Prime Minister Mia Mottley has directed a restart to the controversial and contentious overpass project. Anyone interested can search BU Archive for 3S Barbados SRL, Mabey and Johnson or Jonathon Danos.

Mottley you win. You have achieved your objective of soaking up all constructive dissent in the room. Walk good.

77 responses to “Mia Mottley Resumes Controversial Overpass Project in Barbados”

1. Samuel S. Shank Avatar
    Samuel S. Shank

Gotta keep the projects going so that the commissions will keep coming.

2. Based on what data do we need flyovers?

Has a full review been done showing vehicle count by the hour for each of these roads in the affected areas? Is the flow consistent all day or are we building a flyover for 2 hours of peak traffic only? Are the roads in the perspective areas ALL in good working order? In other words are they free of potholes, BWA destruction not properly repaired etc.? Are the laybys being used by the ZRS and has their dragging and peeping up every gap in areas like Jackson being addressed while they drive at 10 km a hour? Have we utilised turn lanes at all junctions for both left and right hand turning? I can tell you the answer in the areas I traverse is No and No. What we doing about the ZRS on the west coast road, who after 10.00 am drive at 10kms a hour and peep up every gap till they reach town?

So for example we are now doing the top road in St Thomas from Farmers to the junction just passed BRC, to where that road meets the road from Jackson to Warrens. I see a provision being made for a roundabout where one can go to Cost u Less without blocking traffic proceeding down the road pass BRC to the junction, which is good. But has a provision been made by the school for laybys that the ZRs dropping and collecting children from the school can pull off the road and use, not that they will of course. At the junction now will a left lane be implemented so that traffic turning left to go to Jackson does not have to wait in the same line as traffic turning right going to Warrens? Don’t look so to me. So what will happen is the benefit of installing the roundabout to turn to Cost U less, will now simply bottle neck when it passes BRC on route to the junction by the school.

if you ask me we are way off talking about flyovers because we have not fully utilised the roads we already have. Anyhow wunna can publish the reviews for traffic flow and times by road when you can, so that we the taxpayers can see if a flyover is really needed. I ain’t going hold my breath for it though.

3. We have too many cars on the roads.

We have to find solutions to stagger usage of the highways and byways.

Flyovers will scratch an itch but there are already too many sores.

Then there is the issue of road maintenance with flyovers added.

The issue is that this government has reinforced that we do not have the financial discipline to manage large projects, refer to ongoing Carifesta saga.

4. How is it possible for a woman who’s won three 30-loves in a row to do anything which is “controversial”?

A woman who seems destined to win the next three 30-loves absent the intervention of death, if Goddess can die?

Is this record and control of the future not yet the sole preserve of The political Goddess?

And in these circumstances, would it not require another Goddess or God to contradiction anything such which The Maximum Leader has ordained?

And should it not be worthy of death for any mere mortal to question The Almighty Mottley Herself?

5. @ Dsvid

No problem start by getting the 30% of uninsured vehicles off the road the should free up traffic.

6. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

John A
    March 24, 2026 at 10:33 am

@ Dsvid

“No problem start by getting the 30% of uninsured vehicles off the road the should free up traffic.”

I think you mean to get as close to 100% of uninsured vehicles off the road. They have no legal right being on the road anyway. There needs to be an proper enforcement arm since the BPS has shed some of this responsibility. Probably Transport Authority or Licensing Authority officers.

I watched the first national consultation via the PMO Barbados Youtube page. To be fair to gov’t, Minister Humphrey said there would separate national forums (consultations) on the 2026 iteration of the flyovers. That HAS to happen at any rate. to publicly divulge where the flyovers will be built, costings to build and maintain, and to clearly define what form these flyovers will take. I am going based on the 2006-2008 forms which are really roundabout overpasses that may span at most 200 meters over the roundabout

The first consultation was interesting. Some contributors stated that there has to be a National Plan regarding the traffic issue. Humphrey responded that the forums were for the public to give their ideas for government to consider in addition to the flyover operation. In my opinion the National Plan is of the UPMOST necessity. The traffic issue is growing beyond what flyovers and increasing the physical capacity of roads can solve.
    From that first consultation some the ideas that stood out in my mind were:-

1) Establishing a school route for buses on the outskirts of Bridgetown. Students would dropped off at hubs outside and a buses will collect students to transport to the various schools. That idea can work even better if personal vehicles are prohibited from going into Inner B’town at particular times of the day. That solution would match the observation that traffic congestion is worse when school is in session.

