Lets clear up some things … Luke is not a lawyer and he certainly did not study law at UWI. So please do not say he is a young lawyer or a lawyer for that matter because he is not. He was in the Faculty of Social Sciences.

While I understand Luke’s dilemma I do not believe his case has a strong foundation for several reasons including those mentioned by other posters. I don’t want to step on anyone’s toes but I believe that an LL.B. is far more demanding than a degree in the social sciences so imagine if Luke were in the Faculty of Law – he would hold a press conference with CNN!!!

I have first hand experience with members of some faculties trying to distinguish the ‘goat’ from the ‘sheep’ and while I can understand why they would do this I cannot agree that an exam should be set especially difficult to achieve this end. I believe exams should be reflective of what was taught in class or covered on the syllabus/worksheets.

Some courses, especially those in Law, Medicine, Actuarial Science, etc cover large areas and students have to be guided as to what is relevant to their present purposes to the exclusion of what may be covered at another time. But its as if some lecturers lecture a course on the ‘automobile’s engine’ and set a question on how the mechanics of a car stereo.

Some lecturers also don’t make themselves available for consultation, they refuse to entertain student concerns about the course, and even tutors sometimes complain about the delivery of courses and the overall lack of interest of most lecturers in certain faculties. I have had many lecturers canceled because someone had to go to a board meeting, a prior engagement, traveling or went to play golf with a businessman, diplomat or judge – ridiculous!!!

Yes there are many problems with UWI Cave Hill and the only merit of Luke’s lawsuit will be to bring some attention to the difficulties faced by students at this institution.

Source: And Still i Rise Blog

The above extract was taken from a sister blog out of St.Vincent. Late last year when the 21 year old Robert Luke Browne won 2008 Rhodes Scholar for the Eastern Caribbean BU applauded the selection of the young man. In recent days the news broke that Luke has decided to sue the University of the West Indies (UWI) because he was awarded an Upper Second Class Honours Degree instead of the First Class Honours he expected. Feedback has come fast and furious from both sides on the issue. We decided to blog about the issue not because we have an opinion on the matter but because we are interested in what the BU family has to say on the issue.

Over the years we have seen the growth of the UWI with more and more of our young people gaining access to tertiary education. We acknowledge the fact that the UWI is a regional institution is fully accredited and has taken its place in the world of respected educational institutions. BU and some members of the BU family have been critical about some of the policy approaches occurring at UWI under the stewardship of Sir Hilary Beckles. It is no secret that the BU household has some concerns about the quality of the finished product being churned out by the UWI. The business community in the region has been very vocal about deficiencies seen in the UWI graduate when they enter the workplace. In recent days there has been conversation in the traditional media in Barbados about the lack of basic English skills of the UWI student.

As the commenter alluded to in the extract above, at minimum the law suit will drive debate on  current practices at the UWI. If Sir Hilary is the educator we hope he is, he should use the feedback to improve the workings at Cave Hill. Given UWI’s affiliation to St. Augustine in Trinidad and Mona in Jamaica those universities would benefit from the exercise as well.

We end by complimenting a few of the UWI lecturers and the professors who have been coming public on some of the issues affecting civil society in Barbados and the Caribbean.  A lot of the respect which the late Wendell McClean and Neville Duncan  would have garnered is linked to their willingness to channel ideas into the public space. We may not agree or have agreed with them on all the issues but the injection of views from the world of academia is a constructive exercise.

77 responses to “University Of The West Indies Sued By Rhodes Scholar Luke Robert Browne”

1. Dear Anonymous:

On August 30th at 12:21 p.m you wrote “Well Oxford has an impressive library and he can educate himself in any direction.”

But in the original story as it appeared in And Still I Rise blog one of Luke’s complaints is that “The exam was set on material that was not taught,was not in the recommended text and did not appear on any other examination past exam paper”

Luke’s complaint leads me to believe that he was way too narrowly focused, that he did not read widely outside of the set texts, and past papers, that he did not make full use of UWI’s libraries.

Oxford can have the best library in the world, but the library is completely useless unless students make full use of it.

Luke and other UWI students, and also students at the primary and secondary level need to read much more that set texts and past papers.

Reading the set texts and pass papers may help students to pass exams, but will do little to help them become well educated.

2. Great point J!

3. Thanks GP.

I have an undying passion for reading.

