Rising Oil Prices

Source: Wikipedia:Brent Spot

… the days of being able to ‘choose’ the most economic solutions are about to end. (Crude now $128.88 per barrel) Common sense now dictates that countries and individuals are best advised to seek energy options that are under their political control. Our world is just one major terrorist (or critical natural) event- from total oil crisis

When the reality hits us- of NO oil available to us (for whatever reason), the attractiveness of an independent source such as wind or solar will become much clearer. The idea of looking to external alternative sources of energy (Trini gas, hot rocks etc) is also short sighted. This is just another trap just as cheap oil has been. Our future will be one of high cost energy – what ever the source. Making decisions on energy alternatives at this stage based mainly on capital costs is short sighted indeed….. This will all become clear next year.

Comment submitted by Bush tea on 20 May 2008

The BU family is familiar with the fact that we use images to to paint a thousand words. We have written exhaustively on the failure of the Barbados leadership over the years to secure the future of Barbadians by shifting from the comfort zone policy of 100% reliance on oil.

We have been harsh in our critique because unlike other islands and countries, Barbados is renown for its excellent infrastructure, and particularly a thriving solar industry. Barbados has been further hamstrung in the quest to develop alternative sources of energy because leading commentators in Barbados have become hinged to articulating about the obstacles and consequently have failed to energize our small nation to be solution seekers. Now at the eleventh hour we hear discussions about what BL&P needs to do, what the government needs to do, we hear the private sector suggesting they are about to bring the PV solution to Barbadians. Why couldn’t we have had this discussion earlier? We now live in an era where contingency planning is par for the course. We have elected to join the world and become caught up in the tensions caused by the games being played for oil.

In our opinion this is all happening 6 years too late.

We have come to agree with Bush tea that to rely on the traditional business model to support an alternative business solution based on the accepted accounting ratios is illogical. Even if the price of oil were to drop to below $100.00 at some point in the future. historical behaviour shows that it would be false comfort. The trendline which we have inserted in the image above shows that between 1999 to the present the price of oil on the world market has been steadily rising. Consumers who are reliant on a product which reflect a price behaviour similar to that shown above, they would have shifted to a substitute product. The argument offered by Peter Wickham that most Barbadians cannot afford to retrofit their homes because of the size of the capital outlay involved is a pedantic one. We could have at minimum have made it mandatory 6 years ago that new structures, both private and commercial should have included an alternative energy option in the design.

BU want to challenge the media in Barbados to challenge the status quo on this important matter. We are willing to work with the local media to pursue this matter in the interest of our country. The stale view that the blogosphere is not a place which can be constructively engaged is passé.

70 responses to “Not Too Late For Barbados To Enact Alternative Energy Plan, Media Must Awake From Slumber”

1. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Again I say drop the pegging to the US $ first and foremost.

2. It IS too late David.

…ask MME to check what is currently happening to Alternative energy stocks… and at our ‘brilliant best’ we will need years to get going.

New demand generated by all of the ‘brilliant’ thinkers who only now see the need will wreck havoc on the prices of these items… not to mention availability and quality.

…but i guess we still have until the fat lady sings…

3. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) is again reiterating that fundamental social, political, material and financial change, and for the better, must be undertaken in Barbados to make sure that the country is able to withstand the worst effects upon it of any severe dysfunctioning in the current neo-liberal, elitist-driven global social, political, economic and financial system. And, at the same time, too, we the people of Barbados must maximumly capitalize on those opportunities that are available within this system for helping us to achieve greater levels of production, distribution and ownership of wealth and income in the country.

As it stands now, with DLP and BLP Governments over the years ABSOLUTELY FAILING to lead the way in the necessary and fundamental restructuring of our social, political, material, financial system – and thus their leaving the way open for the achievement of greater levels of national progress and development to be totally undermined at any stage of serious dysfunction in the world economy – it must mean that the masses and middle classes, the entire production and distribution systems of this country and the prospects for greater long term national progress and development, will seriously and tremendously suffer at this stage from the worsening fall out associated with the USA economy being in a state of weakness, from the direct effects of the so-called prices of many commodities and services on the international market reaching very obscenely high levels, and from some of the consequences of many kinds of investments and resources being significantly diverted into China, India, Brazil and some other places away from traditional economies like the USA, UK etc.

Again, here are some things that a future PDC Government shall do to make sure that Barbados achieves greater levels of national progress and development in the long term –

1) The Aboliton of TAXATION;

2) The Abolition of Interest Rates;

3) The Abolition of Motor Vehicle Insurance;

4) The Abolition of Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar;

5) The Creation of a regime of Institutional Loans for Productive Purposes being made Non-Repayable;

6) The establishment of a Hire Purchase Relief Fund;

7) The establishment of a regime whereby Imports of Goods and Services into Barbados are zero-“priced” at ALL points of entry;

8) The creation of a regime whereby Exports of Goods and Services are paid for in local currency/”prices”;

9) The establishment of a dispensation whereby ONLY Barbadians and Barbadian entities shall own the Lands of this country;

10) The creation of a regime of rent control for social, residential, commercial, and industrial properties.

