Italian-restaurant

We all remember the incident which embarrassed the previous government of Barbados when fourteen Indian workers were allowed to work on the new Kensington Oval without work permits. It has been one of the great embarrassments which came out of the Cricket World Cup project. There was also the other incident which occurred at the Four Seasons construction site where Chinese labour was allowed to work before their work permits were processed. In both cases the immigration department of Barbados was heavily criticized for the lack of leadership. The BU household continues to hold the view that the Immigration Department allowed itself to be unduly influenced by the government of the day. To this day we are not aware of any disciplinary measures which were taken as a result of the two incidents.

The memory of the two gaffes by the Immigration Department continues to highlight the open door immigration policy of Barbados. Some BU family members have labeled us xenophobic simply because we continue to highlight the large numbers of people who are being allowed to enter Barbados. Of concern to us is the possible social fall-out by not having a planned immigration strategy towards managing the very visible ethnic population which has grown at a fast rate within the last ten years in Barbados.

It is against this background that we quote well placed sources which has identified questionable immigration and labour practices at a leading Italian restaurant on the West Coast of Barbados.

It is our understanding that a well established Italian restaurant on the West Coast of Barbados has been employing Italians who enter Barbados as visitors to work as hostesses, bar staff, chefs and managers. The simple ploy used is for the visiting Italians to leave for one of the neighbouring islands when their visitor permits are about to expire. When the Italians return to Barbados they are given additional time to remain on island. Two ‘Italian employees’ have been granted their fifth extension for the year so far. It appears that many of the Italian restaurants in Barbados circumvent the work permit requirement using this simple approach.

The troubling matter about what we have reported is the role of the Immigration Department in this affair. How wide spread is this issue of illegal labour in the established businesses across Barbados? We have tended to focus on the construction industry, domestic help and prostitution but what about the ‘well-respected’ establishments which have been able to co-op the local officials to play the game? Note that we stated co-op and not corrupt!

If a game is being played who are the individuals winning? We urge our hardworking and no-nonsense Minister Maxine McClean who is responsible for immigration matters to investigate this matter with haste.

298 responses to “Do we have a Hole In Our Immigration System?”

1. As Vacuum Cleaner knows ~ it’s quite impossible to talk of 6, 7 and 8 to someone who only knows from 1 – 3.

Another day in the week.

2. Centipede:

Time to lace those boots and get going!

3. Did anyone hear Taylor, BHTA’s president? He advocated that ALL the remaining beach land should be alocated tp tourist development. What a stupid,selfish remark. No wonder all these foreigners coming in. Somebody got to put the foot down. One day we would wake up and see a different National Flag and Anthem.

4. Propoganda Press

You got some nerve.

When you wanted to push your propoganda amd use this website -Barbados Underground – to get sympathy and to get your views out – then we the commentators were ‘wonderful’.

However there are some of us on this site who cannot be bought,and are independent thinkers.

I noticed that as soon as your site started getting complaints (it seem from indo guyanese) about your connections to BU,and how BU is racist and whether you agree with the sentiments on this site – then you started to change your tune.

So now you are telling us that whitey mess wid we heads because we don’t mind illegal italians but we won’t let the guyanese come here and stay illegal and work.

I can read,and from what I am reading most of the persons with the exception of a few out of touch ones,are saying something is wrong with our immigration system and all illegal persons should be sent back.

Your response seems to typify that of most guyanese here,that is,bajans are so stupid that they can be used by these guyanese and then change their tune when it suits them.

5. The Scout
    Negroman respects your views and we are on the same page with this issue.
    I know Ralph Taylor personally and he was always a fool.He is an anti-black black.He never has anything good to say about black people.That man is a fool of the highest order.He is one of the black stooge that the whites in Barbados are using to push their programme.Nothing he says surprises me.
    I agreed with Yardbroom that the bashing of Barbadians workers is fast becoming a pasttime of many.I believe that a select group of people who has no no regard for us blacks want to carry us back to wicked days of slavery.It will never happenIt appears that these people want us to be subservient to white people.They wnt us to be well train house negroes.Those days are over Centipede & Bajan Exile.We are not educating our children to be slaves to white people anymore. We are too educated and sophisticated for that.Errol Barrow and the other Barbadian leader with eception of that idiot Owen Arthur placed too much emphasis on education for us to rersort to the role of servants to the rich and famous.Centipede and Bajan Exile the progress we made as a people have you all envy and jealous with rage.
    Centipede and Bajan Exile I am convinced from you all writings you all are white.
    NB Why no response to my earlier comments on black businesses in Barbados.

