St. James South – (Inniss/Husbands) – BLP

St. James Central – (Hutson/Symmonds) – BLP

St. Peter – (Arthur/Benn) – BLP

St. Andrew – (Payne/Sandiford-Garner) – BLP

St. Lucy – (Kellman/Phillips) – DLP

DLP 8
BLP 22
Undecided 0

1. If we go the number of comments on the St. Andrew thread, that is going to be one very hard fought battle!
    Even with a swing against DLP, I wouldn’t dismiss the Senator’s chances.

2. Interesting to note Wickham’s revelation that next Sunday’s poll release will not focus on match ups by constituency. Why would the deep pockets who commissioned the poll not was to bring the individual match ups into play?

3. @David
    I think they will do that in the next poll. Don’t forget the election hasn’t been called yet! Not all candidates are in place, and a lot, a lot can change in a relatively short time. Individual match ups especially can change dramatically: rumours, dirt, real skeletons etc. etc.

4. @Independent

Fair enough, a report card for the candidates would be useful at the stage to identify gaps. Guess the parties will have to do their own polling.

5. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@david
    Because the deep pocket isn’t interested in individual contests. Just confirming the overall mood and likely play. The candidates know exactly what they have (not) done and what they need to do now. The parties would have conducted their own internal polling already.

6. How often would BU picks be updated? How can blogger contribute to the picks ? Why would there be a category of undecided now ?

7. @true to form

There will be updates when there is a sense from feedback and moving around the constituency the mood.

It is unfortunate the CADRES poll SO FAR does not address the swing % at this time neither is there a constituency match-up.

8. Observing (and listening for a bell) Avatar
    Observing (and listening for a bell)

Didn’t notice that observation re. absence of a swing percent. The general feel is though that it has sufficiently past the 3% threshold, with a slight hold back for “uncertainty” and “nose holding”

9. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

Durant Callender doesn’t look strong enough in CCWC
    Best’s slip is showing in SME
    Still think Bradshaw will reach the line first in SMSE

I’m coming around to your view on SMSC and SMC.

Observing

10. old onion bags Avatar

THIS SINCKLER SCANDAL…like it go mean…

11. @ David

Every single rival to Sinckler either loses or is undecided in BU picks/projections. give my regards to hartley and peter.

12. Numbers please...... Avatar
    Numbers please……

Perhaps the actual votes recorded for each candidate in the last election could be added to the information provided. This would allow for better quantitative analysis.

13. @Numbers please

Maybe this link is useful:

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/barbados/default.asp

14. I look forward to hearing the first speech of the new PM in December, after the election. She is a very good speaker of course, but hearing Mia Amor Mottley’s first speech as PM, will be a historical moment.

15. The BLP infighting and disunity is real.
    As long as Owen Arthur has any influence in the Barbados Labour Party, he will do his utmost to undermine any fantasy Mottley has of leadership.
    Arthur’s popularity has fallen dramatically since the late 1990’s and he has allowed Mottley to take the spotlight to try to fool her supporters that she has been elevated.

Arthur will allow Mottley to take the spotlight when and only when it suits his political purposes. The infighting in the BLP is still very much alive. Ask George Payne.

16. If Freundel Stuart got his a$$ in gear the Dems could still win this thing. DLP will win definitely St John, St Lucy, will probably win all St Philip seats, and can win the majority in the more densely populated ChCh, St M and St James constituencies. But that is a big if. I wonder if Stuart has some hypothyriod or low testosterone medical condition, or if somebody is putting valium in his food every day, because he look as if he can’t get excited about anything. I know men and women (my contemporaries at school) who spend 20+ years dreaming of becoming PM, scheming, sacrificing personal and professional lives, who would give their eye teeth to be in Stuart seat. Whu de ra£££ he hold on to power for, when he does not seem to have any vision as to what to use it for?