4. The body of knowledge which exist on the planet about anyone subject is wide, no one person can be expected to stab in the dark to acquire knowledge for the purpose of passing an exam. The level the playing field isn’t that why there is a syllabus?

5. If I am allowed to contribute, I would say (according to my information):

1. The challenge has nothing to do with the award of an Upper Second Class Honours Degree instead of a First Class Honours. It has to do with four (4) specific issues which may be examined on their own. It’s just that in the case of the student concerned the class of degree would be affected.

2. The overall effort may be perceived as a wake-up call for the University, and as having nothing to do with selfish desire. This may be a beginning (as one contributor said), and would encourage other students to challenge the system where their concerns are legitimate.

3. Would anyone who has contributed here say that you know the facts? Shouldn’t our opinions be shaped by the facts?

On J’s questions:

No other student that attempted the same questions were able to complete that exam.

The trouble with the question for which the student received zero is that the student was asked to identify certain themes and discuss them. It can be proved that, if nothing else, the student identified appropriate themes.

Consider this scenario: A two hour examination paper is set. The student is required to do three full questions. Should a four mark part of one of those questions take nearly an hour to complete? And should progress in that question depend on your completion of that four (4) mark part?

In a system already stacked against students, should a student tolerate breaches in Examination Regulations, or the Examinations Constitution?

These are some of the things that I am in a position to clear up. This is my insight on the matter.

6. In an exam lasting 120 mins with 3 questions to be done, the student should alot 40 minutes per question and stick to that format.

Answer the questions by using outlines.

In exams you have to think!…and quickly!

The most important thing in an exam is the students approach to the exam. How the student handles seeing the exam.

7. We are talking about a mathematics exam here. The possible and the impossible can be strictly determined.

8. J // August 30, 2008 at 3:18 pm

Luke’s complaint leads me to believe that he was way too narrowly focused, that he did not read widely outside of the set texts, and past papers, that he did not make full use of UWI’s libraries.
    A semester is 13 weeks, that’s all.

It is not like the old days when examinations were held at the end of a year’s study and you had time to read outside of the prescribed area.

In that 13 week semester a student does many courses, some completely unrelated … and then there are distractions!!

It is unrealistic to think that there is time to sit and read at leisure in your area of study and it is well nigh impossible to recover from a distraction!!

The good students I imagine struggle to complete the prescribed program of study, the not so good ones probably just struggle.

A lecturer would be totally daft to examine areas not covered.

9. We have to agree with the above post by John.

The 13 week semester is too fast paced to read widely.

Perhaps the lecturer was not daft at all but just deliberate in his intenntions. That is not really difficult to do. It has indeed been done in the past.

@ Insight
    I cant argue with you here because Maths is definitely not my thing!

10. All of us who have attended the uwi at any of its three locations knows that we have suffered injustices but felt that justice would not be served or that we would be heavily penalized so we kept our mouth shut.

I would give you example about the same ND who has been applauded in the above. The term that he was leaving Bim for the last he was teaching a massive class of over 100 students. His pending departure was unknown to us but for the entire semester he came to class about three times and because students came to class and he was not there they stopped coming.

I faithfully attended every session and one day he did come and he promised to take a register of the students the next session. Believe you me, he did not even come to take the register.

I loved him and respected him for his intelligence but we survive by doing the work entirely on our own. It was after the term and after he had drawn his salaries that we saw in the papers that he was returning to his homeland.

He still owe us those pay checques. I can give you several examples of others and I applaud those who have the courage to go forward.

Go, my brother!

11. Dear Eddie:

If a lecturer fails to turn up except for 3 or 4 times during a semester than the students have a right and a responsibility to complain, and the administration has a responsibility to listen and to ensure that the lecturer abides by the terms of his contract or to fire him.

After all the lecturers salary is being paid by the hard working, tax-paying parents of the students. The parents and the students have a right to expect value for money.

12. Queenam (formerly Queen) Avatar
    Queenam (formerly Queen)

Firstly, The above comment dated August 28, 2008 at 11:41 am was NOT written by me – the original Queen but by someone else. (The character of speech is different). However, the author is welcomed to that name.

