Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.
The blogmaster welcomes you!
Ilhan Omar: Obama’s a ‘pretty face’ who got ‘away with murder’
Minnesota Rep. Ilhan Omar ripped former President Barack Obama in an interview published Friday, belittling his “pretty face” and saying his agenda of hope and change was an illusion.
She cited the “caging of kids” at the Mexican border and the “droning of countries around the world” on Obama’s watch — and argued that he wasn’t much different from President Trump
“We can’t be only upset with Trump,” the freshman firebrand told Politico Magazine.
“His policies are bad, but many of the people who came before him also had really bad policies. They just were more polished than he was,” Omar said.
“And that’s not what we should be looking for anymore. We don’t want anybody to get away with murder because they are polished. We want to recognize the actual policies that are behind the pretty face and the smile.”
The explosive comments about a man lionized by Democrats were only the latest in a series of incendiary statements that have put the national spotlight on Omar, a Somali-American Muslim who spent four years in a refugee camp in Kenya after her family fled the violence in their homeland.
In February, her second month in office, Omar responded to a tweet about House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy’s threats to punish her and another congresswoman for criticizing Israel.
“It’s all about the Benjamins baby,” she tweeted, a line from a Puff Daddy song about $100 bills.
Critics said Omar was perpetuating a hateful trope about Jewish Americans and money.
She recently got into another hot mess after another tweet was slammed by some as anti-Semitic.
The ensuing firestorm rattled the Democratic House majority and spurred days of recriminations and tense negotiations that led to the compromise package condemning bigotry that sailed through the House on Thursday, with only 23 Republicans voting against it.
The party’s leftist wing, led by New York Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, said Omar was being singled out when others at the highest levels of government had said things that were worse and escaped censure.
More moderate Dems, including Jewish lawmakers such as New York’s Eliot Engle, wanted the resolution to focus only on anti-Semitism as a direct response to Omar’s comment, which questioned the loyalty of politicians who accept donations from pro-Israel PACs and organizations.
Ultimately, after days of chaos and acrimony, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi was able to unite her caucus — and box in a big majority of Republicans — to back the compromise.
And Omar — along with Rashida Tlaib of Michigan the first Muslim women in Congress — said she’s willing to keep speaking out and be a Republican punching bag if it helps advance her agenda, a prospect that likely makes many of her fellow Democrats cringe
Barbados’ Best !!!!! Some of us respect his exceptional talent and contribution to Barbados. Thanks to the internet I can play ( lead guitar ) along with his music.
“Veteran entertainer and nine-time Pic-O-De-Crop champion Anthony The Mighty Gabby Carter was celebrated by his family and friends, marking his 71st birthday in fine style at an event organized by the Pan African Coalition of Organizations in his honour at Dre’s Bar and Restaurant, Pelican Village on Saturday.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/31/gabby-celebrates-71st-birthday-in-style/
Enjoy.
Good one.
@Hants & NO
Did you folks get your invite to the PM’s Town Hall next Monday ( April 8th ) at Peter and Paul banquet Hall in Scarborough?
@ Sargeant,
I did not get an invite cause I ent nuh body. lol
Not to worry it is open to the public, I am leaning towards attending to listen to what she has to say
Alison still got it.
@Sarge
I got a prod as to “if I would like to go”, but declined. As you noted it is public at the Ukranian Banquet Hall at 401/Markham Rd area. My guess as to what she wants, no different from those before her…. money. The D’s wanted us to buy bonds, she will likely seek investment in real estate or some other form. Any contributions to the Party also gladly accepted.
you could leff out fishing for a few hours?
the “odd” one is Montreal tonight? I never knew they had a lot of Bajans in Mtl? Ottawa?
Just started watching the Toronto video. Stopped when Willie D. said ” make Barbados great again “.
That is a good one Hants. We live in a world of clichisms.
Soup Bowl
Love this song.
LOL…Hants tell the truth…song aside, you watched the whole show with your eyes on Glennis’s legs and other endearing features
@ NorthernObserver,
Man you know me betta than I know myself. lol
I have watched every video of Glennis I could find on YouTube. The quality of the accompaniment is a bonus.
I am 67 years old and retired so lots of time to enjoy watching Glennis and playing guitar.
Awesome organ keyboardist youtube video.
Cory Henry plays the Hammond XK5
Another talented Keyboardist.
