The above cartoon appeared in a New York Magazine and has drawn the ire of the Obama family and supporters. The quick question we can ask: is this being satirical or a violation of good taste? The BU household is well aware that this is a presidential election year in the US and Barack Obama when last checked, appears to be the front runner. The magazine’s editor described the cartoon, called “The Politics of Fear,” as satire. The Obama campaign called it “tasteless and offensive.” They are many who will dive to the view that once in public life you have to roll with the punches. When the BU household saw this cartoon which was submitted by BU family member x, we were not impressed. After viewing the cartoon it is easy to come to the conclusion that some dark forces are beginning to fear the prospect of a Negro man entering the White House with his two girls with plaited hair in tow with, wife Michelle who has shattered the mould created by previous First Ladies.

A positive spin to the cartoon maybe that it will back-fire. All the US networks and various media houses will be focused on this story, and maybe the Barack machinery can finally get the message out that the man is not a Muslim.

70 responses to “Barack Obama & Family Labeled Muslims”

1. Bimbro…

What is uncivilised about my postings? Your delusions of grandeur?

2. Roscoe Jenkin Avatar

When Obama is ‘allowed’ to be elected President of the United States he will pander to the same masters as those before him. Yes there may be a few token ‘crumbs’ for blacks and minorities, but anyone who follows US politics and policies closely would notice the same patterns. Haliburton and other gun builders will not allow the war in Iraq to end in any hurry.

The US is a war-based economy and to ensure that the economy grows vibrantly, wars must be found and wars must be faught by the US. Obama will either tow the line or have ‘an accident’ on his way out the door.

-Roscoe Jenkins

3. Bimbro , I was about to say the very same thing that Roscoe said.
    If any of you really think a black man would ever become the President of the USA……then you all should be in Jenkins!!
    This is just another pipe dream. If you think Hillary gave him a hard time….wait until the republicans start.Even if he was to win the election (by some miracle), I doubt he would live long enough to be sworn in.
    I could really care less if the US president is black , white pink or green. They are all cut from the same cloth.
    The novelty of a black pres is nice but please…..get real.

4. I sorry but I know that persons are going to crucify me however, I dont have a problem with the picture I thought it was hilarious!

Moreover, I have forgotten about that picture already and am still hoping that Obama is President in 08!

We balck people need to understand that nothing comes easy and it makes no sense to say boo hoo hoo the white man hurt me again.

We can laugh at them as well remember Bush!

Come on give as good as you take and dont worry about the rest!

If you are that damn good who will remember a picture!

5. Don’t you realise that the average american is dumb? It makes no sense sweating the small stuff.

6. Tech and Hopi, we’ve really got to try and stop being so negative about the prospect of Obama winning the election. At this rate there would never be a black, US president which I’m sure we’d all love to see – especially, a successful one. Of course, what u say could be right and somebody could assassinate him but we have to hope for the best.

My reservation about him is that he simply, does n’t seem quite up to the job. I hardly, know what his policies are apart from withdrawing the troops from Iraq and why do they (both he and his wife), so annoyingly, keep applauding, THEMSELVES!!!!

Just makes them look silly!!!!

7. Bimbro
    Are you impressed with Mc cain? He appears to be a robot, dry, corny, lacks expression and most of all either forgetful or a liar. He just another George Bush. If Obama had a stronger candidate to run against, he would have to step up to the plate but the only thing going against him right now is his colour. It just shows america is still racist country. I’m supporting him for president.

8. The scout // July 18, 2008 at 4:52 am

Bimbro
    Are you impressed with Mc cain?

Scout, u cynically, ask if I’m impressed by McCain but I remind u that so is the vast majority of the American, electorate!! Do u recall that he’s leading Obama in the wider, public opinion poll!!!!