4. Bush tea it is never too late. Hope lives eternal. We agree with MME that man’s ingenuity to conquer problems for our survival must not be underestimated.

5. You foolish idiot.

Does the media in any country enact legislation?

KYRH.

6. Straight talk Avatar

Unfortunately, David, most of man’s ingenuity is being spent on inventing new excuses for the astronomic price rises, perpetuating our comfortable state of denial.

Governments cannot bring themselves to say cheap energy is finished, and we don’t know what it will cost next month, next year, and we have no plans in place to cope with this catastrophe.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea

I agree with you.

The world is fast heading to the rise of the AntiChrist who will rule the whole world.

He will appear to have all the solutions to all the problems that the world is facing.

We find that politicians in no country in the world can solve the problems of that country, whether it is because they have not the will or for other reasons.

IMF has failed the UN is a failure NATO is a faiure WHO is a failure. Man has failed.

Globalisation is here in preparation for the one world government to be led by Antichrist- the man of sin, and son of perdition. Everything is in place : microchips that can hold all a persons financial and life information, bar coding, GTS.

But he will fail too.

So then Christ will return and defeat him at Armageddon. Then Christ will rule with an iron hand for 1000 years to show how it should be done.

All the signs indicate that HE IS COMING SOON at the Rapture FOR THE SAINTS.

Maranatha! Even so come Lord Jesus!

8. Seems like Georgie agrees with the JW faith? They have been saying all along that man can’t rule man!

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

No anotherview I am definitely not a JW , but the Bible does teach that man is not capable of ruling even himself.

10. Banned by choice Avatar
    Banned by choice

David, hardly 25 y.o makes more sense than the rest of you. Truly age is only a number. What Christ partners? You guys should speak in terms of interests and not scripture, and that is the advantage that the 25 y.o’s have over you. They are not romantic any more. Peter Wickham should be proud. Co-Education sorry, more accurately put, a bisexual educational system has killed romanticism in sexuality, the most basic, in politics and religion (t’ank de Lord).

11. For those of you who don’t understand the connection we are making to the media. Take note that the Fourth Estate if it is to play an effective role in our society it must take its advocacy role seriously. Whether the media likes it or not it is an opinion shaper.

12. Straight talk Avatar

I think gas is far too cheap,

Come at me if you think I’m wrong.

But have a very good argument.

13. Straight talk Avatar

Hippo crate:

What a convincing argument.

I am now a firm believer in Liz Thompson’s La-La land.

Can I now be nominated for a Nobel Prize?

14. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Georgie Porgie,

Doan mek me laf… ROFL (… too late)

“We find that politicians in no country in the world can solve the problems of that country, whether it is because they have not the will or for other reasons.”

Dat is a sign dat we in the last days? LOL… you fuh real Georgie?!? Have politicians EVER solved the problems of ANY country?

When tin and copper became scarce in the 12th century BC, did politicians develop the solutions that would usher in the transition from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age?
    When timber became scarce in the 16th century, did politicians develop the coal technologies that replaced it?
    When whale oil became scarce in the mid-19th century, did politicians develop petroleum technologies?
    When cholera ravaged England in the 19th century, did politicians identify the cause or design the sewerage and sanitary systems that would eventually eradicate it?
    … did BBE commission a politician for project Ark?

Look… the best we can hope for, are politicians who see their role as facilitators… politicians that develop, empower and make proper use of technical expertise in their societies.

“All the signs indicate that HE IS COMING SOON at the Rapture FOR THE SAINTS.
    Maranatha! Even so come Lord Jesus!”

… Engineer and author Richard Bube responds to this all too pervasive defeatist diatribe, more eloquently than I ever could:

“When concern with eschatology calls for a withdrawal from human responsibilities, it ceases to be faithful biblical exegesis and instead becomes cultic. Watching and waiting for Christ’s return must always be coupled with our call to be salt and light today.”

15. Keith Headley Avatar

Let’s take this discussion to a higher level.

Let’s talk about solutions.

If I were David Thompson (and I know he has much bigger problems; like persons in government still loyal to another party – determined to see him fail) here’s what I would do about the energy problem.

First I would tell BL&P you can have your St. Lucy plant’s generator – you just can’t power it from oil generated steam. Madness the BL&P engineers will say, and who qualified YOU to change our design, and do YOU have a better idea?

Yeah, I do.

