Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
HOW DID THIS HAPPEN ?
Bajans in Toronto who normally travel to Barbados to watch Test cricket will not be pleased.
KENSINGTON OVAL has missed out on a Test match for this year’s home series between West Indies and India.
Q in the Community in my backyard, great weather, family from outta town, friends from all over, great time. Coupled with Barbados on the Water from last weekend it has been a glorious week for Bajans in de diaspora.
Rihanna in Turks and Caicos.
(Photo Credit: Melissa Forde aka mdollas11)

@ David,
Did you warn PUDRYR ? He ole heart might get palpitations. lol
Whuloss whuloss Whuloss.
David Selfish wid he Turks and Caicos but you Hants you keeping Fleur all to youself.
Man you hurt a man man, Play dat Sax all by youself
Wunna guh long man guh long
@ AC.
Had to blur he face cause bribes was mentioned.
I still working on the “You got 5 years to change it or you are out” message
Of course you do know that that message is not for your peoples wunna gone fuh 15 years easily, through de effing eddoes
@ Artaxerxes
Talk whu you like she deposed Kenny as sure as day followeth night.
It was a campaign experiment and it worked.
I have no problem with Peter/Lucille/Debbie going where they please to get work but as i have said before AND I AM NOT A DLP PALING COCK, it was tasteless to be in the man’s country with your operatives.
WUNNA ND TO TEK CARE DAT WHILE WUNNA FLYING BACK IN, dat wunna tek pictures of de contents of wunna luggage, lest, on arrival, a batch uh heroin get put in um.
I dont put anything past these effers, all two both of them.
Imagine the news
“Leader of the Opposition arrested at Grantley Adams Airport with trafficable quantity of herb”
Breaking news, on leaving STL the jubilant LoE was so ecstatic to have deposed Kenny Anthony that she transported some Wacky Tabaccy back to Bulbados.
Dale Smiley Teets Marshall counsel for the LoE when interviewed said “it is preposterous and shows the depths to which the Demonic Labour party can sink in its attempt to oust the LoE soon to be PM (and dash my chances to be AG again jes so.)
I tink i unnerstand how you does do you research thing now.
But that is all good.
I am not here to expose patriots and people who want to advance the country.
I heah to depose inepts and despots and encourage, and support, loyalists, men and women who are “Bajan fuh Life”.
And even though you got that chink in your armour, so are you, so are you

This is how we roll in Toronto.
http://www.thecaribbeancamera.com/news/music/barbados-boils-the-water-in-t-o/
Barbados entertainment as presented in Toronto.
Lewd or artistic?
http://www.thecaribbeancamera.com/news/music/barbados-boils-the-water-in-t-o/
Real Bajan culcha in Toronto.
The Brexit vote is coming up.
“ONE OF CANADA’S and Barbados’ literary giants, Austin “Tom” Clarke, an award-winning Canadian and Commonwealth novelist died this morning.”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82617/tom-clarke-passes#sthash.1qDxwAwk.dpuf
One of the very best Bajan Authors.
Condolences to his family and friends.
Thanks Hants!
He is regarded as one a literary giant. May he rest in peace.
LET US NOT HAVE THE MORON TO WRITE AN ODE TO HIM ON BU…PLEASE
LET US WAIT TO SEE WHAT THOROUGHBREDS WHO REALLY KNOW HIM WELL MAY SAY
My favourite tale that he told was that normally he would be called upon on Monday mornings in Latin class to begin the translation for the day………as the teacher tended to go in alphabetical order. He would always prepare 3-4 pages and be good to go.
However, one day the teacher selected one Henry Forde to begin the day’s proceedings.
Henry rattled of about 10 pages. When Clarke was called that day, he said HE HAD A LATIN UNSEEN. (a fate lost to those who have ever had to do a Latin unseen)
hants
do you recognize this chap?
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82602/maths-moulding-minds-near
Here’s the view from the Star
https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2016/06/26/acclaimed-toronto-author-austin-clarke-dead-at-81.html
Mia Amor Mottley
7 hrs ·Tribute on the passing of Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke
We have lost yet another brilliant Bajan voice.
Another of our gifts to the world, Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke, was revered internationally for his poetry and his prose. In his inimitable Bajan voice, he told tales of love and loss, passion and greed, history and humor.
“Growing up Stupid under the Union Jack”, his seminal work, is still a must read for every Caribbean person because it accurately accounts the transition from our colonial past to Independence, not just politically but mentally. After his brief return in 1975 to Barbados as General Manager of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation he wrote the novel, “The Prime Minister” which exposed the vagaries of power and corruption in a small developing society.
His brilliance radiated through the richness of his characters, male and female, as was evident in “The Polished Hoe”.
My favorite, “Pig Tails and Breadfruit” must be the best literary snapshot of growing up in the middle of the twentieth century in Barbados. And as its title suggest, it is both tasty and substantially filling.
You did not just read a Tom Clarke book, you lived it.
Tom was not afraid to give voice to what he saw or experienced, but it was always expressed with a rapier – sharp wit. His last work, ” ‘Membering”, a memoir of sorts (and appropriately entitled for Bajans) carries you on his journey from Barbados to Toronto, from being invisible and angry to mellow and widely acclaimed.
Indeed, several his of works have been recognized by the many international awards he received from Cuba to Canada to the wider Commonwealth.
I got to know Tom well as a young woman in the early 1990s. He helped shape my clear appreciation for the importance of rooting our appreciation for national consciousness as the platform for our development. He never allowed his politics to affect his relationships with people, and certainly not with me. For him, the mission was singular, even if we were on different teams.
While he lived in Canada for most of the last 50 years, Tom remained Bajan to the bone. He was charming but forthright and never lost his native tongue or strayed from its linguistic landscape. Many regarded him as a Renaissance man in the true sense of the word.
The Caribbean and the world has lost one of our 20th Century great literary icons.
On behalf of the Barbados Labour Party and my family, I extend condolences to his daughter, Darcy and to his family and his many friends.
May his soul rest in peace.
Happy Canada day to my fellow Bajans, happy July 4 to those south of the 49th parallel.
Same to you Sargeant and the other Canabajans.
“Barbados is set to receive additional airlift capacity via Air Canada for the 2016-2017 winter season”
TWO CANADIAN STUDENTS have been given two weeks to pay the courts $20 000 each.
Hants, the man done dead, dead, dead. The police beat, kick and stamped on him and had him on the ground bloodied, bleeding and unconscious. Before they call an ambulance, they called in more police. He was on the ground not breathing for ten minutes before the paramedics arrived and another 15 before he went to hospital. Sad, sad, sad.
Let us see what Lawson, who knows the chief and most of the police here in Ottawa has to say.
Did I mention that he was a non verbal autistic man?
@ bajans,
It is truly disgusting to beat and kill a mentally challenged person.
This kind of behaviour is not the usual in Maple Leaf country.
What is happening?
@ David,
It is unusual. The Police usually only kill if the person has a knife and they would shoot not beat to death.
The execution of a knife wielding mentally challenged person.
Cell phone videos and the internet is the game changer. Citizens can record incidents and put them on the net.
David, allegations are that he groped someone in a Bridgehead coffee shop. He is black, the alleged victim was probably white. The more things change the more they stay the same.
Sad