LAWYERS in the NEWS
No single profession attracts the ire of Barbadians like lawyers. On a daily basis For example, we often hear complaints about lawyers taking unreasonably long periods of time to transfer monies from clients accounts to their clients. The complaints come from Barbadians living overseas who having entrusted life long savings (pensions) to lawyers to settle various transactions in absentia or Barbadians on the rock who have no choice but to take on the stress of the legal system to process routine transactions.
The Bar Association (BA) has done little to assuage the concerns by Barbadians that it is an efficient self regulating body. Suggestions to include ordinary folks on the BA’s Disciplinary Committee has not met with a favourable response. There is a sense lawyers and by extension the legal system has the country in a vice grip headlock. Where are ordinary citizens to turn for justice if the Court System, its trusted officers (lawyers) and the BA continue to NOT satisfactorily resolve concerns from citizenry?
BU accepts bad apples are to be found in all professions – doctors, engineers, construction class, bankers and the list is very long. However, what cannot be denied is the ‘omnipresence’ nature of the legal profession on our little society. What cannot be denies is the right of Barbadians to assign priority to issues affecting them as they think fit. The time for citizens, ordinary and others, to fight back.
Take Note Commenters
-
The objective of BU LAWYERS in the NEWS page is to highlight reports of interest to the public about the activities of Barbados based lawyers.
-
No Comments will be allowed.
-
If you have information you think qualify email Barbados Underground by clicking on the following LINK.
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
Good job as usual, Carlisle Greaves! These allegations have been going on for too many years. Time this problem is solved. This is 2020 and technology is available.
But why did Michael Lashley and Adriel Brathwaite and company allow this to happen to the suspect?????
Allegedly happen, of course.
LikeLike
@Donna
Preferred others to make the observation. Many get caught up in the theatre losing sight of the root.
LikeLike
” their duty as young attorneys-at-law to the court and to their clients and as trustees in relation to funds that are placed in their care,” Marshall said.
https://barbadosunderground.net/tales-from-the-courts/lawyers-in-the-news/
LikeLike
LikeLike
Whaaaaaat! Surely you jest! Up in Brooklyn, New York?????? That would have to be the overseas Bajans that carried their nasty Bajan Condition up in there!
Wuhlaus!
But I had been made to understand that the white man’s perfect system would have knocked them into perfect shape!
🤷🏽♂️🤷🏽♂️🤷🏽♂️🤷🏽♂️🤷🏽♂️🤦🏽♂️🤦🏽♂️🤦🏽♂️🤦🏽♂️🤦🏽♂️
LikeLike
LikeLike
Alison Seale is right on point. I have always labeled Dodds as Sandodds
LikeLike
Almost missed this
https://www.nationnews.com/2019/10/30/call-to-disbar/
LikeLike
It must be embarrassing for someone somewhere to have the deputy solicitor general make an emphatic claim then to be refuted by the line manager responsible.
LikeLike
LikeLike
I have heard that a gentleman solicitor appears not to be fullfilling his duties. He has been given the red card and would have received documentation to that effect but he remains elusive. He needs to communicate to his client and sign of the relevant documents.
Mia you need to sort out the legal mess on your island.
LikeLike
Who is this gentleman?
LikeLike
Source: Nation Newspaper
LikeLike
LikeLike
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/09/bar-entire-justice-system-needs-a-fix/
LikeLike
A good read. Not a B thing or a D thing.
A Salemite/Abigail/pick-a-noise thing.
Disadvantaging people.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/18/attorneys-back-ruling/
LikeLiked by 1 person
A next good read. Some officials are getting frustrated.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/20/missing-documents-stall-progress-in-case-before-the-supreme-court/
LikeLike
LikeLike
Why was he note cited? His head is bad.
LikeLike
LikeLike
@ David June 1, 2021 6:04 AM
Blogmaster, how could this M/L charge apply?
Are the law enforcement agencies making mock-sport at Bajans by turning the Law into a bare-back ass braying in a circus to entertain the local monkeys?
Didn’t this alleged theft take place between 2006 and 2011under the old ML legislation?
Didn’t one of your “MIA” contributors called ‘Strong Head’ Greene, in association with Guy Mayers, argue vehemently that the previous piece of M/L legislation could not apply to the Donville Inniss case since the old law only applied to those acts involving illegal drug trafficking and terrorism.