Let’s start with my qualifications. When I was six years old my father and older brother were discussing a problem with car engines. I didn’t understand what they meant and asked them to explain.
    Valve springs are major loss of power in car engines and if there was a way to eliminate them then you can get back 5 to 10 % of a well tuned engine’s power.

I still have the design of my first desmodromic (that’s what they are called – I’m not the first one to invent one) valve. When I drew him the design (after ten minutes of thinking) he was surprised. He said it would work (if you don’t know my dad was Professor Headley – an inventor. I’m good, but he was better) and was impressed. If you don’t know it’s VERY hard to impress my dad.
    I was, to use his word, “chuffed”.

I discovered that day I had another talent. I am the product of a very talented father and a very talented mother. If you don’t my mother, just because she isn’t famous doesn’t mean she’s not brilliant.

At five my Juilliard trained music teacher told my parents she wanted me to become a concert pianist – because you rarely see such talent.

But talent means nothing without application. And I must say I have applied myself much more to my second talent.

Music may inspire people for generations, but it can only do so much when you’re starving in the dark.

So here’s my solution.

First you need a large linear electric motor. It’s purpose is to compress a large spring.

Now I’m going to leave out lots of details – any engineer can work them out. The IDEA is what’s important. You build a small one to prove it works (which it will) and build a large one or large ones.

The purpose of the spring is that it be released slowly – and enough energy be stored in the spring to drive the St. Lucy generator for about a month. That’s a very large spring ( or lots of smaller springs).

And where are you going to get enough power to get ANY linear electric motor to compress such a spring?

Actually the problem is TOO much power.

Here’s what else you need.

A helium balloon, a Van der Graaff generator (relatively small, portable, expendable) and some fibre optic cable.

The balloon carries the generator to the sky during a rain storm. The generator ‘s positive charges ensure the balloon will be hit, and the balloon is connected to the linear motor.

The fibre optic cable connects the balloon to anything you don’t want destroyed. You also provide a safe path to ground.

There you go. One gigavolt of electricity. If one strike of lightning is not enough, you just leave the balloon up longer.

One month of electricity not enough? More springs. A years worth is freely available.

And there you have it. All the electricity you’ll ever need.

Have I left out details? Sure. Control mechanisms, safety issues, etc.; but c’mon people, we all know we could DO it.

Will we? Never.

I trust that this and all other million dollar energy saving ideas will be safely buried.

What’s the second thing David Thompson should do? Nah, I think I’ve proved my point. we’ll never do anything so radical , even for FREE (basically) energy.

Bye for now folks.

Yours (disgustedly)

Keith Headley

16. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Keith,

The peak power of a lightning strike is about 1 million megawatts, but the average power over the duration of a strike is about 500,000 megawatts and the average lightning strike lasts for about 0.03 seconds (http://thunder.nsstc.nasa.gov/primer/). This means that the average energy available in a single strike is around 4,167 kilowatt-hours (500,000,000 * 0.03 / 3,600).

According to BL&P (http://www.blpc.com.bb/annualReports.html#2007) Barbadians used 941 million kilowatt-hours in 2007. This would suggest that if we could overcome the technical and economic challenges (the development costs of something like this would probably be in the order of several time Barbados’ GDP), and convert lightning to electricity with 100% efficiency, we would require around 225,840 lightning strikes per year, or 619 strikes per day. That is nuff rain storms.

Maybe lightning harvesting could be developed, but development costs would make the combined cost of all past public projects in Barbados (both the good and the bad) look like chicken feed, and the amount of electricity harvested would be relatively small… personally, I think a better concept would be harnessing the lightning’s energy through the electrolysis of water to produce hydrogen and oxygen rather than the use of springs, but the cost per unit of useful energy still makes this prohibitive.

…did I say chicken feed? strike that, we need a new metaphor for ‘cheap’ 🙂

17. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

… strike “the development costs would be in the order of several times Barbados’ GDP”… sometimes I get carried away 🙂

18. It seems like the Weekend Nation Newspaper has got a new columnist. And it seems like this new columnist has replaced Mr. Ezra Alleyne and his column – Issues and Ideas. Well, if it is so that the Nation has contracted another new columnist, then we salute this new columnist who would happen to be no stranger to the people and public of Barbados, Mr. Clyde Mascoll, former parliamentarian, former DLP Opposition Leader and BLP government minister. The aforegoing statements notwithstanding we in PDC are left to conclude based on certain happenings that Mr. Mascoll is in fact a new columnist with the Nation Newspaper!!