6. Wrap up tight! I coming for you tonight, afore dawn when you sleeping real hard… feel my sting on your face… get some antihistamine ready and ascertain you have the number for the ambulance…

7. I am ready you coward

8. Did the Italians that opened that restaurant Italian Guyanese?

9. Hello People:

The truth always hurts!

You all are more riled by Centipede and me than the subject matter.

Sorry to disappoint you folks, I am not white!

Shocked to believe that one of your own could be honest and not prejudiced??

10. On a related note we read on page 60 of the Nation newspaper today the following:

CONDRINGTON SCHOOL having received no suitable responses to our advertisements for the positions of-

History Teacher
    Physical Education Teacher
    Science Teacher
    (1) One PYP Room Teacher

It is our position to submit an application for work permits for non-nationals to fill these positions.

Persons objecting to the granting of this work permit should respond in writing to:

THE Chief IMMIGRATION OFFICER
    by Friday June 20, 2008

11. Bajan Exile:

You say that you are not white. Well Mister Man, no black Bajan refers to blacks as “negroes”. You did in your earlier posts in this thread. That means you are East Indian and probably from Trinidad or Guyana. East Indians are the only people who still refer to blacks by that insulting derogatory term “negro”. In North America it is considered a racial slur and if you called me that, I would haul your rass before the Human Rights Commission. Get Lost.

12. Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) – Cite This Source – Share This

Ne•gro Audio Help ˈni groʊ – Show Spelled Pronunciation[nee-groh] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation noun, plural -groes, adjective
    –noun
    1. Anthropology. a member of the peoples traditionally classified as the Negro race, esp. those who originate in sub-Saharan Africa: no longer in technical use.
    –adjective
    2. of, pertaining to, or characteristic of one of the traditional racial divisions of humankind, generally marked by brown to black skin pigmentation, dark eyes, and woolly or crisp hair and including esp. the indigenous peoples of Africa south of the Sahara.
    3. being a member of the black peoples of humankind, esp. those who originate in sub-Saharan Africa.

Online Etymology Dictionary – Cite This Source – Share This
    Negro
    “member of a black-skinned race of Africa,” 1555, from Sp. or Port. negro “black,” from L. nigrum (nom. niger) “black,” of unknown origin. Use with a capital N- became general early 20c. (e.g. 1930 in “New York Times” stylebook) in ref. to U.S. citizens of African descent, but because of its perceived association with white-imposed attitudes and roles the word was ousted late 1960s in this sense by Black (q.v.).
    “Professor Booker T. Washington, being politely interrogated … as to whether negroes ought to be called ‘negroes’ or ‘members of the colored race’ has replied that it has long been his own practice to write and speak of members of his race as negroes, and when using the term ‘negro’ as a race designation to employ the capital ‘N.

13. BTW Pat:

Is Negroman white too?

Does he cast racial slurs upon himself?

14. Can we try to lift the debate?

15. Haven’t read all thes posts but Ralphie used to live up by me, in a rent house too. Poor great poppit. Think he too good to speak to the neighbours.

And indeed Bajans never use the term Negro. I have spoken Bajan English for 50 plus years and I have never heard that term used by a Bajan. I also learned Bajan English from my parents and from my grandparents born 1879 and 1886, died 1957 and 1969 and and their peers and I can state unequivocally that the term Negro is unknown in the English spoken by black Barbadians.

However I have heard the term widely used widely used by Guyanese, especially by Indo Guyanese. I am not sure however that the intention is alway derogotory. I may be used in much the same way as black Bajans use the term coolie man to refer to people of East Indian descent especially used to refer to those men who work as itinerant vendors. I rather suspect that both terms are frequently used carelessly as descriptors without any intended insult.

16. Hey Centipede: Please get off the backs of the day nursery operators. Too often the work done by women (yes especially the work done by black working class women) is devalued. Let me point out to you that hardly a business in Barbados could remain open without the consent of the day nursery operators. Maybe they are not making big money, but they are making an invaluable contribution to the success of Barbados’ economy.

So “no” I will not let you get away with making their work seem like a small thing.

