Republican Vice Presidential Nominee Sarah Palin
Republican Vice Presidential Candidate Sarah Palin

The question Barbadians and others have been asking since the announcement is – who the hell is Sarah Palin? To be honest the BU household has read her name in our VECO readings. She has developed quite a reputation as the new Alaskan Governor who is a fierce anti-corruption advocate, several political stalwarts, Ted Stevens et al having been indicted under her tenure.

The Barbados economy like many around the world is interwoven with that of the USA. Most Caribbean people have families who reside in the USA. It seems natural that we should have a healthy interest in the political shenanigans currently going on in the USA.

We know that Sarah Palin is a pro-lifer. To prove the point she delivered a child while having prior knowledge that the child would be born with Down Syndrome. She is anti-corruption in government and in her short stint as Governor of Alaska, only two years, she has the record to prove it. She presents the perception that she places a high importance on family despite her political career.She is knowledgeable on oil issues which is very topical.

What her selection by John McClain does is to run a platform which presents two politicians who are mavericks and anti-Washington. The fact that Americans select Presidents and not Vice Presidents maybe shattered in this election. While Obama has had the Primaries to be tested Americans will not get the opportunity to do the same with Sarah Palin.

The political pundits have agreed that the selection of Palin by McClain as a long pass-will the ball be caught?

114 responses to “Who Is Sarah Palin?”

1. Adrian
    Check washingtonpost.com story by Paul Kane. I saw an updated story but I can’t find it.
    This story claims that Palin did some underhand deeds that are now coming to light and there is huomour that McCain might ditch her for Lieberman who he really wanted in the first case. I was trying to find the updated version

2. If Palin–(cock) does not withdraw or if she is not ditched , I shall CONSIDER eating 10 telephone poles.

I dont see this woman continuing ——-

3. Doesn’t it seem that the US is on the way to being a “has been” power? A McCain-Palin administration would accelerate the demise of the US as a super power. The only problem is the serious damage the US could do as it tries desperately to maintain its grip on power. Obama may preside over a less ego driven fall from the super power status i.e not as predisposed to futile military agression to intimidate others particulary the Chinese, the Russians or the fundamentalist Moslems.

4. Who is Sarah Palin and what does she bring to the table? Given the praise by the editors of the Wall Street Journal on a a recent TV program for a moment I thought that Margaret Thatcher had overcome her dementia and was making a reappearance on the political scene, BTW I think the Thatcher comparison will not be long in coming from some of spin masters in the media. If the Democrats had proposed a politician with so thin a resume as their VP the same Republican media would be frothing at the mouth, but thatโ€™s politics hold your nose and proclaim membership in the PTA is a prerequisite for negotiations with Putin.

The only thing that seems to be important to the evangelicals that make up much of the base of the Republicans is that Palin is anti abortion. That is the litmus test if you are anti abortion thatโ€™s good enough for us no other issues matter. Being anti abortion is one thing but Palin is also anti choice which means if a woman becomes pregnant as a result of rape or incest Palin would insist that the fetus should not be aborted. These people care about babies before they are born but not after, they hold such sway in Republican politics that the Bush administration withheld funding from a UN agency which was promoting contraception in Third World countries. A few years from now when war or drought produces a famine and the results of this non contraception are on their TV screens with frail bodies and distended stomachs then Bushโ€™s successors will send some bags of grain and the US will pat itself on the back and declare what a generous country we are.

5. We asked a number of questions earlier which have been ignored? One of those questions was to ask Adrian H what are Americans feeling about the VP appointment. The latest Gallup Poll answers our question.

6. Obama Hits 50 Percent In New Gallup Poll

Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama has reached the 50 percent milestone in the latest Gallup Poll, the first time he has hit the threshold considered to be a safe number for victory.

According to Gallupโ€™s Daily Tracking Poll, the Democratic presidential nominee now maintains an 8-point lead over Republican John McCain, 50 percent to 42 percent.

McCain, despite enjoying the media spotlight at this weekโ€™s Republican National Convention, is โ€œwell belowโ€ his 48 percent top support level, recorded in late April/early May, in a hypothetical match-up against Obama, said Gallup pollster Lydia Saad. He is โ€œjust slightly betterโ€ than the 40 percent he was getting during the Democratic convention last week.

Meanwhile, the percentage of undecided voters is at its lowest since early June at 8 percent. โ€œThis, in part, reflects movement of voters toward Obama over the course of the Democratic National Convention, a lead which has been sustained in subsequent days,โ€ Saad said.

However, Gallup surmised that 24-hour news coverage of Hurricane Gustav and Mondayโ€™s news that the unwed 17-year-old daughter of McCainโ€™s vice presidential pick Sarah Palin is pregnant crowded out traditional coverage of the convention.

โ€œThe Republicans hope to start up a more traditional convention schedule today in St. Paul, with the goal of capturing the same kind of media and public attention the Democrats did last week in Denver,โ€ wrote Saad.