Nevertheless, too, owing to Mr. Mascoll’s own unique way of doing many things – which he sometimes likes to call leadership – and quite unlike many other columnists who, when they would have first received the privilege of writing in a newspaper column, would properly have introduced themselves, in their first instalments as new columnists, to the newspaper reading public in Barbados and outside, saying what issues and matters they intended mainly to write about and the affairs they intended to tackle in the column, Mr. Mascoll himself did NOT relish the opportunity to appear to be good at doing anything of the sort in what was – for us – his first outing in the writing of a mainstream newspaper column – a column which nevertheless he has given such a very wonderful title: WHAT MATTERS MOST, nor – in this first initial instalment – did he grasp the opportunity to appear to be very forgiving of much of the public whom he probably still believes would have given him a hard time over his switch from the DLP to the BLP and over the Hardwood Housing Factory Inc Scandal. Moreover still, as gauged from the tenor of his first piece, one could see the very defying way to do it!! “Just jump right into the profound issues at hand”, said Mr. Mascoll perhaps, “it is such that matter most”, “substance matters more than form”, “I am first and foremost an academician, I am no politician nor any public relations specialist” Furthermore, but what is somewhat disturbing is that, even without such a formal introduction, he has guaranteed that he has failed to concretize the impression of some people that he is a new, wiser, and very sagacious columnist and one who is – in this forum – about to use his pen and powers of analysis to NOT ONLY criticize and commend many things economic and financial in this country and beyond, BUT ALSO TO OUTLINE a new and better social, political, material and financial order for Barbados. But, judging from the content of this first contribution, this is and will be the same Mr. Clyde Mascoll that we have come to hear and observe in previous parliamentary and public debates and discussions. The same euro-centric Clydie!! Whew!!

Very importantly, though, Mr. Clyde “dont worry about me” Mascoll should have also taken the time out – in this initial instalment – to apologize to the particular reporter, the newspaper and its supporters for the blunt and discourteous handling of the said reporter and the newspaper, when in declining an offer to have interview with them at his home in Maynards, St. Peter, on January 18, 2008 , he told them brusquely NOT TO WORRY ABOUT ME, and how the newspaper lacked “integrity”, apparently because we was not sought after by the newspaper during the last election campaign (Saturday Sun January 18, 2008). How ironic it is that he has a column today in the said newspaper!! Perhaps, he should in the near future let the people of Barbados know – via his column – what has caused him to be so dramatically NOW engaging them ( the Nation Newspaper) and them engaging him!!! Also, no doubt about it, there are two persons in Barbados that are certain to feel the wrath of Mr. Mascoll, the Prime Minister and Mr. Peter Wickham, the latter of whom he is going to be at serious loggerheads with more often than before.

Also, this so-called economist, who once used to joke and brag to us in PDC that he was NOT ONLY the Opposition Leader BUT ALSO the political and intellectual leader of the DLP – and who used to regale us with the tripe of how his party – the DLP again – had far more votes in the 2003 election than we ever had and that he was NOT therefore going to leave his party – the DLP – to join us, perhaps should have seen it fit to tell us where he has been ( we almost said hiding) since his election loss on Jan. 2005 – in this first tranche of his column. Our understanding is that he has been, et al, concentrating on his Doctorate Degree. At least doing such a Degree is enough to help him take refuge from the circumstances surrounding the very potentially damaging allegation that the then Economics Affairs Minister (now the Opposition Leader), in the last general election, gave money to persons in the St. Michael North West Constituency to help make poor Mascoll lose (which did happen) because, as the allegation further went, he would have been seen as a threat to her leadership of the BLP, if he had won the seat. We feel that that very crippling allegation is another thing that should have mattered most to Mr. Mascoll in his first writing, as that such still deserves a necessary public response from him to it, as that such will continue to haunt his post-election image of being a real real professional, and as that such will continue to help fuel the curiousity of some Barbadians as to what is the kind of relationship that really exists between himself and the Opposition Leader, and esp. since in the aftermath of the last election the said Opposition Leader announced on the 30th January that Mr. Mascoll would be the Director of the Research and Policy Unit of the BLP. Could NOT he also tell the pulblic of Barbados what he has so far been researching like how he researched JAWS?

Anyway, having stated all the above, we in the PDC would still be wishing Mr. Mascoll well in his newly found capacity and do look forward, from this distance, to be engaging him on a variety of issues and matters of national and sub-national importance. Peace and goodwill, Clydie.

19. Inadvertencies: line 9, paragraph 3 – he instead of we; line 8, paragraph 4 – Jan 2008 NOT Jan 2005; line 11, paragraph 4 – insert NOT between “is” and “enough”.

20. Keith Headley Avatar

Two things MM.

You are initiating the strike. In other words the balloon is the positive streamer.

http://www.howstuffworks.com/lightning.htm

I guess-timate (there is not enough hard research on lightning). That you could get a 5 second strike at 800,000 megawatts.

Remember, you are eliminating up to a FIVE MILE air gap! That’s a LOT of power.

So you need to multiply (in my humble estimation) your equation by 100.

Also at 6 strikes needed per day (lets say 10 for efficiency loss) why would you stop at 10?

