Visitors to BU would have sensed by now that we are appalled at the rampant construction which has been taking place on our coastal regions unabated in recent years. More of concern is the unregulated building of large and ugly edifices which have been rising-up to spoil our beautiful coastline or as Reverend Andrew Hatch would say – our windows to the sea are being closed.

We thank a BU commenter who is equally concerned and reminded us this morning about the deal to sell the Chefette Restaurant Holetown property to a British Investor. From all reports the site will be replaced by you guessed it, another condominium. The report in summary:

The sale is expected to pave the way for a new flush of condominiums along the upmarket West Coast.

Should Barbadians feel sadness and betrayal that Chefette Restaurant which has been supported by locals for all the years has succumb to foreign investment?

Related Link: Barbados Coastline Gone!

66 responses to “Chefette's Halloute Sells Out”

1. Carlos Chase is a big time “fassyhole”,i hope the racist whites you love so much pee on you sometime soon in the future…but looka dis ting doh..he admit he black but talking like a real racist white dog..that should be shot.

2. Dervla McMahon Avatar
    Dervla McMahon

Living in Ireland. Ate at the Holetown Chefette in March and laughed about how it must be the best located fast food restaurant in the world. You really need to do something to stop this development!!!

Is there any independent group that monitors and objects to developments like this?

3. what happened to the alien landholding legislation that the DLP promised, or will this come once the sale of this property to a non-national is complete

4. Interesting letter which appears in the nation today. Why are Barbadians not speaking to this issue. Why are we not having the various watchdog bodies demonstrating? Maybe we have become sidetracked with cost of living issues. Then again we don’t have a rich record of demonstrating against the status quo until maybe it is too late.

Sale of land spot of trouble
    Published on: 4/17/08.

IT IS DISTURBING to note the lack of significant public outcry regarding the recent sale of the Holetown beach location of Chefette to an unnamed foreign buyer. It would appear that Barbadians have adopted the attitude that the loss of this spot, one of the last remaining windows to the sea along the West Coast, was long anticipated and thus a pointless battle.

This is entirely an apathetic and defeatist stand to take in relation to the preservation of our rights as citizens to enjoy one of our nation’s most valuable treasures, namely our beaches. I trust that the following facts when spelt out and hopefully verified and validated by our investigative reporters will stir Bajans into making it clear that it is not acceptable to take this spot away from us and make it another playground for tourists.

Make no mistake that once condominiums are erected there, Bajans will at most be afforded nothing more than a track to access the beach . . . no view of the beach from the road and no parking.

What of the profits from these condominiums? Apart from land taxes and employment of the small staff to maintain these buildings, how much money will really be filtered into the local coffers, compared to that which would be deposited in the foreign bank accounts of the foreign owners?

Here’s the real kicker, Barbados – the Government of Barbados through the Coastal Zone Management Unit (CZMU) has long since secured an Inter-American Development Bank loan to expand the beach in front of Chefette, (details including illustrations are available on the CZMU website).

As such, the Barbadian taxpayers (who will ultimately have to pay back the loan) will be financing the expansion of a beach that they will have limited, if any, access to or viewing of.

I’m also sure that it has not escaped the parties involved in this land deal, that expansion of the beach will result in pushing the high tide mark further seaward. As such, the building setback point – i.e. the minimal legal distance from the high tide mark to where a permanent structure can be built – will be measured from the new more seaward high tide mark developed courtesy of the beach enhancement work and Bajan tax-payers money.

In other words, the available building space made available to the foreign investors will now be greater, thus accommodating larger buildings and greater profits . . . for them.

Fellow Bajans, are you angry yet? If so, then let the Government hear from you and make them intervene to stop this travesty from playing out any further.

– BENJAMIN BECKLES

5. ???

6. WHAT

7. This is a response to ” The Truth”. I am a “gray” bajan and have been living here for the past 35 years 0r so. I have had the pleasure of being in the presence of members of the Haloute family on numerous occasions. I would like to set the record straight and say that they are some of the nicest, hard working, decent and charming people that I have met. They treat everyone with respect! As far as the question regarding the true ownership of Chefette Restaurants Ltd. ELIAS( the correct spelling) was the first one here, he came across from Trinidad over 40 years ago. He was the one who brought together all the partners and included Patsy Springer a non-white bajan. I bet no one knew that piece of information! So continue passing judgments on people that you have no true information about!!

8. Hello Bajan folks!

You are like brothers to me! Ok I’m Canadian from ontario, and in 2007 we have been on honeymoon trip in your country. I have learned a lot about you.
    AND YOU CAN BE REALLY PROUD!

