Mia MottleyThe BU household was engaged in an animated conversation at the dinner table last night. We will not bother the BU family with all the details, but we felt there was a point made which provoked some passionate responses which we would share.

Many of us have observed that most leaders of countries are preoccupied with managing their public image. A big part of managing that public image is to project a ‘one big happy family’ picture. We have seen the First Family of the United States going one step further by adding a dog to the mix.

The meat of the dinner table discussion centred on how important is it for a leader of a country to have an immediate family which is percieved as ‘one big happy family’.

The BU household was reminded that the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur opted to patch his struggling marriage when he became Prime Minister. His estranged wife at the time was based in New York. When Arthur’s marriage to Beverly collapsed, he may have made the decision to marry his Executive Secretary Julie Price which based on subsequent events he had a long standing relationship before he became officially divorced. The marriage to Julie, the sudden appearance of his twenty one year old daughter, and there was the tragic event which we will courteously not mention, supports the argument that former Prime Minister Arthur was mindful of how important a ‘one big happy family’ approach was to sustaining his successful political career.

His counterpart at the time and current Prime Minister David Thompson has always projected family as being very important. We know that Prime Minister Thompson has for a long time adopted a program dubbed Family First which is established “in his beloved St. John, is a pioneering initiative that aims to re-establish and re-assert the family unit as the paramount and core constituent in the overall development of communities.”

The consensus around the dinner table was a family is important to project an image of security, stability etcetera. The public not only in Barbados but worldwide seems to value these qualities in a leader. Former President Bill Clinton of the United States sullied his family image by engaging in a sexual act in the White House. At the time Hillary Clinton, his wife, obviously had her eye on running for public office because because she willingly endured the embarrassment caused by her philandering husband.

The discussion reached its climax when the prospect of the next election in Barbados was tabled. If all the ‘actors’ remain the same , it will mean that Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley will have the opportunity to disprove the BU theory. It is public knowledge that Mia is of single status. Can Mia Mottley overcome that expectation which the public has that a leader should posses that ‘one big happy family’ image? It seems that she is trying to partially compensate for not having her own family because she has been seen in public with a dog! We are not sure if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would be willing to give her a crash course in backyard gardening.

Unfortunately the BU family dinner had to come to an end at this point. No doubt we will get a chance soon to continue to discuss the importance of a family if a political leader wants to reach the pinacle. Can Mia secure the number one job in Barbados with single status?

57 responses to “Mia Mottley Swimming Against Historical Tide”

1. I have never mentioned the lady’s name to which reference is made here on the blogs…not even during the last election. My reasoning is that after a couple submissions, the discussion degenerates into personal attacks.

I might, or might not agree with her political stance on a variety of issues. It is highly probably that – and I have said so- I disagreed with the last administration on major issues, but that is different.

It is quite possible for a single person to lead Barbados, but I am not sure if the electorate is quite ready…but I could be wrong.

2. You said “Many of us have observed that most leaders of countries are preoccupied with managing their public image.”

For one thing ~ take a look at their appearance. Nothing can be worse than a big belly. A belly whose girth exceeds that of the waist is a tell-tale sign of loss of youthful vigor and a red flag warning of a heart attack about to happen sometime soon.

Have you noticed how Mia is slimming down?

Have you noticed the size of Thompie’s belly?

Have you noticed how many ‘prominent ministers’ (and others) – look as though they bought their clothes two sizes too small?

This is not a joke my friends.

3. Both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party are overtly wrongly taking turns at grossly and recklessly mismanaging the political and other affairs of this country. The last Owen Arthur led Government was the worst and most rebarbative government ever in the post-independence history of this country. The 1987-1994 Sandiford led Government had up to that point in time been the worst and most inhuman government in the post-independence history of this country. Well, Mr Owen Arthur and his group in net terms changed ALL of those facts from 1994 to 2008. And, based on how this DLP Government has so far started, and they have surely started rather poorly and indecisively, we in PDC can clearly see that, from the start until whenever they end, they are going to be the most miserable and incoherent government since Barbados gained independence in 1966.