If the lightning keeps striking at regular intervals (say every few seconds) why stop? Once it’s working I’d take 10,000 strikes – as many as I can get until it’s (the energy storage device) is full.

I have personally counted over three hundred strikes during a two hour storm (lost count at 315) – so even if I need 2500 strikes a DAY rather than my estimated (present consumption) 2500 strikes a year, it would STILL be worth my while to harvest lightning.

But as I said before – no-one’s going to do it because no-one wants to fail.

If it works they want the credit and if it fails they want someone else to take the blame.

I’m almost the reverse. If it works, to God be the glory (but like Edison I KNOW this little light bulb WILL work – even if no-one else does) and if it doesn’t work I take the blame because I’ll go back and fix it – I’ve done it many times before.

Second, a spring is WAY cheaper than hydrogen storage. Hydrogen may prove better in the long run, but the idea is to get it working first . . .

But I notice you don’t say that it can’t work – you just don’t think there’s enough energy.

Lets say you are right. I get say 700 strikes an hour during a thunderstorm. It means a can reliable generate free electricity only during the rainy season.

So, during the tourist, sorry, rainy, season; we generate enough money with multiple hotels, sorry lightning sites, to last us throughout the year.

It’s a question of will MM . . .

Will you do it?

21. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Keith,

there is actually quite alot of hard research on lightning by agencies like NASA and researchers like Earle Williams of MIT. Their information suggests that you are significantly over estimating the available energy (800,000 megawatts for 5 seconds has never been observed or measured – what are you basing this on?).

Here’s a list of the leading lightning and atmospheric electricity researchers around the world that you can reference, and an interesting interview that First Science conducted with Earle Williams back in 2001:

http://thunder.msfc.nasa.gov/team.html

http://www.firstscience.com/site/articles/lightning.asp

22. http://sunelec.com/index.html
    http://www.mrsolar.com
    The above are two alterntive energy company that barbadians can check out. Contrary to what every one is saying …you dont need to break the bank to cut down on your energy cost…time to stop talking and start checking for yourself and dont wait for any bajan company to do it for you because then you wouldn’t be able to afford it.

23. Keith Headley Avatar

Oh, by the way MM

Development costs:

Weather Balloon x30; US 145.00ea., US 4350 total

http://www.scientificsales.com/8245-Weather-Balloon-1500-Grams-Natural-p/8245.htm

Van der Graaff generator; US 232

http://www.grauhall.com/estatics.htm

11kg Car battery; US 240

http://www.rockracingbattery.com/specs.php

2kw inverter (just guessing here – can’t find specs on Van der Graaff generator); US 1450

http://www.partsonsale.com/prosine.html

21,000 feet of speaker wire @ US 3.81 per 100′; US 800.10

For testing only – won’t know how long it last until we try it . .

http://www.antonline.com/p_AH50-NX_277987.htm

Everything so far is expendable – they may have to be bought several times – recurring expense if you will . .

Unknown expenses

Spring capable of storing 5,000 or 500,000 Kwh worth of energy (depending on if MM or Keith is right).

I don’t know. I guess a maximum of US 2,000,000.

Linear motor capable of compressing that spring.

Again I don’t know. Maximum 4,000,000 (guessing here).

Everything from the balloon up to the linear motor will probably be fried by multiple lightning strikes.

Then you have the requisite safety equipment.

Total?

Somewhere under 5,000,000.

For proof of concept, you could probably build a motor and spring for about US 150,000.
    Anything cheaper probably won’t survive the lightning strike – and therefore you won’t know if it really worked, right?

The other point is that no matter how we do it – even if the electricity is “free”; it’s still not cheap. It takes millions to generate power for over a quarter of a million people.

So MM over to you. I welcome your constructive criticism – along with anyone else’s comments.

24. What a pity the national R&D effort is not organised in a manner that would allow us to determine whether there is any real pay-off from Keith Headley’s ideas. Most of what he says is over my head, but we need a mechanism that allows even one in the hundred crackpot ideas that people dream up to be tested for the benefit of this little Island. And even though I believe that genius is randomly distributed is it not possible that Headley may be on to something that has not been previously conceptualised? Perhaps the real issue is how we deal with risk vs centain knowledge.

25. Keith Headley Avatar

I think I write too much for technical people.

A balloon goes up to de clouds – as high up as an airplane.

It’s connected to the ground by a wire.

If yuh fly a kite in a storm yuh might get hit by lightning.

O.K.

Now we WANT this balloon to get hit by lightning.

Now yuh know how some people real “static”?

Even if dey hands eh wet an’ dey go near a socket dey does get shock?

Great! Up on de balloon is somethin’ that does do de same thing.

Once it does charge up any lightning in de cloud does go straight for dat balloon.

AND THIS IS A GOOD THING? You ask.

Yes. Electricity (lightning) comes down de wire and turns a motor.

