The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. What should we make of this story?

CAUTION
    Bostic among Govt team asked to isolate after ‘low-risk’ contact PAG E 3A
    Members of the welcoming party for the 95 Ghanaian nurses at the Grantley Adams International Airport Thursday evening have been asked to self-isolate for five days.
    The advice came yesterday from Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George “out of an abundance of caution” after nine of the nurses tested positive for COVID-19.
    Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic was among those who welcomed the nurses. He was accompanied by Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins and Executive Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland.
    Media personnel were also at the airport.
    They too, have been cautioned that they should be off work for the next five to six days during which time they must restrict their interaction with people.

2. Media members to self-isolate
    Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic and other members of a Government delegation, which greeted the 95 nurses from Ghana last Thursday, have been asked to self-isolate for five days.
    Acting Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Kenneth George announced yesterday that the precautionary step was being taken after nine of the nurses tested positive for COVID-19. He said another test would be administered after the five days. But he stressed that the risk of exposure to Bostic and the other members of the welcome party, including Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins and Executive Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, was low.
    Members of the media were also at the Grantley Adams International Airport for the arrival of the nurses.
    George said last night: “Out of an abundance of caution, these media workers should be off of work for the next five to six days and be offered a test on Wednesday or Thursday of next week. During their time off, they must restrict their interaction with all persons.”
    12 new cases
    During a press conference at the
    Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation,
    George announced 12 new COVID-19 cases, which included the nine Ghanaian nurses, who arrived with their colleagues to boost local nursing numbers.
    “I have advised the minister and the persons who have attended that function that, out of an abundance of caution, that they separate themselves from their workplaces. I would also suggest that we do this for others who were in the immediate proximity to those individuals. While [Bostic] was there at the airport, there was no physical interaction with those persons, [the delegation] tried to keep their distance and everyone wore masks. So it is only out of an abundance of caution that the CMO strongly suggests that these persons separate themselves from their workplaces and we will work with them to administer a single test in five to seven days,” said George.
    The other three cases are a Barbadian female who returned home on July 29, a male visitor, who arrived on July 30, and a Barbadian man who arrived from the United Kingdom with a negative test, but who, when required to be tested to travel again, returned a positive result.
    As to how such a high percentage of the nurses could have tested positive upon arrival, despite Barbados’ protocol stating that people must bring a negative COVID-19 test, George said many of them did not.
    “Unfortunately, many of the Ghanaians did not come with a test as was required by Barbadian authorities. However, we corrected this immediately and we were able to identify those individuals. Let me make it clear that the reason that the nurses were to come to Barbados was because our due diligence revealed that many of them were highly trained.
    “They are also here to complement our workforce within primary care, the Geriatric Hospital and QEH . . . . So it is worrisome on paper, but the good news is that these persons are here to eventually help us,” said George.
    George revealed that all of the nurses would be required to remain in 14-day quarantine, where they would undergo a second round of testing.
    “I want Barbadians to understand that these unfortunate things may happen, particularly as we seek to open up our borders. In the case of the Ghanaian nurses, this could have been a case of many nationals travelling through various countries. We have risk-stratified persons coming from various countries,” he explained.
    The CMO said that the number of cases caught at the border was proof that the measures were working, even though they might require further tightening.
    “I stand here reassured in our decision to use only the gold standard PCR COVID-19 test, as our decision in the last month to institute a second test on day seven for persons coming from highrisk countries . . . . In addition, we are increasing monitoring and surveillance at the designated facilities. This was, and is always understood to be a necessary precaution,” he stressed.
    There are now 122 confirmed cases, 66 females and 56 males. (CLM)

3. The PM a person who likes to hog the spotlight should hold a press conference with details explaining the protocols used to give clearance for these nurses to enter the country
    Incompetence at its worse

4. Why was the new minister of tourism meeting nurses as part of a reception party? Are they tourists? However, the health matters are more serious. Were they tested before flying out? What visas are they on – permanent or fixed term?

5. The meet and greet of Ghana nurses
    Ministers not wearing masks

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157863715943191&id=246784233190

6. Here comes the usual suspects. The same ones who forecasted Barbados supermarkets would run out of food and overrun with covid 19 infections. Go and look in your back yards. Are your countries rated medium or high risk again?

