There is the valid argument that Barbados cannot afford the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to win another 30–0 general election. It must be about ensuring our already cannibalized Westminster system functions at some efficient level. In our model of government, the dissenting voice of an opposition is an important constitutional check and balance. It is necessary to scrutinize legislation. It is also needed to demand transparency from the government side. If the BLP wins 30-0 again, we will be left with one sided debates. Select committees will operate without dissenting views. This outcome would not align with how the framers designed the system to function. Some commentators have expressed the view that there are other channels outside of parliament that support opposing views to be represented.

Already Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been labeled a de facto dictator. This is because of the BLP’s dominance at the polls in 2018 and 2022. The dilemma facing the citizenry is that we do not vote for an opposition. Generally political opposition parties promote issues affecting the country, and offer alternatives to win favour with the electorate. The party on the government side does the opposite. It promotes accomplishments with promises to continue the same. However, in Barbados, we have a nuanced situation. Confidence in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is low because of the two heavy defeats. And there have been subsequent unflattering events that occurred at George Street. The blogmaster is of the view the upcoming general election is about whether the public has sufficient confidence in the DLP to deserve to be returned to government.

There is good reason why cynicism and voter apathy is believed to have taken deep root in Barbados. When a significant number of voters feel their voice is like that of John De Baptist” crying in the wilderness, our type of democracy has become dysfunctional. If a democratic government, as explained by Abraham Lincoln, is to be “a government of the people, by the people, for the people” – another DLP shellacking at the polls will not be of value to facilitating a healthy democracy.

For Barbados to thrive, we have to find a path. We must ensure that a single political party does not monopolise the halls of parliament. It would not bode well for a healthy democracy. What a pickle Barbados now finds itself. A small, predominantly Black country that used to be the doyen of the region, held up as a model for others to follow.

66 responses to “Can Barbados survive another 30 love?”

1. Not Westminster Avatar

The Westminster system has 650 seats and has never had a landslide.
    Parties only need half the seats to become a majority Government.

Barbados only has 30 seats, when there is a landslide it appears that opposition has no right of representation in Parliament, but in reality they may have gained 33% of the vote.

Parliament is theatrics by various actors and news fodder for lazy media.
    Real politics at the student level, protest groups, unions etc are often suppressed by Governments. Opposition views from these groups and parties could be invited into Parliament discussions to raise issues on various matters even if they don’t have the right to vote.

2. I believe that it was the the current deputy prime minister who used the words and I’m paraphrasing “put it in de tail” when someone or a group made a statement which she found slanderous. The implication of her statement inferred that she was going to take legal action.

The BLP is 100% odds on favourite to win another clean sweep. I may be wrong, but I cannot think of a similar result in any dictatorship, yet alone a democracy. Oddly, not a single country spoke out on this anomaly.

Another clean sweep will place Barbados under the orange spotlight. To her credit, Mia appears to be the only Caribbean leader who appears not to be bowing down to the USA. The CIA has a dossier on Barbados. It’s aware that both parties have practised graft over the years. Indeed, one of our own spent time warming up a bench in an American prison cell. His American citizenship did not save him from being deported.

My message to Barbados is simple: do not invite indignity into your home by endorsing another whitewash. Do not give uncle Sam a reason to “put it in our tail” by enforcing regime change.

The current BLP should clean house and restore integrity to good governance. It really is that simple.

3. Yes!

It’s a duopoly. Any such organism could exist forever. Once the masses allow themselves to be propagandized by the state religion, as we are.

This is the central characteristic of any duopoly. It’s the state religion and thus shall always attempt to endure regardless of the statistical readings or electoral outcomes from time to time.

For an abridged version of the articles of faith shall be no different that the many incarnations of the other dirty rag some call a bible.

The only usefulness of another 30-0 is it’s implicit propensity to drive the country to the wall thus leading to a national convulsion which elected dictatorship portends.

Of course, Barbados has already entered the Hall of Fame as the epitome of Western-styled ‘democracy’ as essentially no more than a pappy show.

4. 29 – 1

5. Laws are not cast in stone they are made up ideas.
    Barbados has had 2 x 30-0’s in a row.
    They should have figured out a workaround solution by now after 7/8 years of one-sided debates in Parliament but are still paralysed without any outside-the-box thinking.

6. Did not the BLP lose elections back to back and then they win?

7. I call on all patriots to make the right choice. Only a 100% victory for the Barbados Liberal Party (BLP) will guarantee stability, security and harmony.

Should my prediction of 30:0 prove accurate once again, the party and the people will be called upon to abolish the Senate and codify the the unity of state and party in a new constitution. The Senate is a relic of the racist colonial past, enabling the White Shadows to control the black masses. We want a strong leader without filters or controls.

