Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Barbados low tax haven is going to take a hit ?
Ottawa to spend $500M on pursuit of tax cheats, budget reveals
Money will be used to hire more auditors and develop computer systems to “target high-risk international tax” evasion.
BAJANS YOU CAN PLAN YOUR VACATIONS.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/liberal-legal-marijuana-pot-1.4041902
ONE MINUTE, Danielle said she was dancing with a man on a popular pleasure boat and the next, she was assaulted by that same man, who questioned her sexuality.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95188/visitor-slapped-about-cruise#sthash.TQlNGtu6.dpuf
Too bad they couldn’t outsource these jobs to Barbados.
“CIBC is eliminating up to 130 jobs in its Toronto finance department and outsourcing the work to India.”
http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/cibc-outsourcing-jobs-india-1.4045759
U.S. EMBASSY BRIDGETOWN is pleased to announce that the winner of its STEM Video Competition in Barbados is Harrison College.
WARNING.
The UN’s Department of Safety and Security (UNDSS) last Friday sent out a security advisory to all of its personnel in Barbados, warning them to increase their vigilance, and suggesting what action to take should they be confronted with any criminal element.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95264/warns-bajan-staff-crime#sthash.Zb5CgCwV.dpuf
Robin Hood flour recall expanded nationwide due to E. coli contamination
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/robin-hood-flour-recall-expanded-1.4055829
@ David Bajan talent.
“Speaking during a courtesy call with Canadian High Commissioner Marie Legault at his Wildey, St Michael office, Brathwaite maintained that although buggery was still illegal in Barbados, this did not impact two consenting adults.”
Legalizing pot: What to watch for in today’s long-awaited bill.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/marijuana-pot-legalization-legislation-1.4067955
It could be legal to carry up to 30 grams of marijuana under bill to be tabled Thursday
http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/marijuana-legalization-plan-to-be-released-thursday-1.4061517
National flour recall widened over further E. coli fears.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/national-flour-recall-robin-hood-e-coli-1.4068840
Time for Bim to get those buggery laws OFF the books.
@Hants or Chants
cause u might know. They talking about the Todd fella, the politician.
Years ago, when Patrick & Simon Husbands, the Griffith brothers, Callaghan brothers, Jono Jones etc came to ride in Canada, there was a gentleman who used to be about the racetrack. He always wore a suit and a bowtie. I think his name was Todd. Is this Patrick Todd’s father? Guessing if still alive he would be in his 70’s-80’s.
@ NorthernObserver,
I have never been to Woodbine to watch racing so I can’t help.
FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.
“The BLP found this most enviable financial situation and after their two terms (1976 to 1986), left a national debt of $3.1B”
“the BLP took over a stable economy and once again, they more than doubled the national debt, taking it from $4.3B to $9B after their 3 terms (1994 to 2008).”
“After our independence, the BLP have always found a stable economy whenever they took over the Government, and then proceeded to massively overspend and leave Barbados in a significantly worse economic situation than how they found it.”
fuh real ?…. fuh true
CARACAS, Venezuela – President Nicolas Maduro may be struggling to feed Venezuela but his socialist administration still managed to make a $500,000 donation to Donald Trump’s inauguration, records released Wednesday show.
he wanted bernie sanders to win
This commentator makes some good points!
https://www.facebook.com/rudeboy13/videos/10154282535282352/
Warning!!!
The above video is very powerful. A profound lesson in reason and tolerance.
Whoa how is the primary message, selling beer or…?
@ David,
I gave up drinking alcohol a couple years ago because I take Crestor so I focused on the value of the interaction.
Just so you know my preferred beer was Barbados brewed Banks. l
Hope you enjoyed Vanessa and Tessanne. Haven’t given up “music ” yet .lol
Always retreat to this page to heal the mind after reading comments from some on the other pages.
Been taking crestor with banks for years and was never aware of side effects……what are they?
@ Vincent Haynes, you should follow the advice of your medical doctor….. or not. lol
I drank enough in my younger days so I don’t need to in my old age.
http://www.all-about-lowering-cholesterol.com/crestor-and-alcohol.html
Hants
Thanks for sharing and I agree that it makes sense.
The age old connundrum is to quantify “high level of Alcohol” …..in Bim a case of Banks was deemed average consumption back in my misspent youth.
Home Capital’s troubles threaten CIBC’s $5 billion bid for PrivateBancorp
Number of highest-earning Canadians paying no income tax is growing
http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/zero-income-tax-high-income-canada-1.4087033
BUY CANADIAN.
All French’s ketchup sold in Canada to be made in Canada starting next month.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/french-s-ketchup-canada-1.4087120
Abusive men
Pregnant women; unborn children falling victims
Time for JamExit from Caricom
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/opinion/time-for-jamexit-from-caricom_97465?profile=1096
@ David,
You may find this interesting. A journalist who was not afraid to ask tough questions.
Thanks Hants, will try to put something together if time allows.
Barbados got anything more to sell ?
GRACEKENNEDY (GK) LIMITED, one of the Caribbean’s largest conglomerates, is looking for new investment opportunities in Barbados.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/96772/grace-keen-barbados#sthash.ktHYJdvS.dpuf
After reading this article about Sheena Rose some art lovers may tread a path to Barbados.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/31/arts/design/sheena-rose-contemporary-artist-barbados.html?_r=0