The above cartoon appeared in a New York Magazine and has drawn the ire of the Obama family and supporters. The quick question we can ask: is this being satirical or a violation of good taste? The BU household is well aware that this is a presidential election year in the US and Barack Obama when last checked, appears to be the front runner. The magazine’s editor described the cartoon, called “The Politics of Fear,” as satire. The Obama campaign called it “tasteless and offensive.” They are many who will dive to the view that once in public life you have to roll with the punches. When the BU household saw this cartoon which was submitted by BU family member x, we were not impressed. After viewing the cartoon it is easy to come to the conclusion that some dark forces are beginning to fear the prospect of a Negro man entering the White House with his two girls with plaited hair in tow with, wife Michelle who has shattered the mould created by previous First Ladies.

A positive spin to the cartoon maybe that it will back-fire. All the US networks and various media houses will be focused on this story, and maybe the Barack machinery can finally get the message out that the man is not a Muslim.

70 responses to “Barack Obama & Family Labeled Muslims”

1. […] admin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt The above cartoon appeared in a New York Magazine and has drawn the ire of the Obama family and supporters. The quick question we can ask:Is this being satirical or a violation of good taste? The BU household is well aware that this is election year in the US presidential race and Barack Obama at last check appears to be the front runner. The magazine’s editor described the cartoon, called “The Politics of Fear,” as satire. The Obama campaign called it “tasteless and offensive.” They are many who will dive to the view that once in public life you have to roll with the punches. When the BU household saw this cartoon which was submitted by BU family member x, we were not impressed. After viewing the cartoon it is easy to come to the conclusion that some dark forces are beginning to fear the prospect of a Negro man […] […]

2. Parody is an ‘art form?’ employed by cartoonists, playwrites, poets, etc., since time immemorable.

Nowadays things have gotten so grim that if you smile in public, – it may be an offence……

3. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

This will only be amusing when the New Yorker follows-up with a satirical cover showing John McCain sitting in the dock next to Bush, Cheney, Powell and Rice in a Hague War Crimes tribunal.

4. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Even if Obama was a Muslim or Jewish, would that be offensive to you Davy?

The depiction should be insulting to both the Obama campaign and those fighting to rid themselves of the parasitic, illegal, degrading and corrupt occupation of Mediterranean countries by soldiers who sole purpose protect big White Western business interests, by rape, plunder, torture and subterfuge.

5. As I understand it the New Yorker, generally seen as a liberal magazine, was attempting to parody the stories about Obama being a secret muslim and his wife as militant black activist by creating this absurd image, trying to point out that this is what the scaremonger are trying to do and to show that such a portrayal is ridiculous.

However, trying to convey such a complicated message is difficult in the best of times, and if that is indeed what they were trying to do, the attempt was ill advised.

6. Cynic // July 14, 2008 at 8:52 am

As I understand it the New Yorker, generally seen as a liberal magazine, was attempting to parody the stories about Obama being a secret muslim and his wife as militant black activist by creating this absurd image, trying to point out that this is what the scaremonger are trying to do and to show that such a portrayal is ridiculous.

However, trying to convey such a complicated message is difficult in the best of times, and if that is indeed what they were trying to do, the attempt was ill advised.
    =================================

Indeed this is the case. I just luv how the liberals and black democratic victims will want to view this. Obama in spite of all the GW-like gaffs and speaking issues can do no wrong for these people.

BU are you wanting to make a distinction between US media and the Barack machinery? They are one and the same.

Where were you and the Barack liberal apologist when another Black person was being depicted in less that glowing terms?

http://www.amptoons.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/03/danziger_rice.jpg

Oh uh forget um all depends on your party affiliation. Liberal never cease to amaze me.

7. yes, i agree with Cynic – it is a parody of an absurdity. but politically it could be quite risky – such nuance is easily lost in our fast-food-style news and media culture.

here is a question and answer session with the editor of the New Yorker:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/13/david-remnick-on-emnew-yo_n_112456.html

8. he is a stinking muslim too so what

9. what a fuss over nothing

10. […] hopozkw wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe above cartoon appeared in a New York Magazine and has drawn the ire of the Obama family and supporters. The quick question we can ask:Is this being satirical or a violation of good taste? The BU household is well aware that this is … […]

11. the other day there were the cartoons of the ‘prophet Muhammed’ – that were deemed offensive by the Muslims…. Satire and parody has been used and continues to be used all over the world and is laughed at by real people… people who have a sense of humor and joi d’vivre, etc/

we see it in the Nation newspaper – the cartoons by Winston Jordan et al.