17. This is a lame duck. or rather an AIDS duck Government. No hope of a cure.

18. @Dr.Dre, I know men and women (my contemporaries at school) who spend 20+ years dreaming of becoming PM, scheming, sacrificing personal and professional lives, who would give their eye teeth to be in Stuart seat. ——————

Lol. No disrespect intended…but thank the Almighty they did not get there…’scheming’…

Obviously I agree Stuart seems less than …eager…but replacing with a shark is no better.

19. A reminder that we put the BU Election Picks under the microscope next blog.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Dear David……………….RE ELECTION UPDATE
    I know you made threat to balance that from today…..BLP opinion will not be considered,but let’s hope ur wisdom be forgotten…St .Micheal East ? Man what wrong wid you ?…..I-wren gu nun gu like he cast up a spell or something on you ya ? You felling right ? I got some Rupulnetele bush I could send for you to break the spell, short of a Bushie’s specialty bath (lol)….

KENNY JACK BENNY Boss?…..Look come get this bush….cuz you head tear or HURT>>>

21. old onion bags Avatar

St. Andrew – (Payne/Sandiford-Garner) – Undecided
    It is confirmed now……you are a sick man !…stupeeess

22. old onion bags Avatar

Geese Fundy Paul and Donville also will LOSE their SEATS…….and that is no joke David…….I bet you my moses.

23. old onion bags Avatar

I predict 19 – 4 ….Jones, Mona,Lashley and Estwick will keep company……not another fella…..watch.

24. it is unfortunate that the blp would most likely be returned to power after having been soundly rejected by the electorate four years ago because of the incompwtencies of a motley group of individuals masquerading as dlp standardbearers who have been unwillingly to listen and as a consequence unable to grasp /understand the rudiments of governance of a small island economy with little resources.the redeeming feature of a one term sojourn for the dlp if the floating voter so decides is the indication that a sleeping electorate is so awakening from its slumber and the message to the incumbents is that it would not be business as usual. so dlp take heart, if you lose now the possibility exists that you could be back sooner rather than later.

25. @Onions

Do you have a constituency poll?

In the absence of a district poll we have to go with anecdotal which means we will have differences of opinion.

Given the margin Best won by and the work he is said to have done on the ground it explains the fence sitting.

In the case of Donville and Irene the two have built strong national profiles which some believe to counter the inevitable swing against the government.

You should not however that undecided mean undecided.

26. “it would have to be an exceptional candidate the likes of a Richie Haynes”
    RICHIE HAYNES WAS A BRILLIANT AND EXCEPTIONAL PERSONALITY AND PARLIAMENTARIAN BUT DID NOT PROVE TO BE AN EXCEPTIONAL CANDIDATE.

27. One can also believe that the policies they instituted at the various institutions will bring their downfall david. donville might survive better and truly be undecided but irene . I don’t think they want her to win there.

28. @anthony

Maybe you are right. Using your argument how do you explain Sinckler’s climb in the ‘leadership’ category in the last poll? Is it that Barbadians did a compare to Stuart and others in the DLP and this should be viewed as separate from perceived constituency performance?

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ balance
    Is time you change the name to off balance……

30. David thanks for helping the PM in making this decision.

He will now call the elections in April 2013.

31. old onion bags Avatar

Is cool for David to do wishful thinking especially when ….I see an ax in the back yard ole n rusty……but everybody duz see Onions running the route like a minivan amongst the people…..and I will tell you David ..nuff heads go roll so all the promulgating is but chafe in the wind….a BIG wind may I add…….Why don’t you visit the meeting at Black Rock this evening…come see for yourselves…..David talking chafe…….Kenny Bovell…Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ……a good one ! Gimme a break !

32. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hants
    Running the date to April 2013….takes money…that we don’t have.

chaff : instead of chafe…corr

33. onions ask OSA what plans he has as PM “IF:” he wins in paying back the money he borrowed and where is the money going to come from.

34. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Ask Stuart to give up gracefully…..Mr. Bojangles looks better

35. @ onions

I take that comments as “OSA doesn’t know !

