bu_charge_sheet_121.png

In the aftermath of a short and intense political campaign which ended Tuesday, 15 January 2008, with victory for David Thompson and his Democratic Labour Party (DLP), we continue to worry about the perennial problem of an ineffective media in Barbados – read Barbados Free Press. The willingness of our media practitioners to sway and buckle to political and other pressures should be of concern to defenders of our democracy. It is not acceptable that as a country we should pride ourselves on a high standard of education, yet our media practitioners continue to demonstrate that they are devoid of any courage by demonstrating their spineless disposition. We have written extensively about the importance of the role of the Fourth of Estateenter keywords ‘fourth estate’ in our search area on the top of the page.

The time has come for media houses in Barbados to stop failing the people and to awake from their slumber.

There is a saying that people get what they deserve – well, something like that anyway – and in very much the same way that we are able to send a clear message every five years to the political directorate, so too we need to send a message to the owners of the Fourth Estate in Barbados. The only way we can expect balance reporting from our media houses is to speak-out against the inequities when they occur, embarrass them with our public comment, let them suffer by our lack of financial support, let us write to stakeholders such as the unions, and to their important clients and international watchdog agencies to help agitate for justice. The actions we can take as civic minded Barbadians are limitless.

Recently we have learned that the Nation newspaper have increased their advertising rates effective 1 January 2008. This increase comes against the back drop that the Nation Publishing Company is a very profitable company with a healthy market penetration in Barbados. Why is it that we are allowing this newspaper to disrespect us in this way? They continue to renege on their role as an important member of the Realms of the Estates, yet as citizens we pay them for doing so. Their commitment to improve shareholder value is laudable. Why should we blame them if they practice the free market concept of charging what the market will bear. The Starcom Group of companies is quite boastful when they publish the results of their Systems Surveys. Starcom Network currently dominates the media market in Barbados and command unrivaled market share. They are currently lobbying to get a TV license.

Certainly our Fair Trading Commission would have something to say about this if they apply the 40% rule.

The Media Houses in Barbados don’t care about freedom of expression, they care about making money. Any noises which they make in this regard must be labeled as lip-service only. Let us remember that Starcom Network is a publicly traded company trading under the name One Media based out of Trinidad. They are currently pursuing an acquisition strategy which will ultimately see news dissemination in the Caribbean consolidated in the hands of a narrow interest. The much respected Harold Hoyte and Sir Fred Gollop should be called to account for selling out Bajan majority interest in Starcom Network to fatten their bank accounts. Who are they fooling by spouting the rhetoric that a pan-media company is a visionary strategy. Give us a break!

In the same way that Starcom Network publicly asked former Minister of Tourism, Barney Lynch, how he acquired his perceived wealth, we, the public, should ask people such as, Vic Fernandez at Starcom, Harold Hoyte, retired publisher at the Nation and others, how they acquired their wealth. (It was only a short time ago Vic was the anchor for CBC TV news.) We are not seeking to sully the reputations of anyone. We simply want to highlight that a few people in our media houses have benefited tremendously from the support of Barbadians over the years. It is time some of these ‘fat cats’ in the media start to give something back. We have still not forgiven the Nation newspaper for feeding the behaviour which ultimately led to the departure of Roy Morris from that company!

The media practitioners in Barbados should be ashamed that after benefiting from our rich education system they do not have the will or the common sense to appreciate the benefit of coming together. Why is it that the Barbados Association of Journalists (BAJ) has been dormant for so many years? We will warn the media houses in the same way that we warned the previous government. There is a desire for change which is starting to gather momentum in our country. The Barbados Labour Party underestimated the power of the people. We hope that the learned people of our Fourth Estate can take heed.

Related Stories

Giving Professional Advice – Researching Blog
STARCOM Network Disappoints The PEOPLE Of Barbados
Media House Takes Another Feeble Left Jab At The 3S Affair~Come On Vivian-Anne, There Is The Right HAND!!!
Nation Newspaper Finally Awakes From A Deep Slumber By Publishing The 3S Barbados SRL, Jonathan Danos Story ~ Can They Stay Awake?
Press Freedom Continues To Be Under Threat In Barbados
A Senior Barbadian Journalist Gives A Rare Insight Into The Challenges Of The Local Media Extracting Information From Government Regarding GEMS
A Jamaican Blogger Dishes Out A Brickbat To The Barbados Media and A Bouquet To Two Barbados Blogs
Media Houses In Barbados Should Take Note Of What Their Counterparts In Dominica Are Doing
Media Houses In Barbados In Collusion With Government To Suppress News, Press Freedom Under Threat ~ The Voices Of The People Must Be Heard
Press Freedom Under Threat In Barbados

140 responses to “Media Houses In Barbados Charged With Dereliction Of Duty”

1. Concerned Bajan Avatar

Wht the Nation pay for the chapo poll with no track recors? something smells nasty here.

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

The Nation has clearly demonstrated that it does not have the interests of its readers at heart.