2)The other idea was to allow private vehicle owners to basically become PSVs or to use contemporary language allow for extreme ride-sharing for the same $3.50 fare.
    That idea can work if there are times restrictions so that this doesn’t impinge too heavily on PSVs and taxis business. There are immediate benefits on both sides. The vehicle owner can generate revenue, commuters have options other than dedicated buses and PSVs during the peak period, It will help maximize highway capacity as personal cars will carry more commuters

I generally support the flyovers. There can’t be an outcry to solve the traffic woes and immediately dismiss one idea out of hand. There has to be conclusive evidence that the flyovers’ cannot work or they are too costly to implement in Barbados

7. 2007 to 2025 is 18 years. A NEW set of plans are required based on recent traffic studies and data.

8. Didn’t BAPE have concerns about the robustness of the geotechnical process proposed?

9. I am glad this topic has come up here at BU. There needs to be ​some serious​ open debate ​and analysis about this before spending hundreds of millions of dollars​ on a “solution” that might not work well.

Some notes:

1. Roundabouts are very efficient when traffic is low.

1.1. But… They introduce what is known in Game Theory as “The Prisoner’s Dilemma” when traffic is heavy.

1.2. Drivers entering a roundabout who wish to exit onto a route that is already full. Blocking drivers who wish to exit the roundabout onto a completely open route.

1.3. Everyone here knows the Clyde Walcott Roundabout as just one example. The Errol Barrow Hwy blocked by people trying to get to Hothersal (H3).

2. A potentially better (and much cheaper) solution is what is known as “Smart Roundabouts.”

2.1. Google it. This solution space has been successfully deployed elsewhere, including in England and France. There is “prior art” and documented gains.

2.2. This could actually be tested by simply using humans to direct traffic during heavy loads. It is much less expensive than using massive amounts of concrete, steel, manpower, and causing further traffic disruption.

3. It is important to note that just getting traffic through an intersection does not fully solve the problem.

3.1. The traffic must reach its destination after passing an intersection before additional traffic can enter.

4, Lastly, I implore that proper network analysis be done on this before serious money is spent.

4.1. Serious CAD systems and experts (not me) are available for exactly this kind of work.

4.2. “Armchair experts” can use Google Maps to clearly see some of the problems.

I welcome feedback on this. I have more to write about this subject, including “bad actors” on our roads. This is not limited to the ZRs traveling at 10 km/h “fouling the commons.”

Are we having fun yet?

10. @ Dishuisting

I was saying 30% meaning 30% of the total vehicles on the road which is what the insurance guys claiming is roughly 3 out of every 10 or higher. But as you say it is a dam mess what ever the percentage is..

Chris you are right about the UK roundabouts I have been through them with friends who drive up there at a good speed no problem. Our problem is we slow down here for every roundabout because there is no dedicate right away from far away.

They are so many ways we can improve our roads if we just stopped to think. I mean if we could not even successfully implement a system for identifying insured vehicles, we could be ready for flyovers?

11. @Chris

We have to assume the ministry has mountains of data to support overpass solutions?

12. PTV Vissim / Visum

13. Eugene Estwick John Knox Avatar
    Eugene Estwick John Knox

Reduce the cars.

I can’t imagine what Barbados will look like with overpasses.

To reduce the number, stop the wholesale land development.

……. and forget the 80,000 more people.

14. @BU.David…

I know you are joking, but, to answer. The Ministry now has cameras just about everywhere. So they /might/ have mountains of data.

I have learnt the hard way that having mountains of data doesn’t always lead to one having insight.

15. @Chris

Are you questioning the competency of the personnel within the ministry of transportation & works?

16. @BU.David et al…

I am not questioning the competency of anyone.

But, at the same time, I would like to understand what is being decided in this space.

Our road network; a “public good”.

These decisions are based upon what knowledge? What simulations?

Networks (both physical and IP) can be very tricky.

Sigh… I’ve spoken up again, haven’t I? 9^)

17. I going ask one question seeing that the PM says planning is well on its way. Is this going to be handled like the Republic was handled where the views of the public were sought AFTER the decision was made without the promised referendum? I ask because reading between the lines that is the impression I am getting.

18. We have a working ‘walkover’ on the ABC highway that should provide an excellent example of the competence of our political leaders in such engineering matters.

It overpasses the highway between CBC and Parkinson School.

Everything bout here is a big BB joke…
    Incompetence on steroids…
    What a place!

19. @Chris

Yours is a cop out. We can only judge by their fruit. What has the ministry done over the years to exemplify competence?