Same thing applies to poor old Leroy Parris who is still waiting, with his bevy of well-connected lawyers, to have his day in court in the year 3021.
LikeLike
@Miller
What were the charges for Phillip Lumpy Nichols?
LikeLike
Source: Nation News
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
A law firm (an attorney at law) advertising its services over the internet should have a secure international standard website.
I entered the name of a well-know Barbados law firm into my search engine. My computer informed me that my connection to this site is NOT SECURE; YOUR CONNECTION IS NOT PRIVATE; YOUR CONNECTION TO THIS SITE ISN’T FULLY SECURE. ATTACKERS MAY BE ABLE TO SEE THE IMAGES YOU’RE LOOKING AT ON THIS SITE AND TRICK YOU BY MODIFYING THEM.
The law firm in question has a hyphenated name.
By the way, BU’s website is secure.
LikeLike
I am looking at the blogs posted here within the past few months. I get the impression that these misdeeds are being taken more seriously.
I like this paragraph in one of the post
“He said he opted not to do so at the time but promised that once Worrell’s appeal was completed, the court would revisit the matter.”
Translation
“Yuh play yuh bad. Wait and see.”
LikeLike
“Attorney-at-law…….. in police custody in connection with the discovery of a large quantity of marijuana allegedly found at a residence.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/30/lawyer-in-custody/
LikeLike
Not surprising. Perhaps a search may reveal funds of others. I heard my mom calling this name.
LikeLike
Former head of the Drug Squad ,no less!
Oh lord!
You see now why the young people have no respect for the police?
Some of them may have been in his employ!
LikeLike
LikeLike
“Barbadian lawyer and Guyanese charged in connection with over $2m worth of drugs” Barbados Today
LikeLike
Donna July 31, 2021 8:08 PM #: “Former head of the Drug Squad ,no less! Oh lord! You see now why the young people have no respect for the police?”
I understand your point about ‘young people not respecting police officers.’
Remember, Bennett is not a police officer, he’s a civilian…….. ‘who should know better.’
It’s ironic the former Inspector of Police who was attached to the Drug Squad for several years, has been arrested, charged & remanded for crimes he previously arrested and charged and, as an attorney, currently represents people for committing.
I remember him being promoted through the ranks from a Police Constable to Station Sargeant to Inspector.
I’m sure his former colleagues are very disappointed.
LikeLike
LikeLike
9:38 a.m.
This kind of article is a waste of time.
Allowing more than a decade to pass and then having a trial.
What the client wants he)she will never get – their money back.
Summary
Bullshit
Pissing on people legs and telling them it is raining.
LikeLike
These trials are what Trinidadians call a pappyshow.
It would appear that given the age of the lawyer they system lords we’re waiting for the lawyer to die.
Bank accounts should have been frozen so that the money could not be transferred (laundered) or spent.
Any trial that does return the victim’s money is an injustice.
Then they have this sham fund that will give the victim a pittance of what he/she lost.
What a horrible and vicious scam for a system.
LikeLike
After doing some digging, it appears the author of the blogmaster’s favorite editorial should be in list of rogues.
Some Bajans get ‘honorable’ mention.
LikeLike
https://thevincentian.com/lawyers-on-trial-p5813-110.htm
LikeLike
There’s an underlying fear of working hard, putting it together, returning home and running into a group of crooks. They have one intention and that is to separate you from your money.
The fear of return to a garden of Eden infested with snakes.
And institutions which are supposed to protect then go through a mind numbing charade of doing something… t’s are crossed, i’s are dotted and at the end of it you are still not whole; nothing was done; justice was not served; just pretense; a sick and crooked game.
LikeLike
For now – the last word
There are small and easy fixes that can be made but no one cares to make them. There are the low hanging fruits that everyone refuse to pick.
It is as if we have irremovable wickedness wired into our system; as if there is a fear to excise these rotten parts and make ourselves better.
We have become insensitive to the suffering of others and would defend a system that would victimize us if our circumstances change. We are either prey, victims or scared onlookers.
There are the useless tasks that we pursue with great vigor. We invest our energy in replacing one word by another little realizing that the power and symbolism of words lies in how strongly they are etched in our minds.
We cannot remove them from the dictionary and ceremonies cannot exercise them from our minds.