The world consciousness has gotten so narrow these days most people can’t smell the roses.

Of course any fun poked at Obama will immediately be denounced by many black people… because they/we too have become so paranoid.

12. Does anyone remember seeing cartoons of the current U.S. President being depicted as a cross between the devil and a monkey? Not a very flattering image either – but he is a white man so no angst there. We see only what we want too see.

13. NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN

Duppy Lizard – bad comparison.

Obama and wife are not Muslim, flag-burning gun-toting terrorists.

While George W. Bush IS a cross between the devil and a monkey.

14. Duppy Lizard // July 14, 2008 at 12:52 pm

Does anyone remember seeing cartoons of the current U.S. President being depicted as a cross between the devil and a monkey? Not a very flattering image either – but he is a white man so no angst there. We see only what we want too see.
    =================================

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blfunnypicturesbush.htm#monkey
    ————————-
    A few from the GW/Monkey theme. Liberals like to have fun at others expense.
    —————————-
    http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushmonkey1.htm

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushmonkey3.htm

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushmonkey5.htm

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushmonkey9.htm

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushplanetchimp.htm

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/images/blbushdevolution.htm

15. DUPPY LIZ – YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN

16. Allow me to put it another way then NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN – If it were Senator McCain and his wife depicted on the cover of the New Yorker as Muslims etc. would you have a concern? Probably not, you probably would not even be aware that the cartoon existed.

17. […] Obama & Family Labeled Muslims paul soglin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe above cartoon appeared in a New […]

18. Cynic, I too agree with you. Let’s face it, there are people who seek out the negative no matter the form. If it were a cartoon of McCain & Cindy we could expect the same. I think people need to lighten up.

19. Humour can at times be like advertisements, being so “subtle” that the message is lost in transmission. Due to Obama’s name and its similarity to Osama’s until he proves himself, he will always have that terrorist baggage.

It should not be so – but so it is – in politics you have to take the pleasure as well as the pain. This cartoon will do him no lasting harm. Neither will the museings of Jessie Jackson. Middle America will not be concerned about Jessie Jackson’s opinions, and the blacks who still pay attention to what he has to say, know that he had his turn.

They now want a different message…one of hope for the future.

As is always the case, there are those who think Obama is not that “hope”; true maturity of mind allows us to give them free rein to a contrary opinion.

20. Why could’nt Barry Blitt portray Obama and wife as a christian, jew, hindu, buddhist…? There is one poignant issue present here and that issue is being a MUSLIM. Today all the transgressions of the Christians and Jewdases are blamed on Muslims. Why? Right now the Muslims are sitting on wealth that the filthy vampires want to get total control of, therefore they created false flag operations (9/11) and London 7/7 kill a few western sheeple who are too stupid to realise the game and blame it on the muslims, hence we’ll get the blind goyim to hate all muslims. We’ll parade them on your tv, cartoonize them and even demonise their religion and their religious figure head. We’ll even make the men and boys have anal and oral sex with each other. “May the Almighty have mercy on us.”Cartoons are not just for entertainment, there is a hidden message and oh how effective such a cartoon when you use a “black” man and his black wife and align them with muslims. The two most hated and reviled groups on this planet today. But if Barack Obama was really a Man For All Seasons, a man of Virtue and Integrity he would stand tall not only with zionist AIPAC before whom he prostrated, but with the Black Men whom he castrated and with the Muslims who today are being tortured and let the whole world know that there is absolutely no crime in being a MUSLIM. But its the faith of these same MUSLIMS that’s kicking that arse out of these lying, criminal, corrupt, thieving, scheming, blood-letting, satanic maggots.

21. NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN

Duppy Lizard and Centipede – But McCain and “Cindy” are Muslims.

22. politically incorrect Avatar
    politically incorrect

Apart from all the “grandstanding” and “ole-talk” the graphic on the front of The New Yorker is obviously a political under the belt stab………believe it or not even possibly put there by the Clinton camp.