@ David,
You may want to consider removing my YouTube videos from the Diaspora Corner. They are slowing down the blog.
How so Hants?
@ David if no one else complains….nuh problem.
More importantly the Hatian-American has talent and beauty in English and French. lol
I am cheating on G G. lol
Respect to Ri Ri
YouTube
Kes the Band – Savannah Grass “LIVE” @ Gateway to the World 2019
@Hants…April 24, 2019 6:05 PM
@ My fellow BajanOntarians’
The article says payouts of $9M/yr which is nothing. Several folks are poorly informed that “when they travel they are covered by OHIP”. Hence, they don’t need medical insurance. But OHIP covers very little. In 2015 one of my sons went to San Fran and while there broke his leg, not a simple break. The medical costs were US$9,600 and OHIP covered $500. From then my opinion became OHIP should drop all out-of-country coverage, because they cover so little as to make it negligible. and not give people the false impression “they are covered”.
Still keeping fit.
My favourite.
@ Brother Hants
You are “sampling ” beauties and voices from elsewhere I note
She is a a skilled pianist and has a melodic voice and ammmmm…
But you dun know that we are only interested in her for her musical attributes and even if she was as big as a bus (no one said Crime Minister) one would be equally enthralled
Part of the Report on Species Extinction
https://www.ipbes.net/news/Media-Release-Global-Assessment#_Scale_of_Loss
Still dreaming.
Trump pardons Conrad Black
https://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/trump-issues-full-pardon-to-conrad-black-1.4424348
For those of you who interested.
Crop over 2019 music on YouTube in bulk.
Some really good stuff.
Few people have heard of Robert Smith he is only the richest black person in the USA. He along with Oprah donated 20 million to the National Museum of African American History & Culture.
I encourage everyone to see it if they ever get to Washington DC, it is very America centric but I did see a few exhibits from Barbados.
https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/2019/05/19/billionaire-robert-f-smith-pledges-pay-off-morehouse-college-class-s-student-loans/?utm_term=.803e9198963e
Few people have heard of Robert Smith he is only the richest black person in the USA. He along with Oprah donated 20 million to the National Museum of African American History & Culture.
I encourage everyone to see it if they ever get to Washington DC, it is very America centric but I did see a few exhibits from Barbados.
There is a small group of Black Bajans who deliberately and systematically go from Page to Page fomenting racist division, picking fights and hating on everything “white” Bajan. They are currently to be found on Barbados Wall of Shame, names like Leslie Christopher Roberts (a failed lawyer), Tonia Alexander (a mini mind constantly trying to add to her 5 minutes of social media fame) and other familiar names. The Admin here are spineless and allow them free hand to spew their vile hatred unchecked until it’s gone too far. Then they Block those other members who defend the Page and themselves against this racist hatred and largely leave the perpetrators alone. Funny thing is, the only place these men and women will be so ugly is on their keyboard. NOT ONE of them have the guts to set up personal discussion groups.
Edwin Yearwood – I Can’t Help Myself “2019 Soca” (Barbados) | Red Boyz Music
AGO acquires historical Caribbean photographs period 1840-1940 to go on display in 2021
https://www.cbc.ca/news/entertainment/ago-caribbean-photography-exhibit-1.5161645
According to news reports the subject of this article is a “native” of Barbados who has lived in the US since the age of 2. He is slated for deportation having been convicted of accepting a bribe which cost him his $600,000.00 p.a. job as an assistant basketball coach at Oklahoma State.
Setting aside his obvious greed, I can’t for the life of me understand why his parents/guardians didn’t ensure that he obtain US citizenship as a minor, and failing that, then it was up to him as an adult to jump through the necessary hoops to become a US citizen.
Events of interest to CanBajans in Ontario
https://www.barbadosintoronto.com/events-and-activities-of-interest.html
One of my favorite musicians / singers.
BRING BACK DE OLD TIME DAYS – ERIC LEWIS (GRANNY)
University of Ottawa
Attaran says the officer forced his way into his office and carded his Black PhD student. He adds he complained but nothing was done.
“When I see poor (Jamal Boyce) being arrested for refusing carding, I know I could have been arrested too, had I not let it slip that I am a law professor,” Attaran’s post reads.
Still infatuated.
G G rocking out. She could probably sing Soca and sound amazing.
The biggest parade Canada has ever had.
The Barbados Police Band is really good. Impressive performance backing the Soca singers.