20. Lemmuh listen to the BUI experts.🤣

21. How much has the money supply increased by in the last 20 years? There is a reason why politicians love to spend. Some of them in charge of 100 million dollar budgets can’t balance their chequebook.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DWPK_jfEfSj/

22. Flyovers are a good idea.

I would also advise our honourable government to make use of AI. After all, every citizen has a smartphone in their car anyway. The AI could then automatically identify and remove uninsured drivers (for example, by remotely disabling the vehicle) and efficiently guide the remaining vehicles.

All we need for this is:
    1) A requirement to install the government’s road traffic monitoring app on all smartphones.
    2) A permanent data connection between smartphones and government AI servers.
    3) A vehicle switch-off device linked to the app.

In a second phase, we could implant a chip directly into the brains of our population. For many, this would be a blessing anyway, as it would enhance intelligence. The ruling class, businesspeople, expats and diplomats would, of course, be exempt.

Tron
    fair and balanced

23. “Some of them in charge of 100 million dollar budgets can’t balance their chequebook.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    SBSH @ David
    You mean they couldn’t BEFORE…

LOL @ Enuff
    Boss … there MUST be some shiite that wunna lotta hands can get to work… besides PR and PRomises.

There is a saying that yuh CAN’T polish shiite…
    All this does is spread it…

24. You’d do better to focus on what your hands can do besides repeated 0 seats. You keep talking shyte pon BU wid dah oversized ego.

25. Agree with Browne, it must always be the decision making process that is able to stand up to the rigour of scrutiny.

Engineers: Flyovers not full traffic fix

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

FLYOVERS WILL NOT BE the sole solution to managing traffic in Barbados, warns president of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers (BAPE), Rey Moe.

Speaking to the MIDWEEK NATION yesterday, he said while elevated structures might play a role in easing congestion, a broader strategy was required.

“We understand as an association that flyovers can be a part of the solution for managing traffic. We don’t think that it’s going to be the be-all, end-all. There are other things that you can do to manage and minimise traffic congestion.”

Moe was responding to last week’s announcement by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley that Government plans to construct flyovers. She revealed that the project would utilise 3S Structural Steel Solutions – the same company it hired in 2004 to build the flyovers that were scrapped by the Democratic Labour Party administration in 2008.

Hoping to collaborate with Government, Moe said BAPE intended to reach out to the Ministry of Transport and Works to ensure they were “on the same page”.

He expressed support for the public consultations already initiated by the ministry but said that BAPE needed to meet internally to formulate a consolidated stance before engaging further.

“We intend to reach out to the ministry to work with them to determine what their plan is moving forward,” Moe added.

However, former BAPE president Lieutenant Colonel Trevor Browne offered a stinging critique of the Government’s approach.

Browne, who was critical of similar proposals in 2004, argued that the administration was putting the cart before the horse.

“It’s the usual nonsense we do in Barbados. We jump and do things, then find out it’s a waste of money. The same thing with energy, the same thing with the hospital, the same things with roads – so why would this be any different?” he asked.

Browne made it clear that his concern was not with the necessity of the structures, but the lack of proper process.

‘Best way forward’

“My position was never whether it was necessary or not. My position was that is not how you do things,” he said. “You do a study. You look at the various options and then you select the best way forward. You don’t just wake up one morning and decide that you feel that this is the best solution and then go ahead and do it.”

Questioning the basis of the Mottley Government’s decision to proceed, Browne asked: “Who did the study? Who looked at the options? Who’s going to take responsibility if it doesn’t work out?”

He advised the Government to enlist professional engineering and architectural firms to conduct a thorough analysis before committing to a solution.

“You don’t select the solution first and then start to work on the problem. That’s basic common sense. I would be surprised if flyovers were the answer to traffic congestion in Barbados, but I’m not saying that they are or they aren’t. After you do the study, you’ll see to what extent they may help or not help.”

Browne criticised the trend of politicians making multibilliondollar decisions without the requisite expertise, noting that such projects often faced scrutiny and roll-backs after implementation.

“We have politicians that have no expertise in the area, who wake up one morning and decide that they are going for a multibillion-dollar solution,” he charged.

“My advice is to hire a professional engineering firm and architectural firm to do the analysis, and then come up with the best approach to solving the problem. Hire people who know what they’re doing.”

The MIDWEEK NATION reached out to Minister of Finance Ryan Straughn to find out on what basis was Government proceeding with the flyovers; why it decided to re-engage 3S Solutions; if the design remained the same and if the cost of the flyovers had moved from the $100 million it was at 22 years ago.