Todayโ€™s numbers included polling from Aug. 30 through Sept. 1. The margin of error is 2 points in the poll of 2,772 registered voters nationwide.

7. We have asked several questions and made several observations on this topic. We are still waiting for answers…lol.

Here we go again.

If America is suppose to be the country of immigrants (melting pot) why did we see only White America in attendance at the Republican Convention last night?

A simple question not meant to be putting the race card to the debate but you know what, we are playing the race card!

Race is the biggest elephant in the room in this election and in our opinion it explains why Obama’s lead is not in double digits considering a weak economy, low rating for the Republican incumbent President and Democrat controlled Houses.

8. David
    The closer it comes to the elections, the more race will become an issue. The thing is whites don’t talk the race card, they act the race card. Look how they are covering for the mess Palin is in, one would think she’s an angel sent down from heaven to guide McCain into the white house. If the Barbados’ P.M’s teenage daughter had become pregnant, the vultures would have been eating him alive,yet we have bajan here who are saying there nothing wrong. What then do you expect from american. This is a topsy turvy world we live in. White all right; black stay back.

9. We shall see if she lasts and how long because she seems to have a fair amount of skeletons in the family closet. McCain interviewed her for 15 mins. The selection was forced upon him by the racists conservative Evangelicals.

10. Barrifle of rubbish here…………..

What does it matter that Mrs Palins daughter is pregnant she aint running for VP?

Immigrants can come in all colors and all political leanings.

Who is Barbados to be so self righteous?

Who cares anyhow?

11. David // September 2, 2008 at 6:38 pm

We asked a number of questions earlier which have been ignored? One of those questions was to ask Adrian H what are Americans feeling about the VP appointment. The latest Gallup Poll answers our question.
    =================================

If is obvious that you wish to gloat by asking a question to which tha answer is readily known and to which you favour. The margin of Obama’s lead in the polls is very small and this after his convention and nomination speech. It can be easily overcome by John McCain.

12. Adrian
    Did you check washingtonpost.com and see the article? These accusations of federal money which she squandered and now denying it. The facts are there. No wonder she is McCain’s V.P. Same lies, same denials even though the facts are there. Is this what a world leader country likeamerica want for President and Vice President? If this happens, america would be trampled by nations like China, Russia, even Iran. America needs strong leadership at this point and Obama/ Biden is the better of the two evils .

13. David // September 1, 2008 at 5:03 am

@Adrian H

We said shinnanigans because we have always been a little confused about the electoral system which occurs in the USA.

Primaries and Caucuses, we have never understood how a few hundred/thousand people can enter a town hall and shout for who they want to vote for like selling cows in the market.

We never understood how Gore could have been defeated in Florida and it was not contested given the obvious inefficiency in the chad system.

We never can understand how an Electoral College could elect a president and not the people directly.

Donโ€™t misunderstand us, it is a system which has worked for the USA and we respect it just that it seems very complicated and INEFFICIENT!

Is this real confusion, and a willingness to understand, or just the typical condescending attitude of an aloof bajan? How different is the American Political party presidential selection process from the political party leader selection process in Barbadosโ€™ ill conceived adaptation of the Westminster? How different is the caucus shouting from the table top banging and shouts of yeh or ney when Member of Parliament elucidate, pontificates and opinionates for or against a cause that has been long decided?

You could if you wanted, understand that this country does not have national elections, if we did the Democrats would win all the time and small states like Rhode Island would have no say. Should you ponder equally as hard how is it that a political party in a country that does have national elections could lose that national election by less than 15,000 votes and yet only have two or three of the total seats in parliament. Do you call that democracy? Is that representation? So you know the US Democratic party has an electoral college they are called super delegates. Also the propose process for picking the unelected President of Barbados under their version of a Republic did not even include the popular vote, but that of the electoral college only.

I have not misunderstand your comments here

How do you respond to Albert Branfordโ€™s latest article? (A model democracy?)
    Can you?

Albert opens his article with the following
    โ€œBARBADIANS need to reject the “groundless assumption and perception” that their island nation is an advanced or model democracy.โ€

It seems to me that you would rather spend time discussing the faults in the greatest democracy in the world when you live in a society that may not be one. How about doing both? Surely you can.

You shouldnโ€™t gloat that your questions remain unanswered. It is usually a sign of what I think of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

14. David // September 3, 2008 at 6:35 am

We have asked several questions and made several observations on this topic. We are still waiting for answersโ€ฆlol.

Here we go again.

If America is suppose to be the country of immigrants (melting pot) why did we see only White America in attendance at the Republican Convention last night?

A simple question not meant to be putting the race card to the debate but you know what, we are playing the race card!

Race is the biggest elephant in the room in this election and in our opinion it explains why Obamaโ€™s lead is not in double digits considering a weak economy, low rating for the Republican incumbent President and Democrat controlled Houses.

