2,324 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @Hants

Maybe without realizing it Hamilton took his foot off the pedal.

2. @ David, can’t help but think Mercedes want to get rid of Lewis and replace him with a more visually compatible driver.

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has warned tensions between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg could force the team to change their driver line-up.

http://www.skysports.com/f1/news/12472/10086595/lewis-hamilton-and-nico-rosberg-warned-they-could-be-dropped

3. Where ever Lewis goes he will beat Nico especially if he goes to you know where.

4. @ GP,

ANOTHER BAD DAY FOR OUR BOYS. IT IS EXTREMELY RARE FOR THE GUARDIAN TO PASS COMMENTARY ON A FOREIGN CRICKET TEAM PLAYING A WARM-UP GAME IN AUSTRALIA.

LET’S HOPE THAT OUR BOYS WILL PUT UP A FIGHT. IF NOT WE SHOULD CONSIDER REMOVING THE WI STATUS AS A TEST CRICKETING NATION.

I BELIEVE THAT IT IS NO LONGER ECONOMICALLY VIABLE TO INTEGRATE OUR REGION INTO THE BOSOM OF WORLD CRICKET. WE BRING ZERO TO THE TABLE.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/dec/05/west-indies-fall-to-embarrassing-loss-in-only-tour-match-before-australia-tests

5. West Indies vs Australia.

566 / 3……….hopeless.

6. @Hants

What did you expect? This is a schoolboy team, a team of amateurs up against harden professionals.

On 11 December 2015 at 01:17, Barbados Underground wrote:

7. LESS YOU FELLAS FORGET
    Australia first innings Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
    WM Lawry c Sobers b Solomon 210 544 25 3
    *RB Simpson b Hall 201 414 22 –
    RM Cowper b Sobers 102
    NCL O’Neill c Kanhai b Gibbs 51
    BC Booth b Gibbs 5
    G Thomas not out 27
    BK Shepherd lbw b Hall 4
    NJN Hawke not out 8
    PI Philpott did not bat
    +ATW Grout did not bat
    GD McKenzie did not bat
    Extras (10 b, 12 lb, 18 nb, 2 w) 42
    Total (6 wickets, declared, 189 overs) 650
    Fall of wickets:
    1-382 (Simpson), 2-522 (Lawry), 3-583 (Cowper), 4-604 (Booth), 5-615 (O’Neill), 6-631 (Shepherd)
    West Indies bowling Overs Mdns Runs Wkts Wides No-Balls
    Hall 27 3 117 2 – –
    Griffith 35 3 131 0 – –
    Sobers 37 7 143 1 – –
    Gibbs 73 17 168 2 – –
    Solomon 14 1 42 1 – –
    Hunte 3 1 7 0 – –

8. The Test match will struggle to reach the fourth day.

9. @ Georgie Porgie , your support for young Holder knows no bounds. lol

10. RE Hants December 10, 2015 at 9:17 PM #
    West Indies vs Australia.

566 / 3……….hopeless.

David December 10, 2015 at 9:28 PM #

What did you expect? This is a schoolboy team, a team of amateurs up against harden professionals.

in I965, WHEN WE WERE SCHOOLBOYS WHEN THEY GOT 650/6 DECLARED WE HAD PROFESSIONAL BOWLERS ——-ALL FOUR OF THEM GOT CENTURIES
    Hall 27 3 117 2 – –
    Griffith 35 3 131 0 – –
    Sobers 37 7 143 1 – –
    Gibbs 73 17 168 2 – –

IF THE ABOVE STALWARTS COULDA GET LICK BOUT……….WUH YOU TINK WOULD HAPPEN TO THESE YOUNG FELLAS WE HAVE NOW————EVEN THOUGH THEY GETTING BETTER PAY

THE JAMAICANS AND TRINIS SULKING CAUSE JASON IS CAPTAIN
    THEY NEED TO GIVE TH OTHER BRAFITT A PLAY THOUGH

11. @ Georgie Porgie,

It is good you continue to support the youngsters.

They have a difficult task ahead.

Its cold and windy and that just adds to their troubles.

12. Holder get tief out. He should have used the review.

13. THE TRINI GIVE HE BAD ADVICE
    HE SHOULD NOTA TRUST THE TRINI BWOY

14. Well played Roach and Bravo. Was worth staying up to watch.

15. Will the WI make it to the fourth day? This is the question. And we played Roach as a bowler.

16. What kind of decision was that not to review Holder’s decision? Elementary mistake! And what was that umpire thinking? Really tall man, playing forward, hit above knee roll is automatically questionable.

17. Especially with riff raff batsmen to follow.

18. And therein lies the problem with West Indies cricket. No head.

19. Why did they get rid of Mr. Webster again?

20. Possibly because he is a member of the old guard.

21. Well someone needs to work on the Windie psyche.

I can remember the days when if the opposition made 1000, we were confident the boys could make 1001. If they bowled us out for 100, we believed they would be bowled out for even less.

Those were the good old days, how many in the current crop of cricketers know about them?

22. @ David,

They are getting paid to play.

Think Tino Best would refuse to bowl into the wind ? No.

Tino would still try to lick down the batsman…..but he would probably miss. lol

23. @Hants

It is not about just playing, it is also about having the right preparation to compete consistently at a high level.

24. @ David I was speaking to the refusal to bowl into the wind.

West Indies now 35 for 5.

Time to send an sos to the T20 specialist and to Chanderpaul. oops that can’t happen so there will be more licks by the aussies and insults from the aussie commentators.