However, up to press time there was no response.

26. @ Enuff
    You going kill poor Bushie fuh jus asking a question…?

Surely it would have been easier to give us the top ten impressive successes that have been ACTUALLY ACCOMPLISHED by your lotta hands, that explains the 30-0’s. We all can now see how you managed to self-destruct the DLP.

… Rather than to cuss a BB stinking bushman that you don’t know…
    … and one who don’t even own a whacker now…

…and BTW, a bushman bringing a message is not about ego,
    It is about a WARNING from on HIGH…
    Something that always precedes serious judgement.
    So no need to kill the messenger…

What a place nuh!

27. @BU.David: “Yours is a cop out.

I respectfully disagree.

I have learnt the hard way that “speaking truth to power” can be very stressful and very expensive.

But, for some weird reason, I keep doing it…

28. The solution to our transport problem, provided by our cherished government, will be the greatest step forward on our island since the abolition of slavery, our Supreme Leader’s rise to power, and the proclamation of the Republic.

For this, I would like to thank our cherished government in advance!

Tron
    just a humble patriot

29. @Tron… Please don’t take the piss on this.

We are very lucky we don’t live in North Korea nor Russia. Or, even, the “Great US of A.

In some countries people are afraid of using their real names, and are sometimes killed for simply asking questions. Doesn’t happen here.

30. If the government spent money years ago to look at the usefulness of flyovers when there were 100,000 cars, why the need to go through another “process” to determine that fly-overs should be part of the solution with 181,000 cars? A mitigation measure evident all across the world including right here in the Caribbean? What was the “process” for the confusion in Wildey (supported by the BUI), after Thompson cancelled the flyovers? This government clearly knows that flyovers are not the only solution, demonstrated by the recently held townhall titled National Consultation on TRAFFIC. Note it didn’t say consultation on flyovers. What sense does it make to waste months recreating the “process” for flyovers rather than picking up where they left off in 2008 and tweaking where necessary? The Ministry appears to be awashed with data which is the perfect starting point–evidence-based not the BUI way feelings-based!

This same BUI rails against taller buildings, Uber, and a predominantly zoned education system, laughs at the idea of cycling then complains about traffic, public transportation and private car use–dem all connected tho! School drop offs/pickups are a major contributor to trip generation, hence congestion. Density means more people; therefore, a larger and more easily accessible customer base for sustainable transport modes (public transportation, walking, hail-a-ride services and cycling) less reliance on private vehicles. We all know that bus or no bus, most car owners (including the loudest on BU) still ain’t putting down or selling dem big ride–all talk and grandstanding! Peep the unchanged drive-bout behaviour even with the fuel tax for proof. Unfortunately, engineers like Browne feel that the issues and solutions are primarily about engineering. There are not. I am convinced that there are people whose intention is to delay the government’s progress on everything once they are not involved. The government would be foolish to let certain players delay their plans for Bim after three 30-0, especially when all the doomsday specialists like Bushtea, the annointed and prayer warriors like Marching Marcia continue to flounder.

The newspapers are also useless! Instead of doing some research and writing something that could better help the public understand how to deal with the issue, the Nation focuses on cost, not value, but cost. But everyday would run stories about bad roads and traffic. Small wonder Bushtea was recently parading bout “overruns” on Carifesta though he had/has no idea of its real budget, but as usual overruning his mout.

31. We are very lucky we don’t live in North Korea nor Russia. Or, even, the “Great US of A.

XXXXXXXXX

ONLY A FOOL WOULD LUMP USA WITH THE TWO ABOVE NAMED.

I GUESS THAT YOU ARE LIKE SEVERAL OTHERS WHO GET THEIR “NEWS” FROM TV OR INTERNET AND NOT ON THE GROUND AS YOU ARE BASED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

A SMALL ISLAND FOR SMALL MINDED PEOPLE BOTH BLACK AND ‘WHITE’.

32. @BAJE: “ONLY A FOOL WOULD LUMP USA WITH THE TWO ABOVE NAMED.

With all due respect, I work and report from experience. And I use my real name, unlike many cowards.

The last time I traveled through the USA I was detained. Guns were held (but not drawn) while they searched everything I was holding. Including my shoes (but thankfully not my bottom).