After the clear ruling by the Fair Trading Commission stating that it had received a list of ‘winners’ of the Barbados Lucky Numbers. Opera Interactive (Barbados) competition and that it had established that these ‘winners’ were bona-fide, absolutely NO list has been published.
    This in spite of the Nation printing an announcement on 8th December 2007 that a list of all winners would be published ‘soon’.

Professor Boxhill actually stated that both the Nation and Advocate had purchased the CHAPO poll results.

3. Good Morning Barbados,

Well, Greetings from your backwater cousin. I am reading, but not commenting. Have a nice day!

Bye

4. Anybody heard from clyde mascoll?
    Is he eating crow this weekend, or having a bowl of won ton soup?
    Poor soul.
    Tell Mascoll D Red man was all over d office of Prime Minister at Bay Street yesterday.
    He might be looking for a car washer ya never know.

5. Wuhloss where my BLP colleagues on this blog gone ?

Wha’ after all I tek my licks like a human being !

Probably if wunnah did not get on so POWERFUL – FOOLISH the people woulda treat wunnah better !

But Such Stupid Comments , Jay , Resilient 99 and others just did not listen to me….. DE BUMBLE BEE !

Now the Bajan electorate mek we……REPENT !

The electorate left Owen wid all the ones he….RESENT !

EXAMPLE…….????

Hammie La !

Rommell Marshall !

Rawle Eastmond !

George Payne !

Mia Mottley !

6. Wuhloss where my BLP colleagues on this blog gone ?

Probably if wunnah did not get on so POWERFUL – FOOLISH the people woulda treat wunnah better !

But Such Stupid Comments , Jay , Resilient 99 and others just did not listen to me….. DE BUMBLE BEE !

Now the Bajan electorate mek we……REPENT !

EXAMPLE…….????

Hammie La !

Rommell Marshall !

Rawle Eastmond !

George Payne !

Mia Mottley !

7. Getting back to the subject of this blog:

Media Houses in Barbados charged with dereliction of duty…………I could not agree with you more.

I put my money where my mouth is: I don’t watch television, I don’t buy either newspaper and the only time I have listened to the radio in the past year was when the earthquake happened and on election night.

People ask me how I can function so uninformed. (I have a high profile position). Very nicely thank you I tell them………I never want for news. I am more informed than they are because I seek the truth not propaganda or lies.

So first of all everyone who wants to see change in the media needs to stop feeding their own addiction and do what will really make the media houses hurt ………… withhold your financial support. You would be surprised what freedom you will experience without that steady diet of violence, immorality and lies.

Secondly, I have personally been a victim of their deriliction of duty. I cannot go into the details or my identity would be revealed and I simply can’t afford that. We may have a different Government but if change does come it will be many years in coming.

When I was interviewed on TV regarding an important issue concerning a certain Ministry in the public domain and the way in which peoples’ rights were ignored and if you will even trampled upon the interview lasted almost one hour. At the end of the interview the reporter informed me that the interview would have to be vetted by the PS. When the interview was aired, which in itself was a miracle it lasted all of 45 seconds. I am perfectly serious.

Onto the Nation, who called me on the story. I didn’t approach them…….. similar situation with facts skewed and a one-sided version published.

In both cases I had irrefutable written documentation, copious amounts of it, to substantiate my case, which were supplied in particular to the Nation who chose to totally disregard the evidence. To be honest, I don’t even know why they published the story other than to discredit me.

So my dear compatriots, if something is not done regarding the “Freedom of the Press” and the decided lack of it in this country then whether we have a new government or not means precious little because human nature being the way that it is, the same muzzling and black out will simply continue. Same horse, different colour.

We, the people must do something about it.

8. ASIS // January 18, 2008 at 7:22 am

Anybody heard from clyde mascoll?
    Poor soul.
    Tell Mascoll D Red man was all over d office of Prime Minister at Bay Street yesterday.
    ASIS ,

I see on this BU site yuh boy Clydie begging fuh a pick !

Check out he posting below :

Clyde Mascoll // January 16, 2008 at 4:41 pm

I am using this medium to discuss this matter with PM David Thompson .

Dear PM Thompson,

Will you kindly take me back into the DLP fold to share your fatted calf ?

I put my economic training at you disposal.

With the experience I have gained over the past 2 years I will make a good Junior Minister of Finance in your Cabinet.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

9. ASIS // January 18, 2008 at 7:22 am

Anybody heard from clyde mascoll?
    Poor soul.
    ASIS ,

I see on this BU site yuh boy Clydie begging fuh a pick !

Check out he posting below :

Clyde Mascoll // January 16, 2008 at 4:41 pm

I am using this medium to discuss this matter with PM David Thompson .

Dear PM Thompson,

Will you kindly take me back into the DLP fold to share your fatted calf ?

I put my economic training at you disposal.

With the experience I have gained over the past 2 years I will make a good Junior Minister of Finance in your Cabinet.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

10. Rubbish.

It is clear that you at BU, along with the likes of Adrian Loveridge and Patrick Gollop, are only interested in introducing five years of political victimization and personal vendettas against other people in Barbados.