Having stated all of that, the time has clearly come for voters in Barbados to stop electing BLP and DLP Governments in this country. They must certainly stop this senseless, irrational BLP/DLP rotation/alternation, which is too often causing us to weep and wail substantially more than we ought to in Barbados!! Instead, the time has truly come for such voters to come and give greater support to the PDC so that in the NOT TOO DISTANT FUTURE a PDC Government would, by being at the helm of government in this country, be able to break that silly BLP/DLP cycle, and would be able to be fully representative and representing of affairs of the masses and middle classes of people of this country more than the BLP/DLP have, since the 80s, been failing to do so.

As well, and very importantly so, such a PDC government shall make sure that there will be established – as another phase in the political and constitutional development of this country – A NATIONAL POLITICAL AND CONSTITUITONAL REGIME OF STABLE COALITIONAL GOVERNMENT, whereby NOT ONLY will such a type of Cabinet government be elected by the voters of this country, BUT ALSO will be capable of, et al, having at its disposal the brightest and best, the most skilled and able, and the most appealing and down to earth of persons, that will be asked to run and managed the political and other affairs of this country, on the basis of ALL seats within such a structure being pre-determined according to the proportion of seats that political parties CAN VIE FOR, according to the proportion of seats non-party political groups (trade unions, credit unions, professional associations, religious groups) CAN VIE FOR, and according to the proportion of seats independent non-partisan political persons CAN VIE FOR within this structure itself. Please see our Pre-election Manifesto@www.somassfreedem.org for further information on those details.

For, now is truly the time for the people of Barbados to think about national political unity and the best and most efficient management of the political and other affairs of this country more than ever before, given that we are already in the midst of another round of increasingly hostile and turbulent international social, political, economic, financial conditions.

4. I do not like Mia Mottley. I cannot stand her, and i refuse to be rational in my current view of her. My dislike for her is so intense that WHEN she becomes the PM of Barbados i will stop being a bajan for the duration of her Leadership. ๐Ÿ˜€ Ian Walcott you see? You are not alone in making ridiculous statements. ๐Ÿ˜€

Note i said When and not IF she becomes PM. Political Leadership of Barbados is chosen from amongst the membership of parliament. Membership to parliament is decided at the constituency level via a national poll. Mia Mottley has pretty much cemented her continual membership to parliament, and has sought and gain the loyalty of the majority of BLP parliamentarians, to be their Leader in the House. She is in essence the PM right now, ….the PRIMERARY MEMBER ON THE OTHER SIDE, all that is required in the future is a majority win of an election by BLP candidates and they will repose their loyalty to her as required by the general laws of the BLP, and reaffirm by the constitution of Barbados,….which state “the member of parliament who commands the loyalty of the most parliamentarians shall become the Prime Minister”…. she would become first amongst equals, Prime Minister and Leader of Barbados. Like um as i don’t or LUMP um as i do, she will be the next PM of Barbados, not necessarily in the next constituted parliament, but as long as she remains the BLP leader, becoming PM will FALL into place, at some point after an election.

It’s a done deal and all she is doing is being patient, and Mia has TONS of it.

Here her explain the process:

5. I like Mia and I can hardly wait for her to become PM of Barbadosland. She is erudite and elegant and most important electable. Lovely picture of the next Prime Minister of Barbados, now she looks like a leader

6. Mia Mottley is much like Ted Kennedy D-(Massachusetts) who is out of step with most Americans but has a very personal relationship with the people that matters and is the base for their power, the residents of the constituency they represent in the House. They both don’t really care what the national sentiments of them are, they don’t have too.

7. Mia is just Mia, and she is so adaptable in any situation that you need not worry about her. That girl can hold her own, and I think as PM you all can expect great things from this great woman. Gosh do you think there is any man on God’s earth that could handle this great woman. I don’t think so. Mia was born to be the Prime Minister that is a given, and as such must be given the opportunity,

8. this is crap from you

i call it as i see it

i never thought that after sandy and the dems nearly obliterate barbados –1988-1994 that the dems could win a government in barbados under 30 years but you know what ? people are born every day and they grow up with their own perspective which is usually different from others.

so change happens

9. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Mia Mottley shut down a whole country on a storm watch. Now that shows good judgement and leadership.

