Barbadians often ask why has Barbadian society changed so suddenly and dramatically as it has in recent years; there are many reasons of course, but I believe one of the main reasons, is the flight to the terraces.

When sugar plantations became unprofitable and it was seen that division of agricultural land for housing could bring a sizeable profit…it had far reaching consequences for Barbadian society.  It is true that the acquisition of those lands enabled the working class and those aspiring to be middle class, the opportunity to build lovely houses in often prime locations.  Those on the terraces felt they had arrived – and they had – the reward no doubt for thrift and making use of their educational opportunities and status.  Some even entered gated communities and joined the foreigners.

Is it wrong to seek a better life? no, it manifestly is not.  Why should one live in a cramped environment when the wherewithal is available to do better for your family.  However, the knock-on effect has dealt a devastating blow to Barbadian society and in many ways has fractured it.

The citizens who were accorded respect, and were in many instances the bastions of neighbourhoods moved away.  The people who often gave direction and status to areas by their presence were no longer there.  The role model professionals who were near, having moved away, gave rise to other models often entertainers, etc.  Some abroad far removed from Barbadian society.  The Police Sargeant, even Inspector who lived near and was part of the neighbourhood and had influence by his mere presence was no longer there.  He had removed not only himself but any influence he had.  The wild boy with a tendency to create havoc through his behaviour, would now only encounter this Police Inspector in a professional capacity, he was estranged.

The Head Teacher and his/her children who could be looked on with admiration, and could be used by parents to spur their children on to achieve, could not be used any longer.  He/she was far removed not only physically but could not be reached by any obvious mental connect.

The best most enterprising and ambitious had taken leave to the terraces.  This is not to suggest they all have left, but the stable core unit of them have, and their loss has been felt by many neighbourhoods throughout Barbados.

In most societies it is always best when there is inspiration near at hand, it then seems attainable.  It also means that there is allegiance between the educated and the less well so in particular areas.  This can be in political representation e.g… we are one people.  This is not to disparage those who have removed themselves, for want of a better expression…from the people.  This is a natural order of wealth acquisition and some would say personal development.  The view I have taken is how this movement has impacted on ordinary Barbadian society and has disadvantaged the majority.

Since the physical structures inherent in this movement cannot be reversed, what is there to be done?  Perhaps it is the responsibility of those who have moved away, to mentally reconnect with those they have left behind.  I fear this will not be easy, but a determined effort must be made if that small band of Bajans who have achieved success in educational and financial terms are to reconnect, and see the problems of ordinary Bajans as their problems.

39 responses to “Flight To The Terraces, Has it Affected Barbadian Society?”

1. Another part of this problem is the death of the extended family.

There is no guidance provided by the elders to the youth and no additional help provided to raise and or watch over the children coming up.

Once this vital structure was lost through the “working family”, children did not have anyone else to socialise with… the daycare or the nanny / maid does it for them. (Which does not provide the necessary familial bonding).

The family structure was destroyed so the economy could grow and provide people with the ability to get “a better way of life” through a growing addiction to material things. As a result of this breakdown, we see the increase in cases of mental and physical maladies in our youth and the current generations of parents.

These same parents will then raise another broken generation. Hence the growing societal ailments today.

2. Yes, I agree. Progress has a price – the weakening of the family and family values.

Another area of importance is the devaluing of Christian standards and beliefs. The complement to this is the lowering of societal morals and a general breakdown and disregard for order and decency.

3. The flight to the Terraces has also ushered in “the age of fast foods” bringing with it “life style diseases”

Mind you, this doesn’t have to be so. But I guess its the easy way out.

4. The residents of the terraces, the gardens, the parks and the heights, I believe not only represent the majority of Barbadians but the average Barbadian. They are the products of the social revolution started by O’Neal and Adams and advanced and completed by Barrow and Walcott. That the majority of Barbadian families have attained this standard of living makes this nation one of the wonders of the world. We are a better country for this. Our families are just as strong if not stronger than in the past, our people are healthier, more accomplished, more knowledgeable and I believe that we are a more moral and ethical society than that which occurred in the past.

5. “….Our families are just as strong if not stronger thank in the he past, our people are healthier, … and I believe that we are a more moral and ethical socity than that which occurred int he past”

Really?

6. It is no often that I agree with the devil but I may have to do so now. I’d like to see BU pull the data from the 2000 census and publish it here. I believe with the edevil that indeed the maorityof Bajans may now live in the terraces.