Race is not the biggest elephant in the room, and Obama’s rating is not in double digits because the majority of voters over the years that have taken to believing that a President must have some experience, and that governership experience which is akin to that of the president at the state level but without foreign affairs experience give a sufficient snapshot of what the candidate can do. This is one of the reasons why only two SITTING senators have ever transition directly over to the whitehouse as president.

There are fewer blacks at the republican party convention that where at the DNC, not because Blacks are being kept out as you would like to be the case, but because this is a free country, people can hitch their wagon to which ever party or none at all if they so please. African Americans have decided that they can demonstrate their individualism by voting all 90% of them 100% of the time for the democrats who as Al Sharpton said just 4 years ago at the DNC convention, that African Americans are tired of being invited to the party, not has invited guest but as hired help. Free choice baby.

Concider Deval Patrick, an African American who was unamously elected in the state of Massachusetts said the following at the just concluded Democratic convention.

And check this one out to.

Race is not the issue, it is silly to think such concidering we are disussing the possible election of a black man to be President of the United States, and celebrating the governorship of another in State that has a dark historical past.

15. The scout // September 3, 2008 at 9:55 am

Adrian
    Did you check washingtonpost.com and see the article? These accusations of federal money which she squandered and now denying it. The facts are there. No wonder she is McCainโ€™s V.P. Same lies, same denials even though the facts are there. Is this what a world leader country likeamerica want for President and Vice President? If this happens, america would be trampled by nations like China, Russia, even Iran. America needs strong leadership at this point and Obama/ Biden is the better of the two evils .
    It’s more of the same. We voted for Bill Clinton with all kinds of accusations and investigations going on in his state, we do not have to vote for Sarah Palin do we?

No Scout America needs new membership to congress so that they can in honesty give them an approval rating above 9%. How can we truly get change by electing the same law makers year after year? The occupant of the white can be change every 4 years and ultimately every 8 years, we don’t need anymore focus on change in the whitehouse, we need a process where we can at a national level decide who becomes President of the senate, and Leader of Congress. Do you know that the current Leader of Congress, stated three times in a interview that natural gas is not a fossil fuel? She is very convince. ๐Ÿ™‚

16. David, since you like to gloat about the assumed strength of your simple questions, today is your day to deal with me since Sargeant hasn’t lived up to the billing i thought he could provide for . ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a simple view against the US electorial college. As you read it, reflect on how Your Prime Minister is selected, then aswer this simple question:

Is the post of Prime Minister presented on the Ballot, so that a Barbados registered elector can make a choice?

What’s wrong with the electoral college
    Under the electoral college system, voters vote not for the president, but for a slate of electors, who in turn elect the president.

17. @ David

โ€ข If America is suppose to be the country of immigrants (melting pot) why did we see only White America in attendance at the Republican Convention last night?
    I believe you were referring to the absence of black faces, not the absence of immigrants as some of the white faces may be immigrants.

Everyone should support a party if they are comfortable with that organisationโ€™s philosophy, however would you go someplace where you are not welcome?

The GOP for the past 50 years has pursued a Southern strategy in their efforts to secure the votes of white voters of some states. I will not go into details of this tactic but will attach the link at the end so perhaps Adrian Hinds could read and understand (talk about being optimistic). This approach has caused embarrassment to the few black GOP members but what can they do? they are dead ducks.

The use of certain words and images to appeal to this demographic is widespread hence when Ronald Reagan used the term โ€œWelfare Queenโ€ everyone knew what he meant, Similarly when the GOP ran the ad against Harold Ford in his Senate race though they never said anything racist they knew whom they were appealing to In an earlier post I said that they used the same tactics against McCain in 2000 after he adopted a young girl from Bangladesh ( McCain just hired the architect of that campaign for his staff so Obama better watch out).

Did you know that McCain voted against the MLK holiday? The former governor of his state ( Evan Mecham who was later recalled) rescinded the holiday after he was elected..

When you watch the convention observe how the cameras always focus on the few black people in attendance during any emotional moment or how they place some black people just behind the speaker to give the impression of diversity. You may be seeing the same face several times from different angles.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_strategy

18. I should have stated GOP= Grand old Party= Republican
    Sorry

19. Adrian
    Your party is so unfair, you took Michelle Obama to the cleaners. You tried to find every little thing about her and she’s only Obama wife,yet the Republicans are now mad because the media is digging up Palin clouded history and she is one step away from becoming president.

20. The scout // September 3, 2008 at 2:09 pm

Adrian
    Your party is so unfair, you took Michelle Obama to the cleaners. You tried to find every little thing about her and sheโ€™s only Obama wife,yet the Republicans are now mad because the media is digging up Palin clouded history and she is one step away from becoming president.