Your economie is florishing,you have a good social system for a young nation, (ok sometimes it is not perfect all the time) but even here in canada we have problems of our own also, …and like us…you must stand up for your society…your people…your rigths…and integrity.You sovernty!

Dont let others like U.S. or even Canada…or Chineese dictate your decisions…Be proud Bajan…
    Let be Barbados.

We Love you so much! See you again some day! Rick& Fran

9. @ Richard
    Thanks for your kind words, we value the friendship of those who have given us the pleasure of their company.

10. Elias came to open a racing pool and Patsy Springer’s name was on his letterhead the DLP was in power.

Elias runs one of the biggest one arm bandit operations on the island.
    Elias owns a great deal of the BTC lottery.

The hotel is closed and the family is feuding over the money left by the death of Dr. Sam Haloute the dentist who gave so many smiles to people in power.

Albert’s (SAM) power of attorney was his brother Elias, his one armed bandit partner, and was required during his delicate throat surgery.
    His unexpected death revealed Elias had that old paper and used it the day his brother died to prevent Sam’s wife and widow from inheriting. Now everyone is battling over everything and declaring this theirs and this theirs.

Everything has been shut down in Hastings to keep money going to the wife. She and Sam never had their own children. She had 3 children from her Trinidadian husband who she divorced for Albert her childhood sweetheart who went to study dentistry in
    Scotland.

Elias’ s money from the racing pool started and subsidized Chefette. The Naime brothers roti business was the beginning of Chefette. Johnny Naime has his own BIG JOHNS operations, now after leaving his post at Chefette.

All profitable businesses have hard working strict bosses who pay well for information and permission and favors from those with the power to grant the needed license, permit, help to cut off other competition.
    Many receives free passes to Chefette, free meat, fresh vegetables…cookouts at the St. James beach houses where champagne flower for those with the power to help.
    COW is partner with Elias in ventures. COW has/had a condo at Hastings which is Elias’ Hasting Towers. Luther Miller has/had
    Lawyers have/had…others….a bank is located on that sight. Digicel has a satellite dish on top as does BARTEL. Who has the Mercedes now?

BLP DLP NDP all need money and grant favors to those who give big….That’s life.
    Bankers are in the game, too.

Many government people were wined and dined for favors and given good prices for a condo expensive gifts sent at Christmas to people in government or those offering services when favours were needed.
    That’s life. ALL do it. Even the black businessmen. Business’ unethical payments for favors is a must. Permits must be bought. Restricting competition. Hindering others. Spying on others. Hiring in companies to learn the secrets. Don’t begrudge those who are shrewd business people. Everyone sells their soul for things on earth. Only God knows who paid what to whom for what. Good service requires monopolistic control and family oligarchies. Greed eventually undos all of them. Even the money given to the church and the charities does not erase the conscience of those who know what they did to get where they are. Children pay for the sins of the fathers…and grandchildren…and in the end the person when he/she meets their MAKER. SUCCESSFUL PEOPLE HAVE EVIL SECRETS. Poor people have evil secrets.
    What secrets do you have?

11. Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

12. chefette was sold so other more expensive restuarants would take its place.
    we wouldent want chefette to feed the tourst at resonable prices now would we.
    so bye bye chefette holetown//////////// the only town where there is no chefette.!!!!!!!!!!!!odd
    then who would got to the tides or the beach house or just grilling and so on
    .and first and second street crack holes.outsmarted by the brits again!
    ya wouldent want a tourist to have a reasonably priced steak for god sake.

13. Mr. Chefette himself died today. RIP

https://www.instagram.com/p/CSpqDcUld9S/

14. @ David

Isn’t Sir Assad Haloute one of the founders of Chefette, while his brother Elias was involved in the horse racing and owned ‘racing pools?’

15. @Artax

The blogmaster stands corrected.

16. Haloute dies after brief illness
    BUSINESSMAN Elias Haloute has died.
    According to information reaching the DAILY NATION, he passed away at a private medical facility late Sunday night after a brief illness. He was 79.
    The Trinidadianborn Haloute invested in various businesses in Barbados after coming here to live more than 50 years ago. He was the owner of several gaming arcades in Bridgetown and director of Adams Castle Estate, an upmarket Christ Church housing development.
    Hall of Fame
    He was once a racehorse owner, but bowed out of local racing. However, he continued to race horses in Jamaica where he was inducted into that country’s Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame four years ago. He was the brother of Sir Assad Haloute, founder of Chefette Restaurants, and the late dentist Dr Albert Haloute.
    He is survived by his wife and two daughters.