Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
“Canada’s top-paid 100 CEOs make an average of $9.5 million a year, according to a study by the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives.
That works out to 193 times the average Canadian’s wage of $49,510. Put another way, someone who makes $9.5 million will have made the average Canadian’s salary for the year by 11:47 a.m. on January 3.
http://globalnews.ca/news/3151858/canadas-highest-paid-ceos-make-193-times-the-average-wage/
The explanation given is that the CEO has the weight of the performance of the company therefore his tenure maybe short if performance tanks. The same logic is used for why local MPs become eligible for pension after eight years (two terms).
This is not good news for the Barbados economy. It will continue to pressure our foreign exchange reserves.
@ David,
agreed. The Barbados economy is in trouble. Bajans will have to “cut and contrive”.
” THE PROCESS to have special equipment built for the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to deal with the problems faced by the South Coast Sewage Project is under way.”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92250/sewerage-project-pumps-march#sthash.Xz32AUPn.dpuf
@ David,
Why does Barbados need “special equipment built”? Dose Barbados have “special shite” in the sewerage?
correction Does Barbados….
One of the engineers are better suited to answer but aren’t these sewage plants built to specifications?
@ David,
I hope one of “the engineers” will explain.
I thought the solution would be to repair or replace the existing damaged pumps.
It is possibly to do with obsolescence.
Hope they buy a “back up” pump and critical spare parts.
If this transaction was done in Canada or one of the developed countries a citizen would just have to visit the relevant government website to peruse the procurement order.
Offcially it is restructure 🙂
Oh mi oh MIA! And shortly after being told by Speaker of the House Michael Carrington to take her seat, as her request was deemed irrelevant to the Bill, Mottley left the Chamber, and was followed shortly by some of her Parliamentary representatives.
https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/17/heated-debate-in-parliament-as-mottley-blasts-government/
MIA ent mekkin sport!
UPSET WITH THE way their leader Mia Mottley was treated as she spoke during today’s sitting of the House of Assembly, the remaining 13 members of parliament for the Opposition Barbados Labour Party came together in solidarity.
RIP Adrian Husbands
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/khan-speaks-out-tasering-1.3951181
Toronto police doan mek sport. Good thing we have cell phone video.
“The perception of Barbados as all fun and sun in paradise has certainly changed for Canadian visitors Jan and Cyndi Oster, who claimed they had been cheated of $2,500, used as security deposit for their accommodation here.”
ROSEAU – National Security Minister Rayburn Blackmoore Wednesday praised the police for their “high degree of tolerance” after they used tear gas to disperse opposition supporters who had taken to the streets on Tuesday calling for the resignation of Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit and his Cabinet.
R.I.P Al Jarreau
@ David,
Another damaging story about Barbados.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4218096/Attacked-Barbados-police-didn-t-care.html
@ Hants
De ole man like many pretend journalists here has been saying this specific thing that the US Embassy openly stated for the longest time about government(s) practice of not reporting crime against whlte people and tourisesses cause dem want to maintain an image of calm and peaceful existence
(You do know that I still trying to get a job down at the Nation but you dun know that my articles here do not endear the ole man to them. I feel that Carl Moore spoil my chances)
“…A report by America’s Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) last year stated that crime was a ‘major concern’ in Caribbean islands such as Barbados.
“The OSAC report stated: ‘The news media in Barbados is reluctant to report criminal incidents against visitors that could have a negative impact on the tourism industry’, adding that: ‘Many tourists report being harassed by individuals attempting to sell illegal narcotics..”
Of course Adriel Nitwit the Attorney General will say something like “…There were 31 murders on the 285,000 population island in 2015 and 300 robberies, compared to 28 and 362 respectively in St Lucia, which has around 100,000 less residents…”
One of the greatest.
STUDENTS ARE CURRENTLY out of the class rooms at Combermere School.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93815/classes-stop-combermere#sthash.1k25kYUt.dpuf
Peter Ram Good Morning
Rihanna speech
Hilarious
No Chum, Holders festival this year
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94229/chum-holders-festival
Canadian whistle blowing and investigative reporting.
I guess that Ben feels that he must believe in the “American Dream”. Did he miss all of his history classes? Didn’t anybody tell him that for tens of millions of black Americans the American Dream has been a 300+ year nightmare?
Oil slides below $50 US, loonie retreats under 74 cents
Beautiful and talented.
Sweet!
Recommended DLP theme song….