It is easy enough to use the internet to hide and cast slanderous allegations against those who do not bow to your political demands and to cast aspersions against those who have worked hard to make their own money. Such is the way of evil-minded people such as you who seek to destroy our society while contributing nothing positive to it.

This DLP election victory has exposed the true vindictive nature of several narrow minds already. Never forget that YOUR own conduct is also constantly under observation.

11. ASIS,

Clydie still begging !

Check out his post below :

Clyde Mascoll // January 17, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Dear PM Thompson,

Were you able to consider my request above for a position in your new Cabinet ?

I can explain the true position about GEMS.

Waiting on your response.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

12. ASIS,

Clydie still begging !

Check out his post below :

Clyde Mascoll // January 17, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Dear PM Thompson,

Were you able to consider my request above for a position in your new Cabinet ?

I can explain the true position about GEMS.

Waiting on your response.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

13. Nicole // January 18, 2008 at 8:02 am

Rubbish

Nicole……a.k.a Jerome Walcott.

Go and tek a bush bath !

The people of Barbados have rightly rejected your Palaver , Lies & Deceit !

14. Nicole // January 18, 2008 at 8:02 am

Rubbish

Nicole……a.k.a Jerome Walcott.

Go and tek a bush bath !

The people of Barbados have rightly rejected your Palaver , Lies & Deceit !

15. Thinking about our future years Avatar
    Thinking about our future years

When Nation was owned by responsible Bajans it was one thing. Now the private sector has reached for and controlled it in their own selfish interests.

Facts have changed on the ground and a new contender must be found. Blog on.

16. Eve,

YOU SAID: “When the interview was aired, which in itself was a miracle it lasted all of 45 seconds.”

You obviously know nothing about how the television news industry works, because anyone who watches TV news knows that TV stations produce news which have to fit into preset time slots, and they can’t possibly show all interviews in their entirety. Instead they broadcast choice cuts from each interview, but since your vanity and self-importance probably blinds you to such facts.

Get some education about real life and then you would not be so clueless about these things.

My own experience with the media came when the Nation did one of those company features in their newspaper with profiles of members of staff. When I read mine, although all the details were factually correct, it was presented in such a manner that it created what (to me) read like a profile of a completely different person, and most important of all I did not like the headline they used. It was then that I realised the power which the printed media has to influence readers, because people tend to accept and believe everything they see in black and white without question.

17. DE BUMBLE BEE,

Get a brain and buzz off.

18. David,

You are a great Barbadian and a visionary. This is an EXCELLENT article. Of course you have hit the nail directly on its head.

First of all, the media IS NOT BARBADIAN and only a fool would believe that the primary interest could therefore exactly coincide with Bajan norms, Bajan dreams and Bajan desires.

When these foreign interest come here and dominate ANY area, we have to be EXTREMELY careful to analyze if their interests can really properly align with ours.

Even Adrian Loveridge, who I respect and Like I DO NOT WANT APPOINTED AS ANY MINISTER bout here UNTIL he has fully paid his dues and become in our minds 100% BAJAN through and through. Chairman of a Board…yes… Minister/Senator NO!!

People like Harold Hoyte and Vic Fernandes are traitors to Barbados for selling out our national assets that had been entrusted to them to the highest foreign bidder. Just like the last PM sold us out with CSME in an effort to build a personal legacy.

It is the same with those white real estate companies that grab up all our properties and then price them out of Bajan pockets and into the hands of rich foreigners…all to become quick millionaires.

This nonsense has to stop. Otherwise we will end up with a few rich JOHNS but there will be NO MORE BARBADOS except in name only.

The solution to the Media issue is the creation of a new local news organisation, to be owned by a true Barbadian patriotic group (THE CREDIT UNION MOVEMENT COMES TO MIND), and for all true Bajans to transfer their patronage and business to those new local institutions…

This is so easy that it is quite funny…..

19. Rubbish.

It is clear that you at BU, along with the likes of Adrian Loveridge and Patrick Gollop, are only interested in introducing five years of political victimization and personal vendettas against other people in Barbados.

It is easy enough to use the internet to hide and cast slanderous allegations against those who do not bow to your political demands and to cast aspersions against those who have worked hard to make their own money. Such is the way of evil-minded people such as you who seek to destroy our society while contributing nothing positive to it.

This DLP election victory has exposed the true vindictive nature of several narrow minds already. Never forget that YOUR own conduct is also constantly under observation.

Nicole

You said that you are a former journalist and therefore we are intrigue by your comment which expresses disapproval to how we are packaging our information. unfortunately you neglected to write with clarity of purpose and we have no idea what you exactly you are critiquing. Comeback to us with a little more exactness please!

We enjoyed Lowdown reading today. Rather to the point we think!

20. Bush tea,

YOU SAID: “Even Adrian Loveridge, who I respect and Like I DO NOT WANT APPOINTED AS ANY MINISTER bout here UNTIL he has fully paid his dues and become in our minds 100% BAJAN through and through.”