Go and read the statement from the Acting CMO posted here and on GIS if you are serious about answers.

Which ministers didn’t wear masks?

7. The incompetence of this govt is the problem
    Not the messenger
    Nurses brought to a country and govt unaware of their medical history
    How can anyone know with certainty these are qualified nurses
    But then again as with this govt cutting corners mean the end justify the means

8. Why are we not surprised you would gravitate to a position that the experience Barbados panel of interviewers who visited Ghana to interview the nurses would not have inspected and also asked the Barbados Accreditation Council to perform due diligence.

https://www.modernghana.com/news/967740/interviews-ongoing-to-recruit-nurses-to-barbados.html

9. If all said above is true and most likely
    Then there had to be a break in the chain of command wherby these nurses medical history was not accessed or just given a mere glance in order to speed up the process for arrival

10. @ David

Your friend has returned and up is to her usual agenda.

Why would ‘government’ that ,so far, was considered to have successfully managed COVID-19, put Barbadians lives at risk by recklessly hiring nurses from Ghana, with questionable qualifications and being “unaware of their medical history?”

But, why bother……. after all, she “brings sophistication to BU.”

11. The CMO (ag) admitted some of the nurses failed to get the covid test required for entry into Barbados based on the declared public health protocol.

What the blogmaster recommends is for the Barbados government to consider asking those nurses to return to Gahana if there is no good reason the entry requirement was flouted. It has become an ethical issue to consider.

12. “The CMO (ag) admitted some of the nurses failed to get the covid test required for entry into Barbados based on the declared public health protocol.”

Well, if that’s the case, then CRITICISMS are JUSTIFIED.

The process for recruiting the Ghanaian nurses began 9 months ago, in November 2019. For nurses to enter Barbados without undergoing the required COVID-19 testing for entry into the island, is UNACCEPTABLE.

13. @Artax

You will note from the blogmaster’s comment there are ethical concerns and consideration should be given to sending those nurses back home if no valid excuse is given.

14. @Mariposa
    You are right. Something went wrong and the risk is that it could lead to an outbreak of infectivity in Barbados. Remember, these are not tourists, but will be working with some of the most vulnerable people in the country.
    Someone in the ministry of health/QEH had responsibility for checking that these nurses had fulfilled the requirements. Heads should roll.
    It is this kind of forensic questioning that was missing from the blog during the period of your isolation.

15. Critical Analyzer Avatar

It serves the ministers right to have to go into quarantine for being so stupid.

The nurses still had to complete their quarantine so what were the ministers and non-essential personnel doing there for a meet and greet in the first place? If I had somebody come in on a plane and was supposed to go into quarantine for 7 days, would they have allowed me to meet and greet them too or would these same people be telling me meet and greet after they leave quarantine?

The idiots leading this COVID response just don’t get it. YOU CANNOT PLAY POLITICS, OPTICS AND PR WITH THIS VIRUS. THE ONLY WAY TO BEAT THIS VIRUS IS TO BE FULLY HONEST WITH THE PUBLIC, SPEAK THE TRUTH AND GIVE US THE FACTS. YOUR OPINIONS AND EDICTS ARE NOT FACTS. PEOPLE ARE NOT FOOLISH. But we all know these people have problems being honest and are strangers to the truth.

Frankly, what scares me most is the double standards, double speak and stupid mistakes from the people leading this COVID pandemic response. They have all the statistics, information and expertise in front of them but them constantly making these cardinal mistakes demonstrate to me either a lack of intelligence to understand the information they have in front of them and or an idiotic willingness to play politics and PR with this virus.

16. @Critical Analyzer

Mistakes will be made. This is a reality. Boris made them. Trump is making them. So far the government has done a reasonable job. Let us implore them to react with good sense to recent developments. Some of us are concerned that there seem to be a relaxation by Barbadians in the country to the public health protocols. Time to wheel and come again Minister Bostic.