There is the belief that we must all sing in unison, raise our voices in praise and ignore the flaws that are readily apparent.
LikeLike
LikeLike
This is part of the reason the Barbados Court is accused of being inefficient and the law sometimes called an ass.
LikeLike
AG defends giving Govt’s work to private-practice lawyers –
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/01/ag-defends-giving-govts-work-to-private-practice-lawyers/
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
Another wtf moment involving the courts.
Barbados law says ” a man could not rape another man.”
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/10/ccj-decide-rape-issue/
LikeLike
LikeLike
You have to wonder where was is insight and influence when sitting in the Cabinet of Barbados for 8 years. All of a sudden he is a fountain of knowledge.
LikeLike
CANADA
Ontario lawyer wanted in real estate fraud worth more than $7.5 million
https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/ontario-lawyer-wanted-in-real-estate-fraud-worth-more-than-7-5-million-1.5741492
LikeLike
March court date for lawyer
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/16/march-court-date-for-lawyer/
LikeLike
INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY.
Laywer charged with theft of money
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/23/laywer-charged-with-theft-of-money/
LikeLike
Criminal charges against three men have been dismissed in the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court…..
However, when their matters were called before Chief Magistrate Weekes on Tuesday, the prosecution still had no file to take any of the cases forward, resulting in the Chief Magistrate dismissing the cases.
A fad or a trend?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/23/chief-magistrate-dismisses-three-cases/
LikeLike
LikeLike
Nation Editorial
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
I guess Putin is a crooked lawyer in Barbados.
LikeLike
In Canada eh!
https://www.chch.com/ontario-bar-exams-cancelled-over-potential-test-material-leak/
LikeLike
Wow, one would thing these kinds of indiscretions only occur in Barbados.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Yesterday, as he prepared to relocate from St Elizabeth to the Corporate Area, he set ablaze three judicial wigs regarded as symbols of the colonial past.
One of the wigs belonged to his late father, Senior Puisne Judge Ronald Small.
https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20220312/attorney-burns-judicial-wigs-calls-removal-privy-council-final-court
LikeLike
” The client’s account maintained by attorney Norman Leroy Lynch showed a deposit of $50 000 in August 2005 and one for $407 634 in June 2007, a senior banking official said yesterday.
That account, said CIBC FirstCaribbean’s director of retail banking channels Michelle Whitelaw, also showed three large withdrawals, including one for $290 714.60.
The current balance, the witness said, was zero.”
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/2022/03/17/account-showed-two-deposits/
LikeLike
@David March 9, 2022 4:37 PM “Hants Wow, one would thing these kinds of indiscretions only occur in Barbados.”
https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/north/james-morton-lawyer-disbarred-1.6314024
Prominent Nunavut and Ontario lawyer disbarred for bigamy, fraud after marrying 2 women
LikeLike
https://globalnews.ca/news/5889285/james-morton-sentenced-bigamy/
A once well-respected Ontario and Nunavut lawyer, and former PRESIDENT OF THE ONTARIO BAR ASSOCIATION, has been sentenced to six months house arrest and 50 hours of community service after pleading guilty to forging divorce documents and bigamy.
LikeLike
Sad.
Is that what we have come to?
Comparable to scum?
LikeLike
I remember sitting in a probability class and the professor telling us this theorem..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infinite_monkey_theorem
From what I have seen here I am putting my money in the monkey’s.
LikeLike
I am expecting to hear lynch’s lawyer go down the road of lynch not being of sound mind in the past years
Reason why his memory is out of sync with all that has happened
LikeLike
Are these cases anything more than money washing? Lawyer A steals a client’s money and washes it by paying legal fees to lawyer B over an extended trial.
How can judges let these robberies continue by p retending to hold trials? Can these judges be thought of as honest when they allow sham trial after sham trial? By now, even a fool can see there is no justice for the victims.
How deep is this long running scam? Is it just two lawyers washing a client’s money between them or are the judges jut a guilty?
It is only when we stop taking things at face value, try to see the bigger picture and ask tough question that we will see things as they really are.
How long will we allow this sham to continue. Victims are being victimized thrice, by a shady lawyer, by his crooked defense lawyer and by a shady court.
LikeLike
I admire those who can move from post to post and maintain a serious train of thought.