RIIIIGHT. BUTANY MOTOR DAT DOES GET HIT BY LIGHTNIN’ DOES BUN OUT. True.

So; everyone knows de subway in New York right? Where electricity does be on de train tracks and somethin’ does move.

Same ting we doin’. Electricity on some rails an’ a spring movin’ – just like a car spring compressin’. De lightnin’ movin’ de spring an’ compressin’ it.

We storin’ de energy in de spring – and playing it back like a clock. Just like a clock; de spring go turn slow, an’ turn de generator.

We have a big, big, spring an’ a big, big, generator an’ plenty, plenty electricity.

No lotta long talk.

26. hardberry,

This concept is so well documented that there are actually working prototypes in existence.

But Mr Headley himself explains why it will never work – certainly not in Barbados. Things only work here if it has been clearly demonstrated overseas; someone is prepared to finance it 100% (make that 300% including over runs ) AND someone white comes to actually do it.

What Research and development what?!?

In Barbados?!? You see what our ‘technology’ companies with monopolistic benefits do with their profits?

Cable and Wireless and Digicell invest in things like cricket and ‘digicell fugitive’.
    BL&P forms a holding company and spends years trying to open a restaurant on Bay Street.

In fact, there are even more simple, cheap, and well tried technologies that we can implement TODAY.

Wind is obvious and so simple that anyone with the resources (and the ability to get around BL&P’s resistance) could easily do that.

Solar is expensive but even simpler than wind. Again the problem – BL&P.

There is wave energy. (Government even agreed to explore a pilot project a few years ago…. but it probably did not require enough steel….)

There is the possibility of energy from burning garbage, methane gas recovery from landfills etc

Most effectively however, there is CONSERVATION.
    At present, we use energy so inefficiently that the greatest potential for ‘generation’ is education and good leadership from government in making energy use choices.

I would guess that at least 30% of our energy use is wasted in avoidable inefficiency (power guzzling appliances, poor habits, power factor losses etc) .

The real point here however, is man’s clear inability to manage this world using our chosen systems of management. It is clear to me that failing a radical and immediate revolution in thought we are headed for massive disaster.

27. Keith Headley Avatar

MM thank you the links – they were very informative and maybe a few quotes will explain what I meant.

Page 2: “intercloud flashes can outnumber ground flashes by 10 -100 to one.”

“Generally, the lightning type of concern for human safety . . . is the cloud to ground flash, and as a consequence, this type of lightning is targeted by operational networks for lightning detection.”

I want to harness the cloud to cloud lightning, which is much more plentiful, if not as powerful.

My figures come from comparing how much energy is discharged by a Van der Graaff generator between electrodes as opposed to simply draining it to ground.

28. We do understand the concept of zero sum but the BU household refuses to believe that the future of Barbados should become symbiotic with the fluctuation of the puppet stock exchanges of the world.

Keith we don’t want to be personal but what have you done as far as approaching the authorities in Barbados?

29. Keith Headley Avatar

I’ve spoken to everyone I could get to in the last government.

I haven’t spoken to persons in this government because I wanted to give them the chance to create their own policies.

If anyone knows of a forum or any meeting(s) where this can or will be discussed let me know. I’ll be glad to offer any help I can.

That said I am not considered the foremost Solar Person in Barbados.

There are several persons considered more qualified than me who have the job of doing something, anything on this issue.

What they have done so far has not made enough of an impact on Barbados.

I am open to advice and suggestions. If you think there’s a way I could do some good let me know.

We’ve had years to fix this problem. Now we may have months.

And David – it’s a good thing to be personal sometimes. I don’t mind at all.

30. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Bush tea,

Could you provide us with some links or information on the working prototypes in existence? I would like to learn more about them.

I came across one example last year designed by a US inventor (Steve LeRoy). He reported success with artificially generated lightning in a lab powering a light-bulb for a few minutes, but attempts to roll out a field prototype by the company Alternative Energy Holdings were unsuccessful. Here is a New York Times article on this a few months ago: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/12/09/magazine/09lightningfarm.html?ref=magazine

There is no doubt in my mind that lightning can be harvested, but why sink research dollars on something like this when there are so many more promising technologies?

31. Keith Headley Avatar

Here’s the thing.

We are about to put a multi-megawatt plant in St. Lucy burning bunker c.

Now; have you seen what comes out of Spring Garden’s smokestacks recently? If half of what comes out Spring Garden comes out of St. Lucy, it’s going to get a whole lot more “City-Like”.

The country will soon not smell like the country to some people.

Now since building has already begun, can you think of a better way to save our environment, use (at least some) of the equipment BL&P ordered and still turn a profit off of that plant?

I’m open to ideas . .

32. Keith Headley Avatar

Thanks for the link MM.

