do we think that no society places an empahsis on male virginity.

If most men on marriage are non-virgins (and proud of it too!!!!!) who then did we think that they had sex with?

Clinics in Europe have long made a good business from restoring virginity in young women from deeply “religious” deeply conservative families. The Europens are now being joined by clinics in North America. And they are all making a mint of money.

I don’t know how come none of our Barbadian GYN/OBY’s have got into this very lucrative medical tourism business

My only questin is if virginity can be restored for $3,000 USD why do society’s still place an emphasis on virginity.

The truth is, virginity is NOT important. However good health and integrity have always and will always be important.

48. The DailyKos is saying that the Trig is really Bristolโ€™s baby. Now I love to speculate and have some fun as well. Now my wife told me that some report on television said that when she was pregnant with Trig that she didnโ€™t โ€œshowโ€ and many people where surprise at his birth, and with her returning to work 3 days after supposedly giving birth had my wife asking if she gave birth vaginally or by c-section. I jokingly said maybe that child is not hers but her daughterโ€™s. Further to this speculation is the talk about the father being a stay at home dad which makes me wonder if he was at any point a stay at home dad in Alaska. Ummm ummmm. Maybe Trig’s father is really Sarah’s husband, and his Mothers is not Sarah. Maybe Todd and Sarah are in fact, bothTrig’s Maternal and Praternal grandparents. ๐Ÿ™‚ and his Dad is shipping out to Iraq. Maybe John McCain knew all of this and is quietly waiting for it to blow up in his face so that he can remove her as his VP and pick Joe Lieberman as a last minute stand in. We all know that Joe was his real choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

At least John McCain would still win West Verginia, ha ha ha ha and this is in accordance with a recent statement Dick Cheney made and that he subsquently apologize for.

49. Adrian
    On an article placed on the net 16 mins ago, there are some very damaging information that has been released on Palin. I think that McCain might be having second thoughts on her V.Pship. It is advisable for him to bite the bullet and remove her now, since the Obama camp is going to have a field day. It has nothing to do with her daughter.

50. The scout // September 2, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Adrian
    On an article placed on the net 16 mins ago, there are some very damaging information that has been released on Palin. I think that McCain might be having second thoughts on her V.Pship. It is advisable for him to bite the bullet and remove her now, since the Obama camp is going to have a field day. It has nothing to do with her daughter.
    ================================

Man Scout stop withholding and post de article. So far you have given me a lot of emotional and alarmist infomation of a partisan nature. I think i have a good handle on what you think, so just post the information so that i can decide for myself. ๐Ÿ™‚