But we mst no t overlook the following:

1. The widespread use of marijuana. Now don’t get me wrong, a fair number Bajans especially Bajan men have long abused alcohol and yes indeed in the good old days families in which the husband/father abused alcohol have always had problems. A fair number of our men and yes some women still abuse alcohol and now some abuse marijuana and other drugs as well. If we look carefully the families which are suffering the most are those families in which alcohol and drug abuse is occuring, and the families which suffer most are those families in which the FATHER abuses alcohol and/or drugs. The hard truth is that a parent whose head is full or alcohol or marijuana is not a very effective parent.

2. Deliberate isolation: the move to the terraces has in some ways encouraged people to isolate themselves. But the isolation need not be automatic. People can and must make an effort to get to know their neighbours. But some people choose isolation.

3. the culture of the “big bad dog” In the good old days the plantations kept large dogs for reasons best know to themselves; I believe that they were afraid. Nowadays judging by the number of large dogs kept behind often poor quality fences I am lead to believe that either more people are afraid, or people see large dogs as a status thing. In fact large agressive barking dogs make neighbourhoods unpleasant places for good decent people to walk. The only people who walk fearlessly are the bad Johns. So in a perverse effect bid bad dogs may not keep neighbourhoods safe but may make them less safe because decent people are afraid to walk about.

4. The widespread use of motor cars. People walk about less therefore they see less of what is going on (they fail to notice the signs of criminal activity) People drive pass their neighbours and never get to know them. Some people perversely do not wish to get to know their neighbours.

5b. The oral contraceptive pill: Once the pill came into widesperead use and virtually all women were able to control their fertility (for the first time in human history) it has seemed to make men feel less reaponsible for any conceptions (and births) which occur. The attitude is if pregnancy can be prevented then women MUST prevent conceptions since they can. I have even heard men use the phrase “she went and get sheself pregnant” which is of course a biological impossibility. These men then see the children as the woman’s problem.

5b The breakdown of marriages or relationships in there are children. Since they are fewer children, parents, both mothers and fathers feel freer to walk out of marriages/relationships in which there is some trouble. When families were very large both mother and fathers had to stick together to ensure the survival of the family.

6. Widespread migration especially to the U.K in the 1950’s and beyond. The harsh truth is that in the 1950’s and 1960’s a lot of children were permanently left behind when the parents migrated. These children were raised sometimes by loving grandmothers and other family. But in truth some were raised by overburdened, resentful grandmothers who were in truth too old to take on the job of raising another set of children. Some of those who lost ther parents have not been able to be good parents themselves.

7. J, you don’t usually agree with me? I am crushed…really! What have we disagreed on?

Eddie, J

Bajans ain’t perfect but we are trying and trying harder everyday. There are challenges, serious challenges but I’m optimistic that the foundation laid (education, exposure to the wider world and a basic sense of decency) will get us through. To be pessimistic would be give in.

8. devil,
    Not being pessimistic, just real.

Development comes at a cost. Barbados is not isolated in this respect.

J, you said that you would have to agree with devil in this matter. But looking at those 6 factual points above, I think you are mirrowing in detail, what I said in summary.

9. FACTS -RED ALERT- RIHANNA Avatar
    FACTS -RED ALERT- RIHANNA

RED ALERT!!!!!

SEEMS THAT OUR GIRL RIHANNA IS IN MONEY PROBLEMS. ALLEGEDLY ENGINEERED BY CROOKED MANAGEMENT.

CHECK CELEBRITY GOSSIP

10. Dear Devil:

I did not mean you. I am sure that you are a fine fellow. I meant your namesake the big bad DEVIL.

11. Devil said “Bajans ain’t perfect but we are trying and trying harder everyday. ..To be pessimistic would be give in.

Devil I agree 100%

I am not pessimistic. I think that Barbados is still a good place to live, but Barbados is a work in progress and we must continue to work at making it a better place.

12. J is agreeing only that a majority of Barbadians live in the “terraces etc”.

Poverty, under development and stagnation comes at an even higher cost.

Now, I understand as well as the next person the trade offs that come with “development”. We can discuss for eternity what “developement” means etc. However, up to the the present, I think Barbados got it right. We have been systematically building a democratic, secular society based on the rule of law and attempting to balance the rights of the individual with the idea of the common good. We are also now slowly beginning to incorporate the idea of stewardship of the natural environment into our thinking.