Tron
    always neutral, always balanced

8. Sigh….!

9. Maybe, Mottley has heeded the advice of some and therefore is persuaded that an economic calamity beckons.

Maybe, this early election is a way to get ahead of the maximum trouble around the corner, maybe?

Maybe her IMF, Central Bank governor cannot come up with anymore economic jujitsu moves to keep the unavoidable at bay, to produce anymore fiat dollars out of thin air, to recycle the debt burden.

A woe-man to whom much has been given. Notwithstanding, the argument by her most vocal supporters is that she is a one-woman band, that the rest are a circus of clowns, for such is the vacuum of real acheivements

This writer is surprised to hear that, for example, sewage is still being pumped into the sea. And if there was a single argument central in back-raising the DLP in 2018 it must had been the expectation that this would have been fixed. What a “blue economy”! A blue economy with shiiiiiite floating on top!

Maybe, the whole country will be on the auction block soon after February 11, maybe?

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    Always enjoy your neutral and balanced perspective.
    It seems that Reporting, like the Senate, maybe another product of the racist colonial past, which has already been abolished. So in full agreement to abolish the Senate.
    However, since your vaunted Supreme leader uses the Senate excessively to fill Ministerial holes, she may wish to keep that body? At election day, she’ll still have 3 Senator Ministers who are not facing the electorate.
    Or possibly a new constitution, could permit Supreme appointments to Cabinet from any unelected person, she seems fit.
    Your biggest supporter.

11. Tron..
    “I call on all patriots to make the right choice.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie agrees with Tron.
    …And calls on all true patriots to stand up FIRMLY and vote AGAINST the lotta BLP shiite dat is smelling up de place… from the QEH to BWA and HOPE…

After all…
    We know what jobby we currently have…
    …and there is always a slim CHANCE that the new alternative will at least provide REPORTS – as are REQUIRED by our laws.
    Shiite, they may even be HONEST …and perhaps even a little COMPETENT.

Tron’s lotta hands have been UNable to make one shiite work…

We just need to AVOID –
    The former ‘pit bull’ – (Now a confirmed S**** Hound)
    Friends of Blackett
    ZR licenses for sale for Lashes

…and PLEASE, …don’t let Froon NEAR to ANY political platform…

What a Place!!

12. @John2

What is your point repeating 29-1?

13. @Wavonna

If you follow politics closely you would know that the period the DLP governed followed by the turmoil at George Street has created an unprecedented lack of confidence in the DLP to lead. Granted there has been movement upwards but coming from where they were it doesn’t say much.

14. Ralph Thorne seems to be anchoring the DLP strategy of moral based politics. Unfortunately in the prevailing environment it will not move the popularity needle.

15. Bushie

Yuh right as shiiite, generally!

However, although all of the workings are correct, as done in the margins, your answer to the political arithmetic is wrong again!

You just like another. Every five years or so wunna always appealing to satan to destroy the devil.

16. Bushie

You are only thinking that the DLP could be honest because it’s caught up in shiiite religiosity.

The DLP has no anologue of being honest. This writer’s own judgement is that they will be even more criminal that this BLP regime.

There’s nothing about this DLP which suggest competence. These shiite people can’t even discuss, interrogate, regional and international issues looming large.

We’ll bet you that yuh ain’t gine get one damn report more, the missing sets of accounts, etc

Blinded by the reality of government, especially nearly bankrupted now, all uh dem gine be like deer in headlights.

17. You really think RAT or any other politician could ever be “moral”.

Indeed, being moral is anathema to politics. And if you had a dollar for every politician so presenting you’ll be a billionaire.

How moral is leaving Christ Church South and going to Saint John. Was there not a social contract in place? That tooooo was political not moral?

18. “Ralph Thorne seems to be anchoring the DLP strategy of moral based politics. Unfortunately in the prevailing environment…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss…You CONSTANTLY amaze…

Where would you IDEALLY suggest that political strategy should be positioned?
    Not on MORALS? ..ETHICS? …RIGHTEOUSNESS? …and GODLINESS?
    What prevailing environment what!!?

So if your neighborhood becomes a big dump, then your policy should be to become the best dumper? …or should you preach and DEMONSTRATE that CLEANLINESS is the desired (even if now alien) policy?
    Should you not at least provide the LEADERSHIP OPPORTUNITY for the community to see the RIGHT light?

Popularity shiite!!
    Even when in Rome, one should do what is RIGHT in your OWN conscience …and in the sight of God. It WORKS!

@ Pacha
    The world is being dominated by Satan.
    Who better to bust their one another’s asses than he and the Devil – aided by Trump and others of. his ilk… LOL
    …and you done know that Bushie is a gallows bait.. ..
    Murduh!!