Any time I see you belittling the work that women do you can expect me to sting you right back. As a metter of fact I think that you owe the bloggers an apology for making such ignorant remarks.

Be off.

17. If people are circumventing the immigration laws then certainly Immigration needs to put a stop to that.

Barbados did not “BECOME” by accident and it did not “BECOME” without the efforts of the Barbadian people. It is Barbadian people and not primarily foreign money which made Barbados. The foreign money came and continues to come because foreigners realize that we have a good thing going here. After all they could choose to spend their money in places where they can only drink imported water, where the people are illiterate, where they will be imprisoned for drinking alcohol, where mothers are forbidden any rights over their children, where their property can be taken withut compensation, where they have to hire 24 hour security guards at home, where the people do not speak English, where paramilitary goons turn up at their doors in the middle of the night.

But they choose to come to this lovely rock we call home. I wonder why?

18. The foreigner can take their money to places where they cannot get emergency surgery?

They can take thei money to places where the blood supply is not safe. Don’t get me started now. I am a blood donor to all of you. It takes effort, discipline and hard work to donate for 16 years and to maintain’s one’s blood in a donatable state. And no in Barbados we do not pay our donors, unless 250 ml of juice counts as payment.

The foreigners can take their money to places where their wives and children cannot live, because of warfare, crime, poor educational systems, or poor quality of life. If you doubt me ask how come so many wives and children of wealthy Hong Kong men live not in Hong Kong, but in sub-zero Canada.

I hope that all those people who are cursing Bajans as lazy and good for nothing and not good enough to live and prosper in Barbados are beginning to get the message.

19. Bajan Exile: If you could not run a one door shop properly perhaps you were a bad employer. I trust that you are running a highly successful business and that you have excellent employees now that you are in exile.

20. J, talk yuh talk! CH we hope you are able to interpret?

These comments emphasize why Barbadians must insist that our open immigration policy is slammed shut as soon as possible. People who are allowed to enter Barbados should be based on the value they are bringing to our country. In the main it should be skills-based. There is always room for economic and political refugees but like anything in life it MUST be managed.

What is so hard about this to understand?

21. Tell Ralphie that if he and the tourists are nice to us then we will be nice to the tourists, and if not NOT.

However I don’t think that we can ever be nice to Ralphie.

Somebody better tell Taylor quick that if all the remaining beach land is allocated to tourists there won’t be any tourist industry left for him to pompasett over and he better hope that some of his beloved tourists let him board the last flight out. ‘Cause if Bajans lose too much of the beach to tourists all hell will break lose and tourists hate going to hellish places, so no job for Ralphie.

Barbados is ours. We ain’t moving nowhere.

22. Although mind you I do love Guyanese. I hope that nobody thinks that I am anti-Guyanese. However I agree that immigration should be skills based including artistic skills.

And I don’t want to hear any foolishness about denying the children of migrants access to health and education. Denying basic healthcare is downright dangerous especially in the case of childhood illness and other communicatable diseases. Denying education is just plain foolish. We do not want the children of migrants to grow up to be uneducated marginalized Bajans. We want to turn them into good well educated Bajans. We want them to forget their foreign-ness.

23. If persons had went through the correct channels, I dont think that most people would have had a problem J. However, when you have people who can come and manipulate the system and do as they like. Then we know for a FACT! That there is an immigration hole and a very big one at that.

I feel threatened, when I hear stories from persons who have had many nasty expriences with persons who are foreigners. Therefore I cannot agree with all of your statements. Please dont tell me not to think like that because i already do.

The foreigner who came when I was going to school (years ago) were very different, and myself and some have become great friends but you see these ones now Oh lord have mercy they are something else and dont tell me you dont hear the stories.

All the time ya hear stories from ya father, mother, brother sister and friends.

It is about time that persons stop try to maginalise us in our country. This foolishneess must stop with immediate effect. Barbados is for Barbadians first. Bruce golding said it for his Jamaicans. Obama states it, In bahamas they live it. so therefore I am not for no foreigner coming and manipulating this shitstem.

GO THROUGH THE CORRECT CHANNELS.

Then I can understand they argument but right not it is like a sieve.

24. No free education and free health services for illegal migrants.

Persons who work and pay NIS and have paid NIS for a certain period of time and not just one or 2 contributions should then benefit from the system.