Scot, I’m afraid that I find, Obama, quite boring plus he looks as though he has n’t had a decent meal for decades!! What’s that wife of his been doing?!! I’m afraid, his eloquence does n’t over-impress me. As I’ve stated before u need more than that to be a succesful president and if he is elected but makes a mess of the economy, eloquence or no eloquence, Barbadians, too, will probably have to *hit themselves, because of Bim’s close allignment to the US dollar and for other reasons, so you’d better forget about his eloquence and hope he does a competent job!!

I’m supporting the better man and I, so far, have n’t heard sufficient of their policies to make that determination, yet!!

9. Tech and Hopi, I hear there’re proposals for constructing a super-mall in Bim. Is Barbados big enough to accommodate a super-mall and do Bajans have a sense of humour?!!!!

Lorddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Please doan tell David dat I said, dat!!!!

Furthermore, why do Bajans say Santapee when what they mean is centipede, pronounced sentapeed!!!!

It’s got nothing at all to do with Father Xmas!!!! 🙂

10. Dat’s why I staying outa Bim, boa!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Clearly, both Hopi and Tech, don’t know the answer to that profound, question but does ANY, Barbadian know the answer????

Also, why do Barbadians prefix every comment with, ‘I does’!! e.g. I does do this and I does do that!! These are profound questions and have deep implications for if we’re ever to achieve the aspiration of ‘first-world-county status’!!!!

11. Dave, for the sake of all our reputations, I wonder if YOU know the answer to these pressing, questions!!!!

12. Barbadians, why do you take so long to get anything done? Is that the manner in which you hope to attain first world status, or by continuing to keep quiet???? I guess if u pretend u can’t see it then it might go away!!!!

13. Also, why do Barbadians prefix every comment with, ‘I does’!! e.g. I does do this and I does do that!!
    —————————————————————————————-

It is called dialect Bimbro…….geez…for someone who claims to be Bajan at heart , you never cease to amaze me with your ignorance of anything Bajan.

14. Hey, Tech, stranger!!!! Welcome back, bro!!!! How’re u?!!!!

Mind u, Tech, I’ve got a dialect too, I suppose, but I don’t say “I does” before everything I say, and it most certainly, won’t assist u in your quest for first world status, or do u think it will?!!!!

However, that does n’t excuse your (B’dos’s) many other, failings!!!!

15. P.S. BTW, Tech, what do I have to do to receive a reply, from David?!!!!

No, man, I in gun do dah!!!!!!!!!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!!!

16. Tech, I’ve just watched a programme about V.S. Naipaul. Would u believe he did n’t mention the afro caribbeans of Trinidad, once! What a to**er!!!!

Are u a great reader, Tech? I find most fiction such a bore but, would u believe that one of my african girlfriends once told me that they had to study our famed, Bajan writer’s ‘In the castle of my skin’, when she was at school, IN AFRICA!!!! Consequently, she was even more fascinated by me, for being from there and I tried my best to live up to her expectations!!!! 🙂

Are u a great reader, Tech? Have u read either of the books becuase, although I’ve had the Bajan volume in my collection, for years, I have n’t got around to finishing it, yet!!

Is it worth my effort?? What’s he trying to say, really!!!

Oh, how I long fuh, Bim!!!!

17. Tech, or anybody else, do take your time and answer these urgent, questions whenever, some day, you should feel in the mood to do so!! I think it’s described as ‘caribbean-time’!!!! That’s the way to first world status folks!!!!

18. Obama was raised a Muslim. It doesn’t make any odds. He is a Zionist . The New Yorker could well have shown him in a skullcap – it would be more appropriate.

Edited – David

19. Rufus
    Hello. You just woke up? the elections are OVER. In another 33 days or so much maybe to you’re dismay the NEW Pres. of USA WILL be Barrack Obama. You want to do something about it? You think you can stop it? By the way he got the most vote for a president in recent years and the biggest percentage to. Also he was and still is the most popular man in the world. Poor thing, I’m crying for you. I didn’t know he was Muslim, since he’s too busy to do what you think he does to the Rabbi, you can fill the vacancy. Merry Christmas.

20. David

Would appreciate your removing the offensive post from “Rufus”