17. Shooting the messenger not going to change the issue whereby govt brought nurses into the country unaware of their medical history
    As usual the balance that is needed to flush out the what ..who ..why and where would not be accepted on BU
    Anyhow those questions cannot go unanswered or swept under a rug by a govt who promised accountabilty and transparency
    Anything else by the blp detractors in their effort to give govt a passing grade on this issue as well as to shoot the messenger should be punished with laughter
    The incompetence of this govt has broken all inefficient bounds
    Who will bell the cat some one must

18. Wishing the very best for Barbados today. Have a great day Barbados.
    xx—————————————–xx
    She’s rested, refreshed and bowling like she did before. It appears that she was practicing during her hiatus.
    The speed and accuracy is still there. However, we believe the opposition is technically deficient and unprepared.
    The continued use of Lorenzo and Robert as relief bowlers is expected to fail in blunting her attack.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/29/wi-technically-deficient-and-ill-prepared/

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

I don’t have a problem with mistakes being made. My problem is with making mistakes when you know better. Did you not get licks from your teacher when you did a math test and got harder 78+123 sum right and the simple 1+2 sum wrong. They deserve to be punished harshly for making stupid mistakes because they still have not learnt from what happened in March when they delayed with the quarantine of flights for political/PR reasons.

We have to give them all their licks now so they get it right now the flights are low because if we only have one two chances to get it right and if we get this thing right, we will have a successful winter season later this year.

Our government has been lucky thus far. Don’t mistake luck for skill. They are still not combining their intelligence with knowledge to make proper decisions.

Make no mistake, US lives are being sacrificed to sabotage Trump to stop him getting a second term. The hydroxychloroquine he was talking about from the start when combines with Zinc prevents the virus from taking hold when taken in the early but that would have guaranteed him a second term so they will try to deny it works till he loses.

We have one last chance, this month of August, to get this thing right. Winter is coming.

20. The embarrassment of what has occurred is not generating licks? Is the minister of health please about the embarrassment being created? All of the COVID tests should have been submitted to the public health ministry to advise status of nurses before boarding. Was this done?No it was not.

Who to blame?

21. The list of incompetence keeps growing starting way back in 2018
    As the list gets longer BU continues its merry way with mundane articles which only serves to tickle the funny bone and cover this inept govt from the buzz of criticisms
    But that is ok day runs until night comes nigh

22. ‘It has become an ethical issue to consider.”
    The government’s management of the crisis so far can only be described by the word excellent.

I will rephrase the statement above from my point of view.
    “Let’s hope a smart Ghanaian and a smart Barbadian did not put their heads together and put Barbados at risk.”

Given Ghana’s ranking on the corruption perception index and the Bajan’s “smartness, Barbadian and Ghanaian politicians working together could be an explosive mix. Hold on to your seat during the ride.

23. ‘It has become an ethical issue to consider.”

I will rephrase the statement above from my point of view.
    “Let’s hope a smart Ghanaian and a smart Barbadian did not put their heads together and put Barbados at risk.”

Given Ghana’s ranking on the corruption perception index and the Bajan’s “smartness, Barbadian and Ghanaian politicians working together could be an explosive mix. Hold on to your seat during the ride.

The government’s management of the crisis so far can only be described by the word excellent. Keep the focus, don’t get distracted.

24. Excellent ..as in throwing enough scratch grain towards the blp yardfowls
    But dont be fooled other social media platforms are not so silent they are performing with excellence on this issue demanding answers
    Not all social media platforms have a duty to perform diligently towards govt agendas
    With certainty govt cannot win on this issue by share avoidance
    Await the opposition response

25. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David August 2, 2020 9:06 AM
    The quarantine they in now is the equivalent of detention from the teacher but tomorrow on the call-in program is when they will get the real licks like you would get from your mother then father when the teacher tell your parents.

The wonderful thing is that it all happened now so they can realise the folly of not mandating everybody getting on a plane first have a negative test. A contagious person shedding the virus is likely to pass it to the persons next to them on an 4 – 8 hour flight mask or no mask. We can’t stop test fraud or people infected during the intervening period or false negatives but we have to do the best we can.