YOU SAID: ““Just like the last PM sold us out with CSME in an effort to build a personal legacy.”

You are really fooling yourself. Better wake up to reality. The DLP is fully committed to CSME, and rightfully so in my opinion. Read their manifesto and see what they have to say about protecting the rights of the “foreign worker” and raising the legal limit on the amount of money they can send out of Barbados.

As for Loveridge, his personal vindictiveness alone makes him unfit to hold ministerial office in this country. No foreign white immigrant should EVER become minister of anything in Barbados government. The DLP would never be forgiven for such an act of betrayal. WE DO NOT WANT LOVERIDGE!

21. BU I think Nicole was responding to a criticism to one of her comments over at BFP which is why you can’t follow. You would have to read it over by BFP.

22. I find the accused guilty as well. especially since there are persons who expect so much from them. But I am too cynical to bother or be affected by the ‘angle.’

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Nicole..

A former journalist?

What happened, did your employers think you had lost your objectivity?

You accuse me of victimisation!

Was I the one sending death threats to me and my wife, or promising to burn down our hotel. Or was I the one that threaten to remove any Government advertising if my column wasn’t stopped.
    Or did I refuse to sit in a radio studio with a Minister?

Hopefully you will be happier in your new job.

24. As is your right, Nicole, speak your mind but remember you are speaking for yourself, in exactly the same way as Adrian L is.

The vindiction you percieve in him, may also be detected in your posts.

Your anger is probably caused by Adrian proving the old adage” the pen is mightier than the sword”.

His attackers by outrageous threats and intimidation lost the argument along with their credibility as time and again he reported irrefutable facts, to counter official Government statements.

With this now changed political landscape we need experienced professionals at the head of our vital institutions, not the time serving yardfowls as previously employed.

If not Adrian L, then properly paid high class managers with a proven track record would save the wasted millions of dollars for the benefit of all.

Not just for tourism, but Auditor General, Contractor General and a new independent department of compliance with the promised Integrity Transparency and Accountability legislation.

I, for one , am not interested in knowing the fine details of our elected MPs assets, but I am very interested that the legislation will be backed up by strong and fearless scrutiny and when this is in place we can all relax in the peace that will come from the removal of doubt in the management of our finances.

25. Nation Employee Avatar

Someof us are very upset at some of the decisions down here now Vivian take over. Some ar very senior people too.

26. Culled from BFP:

Bimbro
    January 18, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Bush Tea, I’m sorry to say that, on this occasion, I think you’re talking rot! I dont’ suppose that ‘EVE’ is any more or less of a coward than most of us! Did u stand outside of the PM’s office, walk up & down the street with a placard, protesting?

I doubt, it very much. Even BFP, whose praises, incidentally, I came on here on this occasion to sing, have had to conceal their identity!

Let’s just be grateful that we’ve got rid of the rotten, government and hope for an improvement from the new incumbents – and we certainly, intend, to hold them to account!!!!

The reason I came on here, on this particular occasion, is that I’m still, partially, in a state of shock at something which I read in my local, (UK) version of The Nation. Some of u will, no doubt, be already aware of the story but I’ve just read it for the first time, properly, this morning i.e. that Dr Don Marshall’s life was threatened (four times) at some political meeting over the election period!!!!

I could n’t believe it, in Bim!!!!

That’s why I came on here to again, sing the BFP’s and the BU’s, praises because without them, we may never have known about these appalling, occurances – IN BIM!!!!

It seems that the blogs may very, well have saved us from a fate, almost, too horrid to imagine!!!!

So, allow me to say, here and now, on the behalf of all of us, A VERY HEARTY THANK YOU, BFP AND BU! Without you, I dread to think where we’d be, today!!!!

That being the case, allow me to reiterate, that in my view, and I’m sure many of you would agree with me, it would not be inapproprite, if at some point, a member(s) of the BFP and BU sought political, office in Bim, whether publicly or ‘unknown to us’, because what we need in Bim, are politicians who HAVE REGARD FOR THE RIGHTS OF OUR PEOPLE, as well as, providing us with jobs and medical services, etc!

‘Go for it, guys’, and we’ll support you all the way!!!!

27. I will easily say “guilty as charged.” I have been following elections from since 1971 and whenever the BLP was in office there has always been the intimidation of the media. In fact there always seem to be a fear factor throughout the society. People were afraid to speak up especially if they didn’t support the BLP. Note carefully that since this recent election there is an air of relief in Barbados today especially among some media personnel.

28. Nicole

Serious, where did you work as a ‘journalist’? how long did you last?

It is very difficult to follow your logic.

What does the possibility that the DLP will endorse CSME have to do with my position that the BLP did Barbados a disservice by wasting resources and disenfranchising Bajans in its interest over the past 10 years?

If DLP follow the same path I will also feel that way about them..

29. CLYDE! What is you email address so we can tell you how much we LOVE you.

30. Nicole // January 18, 2008 at 8:16 am

DE BUMBLE BEE,

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

NICOLE,

It is you that need a brain…..