33. Samuel S. Shank Avatar
    Samuel S. Shank

The Barbados government (if you can call it that) needs to stop the influx of cars into the island.
    It needs to be an even bolder step than what Mr. Tom Adams did in the early 1980’s.
    He reduced the allowable import of cars to each registered dealer and allowed an import license to an individual once per year. The once per year import license per individual did not work as it was abused by people using that loop hole to get individuals to apply for a license so that someone else could import multiple cars.
    Then there was the loop hole that small vans did not count as cars so Kyffin Simpson became a billionaire by selling small Suzuki vans.
    Does anyone in this government have the guts to stop the import of cars? I doubt it as too many people are paying off the officials.

34. What they need to do is start a program by making the police stop and ask for proof of current insurance cover. Along with this we legalise the impounding and holding of vehicles at an impound facility for ALL vehicles found by the force that are uninsured with immediate effect. So if you are checked and have no insurance, you will not be driving off with an uninsured vehicle. The vehicle will instead be removed by wrecker to the impound facility. It will only be released from the facility when you have paid the wrecker fee and the daily storage charges, ALONG WITH PROVIDING PROOF OF CURRENT INSURANCE IN THE FORM OF THE CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE. In other words no vehicle will be released if you bring just a 30 day cover note.

Will this ever happen? Of course not as it would not be a politically positive action to take. Instead we want to build flyovers so these same criminals can continue to break the law with less congestion. Wunna understand what happening here?

By the way what happened with the enforcement of the tint law? I still seeing nuff vehicles out there with dam dark tints.

35. Research.

36. The PM needs a big infrastructure project to keep that debt to GDP from exceeding 100. Pierhead developers are in no hurry, neither Sandals St. Peter.
    Being productive does not beget increased productivity.
    The period of construction will be beneficially productive but the outcome will do little to improve productivity. Bajan productivity is low not because we get to work late get because of traffic but because Bajans are lazy and entitled just like their PM.

37. Only a person who’s lived in all three could best make such judgements

All others are biased by the propaganda coming from the West about their titular foes in both the DPRK and the Russian Federation. They say the same kinds of things about Cuba.

That mindset can’t stop asserting that the DPRK and Russia are now the same that they were according to the dated propaganda from the Communist epoch.

Chris Halsall although clearly indicted by the above has a very good point about the perceived current degeneration of America. For to this particular part of his, he’s astutely noted that American capitalism or so-called democracy has, at its centre, degenerated into a neo-fascism. Demonstrated by his personal experience. And he’s well supported by a pantheon of scholars in this area, Professor Horne, for one.

It turns out that every accusation is a confession. And American has now revealed itself as that which it has long accused countries like the DPRK and the Russian Federation of. It’s a fascist country like the third Reich of Germany during the 1930s and 40s. And it has the shameful and longer history to boot. The Drumpf of a leader to boot.

38. @Pachamama: “Demonstrated by his personal experience. And he’s well supported by a pantheon of scholars in this area, Professor Horne, for one.

I will admit that I was detained at the San Francisco Internation Airport about twelve hours after having demonstrated in front of about two dozen people that the Class 4/5 Telephony Switch we were buying (for several hundred thousand dollars) used the default password.

It took less than a second for my laptop to successfully guess the password, since the /etc/passwd file was globaly readable, and the OS was so old that /etc/shadow was not being used.

They were not amused. Nor was I.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am unsure how anyone is to know “real” numbers, whether budgeted or actual from a GoB who last line of accountability, the Auditor General office, remains without a head, now a full year after the prior incumbent Trotman left office, after giving many months notice.
    Like how the NIS reporting failures began, the AudGen is now 3 years behind on auditing GoB financial statements and should the tardy trend continue, a full AG Office Report well past April is likely. And that is for 2024, not 2025.
    I know Bushie will cuss me, but how can publicly traded entities continue in this environment? They must pull stumps and exit to preserve any value.

40. @Redguard: “Bajan productivity is low not because we get to work late get because of traffic but because Bajans are lazy and entitled just like their PM.

I take great offence to this statement.

I have lived and worked in Bimshire for more than 25 years now. Bajans are some of the smartest and hardest working people I have ever encountered!

41. https://youtu.be/bXA97ebZHGA?si=PI-_6u4gdOhJ_Zr3

Chris Halsall

You are in good company, and not alone. For your experience is not an isolated incident. Indeed, it’s the general tendency throughout the American society.

Scott Ritter, above, a well declarated marine was also treated similarly.

Indeed, to list these kinds of criminal acts by the United States government will take this writer all day.