10. BU: Robot has a point re “People are born everyday and grow up with their own perspective”

So yes Mia may be swimming against the historical tide, but the history and tide is changing, if not changed. We are living in times when speaking eloquently counts for more than substance, where being defined as smart is contingent only on what school you attended. It does not matter that one does not have a record of accomplishments, that’s the double standard that real working stiffs like us have to contend with in the job market, where every listing calls for some level of experience. How else can you explain Barack rise to prominence and Mia’s adulation by those outside of her constituency? Such was not earned by much anything they have done, they stardom is the result of being able to talk a good game, and what is missing is accountability for all the talk. It would seem as if to be define as “smart” gives one a pass for not being productive.

11. now a relevant question to ask here is whether the party hierarchy of the BLP is aware of this family being important issue you raised and if so will they allow Mia to be their leader going into the next elections.

No man or woman as the case may be can be bigger than the party right?

12. Banned Again From BFP // May 28, 2008 at 9:40 am

Mia Mottley shut down a whole country on a storm watch. Now that shows good judgement and leadership.
    ================================

That’s not true. BL&P was still providing electricity, CBC was still programing, ArchHall fire station was open and Mia was on TV for all to see. There is a time and a place for everything and it serves Mia. ๐Ÿ˜€ …..as i was saying when you are define as smart, intelligent etc such events are not focus upon as a negative.

13. Oh Shucks I always saw Owen as a single dude until the sudden appearance of Julie.

Mia married …… “dey aint mek dah man yet”

14. jdid // May 28, 2008 at 10:02 am

now a relevant question to ask here is whether the party hierarchy of the BLP is aware of this family being important issue you raised and if so will they allow Mia to be their leader going into the next elections.

No man or woman as the case may be can be bigger than the party right?
    =================================

It is obvious that the BLP hierarchy does not have a problem with Mia being single etc.. It is not proven by anything measurable that the potential PM chances of capturing the prize is greatly improved by family appearances. This is not to say that Owen did not think that his philandering ways would not have impacted on him negatively and that this is why he sought to repair if not remake himself in the eyes of God and man. I think it is more likely that the did this largely because of the unprecedented 4th term attempt and his not wanting to leave anything to chance. The truth with regards to the view within the BLP is that the only measurable tool they have is the polling data that have consistently shown Mia to be viable contender for Leadership. That polls and polling have not been good the BLP on two occasions, (Owen Arthur ahead as best person to be PM) and the charade of the Boxill poll showing the BLP winning big in St.Michael, probably does not deter them from investing in the results. It could simply be the fear of by passing the Deputy from someone new altogether.

15. Sherry // May 28, 2008 at 10:20 am

Oh Shucks I always saw Owen as a single dude until the sudden appearance of Julie.

Mia married โ€ฆโ€ฆ โ€œdey aint mek dah man yetโ€

Yuh see i hey trying real hard to not get personal. Mia is in between a rock and uh next nudder hardplace. Luckily for her it will not matter much to her achieving her ultimate goal of becoming PM of Barbados. If she stays single, or gets married it will still serve as the launch of my Barbados Comedy club. So to myself i say, be of good cheer, for behind every dark cloud there is a silver lining. ๐Ÿ˜€

16. There are a significant number of people, who will vote either DLP or BLP irrespective of who is the leader of those parties.

A number of people will vote for a specific party, depending on how they are affected by respective policies.

However, a sizeable number of the electorate will vote for a party who they believe has the best leader for Barbados. This significant number will not be concerned about party loyalty, policy, or even manifesto.

This group could be large enough to ultimately decide who leads Barbados. It is they who will decide the leader of the country. This will kick in, before it is necessary to choose a leader for the country from the Parlimentary group…post election.

Certain things “will” have to be done, to prepare the electorate “mentally” for acceptance of particular individuals.

I am not certain they are being done, on the evidence before me…but what do I know.

17. … Mia’s future as a PM will depend mainly on how David does as PM and the head of what appears to be one big happy family.

If people become attracted to a leader with a family, like their own, she will have a tough time.

Remember Billie? No family image except the Millers of yore. She was raised up for politics … and to fight.

Now she could talk, and fight and do bad when required. Seem to remember a rumour about her and a gun … in parliament!! It is alleged that one MP, on her side, was marked for life after the event.

She was a legend.

She kind of lost it as people got used to her. For some time it has been painful to listen to her. She had her day.