Not my party sir, I am not a member of any group, and the only one that i looking forward to “purchasing” a membership into is the American Association of retired persons, which i percieve will be a benefit to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ But the Dems are free to pillory Sarah Palin as the Republicans are to Michelle, ultimately the people will decide which attack was justified. My take is that the American people will side with Sarah Palin against the Media and the Democrats for tarring and feathering her on what is essentially a personal issue, and will be offended by Michelle self centered comment that “for the first time she is proud of America” this first time being the favourable ratings her husband was enjoying in his quest for the Democratic nomination.

so you see even Michelle “hardcore” Obama saw a reason to soften her position on America still being that racist country of old. “How could it be” she seems to be asking, “if my husband is now the democratic nominee for President?” Girl yuh right to be proud even if um is de first time, and in so doing put some Bajans in their outdated beliefs in their place. ๐Ÿ™‚

21. Sargeant // September 3, 2008 at 1:30 pm

When you watch the convention observe how the cameras always focus on the few black people in attendance during any emotional moment or how they place some black people just behind the speaker to give the impression of diversity. You may be seeing the same face several times from different angles.

ha ha ha so Sarge are you saying that this has occurred on the past days so far? or that this is the strategy of all the individual news media cameras going forward? Are you suggesting that Foxnews, NBC, ABC,CBS,MSNBC, BBC, have conspired to fool Americans and BU? Boy the things you does know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

BTW David gave the impression that he did not see any black faces so far that Elephant’s party. Maybe your were watching foxnews and he was watching MSNBC. ๐Ÿ˜‰

22. Sargeant // September 3, 2008 at 1:47 pm

I should have stated GOP= Grand old Party= Republican
    Sorry

What was it called when there were a significant number of Black lincoln republicans? or was that a myth?

How would you respond to this article? Dismissing it and or a silent response are admissable. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Why do black Americans forsake the party of Lincoln?
    Wednesday, August 20, 2008
    BY PAUL GOTTFRIED
    American blacks voted twice, with large pluralities, for the Republican Dwight Eisenhower.

IN VIEW of Barack Obama’s rise to national prominence, it might be worthy of note that some black politicians have failed to attract black votes.

Why have black Republicans been singled out for noisy ridicule in the black community?

And it is not only blacks who are engaging in this ridicule. White journalists and white intellectuals, who have rallied to Barack Obama as a moral redeemer, treat black Republicans as hostile to other blacks.

I am raising this query not as a GOP supporter but as an inquisitive historian. American blacks were overwhelmingly Republican from the Civil War, in which the Republicans were the party of Negro emancipation, down to the New Deal. In the 1950s, they voted twice, with large pluralities, for the Republican Dwight Eisenhower. Eisenhower’s Democratic opponent in 1952, Adlai Stevenson, ran with an avowed segregationist, John Sparkman of Alabama, as his running mate, helping deliver him the Old South, the only section of the country the Democratic ticket won.

Even as late as 1964, the Civil Rights Act passed because 90 percent of the Republicans in Congress, as opposed to about 50 percent of the Democrats, voted for it.

No effect
    Nor has the fact that the current Republican administration selected blacks for high Cabinet posts meant anything to most black voters. Condoleezza Rice, Colin Powell and other Republicans who have worked for this administration are judged in polls taken among blacks to be disloyal members of their race.

Nor does it seem to me that Democrats have given blacks more than Republicans have. It was the supposedly pro-black Clinton administration that abolished welfare programs that went disproportionately to lower-class blacks. Clinton was able to do this because blacks would support him unconditionally. By cutting payments to a group that voted in relatively small numbers (the underclass), Clinton could therefore create the impression of being a fiscal conservative to balance his image as a social liberal.

But those positions have little to do with specifically black interests. Although by no means a fan of the Bush foreign policy, I cannot see how Condoleezza Rice’s position on the Iraq war indicates hostility toward black people. Was Clinton’s bombing of Serbs in 1999 a more black-friendly act?

Outreach failure
    In the 1980s, New York Rep. Jack Kemp, who later became Secretary of Housing and Urban Development under Ronald Reagan, tried to build a career as a Republican who knew how to reach out to blacks. Never did a politician try so hard to live up to a reputation. As a federal official, Kemp favored set-asides for racial minorities. His addresses before Republican gatherings often featured long quotations from Martin Luther King Jr. and rhetorical questions intended to appeal to white guilt about “Where were Republicans when others were riding the freedom buses?”

But there were two problems with this strategy. First, Democrats such as Jimmy Carter never rode freedom buses, but instead began their careers as segregationist politicians. Nonetheless, unlike Republicans who had spoken out against segregation, such Democrats did very well in picking up black votes. (And so did that famous onetime segregationist George Wallace by the end of his career in Alabama politics.) Second, Kemp’s desperate reaching out to blacks did not benefit his party. Although he managed to obtain the vice-presidential slot in 1996, the GOP received only 10 percent of the black vote that year. And Kemp got heckled when he spoke before black crowds.