Besides, VERY SOON a great trumpet will sound (soon after the orange Trump is silenced) and ALL brassbowlery …along with their Satan Boss will be finally subdued…

THEN wunna (You and BU David) will see REAL politics at work…

What a time to be breathing…

19. Bushie
    You should remember that the DLP has a history of cowardice, as well argued by you previously. Especially in relationship to Froon.

Barrow had called him a coward in the 1970’s but he ended up as PM. The shiiite floats to the top. And before he, yuh had Sandiford, another coward.

To have to choose between a party given to a lack of intestinal fortitude for the right things and one with a leader with courage to do shiiite. Well, this represents a false choice.

20. Looks like Netanyahu has finally gotten his paid slave, Drumpf, set to engage in war against Iran, again, tonight, soon.

That fecker, Drumpf, is well motivated to use the US military for personal gain especially if there’re hints of easy victories. And most likely under the blackmail influence of the criminal Jews. No such easy victory with the Persians.

The Iranians are ready for them this time, no surprises. The Christian crusaders are gathering in the region and weaker than ever. Countries airspaces are being closed.

The West desperately wants war to stem a precipitous decline and Iran is the central node of the proposed new world order.

So this election might happen at a time of war. A war that may lead to the Great War. Some call it Armageddon. Others call it The Al-Malhama Al-Kubra. The end of all times! The Jews have they sights on a Pax-Judeaca, an empire built from the ashes of a world destroyed by nuclear weapons.

21. The jury remains out on Ms Mottley. Will a third straight victory set her free in the same manner as Saul who on the road to Damascus experienced an epiphany and became Paul the apostle.

If she can derobe her vanity, and raise her spiritual and moral compass than we might have a leader who may possibly bring the promised land to those Bajans of African descent whose ancestors blood are drenched within the soil of the land.

Perhaps she has reached that stage in her legacy where she is prepared to humble herself to her racial group of descendants and finally pay homage to their memories.

Mia must never forget that Barbados was built on the back of our black ancestors. We await a change in both her mindset and her actions.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=UiUZ39BUKRc

22. @Bush Tea

One must be able to read the tea leaves to act appropriately to achieve the objective. To do otherwise is being naive.

23. The outcome of the election is a slam dunk. Regrettably there’s little concern by the majority about agitating and advocating on serious issues of the day.

24. TLSN
    When did you change your pseudonym to ‘Talking a Lotta Shiite Now’ …boss?
    Ha ha ha

@ Pacha & David
    Anytime wunna two agree, the common position MUST be flawed.

This nonsense of assuming particular BLP and BLP characteristics in general, is OBVIOUSLY nonsense. ANY characteristic associated with EITHER of these two parties can ONLY be assigned to the SPECIFIC individuals and timeframe under discussion.

Equating the OWEN BLP with the current MIA BLP is as simple-minded as arguing that a Thorne DLP will be replicating Froon’s, David Thompson’s, or Barrow’s DLP.

Wuh the CURRENT BLP got in ex-DLP’s like Kerrie, Michael Lashley, the Tic Tok Cawmere girl, and got Mascoll in the background with more ‘Hardwood-type’ projects like the BAMC, Transport Board, and various hair-brain financing schemes.

Shiite, the BLP is more “lost decade DLP” than the Thorne group.

The ONLY shiite in common with the old DLP now is Estwick – the river tamarind planter, and Sealy the sewerage swimmer.
    Lashley, the ZR license agent is now BLP.

Thorne, former silent / stealth BLP back bencher, is now the new DLP leader.
    How the Hell could wunna KNOW what the new DLP character will be…?

Bushie KNOWS what the current BLP character is….
    …and the bushman is allergic to shiite, both the Petra Wicky type AND the political jobby… So Bushie VOTING…. DEE

BLP got too many hands dat can’t get one shiite to wuk bozie….

25. @Bush Tea

All that matters is what the voter perceives and what will be done with the ballot.

26. Bushie

You have so eloquently spoken sooo much shiiiite that it now becomes our displeasure to elevate you to the head of the class of shiite talkers.

Political scientists have long recognized that political parties, like any other organization, develop certain cultural practices, norms, which define them, sometimes unique to each.

People too, tend to have certain behaviours and tend to be attracted to organizations from which cultural norms consistent with their views of reality emanate.

When we put these two scientific facts together why would it be foreign to you that the BLP is percieved in certain ways because of
    its patterns of behaviours over decades and the DLP in other ways by its own behavioural map.

We are dealing with complex structures here. We were never persuaded that straight lines could be easily drawn directly between personalities within parties or between political parties themselves.

What is being argued instead is that both political parties have separate and distinct internal cultural norms and that these widely accepted norms, by memberships, make them distinct, even as they both make up a wider duopoly.