Nothing, absolutely nothing in politics, especially with regards to the potential POTUS is sacrosanct.

It will have the effect desired. Most people today have no discernment they are like sheep led to the slaughter. Do no independent research, depend on what is “dished” out to them.

Hopefully Barack will rise above this as he has so many other attacks.

23. Oh geez, how many unflattering portraits of George W. Bush have the liberal media painted in the last eight years – only a gazillion? But GWB is a WASP heterosexual male, of course, he should take it. Now that one of the infallible untouchables is on the doorstep of the White House all of a sudden we must all genuflect at the high alter of political correctness. Btw, I too was offended by the original fist bump. What is the world coming to!

24. For all those who would use parody to compare the message in the Obama cartoon featured to cartoons which poked fun at Bush on whether he was an idiot etc is missing the boat. Parody takes on different meaning given the prevailing landscape we would suggest.

25. Is it six or a half dozen? It just depends on how you want to look at it.

Are we going to have a world war over every difference of opinion?

Are we condemned as fools, these days, because of a different opinion?

You, Mr. David, have the opinion that Thompy is going to be the best Prime Minister we ever had. Can’t you be allowed to have that view without somebody attributing insidious and querulous motives?

Must we, these days, live out our lives in shallow water, barred from diving into the depths?

26. Centipede

Actually, six IS half dozen, irregardless of how you look at it.

And often folk are rightly condemned as foolish for having the WRONG opinion. Lots of times in the contemporary world , another opinion is really just junk.

One example is the one you cite viz “You, Mr. David, have the opinion that Thompy is going to be the best Prime Minister we ever had.” Folk with that opinion have delusions of grandeur.

Thompy will be a successful failure (a deliberate oxymoron for emphasis) and will preside over our first one term government.

What best Prime Minister we ever had, what?

27. Dear David, at the end of that long introductory, article you finally, hit the nail on the head.

“and maybe the Barack machinery can finally get the message out that the man is not a Muslim”.

If he’s, so far, failed to do this who else can he blame but himself and his advisors. He has invited the ridicule upon himself.

28. @Centipede

Where did we say that bit about Thompson beinging the best PM? Anyway you are correct on the other score, we now live in a world where you must be labeled or else!

29. The principally, objectionable aspect of this cartoon IS N’T that Obama is depicted as a terrorist, IS N’T that his wife is denoted as a terrorist but IS that his wife is wearing an AFRO hairstyle, and offense which is known to be unforgivable by the vast majority, of black women because it’s too, hard for them to do. I must be exceptional, in managing mine ok.

However, my sympathies are with the black women. I gun straighten mine, today.

Now I know why black women don’t wear their hair that way, it’s in order not to be mistaken for terroris, and who can blame them.

30. “The New Yorker defended the artist and its cover, which illustrates an article titled “The Politics of Fear,” as a satirical look at the scare tactics and misinformation being used to derail Obama’s campaign.

“The magazine noted that two serious articles on the candidate’s political education and rise in Chicago accompany the piece.

“The burning flag, the nationalist-radical and Islamic outfits, the fist-bump, the portrait on the wall? All of them echo one attack or another. Satire is part of what we do, and it is meant to bring things out into the open, to hold up a mirror to prejudice, the hateful, and the absurd.

“And that’s the spirit of this cover,” a New Yorker spokesman said in a written statement.”

31. An old man, a boy & a donkey were going to town.

The boy rode on the donkey & the old man walked.

As they went along they passed some people
    who remarked it was a shame the old man
    was walking and the boy was riding.

The man and boy thought maybe the critics were right, so they changed positions.

Then, later, they passed some people who remarked, ‘What a shame, he makes that little boy walk.’

So they then decided they’d both walk!

Soon they passed some more people who thought they were stupid to walk when they had a decent donkey to ride.

So, they both rode the donkey.

Now they passed some people who shamed them by saying how awful to put such a load on a poor donkey.

The boy and man figured they were probably right, so they decide to carry the donkey.

As they crossed the bridge, they lost their grip on the animal and he fell into the river and drowned.

The moral of the story?

If you try to please everyone, you might as well…

Kiss your ass goodbye!