The BLP destroyed yours !

Look at what the INTELLIGENT people of Barbados did……read the story below :

You see why some DUMB…..BEES like you get treat so by the people ??

Wuhloss where my BLP colleagues on this blog gone ?

But Such Stupid Comments , Jay , Resilient 99 , NICLOE….. and others just did not listen to me….. DE BUMBLE BEE !

Now that the Bajan electorate mek we……REPENT !

EXAMPLE…….????

Hammie La !

Rommell Marshall !

Rawle Eastmond !

George Payne !

Mia Mottley !

31. Nicole // January 18, 2008 at 8:16 am

DE BUMBLE BEE,

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

NICOLE,

It is you that need a brain…..

The BLP destroyed yours !

Look at what the INTELLIGENT people of Barbados did……read the story below :

You see why some DUMB…..BEES like you get treat so by the people ??

Wuhloss where my BLP colleagues on this blog gone ?

But Such Stupid Comments , Jay , Resilient 99 , NICLOE….. and others just did not listen to me….. DE BUMBLE BEE !

Now that the Bajan electorate mek we……REPENT !

EXAMPLE…….????

Hammie La !

Rommell Marshall !

Rawle Eastmond !

George Payne !

Mia Mottley !

32. My apologies for not yet having read all of the posts above, but I would like to draw everyone’s attention to this post which I have found:

YUM YUM I like it! // September 14, 2007 at 2:11 pm
    “Adrian Hinds
    I agree entirely with your comment.
    Online blogs such as BFP and BU do pose a threat to mainstream media.
    I listened to ‘Down to Brass Tacks’ (with David Ellis) yesterday for the first time in ages. I had to force myself to listen all the way through – it was PAINFUL!!
    Here are my main criticisms:
    1) Ellis is arrogant and bullying
    2) Ellis ALWAYS has to have the last word (cutting people off then continuing to speak)
    3) Ellis never once mentioned the blogs (although he constantly hinted at them saying ‘certain writers…..’
    4) Nearly every caller was incoherent and muddled
    5) Discussion topics were poorly organised
    Plainly, the radio call-in show is a dying format, if this pile of plop is anything to go by! Blogs are much more fun and are far more intelligently run – no patronising host who is in love with the sound of his own voice!
    Long live BU and BFP!”

What is amazing me is that every time I browse here, I find something which resonates with my own views and feelings.

I have listened to Brass Tacks very occasionally for short spells, (usually lasts about two minutes) since I have lived in Barbados (11 years). The above post echoes my sentiments entirely.

I stopped buying the Nation about two years ago.

We only have Channel 8, so occasionally watch the news at 7.00pm.

I know many do not have access to the Internet, but I will promote BFP and BU with anyone I meet. So far, most I have spoken to say “That’s the underground press, it’s all lies, do not read it!” My God, the ignorance of some (most?) Barbadians. But I will talk with them (evangelize!!!?) to try to get them to become more infrmed of the true state of affairs.

Do we need to hand out cheap printouts?

33. In a recent post I paid tribute to BFP – rightly deserved – and did not mention Barbados Underground, that was remiss of me, and I do so now, you too have done a great service to Barbados.

It is my intention to take a back seat now – although I will always read the blogs – but I wanted to put that right before I do.

Thanks to all the friends I made along the way, and even those I did not agree with, thanks to you as well.

Regards
    Yardbroom

Thank you Yardbroom, Bimbro et al who have given the blogs support.

We will not always get it right but rest assure that we are patriots; what we do is for the good of Barbados and our children and our children’s children. Many nights, our family have sat around the computers as a team to ensure that what little resources we command we can produce a coherent message for the cause. Our focus as you would have seen will shift somewhat as we challenge another Realm of the Estate. We look forward to getting the support from members of the Blogosphere as we enter this next stage of our journey. Yardbroom, we are disappointed you would consider withholding your frequent comments from the blogs. The evolution of the blogs can only come from the ideas/suggestions which the BU family inject into discussions. We urge you to consider!

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Straight talk..

Beautifully said!

Now I would believe YOU if you said you are or were a journalist!

I just think its so sad when people bring race into everything.
    I really had no control over what colour I was born and I am trying to live with it in the best way possible.

Adrian

it is not often we hear a white person in barbados being put on the defensive. Forgive me if we had to smile at the thought : -)
    Keep fighting for what you believe in bro.

35. Did anyone notice the ‘headshot’ of Jewel Forde on the night of the election on CBC TV when she thought she might have been off-camera? She dropped her head as if in disgust when the results started to paint a sorry tale for the BLP. It is this surrender by the media which we talk about. The last time we checked, she was a senior staffer at CBC. We will not write why we think she expressed disgust but people who live in Barbados with ears close to the ground would grasp our drift on this one.

36. I saw Jewel Forde drop her head during the CBC election night presentation, but I thought it was because of one of the usual mess-ups by CBC during their live presentations. This time it was some breakdown in a link to an outside reporter, I thought.