Mia could also go the same way.

Maybe she should concentrate more on doing and not talking because after a time, people get bored.

At the moment her utterances are becoming painfully predictable as she verbalises the obvious.

We kind of know we are in for tough times, …. and we know why.

… now Duguid, if he could get some mentoring from Dennis Kellman, he could be a dark horse in the race. He has alot going for him.

He may have a bit of a foot in mouth appearance but it makes him seem more human than the rest.

I like humans, I don’t like automatons.

Maybe Owen will start slimming down and settle down and rebrand himself as a family man.

18. I dont think it matters whether a leader is married or single. The late Pierre Elliot Trudeau managed this great country single handedly, with style, while a single man. He got married, had 3 sons, two born on Christmas Day, and all hell broke loose.

Kim Campbell was single and was done in by the long knives in her own Party. I would love to see Mia become a PM, after all, she has the voice and other qualities of a male.

19. Dear Pat

“OUCH”

20. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

Look if my party the DLP dont deal with the cost of living and these guyanese mottley and the BLP might get back in. take warning. She is man enough to run the country.

21. PJ Patterson

22. what a non issue…

23. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Loook what Trevor Small say. Looks like the spammer get tru again.

24. What makes Mia erudite?

25. โ€œImmediate familyโ€? Is immediate family you talking โ€˜bout?

With all the serious issues currently facing Barbados, I donโ€™t care who the PM is sleeping with, taking showers with, or breaking bread with on a Sunday morning. David Thompson is married to a beautiful sister with a picturesque family, but poor people still catching hell. Cost of living gone thru the roof with no end insight. As long as the learned QC doesnโ€™t leave her brain in Roebuck St., her personal relationships are of no concern to me.

26. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

How did homosexuality creep into this topic?

Not that there’s anything wrong with it. And I should know.

27. I must give my opinion on this interesting topic. Mia Mottley as PM.

hmmmmmmmmmmm I am not saying it can’t happen , but ya want to know what.

I like Adrian Hinds and crew, I cant take the woman.

Let me give you the perfect example; A day I passed and spoke to her and Billie and lo and behold the woman giving me a sexy look and talking bout “Good afternoon dear.”

Ya all should have seen me squeezing in my bottom tight tight so it couldnt shake. ha ha ha

Mia mottley for PM –

I hope to god this happens in NEVUARY.

28. Dame Eugenia Charles the late Dominica Prime Minister was never married so what is the big deal here about Mia. Not everyone is marriage material, and if you look around the world you will see that most lady leaders are either never married or divorced. Mia fits the mould of the lady leader, they all have that same persona, Mia reminds me of Lady Thatcher, President Ellen Johnson Sileaf of Liberia, late Dame Charles and I think you get the jist. These ladies are very similar. Mia is likable, just look at the picture, this is somebody everybody can/will like, the smile, the demeanour just says likeable. Now I have seen pictures of the present leader and he looks aloof to me, and Dr. Byer Suckoo has a foreced insincere smile to me, former PM Owen Arthur a people person, likable, anyway, my impressions. So if the Lord spares my life I will be campaigning for Mia. Mia is a leader not only for Barbados, but the greater Caribbean, plus ayuh step family that straddling the coast of Northern South America.

29. Mia’s reputation precedes her. Regardless of all her other attributes, she is an embarassment to Barbadians and women in particular, and I would not wish her to represent me or my country. Bottom line. Her exploits have become very well known and wherever I travel people drop nasty comments about her. It hurts.

30. JC // May 28, 2008 at 3:31 pm
    Mia mottley for PM –
    I hope to god this happens in NEVUARY

ha ha ha ha well JC you had better find a way to add “NEVUARY” your list of months. Bajan academics will argue that Mia is the best ting since slice bread, and better buy into their intellectual opinions otherwise they will see to it that Barbados experience a real brain drain ah la Ian Walcott. ๐Ÿ˜€

31. That one was wicked Adrian

32. Wait, geezon bread Avatar
    Wait, geezon bread

Is that her daddy standing looking on in the background?

33. I hope to God Mia remains as leader of the BLP, that will ensure at least fifty years of DLP stewardship.

Bajans will never vote in any large numbers for a party that is led by a sexually confused woman.