These are the hallmarks of a progressive, ethical society.

13. Thanks for the expression of confidence! (But a lady friend of mine once said “being naughty is soooo attractive!”)

good night folks.

14. FACTS - RIHANNA IS BROKE! Avatar
    FACTS – RIHANNA IS BROKE!

SEEMS AS THOUGH RIHANNA IS BROKE!
    CHECK BU’S CELEBRITY GOSSIP.

Harsh realities of the music industry. One needs honest management. If you don’t you’re thrown to the sharks

15. The answer to your question is a resounding YES!!!

I speak as someone who does not live in B’dos but visit occasionally and so can offer an insider/outsider perspective. First a confession, when I visit I stay with relatives in one of the Heights but still visit the old neighbourhood as many friends have built their homes on family land close to where they have always lived.

There is a saying “Fish can’t see water” so some changes may not be apparent to some who live there because they can’t see changes in themselves or around them.

Progress comes at a price and the genie is out of the bottle. Classism always existed in B’dos and people who were the victims of this in the past are now the main perpetrators who inflict the same on others. Do you think some of the people in the Heights and the Terraces, the descendant of domestics who now employ others as their domestics think they have much in common with the boys or for that matter the girls on the block? We are no longer in the “same boat” it’s a case of I got mine you better get yours

I couldn’t understand the attraction of Hammie La before but I do now, the working class see him as one of their own who is likely to fight for their causes not like some of the “poor great” politicians that they only see at election time.

No wonder we can’t solve issues like bad behaviour on ZR’s as we don’t see it as our problem but their problem, If I never take a ZR I’m more likely to pay lip service to a problem than to jump in with both feet and try to provide a meaningful solution

16. Facts-Rihanna is Broke
    Please don’t try to change the topic. If she has a problem you and her can deal with it.

17. Devil
    While to some extent bajans are better off, lots of us are fooling ourselves. A carpenter living in a nice bajan style village house with no mortgage is by far better off than a middle class bajan living in a terrace with a big house and big mortgage. In a lot of cases these people with these big houses and their SUV’s are living hand-to-mouth; from pay cheque to pay cheque; one step away from poverty. Most months they struggle to pay light bill, water bill, MCTV, etc. Is this a better life?

18. The Devil
    An old man once told me when I was a youngster ” always speak to your friends on the way up because you may have to say “hello” on the way back down.” the problem with some of the fellows who migrate to the heights and terraces is that they burn the bridges behind them. They don’t return to the village they were raised in and hang out with the villagers. Too big for that now but when crunch time hit some then have to dog back at thier mother’s house and eat some humble pie. I make it my business to return to the little village I was raised in and many an occasion some of these villagers especially on bank holidays unexpectingly stop in by me and raid my bar. They know they can do that because I do the same to them when I go by their homes. I sit on the step with the boys and have a drink, talk some foolishness, eat some roast breadfruit. I still think village life is the sweetest life.

19. We in the People’s Democratic Congress ( PDC ) have long known that one of the biggest and most disturbing things about the apparent disintegration of the social value system in Barbados is the matter of many Barbadian political and other social authorities CAVALIERISHLY ALLOWING, esp. since the 1980s, too many negative Western socio-cultural influences to take root in our Barbadian societal sphere, and without even having the necessarily will or strength to seriously counter or curb or uproot them after they have got out of hand.

Thus, any serious and thorough analysis of the wide spread change in the social structures and cultures of the Barbadian society, the reasons for/causes of it and the attendant resultant effects of this change must certainly also examine the BLATANT POLITICAL WEAKNESS AND SUPINITY of these so-called political social authorities in the face of such influences and penetrations and their relatives. Such an analysis must also take into consideration these particular influences and penetrations and their relatives in any quest of Barbadians to resolve for partial solutions to make our country stronger and more secure in the long term.

For, it is these corrosive destructive vulgar Western socio-cultural influences more than the disrupting/disturbing and dislocating effects of some Barbadians on a path of upward social mobility that are wrecking the greatest havoc and confusion among the well known and most established of traditional Barbadian values. Hence, it is many of the eating and drinking habits, the dressing approaches, speaking and writing styles, entertainment values, perverse sexual practices, the greedy selfish individualistic predispositions, and the gun-toting violence of esp. the United States of America, and which are totally contra to those societal life styles that many Barbadians have been accustomed to, that have been the ones esp. since the 60s that have been imported into Barbados and that are continung to so damnedly increasingly undermine the Barbadian way of life.

