Rising Oil Prices

Source: Wikipedia:Brent Spot

… the days of being able to ‘choose’ the most economic solutions are about to end. (Crude now $128.88 per barrel) Common sense now dictates that countries and individuals are best advised to seek energy options that are under their political control. Our world is just one major terrorist (or critical natural) event- from total oil crisis

When the reality hits us- of NO oil available to us (for whatever reason), the attractiveness of an independent source such as wind or solar will become much clearer. The idea of looking to external alternative sources of energy (Trini gas, hot rocks etc) is also short sighted. This is just another trap just as cheap oil has been. Our future will be one of high cost energy – what ever the source. Making decisions on energy alternatives at this stage based mainly on capital costs is short sighted indeed….. This will all become clear next year.

Comment submitted by Bush tea on 20 May 2008

The BU family is familiar with the fact that we use images to to paint a thousand words. We have written exhaustively on the failure of the Barbados leadership over the years to secure the future of Barbadians by shifting from the comfort zone policy of 100% reliance on oil.

We have been harsh in our critique because unlike other islands and countries, Barbados is renown for its excellent infrastructure, and particularly a thriving solar industry. Barbados has been further hamstrung in the quest to develop alternative sources of energy because leading commentators in Barbados have become hinged to articulating about the obstacles and consequently have failed to energize our small nation to be solution seekers. Now at the eleventh hour we hear discussions about what BL&P needs to do, what the government needs to do, we hear the private sector suggesting they are about to bring the PV solution to Barbadians. Why couldn’t we have had this discussion earlier? We now live in an era where contingency planning is par for the course. We have elected to join the world and become caught up in the tensions caused by the games being played for oil.

In our opinion this is all happening 6 years too late.

We have come to agree with Bush tea that to rely on the traditional business model to support an alternative business solution based on the accepted accounting ratios is illogical. Even if the price of oil were to drop to below $100.00 at some point in the future. historical behaviour shows that it would be false comfort. The trendline which we have inserted in the image above shows that between 1999 to the present the price of oil on the world market has been steadily rising. Consumers who are reliant on a product which reflect a price behaviour similar to that shown above, they would have shifted to a substitute product. The argument offered by Peter Wickham that most Barbadians cannot afford to retrofit their homes because of the size of the capital outlay involved is a pedantic one. We could have at minimum have made it mandatory 6 years ago that new structures, both private and commercial should have included an alternative energy option in the design.

BU want to challenge the media in Barbados to challenge the status quo on this important matter. We are willing to work with the local media to pursue this matter in the interest of our country. The stale view that the blogosphere is not a place which can be constructively engaged is passé.

70 responses to “Not Too Late For Barbados To Enact Alternative Energy Plan, Media Must Awake From Slumber”

1. MME…

‘..except that period is brought to a premature end, nothing will be left alive on earth…’

…would you have ever thought, given our great scientific advances, that we could possibly come to a point where this could even be contemplated?

This reality is already clear to many who have eyes to see… and I suspect that even you will agree with me soon…

WRT the mash up and buy back….. things have deteriorated that badly…. It is bad at the core.

….there will be a completely new management philosophy.
    Trust me MME, you don’t want to miss out on this action.

2. Keith Headley Avatar

MM I knew it was just a matter of time, but I didn’t know they had gotten that far . .

That is very good news indeed.

3. IMHO…

There are suddenly many wonderful business opportunities for alternative energy sources. General conservation (read: use reduction) can and will be ripe profit centres as well.

However, I would argue that the most logical steps forward for developing nations and industries are those based on known and proven solutions, and which are currently available on a commercial or industrial basis.

Advanced R&D should be considered, but fantastic ideas about harvesting the energy in lightning are at best unproven, and certainly not something one can generally purchase with a pro forma invoice.

Fundamentally, all the energy we humans have access to is from our sun. (Technically, fusion power could be argued to be the generation of energy from fuel the sun didn’t process, and fission the generation of energy from products of the sun’s environment.)

Thus, I would suggest that perhaps where we can best profit (in all senses of the word) is from the deployment, development, production and sale of proven alternative energy systems which have as inputs solar energy.

These are direct sun light, concentrated sun light, wind, wave, tide and geothermal. All have tried and tested solutions. Temperature differentials available in many oceans are showing some promise too, but have not be widely be deployed.

If I may be so bold, I’d like to also point out an important fact: electricity is often not the actual desired end product — refrigeration (AC) is a common use of energy consumption in hot regions.

Steps forward do not entirely require Government intervention. Driven businesses and individuals could find themselves quite profitable if they took (realistic) bets on business opportunities.

Yes, selling electricity back into the existing power grid is one challenge being faced. But, at the same time, there is nothing stopping anyone from, for example, installing, using or selling a solar powered air condition system to a hotel or business (or home owner).