However we should not encourage persons who are coming here on work permit e.g. as a carpenter,cane cutter, agricultural worker, etc to bring their entire families with them and then get free education and all of their families get free health care.

Remember when bajans went to Panama and bajans went to the states and Britain in times past,they usually went either with one parent – the father- or both parents – and children were left with granparents and Aunts to rear them.

In those days these bajans were not going to other persons country and being a drain on it ;like the guyanese are in Barbados – yet even though these countries were big enough to absorb their families they took one step at a time and went through the proper procedures.

It is the same stupid,lazy bajans that these foreigners just love to hate who are paying for these services.

Have you seen any of these rich white business owners offering to pay the cost of educating the children and the cost of health care for the string of dependants of these illegal guyanese,jamaicans,italians – whoever ?

NO,NO,NO!

They just want to benefit from cheap labour and don’t care if the bajan worker is pushed out of the process and his family broken up.

I bet you if these guyanese and chineese and other ‘eese’ were required to go to war on behalf of barbados before they could be allowed to come and work and live here – a lot of them would not be rushing to ‘my sweet barbayduss’.

A lot of these people who argue for free health care,free education,let every body come and live – seem to me to be people with developed,rich country mentality trapped in a resource poor developing country reality.

I am watching Ms Mcclean and prime minister David Thompson carefully to see when they are going to speak to us on this matter.

25. JC,Scout & Negroman

I don’t mean you because I know you ain’t easy,however I am wondering what do black bajans do,or how will they react if treated in a hostile,Racist manner by an Indian storeowner,or guyanese indian agricultural worker or even an illegal guyanese indian – right here in their homeland Barbados?

The reason I am asking this question is to project to bajans what 2009 according to Mac Fingall ‘no bajan’ calypso world or even 2015 will look like.

Do you understand that while now we are the majority race population and are holding key,strategic positions in this country that in another 20 years – if so long – this may not be the case?

What if becuse of CSME we find ourselves with a large number of non national teachers and Prinicipals and we discovered that our bajan children are being placed in the back of the class and are hardly given attention,then we find that these non national teachers are having a closed group of after school lessons for the non national children – and then lo and behold most of the children getting Barbados scholarships were the children of non nationals?

How would black bajans deal with that?

What if we could get none of the better jobs you are qualified for because they are filled by non nationals and so you are forced to work for an indian store owner who every day shouts at you and calls you nigger fool,and underpays you while your uneducated guyanese indian workmate is promoted ahead of you and bosses you around.

What is that you say?You will go home?

But what if at home you have a father who is a mason now unemployed because a non national got his job,and your mother a maid only getting 3 days a week on minimum wage because a guyanese worker is also employed and there are 3 other persons in the home ,plus your old grandmudder whose pension has now been cut in half because of the pressure on the pension systems because of non nationals who came in illegally and were granted citizenship now claiming for government pensions?

What if you decide to go to the Labour Department but when you go there you find an indian labour officer who takes the side of your indian storekeeper boss,and you decide to complain to the minister of Labour but you find that he is a Me Sarwansingh – another foreign import.

Finally after all of this – you decide : ‘I am going to see the prime minister who is my parliamentary representative – but guess what?

He too can’t help you because his wife is an indian and she happens to be your indian boss cousin’s, sister – in law?’

Can’t happen you say?

Look around again and tell me if 10 – 15 years ago or even around the time when Mr Barrow died we would believe that barbados would detiorate to the place it now is?

A word to the wise is enough!

26. Anonymous
    You have put it so clearly. That is what scares me. It is happening so gradually yey progressively that only if we look back 10 years would we see how much we are slipping as a bajan society. In another 20 yrs the horse would have bolted and it would be too late. We have to do something NOW. This is what I’m advocating. Stop talking ; start an ACTION PLAN NOW

27. You really painted a dismal picture. Anon. But hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm it is a TRUE picture.

But I’ll say this we are wathching you ya no hu dont think we aint.

Let me tell these readers a true story.

My father knew this lady, she said she was a Grenadian and she wanted to get to know him better.

My father lives by himself so therefore she thought he was easy prey. Any how, she called him 3 weeks after meeting him and told him that she wanted some help. She came by his house and told him a story stating that immigration had told her that they were not giving her any more time in the country. She asked my father to marry her. My father told her he wants to marry for love and not for money (ole fraud i think she just didnt have enough ha ha ). Furthermore, my father asked her what she was so upset about since she was going home.