Indeed, there are two former Euro-centric prime ministers Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, to a lesser extent, and Mr. Owen Arthur, to a greater extent, and there are two Western leaning parties – the DLP and BLP – that have helped so-called govern this country since independence – and the traditional and modern church esp, that must be BLAMED for miserably FAILING to protect the Barbadian society from such wild and reckless Western oriented life styles.

While we in PDC accept that societies must evolve, what we TOTALLY ABSOLUTELY REJECT is the notion that the Barbadian society must continue to evolve based on some highly toxic polluted contaminated Western values and lifestyles, and irrespective of the extent to which our society is too often showing signs of social distress and instability helped significantly brought on by those negative Western influences and penetrations.

Also, what we TOTALLY ABSOLUTELY REJECT too is this misguided notion that persons who have gone off to live in the “heights and terraces” or persons who have the potential for doing so are those that primarily possess the core bedrock values of the Barbadian society, for we are certain in our minds that it is many of those persons who are busy promoting these negative aspects of Western culture among the broad masses and middle classes in Barbadians. Surely, what we desire for Barbados’ continued social development is the best and most acceptable social practices and lifestyles of all ITS PEOPLE – regardless of class, colour, creed, and, too, the least tensions and conflicts among them all, in order to help Barbados become a world class-society in the forseeable future.

That is why – quite unlike these wretched BLP and DLP Governments that have been formed in Barbados since independence – a future PDC led Government WILL do ALL in its power and authority to overturn those insidious Western influences that have been polluting and destabilizing our socio-cultural sphere, while at the same time doing an overwhelming amount to promote and encourage the growth of those positive aspects of our Barbadian society and culture, and to promote and encourage those positive aspects of Western society and culture that are worth emulating in Barbados.

20. I agree that our society has changed in some ways for the better and some ways for the worse. We must accpet that chnage happens and that we are only in control of our destiny to some degree.

The urges to do better, live better and have more are natural as is the urge to watch your neighbours.

These urges can be tempered by adherence to ‘morals’ of the society and in extreme cases the laws of the country. For example some one might decide to steal so that they can have what their neighbour enjoys. Others might simply accept that they will have to work harder.

But ‘morals’ and laws also change for better and for worse ( based on ones viewpoint).

Yes we are a society now that is more individualistic but 50 years ago black people were forced to be less so because they had no choice.

Most of us could not live in the heights and terraces period! we couldn’t even walk through stratchlyde and pine gardens at night!

Nowadays most of us have more of a business mindset and concerned about things such as retirement income, house values etc Is that a bad thing?

The rise of Pot is a definite negative in our society in that unlike Alcohol it is not a social drug and its effects are mostly negative.

more to come

21. Good discussion! Reminds me of an op-ed piece I once read, written by an Evangelist called Tony Ohlstrom, who worked in the slum areas of Chicago. It goes something like this:

“Oh God, bless America…if You can!”

Never before have so many had so much WORTH SO LITTLE.

Never before have so many young people been willing to sacrifice so much to own their own homes…AND SO LITTLE TO SAVE THEIR MARRIAGES.

Never before has a nation moved from city rows to sprawling landscaped subdivisions, ONLY TO BUILD HOUSES WITH FENCES…INSTEAD OF PORCHES. Now we have the neighbourhoods…WITHOUT THE NEIGHBOURS.

Never before has a nation achieved such a low infant mortality rate…ONLY TO LEGALIZE ABORTION.

Never before has a nation so increased mechanization and automation…WITHOUT A CORRESPONDING INCREASE IN PRODUCTIVITY.

Never before has a nation produced a generation that is more educated…AND LESS LITERATE THAN THEIR PARENTS.

While our leisure time has steadily increased, so has our CRIME RATE, our DIVORCE RATE, and our SUICIDE RATE.

We have two cars in every garage and…WE CAN’T AFFORD THE GAS TO RUN THEM.

We have a TV set in every room and…THERE IS NOTHING WORTH WATCHING.

Life expectancy is up, but…EXPECTATION IS DOWN.

Here at home more and more buys LESS AND LESS, while in the world we have an ever-larger circle of allies and…AN EVER-SMALLER CIRCLE OF FRIENDS. We have more and more power…AND LESS AND LESS INFLUENCE.