A business tip for anyone who’s tolerated my language to this point… A major opportunity exists in refrigeration generated by way of direct solar collection. This can be used for air conditioning and food storage.

Anyone interested should Google for “absorptive refrigeration solar”, and then wrap their heads around the thermodynamics, and economics… Make lithium bromide and the enabled chemical-only energy path be your friend.

Best regards to all.

-Chris

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Micro-Mock Engineer wrote inter alia
    Georgie Porgie,
    Doan mek me laf…
    “We find that politicians in no country in the world can solve the problems of that country, whether it is because they have not the will or for other reasons.”
    Dat is a sign dat we in the last days? LOL… you fuh real Georgie?

!? Have politicians EVER solved the problems of ANY country?
    When tin and copper became scarce in the 12th century BC, did politicians develop the solutions that would usher in the transition from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age?
    When timber became scarce in the 16th century, did politicians develop the coal technologies that replaced it?
    When whale oil became scarce in the mid-19th century, did politicians develop petroleum technologies?
    When cholera ravaged England in the 19th century, did politicians identify the cause or design the sewerage and sanitary systems that would eventually eradicate it?
    … did BBE commission a politician for project Ark?
    Look… the best we can hope for, are politicians who see their role as facilitators… politicians that develop, empower and make proper use of technical expertise in their societies.
    “All the signs indicate that HE IS COMING SOON at the Rapture FOR THE SAINTS.
    Maranatha! Even so come Lord Jesus!”
    … Engineer and author Richard Bube responds to this all too pervasive defeatist diatribe, more eloquently than I ever could:
    “When concern with eschatology calls for a withdrawal from human responsibilities, it ceases to be faithful biblical exegesis and instead becomes cultic. Watching and waiting for Christ’s return must always be coupled with our call to be salt and light today.”

I do not think that I have withdrawn from human responsibilities, nor am I engaging in pervasive defeatist diatribe as Richard Bube opines. And whereas I believe that “Watching and waiting for Christ’s return must always be coupled with our call to be salt and light today,.” I do not believe I am cultic nor am I known for biblical exegesis not is not sound and faithful.

The facts are that there is an escalation of all the signs given by Jesus in the Olivet discourse, and by the other prophets which indicate that the onset of the great tribulation is near. Now you can chose to believe it or you can chose to be a scoffer like Bube and those described in 2 Peter 3:5 et secq. You can also laugh at me if you chose. The facts are that most of the political leaders of the world are very ungodly men, and that they are not being led by God. Consequently, many of them suppress much of the good that many godly or knowledgeable citizens seek to perform for the benefit of their country.

You can continue to laugh. If I am wrong neither of us have lost nothing. But I may just be right. I know that there is much merit in what I am saying, just as I understand the examples that you cited.

I believe that Bush Teas has correctly opined that

“The real point here however, is man’s clear inability to manage this world using our chosen systems of management. It is clear to me that failing a radical and immediate revolution in thought we are headed for massive disaster.”.

5. Straight talk Avatar

Thanks for that GP,your faith is impressive if not inspiring.

If I capture the gist of your comment it is as Einstein once said “We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.”

I hope I’m with you.

Be comfy in your faith.

6. Straight talk Avatar

Bush Tea:

I apologise for dissing your forecast as apocalypse 2009.
    I never realised there was a secret mushroom exit and all would be well.

Although I believed you thought the earth was doomed by some Nubirian ellipse, I am happy to see you are once again lending your vast and sometimes paranormal knowledge to little Bim’s earthbound problems.

Once again, my friend, accept my humblest apologies for such worthless perceptions and please welcome me back to the reality of what is befalling us.

Can we talk?

7. Keith Headley Avatar

Chris,

I admire you in your desire to use LiBr. I am sure you are aware of the many positives of using LiBr; once you also aware of the negatives, I say more power to you.

My interest in proven solutions was greater than that in fantastic ideas. But there is one problem with proven ideas.

World Renewable energy use stands at a paltry 11%.

http://www.wrenuk.co.uk/

Cumulative solar energy production is less 0.01% of Global primary energy demand.

http://www.solarbuzz.com/FastFactsIndustry.htm

And most depressing of all 2 billion people have no access to energy (same url as above).

Now facts do not depress me for long. They enlighten me.

I have accepted that only some people will make real changes in their life. The others will watch the world collapse and blame others while it goes down.

It is the responsibility of the few who care, to change things, if it is one refrigerator at a time, one person at a time, or one island at a time.

There must be a leader for the followers. Barbados I believe is given the gifts, the power and still the blessings from God, though we don’t really deserve them, to lead by example on how to run a green technological society.

Leaders must lead.