Now – Luke R. Browne’s problem originated because he entered UWI at under the one system of grading and then another system was introduced about a year after. Some students have also experienced that same problem – some even discovered at the completion of their degree, that under the previous grading they, passed a course but under the new grading they failed and so had to retake the course. It is very frustrating for those students – but I guess, he is the only one so far who is complaining. I empathise with him. I really do not think he is being arrogant. Some students would like to read for their Masters as soon as their finish, some need first class honours in order to qualify for other universities programmes etc – for these reasons, it would be a big deal and a great hinderance to obtain anything other than first class honours. A first class honours qualifies you to read for your masters right after you’re done. With the others you need to wait for a year. Some post graduate scholarships are offered to first class honours only. So one should not assume that Mr. Browne was being arrogant at all.

13. Actually, the GPA system was introduceed in 2003 and Mr.Browne entered the University in 2005.

14. … ouch, ….. that must have hurt!!

15. But, Mr. Browne’s complaint is not with the GPA system. The statement by Anon is irrelevant

16. Actually it was meant to correct the comment of Queenam who suggested that ” Luke R. Browne’s problem originated because he entered UWI at under the one system of grading and then another system was introduced about a year after”.

17. Mr. Murray is the W.H. Brady Scholar at the American Enterprise Institute. This essay is adapted from his forthcoming book, “Real Education: Four Simple Truths for Bringing America’s Schools Back to Reality” (Crown Forum).
    See all of today’s editorials and op-eds, plus video commentary, on Opinion Journal.
    And add your comments to the Opinion Journal forum.

################################

Mr Charles Murray is also the author of “The Bell Curve”, in which he argues that blacks are intellectually inferior to whites based on academic grades. Funny that you omitted that aspect of his resume’

18. Cawmere inda Blood Avatar
    Cawmere inda Blood

um, nobody makes mention of Luke’s involvement in student Government, in fact he was president one year, is it possible that his failing the course was more due to distractions than UWI’s widely known imcompetences and injudicious nature? And one more thing, someone who shows up at the airport without a visa to go to the USA to represent the UWI can’t be too bright after all! He took a lot of heat for than in subsequent elections and that too may have distracted him from reading widely…

19. What became of this lawsuit? Does anyone have further information?

20. WOW. THIS LUKE BOY IS UNGRATEFUL AND SELFISH. HE NEEDS TO JUST GO RELAX AND LOOK A WUK TO KEEP HIM BUSY. APPARENTLY, HE HAS TOO MUCH TIM EON HIS HANDS.

21. You all need to chill. I amsorryfor Luke but he should have done somethinking before making such an uninformed move. At the UWI, A first class hounours Degree is awarded based on your GPA, not based on the receipt of a coveted Rhodes Scholarsh. He is smart, he should know this…therefore there might be less ostensible reasonsong for his actions. All tha best Luke…you might want to pursue a career outside of Academia…maybe modelling or somn.

22. this is not helping me with my home work

23. Hello!

I’m just taking a peek at your site!

I’m a New Yorker who is the daughter of 2 Jamaicans…

Your blog is a blast of fresh air considering the nonsense here in the states.

There is rarely a blog, in the US, where the posters are not vilely insulting each other over nonsense (especially race)…

The posters here, on this blog, are passionate about their ideas, YET, far from low-brow. There is an emphasis on the value of education and working hard! You don’t get that here in the states, and I am horrified that American students have gone over to UWI embarrasing themselves academically.

Your discourse might seem typical for your posters, but it is appreciated by the little Jamaican-American trying to make a change in the US.

24. Oh yes… and anything coming out of the American Enterprise Institute is absolute garbage…most notable Charles Murray…

25. This is not helping

26. Dr. Brian Charles Avatar
    Dr. Brian Charles

Stop the young people bashing! No wonder younger folks dont listen to what many elders have to say because of the wall created by bashing the young at every opportunity. I may not always agree with Luke Browne, but I disagree with your insinuation that he needs to work hard if he wants to get first class honors. Obviously the “basher” is not familiar with the intellectual accomplishment and rigor of Luke. Like him or not you cannot deny his discipline and intellect. This is an assessment independent of his being a rhodes scholar. Check out his performances in O levels and A levels. They are nothing less than extraordinary and nothing but indicative of a disciplined youth. Let’s get the basic facts straight on him and be fair in our criticisms.

27. If you (the writer) is a UWI graduate then you have kept to the tradition: grammatical errors and sub standard writing. By the way, not all UWI students are weak, just to make that point. I don’t have the stats but a large percentage are excellent and model students.
    I agree that we need to do better but we should not generalize when a few do not make the standard. Even in precision microchip manufacturing some chips have to be discarded.