Whatever the reason, my post here is about the pathetic CBC programme. The graphics were awful to non-existent, and most of the time all we had was what’s her name READING OUT (!!?) the results as they came in. I cheered the first few boxes, and within 15 minutes knew it was good for the DLP.

After that the only interest was to see the panel squirm (apart from the DLP man) as they tried to rescue their loyalties.

37. BU,
    you need to bring a charge against BFP as well, for during the elections they suppressed the views of many of their regulars, they refused to post their submissions, the submissions were not being as critical to the BLP as they wanted so they were not posted.

Others have made mention of that before and after elections, I thought only the rude and crude comments were being blocked, but I experienced it for myself, comments that were pro BLP and anti DLP were being blocked. I had about six of mine blocked. Some commentators have returned, but I choose not too, I have since gone and had a look but, I WILL NEVER POST AGAIN OVER THERE!!!!!!

BU, I don’t always agree with you over here but keep up the good work.

Until…………

38. Pimps, Pipsqueaks, Prosolytes Avatar
    Pimps, Pipsqueaks, Prosolytes

The answer is simple. Stop buying the bleeping papers. I buy neither of the two publications. But I doubt that will ever happen with the meemy azz bajans who get diarreh if someone looks at them too hard. It does not even have to be forever. Simple organise to stop buying papers for 1 week…as a shot across the bow…I am sure that will not kill you weak knee bastards.

In fact I wonder how many of you BU and BFP readers have a todays nation sitting in your house as I type this … you bunch of mealy mouth bastards. YOU DESEVER WHAT YOU GET because you don’t have the balls or even believe anything you say here.

STOP BUYING THE DAMN SO AND SO PAPER AND PUT THE THUGS IN THEIR PLACE!!!!

39. Some people have said that the blogs did not affect the election.

Bajans rely on the local newspapers, the local TV, and the blogs for their information.

Under the Arthur administration journalists critical of the government were fired or “disciplined”, effectively silencing all criticism from the media. It is unlikely that the same media that sang the praises of the Arthur administration would have been responsible for their defeat at the polls.

The only media critical of the popular Arthur regime were the blogs. Based on the facts, it is logical to assume that the blogs played a part in the downfall of a popular government in a time of economic prosperity.

40. It can happened when people are sold on the perception that the news they are PAYING FOR is censured, and partisan.
    No body buys dailys in Boston anymore. So they give them away or occasionally try to get .25 cents for them. The Sunday paper is the stable for many reasons a couple of which are, compilation of the weeks past events, breaking stories for the new week, loads of coupons and retail flyers etc.

Local content suffers when media is owned by outsiders : Bush tea has a point shared by others.
    Jack Welch former CEO of GE is concidering buying the BostonGlobe from it’s parent company THE NEW YORK TIMES, for this same reason.

Forcing the hand of the Media to change:
    No new approaches has to be adopted, we just need to have subcribers who are most likely also active voters to think of why they voted the way they did (change) and ask them their opinion on how they can bring about change in the Media. Enpower people to come up with the solution and you are likely to find that it will coincide with what we intend. People are more likely to act on something that they percieve to be their idea.

One of the big problems in Barbados is that everybody talks down to Barbadians and hardly anybody listens.

41. The growth of any profession is built on how how the veterans are allowed to coach/mentor the rookies. It happens in sports and other facets of life. It even happens in the animal kingdom.

We look around the media and the dearth of veteran media practitioners makes the prospect of our suggestion seem a pipe dream. Who do we have that can muster to the likes of Gladstone Holder, Oliver Jackman, Clennel Wickham, Frank Pardo et al. Is it inconceivable that if our journalist attempt to break the stranglehold of censure which currently exist on press freedom in Barbados that the solution will be to transfer labour from other markets under the guise of CSME/|FTA?

We have been very critical of a David Ellis for example. When one considers that he is the only one willing to challenge, sometimes, the status quo at great personal sacrifice his colleagues should be ashame. We respect that he has elected to work within the system to agitate and not cross to some cushy private sector job.

42. Keltruth we know that, and those who are saying the Blogs didn’t have an impact are the same ones who we can safely characterize as pragmatics. Defeat had to hit them smack in the face, for they to even consider that their time had run out. Even Ezra Alleyne who recognize the impact, preferred to characterize it as filth, and character assassinations of politico’s. But these are the people that ran a campaign on “Change” by presenting the same tired format of “going wid owen” Remember this often repeated statement, “that men will often times stumble upon the truth only to get up, brush themselves off and continue as if nothing had occurred.” This is what you are witnessing with this denial of the Blogs influence.