JUST A LITTLE HUMOR FOLKS – BUT IT DOES TEACH A LESSON!

32. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

One can almost see what the NewYorker was trying to do but if I was Obama, I would denouce it as offensive. He has been battling falsehoods from the day he beat Billary and Edwards in Iowa.

I am very impressed with his level of organisation and also his oratorical skills. Would he have to battle against all these issues if he was of a clearer persuasion. He is probably battle weary already and he hasn’t formally accept the nomination. He first had to battle the people in Iowa. Then he had to battle Bill Clinton who first said his win in SC was merely because he was black. Then he called him a fairy tale inter alia. Then his reverend decided that he wanted to sell some books so he immasculated him with his interviews and sermons.

Because they can’t find any dirt on him, they call him a terrorist and muslim. They search his passport records to see if he visited any muslim countries. Hillary Clinton wondered out aloud when asked about the length of the primary, she mentioned Kennedy getting assassinated in June. They questioned his patriotism because he didn’t wear a flag pin on his lapel. They called his wife militant when she said “this is the first time that she was proud of her country” which was taken out of context in speech . Jesse Jackson wants to castrate him because he feels that he talks down to black people and finally the New Yorker.

I was wondering again if he was white and was in washington for 25 years if he would have to endure this much nonsense. Maybe but maybe not.

The New yorker cannot be citing satire when they KNOW that in a recent interview of a lady in tennessee, she said she voted all her life for a democrat but she will be voting for McCain because Obama is a muslim.

There is always a point to which you can take certain things and my thought was that the New Yorker went way pass that point.

33. I am very impressed with his level of organisation and also his oratorical skills.

Unfortunately, the post of president requires greater ability than oratorial, skills which he’s yet, to prove that he has. He’s made a mess of this affair and the decision to dress in arabic attire may be proof that he’s not really all there.

34. Unfortunately, the post of president requires greater ability than oratorial………..
    —————————————————————–
    Oh ..really Bimbro???
    G.W is into his second term and I wonder if he ever went to school, have you ever heard the shit this man says??

35. You would never see Obama or hear him for that matter, behave or speak such ignorance.
    Have a laugh Bimbro..this is free!!

36. Hi Technician. Bimbro is a lonely man. He tries to be the devil’s advocate just to get people to keep his company via the blogs. If we say that the world is round, Bimbro will argue it is square just for argument sake. That’s the man call Bimbro with ‘r’ being silent or transparent.

37. Bimbro….

According to your reasoning “the principally objectionable aspect of the cartoon” is that of black women wearing their hair in afro therefore you’re gonna get a “gun and straighten yours today.” Where should I send my condolences? On the other hand, I am no fan of
    Obama , but I’ve been reading your postings for a while now and your 3 postings on this piece have convinced me that unlike the rest of us, you do not have a high gas bill because your face is so close to Queen Elizardbeth’s arse that everytime she poops her methane you inhale. Its very evident in your every keystroke.

38. Hopi….Hopi….Hopi……Stop…..RLMAO!!

39. Technician

I am gonna miss shim (according to TMW) the tears are flowing as I key and I can tell that you have a heart and I know you’ll miss shim too.

40. Oh ..really Bimbro???
    G.W is into his second term and I wonder if he ever went to school, have you ever heard the shit this man says??

Thanks, Tech. I’ve watched the video now and, shame on you!!!! Anyone could make those mistakes!!!! Tech, come on, if they assembled a string of the mistakes u or anybody else has made, perhaps over the past ten years we’d produce much the same result, unless, of course, my mate Tech is perfect, which nobody is, Tech!!!! – cep. me, of course!!!! 🙂

That’s right TMW, I’m so lonely I’m crying here, and this from somebody who submits more posts to blogs i.e. you, than most people!!! Look, doan mek me laugh, do!!!!

Hopi, u too?!!!! Look, wha I do tuh invite so much ugh u hay dis maning?!!!! But, Hopi, I dun fuget bout dat cartoon a long time ago, now ur forcing me to read the article, all over again!!!!