25. HANTS
    SHUT OFF THE AUSSIE COMMENTATORS, AND SIT DOWN AND WATCH JASON AND KRAIGG DO AN ATKINSON & DEPIEZA

26. @ Georgie Porgie,

WHA HAPPEN???? LOL

27. WISHING AND HOPING SIR? LOL
    SURE YOU REMEMBER DAT SONG OF YORE . MURDAH

28. Will it get any worse ?

29. Yes Hants, they will be beaten in two days next test match.

30. IT WILL GET BETTER— PLAY THE OTHeR BRAFFIT DROP SAMUELS

31. TAYLOR WANT DROPPING TOO
    INSTEAD OF BATTING SO THAT KRAIGG COULD GET HIS WELL DESERVED TON HE SWIPE AND GT OUT LIKE A CHILD

32. Amazing!

ICC MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dubai, 13 December 2015

West Indies fined for slow over-rate in Hobart Test

West Indies has been fined for maintaining a slow over-rate in the first Test in Hobart, which Australia won by an innings and 212 runs on Saturday.

Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fine after Jason Holder’s side was ruled to be three overs short of its target when time allowances were taken into consideration.

In accordance with Article 2.5.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Players Support Personnel, which relates to minor over-rate offences, players are fined 10 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time, with the captain fined double that amount.

As such, Holder has been fined 60 per cent of his match fee, while his players have received 30 per cent fines. If West Indies commits another minor over-rate breach in Tests within 12 months of this offence with Holder as captain, it will be deemed a second offence by Holder and he will face a suspension.

Holder pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing.

The charge was laid by on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Ian Gould, third umpire Chris Gaffaney, all from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, and fourth umpire Paul Wilson.

-ENDS-

33. West Indies had a slow over rate because of the frequency with which they had to

retrieve the ball from the boundary. lol

34. Quite true Hants! But maybe being hit where it hurts will put some spring in their steps and it will translate into a more energetic performance. Gotta borrow from GP here. MURDAH!

35. ICC MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dubai, 13 December 2015

Marlon Samuels suspended from bowling in international cricket following assessment

West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels has been banned from bowling in international cricket for 12 months following an independent assessment of his action, which took place at the ICC’s accredited testing centre in Brisbane earlier this month.

The 34-year-old was assessed after the legality of his bowling action came under question by the match officials during West Indies’ first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle (14-17 October).

Following the match, Samuels was reported by the match officials pursuant to the ICC Regulations for the Review of Bowlers Reported with Suspected Illegal Bowling Actions and subsequently underwent the independent assessment in Brisbane in accordance with the Regulations.

The assessment revealed that Samuel’s elbow extension exceeded 15 degrees while bowling and, thus, he employed an illegal bowling action.

Samuels was originally suspended from bowling his faster deliveries in international cricket in December 2013.

As this report constitutes the player’s second suspension within a two-year period, he is now automatically suspended from bowling in international cricket for a 12-month period.

Samuels is entitled to appeal any procedural aspect of the Independent Assessment that has led to this automatic suspension. However, only after the expiry of this one-year period will he be entitled to approach the ICC for a re-assessment of his bowling action.

ENDS-

36. David, oh goodness. Thanks. Wes and Garry as young turks…and Sir Frank et al.. That is a truly unfair comparison to the fellas in Australia now…oh dear!

The joys and wonders of life…awesome video clip!

37. Those of you who like test cricket should watch tonight.

Could be another 2 to 1 in a three day test.

38. NO WAY HANTS
    THE BAJAN CONTINGENT WILL STAND UP TONIGHT
    BRAFITT X2 HOLDER AND ROACH WILL STAND UP AND BAT LIKE ATKINSON AND DEPIEZA OR LIKE HANIF IN 58……MURDAH

39. @ Georgie Porgie,

YOU ARE AN ETERNAL OPTIMIST WHEN IT COMES TO WEST INDIES CRICKET.

I EXPECT THE WORSE BUT HOPE FOR THE BEST. LOL

40. AUSSIES COMPLAINING THAT BRAVO BATTING TOO SLOW
    THEY DONT UNDERSTAND THAT BRAVO JUST HOLDING UP AN END FOR THE BAJAN BOYS

C BRAFFIT IS 50

41. hants
    the debutant brafitt batted like a true windies cricketer of old

drop samuels roach and ramdin for the last test

bring in hope dowrich and bishoo

you come outa retirement and replace the coach

42. Great story David. I hope he has great success as a bat Manufacturer.

The Government should support his venture by using his bats in the “Schools cricket program.”

As GP said Bravo batted like a Test batsman. The Australian commentators can continue to talk sheet but Bravo did not take unnecessary risks.

43. AGREE WITH YOU ON ALL THREE COUNTS HANTS

FORGET THE SHIT TALKED BY THE Australian commentators
    IF HE HAD GOT OUT LIKE THE TWO JAMAICAN SCHOOLBOY PLAYERS THEY WOULD HAVE BN SAYING SOMETHING ELSE

again i say THE Australian commentators DONT UNDERSTAND THAT BRAVO JUST HOLDING UP AN END FOR THE BAJAN BOYS

GET HAYNES & GREENIDGE TO WORK WITH CARLOS AND JASON AND KURT WITH THEIR BATTING
    GET GARNER AND AMBROSE TO WORK WITH CARLOS AND JASON WITH THEIR BOWLING
    THSEE ARE TWO GOOD POTENTIAL PLAYERS THAT WE NED TO TURN INTO WORLD BEATERS