Never before has our arsenal been so strong…AND OUR WILL SO WEAK.

By making technology our THEOLOGY, we have managed to raise our standard OF living…WHILE LOWERING OUR STANDARDS FOR LIVING.

Oh God, Bless America…if You can, and if You can’t, we’ll try to understand.”

If we substitute the word “Barbados” for “America” it paints a fairly accurate picture.

The one thing that has always made Barbados strong is the strong sense of community. In the “flight to the terraces” we have to ensure that this is not lost.

22. FACTS - RIHANNA IS BROKE! Avatar
    FACTS – RIHANNA IS BROKE!

Scout,
    You may not care about Rihanna, but this is international news and very important for musical artistes who are seeking an outlet in the international arena.
    Surely shows that “all that glitters is not gold”

23. “However, the knock-on effect has dealt a devastating blow to Barbadian society and in many ways has fractured it.”
    It’s really funny how we like to romanticize the “good ole village days.”

Good ole village days my ass! Get used to progress and civilization.
    Do we wanna go back to pig pens, out houses, paling, malicious soucy neighbors, standpipes, village fights, clothes on de line, people who cant deordorant and knocking yuh down wid duh armpits in de bus, and the list goes on and on.
    Gimme a break. Surely we lost some aspects of community life but I think we’ve gained more than we’ve lost. Get used to it. It’s called change.

The Chinese have a saying, “when we opened our windows to the world, the fresh air came in, but so did the flies.”

24. Facts-Rihanna is Broke
    I not only like Rihanna, I KNOW Rihanna. Robyn went to Charles F. Broome and Combermere. I think she has done a lot for Barbados. I also know that her mother especially is very involved in her business, but how does that fit in with what we are discussing now. Make your submission to BU and see if they would post your article but we’re on a different post right now, either contribute to this one or butt out. No disrespect. I’ve heard this rumour before but up until a few weeks ago when she was in Barbados she said it wasn’t true.

25. Well said Scout. I guess it requires some degree of intelligence for people to stay track on the topic under discussion.

26. Anonymous
    I think it’s time bloggers either make sensible contributions to the postings or just read and move on. I like to engage bloggers in good topics even if we don’t argree but as it become rediculous, i would butt out. We don’t always agree but we enjoy the interaction. Happy blogging

27. I believe in progress.The high attainment many of us achieved as a result of progressive policies of our former great leaders Errol Barrow,Wynter Crawford,Grantley Adams,Tom Adams,Erskine Sandiford and even Owen Arthur have led to the standard of living many black Barbadians has today.We must stop harping about the good old days because those days were not that good for black people at all.As one of the bloggers mentioned on this subject and as stated on another subject matter by Yours Truly there wasn’t much good in having pit toilets,being mal-nourished,having chinks & others vermin as companions,grass beds,dirt floors and the list goes on.
    I am happy for the opputunities given to us blacks in Barbados that many of us are able to live a comfortable life.I believe every black Barbadians should aspire to live in very nice homes in the Parks,Heights & Terraces..Life is for living and everyone should seek to enjoy the best of what life has to offer.
    I hope to see the day when all housing districts in Barbados have nice homes with water borne bathroom facilities,every family have motor vehicles and all of us have access to a better standard of living.I hope one day coming soon we would not have neighbourhood with palings & pit toilets.
    We blacks must aim for the stars and aim for the life that was deny to us because of discrimination.
    Let build on what we have and do not let other ethnic groups come into Barbados and disrupt the progress we are making.
    Beware of the Indians,Chinese & the expatriate Whites.

28. negroman hear hear…I think that the boys on the block have lost that message and I dont think that they want to hear from people who have moved upward. From time to time I try to emgage these guys and gals in discussion but they are very HERE and NOW and are not aware of the struggle…And I think that is what bothers alot of those who have moved to the heights and terraces.

I have some family members who live in a housing area and on several occassions during the year they are at me or i am at them for family gatherings. For SOME in this segment of our society ‘give me this and give me that ‘remains a way of life… In acountry where there is free education and free health care ( even if not perfect ) which most of us of the post baby boom generation used to get ahead it amazes me when others dont do this. Its almost as if we have it too good!

29. We are sure Yardbroom will respond but our understanding from his submission is our modern society which is represented by the move from the Villages to the Terraces must search for a way to find a balance i.e. transfer some of the good values which existed between the people back then.