What this failed outreach suggests is that the GOP’s attempts to appeal to black voters have generally not met with success. At the same time, the revulsion of blacks for Republicans, and particularly for black Republicans, seems unrelated to the history of either group. I, for one, am still searching for an explanation as to why this hostility is as deep and abiding as it seems to be.

Paul Gottfried, a professor of humanities at Elizabethown College in Pennsylvania, writes The Ornery Observer, copyright 2008 by Paul Gottfried and the Fitzgerald Griffin Foundation. All rights reserved.

23. @ Sargeant

The GOP for the past 50 years has pursued a Southern strategy in their efforts to secure the votes of white voters of some states. I will not go into details of this tactic but will attach the link at the end so perhaps Adrian Hinds could read and understand (talk about being optimistic).
    ================================
    Sarge you should know there will be agruments for and against everything. This is one of the reasons i will not take sides and join a political party, for at anytime a political party will be no more that the current group of members.

Take a look at these response to the article above.

says:I am fifity foour years old, i remwmber whnethe civl rights act eas passed…. Iknow it was passed with assistance of the Republican party… all republican who particpated were drummed out of the party( Northeastern Republican) and Red Dogs left the demorcartic party ie Jessie Helms and used the republican party udner the queise of state rights to continue thier racist rant. ANd then was was tactic of using race to win the south…. under thiw tactic welfare and crimainal become the code workd for african american…. The economci policy of the republicans have adderslrya affected my community… you want my vote… earn it honsetly.. Clarenc Thoms was the birght judge for suprem court… come ..earn my vote
    ———————
    joe beattie says:senator byrd was the democrat’s senate majority leader and is still a senator today. he is considered the honorary leader of the democratic party. as a leader of the democratic party in 1960’s and later, the senator fought civil rights legislation tooth and nail. he also was a recruiter for the KKK for many years. senator johnson who later became president, lead the fight against civil rights legislation in 1957. he lead the fight to defeat a civil rights bill proposed by republicans. senator kennedy who later became president also voted against this act as did almost every other democrat. senator fulbright was the mentor of president clinton and a lifelong segregationist. clearly saints & sinners do not line up in straight lines
    8/21/2008 12:46PM EDT
    —————————–
    senator byrd was the democrat’s senate majority leader and is still a senator today. he is considered the honorary leader of the democratic party. as a leader of the democratic party in 1960’s and later, the senator fought civil rights legislation tooth and nail. he also was a recruiter for the KKK for many years. senator johnson who later became president, lead the fight against civil rights legislation in 1957. he lead the fight to defeat a civil rights bill proposed by republicans. senator kennedy who later became president also voted against this act as did almost every other democrat. senator fulbright was the mentor of president clinton and a lifelong segregationist. clearly saints & sinners do not line up in straight lines
    8/21/2008 12:46PM EDT
    —————————–
    sagar816 says:Paul Gottfried’s editorial the lack of support for the Republican party among American blacks conveniently ignores that many Democrats who supported segration later became Republicans and that the Republican party openly courted segregationist and other rascist voters to win support for their party in the South. Ronald Reagan, for example, began his 1980 Presidential election by talking about states’ rights in Philadelphia, Mississippi (where attacks on civil rights workers spurred the passing of the federal Civil Rights Act). Mr. Gottfried may do well to become a better student of American history (or at least one without a selective memory) before writing conservative propaganda in disguise as a essay by an “inquisitive historian.”
    8/20/2008 6:45PM EDT
    —————————–
    CLJ says:The Democratic party has not ignored Blacks,quite the contrary. President Bush ignored Katrina victims (White and Black) because this poor segment of society did not matter to him and his fellow Republican crones. Please Mr. Beattie, Republicans could care less about poor Black & White Americans. (they don’t care about Blacks at all regardless of economic status.Katrina victims were ignored by President Bush and his fellow Republicans..ie Condoleeza Rice, Michael Chartoff, & let’s not forget good ‘ol Brownie all ignored poor Blacks & Whites during that time of crisis. People died and are still disenfranchised because of the Republican administrations lack of response to a catastrophe that occured right in our own country, but we can go running to defend Iraq and other middle eastern nations??! These people hate America, but we run to help them?! Please Mr. Beattie spare me your defense of the Republican party. Oh and by the way, your referred to me as Mr.CLJ, but I am Ms. CLJ. Actions speak louder than words, and the Republican Party of the late 20th century has done nothing but cut programs and damage the economy espcially during the Reagan era(numerous program cuts that helped the poor)I see the Republican party for exactly what they stand for, and they certainly do not stand for the poor.. White or Black. Let’s just end this by saying we agree to disagree with each other.
    8/20/2008 2:17PM EDT
    ——————————–
    joe beattie says:president clinton’s welfare reform bill was originally part of the contract with america authored by newt gingrich & company (republicans). president clinton refused to sign the bill 3 times and was finally pressured by public opinion to sign the 4th version. all versions of the welfare reform bill were basically the same. Same thing happened with balancing the budget. it was part of the contract with america and the democrats fought it just like they fought welfare reform. maybe mr clj should reconsider his support for democrats since the democratic party tends to ignore minorities. oh by the way, when president lincoln ran for reelection, it was the democrats who wanted to give up the fight and end the war with slavery as is in the south, it was president lincoln who had the will to continue the war and end slavery.
    8/20/2008 1:04PM EDT
    —————————-
    CLJ says:The Republican Party has never embraced Black people, the deomcratic party has and continues to address issues faced in America by Blacks. Lincoln freed the Slaves as a political move…not because he cared so much for the slaves. Clinton did a very good thing with the Welfare reform bill, this bill not only required that recipients get job training, but, it also required them to do some work for the money that they received, which in my opinion instills a sense of pride in earning your money instead of just waiting for the check to arrive in the mail each month. Mr. Gottfried is obviously a Republican who is resentful of Black loyalty to the Democratic Party.
    8/20/2008 11:47AM EDT