It is difficult to see these charades and not find gallows humor in them. It is difficult to watch wealth being transferred by every scheme that man can invent ranging from outright thievery to brilliant ideas of J-Bonds and to see outrageous taxation followed by redistribution of taxes that were collected.
One blogger constantly speaks of generational poverty, but to not understand that what we are witnesses is wickedness and the transfer of money form one pocket to a favored pocket is a sign of our ignorance.
It takes a special kind to come here aware of the mockery others make of us and pretend to hold serious conversations.
All is broken.
LikeLike
@ TheOGazerts,
The fundamental problem is the system that allows lawyers to use a CLIENT account as their own line of credit..
The honest lawyers don’t want to get involved in revising Bar Association ” professional standards “.
LikeLike
@ TheOGazerts,
Should you choose to return to Barbados to live / retire you should have gained enough information to know how to enjoy life in your homeland.
LikeLike
Wonder why nobody has ever used mine.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Down to Brasstacks
Main topic. TIEFING LAWYERS
LikeLike
Hants,
It is boring. This is an issue where solutions are known. The best approach is to separate the client fund and the lawyer as far and as soon as possible.
Now they are ‘introducing’ a next layer and more paperwork. Papering over the problem.
A problem no one wants to solve
LikeLike
The worst kind of dishonesty is when people pretend to solve a problem and in reality do nothing.
It is not only dishonest, it is an insult to the average Barbadian.
Two or three honest lawyers going on the radio is a cover-up for dishonest lawyers. The show sickens me.
I am willing to bet that if we had two or three one-armed lawyers by the end of the year, this problem would be resolved quickly.
LikeLike
Compensation fund is a scam. Does not make a person whole
Audit is a waste of time. Horse bolted, why look in the stall.
All nonsense.
LikeLike
With one arm, they can only be one armed.
LikeLike
The compensation fund is not meant to make a claimant whole.
LikeLike
I know four honest lawyers in Barbados.
LikeLike
“The compensation fund is not meant to make a claimant whole.”
That is exactly my point. If you take $5 from me, then I want back $5 (at least).
Don’t smile and give me a check for 50 cents.
That’s a game. It’s a fancy scam.
LikeLike
Do a search of BU for compensation fund. The purpose of the fund and how it is managed should be separated.
LikeLike
Sad.
Is that what we have come to?
Comparable to scum?
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
THE 2 x 3 ISLAND DOESN’T KNOW HOW TO LOOK IN THE MIRROR EASIER TO BURY ONE’S HEAD IN THE SAND.
LikeLike
Listening to Brasstacks and another incredulous case this time of lawyer purportedly refusing to pay real estate agent her fee.
LikeLike
@ Hants
“I know four honest lawyers in Barbados.”
~~~~~~~~~~
Poor you….!!
At least two got you tricked…
Bushie is betting that two are pretty young things…
LikeLike
LikeLike
🙂
Made me think of the train in my basement.
It has the bells and whistles and even lets off steam, but I know it is just atoy.
LikeLike
Since I live in Canada it is only fair that…….
” The Law Society of Ontario says there are “strong indications” that bar exam contents were leaked as it continues its investigation into a possible cheating scam.”
https://www.cp24.com/news/law-society-of-ontario-says-there-s-strong-indicators-that-bar-exam-materials-were-leaked-1.5862012
LikeLike
Lawyers appear to be a handful all over the globe.
LikeLike
LikeLike
LikeLike
Thanks for posting the ” Legal Bind ” and ” Apologies for delays ” articles.
I read both articles. Reading is good for a 70 year old.
LikeLiked by 2 people
Must be more to this than meats the eye.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Do you remember after the factory broke down for two weeks we were told that this year crop was ahead of where it was last year. This is possible.
Now we have that being locked out of a building (twice), being unable to unlock your door and getting assistance from several individuals:to enter the building and your office is nothing more than an active imagination….
“the Honourable Chief Justice allegedly in response to the reports that Justice Richards had been locked out: “She never was and is not locked out and the judge is not in her room. I can attest to that.”
I have to read 1984 again. Eventually, they will proclaim her mad.
Whoever is coordinating the government response is very wicked and nasty. But worse than that, these stories show that our leadership thinks its supporters are gullible and without sense.
LikeLike
Minor correction for TheO..
“But worse than that, these stories show that our leadership KNOWS its supporters are gullible and without sense.”
LikeLiked by 1 person