See that’s what I had already figured out. There’s not enough energy in a lightning flash – Or thunderstorms would kill us all.

The real energy is in the clouds.

The easiest way to make power is to contract a European company to put a wind farm out to sea.

The most environmentally friendly way is to use PV panels on each house.

In a perfect world the ideal thing for the utilities would be to run an undersea cable from the islands – pick one – and use geothermal power.

And what is best for Barbados?

No one person should decide that – we should all know enough to make up our darn minds and be able to make our own choices.

A mix of power means that we can all make intelligent choices about our future.

33. Straight talk Avatar

Keep banging the drum, Keith, someone somewhere has to break us out of our complacency.

While your balloon is up, why not attach a high altitude wind generator for a permanent trickle feed to your system?

As may be patently obvious, I am not an engineer, however I believe that one of our more famous home grown engineers is on course to beat BL&P to a commercial wind generation system.

34. Keith on this blog the Chief Marketing Manager at BL&P has stated that the wind farm proposal has been stunned by the red tape of government. He also was reported in the media last week that the deep waters of the North of Barbados makes it uneconomic for Wind Farm development.

Your comments?

35. Keith Headley Avatar

Not to be silly but if I did that I would have to put up a permanent balloon/dirigible.

That’s a few million dollars.

36. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

the following extract from the Cape Wind project website may help to clarify the issue with deep water (>60 feet) wind farm development.

Future deepwater wind farms in more than 60 feet of water or so will require much more expensive multi-leg structures or floating platforms for depths up to several hundred feet. This technology is being explored by energy companies with experience in offshore oil and gas platforms. Currently such construction is possible, but its economic viability and operational performance is far from reality.
    For example, the first deepwater demonstration project now in the permitting stage is undertaken by Talisman Energy, an oil and gas producer in the North Sea. It will consist of two newly designed five-megawatt (MW) wind turbines 14 miles off the Scottish coast in 150 feet of water. Perched on top of four-legged undersea lattice-type foundation structures, the two wind turbines will provide power to nearby oil and gas platforms in their Beatrice complex. The total cost of this project is $58 million provided by Talisman, Scottish and Southern Energy (UK), and three government agencies. This cost does not include the expensive high-voltage undersea cables that would be required to bring wind power ashore. Talisman will collect performance data, look for ways to reduce costs and develop operating procedures over five years to examine the feasibility and benefits of creating a future commercial deepwater wind farm at this site.
    Compared to conventional shallow water offshore wind farms that cost about $2 million per MW installed, the fixed-pile foundation Talisman project at $5.8 million per MW is almost three times as expensive and prohibitively uneconomical in the near term.
    In a cautious statement, Talisman Energy has said “current forecasts for electricity prices will never render this Demonstrator Project economic. It is an R&D project, not a commercial one, and as such requires public sector funding in order to proceed.” Furthermore, they say it is impossible, at this stage to give any definitive answer regarding the go-ahead for the commercialization of this project “but it certainly should not be regarded as inevitable.”

Here is the link to the full article http://www.capewind.org/news678.htm

Does anyone know how far off-shore you can go off the east and north coasts of Barbados before you exceed 60 feet of water? If you can get a reasonable distance from the shore (a kilometer or more?) then it might be worth considering.

37. MME,

..and there is Todd Livingstone who claims to own two prototypes. He seems more intent on raising funds and protecting his ‘patent’. Apparently he claims to have found a way of directing the ion flow along laser beams rather than copper wires…

…my only point was that Mr. Headley did not pull the concept from thin air.

..Bush tea would definately NOT be investing in that technology – no matter what your fund analysis predicts…

38. Keith Headley Avatar

I believe in solutions.

But first I think I need to clarify the problem.

In the Caribbean shallow offshore waters also make fantastic beaches.

Fantastic beaches mean hotels and Tourists.

Tourists means expectations – for example nothing out on the water between you and the horizon.

So what’s the solution?

First of all we need to decide how much we’re putting up.

I’m going to be ridiculous. We’re putting up 100 megawatts and spending 300 million US dollars.

That translates to 28 3.6megawatt wind turbines and the seemingly impossible task of hiding them all.

So let’s see; I need them to be six(6) miles offshore for them to appear about half inch high on the horizon.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t there 60 foot or shallower water up to 7 miles off the west coast?

(Long drawn out screams of “NO!!” in the background)

I tire of the excuses BL&P.

Tell me CADRES or Systems Consulting or some other pollster has shown that tourists will run from our shores if they see a half inch of wind turbine on the horizon.

Tell me Coastal Zone or CERMES or some other marine research unit has done an environmental impact study and these wind turbines will be detrimental to our marine environment.

Shucks, even tell us you did an informal poll of Bajans on the street and 9 out of 10 of them don’t want a half inch of wind turbine on the horizon.