We should be able to agreed that there seem to be a willingness to seek comfort in our much valued material possessions at the expense of things social.

30. There is nothing wrong with upward mobility but my concern is with fellows who try to forget their pass. ” If you don’t know where you come from , you would never know where you are going to,” that’s why I told my children from early about my HARD upbringing. Too many of us want to make our children believe that they were born with a “gold spoon in their mouth.” I’ve made a promise that I would do all in my powers to assist in elevating the villagers from which I came. The only way blacks are going to elevate is if each one who move up another ring of the ladder would lend a helping hand to the one below instead of kicking him down an extra rung . Too many become black s with the white mentality. Make a Terrace, a Park , whatever out of the village, create a POSITIVE attitude.

31. village life was not as sweet for some people as we try to nostalgically portray

a lot of blackguarding, undermining, cuss outs , hurled insults and serious fights and disagreement occured in some villages. Not to say that non -village life does not see some of these things but in an attempt to change those things in the village, getting away from such situations resulted in people seeking to live elsewhere

32. Scout,
    I agree with you. One must keep some element of one’s past in his/her mindset in order to succeed. All that glitters is not gold. We get the perception that persons living in terraces are living the dream life but it is not necessarily so. It is ok to strive for a better life but to be up to your throat with unnecessary debt to show your next door neighbour that you are on par with them is foolishness.

33. Tony Hall
    I’ve been involved in construction for many years . i can tell you what a new development would look like in 10 years after the first few houses are built. If it is a black resident neighbourhood, everyone who comes after the first few houses wants to build bigger than the one before, then for the next 20years catching their butts to repay a mortgage for a house twice the size of what they really needs just to be with the Joneses. In most of these terraces, parks, people only know each other by the vehicle you drive. Everyone retires to their CASTLE once they return home. Neighbourhood Watches are formed in some of these areas but never last for more than a few years because most residence use it to establish dominance and this results in conflict. These are a few of the evils in terrace living that should be addressed.

34. Hi guys, I’d have to agree with the point that many in the middle class are bogged down in serious debt. I always wondered how my grandparents achieved ownership and bequeathed their endowments to the children without high salaries or even the education that the present generations possess.
    This phenomenon is called “house poor” where all of the couple’s resources go into owning a house and very little cash flow is left after that.
    However, this sacrifice is normally for about the first 10 years of the mortgage as Bajans want to earn piece of the rock.
    I’d like to get some feedback on the rent vs. mortgage debate in Bdos since I’m not convinced that the latter is always the best way to go.

35. Anonymous
    In purchasing a pc of land, you would have tostart from quite early in life. At today’s prices a 6000 sq ft lot would cost approx. $ 140,000.00. This could take, with interest, at lease 10 years at an average middle class salary. Then an average 3 bed. 2 bath house would be around $ 350,000.00– $ 400,000.00. To accheive this house in a reasonable time would mean a mortgage. Having just cleared for the land most people would not have capital so they might take a 100% mortgage as a first time house owner. To repay this loan can take up to 30 years depending on the age of the mortgagee. This would mean a repayment of approx $ 2000.00– $2500.00 per month over a 30 year period. You would end up paying the amount of three times or more the cost of building that house. This has nothing to do with facility bills, land tax, payments for a vehicle per month and the raising of a family among other expenses. Even with a relatively good salary, it is difficult to maintain this lifestyle. Why not then build on the family lot in the village? Is this the price we want to pay for living in the HEights, Terraces and Parks?

36. Dear Scout:

Some of us are refugees from the family lots in the village.

A lot of people in my terrace come from ZONE 1 villages. When the various governments from 1962 to the present forbade us to build on our family lots in zone 1 we received NO compensation.

We wanted to but could not build on our family lots, but for 46 years have been forbidden to do so.

We are stuck with 20 to 30 years mortgages.

We don’t like it.

We suffer still.

37. @ Scout

Interesting question about building on the family in the village.
    That makes financial sense according to your reasoning but there are emotional and other psychological reasons why people want to leave the village.

38. J
    I too am and still is a victim of that zone 1 ruling but it was only for a certain class of people. The rules were bent for the big boys.

39. I know that only too well.

But yes the zone 1 thing cost me tens of thousands of dollars and when I count my siblings it cost us hundreds of thousands of dollars. Because we had to buy expensive terrace land when we already owned zone 1 village land.

Somebody had to pay.

We are still paying.