More simply put, if the internal cultural norms of the BLP were no different than those of the DLP we might of had an actual one-party state by now. Instead we have a duopoly.

We can know what Thorne’s leadership will be by being informed about the cultural norms of that party over decades and his own expressed views about issues of relevance.

27. @ Pacha
    “Political scientists have long recognized that….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When yuh start wrong, there can ONLY be one ending…
    OXYMORON!!
    What “political scientist” what!!??
    That is like saying ‘North-South’ of Brassbados.

Then you come with…
    “More simply put, if the internal cultural norms of the BLP were no different than those of the DLP we might of had an actual one-party state by now. Instead we have a duopoly.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss…
    You need to go to bed earlier – you are obviously tired…
    We DO have a one-party state in Brassbados. THAT Mafia party is a duopoly that works together to make fools of us all.
    Individuals move smoothly within the duopoly,
    …they NEVER prosecute criminality within the duopoly,
    …they get together and party in secret,
    …and they DO have IDENTICAL cultural norms
    to…
    – take advantage of brass bowl bajans by radical means where necessary.
    – grab as much money, pension and real estate as they can before being kicked out

And lastly..
    You CANNOT elevate Bushie to the top of the shiite talkers class – since that position has been yours now for YEARS… Yuh remain the undisputed boss.
    The poor bushman has simply been trying to shovel some of the lotta shiite that keeping yuh propped up … and flushing it properly…

28. Bushie

Yours is the cardinal man-in-the-street response.

All the characteristics adumbrated replicate themselves, not only in Barbados , but all over the world where duopolies exist.

This should tell you that these features of duopoly are not unique to Barbados, and Barbados alone.

The cultural norms internal to political parties are separate and distinct from the general tendencies that you in your inimitable fashion and stylie conflate with the very different dynamics of the global duopoly political systems.

This writer has never found any particular organization to have internal cultural norms, morays, enactments, etc exactly like any other. The natural world has never behaved in that way. It never creates the same thing, organism, twice!

Just like people, there is no set of personalities which are exactly alike, regardless of closeness. The same for organizations, including political parties.

And yes, the BLP and the DLP have a lot in common, they both come from a single source, but that doesn’t make them the same, exactly alike.

Serious minded people should seek to go beyond the simplictic, beyond the general narrative, in the search of the deeper truisms.

29. @Bush Tea

Welcome to the club.

We have the mavericks in traditional media. We have them in the social media space.

We have the respected traditional commentators in the traditional media. We have them on social media as well.

We have the academics and intellectuals who defend what they have learned with aplomb.

Then we have academics and intellectuals who search for the cathartic truth by responding to the pricks from their alter egos in non traditional places.

Should this lowly blogmaster continue?

After the dust settled, has there been material change? Even obvious Barbados solutions are defeated.

30. Well cited

We’re sure yours is majoritarian!

31. I suspect Mia’s early call caught Ralph off guard when he was still sleeping and dreaming about several months of electioneering and DLP are not ready again and are unprepared for the second time in a row.

With little time left his best bet is not preaching religious morals to the choir but maybe offering a more introverted Barbados harping back to the good old days of the past moaning about all the rapid changes for the worst too quick too fast which may appeal to the older more traditional conservative generation in the population, which is a large demographic to tap into.

32. And @bushtea to close on an observation informed from where this lowly blogmaster has operated for many years: the systematic issue is that regular citizens are in possession or gatekeepers to important information about what props up the establishment and feel no obligation to share. The reason? You guessed it.

33. one of our own spent time warming up a bench in an American prison cell. His American citizenship did not save him from being deported

xxxxxxxxxxx

DONVILLE WAS A PERMANENT RESIDENT I.E. GREENCARD HOLDER WHICH IS NOT A CITIZEN A HUGE DIFFERENCE.

IF HE WAS A CITIZEN EVEN THOUGH HE WAS CONVICTED AND JAILED HE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN DEPORTED AS YOU OUTLINED.

HOWEVER GREENCARD HOLDERS CAN BE DEPORTED AFTER CRIMINAL CONVICTION AND JAIL.

34. “The reason? You guessed it.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    No need to guess Boss…
    It is brassbowlery – SINFULNESS, …albino-centric inclinations of greed, selfishness, wickedness, envy and rejection of Godliness.

Wuh ..i f we turn AWAY from the light
    we MUST end up in shiite.

The problem is that we mostly LIKE the darkness – because of OUR OWN personal brassbowlery, and thus we are hard pressed to condemn the actions of the politicians.

Indeed, we mostly ENVY them and their KNOWN wickedness, and this is why we WILL get exactly what we deserve.