She wasnt pleased about this at all she left in a rage. Four months later my father saw the same lady and she ran up to him at the light and power company allowing him to know that dont mind he could not help him she found someone who could. She went on to say that her three children two boys and girl now live here.

Now couple months later this lady came home and found her daughter and husband lying down as naked as them born after a good romp in the sack

the lady went to the child care board and kick up pist. some persons reading this would say serve him right. I agree, but for total different reasons. Coz he had no right marrying that woman if he didnt love her, ole ass.

The child care board told him he had to leave since the woman cannot be at work at nights knowing full well that he might trouble her daughter. So he had to leave his beutiful board and wall house and live at his mother.

When they went to court the woman got EVERYTHING so now he bout the place talking bout she aint no good.

But that aint all the woman bring down she children father! Now bechrist I woulda burn down that house. I dead serious.

So I understand what you are saying. But I know something else I am not going down without a fight so the Guyanese and other foreignese will know

OVER MY DEAD BODY.

28. I forgot the woman was a GUYANESE !

29. Anonymous
    The scenario you outlined is not farfetch but it is the reality that will be facing Barbados in the not to distance future.Check it we have a Minister of Indian extraction.The most popular Minister who is highlighted in the media every day Esther Byer Sukoo.Minister David Estwick wife is a Guyanese Indian.Abdul Pandor is the chairman of National Housing Corporation
    That despicable man Peter Harris Guarantted Consumer Insurance fame is the chairman of Combermere School.Mr Chatrani is a member of another Board and a Mr Singh is a member of The Film Censorship Board.The Indians are stategising and putting themselves in key positions
    Anonymous your scenario is going to be the reality in Barbaos fairly soon.
    The influx of Indo-Guyanese and other foreign nationals will continue unabated because the government is powerless to do anything about it.They hands are tied.All of our goverments are prepare to pamper to the rich financiers that finance their parties and neglect the masses of people.
    We are in a hopeless state.

30. leave immigration alone. they are proffesionals please let them do their work and stop criticising them. they are the best.

31. Prove it Mr. James Alex. coz i aint see nothing that say are the best.

Did anybody read what that little boy who sat the 11 plus exam say.

He said that his favourite batsman was Chanderpaul, and that he would like to do something for more for his religion. ha ha well well well. What nationality was that little boy. I thought bajan, but I guess I was wrong.

The only persons who give up their culture are black people. Check the jews, the hindus, all of them they blatantly refuse.

Well I am a balck person and, I am not giving up my culture not for shite.

Take time and look up the word deracinate.

32. @ Anonymous i think you’re a lunatic. and i mean that in a good way. a good lunatic

“You got some nerve.
    When you wanted to push your propoganda amd use this website -Barbados Underground – to get sympathy and to get your views out – then we the commentators were ‘wonderful’.”
    for the record i never thought you were wonderful. and i don’t ‘use’ barbados underground…i comment on this site like everyone else. and contrary to your un.popular belief we don’t have to agree on anything and definitely not everything

“However there are some of us on this site who cannot be bought,and are independent thinkers.”
    i try and buy you. you come cheap then cause i didnt even make an offer

“I noticed that as soon as your site started getting complaints (it seem from indo guyanese) about your connections to BU,and how BU is racist and whether you agree with the sentiments on this site – then you started to change your tune.”
    comrade i live in a country where more than half the population is east indian. i got people in my family who are married to east indians. i live with east indians, i catch the bus with east indians…it’s a daily reality and i dont have probs with east indians as a whole
    our site has writers who are would you believe it, east indian!!! it’s a Guyanese blog remember and no our tune has not changed. we are opposed to the policies of the govt and ruling party of Guyana. that’s never gonna change

“So now you are telling us that whitey mess wid we heads because we don’t mind illegal italians but we won’t let the guyanese come here and stay illegal and work.”

big whitey is in your head. talk to dr phil he’ll tell you. or find an Africa shrink he definitely will tell you. you’re talkin madness. you want italian illegals but not Guyanese! like i said you’re a good lunatic

“Your response seems to typify that of most guyanese here,that is,bajans are so stupid that they can be used by these guyanese and then change their tune when it suits them.”

again you’re a lunatic with your blanket statements. i don’t know what Guyanese do to you, but do what you think is best for Barbados but right now looks like you’re caught on the wrong side of the fence….i’ve never been to flying fish land or any of the caribbean islands. i prefer travelling and visiting my other family members in central and south america. when i ready to live on an island all i gotta do is catch a boat down the essequibo.