========================
    On a different note but same refrain:

……For the BLP to think that Mia Mottley could ever be royal, or could ever be endeared to the Barbadian public to the point that they will ever consider a BLP team led by her further demonstrates the unbelievable delusional state they are in and the utter contempt they hold in their minds for the opinions of Barbadians. They really bought into their rhetoric that the people of Barbados did not like David Thompson in fact the truth was that they did not really know him as he is. What is more likely to be true is that as people get to know the real Mia Mottley they will see that the national and unofficial opinions of her are more likely to be true than false, and as a result the repulsion of her will be enlarged to the point that it will become clear that a BLP led by Mia Mottley will not be electable in Barbados. 😀 yes i am committed in a special way to see the likes of Mia Mottley never to become PM of Barbados, and will be starting a foundation committed to this singular cause. 😀

43. First of all I would like to express my sincere best wishes to BU for allowing me the space and the freedom of my expression on their site, that is so sadly lacking in the regular press.

I have lived long enough to see the impact that these blogs have had on the electorate of this island, when we hear Billie Miller and Ezra Alleyne (as per his article in today’s Nation) commenting about the fact they misunderstood the impact that these blogs had on the voters it does speak volumes.

Once again I would like to offer you my best wishes for the future and can assure you if the DEMS do anything silly I will be one of the first on these sites to be critical of them
    so once again to you best wishes for a long and healthy future and good luck and health and happiness.

Here is the Nation article where Ezra ‘Yardfowl’ Alleyne attacks the blogs:

ISSUES & IDEAS: Arthur’s proud record
    Published on: 1/18/08.

BY EZRA ALLEYNE

TO MY ETERNAL FRUSTRATION, this column was suspended during the election campaign, although as you can imagine, I was straining at the leash.

As a firm believer in the Westminster version of constitutional democracy, I fully accept the verdict of the people, and therefore my first order of business this morning is to congratulate Mr David Thompson on becoming our first Combermerian to ascend “up and on” to the high office of Prime Minister of this country.

I note too that my good friend Branford Taitt who managed the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) campaign, is also a former Combermerian. He, too, gets my warmest congratulations, since the old school tie remains an inseparable bond between Combermerians and transcends the political divide.

Outgoing Prime Minister Owen Arthur has everything to be proud of in his long tenure as Prime Minister and leader of this country. The record shows that in 1994, he took over a country whose confidence was fractured and shattered, and rebuilt it to the stage where young Barbadians particularly, now believe that the sky is no longer the limit, but that there are no limits to their aspirations.

He leaves office at a time when, thanks to him, Barbadians enjoy a very high standard of living and when his far-sighted planning leaves behind firm foundations on which our future progress was to have been built. Not least among these are the record low unemployment and the comfortable level of foreign reserves. Quite the opposite was the position in 1994, when he arrived at his office to find the International Monetary Fund point man.

One of the ironies of the recent political campaign has been the cry for change, a theme which resonated among voters who were being urged to see long tenure as a danger to democracy. The truth is that competent governance earns long terms, and recent examples abound in the Commonwealth. The British Conservatives held power from 1979 to 1997 (four terms) and the Jamaica Labour Party under P.J. Patterson also served four terms; as did the last Australian government which lost power late last year.

At no time were these long tenures seen as a threat to democracy. But only ’bout here! Rather, the system requires that the Opposition proves its case to be elected, and change for the sake of change is not part of the Westminster equation. Yet such a canard was peddled and apparently bought during the recent campaign.

Two disturbing features of the campaign require mention. Bank confidentiality may have been a casualty of the desire to get power, for manager’s cheques issued in the accustomed manner for campaign contributions were pulled, copied and bandied about in the Press and on campaign screens.

The socially responsible and desirable action of local companies in contributing to political parties on both sides of the political fence may now become a thing of the past, if mischief is made of honest and socially responsible behaviour.

The other matter is the anonymous peddling of smear and innuendo and sometimes downright lies aimed at politicians on the Internet blogs. Given the deep penetration of the Internet in this country, such blogs allow a politician’s character and good name to be assassinated in circumstances in which he or she has no recourse to the law courts.

That is a virulent threat to democracy and the DLP has been a major beneficiary of this misuse in the campaign and in the recent run-up there to.

What we must all do now is to sit back and demand that all those “first 100 days” promises be honoured.

They were categorical promises, and the public view of the integrity of the new Administration will be shaped by the performance or non-performance of these promises. The fire is already burning and the Barbados Labour Party is ready to hold the Government’s feet to that fire. Very close to the fire.

l Ezra Alleyne is an attorney-at-law and a former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly

44. Adrian Hinds wrote
    For the BLP to think that Mia Mottley could ever be royal, or could ever be endeared to the Barbadian public to the point that they will ever consider a BLP team led by her further demonstrates the unbelievable delusional state they are in and the utter contempt they hold in their minds for the opinions of Barbadians…………………….
    What is more likely to be true is that as people get to know the real Mia Mottley they will see that the national and unofficial opinions of her are more likely to be true than false, and as a result the repulsion of her will be enlarged to the point that it will become clear that a BLP led by Mia Mottley will not be electable in Barbados.
    ==============================
    Adrian there is probably much merit in what you say. This is borne out in the information provided by Gary Cole in the thread on Mottleyism. As children we grew up hearing of Mottley, and how he was revered as some one good and special. Now we are learning that he was the bastard child of a white man and a maid- like many others in our land. Then we learned of the way touted and otherwise crawled up in society. So to consider Mia is royal is bovine excrement, because she has no greater pedigree than the average Bajan. In fact hers is worse, since the average Bajan’s parents are not guilty of the things that Cole suggests is true of Mottley.