The correct protocol should be
    1. All persons on long flights, i.e. international flights are to have a negative test before boarding a plane.
    2. Exceptions made for shorter flights i.e. intra-caribbean but face masks must be worn for the entire flight.
    3. If anyone in a travel party has a positive test, the party can reschedule their flight, hotel reservations and all other bookings at no penalty or costs.

26. Critical Analyzer Avatar

https://c19study.com/

Being the medical professional you are, I suspect you along with Robert Lucas will enjoy digging into the information from this site most of all.

27. Not expecting to get much of a response anything which questions govt marathon policies are left out to hang dry
    This govt cannot be seen as doing wrong
    Reason being this govt was given a 30-0 mandate to do as they pleases
    Also most noteworthy Mia said that an airline named interCaribbean would be given landing rights to fly in and out of barbados
    No accountability or transparency shed except a few details that can any one accesed by google as to who owns the areoplane and some countries where it flies
    But then again this govt rules by stealth and media refuses to ask questions

28. Btw the reviews of that much touted airline Intercarribbean leaves much to be desired
    Sounds like a liat experience with a highfalutin name
    But who cares just throw a bone any bone the people would accept

29. The stories behind this disaster is unimaginable
    This one govt cant hide because front line workers that had to process these worker are mad as hell and not shutting mouth to protect this govt
    Fake nurses fake certification fake test the whole gammit of incompetence between two govts whose only option was political showboating that has fell flat in their faces
    God help barbados

30. For those who think that this issue is a fifteen minute talking point
    Think again

Omar Watson and 10 others

Our protocols worked? You’ve just exposed our customs, immigration, airport staff, media personnel, government officials, and health personnel and everyone that they’ve interacted with since the arrival and ill-advised photo op for the arrival of the Ghanaian nurses.

You seriously want to spin that bro? Do the math. You f*cked up!

I thought extensive screening would have been done before they even left home. They’re medical professionals that you imported though. 👀

The COVID Scar peeping about behind ZRs and small restaurant and bar operators. I don’t see the numbers exploding in Sheraton or in by Flashzone! You should be at the borders peeping about like Stephen!

Anyways my head hot and this post would go downhill. So let me stop right here!

Only the other day we were supposed to be COVID-free yeh!

As a high-risk person I don’t plan on being civil watching you guys risk the safety of the public. I hope you guys also checked for Malaria! 👀

#thekeepingitrealnetwork #tkirn #covıd19barbados

31. Barbados has recorded another 12 cases of novel coronavirus (COVID-19), bringing the total number of positive cases to 132.

Minister of Health and Wellness Jeffrey Bostic, who is in self-quaarantine, made this announcment in a live broadcast via Zoom a short while ago.

32. They are all Bajans who wished to come home.

33. I would definitely send those nurses who weren’t tested back to Ghana. They should never have boarded that flight. I also do not know why such a large contingent was necessary to welcome them. A reception of some sort could have been done for them after they were cleared.

These government officials are complaining about the people getting slack but this is the example they are setting.

34. The truth will out.

“Barbados has 24 new COVID-19 cases in two days and authorities are expecting the numbers to climb this week as airlines fly in and out of the country.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/247030/spike-covid-19

35. @Hants

It is unfortunate we discovered 24 infections in quick time. What is positive is that the infections were detected by screening and not a result of community spread.

36. Whose idea was it to have a welcoming party at the Airport to greet the nurses? The Gov’t after establishing strict guidelines for visitors and returning nationals dropped the ball on this issue. Some persons couldn’t resist the photo-op but a reception after the medical status of the nurses had been settled would have served the same purpose.

The Gov’t certainly deserves the criticism it has been getting after the plaudits it has been receiving for its initial response to the virus, it just goes to show that one should certainly hold his/her applause until the fat lady has sung.

37. @Sargeant

The MOH and MOT were there right? Who would have to give them permission as senior ministers?

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/08/covid19.png

38. @David
    Don’t be missing the point, it is not about giving anyone permission. The welcome didn’t happen organically, someone knew the nurses were arriving and some communications were sent out saying we need to greet the nurses that we (the Gov’t) recruited. Did anyone say “Whooa”? lets take our time cause yuh never know and as we have these protocols it is better to be safe than sorry. Instead we have the welcoming mat, the Press and the whole kit and caboodle out and later the MOH saying we “effed up” and people gotta go into self -quarantine because nine nurses that we glad-handed are infected with COVID.