33. Propoganda

I willrepeat my assertions I made against you:

People who cannot put forward their defense without getting nasty and personal show their lack of intellectual depth.

However to the discussion at hand:

1)I repeat my view that you came on this site on another post (the Roger Khan one) telling us about all those young black men who were being beaten up and unfaired by the security services and the Jagdeo government.

You had my sympathy.

2)You kept posting and advancing your views until you started getting complaints that you were aligning yourself with Barbados Underground – and that BU was a racist site.

3)You agreed with the writer and said that you have noticed that yourself.You also sought to distance yourself from BU.

So tell me after all this why are you still posting here and now coming on the site and insulting bajans?

You need the exposure right? but you can’t help bashing the bajans every now and then right?

If that is your MO,then you are welcome to it – just try being a little honest though – or is that an unknown thing for guyanese?

34. comrade anon you do read i take it

i’ve said from the beginning some of the people on this site [u being numer uno or close] are nuts
    i’ve also said that cocaine roger khan and the ppp govt of Guyana have committed many crimes against Black people in Guyana and Guyanese as a whole
    don’t take low blow and pot shots at Guyanese but it seems to be in your DNA
    we can publish volumes on Bajan behaviour or lack thereof in Guyana…but that’s not our interest

distance ourselves from Bajan Underground? are you on some substance. we read blogs from all over the Caribbean, Africa and elsewhere daily to know what’s going on

do you want us to kiss your arse? like i said we dont have to agree on everything and last i checked this is an open forum as is our site. you want people who don’t kiss your arse on every point to stop posting on the site?

“we think some of the folks over there are misguided and mis.informed in their assaults against East Indains and Guyanese migrations/immigration & et cetera but hey!”
    http://propagandapress.org/2008/06/05/does-propaganda-press-support-racist-east-indian-bashing-at-barbados-underground/

in the event that we are banned and banished forever say hi to mia mottley for me and i’ll see her at GuyExpo 2008

35. Illegal immigration, whether using a marriage certificate or other means is wrong. Everyone knows that. But let us not forget that some migrants are legal and make great contributions to this island. Where did Olga Lopes Seale come from? Would any Bajan deny how hard she has worked for the children and poor in this island.

36. How long ago did she come from Guyana. Ages ago Kay. The ones coming now are disgusting!

37. We are not misinformed about indo guyanese Propa press. from your own black brothers and sisters they tell us how you indo guyanese treat the blacks. So I know we are not misinformed.

Every way we go all the stories that we hear about Indo guyanese and they attitudes. If they come and try to live peaceful and harmful so be. But dont come and bullshit the system.

Propoganda press wheel and come and again treat your own good. Change your management system.

38. So maybe ages ago some may have been disgusting too. Some now may want to settle and integrate and contribute. Don’t judge people on their nationality, race or religion. This is 2008 we are past that.

39. “If they come and try to live peaceful and harmful so be. But dont come and bullshit the system.”
    harmful?
    you might want to wheel an come again JC lol

comrade we live in Guyana remember that 🙂 there is racism and ill.treatment of Black people in Guyana by a lot of the clowns in power. however we will not make blanket statements about the entire East Indian community as most of them are in the same hole most of the Black people of Guyana are in…why else would East Indians go to Barbados if they were all living large in Guyana? ask ricky singh next time u see him swashbuckling in bridgetown talking about how great Guyana is. he’s not lived here for 200 years

40. I am glad the true nature of propoganda press has come out.

I have noticed all these guyanese living in guyana – whether it is sister baby,Propoganda or whoever all point to Mia Mottley when we speak out against the guyanese behaviour in Barbados.

I get the impression from them that Mia said something to them when she was in Guyana that seemed to have given them hope for what I trust will be a never materialised Mia prime ministership.

41. You know as I ponder on where we have come in this country with our relationship with these recent guyanese immigrants,I ask myself how have we arrived at this point.

In the 60’s and 70’s and even 80’s we had st lucians,grenadians,dominicans ,some guyanese and later in the 70’s and 80’s the vincentians.

We as bajans enjoyed these other caribbean nationals.We looked forward to the st lucian ladies sellling us their mangoes and plantains and in the meanwhile busily chatting to each other in their patois dialect.