Bushie is merely pointing towards the LIGHT.
    But after so long in darkness, the light of righteousness may be blinding….

Not too much longer anyway…

35. BU and the BUI too sweet! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

36. Test

37. “BU and the BUI too sweet! 🤣🤣🤣🤣”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Have to agree with Enuff here…

Hopefully, …wuh sweeten goat mout won’t bun ‘Enuff tail

38. Bushie

You still wid that enlightenment age foolishness.

Light and darkness. Rejections of godliness. Greed, selfishness, wickedness, envy, righteousness. All ignorance from albinos!

All of these ideas are associated with a period when White people emerged from a horrible past and later sought to write themselves into history.

These are the wanderings of the same said albinos.

Compare same with the real civilizations hithertofore. For them, there was no darkness, no light. There was no possibility of rejecting godliness because every thing within the universes was god. There was no need for righteousness or religion, same root, they dealt with the spiritual.

It’s therefore highly impossible for you to point towards any light because you too continue to labour within the darkness of the albino. Because it’s a false albino conception which was made up by them and has no antecedents.

39. (s) ELECTION QUESTION FOR THE GREAT & SMALL – WHAT DO THESE NASTY NEFARIOUS HISTORIC BASTERDS ALL HAVE IN COMMON

#CaligulasRome

#JosephStalins_USSR

#FranciscoFrancos_Spain

#IdiAmins_Uganda

#NorthKoreas_KimDynasty

#TurkmenistanSaparmuratNiyazov

#EquatorialGuinea_TeodoroObiang

#Belarus_AlexanderLukashenko

#Venezuelas_NicolásMaduro (highly personalized power despite electoral façades)
    recently, “TAKEN DOWN” by #EmperorTrump

NOW, #Brassbados_Mottley_CrewGOV* is to be an addition to this “WALL” of “INGLORIOUS, CONTEMPTIBLE, DEPLORABLE BASKET OF WILY BASTERDS”!!!

#PermitADeepDive into this major rabbit hole where few lessons are “RARELY” ever learned…

#LetUsBegin

A “ONE-MAN/WOE-MAN GOV*” – where power is concentrated in a single individual’s hands, whose whims & fancies dictate policy – represents an extreme form of autocracy, dictatorship, or absolute personalist CULT*. Such systems carry profound & multifaceted dangers, not only for governance but for society, the economy, & human dignity itself!!!

#TheResult: “EROSION” of the “RULE” of “LAW” & #CONstitutionalDecay

Arbitrary rules sees laws being applied selectively or changed overnight to serve the ruler’s interests, punish critics, or reward loyalists!!!

The weakening of checks & balances within the judiciary, legislature, & oversight bodies become subservient or ornamental!!!

As seen In #AmeriKKKa et al, personal loyalty “TRUMPS” over merit, where key positions in government, military, & civil service are filled based on loyalty rather than competence, crippling state capacity!!!

Systemic “CORRUPTION” & “KLEPTOCRACY” is now #StateCapture where public resources are treated as the “RULER’S PRIVATE PROPERTY”, leading to grand corruption & crony capitalism!!!

“NEPOTISM” & “FAVOURITISM” results in family members & friends control key economic sectors, stifling competition & innovation!!!

The sheer lack of “ACCOUNTABILITY” where no independent auditing or anti-corruption mechanisms exist, enabling large-scale theft of national wealth!!!

The suppression of “DISSENT” & “HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES” that fosters “FEAR” & REPRESSION”, where the police, surveillance entities,& arbitrary detention are used to silence opposition!!!

The crushing of civil society, independent (soc) media, NGOs, unions, & academia are suppressed or co-opted!!!

The violation of basic freedoms which include “FREEDOM OF SPEECH”, “ASSEMBLY”, “PRESS”, & “RELIGIOUS ASSOCIATION” are severely restricted, curtailed or eliminated!!!

Then there is increasing “ECONOMIC MISMANAGEMENT” & “STAGNATION”, where policy is created on the huff & based on a whim, NOT* evidence & economic decisions driven by “EGO” or impulse (e.g., bizarre infrastructure projects, sudden currency changes) can lead to hyperinflation, shortages, and/or collapse!!!

As is seen in many “BANANA REPUBLICS”, capital flight & brain drain is now the order of the day, where skilled professionals & investors leave due to instability & lack of opportunity!!!

The growing “CURSE” in the underinvestment in public Goods sees funds diverted to pet projects or vanity symbols instead of healthcare, education, & infrastructure!!!

Increasing social fragmentation & polarization – where “DIVIDE & RULE” hardens the ruler’s grip which often fuels ethnic, religious, & societal tensions to maintain power, leading to community fractures & even civil conflict!!!