If that isn’t a screw-up I don’t know what is

As always many hands (yuh know de rest)

BTW nice of you to print the stats (yuh running interference for the Gov’t?)

39. @Sargeant

It should have been the MoH to pull the plug. The point!

40. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David and @Sargeant
    Let me break it down for you two as to what I think happen. I ain’t know nothing nor know flies on the wall but I know the mentality.

We bajans was probably told them all got tested negative before they all get on the plane but being it was a charter plane and the only way to get here to start to work, half or all could not have been truly tested before leaving Ghana so them get on the plane knowing they got nothing to lose.

The minsters with them fast self looking for a PR win in this pandemic with nuff nurses showing up rush at the chance and I am willing to be override the health officials that said they have to go through quaratine first.

I am so glad it happen now so we can get it the protocols right during this month. A good thing them had the sense to do this dry run so we can ram this country come Flu season.

P.S. I bet some more nurses in quarantine will test positive in a week or so.

41. ….I ain’t know nothing nor know flies on the wall but I know the mentality….(Quote)

Is that the Bajan Condition?

42. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hall Austin
    Please explain which Bajan Condition you are referring to.

43. Truth being that Mia Mottley as PM needs to come out and speak on this incompetence
    Some where along the line a chain of command was broken or Ghana sold barbados 12 bags of lies which our govt did not have common sense to do their own interrogation of these nurses history
    This is real bad for the image of barbados especially at a time when govt is asking people from other countries to live and work from our shores
    This messed must be clean up by PM

44. @Critical

….I ain’t know nothing nor know flies on the wall but I know the mentality….(Quote)

The predictive cultural psychological reaction to social phenomena. The ‘mentality’ you claim to know, when PR takes over from competence and common sense. The Bajan Condition.
    I will also bet that some of the qualifications claimed by the nurses are bogus. That is not any great insight, but the UK experience with West Africans, in particular Nigerians and Ghanaians. Caution is the watch word.

45. Hard to belive that those “nurses” which might just be house sitters were tested
    Furthermore that are stories on social media platforms stating that some of the certification cannot be verified as well that to do with COVID testing from Ghana

46. @Critical Analyzer August 2, 2020 9:02 AM “Our government has been lucky thus far…Make no mistake, US lives are being sacrificed to sabotage Trump to stop him getting a second term. We have one last chance, this month of August, to get this thing right. Winter is coming.”

There is no winter in Barbados.

If Barbados’ officials have been LUCKY can you please explain why U.S. officials have not been just as lucky?

United States 47.33 deaths per 100,000 people

Barbados: 2.44 deaths per 100,000 people.

If Barbados had mismanaged COVID19 as badly as the United States has, we would have had 120+ deaths by now (instead of 7) and almost certainly one of those deaths would have been your neighbor, schoolmate, friend, family or you.

The low mortality in Barbados has NOTHING to do with good luck.

The high mortality in the United States has nothing to do with bad luck.

Barbados took the scientific high road.

The United States, led by their idiotic President chose to follow political and religious conspiracy theories, which is a shame, because the United States has some of the world’s best scientific brains.

47. I am sorry to hear that some of the nurses from Ghana have Covid19. I wish them much better. It was an 8 hour flight, and one asymptomatic person could have infected the others. But know that if we had got nurses form the United Kingdom or the United States the result would very likely have been the same or much worse.

Note that the Cuban nurses were all Covid19 free, thanks to the sensible strategies taken by their Communist government. Let us big up the Communists for that. Also their flight was much shorter

48. The meet and greet should have happened after the quarantine.

i have relatives arriving this week. They won’t see me for 14 days, except on a Whatsapp video call. I love them very much, but I am never one to confuse foolishness with love.

The last time i had a “little” flu I was so sick I asked the Lord to take me home…but he left me here, possibly to torment the boys of BU.

I ain’t messing with covid or potential covid.