Or wait; maybe you didn’t even consider the West Coast did you . . .

39. Straight talk Avatar

Bush Tea:

I suspect that you, even though you believe life as we know it will end next year, enjoy the sometimes wild, wacky but totally absorbing efforts of garden shed inventors.

I think back to how my hero of all heroes, Tesla, must have been derided in his lifetime.

But I believe from these way out ideas new forms of energy will be brought to fruition.

BBE demand we must succeed through intellect, or their project has been a futile exercise.

All power to Keith and his some-would-say madcap ideas, let’s have more.

Personally I’m more impressed by HHO than the megabuck investment in Hydrogen cells, but what do I know? other than we must keep seeking alternatives to our present course.

40. Bush Tea said:

“The real point here however, is man’s clear inability to manage this world using our chosen systems of management. It is clear to me that failing a radical and immediate revolution in thought we are headed for massive disaster.”.

I shall leave that to you young guys to sort sort out. If it takes another ten years to investigate all the possibilities to which you refer, and I know that some of them have been talked about for thirty years, my ashes will be available for use as fertilizer. Thank god for that!!

41. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

LOL… good for you BT… I wouldn’t invest in that technology either.

Apart from the nuclear power/electric car combination (along with coal in the short term if we can escape persecution from Archbishop Gore and the Church Of Climate Change), there are some other technologies poised to put some serious blows in global oil demand… these are not yet in my public fund 🙂

ST, were you able to compare pound-for-pound the energy value of Uranium with the wonderfully energy-dense crude oil?

42. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

ST,

Wonderful post… now, if we can only get BT to cross over from the dark side…

Tesla is one of my heroes too. Have you seen this documentary:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3211083609505219709

Keith,

good point… perhaps someone could shed light on the question of water depth off the west coast…

43. Keith Headley Avatar

Hi again,

I built, with excellent, help the first g3 solar distillation unit in Barbados. It was my father’s design.

I learned a few things about building and prototyping.

One of them is – nothing is impossible. If they tell you that; find another way.

If the government or BL&P don’t want free electricity, then I will find another way.

If God is good to me it won’t take ten or even five years.

It will take two years. Unless of course I have to find another way . .

But only God knows the future . . .

44. Keith Headley Avatar

ST I want to test that too

http://www.water4gas.com

but I think it would be criminal to test it on my mother’s car.

The lawnmowers gone wonky and my motorcycle been waiting forever on an Italian oil pump.

Oh well.

Once the budget allows I’ll find another way to test it.

45. ST

…now hold it right there.

When did Bush tea say that life as we know it will ‘end next year?…..’ …You are using a Micro Mock tactic on me there ST.

What I probably said was that by next year IT WILL BE CLEAR TO ALL that we are in the endgame….

There is still a lot to be fulfilled, but I advise that it will be quite ‘challenging’.

As far as inventions are concerned. I KNOW that the energy challenges will be solved. I KNOW that new technologies will come on stream, but I also know that this will occur under new management.

….That is phase two…. GP prefers to use middle age terminologies such as ‘second coming’, ‘new millennium’, etc. I prefer to talk about BBE’s phase 2 of project life on earth.

MME,

Picture this; You have an old building falling apart, plumbing gone, electrics failing and plaster falling off….

You need a new structure.

From the residents perspective, the process of demolishing could be devastating….

You are right about a brilliant new structure, but I am talking first about the chaos of demolition and reconstruction under BBE’s new management….they will be some casualties…

46. Keith Headley Avatar

For those who want to try to find it . .

If you can find the August 1986 edition of Popular Science, the cover page story was a magnet generator that I always wanted to build and test.

The magazine is very difficult to find.Happy hunting!

47. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

BT,

for a second there I thought you were describing QEH… LOL

…and your recommendation sound alot like the last administration’s… mash-up-and-buy-back 🙂

Wha demolition and reconstruction you talking bout? I speak of Transition my fren… Transition – oil will play a decreasingly important role over the next few years… and things will not fall apart in the process.

48. Keith Headley Avatar

Link for BL&P engineers and anyone else interested

http://www.supercables.com

49. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

woah Keith… you come real close to revealing one of my private fund technologies… doan go giving way dem revolutionary ideas to BL&P just so…

Unfortunately dem fellas at supercables on the wrong track… but seeing as how you just up and let de cat out de bag, here is a teaser for BT and ST… fresh off de press… http://www.nextenergynews.com/news1/next-energy-news3.19a.html

50. Keith Headley Avatar

Stage two of my Mad-Cap plan would be to find a way to not have the balloon and generator destroyed. Then I could leave it up in the air for weeks at a time until I had all the power I needed.

If I had millions I could use supercables’ superconducting cables which can handle 8000 amperes of nominal current (which means I would only need about 15 of them to be safe) and not have to continually replace the wires also . . .