The “CULT” of “PERSONALITY” is a downward slope where national identity becomes intertwined with the ruler’s image, eroding civic unity & pluralism!!!

Such failures lead to only one place – “MORAL DECAY, with an ingrained culture of “SYCOPHANCY”, “DISHONESTY”, & “FEAR” replaces trust, cooperation, & social ethics!!!

Then we come to “FOREIGN POLICY VIOLATILITY & ISOLATION” given the unpredictable international relations which mirrors a “BARNUM & BAILEY BREAD & CIRCUS ACT” where whimsical decisions can lead to erratic foreign policy & sudden alliances, conflicts, or breaches of treaty, damages diplomatic credibility!!!

“TARIFFS” are the latest postmodern “NUKES” used as weaponized sanctions that leads to pariah status where human rights abuses & aggressive actions may lead to international isolation & economic sanctions!!!

Barbados has a succession “CRISIS” on its hands because of “POOR, CORRUPT LEADERSHIP” which will exacerbate long-term instability, as power is held by specific leaders until “DEATH”, “COUP”, and/or an “UPRISING”, creating violent succession struggles, “AS WAS SEEN IN 1937”!!!

#MyConclusion

Any “ONE WOE*-MAN GOV*” will ultimately replaces the rule of law with the rule of a “PERSON”, making society vulnerable to that individual’s flaws, biases, & ambitions. It is inherently unstable, morally corrosive, & incompatible with sustainable development, human dignity, & peace. History shows that such systems may appear strong in the short term, but often “ENDS IN COLLAPSE”, “CONFLICT”, and/or “PROFOUND NATIONAL DECLINE”!!!

FEB 11TH WILL BE HISTORIC* FOR A NATION IN DECLINE & POSSIBLE COLLAPSE

#HereEndsTodaySermonette

#HereEndsTodaysWarning

#SemperFidelis

40. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

YOUR CURRENT LEADER* POSES FOR THE WORLD AS A CLIMATE JUSTICE WARRIOR – “supposedly” SPEAKING TRUTH 2 POWER – BUT TRUTH BE TOLD SHE HAS “SCAMMED” TOO MANY INTO BELIEVING THAT SHE IS SOME KINDA’ MODERN-DAY BOUDICA – THE REBEL QUEEN OF THE ICENI TRIBE, FIGHTING FEARLESSLY 4 THE RIGHT

#WhatACROQ

Much of “CLIMATE SCIENCE” is a “HOAX”!!!

I argued this long ago from my dayz in UNI*!!!

We know that “CLIMATE ENGINEERING” is “TOP-OF-THE-LIST” 4 #MultinationalDEMONS* like “BLACK ROCK et al who “SPRAY” all kindz of “PARTICULATES” into our stratosphere – including, “CLOUD-SEEDING”!!!

#StratosphericAerosolInjection (SAI) is where releasing reflective aerosols (like “SULPHATE” particles or “CALCITE”) into the stratosphere to mimic the cooling effect of volcanic eruptions (e.g., Mount Pinatubo, 1991) but has far deeper uses!!!

FOR THOSE IN BRITAIN:

#EverWonderedWhySoBloodyWet

This is the most studied SRM method but raises concerns about ozone depletion, uneven regional effects, & “TERMINATION SHOCK” if stopped suddenly!!!

There is also “CIRRUS CLOUD THINNING” which uses particles (like “BISMUTH TRIIODIDE”) to reduce high-altitude cirrus clouds, which trap heat, allowing more infrared radiation to escape!!!

SO A BLOODY WET WINTER WILL BE FOLLOWED BY A DAMN, HOT, DRY SUMMER WITH THE JACKASSERY* WANTING TO PUT HOSE PIPE BANS IN PLACE

#WhatAWorld

Research is being conducted by universities, institutes (like Harvard’s Solar Geoengineering Research Program), & organizations such as the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) “A FRAUDULENT ORGANIZATION”, which assesses geoengineering in reports…

Some outdoor experiments have occurred (e.g., the SCoPEx balloon test for aerosol research, “DELAYED” for public engagement).

International regulations are limited; the UN Convention on Biological Diversity has a “MORATORIUM” on large-scale geoengineering, but it is not legally binding!!!

THE COVER-UP RUNS DEEP & SO-CALLED LEADERS IN THIS SPACE ARE APTLY SUITED TO PERPETRATE THE *SCAM* GIVEN THEIR MALFEASANCE & THEIR ALLEGIANCE TO ALL THINGS SINISTER – PLUS THE BIG $$$$$$$$$$$$$ INVOLVED

We sit around quietly “ABSORBING” all the “CRAP” that neurologically surges between our “2 EARS” without an “OUNCE” of understanding as to what goes on deep within the “BOWEL” recesses of the “SYNAGOGUE OF SATAN”!!!