34. We had to reread our article because no where in this blog have we sought to associate Mia Mottley with anything other than how we project Barbadians may react to her single status. We must couple the argument with the fact that she is a woman. We hear references made to other countries but shouldn’t we confine our discussion to the Barbadian landscape. The political system in Barbados although similar to other islands we still have to recognize that each country would have its idiosyncrasies.

35. There are lots of males married to beautiful sisters with picturesque families, and still live double lives, using their wives as “beards”.

36. I have been observing politics and politicians in Barbados for a long time. I first took notice of Mia Mottley when she was appointed to the Senate by Henry Forde. Since then I have seen her mature into a formidable politician.

I have seen her commitment to people and to her country, to her political leader and to her party. I have heard her articulate her vision for Barbados. I have been able to assess her intellect and her personality.

I am therefore not surprised that she has risen to the top in the political stakes. The very fact that we are discussing her as the next PM of Barbados is testimony of this.

What will be critical for her now is how she leads her party in the coming months. It will be a reflection of her ability to lead the country. And let us not fool ourselves. In every political party there is always pressure from below, whether in government or in opposition.

When I reflect on our leaders since the 1950’s, I rate Mia Mottley as equal to most of them and certainly superior to some as well.

As a keen observer of politics I have also come to realize that ‘you don’t throw rocks at an empty breadfruit tree.’

Like some of my fellow bloggers I can see through the charade of parading a family before the voters as a qualification for leadership. I actually find it offensive – a cheap political gimmick copied from American politics. I did not see Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, Bree St. John or Erskine Sandiford do it and it did not diminish them in the eyes of the voters. Sure we knew they had children, but so what. As a matter of fact if you talk to the children of politicians, most of them have a hatred for politics simply because they were judged by what their fathers or mothers did.

I personally do not believe that Bajans choose their leaders based on their marital status. They are much more interested in their own financial well-being than whether someone has the required 2.3 children.

Looking at the present crop of politicians, both in government and opposition, I find it difficult to choose someone other than Mia Mottley to lead this country, but a lot can happen between now and the next general election – it is after all politics.

37. You got that shit right me too.

38. As the Deputy Prime Minister she was involved in businesses ranging from STAGE LIGHTING with another Gov’t employed person he is employed at the NCF one Dorcy Boyce of D and B productions ask him what share she has in his business then she has a personal involvement in boats and land tours with her friend Dean Straker and sets of Apartment buildings in partnership with the same Dean Straker these are the same apartments that they could not get Town and Country Planning permissions for until she was thrown with the guys.

She has no morals as displayed by her blatant beating of that young lady and her other actions to hurt her, and no ethics either in her using her office to make good on her investment.

39. WIV. I am going to expose you for the female behaviour that you keep exposing. You are a clear candidate to show the youths how women behave while doing stand-pipe washing. Are you sure that everyone in your party is upright? It is about time that you deal with issues instead of being personal.

40. Dear BU:

My mother who was maried for 60 years always said that “marriage is not for everybody” She always that “marriage is good” and being “single is good too”

If Ms. Mottley wishes to remain single that is her call. And it is none of your business.

And remember better to be single and happy than to be married and miserable.

And better to be single than to marry if marrying would make someone else miserable.

41. Dear Wishing in Vain: Is being a full blown lesbian worse that being o half ‘a lesbian. In other words would it be better if lesbian women kept a man on the side?

Eisaku Sato, longest serving Prime Minister of Japan, November 1964 to July 1973.

Nobel Prize winner

Wife beater

Now I believe that wife or husband beating is a very bad thing, but if every leader who ever beat, pushed, slapped, horned or neglected his/her spouse had to immediately demit office the world would be a very, very unstable place.

42. as usual applying double standards.

I wonder if any of you were flies on the wall of Mia’s bedroom, if not who gives you the right to dissect her private life based on rumour and innuendo,

If we applied your standards to every politician I dont thenk we would have any left except Patrick Todd and he is an idiot who should be ‘STRUCKEN ‘( his word not mine) from politics

BTW isnt he single????