24. @ Adrian

โ€ข Race is not the issue, it is silly to think such concidering we are disussing the possible election of a black man to be President of the United States, and celebrating the governorship of another in State that has a dark historical past.

We talking about race and electability and you bring a you tube featuring Deval Patrick the black Gov. Of Massachusetts Is that youโ€™re โ€œA Gameโ€? Since you live in the USA to use a baseball terminology you should be in โ€œRookie Leagueโ€, you canโ€™t hit the curve balls and change ups of the majors. Frankly I wouldโ€™ve been more impressed if you had cited Edward Brooke after all he was elected more than 40 years ago in Massachusetts and as a Republican to boot.

OK, I will go over this one more time, this is about national elections, not state elections, though for a black candidate the prospect of being elected statewide is difficult enough.

I attached the link on the GOPโ€™s โ€œSouthern Strategyโ€ on a previous post, now for this assignment read the bio of Edward Brooke and the article by Christopher Dickie.

I know that I wonโ€™t convince you after all you drank the Kool Aid.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Brooke

http://www.newsweek.com/id/150576

25. Adrian
    I was just reading some imformation just off the net. This girl is a BIG embarrassment to the GOP. NBC just released about an hour ago enough damaging information on that girl that instead of being V.P she could be charged. GOP is claiming sexism. They said the media should not be diving into a lady’s private life. JOKE.

26. @Adrian H

Bill Oโ€™Reilly of Fox News a supporter of your candidate called the parents of Jamie Lynn Spears โ€œpinheadsโ€ after she announced that she was pregnant.

Here is the quote from Dec.20/07 โ€œOn the pinhead front, 16-year-old Jamie Lynn Spears is pregnant. The sister of Britney says she is shocked. I bet.
    Now most teens are pinheads in some ways. But here the blame falls primarily on the parents of the girl, who obviously have little control over her or even over Britney Spears. Look at the way she behavesโ€

Do you think he would call the Palins Pinheads? Donโ€™t hold your breath, Fox News is a major supporter of the GOP so the Palins are good, solid representatives of America
    Here is a thought, do you think we can get Fox News to run the banner โ€œBaby Mamaโ€ when the young lady is on screen? They did it to Michelle and she was only married to Barack for so many years. This brings us back to โ€œcode wordsโ€ that I spoke about earlier.
    The Palins also said that they hoped that everyone would respect their familyโ€™s privacy, yet they are bringing the baby daddy ( I was tempted to say sperm donor) to the convention (lol). Some privacy

27. It seems that the following post has disappeared so I am reposting. If the original appears, my apologies to all

@ Adrian

โ€ข Race is not the issue, it is silly to think such concidering we are disussing the possible election of a black man to be President of the United States, and celebrating the governorship of another in State that has a dark historical past.

We talking about race and electability and you bring a you tube featuring Deval Patrick the black Gov. Of Massachusetts Is that youโ€™re โ€œA Gameโ€? Since you live in the USA to use a baseball terminology you should be in โ€œRookie Leagueโ€, you canโ€™t hit the curve balls and change ups of the majors. Frankly I wouldโ€™ve been more impressed if you had cited Edward Brooke after all he was elected more than 40 years ago in Massachusetts and as a Republican to boot.

OK, I will go over this one more time, this is about national elections, not state elections, though for a black candidate the prospect of being elected statewide is difficult enough.

I attached the link on the GOPโ€™s โ€œSouthern Strategyโ€ on a previous post, now for this assignment read the bio of Edward Brooke and the article by Christopher Dickie.

I know that I wonโ€™t convince you after all you drank the Kool Aid.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Brooke

http://www.newsweek.com/id/150576

28. David

I posted the same piece on Sarah Palin with two links attached; one with Edward Brook and the other a Newsweek article on the South. My handle does not appear in the area โ€˜Voice of the Peopleโ€ yet I can see the full article here which appears to be on your blog with a quote at the bottom โ€œ your comment is awaiting moderationโ€

Please let me know if its there I donโ€™t want to waste anyoneโ€™s time

29. @Sargeant

We have been experiencing the problem as well and have submitted a report to WordPress.