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Just like the ignore S&P and Moody’s right ?……have it your way sweetie….we in Alice in Wonderland…..but we coming out in another 6 months….so see if the Mad Hatter can catch the suited White Rabbit….. as for now anything goes…..sweet life coming to an end…play on!

37. @david

Among them he is the best. We may disagree on his economic ideas but among all the candidate he still has the best change to lead the dlp to victory. Does this inspire his own constituents to vote for him is separate question as he need to be win his seat before he can become pm. on whole the dlp population would select him as their leader but they don’t decide that the actual executives does. His standing to winning his seat I would say is undecided.

The poll your speaking off never measured his on consistency popularity. it measure who best they would like to lead the country. To relate the two is folly as people in st john and rest of island other the his consistency can’t vote him in.

38. PM call elections now Avatar
    PM call elections now

If it is reduce the public service or reduce Barbados – do you prefer to reduce Barbados?

39. @Anthony

From where you are perched can you review BU election picks? Where do you agree disagree.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Continue to count your chickens before they hatched.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I had a good laugh this morning.

Peter Wickham and George Belle predicting a one DLP G’ovt.

Somebody remind me, is this the same George Belle who conduct a poll for the Barbados Labour Party just before the last elections and predicted a massive win at the polls for the Barbados Labour Party?

Is this the same Peter Wickham who predicted a massive win for the Stevenson King G’ovt in the recent St. Lucian elections?

These would have to be two different people!

42. Yea the same one that predicted a 20-10 win for the DLP in the 2008 elections.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | July 22, 2012 at 11:40 AM |
    “Yea the same one that predicted a 20-10 win for the DLP in the 2008 elections.”

In Carson’s books that poll does not count. But the recent one by the same pollster is being engineered in his (CCC’s) mind by no other than Owen ‘Seethru” Arthur. That is the kind of disingenuity to be expected from the completely confused and contemptible CCC.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Hey Carson
    Man I see you pun TV …..ya get inducted to the hall of fame….How much food ya eat.?….Man ya sleep till nearly 12 noon…..Largess suits you well..at least ya get pieca D calf…lol

45. The only way Sinckler can win the seat he holds now is if he has deep pocket backers to buy the youngsters like the last election otherwise they aint voting. They have been fooled so unless they get some big change this time around Sinckler can kiss that seat good bye.
    The same goes for Hammie Lah

46. old onion bags Avatar

Hammie Lah not running….Geese poor fella….dey hunting you already….blackbird soup n all…..lol

47. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@ac u does kill me dead u feel if de bees have ah solution that they would reveal it to de DLP so they could tief it, u dont fell de ppl keeping da plans to them self u always asking wha Owen would do, u feel if he did know he wha tell fundy and sinkler them always pun de man case

48. @ equal rights
    yu duzz kill muh dead too! wuhy yuh tink dis country a;lmost at the brink mof economic disater ” because OSA never know in the past and fuh sure he don’t know in the now . HINT! just take a look at the over blown and out of control budget he and mia just handed to the public. dat look like OSA know wuh he doing! dats elementary my boy/gal , just elementary!just take a look ! dats the plan!

49. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

cool picks. Some questions/comments

1. How comes you have Paul still holding on over Edghill? His margin was unbelievable and history doesn’t give him an advantage.
    2. I still think Stuart has the advantage over Lynch. It’s not clear cut but at this stage Lynch hasn’t made enough inroads.
    3. How comes Sealy goes but Best stays? Best is less than inspiring.
    4. Do you have that much faith in Arthur Holder?

Based on current conditions I believe the marginal 2008 seats are all but gone. Couple that with the MPs who did less than they should have on the ground and it’ll get rougher. There’s very little if anything that the DLP can do, no matter how sweet to change national perspective.

I’m mildly curious as to how Sinckler’s running of Finance will affect him locally on the ground.

@Anthony
    you said among them he’s the best. Best at what exactly?

The die is pretty much cast, let’s see how “bad” it is.

Observing

50. @Observing

Paul is one of those seats we gave the edge because of his national profile with Agrofest and the credit union. However the national swing has taken root. Will make the change to this one.