The st lucians were never pushy,they were not devious,they didnot try to ensnare the married men and break up bajan marriages.

We didnot see the dominicans,st lucians and vincentians turning up at our doorsteps in droves and scamming our immigration system by marrying bajans to get bajan citizenship or turning up with false passports again and again after they were deported.

We didnot see them bringing their sister,aunt,uncle and grandmother to Barbados to deplete our health services and educational instituitions.

Then we had the vincentians in the late 70’s and 80’s who came and worked in the canefields,mixed well with their bajans workmates and then MOST IMPORTANTLY returned home at the end of their work period.

Now what we have are the scum bags,the prostitutes,the racist illiterate indian unskilled masses,the criminals – the unwashed and the unwanted guyanese.

All the goodwill we had for guyanese who came in the 60’s and 70’s has been now used up.

We are tired propoganda press,we are tired minister maxine mcclean,we are tired prime minister Thompson – we are tired and overwhelmed with these large number of guyanese -Unskilled,Unemployed and dependant masses – putting severe stress on our housing,our health systems,our schools,our water supply,our garbage disposal system.

We are just plain tired,and we are close to our breaking point!

Then we have some people who have the gall to tell us -we should keep on welcoming these people – and forget about our discomfort – because after all they are our caribbean brothers and sisters.

Why is it that Antigua,St Lucia,Trinidad,St Martin and other countries are fed – up with these guyanese and are getting them out of their countries?

Yet Jagdeo the guyanese president and others continue to accuse only Barbados about deporting their citizens – why?

Because they know only too well that we got Jokers as politicians here in Barbados- But I suggest to these politicians here they better be careful what backlash they are causing.

42. Mia Mottley will never be Prime Minister of Barbados NEVER NEVER NEVER.
    WE DO NOT NEED THOSE TYPES TO LEAD US.
    Indo-Guyanese because of their intrinsic nature will not integrate into any society.I will say it again Indo-Guyanese are clannish and racist.Those traits are being manifested in Barbados daily.These hungry,starving despicable,economic & political refugees are coming and want to dictate to us in Barbados that we must accept and make rooms for them.
    Indo-Guyanese must introspect themselves and ask the question why that the Indo-Guyanese are despise throughout the whole of the Caribbean.Indo-Guyanese ask yourself the question why you are not wanted in any Caribbean country.Indo Guyanese remain in your country and build your country.Live in unity with your black Guyanese counterparts.Stop the race hate against us blacks because we are not going to take it and will respond in any manner we deem neccesarry.Blacks in Barbados and indeed the Caribbean are not stupid and we recognise that Indo-Guyanese do not like Black-Guyanese and if Indo-Guyanese do not like Black Guyanese how can Indo-Guyanese like blacks in the rest of the Caribbean. We blacks are not stupid.
    Indo-Guyanese are not prepare to come and work hard and make the neccesarry sacrifices to improve their lot.They want to come and scheme,tricked,rob and resort types of scams to survive.That is why we are rejecting them.
    The Vincentians,St Lucians,Dominicans and other Caribbean came into Barbados and worked hard and we accepted them.They did not come to tricked us,scheme or rob us.They made a significant contribution to the Barbados economy.The Indo-Guyanese are doing the reverse.
    STAY OUT OF BARBADOS

43. Kay, these people dont give up you dont get it do you. These people dont come to live in peace. They come to take what ever piece they can get out of you.

And if they can get all sweetie. You dead.

I have children from a person with lucian heritage so dont think that I am being mean. but look around you Kay and you will see that they are out to take over;

44. World Citizen Avatar

I really wonder why immigration laws exists, all of we are immigrants, the only people that are not immigrants and the people that lived in Africa, where human kind first existed. So until we smart up and open all the doors, illegal stuff will continue as each own look out for each other. … And no matter where you got in the world today you will find a bajan.. so while illegal stuff should not be ignored, we need to really look and see where we should be putting our energies.. If you wanna live in china or Africa, or New Zealand or Jamaica, you should be able to