Thankfully men like #JamesOKeefe was able to “INFILTRATE DAVOS” & hear 1st hand what the “PRIESTS & PRIESTESSES” in “SATAN’S TEMPLE” had to say about their “PLANS” for all of us!!!

For me, “NOTHING NEW”, as WIFEY* always reminds me (jovially) that “I WORK FOR THE INTELLIGENCE AGENCIES” – so I can talk all kindz of “SHYTE” & no one will take it seriously!!!

Be that as it may, “YOUR LEADERS” are “CORRUPTED” #BigTime (IF ONLY YOU KNEW JUST HOW MUCH)!!!

Anyway, horse of another color & #Battle4Anotherday!!!

41. Early reports, from a stanch Dem, seem to indicate that the DLP lacks funding and is still bedeviled by fractures of tribalism, even as there appears to be a shift away from the BLP.

The lack of funding is said to be showing up in the lack of posters across constituencies and an absence of early energy amongst the base, even as the manifestos are said to be deliverable.

For a party which has ‘ruled’ the country previously for 25 years and cannot find half dozen ‘party-fathers’ to contribute adequate funding speaks to a recessive party culture, if true.

The fractures, said to be represented by the struggles of Tricia Watson and Ronnie Yearwood et al, appear to be as open as before, says one report. That the presence leadership has failed to mend fences and that such parties may have neglected burying the hatchets may contribute to more of the same.

42. @Bush Tea January 23, 2026 at 3:13 pm

I am not a partisan, but merely an analyst who predicts the future in crisp sentences peppered with historical allusions. Marx once spoke of the dictatorship of the proletariat. Lenin later referred to democratic centralism. I call it the Bajan way of “democratorship”.

The experiment called democracy has not paid off. It failed between 2008 and 2018. We have entered an authoritarian age. The people want a leader who rules with an iron fist and does not tolerate dissent.

If you want to hold your own among imperialist predators, you have to be strong. Very strong.

Tron
    Chief Court Jester

43. Well I don’t get involved in this politics thing, cause the bad roads and list of other outstanding issues that affected me under the Ds, still affecting me under the Bs. So based on that I would say both parties have proven to be equally compitent in ensuring that these issues remain at the forefront of Bajan life, regardless of party. Nothing like consistency I always say. lol

Now on a serious note regardless of who get in, I am very grateful to live in a country where free and fair elections can still occur. Even more grateful am I that the results of the vote are honoured. I think this is something many take forgranted here. Regardless what you say about Mia and Ralph, both are people who respect the power of the vote. After all last fellow in the region that didn’t do that now sitting in a US jail. I wonder if he is in the El Chapo wing?

44. Where would the DLP get such funding from?
    Even the funds allocated by the State have been withheld by the ‘fair-minded’ government.

…and why is ‘funding’ an important indicator of competence to govern?

All that this signifies to Bushie is that (UNLIKE the BLP) they are unlikely to be beholden to rich moguls – and committed to finding them billion-dollar contracts in repayment – at OUR Treasury’s expense.

Why don’t you personally advance the needed funding – pro bono
    …OR come with a solution of your own apart from your fatalistic mushroom?
    …OR at least stop the petty distractions

Get real @ Pacha…

45. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

FOR A NATION THAT BOAST IN ITS LITERACY CAPACITY TO NOT* HAVE A COMPREHENSIVE STANDALONE “CAMPAIGN FINANCE ACT” SPEAK VOLUMES ABOUT ITS PUBLIC SERVANTS & THEIR ABILITY TO SUMMON ENOUGH DUTCH COURAGE TO DO THE RIGHT THING

WHAT 2 WATCH 4 LEADING UP 2 FEB 11th, 2026

#PartyManifestoLaunches

#FundraisingDinners

These are often indicators of financial backing – WHO’S BACKING WHO!!!

#MediaCampaignSpending

A surge in political advertising (TV, radio, social media) will signal fundraising success!!!

Opacity & the lack of mandatory public disclosure of “DONORS” has long been criticized as a democratic deficit & this election will be no different!!!

MONEY TALKS – HOGS* CAN BE BOUGHT

#GuessWhoPaysThePrice

46. @ Bush Tea January 24, 2026 at 7:53 pm

It’s good to read that not only patriotic and neutral voices like mine, but also voices of integrity and sanity, doubt the DLP’s ability to heal itself from the lost decade. A DLP victory and we would be a feast for dodgy investors like a Cahill 2.0.

Tron

47. @TLSN January 23, 2026 at 7:52 am “The CIA has a dossier on Barbados.”

My response: Can you please give us the evidence of this?

@TLSN January 23, 2026 at 7:52 am “…one of our own spent time warming up a bench in an American prison cell. His American citizenship did not save him from being deported.”