No, Hopi, I said: “therefore I GUN straighten mine, today as I should n’t like to be mistaken for a terrorist, either! The main point of the response was to share my black sisters’ lamentations about having to straighten their hair because combing their natural hair is so hard. I feel real, sorry for them. I could, of course, suggest an afro-comb but that might be presumptuous of me, which I shoud n’t like to be!!!! 🙂

Obama , but I’ve been reading your postings for a while now and your 3 postings on this piece have convinced me that unlike the rest of us, you do not have a high gas bill because your face is so close to Queen Elizardbeth’s arse that everytime she poops her methane you inhale. Its very evident in your every keystroke.

You should try, poetry, Hopi!! Now, on to the serious discussion!! BTW, I should be honoured to serve in the monarach’s household, but, most certainly, not in that role!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Hopi….Hopi….Hopi……Stop…..RLMAO!!

Now, Tech, please…. I have always, been extremely, respectful towards you!!!!

BTW, Tech, who’s shim?!!!!

Now, Technician, u would n’t by any chance have some instinctive, hatred of Bush would u?!!!! Of course u do, Tech, go on and admit it!!!!

41. Last para. above should succeed first response to Tech. Don’t know what happened there!!

42. Please don’t misconstrue me guys. I don’t have any conceptual, disapproval of Obama. I keep wishing for him to PERSUADE me that he’s the right man for the job, he’s simply, so far, not quite succeeded in doing so, as with the majority of America’s population, so quite who’s out of step here, do u think, u or me?!!!! And, as for his wife, well, forget it!!!!

43. No, Hopi, I said: “therefore I GUN straighten mine, today as I should n’t like to be mistaken for a terrorist, either! The main point of the response was to share my black sisters’ lamentations about having to straighten their hair because combing their natural hair is so hard. I feel real, sorry for them. I could, of course, suggest an afro-comb but that might be presumptuous of me, which I shoud n’t like to be!!!! 🙂

Now even the whites at ‘The New Yorker’ and elsewhere, have observed the irony of this situation to the point where they’ve included it in their cartoon. Further, ironically, it’s only black people who’re unable to appreciate the ludicrousness of their plight!!

Why is that, I wonder?!!!!

44. @ Bimbro…….I am not perfect sir……just well read and edumacated (RLMAO).
    I can guarantee you that it would take decades to find that amount of English language mistakes with me or the average Bajans………you really never heard about our ‘old school’ English teachers here?
    GW would have benefited tremendously, had he been schooled here.
    Fool me once………….(LMAO)

45. Tech, I surmise in respect of GW that people hear what they want to hear!! On first ascending to power I was n’t at all impressed with him and thought the Yankees had made a terrible mistake but I’ve been impressed subsequently, by his eloquence and segacity. I think u remember the confused, parts of his speeches which u want to becuase of your committed dislike of him. If u were able to take a more dispassionte view I think u could appreciate he’s more astute than people commonly, give him credit for.

Tech, in any event, it’s not his eloquence which is important but what he does in office. You could never hope for a more eloquent, person than Tony Blair yet, to me, he’s one of the greatest devils who’s walked on the surface of the planet, and not because of Iraq, re: which I support him, wholly!!

It’s a matter of having the right prioritites, Tech. Hope he and his successor manages the recession competently, or we’ll all be sorry!! That’s what’s really, important not his eloquence!!

Thus ends my lesson for this hour!!!!

46. Tech, and ur Bajan bros, you’re very keen on Obama becoming president but I remind you of this caution; who do you suppose it’ll reflect upon, negatively, if he’s a failure!! That’s right, black MEN, like u and me, not even so much black women, so don’t listen to the women and exercise your judgement, judiciously!!

Somebody once described me as an oracle but I was too, modest to acknowledge the compliment, however, in view of my teachings here, I might have to revise my opinion of myself, upwards!!!!

Here, endeth my third lesson of the day!!!!

47. Discourse in micro economics, coming up!! Macro economics to follow!!!!

48. Aside from its disparaging connotation towards Obama, I think its a brilliant, cartoon!! I’ve waited for a very, long time to see a black, woman wearing her natural, hair!!

49. Bimbro…

“Oracle, teachings here, revise my opinion of myself, upwards.” Delusions of Grandeur. “I’ve waited…………black woman wearing her natural, hair!” Told you, you’re too close to “YRH QE.”

50. Hopi, Tech and I invariably, conduct our consultations in a civilised, manner. May I suggest that u do the same, please!!!!