45. I have read many discussions both here and on BFP about the Guyanese in Barbados and up till now have stayed out of that discussion for fear of being lableled xenophobic. Now that several other posters have opened Pandora’s Box by voicing some “trueisms” about the situation, I will add my thoughts.
    The vast majority of Guyanese coming to Barbados add little if anything to Bajan society. The single women are coming to Barbados with one thing only in mind and that is to catch and marry a Bajan man and they do not care who they hurt or destroy in the process. They are ruthless in their pursuit and do not differentiate between single men and married men with children. Guyanese women are masters at using all their their feminine wiles and “talents” to ensnare their victims. I say “victims” because ultimately, the men who are foolish enough to marry these women, wind up with empty pockets and divorce papers after the required two year period for residency status.
    Guyanese families who come to Barbados work hard but they work hard only for other Guyanese and send all their money back home to Guyana. Young Indo-Guyanese men will take up with Bajan girls and get them pregnant but when Mummy and Daddy find out “you are not marrying some black Bajan girl yuh hear and you will deny that baby is yours yuh hear?”
    What are they contributing to Bajan Society? They want to reap all the benefits that Barbados has to offer them but do not want to put back into that society that has alowed them to prosper.
    Having said all that, and I suppose I will be accused of stereotyping, there are people of Guyanese decent that have assimilated and contributed to Barbados in significant ways but these people are from a different time and generation in the immigration of Guyanese to Barbados. Guyana is a failed state and the people that are coming now are poorly educated, accustommed to having to survive thru any means including crime, fraud and deviousness.

46. My fellow Anonymous (7:12 posting)

I want to urge you and others who have stayed out of this debate because they don’t want to be labelled xenophobic – please,please don’t buy into those people’s trap who are trying to shut us up.

It seems only those ‘blind as bat’ politicians and people who are benefitting from this influx who are cramming down our throats – that we got to welcome these people.

Chris Sinckler was the last straw for me – but I know he and the others are going to be taught a strange lesson if they don’t straighten up.

Anonymous you made a very profound statement above – you said that’ guyanese who come here work hard,but they work hard for their fellow guyanese’

I would like to add to that -‘ indian guyanese who come here and work hard generally do so for their own indo guyanese or a white person’.

They love anybody with fair skin.

If you can discern people’s attitudes – you will notice that indians have avery passive but sullen attitude when working for a black or dark skin afro barbadian.

The reason being that indians can’t bear the thought that they have to be subservient to someone ( a person of african descent) that indians think are beneath them.

Look at the indian women – no matter how ugly,greasy,unshapely or uneducated they are – they feel they could lure any black man – no matter how superior in social status the black man is to her.

She feels her long,oily hair and indian status is enough to lure any stupid black man.

If we notice everytime David/BU put up a post on this subject of immigration there are a lot of contributors – some who regularly speak on the issue – while – more importantly – there are new ones like this last poster above who share the sentiment of most of the commentators but don’t want to be labelled racist.

I say forget the labels – speak your mind and set yourself free.

We can only overcome if we operate with one voice and one mind.

47. I know Ralph Taylor personally and he was always a fool.He is an anti-black black.He never has anything good to say about black people.That man is a fool of the highest order.He is one of the black stooge that the whites in Barbados are using to push their programme.Nothing he says surprises me.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Taylor is on his third white wife. The people who work with him say he is not a nice person. He emplyed some desperate DLP big wigs when ruthless Arthur was in power . This has given him the inside track to be Tourist Board chairman and talk foolishness. John Boyce, Ken Knight, Doug Hoyte worked for Taylor. He hired Instant Millionaire Muscle Mary Lynch before he became the worst tourist minister in history. Taylor’s agenda is about Taylor.

48. I am hearing 2 entirely contradictory arguments here

1. Indo Guyanese do not assimilate, do not wish to assimilate and will never assimilate.
    2. Indo Guyanese women are coming to Barbados to marry Bajan men.

But yet I have always thought that marriage was one of the surest ways that immigrants assimilate.

Can some of the posters on this blog explain to me which view is right. View 1? or View 2? Because both cannot possibly be right

49. And I am not too sure that I buy the argument that Barbadian men are being fooled, tricked, coerced, purchased or sexed into marriage by Indo Guyanese women

You mean these same Bajan men who would not marry the mothers of their 8 adult children; or any of their 4 child-mothers cannot say “NO” to an Indo-Guyanese woman?

Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

50. […] and excited that manniram the goat cancelled GuyExpo 2008. this means we won’t be seeing mia motley and her Bajan delegation this year. well at least not for GuyExpo. we’re sure mia will find […]