He could not have been deported if he was an American citizen. Therefore he was not then nor now an American citizen, and it is unlikely that he will ever be an American citizen, since people with criminal convictions are highly unlikely to be granted visas, green cards or citizenship. Likely the person cannot ever again visit the USA.

48. Bushie

Maybe your appeal for realism is best self-directed.

Where is the BLP getting its predictable wash pan of money. We could, without otherwise knowing for sure, expect lots of parties, a heightened festival atmosphere, money being spread where a dearth previously existed for eight years.

This is no false “moral” constructionism as oft presented by you. It’s realpolitik!

In political struggle, as in war, a fair fight requires, or could hinge on, the relative balance of arms. And if money is to remain the lifeblood of politics, it would be irrational for any party to presume that playing poor or surrendering an adequacy of financial armaments could produce desired outcomes.

You have earlier rejected this writer’s arguments about party culture. And it must be repeated. For a party which has been in government for decades and during which time it has handled public affairs in ways that made millionaires by those actions to now, out of government, be seemingly be unable to mobilize the resources necessary to match its main opponent speaks to a culture of poverty.

What you should ask yourself is why this culture of poverty is unlikely to bother the BLP as shown historically whether in power or not? And, even in the absence of subventions, that its main adversary could so gain a possible and decisive advantage speaks to party culture. It reminds this writer of a story once told by a late party member. She opined that everytime the party needed funding an Erskine Sandiford would go to his pocket and find a two dollar bill.

Further, a party culture forever bedeviled by poverty is also likely to extend that culture to government and national economy.

The last words are yours.

49. Vote and voice

Christmas bells have finished ringing, now replaced by election bells and we are jingling all the way with election jingles to soca and reggae beats. It’s a snap again! Posters are up, there are billboards, feather banners, branded T-shirts, we have third parties, a coalition and independent candidates will surely step forward. It is time to select 30 representatives who will form the government (and the opposition?).

Yet, some people don’t feel inclined to vote.

How can it be that after our foreparents struggled to attain voting rights, people can consider opting out? It is an achievement that adult Barbadians (and resident Commonwealth citizens) no matter their race, gender, religion, marital status, level of educational attainment, whether they own property or not, have the right to vote. So why would people not want to exercise it?

Stronghold constituencies

Well, there is the view that “my vote doesn’t count”. Some who live in party stronghold constituencies may think this way. Some living in St Thomas, for instance, may say: this is a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) constituency in which my yellow or other coloured vote makes no difference, I won’t bother. Why stand in a long line in the hot sun or rain to cast a vote that “doesn’t count”? The short answer is that every vote counts. Whether or not one’s preferred candidate is successful, every vote counts towards the health of a representative democracy.

We also should not underestimate the ability of every vote to contribute towards upsetting the status quo. Until 2018 St John was a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) constituency, never previously won by a BLP candidate.

Had supporters of the BLP viewed their votes as not counting, it might have remained so. Yes, this is a bit of a simplification, as other factors were likely important to the electoral outcomes in St John since 2018, such as the theory that DLP supporters lost heart and stayed home. But even this theory (if it holds) hints at the value of every vote (lost).

We can also keep in mind that very small margins can determine outcomes in some ridings. Think of the close contest in St Michael South East in the 2013 General Election between Santia Bradshaw and Patrick Tannis in which the ten votes secured Ms Bradshaw’s victory. Imagine if 20 people in that constituency who may have preferred Mr Tannis, but figured their votes did not count, had gone to the polls and voted. These votes would have changed the result. All votes count as candidates win and lose one vote at a time.

Views

There is another way of thinking about: “My vote doesn’t count”. We can take this to mean that, no matter how I vote, my vote does not give me voice. My views, my concerns and those of regular people like me count for little. Whichever party forms the government, they will do as they please, while pretending they listened. This connection between vote and voice requires serious contemplation.

It goes beyond the numerical vote count to reveal the pessimism existing in our society about politics, politicians and our system of government. So, when people say they are not voting because their votes don’t count, chastising them or trying to convince them to vote due to the struggles of our fore parents, may be futile.

For some, the decision to abstain from voting does not signal a lack of civic responsibility or that they are ignorant, but their frustration with or indifference towards governance that does not serve them. Governments in office and in waiting need to earn our votes not just with jingles, t-shirts, media appearances, viral social media posts and sweet talk, but by truly heeding our voices.

These musings aside, it is worth considering whether we have indeed been experiencing declines in voter turnout in Barbados, signalling apathy, or if this is just a feeling. I’ll leave that to next time.

Dr Kristina Hinds is a political scientist with more than 20 years’ teaching and research experience, a radio talk show host and business manage