45. Thank you David always on the ball thanks.

46. Adrian Hinds

If David Thompson does a halfway decent job and leaves the stamp of family on the office of PM for the first time ever then you do not have to worry. Our collective expectations will have risen.

No doubt Mia will still be around and make her contribution to her country as did Dame Billie but it is unlikely a single woman will fit the post of PM, good as she is supposed to be.

The most likely BLP PM out of the those left in parliament who could possibly meet those higher expectations of the electorate would then be William Duguid but it really depends on what David Thompson does whether the BLP hierarchy will even look at him.

His age and the fact that he is a family man will stand him in good stead. If he uses the time in opposition to really connect with his constituents and get the power to be his own man in Parliament from them, then he may very well be our next BLP PM.

People may laugh but he only needs to watch Dennis Kellman where independence of thought is concerned!! Perhaps he should adopt him as his mentor in his time in the wilderness.

Ronald Toppin showed signs of independence of thought but then went silent which is strange because I knew him at school to be very vocal and have an opinion on any topic. Just shows what politics can do to you.

Some of the others I doubt will make it next time around but funnier things have happened. Glyne Clarke, Dale Marshall and George Payne will be under pressure unless the new Government really fails to deliver or unless they take a walking trip to Damascus and see a bright light.

Rawle Eastmond, Cynthia Forde and Hammie-La don’t spring to mind as future PM’s, but who knows.

…… of course we could get back a rebranded Owen!!

Hopefully by then they will lose the “Now more than ever” rubbish. Suppose some of us could tolerate the “… tried and tested” bit.

The BLP’s future will depend on the DLP and its MPs handling of themselves and our country.

We will be watching them!!

47. I must admit that i have not read much of Gary’s contribution. I am afraid that i have fallen victim to being to busy to spend the quality time to read his very long contributions, in fact being busy does interfere with my ability to post on these blogs as often and as carefully as i would like too. Anyway if Gary alluded to the things you have mentioned then i will have to find the time to read his opinions.

…..On Mia: I am inclined to viewed the election outcome as a repudiation for what Mia stands for. Now i am only willing to temper this view if it becomes known that it was her idea to go with the strategy that the BLP undertook. Going wid Owen had lost it’s shine after the 1999 election. So if Mia is the brainchild of this approach for election 2008, i am willing to give some creditability to the view that she had to have some insight to the possibility of this election outcome, hoping to benefit from it later on. However I kind of discount this, because Mia went overboard in “Bigging up” Owen and bigging up herself as well, she by her platform actions presented herself as “co-leader”, and therefore i see the results as an indictment on both, one more so than the other but nevertheless it was bad for both. I think i can safely say that the repudiation of Mia as potential leader of the BLP, and as a result a potential Prime Minister of Barbados is demonstrated by contrasting her political rhetoric with the outcome of the election,

…..at her nomination, where the format featured all the BLP St.Michael candidates EXCEPT JOE ATHERLY, and this was done for two reason one she spoke about (canvassing st.Michael as one) and the other was left to your imagination and is likely to have shown Mia as the Leader of the BLP st.Michael team, a set of constituencies that a party must win in order to carry the election. If you contrast all the talk she would have spewed then with the result in All of St.Michael, can i not then declare that St.Michael rejected her? and that if it is true that the party, which does not win the majority of seats in St,Michael cannot win the government So too it must be, that the Mia Royal persona not winning St.Michael as leader of the BLP St.Michael team cannot win Barbados as leader of the BLP Barbados team.

……Winning on this false premise of leadership: she will now have to contend with Thompson, Sinkcler, and Sealy, who will out match her in favour-ability in the people’s eye. Will she have the energy and strength to battle these much “healthier” persons? Sinkcler to my mind in Independence Square sound the warning bell that he will link all the publicly perceived opinions of Mia to her. I cannot at this time see a path to the Prime Minister-ship for her and of her own making.

48. Prime Minister's first stumble? Avatar
    Prime Minister’s first stumble?

It has just been announced that Prime Minister David Thompson’s address to the nation which was planned for tonight has been canceled.

Is this the first failure?

Is he stumbling already?

49. ha ha ha ha ha Gary i take that back, i just realize that my post are equally as long as yours. 😀 forgive me sir 😀

50. Prime Minister’s first stumble? // January 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm

It has just been announced that Prime Minister David Thompson’s address to the nation which was planned for tonight has been canceled.

Is this the first failure?

Is he stumbling already?
    =============================

ha ha ha ha somebody like them in rush to get in office. So you know the next election is due for another 5 years 2013, buckle up for the ride. 😀

BTW way how many times the referendum on Republicanism was on and off again? must i compare an address to the people too a change to our consitution? However it doesn’t look good though.