@Adrian H

We never called into question the American system we said it was complicated. We understand a little of how it works but it is a work in progress.

30. Adrian H, By your own, and other various submisssions on this thread, it is patently obvious that colour is not the essential trait most commentators believe it to be.

Politicians play whatever card necessary to gain POWER….the sole and prepossessing goal.

Black, white, pink or blue theirs is that one overriding target. Ultimate authority.

Any Caribbean wishing to believe some earth shaking event will occur to our benefit by the election of a half-white, half-arab politician in a country which barely knows we even exist, would be better waiting for Kick’em Jenny.

Our fate is in our hands.

Throw away the demeaning begging bowl, and stand up for ourselves…Pride and Industry.

31. Dear Straight Talk:

Barack Obama’s father was NOT an Arab. He was a black East African from Kenya.

You do know this don’t you?

32. So wait a minute sargeantnonamegreenmonkeyET AL, so you accusing Adrian Hinds of watching Fox News and drinking kool aid like it is some crime. So how come you know about kool aid and Bill O’Reilly if you don’t watch Fox News? Well at least Adrian got the guts to use ONE name, his real name . How you is so many people though?

33. J:

You ever been to Kenya?

Barack Hussein Obama Sr. is an Arab.

34. J:

Sorry for disabusing you of his race, my main point stands, Obama or McCain it matters not, we who are getting so excited over a man’s skin when neither of them know or care we exist.

There is no benefit directly to the Caribbean, Africa, Arabia, or in Mr Palin’s case, the Eskimo community for whover is elected in November.

There will be only one beneficiary, the same old, same old campaign donors.

35. ST wrote ” Barack Hussein Obama Sr. is an Arab.”

This is a sincere question. How do you define an “Arab”? Obama sr, was a Kenyan from the Luo tribe. His phenotypical characteristics (skin colour, hair texture, facial features etc) looked very similar to other Kenyans, who are said to be Black Africans.

That said I agree and expect that whoever wins the US presidency will act solely in the interest of lobbies and groups in the USA.

36. He could be from the Comanche tribe for all I care, oh cloven footed one, the point is he is not the new Nelson Madela or MLK some of our community are salivating about.

He is Rockefeller’s man, and that is where is heart will be, along with his wallet.

37. ST
    It was a sincere question. I was curious how you determined that Obama sr was an “Arab”. I’ll move along now.

I hope you acknowledge my last sentence in the previous post which agrees with your political position.

38. The seniopr Obama was NOT an Arab. He was a Muslim, although apparently not a very devout one. Calling him an Arab is like calling me white becasue I am a Christian. The senior Obama was NOT and Arab. I am NOT white.

Stop telling lies. The Luo are NOT Arabs. They are Africans.

African colonised Saudia Arabia and the rest of the Arab world, not the other way around.

Go learn your history, and while you are at it crack open the geography books too.

39. And of course any U.S. President has to act in America’s best interest, just as a Barbados Prime Minister is sworn to act in Barbados’ best interest. And when they don’t then the people will act in their best interest and throw the rascals out.

40. We talking about race and electability and you bring a you tube featuring Deval Patrick the black Gov. Of Massachusetts Is that youโ€™re โ€œA Gameโ€? Since you live in the USA to use a baseball terminology you should be in โ€œRookie Leagueโ€, you canโ€™t hit the curve balls and change ups of the majors. Frankly I wouldโ€™ve been more impressed if you had cited Edward Brooke after all he was elected more than 40 years ago in Massachusetts and as a Republican to boot

You are surely not up to the task. I am not surprise that i have impressed you, and it wasn’t my intent to so do, nor can i be encourage to meet your threshold of “more impress”. You see liberal talking points are easily torn apart, and i take no joy in what is becoming a mundane task. A liberal i can never be as they can never stand of solid ground. You continue to prove my point that race is not an issue in this campaign. Your willingness to return to times in this great country’s past demonstrates this. You time travel back 50 years to rehash the southern strategy, travel back 40 years ago to discuss Ed Brooks. I am looking at 2008 and i do not see your America.

————————————————
    So David after calling my name several times, reminding that i have not answered your questions and laughing as to suggest that i could not, After pontificating that Americans who partake in our primaries and cuacuses behave like cows, and suggesting that our electorial and government system is INEFFICIENT. Did my responses and retort left you so wounded, battered and looking like a person that not only does not understand the American system but seems not to understand that of Barbados as well, all you can muster is the following?

Adrian H

We never called into question the American system we said it was complicated. We understand a little of how it works but it is a work in progress.
    ————————————-

Must i now inform you that you are being dishonest and a person not even vaguely familiar with the government and electorial systems of Barbados?

Albert Brandford has your number.

41. @Adrian H

Sorry that you think we have been dishonest, you are entitled to your opinion and we have to respect it.