43. Mia’s sexual orientation doesn’t bother me, what bothers me is her and her family’s honesty. At my previous employment both she and Amor & Elliott never paid their accounts, no idea whether they’re cleared now, but 3 years that I knew of owing thousands

44. The lesbian thing is not an issue. It helps the DLP remain in office. All David Thompson has to do is bring Sizzla, Buju Banton or a few others during the next campaign…

More to the point, the Mia adorers have some other things to contend with. First, on the health issue (the adorer who refers to David’s stomach and Mia’s slimming down) Mia still chain smokes! Simple. Need I say more? Want to talk abouot health?

Secondly, there is a cycle and Mia is out of sync with it. Check the ages of all newly elected leaders of Barbados. Mi is five years too old! She will be 50 by the time of the next election.

Thirdly, Owen Arthur is not finished. He is still lurking arond in the hope that Mia will falter. That always slows a party down. Owen has no life other than as PM and, from what I am hearing, he wants it again. Mia will take the licks and Owen will take the leadership. How can she deal with that especially with her adorers saying that Owen is still great! She needs his coat-tails!

Fourthly, Hammie Lah and others are not going to succumb to Mia’s leadership. Despite what they are saying to her face, Marshall, Payne, Arthur and Hammie are all savaging her behind her back.

This is the kind of scene David Thompson had in 1994.

Ssingle status? Marital bliss … whatever. Mia has other big issues!

Good luck, Mia. But luck is not on your side.

45. THE MOTTLEY HAVE NEVER BEEN KNOWN FOR PAYING THEIR BILLS you are very right in your call ANNOYED.

Their apparent claim to first family satus of Barbados it seems fools them into the feeling that they need not pay bills.

Please note that this is not an isolated case but many business houses around the island had difficulties collecting money from them including the big firm of A S BRYDEN and SONS LTD for equipment taken and never paid for.

46. David,
    On another score as we have recently seen the revelation of the massive stealing that was allowed to take place ubder the previous blp gov’t, shown up as recently as Sunday where at Coastal Leo Brewster and his girlfriend combined to hit us the taxpayers for in excess of a Million Dollars, now this was information known to arthur prior to the elections and never acted on, now tell me was this a mature , caring of the people it served gov’t ?
    Or one more concerned about the feel good ,look good factor?

I am eagerly awaiting the Forensic audit on HARDWOOD HOUSING, which from reports reaching me state that a report has already been issued and this very report has endorsed everything the PM has said about that scam MASSCOT and HARDWOOD.

It reveals that we did allow a major theft of taxpayers monies, and it was done so with full blessing of the blp and more importantly the PM ,DPM and Masscot.

No wonder mottley is ducking and diving and looking for holes as she is on the verge of taking some HARDWOOD.

Not only on the subject of HARDWOOD but also to with the theft at COASTAL as they were fully aware and alert to this major theft carried out by Leo Brewster and his girlfriend but willfully said and did nothing to affect their chances of a win in the last elections, when poltics can ride surpreme over good solid honest judgment we will have real issues with the leadership of the time.

47. It is interesting how on the one hand certain people criticise others for co-opting first world attitudes such as hiuman rights for hiomosexuals yet on the other hand these same people co-opt the conservative paranoid agenda that comes from the said same first world countries …

48. We have not heard a wimper out of her since having to deal with her INDEPENDENT BLP member HAMMY LASHLEY, he was giving a tongue lashing by mottley for praising the new gov’ts plan to make the homes available free of charge to the tenants.

49. Politics in Barbados is much the worse for men like WIV, whose penchant for gutter sniping is only exceeded by his dishonesty.

Those of us who can think for ourselves and are not amused or amazed by half-truths, innuendo and Goebbels tactics are not impressed by WIV. God help us if this is what the DLP has to rely on to maintain their grip on the reins of office.

50. Me Too the reality for you maybe too much to bear but that does not change the fact that this is life and this is the way your friends in past gov’t operated, one scam after the other all the way down the line from the owing the PM stealing from us to office gov’t workers stealing from us, a classic example is owing and VECO and DANOS and Leo Brewster at Costal along with his girlfriend. It streched across the spectrum og levels in gov’t.
    I have not even touched on the Mottley moraless issue and who she last had admitted to Hospital as a result of her violence towards her sexual partners, that is a matter for her to address if she wants to ever become a viable choice for the post of PM