When James Husbands was designing his first solar water heater with his partner (don’t know what his official title is) Pastor Hatch, a decision was made to put them on the roof.

It was dangerous, it looks bad, the roof will collapse, it will blow off, why are you going for such a fantastic design.

Mr. Husbands knew his market. He knew what was the best fit for Barbados.

A mixture of wind, solar, biogas, geothermal, solar thermal and ocean power will not be enough to power Barbados.

If every house practices perfect conservation it will not be enough. Why? We are planning to industrialize – to move forward in the world economy; to become a small powerhouse among large nations.

All of these plans require significant electrical power – much more than we are using now.

BL&P realizes this; that is why they are building the St. Lucy plant; the energy it will generate is a basic necessity for our development.

That is why even though I do not like everything they do, I would never leave BL&P completely out of any large scale energy equation. They know what they are doing, even if sometimes we don’t like how they do it.

It is because there was no other “conventional” way forward, the previous government embraced oil. They could not see another way without breaking the status quo.

I believe Bajans voted in the DLP because they are tired of the status quo. God has gifted Bajans with some incredible ideas.

Should we remain followers because we were afraid to try? I have faith in the power of “fantastic”. As a Christian I have been trained from my earliest life that the fantastic is the only way forward; that the mediocre condemns you to the dunghill of life and believing the supposedly impossible and then making it happen through hard work and prayer, brings the sweets in life.

You may not believe as I do. You may reached far in life through tried and true methods.

I am committed to the development of Barbados, which I believe you are.

Committed enough, that when the tried and true methods fail to meet the expectations of people, I pray and expect that God will supply the fantastic, me having done all I can with the normal.

Now I admit the possibility that I could be wrong. I admit that this whole lightning thing could be a failure; but I also admit to the certain inner knowledge that it can work; and also the near certainty that the status quo will oppose it.

What this means then, is that I go forward, not expecting the journey to be easy, but expecting it to be hard, glorying in the challenge as a strong man about to run a race.

For anyone who cares to join me; I’ll see you – at the finish line.

8. Banned Just Use To It Avatar
    Banned Just Use To It

The People’s Democratic Congress

I got one for you. Apparently it was said by PM the Lt Forbes Burnham. A speech should be like a mini-skirt. Long enough to cover the essentials, but short enough to be titillating.

9. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

GP,

I am certain that your intentions are noble and admire your faith…

I am a Christian (as is Richard Bube)… although I have to admit that hardly a day passes that my faith is not tested, and I often question my beliefs and life’s meaning.

The derisive manner in which I responded to you stems from a grave concern over the tendency for many Christians to apply Biblical prophesy to problem solving… this does very little good because as far as we are concerned “the die has been cast” and the best course of action is to batten down for the worse.

One need only look back at our religion’s history to see that this is a terribly dangerous position to take (http://www.religioustolerance.org/end_wrl2.htm)

I disagree with your statement “If I am wrong neither of us have lost nothing”. You see… there are no ‘extra credits’ for being right, but there is alot to lose from persuading people that our present condition has been written in stone… especially if your timing is off.

I apologise if I have misunderstood your message.

10. Can anyone explain to me why there are no working wind turbines on Barbados when I counted more than 20 of them on the east coast of Guadaloupe earlier this year?

11. Crusty…

A belated response. I think the answer is simply the “not in my backyard” syndrome….

The Economist had a couple of very interesting articles on this subject in the last (locally available) issue:

http://www.economist.com/research/articlesBySubject/displaystory.cfm?subjectid=8780295&story_id=11482484

http://www.economist.com/research/articlesBySubject/displaystory.cfm?subjectid=8780295&story_id=11482565

There is so much opportunity! Will we Bajans sease the moment?

12. this is telly awesome article.Thanks for sharing with us..

13. I love to disseminate understanding that will I’ve built up with the calendar year to assist enhance group efficiency.

14. I leave a response when I appreciate a post on
    a site or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is caused by the fire communicated in the post I looked at.
    And after this article Not Too Late For Barbados To Enact Alternative Energy Plan, Media Must
    Awake From Slumber | Barbados Underground. I was moved enough to post a thought 🙂 I actually do have some questions
    for you if it’s okay. Is it simply me or do a
    few of the remarks appear as if they are coming from brain dead visitors?

😛 And, if you are posting on other places, I would like to keep up with
    you. Could you make a list every one of your communal pages like your Facebook
    page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

15. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not
    mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before
    writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

16. I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading
    extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this
    problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll
    check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

17. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out
    better?

18. Howdy, I do think your blog may be having web browser compatibility issues.

Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari,
    it looks fine however when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, wonderful site!

19. Fantastic web site. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks to your effort!

20. I am really grateful to the owner of this site who has shared this fantastic post at at this place.