On the Albert Brandford comment he does write a good article betwix and between but his credibility took some heavy blows during the last election and we have to question his motives sometimes.

Like we said above we will try to explore some of the points he raised in his last article sometime.

42. David // September 4, 2008 at 1:52 am

@Adrian H

Sorry that you think we have been dishonest, you are entitled to your opinion and we have to respect it.

On the Albert Brandford comment he does write a good article betwix and between but his credibility took some heavy blows during the last election and we have to question his motives sometimes.

Like we said above we will try to explore some of the points he raised in his last article sometime.

ha ha ha ha No worries, I understand the willingness to weasel your way out of the shame your very condescending but uninformed

“HOW PEOPLE CAN ENTER A TOWN HALL AND SHOUT FOR WHO THEY WANT TO VOTE FOR LIKE SELLING COWS ON THE MARKET.”

“WE NEVER CAN UNDERSTAND HOW AN ELECTORAL COLLEGE COULD ELECT A PRESIDENT AND NOT THE PEOPLE DIRECTLY.”

have been brought to bare on you. People who use the statements “I never can understand” demonstrates befuddlement at a situation even after careful and thoughtful analysis. It is very clear to me that you did no such thing and that it is likely that facts and a willingness to be fair was not on your agenda with regards to this thread.

…I will agree with you in your general assessment of Albert Brandford, but to suggest that this particular article further proves that his credibility and motives are questionable is being totally unfair. This particular articles deals with the research of academics at UWI. Albert in this article is clearly the messenger. You must deal with it contents without reference to your opinions of the messenger. Can you? ๐Ÿ™‚

43. @Sargeant

Last night Sarah Palin said “What seperates Hockey moms and pit bulls?” Lip stick!

Katie Curric, later reported on the speech by referring to Sarah Palin as “Sarah the pitbull” and no body complain and they shouldn’t as Sarah clearly made the inference.

Michelle Obama referred to Barack as her “Babies Daddy”, so why are you taking umbrage if someone refers to her as her “Babies Mama”? ????

44. Hey Scout, today seems to be a slow day in this thread, and i don’t know why ๐Ÿ™‚ maybe folks have just moved on to other things Local to Barbados……anyway I think i can spend some time looking at the alarms you raised about Sarah Palin. Can you post the “damaging revelations” that you were pointing me towards?

45. Straight talk // September 3, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Adrian H, By your own, and other various submisssions on this thread, it is patently obvious that colour is not the essential trait most commentators believe it to be.

Yes and no. Yes they are racial considerations, and no it is not essential or core to this election campaign.

If 90% of white America where not voting for Barack , we would have to seriously ask why and in so doing could not exclude race.

If 90% of Black America is voting for him, we should also seriously ask why and in so doing not exclude race.

…..What are the facts saying so far?

To my mind it is and it isn’t about race.

BTW has anyone ever heard of Dr. Khalid Abdullah Tariq al-Mansour , Percy Sutton,…. Don Warden perhaps????

46. AH:

Not heard of them, until your post, but one role model I do know having spent time with him and his family, is Ken Chenault.

Charming, clever people , and well worth adding to your list.

47. GOP Convention: Welcome to white America, out of 2,380 delegates 36 are black. This is one reason why black people wonโ€™t join the GOP.

http://thehill.com/leading-the-news/westmoreland-calls-obama-uppity-2008-09-04.html

48. @Adrian H

โ€ฆI will agree with you in your general assessment of Albert Brandford, but to suggest that this particular article further proves that his credibility and motives are questionable is being totally unfair. This particular articles deals with the research of academics at UWI. Albert in this article is clearly the messenger. You must deal with it contents without reference to your opinions of the messenger. Can you? ๐Ÿ™‚

Please reread what we wrote because you have misunderstood. We said that his credibility took a beating during the last election, it is not directed at his Sunday article at all.

49. David // September 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm
    Please reread what we wrote because you have misunderstood. We said that his credibility took a beating during the last election, it is not directed at his Sunday article at all.

Why else would you have mentioned Albert’s credibility, while discussing his recent article, if not to discount the article itself? Are you now in the habit of just mentioning things about a person for no reason at all? If you wanted to draw attention to Albert’s credibility but not link it to his last Sunday article, why not be explicit in so doing? The answer is most likely that you did what you had intended, which is to dismiss his recent article under the guise of past legitimate questioning of his credibility, and now that your dismissal of this article has been question you are once again trying to weasel your way of culpability rather than concede the errors of your assessment. Dishonest? defensive? you decide. ๐Ÿ™‚

50. Sargeant // September 4, 2008 at 5:20 pm

GOP Convention: Welcome to white America, out of 2,380 delegates 36 are black. This is one reason why black people wonโ€™t join the GOP.

Do you have an opinion on why so many Barbadians favour remaining a consitutional monarchy? Why so many do not think that Barbados should do away with the privy council and joing CCJ?