However, the idiotic lovers of America generally tend to like their money much more. In that case they should consider the assets seizures, which have been going on for years, where customs and border officials and even policemen can seize personal assets under contrived suspicion, even as cash and other near-cash instruments are supposed to be legal tender, and give one no end of trouble to have them returned, even after years, sometimes wirhout receipts that such seizures took place. They can even take money from one’s bank accounts electronically without the victim knowing.

The requirement is for a clear-eyed view of reality and not forever being enshonced within a jaded belief system no longer true.

42. When the obvious has to be stated.

Start with the engineers

It was refreshing to read the comments of engineers Ray Moe and Ret. Lieutenant Colonel Trevor Browne in this week’s MIDWEEK NATION with regard to the Government’s proposal to implement a 2004 decision to construct flyovers to relieve the growing crippling traffic congestion.

The engineers have not opposed the plan to build flyovers, but they have warned that there must be a systematic collaborative approach involving the right people to ensure that the project is executed in the best interest of everyone involved and the public, who will ultimately bear the brunt of the discomfort.

The Government has started on the right foot by arranging public consultations so that various views can be expressed, but too often we have seen public consultations held after a decision has been made, with the clear impression given that the public has been allowed to speak only to rule out the accusation that the public was not consulted. This series of consultations appears to be no different.

The cost of constructing flyovers will be substantial, resulting in significant additional borrowing, and the disruption and frustration during the construction period will be enormous. No one can deny that the expenditure is necessary, but I would urge the Government to follow the very rational recommendations made by the engineers: have wide consultations with the nation’s professional engineers, review all reasonable options, come to a consensus on the final proposals, and include other necessary traffic management solutions in the final decision. Needless to say, the project must be re-tendered.

For a project that is this important and expensive, we can afford to delay for another six months to ensure that the right decisions are made.

We were presented with an elaborate and well-conceptualised proposal for the privatisation of the sugar industry that promised significant benefits for the country and the workers. The public is still left dumbfounded by the implementation failure and the fallout that has even crippled the start of this year’s sugar harvest.

This country cannot afford expensive multimillion-dollar projects financed from the public purse with a simple explanation afterwards that it was worth it.

– Kyle H. Inniss

43. Explore all options to flyovers

I have been following the debate closely regarding traffic issues in Barbados.

While I admit that, as a dual UK and Barbadian national, I am less directly affected, I nevertheless share much of the frustration that Barbadians feel.

I cannot help but think that flyovers are not the only solution. They will inevitably push congestion into other areas and could potentially make matters worse. One can easily imagine thousands of cars moving smoothly along a highway, only to come to an abrupt halt at either end – much like shifting an air bubble from one place to another.

Many have expressed concern that flyovers would spoil the landscape. Undoubtedly, they could become an eyesore and a stark visual reminder of a problem intensified rather than resolved.

It is often argued that large infrastructure projects such as these can stimulate economic activity and deliver long-term productivity gains. While this may be true in some cases, such benefits are far from guaranteed and depend heavily on careful planning, execution, and suitability to local conditions.

Against this backdrop, it seems sensible that alternatives are fully explored. One option that may be worth considering is the use of underpasses rather than flyovers. While not without their own challenges, underpasses could potentially ease congestion while preserving the island’s visual landscape. They may also reduce the abrupt bottlenecks at either end of major routes. Of course, factors such as cost, drainage, and construction disruption would need careful consideration.

I am convinced that implementing a range of smaller, practical improvements would make a meaningful difference. Repairing roads, adding more sidewalks, and introducing smarter traffic management systems – the latter of which can be deployed relatively quickly – would all help ease congestion.

Another issue that has long puzzled me is why drivers do not use their indicators. At roundabouts, it often becomes a matter of guesswork to determine the intentions of oncoming traffic. Simple, courteous driving habits would undoubtedly improve traffic flow and reduce collisions.

I hope that careful and considered thought is given before any drastic measures are taken. Barbados is a truly special place – let us be wise and deliberate in shaping its future.

– Les Straszewski

44. @Enuff

Your MO is known, you support government policies and projects until government is forced to walk back. It is amazing how successive governments have allowed traffic to spiral out of control and then wave planting concrete as a solution. In the process besmirching our island look.

45. @Samuel S. Shank

The simple answer to your question is NO. They are all in bed together. The Barbados economy runs on retail and wholesale trade. To restrict it would have implications for government revenues.

46. @John A

Do you recall the blogmaster asking for draconian measures to combat crime and many here spouted their esoteric and sentimental BS. Now Barbados has become the wild wild north. The government will not impound vehicles, it is more concerned with prioritizing its popularity and destruction of the already dead DLP.